Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 76 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 76
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 76
  3. Negative: 1 out of 76
Buy On
  1. Apr 28, 2019
    100
    Though Sekiro feels impossibly hard at times, the level of euphoria you experience when delivering a death blow to a tricky boss or when you finally clear a castle grounds of all enemies is almost unparalleled.
  2. Mar 28, 2019
    100
    FromSoftware proves yet again that they’re masters of their craft. Every aspect of Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is just so lovingly crafted that any flaw feels like a droplet in an ocean of brilliance. Sekiro is the full package with immensely satisfying combat and an intriguing world to explore and discover.
  3. Mar 26, 2019
    100
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is the work of a studio at the height of its powers – beautiful, cruel, and moving.
  4. Mar 25, 2019
    100
    Sekiro is a game that, for better and worse, lays down an almost belligerent challenge. Keep playing, by all means, if you can handle it. Such fierce difficulty will not come as a surprise to veterans of From’s previous games Dark Souls and Bloodborne, of course, and will likely relish Sekiro’s propensity to kill you often and without mercy. Few games task you so harshly or dare to drive you to such frustration, but few games are as rewarding or exhilarating when you succeed.
  5. Mar 23, 2019
    97
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice perfectly represents the solemn atmosphere of samurai fighting. It's much more difficult than any of the souls series games and offers a great challenge to your gaming ability.
  6. Apr 12, 2019
    95
    Sekiro redevelops genre on the well known basis, creating something similar but entirely different. This time, it calls for courage instead of fear. It calls for reconfiguring the muscle memory of the "soulsborne" veterans, and some really good and quality gaming time! A great starting point for newcomers, but a new beginning for old players as well, Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is a game you should not miss - if you want quality yet fear no challenge.
  7. Apr 8, 2019
    95
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is a merciless game that thirsts after the gamer's blood and inflicts physical pain. You will suffer. You will darn yourself, the game and its developers, but you will not be able to stop playing as Sekiro will become an obsession. But as much as it takes from the player, it returns as much with every victory. If you are willing to commit yourself to torture, you will repeatedly experience the feeling close to catharsis or nirvana plunging your blade in the body of the defeated.
  8. Apr 2, 2019
    95
    There is no satisfaction in immortality. Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice proves its thesis by matching the resolve of its protagonist with the potential of its player in a performance choreographed by agonizing lessons and industrious rehearsals. When it’s showtime presentation seems instinctive and proficiency feels powerful. Sekiro demands immense competence, but, once its needs are met, the payoff is irresistible.
  9. Mar 31, 2019
    95
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is not just a new Souls Game: it's a brand new one, with great elements taken from great games like Tenchu and implementing them in a brutal, yet beautiful game.
  10. Mar 31, 2019
    95
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is an exhilarating journey that demands your full attention. Taking advantage of stealth and mastering its posture-based swordplay is immensely satisfying. Meanwhile, the wonderful, expansive world is a joy to explore thanks to intriguing design and the emphasis on grappling to new heights. Sekiro often feels daunting, leaving you bloodied and broken at its feet, but overcoming each challenge it throws your way fills you with a triumphant sense of accomplishment.
  11. Mar 29, 2019
    95
    With a Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice, From Software presents an adventure that will keep you fascinated with fast action, exploration and stealth.
  12. Mar 29, 2019
    95
    Issues with stealth aside (inadequate a.i. mostly) FromSoftware delivers another unique experience. After 40 hours of gameplay the sword fights even against the most common mobs where nothing sort of thrilling and ferociously satisfying. Even though it’s their most difficult game so far it rarely feels unfair, nudging us constantly to learn from our mistakes, learn the enemies and learn that the deathblow is only one katana slash away.
  13. Mar 26, 2019
    95
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is one of my favourite games of this generation. From it's absolutely perfect combat to the rich world brimming with secrets, I can see myself coming back time and time again. From fans are in for one hell of an amazing ride.
  14. Mar 26, 2019
    95
    A brutal and challenging game that admits few shortcuts to success. But for every cry of frustration there is a revealing discovery, and for each walk through the darkness there is an ascent towards mountains bathed by the Sun. The father of Dark Souls and Bloodborne makes us suffer again but, at the same time, provides the kind of experience that allows us to emerge reinforced at the other side.
  15. Mar 25, 2019
    95
    From Software has created another fantastic game, and this time it's the perfect balance between action, platforming and stealth. If you like the Souls concept, you’ll find it here with a very interesting twist.
  16. Mar 25, 2019
    95
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is yet another example of the excellence of FromSoftware, which breaks away from its classic hit and run mechanics to place you in front of the enemy with no possibility of escape. Unlike the defense of Dark and Demon's Souls, and the evasion of Bloodborne, Sekiro combines defense and attack in a dance of swords like few times or never we've seen in a video game. Not only does it perfectly mix these concepts, but it also brilliantly balances them with stealth. The result is that game that will make you feel as unprepared and happy as the first Soulsborne you ever played. Exactly what you were looking for.
  17. Mar 21, 2019
    95
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is undoubtedly one of the best video games of 2019 and perhaps of the entire generation...Sekiro is the next step by FromSoftware, a game that brings about a ‘new land’ in-between Dark Souls and Bloodborne, and that is both original and accesible without giving away its natural essence. A new masterpiece by Miyazaki which is a must-have for any gamer.
  18. Mar 21, 2019
    95
    I had never played a title in which the mechanics of using a sword felt so organic and, at the same time, that it made all the sense in the world using traditional controls. No matter how familiar you are with the work of this Japanese study, Sekiro is something you've never experienced. Sekiro is the game that everyone who loves this medium should have among our priorities. Sekiro is a new step for the genres and subgenres it represents. Sekiro is a new standard that will surely continue to influence other developers. Sekiro is not a Dark Souls anymore with ninjas and samurais. Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is a masterpiece that you cannot miss.
  19. 95
    Untethered from the expectations that come with a Dark Souls or Bloodborne game, FromSoftware was able to create a game that maintains the studio's unique identity while allowing them to explore interesting new mechanics and ways of telling the story. Sekiro is challenging, but fair—a game with the goal of allowing the player to grow, rather than the avatar. It blends mechanics and narrative in a way that is too rare in games today, allowing for a deep level of immersion that begs for just one more clash of blades no matter how difficult the encounters get. Seeing each one to its bloody finish is well worth the trials it takes to get there.
  20. Mar 21, 2019
    95
    Sekiro evolves From Software’s formula into a stylish stealth-action adventure that, naturally, emphasizes precision and skill in its combat. It walks the line between deliberate and patient stealth and breakneck melee combat against threats both earthly and otherworldly. Its imaginative and flexible tools support a more focused experience that shaves down some of From Software’s overly cryptic sensibilities without losing its air of mystery. Sekiro is an amazing new twist on a familiar set of ideas that can stand on its own alongside its predecessors.
  21. Mar 29, 2019
    94
    The sound effects make up a deep and immersive atmosphere, perfectly accompanying the visual effects of the techniques used, the sword clashes or the brutal executions that our Wolf is capable of performing, so that the whole puzzle fits perfectly, offering a wonderful show in each and every one of its sections.
  22. Mar 25, 2019
    94
    Sekiro refines the Dark Souls gameplay, adding stealth mechanics and a perfect combat system based on evading and parring attacks. The japanese setting, art style and open map design complete an amazing game, which, again, can be too difficult for some players.
  23. Mar 25, 2019
    94
    It challenges, punishes, and brings a warm feeling of joy with every mastered encounter. It's not for everyone, and it isn't absolutely perfect, but Sekiro is the best game I've played in a very long time.
  24. Mar 29, 2019
    92
    A beautiful, hand-crafted action-adventure experience with challenging combat, rewarding exploration and an intriguing story.
  25. Mar 25, 2019
    92
    It’s still a FromSoft game, and it feels like one, from the familiar fonts and dialogue to fast-travel options and epic boss fights, but it’s both fresh and familiar, and still as challenging and mysterious as its predecessors.
  26. Mar 25, 2019
    91
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is the hardest game created by From Software and is also their most ambitious IP. It is a great example of game and combat design.
  27. May 15, 2019
    90
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is an enjoyable, yet deeply challenging game. It's not really a Dark Souls with samurais game, but whether or not you enjoyed the difficulty level of the battles in Dark Souls will be a good benchmark in gauging how much you'll like Sekiro. If you're persistent, up for a challenge, and don't become frustrated easily, then Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is an easy game to recommend.
  28. Apr 26, 2019
    90
    This is is a challenging and finely-tuned ninja action title with an emphasis on split-second timing and attacks of opportunity, and features one of the best combat systems I’ve seen in years.
  29. Apr 12, 2019
    90
    Challenging and enthralling shinobi action with the usual From Software brand of difficulty, quirks and all.
  30. Apr 11, 2019
    90
    More than anything though, Sekiro is a game that I am endlessly thankful for having spent time with the past few weeks. The moments of elation that I have had playing through Sekiro were unmatched not only in gaming but in my everyday life. It provided a sense of joy that comforted me and made me optimistic when I needed it most. Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is a game I will continue to look back at fondly for years to come because of this.
  31. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Apr 10, 2019
    90
    Sekiro rewards mastery of its core systems (and perhaps a tiny bit of luck), making you excited to see the next enemy and test your mettle. Everything from environments to battles encourages creative thinking, making it an intensely personal and satisfying experience. Even if you die a lot. [Issue#161, p.79]
  32. 90
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice changes up the Souls formula whilst keeping important elements like exploration. The combat is quite possibly the best swordplay I've ever seen in a game which is difficult to start with but incredibly rewarding when you're going toe to toe with a boss and the stealth gives you the option to take out most minor enemies quietly if that's how you want to play. Another From masterpiece.
  33. Apr 4, 2019
    90
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice has FromSoftware’s typical brutal difficulty, but honestly that’s beside the point. What matters is the thoughtful, precision-based combat, smart use of stealth, and a skill tree that’s trimmed of fat. This game shows what you can do with game design if you dispense with the extraneous and focus on strong core mechanics. It’s a punishing, rewarding, and beautiful experience.
  34. Apr 3, 2019
    90
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is one of the most rewarding video games I have played in years. We eagerly look forward to seeing what the DLC will bring to the table.
  35. Apr 1, 2019
    90
    It’s not a perfect game, but it comes very close. FromSoftware, via Demon’s Souls, Dark Souls, Tenchu, and Bloodborne, has built this beautiful, mystifying, work of art. A work of art that demands your patience, persistent and the application of all of your skill to fully understand and enjoy it. But it really is worth the effort. Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is yet another FromSoftware classic.
  36. Mar 30, 2019
    90
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is definitely one of the best games developed by FromSoftware, if not the best. Surely some technical issues like occasional drops in frame rate or minor AI problems pop-up at times, but nevertheless, you'll enjoy every single second of this challenging, beautiful experience.
  37. 90
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is a beautiful and innovative take on what we have come to expect from the "Soulsborne" genre of games. Both veterans of previous FromSoftware games and new players seeking a challenge will not be disappointed.
  38. 90
    We're only at the end of first quarter 2019, but Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is pulling out all the stops as a heavy hitter. Minor issues aside, Sekiro will occupy thousands of PlayStations for a long, long time.
  39. Mar 29, 2019
    90
    Sekiro is From Software’s purest distillation of a game design philosophy that values skill-based combat and isn’t afraid to challenge the player at nearly every moment.
  40. Mar 28, 2019
    90
    Difficult and beautiful.
  41. Mar 28, 2019
    90
    As you’ve probably expected from FromSoft at this point, Sekiro is a game that relishes in its ability to challenge and punish the player with little to no room for error. The developer’s methods of storytelling may start to feel a tad stale at this point, but the game still manages to capture that immense feeling of satisfaction and accomplishment like no other.
  42. Mar 27, 2019
    90
    It demands a level of determination and skill that far exceeds every other Souls-like game before it, but just as Sekiro can be downright infuriating, it can be just as, if not more, satisfying. It feels like the uncompromising realization of FromSoftware’s vision, and you can’t ask for much more than that. If FromSoftware intends to make a sequel, we’ll have our controllers ready – and the backup controllers for when we break the first ones.
  43. Mar 26, 2019
    90
    It will require all of you: your devotion, your skill, your ability to pull through. But what you will get in return is one of the greatest wars of attrition you will find on your console.
  44. Mar 26, 2019
    90
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is certainly not for everyone, and may well drive certain players mad with its unceasing challenge, but it also truly wants you to succeed, and uniquely rewards the driven with a satisfying story and gorgeous world to explore. If this game is what Miyazaki meant when he famously announced his departure from development on the Souls series, fans can rest assured that it was a Trusty Patches-level misdirect.
  45. Mar 26, 2019
    90
    Its demands on players is as great as any FromSoftware game but persevere and Sekiro reveals itself as the most rewarding and nuanced ninja game in decades.
  46. Mar 26, 2019
    90
    In the tradition of the Souls games From Software delivers once more, while sporting some brilliant new ideas: grappling hook, stealth elements and especially the ingenious battle system marks the next big step in the evolution of the mechanics Miyazaki-san and his team became famous for.
  47. Mar 25, 2019
    90
    An action whose hardcore nature is almost innatural for the actual market, and yet able to remain so exhilarating and magnetically attractive that it deserves a spot among the best games of this generation despite its extreme difficulty.
  48. Mar 25, 2019
    90
    The orchestration of intense one-on-one boss encounters that truly test your mettle, and slower-paced stealth sections that let you take on battles at your own pace, is masterful. More so than in previous games, From Software has honed in on the inherent tension found in the challenging nature of its games, and uses it to incredible effect. Sekiro marries the developer's unique brand of gameplay with stealth action to deliver an experience that is as challenging as it is gratifying.
  49. Mar 25, 2019
    90
    Sekiro obviously piggybacks on the Souls series, but doesn't stop there. It was a risky move, but From Software proved once again that there's no match for them. The exposition of the game world and its rules are surprisingly easy, but the game quickly kicks you in the teeth with the perfect combat system. An instant classic - once again.
  50. 90
    I enjoyed the more robust attention to telling a story and while this means that the levels are more structured, From Software deserves a great deal of credit for clever level design that makes great use of Wolf's prosthetic arm and his great sense of mobility. It will be interesting to see if Sekiro has the same longevity and rabid fan devotion as the Souls games, but I can fully appreciate From Software taking some chances and doing something quite different as well.
  51. Mar 24, 2019
    90
    Sekiro is a worthy heir to the Souls-like dynasty. It's not a new chapter of the old franchises, is another interpretation of From Software's philosophy, and another hardcore masterpiece.
  52. Mar 24, 2019
    90
    This adventure marks a maturation in the formula that fans have come to love. Everything new in Sekiro is achieved with graceful triumph, demonstrating how willing From Software is to experiment with new ideas and proving it to be one of the greatest modern developers.
  53. Mar 23, 2019
    90
    Above all, there is a technical, rapid, stratified combat system. A grueling challenge of nerves, tenacity and reflexes, which knows when to open up to less obsessive rhythms, enhancing stealth and exploration. A masterpiece of style and wickedness, lightning and lethal, forged in the blood of mistakes and in the resolution that is hidden in each of us.
  54. Mar 22, 2019
    90
    It innovates enough to the point where people who are tired of the same old song and dance will find new mysteries to master; but still maintains that strong marriage of world building and sense of pride garnered from besting taxing conflicts.
