Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
Buy On
  1. 70
    The core action is still exciting and dynamic, with a layered combo system that ensures it's never quite a button masher. Throw in the series' infamously hyperbolic and satirical sexualisation, and you're still left with a good time. There are games that do genuine sexiness better, and there aren't many out there that have the wild, unbound entertainment value of Senran Kagura.
  2. Jan 24, 2019
    70
    Senran Kagura Burst Re: Newal is an interesting remake of a 3DS game from 2013. The combat and visuals have been overhauled to fit the times, but there's nothing ground-breaking. The cute yet tough girls are a treat to play as, even though combat can get repetitive.
  3. Jan 21, 2019
    70
    Senran Kagura Burst Re:Newal is a nice gateway into the franchise and a very good remake of the 3DS classic but one that won't offer much for players of Estival Versus thanks to a lot of reuse.
  4. Jan 18, 2019
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. Feb 1, 2019
    65
    All in all, this game had great aesthetics and commentary, but it was entirely too repetitive. Every mission was pretty much the same, but increased in difficulty throughout the game. I would give this game a 6.5/10 rating, but it is also a cult favorite and I respect those who have love for this game.
  6. Jan 18, 2019
    65
    A good remake of an old and simple game that now is way more beautiful, but it's still entertaining despite it repetitiveness.
  7. Mar 12, 2019
    60
    Senran Kagura Burst Re:Newal plays it safe with the series' established formula, which is ironic considering these titles are anything but safe. The series has always stuck to its roots and embraced the perverseness that in equal measures repels and attracts gamers, and this entry does little but remind the gaming world that these games exist. Aside from Burst Re:Newal being a ground-up remake, there's surprisingly few innovations to take the series into uncharted territory, but the combat is nevertheless enjoyable, and the story interesting enough to just about support the weaker points of the experience.
  8. Jan 21, 2019
    60
    Senran Kagura Burst Re:Newal is one of those games that’s not bad, but not particularly good, either. It’s flawed in multiple ways, but it’s still somewhat fun to play, albeit in short bursts.
  9. Jan 31, 2019
    59
    With the forced ommisions in the Western markets, this game is in the limelight for all the wrong reasons. But if you think that the art of long lost boob bouncing, a merely solid battle system and superficial “my boobs are smaller than yours” dialogue is game of the year material, than this might be something for you.
  10. Feb 7, 2019
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.
  11. Feb 1, 2019
    50
    Rich story containing too many tired anime tropes told through tedious text crawls. Combat sequences are fun but are too short.
User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 35
  2. Negative: 19 out of 35
  1. Feb 12, 2019
    0
    Censored trash, thanks Sony... Avoid and buy the pc version if you can. The PS4 version has modes/features removed in order to pander toCensored trash, thanks Sony... Avoid and buy the pc version if you can. The PS4 version has modes/features removed in order to pander to Sony's demands, it's still Xseed's fault. Full Review »
  2. Jan 29, 2019
    6
    The Senran Kagura series, which although is not very well-known by these sides, already takes a good 7 years always to offer contentThe Senran Kagura series, which although is not very well-known by these sides, already takes a good 7 years always to offer content perverted, disparate, coarse and... a bit hilarious. This is all part of the DNA of the series. And after the spin-off of water guns (Senran Kagura: Peach Beach Splash), here comes Senran Kagura Burst Re: Newal for PlayStation 4 and for PC. Note that this game is a remake of Senran Kagura: Skirting Shadows and Senran Kagura Burst (Director's Cut of Skirting Shadows) that came out for Nintendo 3DS.

    The story is ok. Senran Kagura Burst Re: Newal is a Musou, which means that most missions are 1 vs "N" of enemies. It's easy to pick up and get used to the game, be it attacking, running, jumping, executing techniques, defending and parrying. Pure and hard action along with the 60 FPS that the game commands. This despite the game camera, as in the Estival Versus, is a bit annoying, especially when we are leaning against some wall. And we also have 1 vs 1 matches. In Senran Kagura: Estival Versus we had Multiplayer with Free for all battles, Capture-The-Bra and Understorm, but strange as it may seem, Senran Kagura Burst Re: Newal don't have Multiplayer. When we deal damage to the opponent in a 1-on-1 match, in a matter of time, the clothes get ripped to the full strip. The character is naked and the intimate parts of it... are covered by an intense brightness.

    All 12 characters have different moves and weapons from each other. All 12 characters have different moves and weapons from each other. All characters have these 3 styles: Flash Style (normal), Yang Style (Post transformation "Shinobi") and Yin Style (Frantic). Initially, during the missions we only have two options: Flash Style or Yin Style. In Frantic mode, it's true that we take greater damage, but it also increases power and our combos become infinite. As we evolve styles and character, we gain new combos (Flash and Yang) and get new abilities (Yin and Yang).

    As in Estival versus, our character can do "Shinobi" transformation. I put it in quotation marks because let's just say... almost all the characters don't wear Shinobi clothes. When we make the transformation, we have a better moveset compared to Flash Style, the attack becomes slightly more powerful and our life bar is regenerated to the maximum point. In both Yin and Yang, we can use the techniques Secret Ninja Arts and the Ultimate Secret Ninja Arts. During our missions, we can pick up Secret Files (collectibles), Health Items and Secret Growth Medicine. Regarding the latter, these can be used to level up our female characters.

    Speaking about main missions, basically the objective is only 1 vs 100 and 1 vs 1. The excess of repetitiveness is so much that the user ends up having enough of the game sooner or later if he have little or no patience. When we complete the main quests or free missions, we earn experience points, earn money, can be used in the Shop (to get clothes, music, etc.) and most of the time in the main missions, we unlock Free Missions that don't pass of... more of the same. We also have the Training Grounds to train our skills.

    And unsurprisingly, we have a Dressing Room, where we can change the clothes (before transformation and put transformation) of our characters, as well as Lingerie or hair and add accessories for our character. We also have the Diorama mode where we can take pictures with our favorite characters in several different ways. Where is the Intimacy Mode which we had on Estival Versus and Peach Beach Splash for example? It was withdrawn at 100%. Because of the new policies of Sony (NA/ EU). And this happened well before the game's release date was announced. For those who don't know what this mode is, Intimacy mode allows us to interact (in many different ways) with the character through the virtual hands in order to get a response from that same character. Yes, I know this sounds strange, especially with the "adult-child" characters.

    Senran Kagura Burst Re: Newal uses the same graphic engine as Estival Versus and Peach Beach Splash. Apart from the designs of some of the arenas that could have been better treated, they visually comply. Characters graphically well treated without counting the gelatinous movements of their breasts. Speaking of the soundtrack, taking out one or another good song, the rest is just acceptable. Overall, Senran Kagura Burst Re: Newal can be fun for a while and have positive things, but compared to Estival Versus, it has suffered several cuts in terms of "salt" to hold me in the game even more. Instead of evolving, it simply regressed. And some of the problems present in Estival Versus (the camera and the design of the arenas) are still included in this Burst Re: Newal. You want a good Senran Kagura? Choose Peach Beach Splash. Want a good action game Senran Kagura? Choose Estival Versus. The Burst Re: Newal is below these two.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 30, 2019
    8
    Having a good time, gameplay is good. Story is a little hard to follow though that could be me. I would definitely recommend it