Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
Buy On
  1. Apr 6, 2016
    73
    Sébastien Loeb Rally Evo is a pretty good racing game with a lot of good ideas. If you are a fan of this sport, you should give it a try.
  2. Feb 4, 2016
    73
    A racing game full of contents and cars, fun to drive with the standard controller, but unfortunately plagued by some technical issues and an old graphics engine.
  3. Feb 4, 2016
    72
    Both pros and beginners will find enjoyment in Sebastien Loeb Rally Evo, though the latter will need to invest a lot of time into it before the driving becomes somewhat doable. Shoddy visuals, audio, and multiplayer hamper what is an otherwise solid rally package.
  4. Jan 28, 2016
    72
    Milestone brings us a game full of content, although it doesn't make it to the higher tiers of the driving genre. Sébastien Loeb Rally Evo will appeal to rallies and french driver fans, living all of his career, although we're still waiting for that great rally game we're eager to play.
  5. May 3, 2016
    70
    Sebastien Loeb Rally EVO is a solid racing game that offers a mostly basic racing experience with a few unique twists.
  6. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Mar 7, 2016
    70
    By no means a bad game, it's hard to shake the feeling it'll end up as a stopgap until Dirt Rally hits. [March 2016, p.88]
  7. Feb 9, 2016
    70
    It has its fair share of rough edges and the multiplayer options are basic at best, but despite signs of Milestone’s ambitions outweighing the games’ relatively limited budget, they have nonetheless created a solid, entertaining, and above all else, incredibly deep rally driving experience.
  8. Feb 3, 2016
    70
    Biggest selling points of Sébastien Loeb Rally Evo? A lot of interesting cars and good tracks. While the game gameplay leaves something to be desired, it's still a solid alternative to other games in recently revived rally genre.
  9. Feb 22, 2016
    66
    It's sad that a game with so much potential ends up being a little bit buggy. There are a lot of positives, but a few too many negatives, so only those with a definite interest in rallying need apply.
  10. Feb 4, 2016
    65
    Sébastien Loeb Rally Evo is a correct game yet seems a product of another era, with lack of options and techniques their competitors are already using.
  11. Feb 7, 2016
    60
    Milestone has clearly spent an age under the bonnet, and Sébastien Loeb Rally Evo has a content quota that's befitting of all of that attention. Unfortunately, the Italian outfit's indecision with regards to the racer's handling model means that it's not always at its best when out on the track. If you can look past this shortcoming, however, then you'll find a real celebration of the sport here – and the man who helped put it on the map for a whole generation.
  12. Mar 15, 2016
    55
    A racing game that doesn’t feel good to play. I recommend that you wait for something better to come along.
  13. Play UK
    Mar 25, 2016
    50
    A lifeless case of quantity over quality that strives for great heights but technically falls short in every department. Despite the name attached to it, it's not a winner. [Issue#267, p.74]
  14. Feb 24, 2016
    50
    Another rally game that fails to deliver. Even though it is suitable for a more casual audience, because of its poor content and dated technology Sebastien Loeb Rally Evo disappoints.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 93
  2. Negative: 17 out of 93
  1. Feb 13, 2016
    0
    I have played SLRE on PS4 with a G29 wheel and I can say that it was the worst motorsport game I've ever tried. I don't know if it was theI have played SLRE on PS4 with a G29 wheel and I can say that it was the worst motorsport game I've ever tried. I don't know if it was the game, or the wheel, but the overall driving experience was awful. Far from what you feel in real life. If you switch from a car, -any car, not just racing ones- to this game, you will be surprised (in a bad way). The handling is really slow (it reacts around half a second later than your input), the feedback you get is weird (as in the steering firms and softens when you least expect it), and the physics are just as terrible. The only thing I like about it is the rich content (car selection, stages, etc.). Other than that, it is a failed attempt of a rally game. Full Review »
  2. Feb 13, 2016
    8
    Let's get this out of the way first; this is the best rally game on consoles in a decade. With that done, let's look at a few things this gameLet's get this out of the way first; this is the best rally game on consoles in a decade. With that done, let's look at a few things this game does well, and what it does not so well. The stages here are a vast improvement on Milestone's previous WRC efforts. What were once flat, wide, and boring stages in Milestone games have become tight, narrow, twisty challenges. Each location is unique and offers its own style that needs attacking in different ways. The car selection also isn't bad. While I feel there could be a few more selections from the 1995-2005 era, what is on offer isn't sparse. The handling is also vastly improved over Milestone's WRC 1-4. It is however not perfect. Bogging under steer battles with snap oversteer on the same car depending on stage being run. And while possible to dial some of this out with setting adjustment, the presets that come in the game for each specific stage are usually not great (especially for the Tarmac rallies). The graphics, well, it's Milestone. They are never going to be Codemasters. They are what they are and it's what you take with the smaller budget studio that is Milestone.