  55. Mar 21, 2019
    90
    Sekiro is a beautifully realized next step in the evolution of From Software’s staple genre, but the renewed focus on combat mechanics and increased difficulty level might prove too much even for some Souls veterans. If you keep at it, however, the game’s world, level design and story (not to mention the nicely done nods to previous Miyazaki games) make the effort more than worthwhile.
  56. Mar 21, 2019
    90
    Sekiro is a wonderful game with great fights, plenty of exploration and a very nice artistic direction. A must-have.
  57. Mar 21, 2019
    90
    It’s a challenging journey through a weird and wondrous world that forces you to learn and master its punishing combat to succeed. However, the sweet thrill of victory keeps you pushing forward despite myriad disheartening deaths. Sekiro is one of the most difficult games I have ever played, but for those seeking adventure, exploration, and a truly realized ninja fantasy, the trek is worth the high demands.
  58. Apr 4, 2019
    88
    The legacy of Dark Souls force us to compare. Sekiro definitely misses out on adventure and replayability, as well as aesthetic creativity. However, any other part of the game is just amazing.
  59. Mar 21, 2019
    88
    Overall, I can’t get enough of Sekiro despite being terrible at playing it. It’s a great evolution of the Soulsborne experience with impressive new traversal and combat mechanics in a beautiful world loaded with odd characters and challenging enemies. I’m excited to jump into my second playthrough to find any areas or bosses I missed initially, as well as continue to upgrade my Shinobi Tools and combat abilities.
  60. Mar 29, 2019
    85
    Fantastic combat, stunning locales, and effortless traversal make Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice a thoroughly enjoyable change of pace for From Software. Though with some imperfections, it's still a uniquely bold statement from a studio that's proven their proficiency at establishing successful IP's.
  61. Mar 27, 2019
    85
    You can tell From Software was happy to try something a little different with Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice. The game has a few mechanical issues, which can largely be chalked up to new series jitters, but its energy and excitement mostly make up for its flaws. Yes, Sekiro can be downright sadistic at times, but those with the bushido (or plain old stubbornness) to face its challenges will have a bloody good time.
  62. Mar 25, 2019
    85
    With Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice, From Software has proven once again that has no qualms about pushing its own boundaries. The studio has made a name for itself by creating incredibly difficult games, but the breadth of innovation spread across the Dark Souls series, Bloodborne, and now Sekiro shows how good the studio is at defying fan expectations. Sekiro isn’t perfect, but like the various Soulsborne games before it, From’s latest shows the wisdom in pushing players beyond their pre-conceived limits.
  63. Mar 21, 2019
    85
    If you are willing to invest work in learning the combat system, you will have a lot of fun. Away from this, Sekiro, like his spiritual predecessors, convinces with a fascinating setting that does not match the quality and variety of game worlds like Lordran or Yharnam. Technically, however, the game presents itself from a single source, tells an exciting story and offers sufficient scope for many fun hours.
  64. Mar 21, 2019
    85
    With Sekiro Shadows Die Twice proves FromSoftware still knows how to put their 'soulslike'-concept to the best of use. Although the game introduces a tremendous load of changes to the formula, it still knows how to create that same euphoric experience.
  65. Mar 21, 2019
    85
    Technical, demanding, often uncompromising in the face of error, it is still as rewarding after even the least success.
  66. Mar 21, 2019
    85
    As powerful as Dark Souls and Bloodborne, Sekiro demonstrates once again all OF FromSoftware's talent. With an unparalleled artistic direction and an ingenious fighting system, it is clearly one of the best games of the moment.
  67. Apr 12, 2019
    80
    If you’re at a point in life where you have frequent long evenings or empty weekends to throw at its mountainous challenges, you will find here an exquisite game whose subtle themes, gradually unfurling mysteries and beautiful samurai-period sights reward the determined and skilled player. Otherwise, Sekiro is a stubbornly locked treasure chest. It’s as if the Lord of the Rings had only been published in Tolkein’s own Elvish, unreadable without long hours of gruelling study.
