Shadow of the Beast Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 160 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The legend of Aarbron is told once more as you embark upon a ferocious action adventure, seeking to dethrone the evil lord Maletoth, in the visually stunning world of Shadow of the Beast.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Shadow of the Beast - Gamescom 2013 Announcement Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 60
  2. Negative: 5 out of 60
  1. May 16, 2016
    90
    Shadow of the Beast is one of those digital releases that is worth its price. A videogame that is incredibly well designed, with a considerable duration, addictive, can be played multiple times and has an amazing graphic design.
  2. May 25, 2016
    80
    Shadow of the Beast unleashes a beast out for revenge. It offers some puzzles, a lot of platforming and even more disgustingly good hack and slash action. There is a lot of stuff to unlock as well which keeps you busy for hours.
  3. May 24, 2016
    79
    Shadow of the Beast is a respectful re-imagining of the Amiga classic from 1989. The combat in the game is fun, it has a nice presentation throughout and an interesting narrative design.
  4. May 16, 2016
    70
    We expected more from this tribute. But it will appeal to fans of the original work, albeit with its loose controls and its poor gameplay evolution.
  5. May 16, 2016
    63
    Shadow of the Beast is a tribute and a modernization of the namesake action game that Psygnosis developed in 1989 on Amiga Computer. It shows some impressive art works, a captivating style, and create an original setting, but the story mode is impressively short and the gameplay is far from being well designed and responsive.
  6. May 17, 2016
    58
    I imagine that if you have fond memories of the Amiga game, playing this remade version will feel like checking in on an old friend after a few decades apart. If you don't have that nostalgia, though…let's just say you'll wonder what all the fuss was about.
  7. May 16, 2016
    30
    If Shadow of the Beast is in any way effective, it's as a cautionary tale of the dangers of nostalgia.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. May 25, 2016
    10
    Really cool game. Super demanding, you have to learn to play well, but this game is something really special! If you like challenging combatReally cool game. Super demanding, you have to learn to play well, but this game is something really special! If you like challenging combat and a rich world you're happy to revisit repeatedly (the game isn't too big) you'll love it, so just ignore the negative reviews if that sounds like you. Expand
  2. May 18, 2016
    10
    best remake for ever , i play Original this game when im have 4 years old :)
    but please update game and put shadow of the beast original II
    best remake for ever , i play Original this game when im have 4 years old :)
    but please update game and put shadow of the beast original II and III .
    thanks you Sony , thank you Heavy Spectrum :)
    Expand
  3. May 17, 2016
    10
    If you play this game mashing the attack button you've failed! The combat is really intricate once you get used to the fact that it's aboutIf you play this game mashing the attack button you've failed! The combat is really intricate once you get used to the fact that it's about considered timing. With the amount of secrets to find and unlock, and all the psygnosis references for old school players, the replay value is high! I've enjoyed going back into the levels and getting better at combat as I discover more. I really don't understand what the low score reviews are talking about, I think they just haven't understood that this is a proper game that requires skill to play. I love it and hope they make a sequel! Expand
  4. May 6, 2020
    9
    Shadow of the beast is fun platformer with a nice story. Even though I never played the original I enjoyed the variety of puzzels, exploringShadow of the beast is fun platformer with a nice story. Even though I never played the original I enjoyed the variety of puzzels, exploring the maps, trying to get too scores on each map, and the general combat. While this isn't a full blown 60$ game I don't think it ever set out to be so if you find this for 15-20$ grab it and enjoy. Expand
  5. May 17, 2016
    8
    Shadow of the Beast returns with a good game that has its flaws like the very long loading times and the platforming is a bit weird but youShadow of the Beast returns with a good game that has its flaws like the very long loading times and the platforming is a bit weird but you can get used to it quite fast.

    Good things:
    -Offers a good challenge if you're playing the game on the hardest difficulty
    -Good amount of hidden secrets and collectibles and various endings to have replay value
    -The visuals are very pretty and you will be amazed by some backgrounds
    -The music is as good as it was in the past games
    -Good amount of violence without being too gore for people that likes violence

    Bad things:
    -The combat might be too simple, you have one button to attack so you will see yourself constantly pressing Square, you can press the touchpad or R1+L1 to do special attacks but you will see yourself using Square most of the times
    -The platforming doesn't feel right, Aarbron jumps when you press X unlike many people says but when falling it feels very clunky
    -The movement some times also feels kinda clunky, specially when you want to turn or walk just one step you may find Aarbron walking two or three steps instead of one as you intended
    -The game sometimes doesn't explain its mechanics well enough, like the first boss you encounter you will probably face him like the rest of the enemies and you will probably find how to deal with it after you died since the game doesn't give you a hint by any way until you fight it for some time

    Still is a good game and for those who loved the original one it comes inside the game so you're basically buying two games paying only for one, for any who loved the original and its challenge they will love this new entry, i hope Sony doesn't ditch the Shadow of the Beast series and keeps making new entries with bigger budget.
    Expand
  6. May 19, 2016
    8
    The stages, music and character designs are reminiscent of the Amiga´s 1989 version, but obviously none of these aspects becomes so shockingThe stages, music and character designs are reminiscent of the Amiga´s 1989 version, but obviously none of these aspects becomes so shocking as that versión used to be.
    It is a good arcade , nothing more.
    I would like to know the opinion of the founders of Psygnosis about this version.
    Expand
  7. May 19, 2016
    1
    This ISN'T Shadow of the Beast. As a fan of the two games on the Sega Genesis, this is absolutely nothing like those games. This feels moreThis ISN'T Shadow of the Beast. As a fan of the two games on the Sega Genesis, this is absolutely nothing like those games. This feels more like a generic hack & slash with little to no difficulty. This should've just been called something else since it's NOT Shadow of the Beast. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews