Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
Buy On
  1. Mar 25, 2016
    70
    "Sexy" is the word that fits Senran Kagura Estival Versus the most. A lot of girls fights in lingerie, and the clothes gets destroyed... The game provides a lot of content and fun, but with some repetition.
  2. Mar 22, 2016
    70
    Senran Kagura: Estival Vesus might not do anything extremely different, but it’s apparent the fan base is perfectly happy with that and, ironically, so am I.
  3. Mar 19, 2016
    70
    On one hand I had a lot of fun, but on the other, there are some serious questions about the sexual objectification of the characters, and where the line is drawn between fun and overkill.
  4. Mar 18, 2016
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. Mar 17, 2016
    70
    With all its limitations and its erotic themes, Estival Versus is fun and enjoyable. If you like what the series has to offer, then you don't want to miss this one.
  6. Mar 16, 2016
    70
    Those who are able to look past the myriad issues will find themselves feeling like they are injecting dumb fun directly into their veins. It just won’t leave any track marks.
  7. Mar 24, 2016
    60
    Senran Kagura Estival Versus is a game about boobs, there's a fairly competent fighting mechanic alongside this, but titillation always remains at the forefront. Fans of the series will be happy with the content on offer, but casual players will likely find the sexual themes a little bit too intense.
  8. Mar 17, 2016
    60
    As always, if you can look past the game's controversial exterior, you'll find the beating heart of a reasonably solid hack and slasher.
  9. Mar 15, 2016
    60
    This is another thing that will put people off giving it ago if you can see past the needless loss of clothes and take humour in it you would enjoy what Senran Kagura Estival versus has to offer. A quick fighting beat em up which takes dynasty warriors and dead or alive and mixes them into an anime fighting game with boobs, lots and lots of boobs and if that isn’t your thing this really isn’t going to be for you.
  10. Mar 24, 2016
    59
    If you can look past the boobs that seem to be moved by hydraulic systems and the sometimes unbearably embarrassing dialogue you’ll find an interesting fighting system that gives Koeis Musou-games a run for their money.
  11. 55
    Senran Kagura Estival Versus sure has a lot of fanservice…and, unfortunately, not a whole lot else.
  12. Apr 3, 2016
    50
    If it’s boobs you’re after, Senran Kagura: Estival Versus will provide more than your fair share, but if you’re wanting actual gameplay, it doesn’t deliver anything you won’t find better done elsewhere.
  13. Mar 22, 2016
    50
    As a 3D action game, Estival Versus manages to tick most boxes, but it fails to deliver anything which could be labelled as ground-breaking. While in no way poor or unenjoyable, it does little to put this franchise on the map. Still, for fans of previous entries, there’s plenty of meat on the bone, bundled together in a respectably polished brawler.
  14. 50
    It's not great, but Senran Kagura Estival Versus offers up some low brow fun in multiplayer. Poor level design kills the single player experience, though.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 158 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 158
  1. Mar 7, 2017
    10
    Wanna know how a normal girl feels about Senran Kagura? Well...

    When you think about it there isn't really all that much that's dirty about
    Wanna know how a normal girl feels about Senran Kagura? Well...

    When you think about it there isn't really all that much that's dirty about this series. You have oversized boobs, insane jiggle physics, and clothing destruction. When you single those out you could be talking about Dead or Alive 5 for all anyone knows. As a female (who isn't bothered by fanservice) I really like this series. Not just the gameplay either, which I will say feels good when you get into it and eventually even gets addictive, I love that the vast majority of characters are strong females. They're not all your typical damsel in distress type that you get in a fair share of games. They all have different personalities too. Some are cliched, that's inevitable, but there are some pretty unique ones in the group.

    While the story has it's moments of fanservice and pervyness it's not really anything anyone should be offended by. It's usually so out there that it's more funny then offensive. Then there are those moments where it gets dark or sad and those are why you end up enjoying the story. Like all stories it's not going to mesh with everyone-- some will like it more than others. People like to throw around the "sex sells" argument but there is no sex in this game-- heck, there's not even any nudity. I've lived in America my whole life and I can assure you there are far more offensive and sexual things in USA's TV, movies, music, and literature than anything that's been featured in Senran Kagura.

    The thing is, Senran Kagura is as sexualized as you make it. You can turn off clothing destruction and put them in full clothing or you can have them run around in bikinis, you can even buy less or more revealing outfits if you so choose to.

    People just need to try it out before they disregard it for the initial impression it gives off. It looks like fanservice, and it is most of the time, but there is a soul deep down behind all that. And to anyone wanting to try it for more than it's fanservice I say go for it. I went for it and now I love this series for everything that it is, not just what it tries to sell itself on. It's a game that knows what it is but it goes beyond that to be so much more-- it's a fanservice game that plays like a full and well thought-out game. I'm not putting it on a pedestal and saying it's genre defining but it definitely doesn't deserve all the ignorant hate it gets from people. It's a humble little brawler, nothing more and nothing less.

    People misinterpret it, Senran Kagura isn't being pervy about breasts, it's celebrating breasts.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 23, 2016
    2
    Senran Kagura has always been a bad series, I mean, we all know the reason we got into it firstly, but it just gets boring after so many gamesSenran Kagura has always been a bad series, I mean, we all know the reason we got into it firstly, but it just gets boring after so many games that only have this one interesting thing. Poor storyline, poor gameplay, and very repetitive compared to previous SK. Definetely not worth it, the game is very average. Full Review »
  3. Mar 27, 2017
    10
    This game is one of the most beautiful story-wise games and one of the most beautifully animated I've ever played. I hope everyone in theThis game is one of the most beautiful story-wise games and one of the most beautifully animated I've ever played. I hope everyone in the world gets a chance to play this masterpiece. GOTY every year 110/8 IGN would bang again Full Review »