  68. Apr 4, 2019
    80
    Would my love for Sekiro have deepened if it allowed me to make it easier by softening its combat or giving me endless resources to survive? Probably. I’ve always wanted to be a tourist in From Software’s worlds rather than a permanent resident. I prefer my leisure masochism to be based around exploration and discovery, not challenges of timing and pattern recognition. But I also can’t indict the game for being something it isn’t. I may loathe playing Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice, but I also have to acknowledge that it’s wholly committed to its artistic vision and executes it with astonishing care. I may hate that I’m physically incapable of finishing it, but my god do I respect it.
  69. Mar 27, 2019
    80
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is a fiercely challenging, yet highly compelling action adventure. The posture-based combat is tricky to learn but wonderfully rewarding to master, and all the nips and tucks to From Software's usual tropes make for a game that's surprisingly accessible for new players. Despite some slightly ropey traversal and occasionally dodgy performance, this game will keep you hooked from start to finish with its built-in "one more go" death mechanic and a bleak yet gorgeous world to explore. This is a fresh new spin on From's formula that fans and newcomers alike should definitely give a stab.
  70. Mar 26, 2019
    80
    The introduction of new traversal ideas, proper stealth and a more focused narrative mark this out as different enough to warrant true merit, and prove that From Software still have a trick or two up their sleeves.
  71. Mar 26, 2019
    80
    Sekiro is a demanding and rewarding game. Harrowing to the point of emotional exhaustion, some players will bounce off after a few of the meaner boss encounters without the now-classic FromSoftware multiplayer. Brave individuals that persevere, though, will dig through a rich, textured game crammed with spectacular levels and enemy encounters.
  72. Mar 26, 2019
    80
    Sekiro has the best swordfights in any video game. It leans too heavily on its mediocre stealth, but its satisfying combat will keep you going through hundreds of brutal deaths.
  73. Mar 21, 2019
    80
    Set against the backdrop of a gorgeous Japanese aesthetic, Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice combines what makes a From Software title special into an excellent, solid package that fans are going to love. Death may be a constant in Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice, but it’s worth getting up each time.
  74. Mar 21, 2019
    80
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice comes with some obvious flaws: Enemy types repeat too often, and we would have liked more variety in the maps. Having to defeat a boss in order to upgrade your character can become a big problem, too. However, as a stealth game, it offers plenty of routes to explore and ways to assassinate your targets. But above all, the sword fighting system comes with genuinely new ideas, including posture gauge and deflecting attacks, making Sekiro’s battles feel like an art in themselves. While the simplified levelling system and increased reliance on exploration make Sekiro feel even more difficult than FromSoftware’s Dark Souls series and Bloodborne, close combat battles have never been this good.
  75. Apr 27, 2019
    78
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice succeeds in its incredibly visceral combat and stealth all while being set in an engaging game world. However, its linear character growth options and repetitive combat begin to dull the experience after you get over the initial hump.
  76. Mar 27, 2019
    40
    Its boss fights highlight the contrived lengths that FromSoftware has gone to in order to satisfy players’ thirst for difficulty.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Apr 11, 2019
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is unrelentingly tough. It is also seriously brilliant...Sekiro manages to be the tightest FROM game to date. Its ideas coalesce so impressively that it’s hard not to be won over by its wonderfully frenetic combat, gorgeously crafted Japanese fantasy world, and its lean, ruthless focus that makes it the most immediately ‘accessible’ game of its kind to date; one that kept me going even when I considered giving up.