    On PS4 I haven't really experienced the frame rate issues that others have been reporting for the PC version, but there is one glaringly bad thing that I feel detracts from the game: the pace notes. They are utterly inadequate, and there is very little consistency with the call distance. I have it on regular, which is mostly fine. However on certain stages there will be flat out portions with a large radius turn coming up. The code over will call out a 6 Left + so you say "ok I'll keep it pinned" as you start the turn, the co driver finishes his call, and then says "into 3 right - tightens".... Well I'm already going flat out so maybe a "caution" or a lengthier lead time on the call out would be better. The pace notes also don't convey near enough information compared to Richard Burns Rally or the older McRae games. There are very few call outs for keeping in/out or left/right over crests/jumps. Maybe one of these calls per stage on average, which is atrocious. Rally driving is all about where the car is set up in order to attack the turns, and with no co driver help you are left using the rewind feature more often than you should have to, or simply memorizing the entire stage, for every stage. This is not what a rallying game should be.

    That being said, I applaud Milestone for the lengths of the stages themselves. Too often we see games where a 3 minute stage is normal, and 5 minutes getting towards the long end. I've had a few 8+ minute stages which is getting to the level of believability for real life shorter stages. Kudos to Milestone for that.

    At the end of it all, this is a solid effort from Milestone and I feel the break away from the official license had done them wonders. I used to always say, "fool me three/four times shame on you Milestone... Fool me five..?" But after initial hesitation and waiting to read some early reviews I took the plunge again and Milestone did not disappoint. Bravissimo!
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 2, 2016
    5
    I really, really, REALLY wanted to like this game. I am a HUGE fan of Rally games and have been waiting a long time for a good one on the PS4.I really, really, REALLY wanted to like this game. I am a HUGE fan of Rally games and have been waiting a long time for a good one on the PS4. Something to use the potential of the next gen console and immerse me in the game.

    Sadly, I will be waiting a while longer yet. This is the only game I've bought digitally (I was too lazy to go to Tesco to buy it on disc) and also the first game I've ever asked for a refund on. Having spent £67 on the bundle pack (Pikes Peak), I was left confused and ultimately, disappointed.

    Pros:

    A good selection of cars from across the decades. Nice to see some rarer models in there, such as the Pug 106 Rallye, Super 1600 cars and the Lancia Delta integrale 8v (everyone else seems to go for the Evoluzione).

    Some nice stages. The rally of Wales really looks the part!

    Rallycross. A criminally overlooked area of Motorsport when it comes to gaming.

    A reasonable attempt to replicate driving on snow, ice, tarmac and gravel.

    Cons:

    Graphics. Next gen? Really? Some of the scenery looks like its fit for the PS2, never mind the PS4. Why do developers INSIST on small trees being as solid as steel poles? If I spin off, let me demolish some scenery for gods sake. Oh and having the ability to get stuck ON the scenery is not cool. I played the Leob challenge stages in the Saxo kit car, spun at the last hairpin and ended up marooned on the scenery. Having turned the rewind function off, that was it. Stuck for good.

    In car views: In an era where other developers are using helmet cam views (which I don't like btw) and fully modeled interiors (Project cars for both), why has Milestone limited us to two dash views and the ability to look 4 degrees left or right? I felt like I'd gone back in time five years. Ok, so the exterior view are good, but I don't want an exterior view in a rally game.

    Car damage: Laughable. After dinging a few barriers and trees (who doesn't in a rally game), I crossed the line with the front bumper looking like it had melted. When cars crash or hit things, bits fall off, they don't just change shape. Even a non dedicated driving game can get this right. Look at the car damage in Gta V for example.

    Controls: Its 2016 and I can't activate the lights or wipers myself???? And when the wipers do activate, there are no blades on them, just the arms??

    Pace notes: I noticed quite a few wrong calls in this game. Luckily I was driving with the 3d notes enabled, but it was still bad to hear a left called, when it was actually a right.

    As I said, I really really wanted to like this game, but I can't. Over the years I've played a lot of rally games and I'm still waiting for that one that defines the era of that console. On the PS1 and 2 we had the Colin McRae games, then the dirt series on the PS3. For me, SLR Evo will be a middling attempt on the Ps4.

    No amount of content will get away from the fact that this game seems half finished. Sorry Milestone, but you've missed a trick here.
    Full Review »