  2. Mar 21, 2019
    Heart-stopping swordfights and deft, panoramic stealth waged across another vast, gorgeously rancid From Software landscape. [Eurogamer Essential]
  3. Mar 21, 2019
    It's a sublime distillation of everything that makes the Souls games so amazing, but it truly is more challenging than any of those games by a very long mile. I am not exaggerating here. I think Sekiro may be one of the very best games ever made, but it is not going to be for everyone. I still recommend that everyone gives it a shot. It takes patience but it's just such a well-crafted action game, I've never played anything quite like it...I'm playing the game at my own pace rather than rushing through. I'd get too frustrated, I think. So I'll take my time to finish this beast. And I'm okay with that. I'm in no hurry to be done with the world of Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice. It's the best game I've played since Bloodborne.
  4. Mar 21, 2019
    Sekiro gets a whole lot right. Its themes permeate its feudal Japan in a compelling way, and for the most part, the gameplay is deeply satisfying. There are things it could do better, particularly avoiding repetition, but the notes Sekiro does hit are memorable enough that the slog doesn’t totally ruin the flow of gameplay, and the inertia into the end of the game carries strong. The challenge Sekiro presents is daunting and time-consuming.
  5. Mar 21, 2019
    Rarely do my insights or incremental improvements give me anything close to an easy win, but Sekiro isn’t difficult for difficult’s sake. It gives me hints, but no roadmap. It implies. It finds ways to reward me when I read between the lines. It hands me my ass when I try something a little too clever or panicked or cheap, but it gives me victories when I act with care and react with considered split-second decisions. This is the skill that Sekiro challenges me to accumulate, and it never lets me forget that. [Polygon Recommends]
  6. Mar 25, 2019
    When Sekiro soars—sending you flying across the battlefield like a medieval, Japanese, and extremely blood-drenched Batman—it finds a beautiful sweet spot between Dark Souls’ cautious, technical combat, and the backstab-heavy joys of something like Tenchu: Stealth Assassins. There’s a simple genius in the studio inverting its tried-and-true formula by making Wolf the most mobile creature on the battlefield for once, running circles around his lumbering opponents. It’s only when the pleasures of those movements are denied to you, in favor of a “straighter fight,” that the game makes you realize how far you are from being the perfect player it’s apparently seeking.
  7. Mar 31, 2019
    It's a From Software instant classic, a game of stealth, brutal combat, and punishing difficulty. I also don't like it... Sekiro is a very good game that's absolutely not for me.
  8. Mar 22, 2019
    This is a brutal, brutal game that makes no apologies whatsoever for grinding your resolve into dust...And I love it...I have played enough to know it’s something very special. It never feels unfair, and always inspires me to improve myself, even if that seems like an ever-distant goal. The difficulty will be off-putting to many people, but for many others it’s part of the draw. If you’ve ever yelled at a TV screen before pressing “retry” with determination, Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is for you. [Review in Progress]
  9. Mar 21, 2019
    Sekiro is a game a lot of people are going to bounce off. It’s one for the “git gud” crowd – for people who want a feeling of accomplishment, rather than the fake achievement you feel from finding some Level 20 Pants in most modern triple-A experiences. It’s FromSoftware at its most confident, at its most unapologetic. It’s Bloodborne but faster, with fewer crutches yet somehow more fair. It’s also one of the best games released so far in what’s already looking like a strong 2019.
  10. Mar 21, 2019
    Yes, FromSoft could have shipped another game that more cleanly fits one of their successful molds, another Souls, another Bloodborne. Instead, they radically iterated and came away with something that feels genuinely new to play. Which is appropriate: Like one of their own protagonists, FromSoft faced a choice between sustaining the past and charging into the unknown, and they chose the latter. [Impressoins]
  11. Mar 27, 2019
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is certainly not for everyone. For a certain type of player, it will undoubtedly feel like the most difficult game From Software has ever produced. But it's also enthrallingly atmospheric, its combat and setting contributing to a palpable, engaging sense of mood. It's a game of powerful imagery, of swords crossed in the morning mist. The challenge of Sekiro exists to create that mood and to answer a design problem in From's earlier games. That's not the point, exactly. But to enjoy Sekiro, you have to accept it anyway.

There are no user reviews yet.