Shadow Warrior 2 Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shadow Warrior 2 is the evolution of Flying Wild Hog’s offbeat first-person shooter following the further misadventures of former corporate shogun Lo Wang. Now surviving as a reclusive mercenary on the edge of a corrupted world, the formidable warrior must again wield a devastatingShadow Warrior 2 is the evolution of Flying Wild Hog’s offbeat first-person shooter following the further misadventures of former corporate shogun Lo Wang. Now surviving as a reclusive mercenary on the edge of a corrupted world, the formidable warrior must again wield a devastating combination of guns, blades, magic and wit to strike down the demonic legions overwhelming the world. Battle alongside allies online in four-player co-op or go it alone in spectacular procedurally-generated landscapes to complete daring missions and collect powerful new weapons, armor, and arcane relics of legend. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Shadow Warrior 2 - Announcement Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. May 25, 2017
    80
    Shadow Warrior is an amazing game for fans of mindless destruction.
  2. May 19, 2017
    80
    Terrible puns aside, Shadow Warrior 2 is wildly good fun. The immediate gratification of the combat is what keeps the game enjoyable throughout, but Flying Wild Hog has backed this up with several layers of RPG mechanics to support and enrich the game’s strong sense of variety. Find some friends to experience the game at its best in co-op mode.
  3. Sep 16, 2017
    78
    Bloody retro shooter with flawed controls, but quite fun when played with friends.
  4. May 24, 2017
    75
    Shadow Warrior 2 is superior than the original one, with a co-op mode as enjoyable as you would expect. It might be quite repetitive sometimes and it's hard to focus with all the mess happening at the same time, but its particular sense of humour, the possibilities when it comes to develop your character and his weaponry, as well as the risk taken offering a different shooter make Flying Wild Hog's game one to take into account for classic FPS lovers.
  5. May 22, 2017
    70
    Shadow Warrior 2 stands on its own as a frenzied yet fresh blending of genres that can easily enthral groups of players for hours at a time. For lone wolves, the looting and shooting will be slightly less appealing. This, and a few smaller hitches, hold the game back from greatness, though die-hard fans of the genre will certainly get their fill.
  6. 70
    It’s the case of a small issue that turned rampant and hindered my play experience, but Shadow Warrior 2 is such a fast-paced, irresponsible, chaotic joy ride, that the mental pain I had to deal with from this annoying decision was well worth it in the end.
  7. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jun 24, 2017
    60
    The swift gunplay is upgraded with some basic RPG features, but the repetitive quest hunt structure slows down the fun. This Wang needed a virtual Viagra to impress. [July 2016, p.84]

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Nov 13, 2017
    9
    Very good and addicting fun with no micro transactions. The comedy can be a bit cheesy but overall the story is worth completing. The guns andVery good and addicting fun with no micro transactions. The comedy can be a bit cheesy but overall the story is worth completing. The guns and the varieties of upgrades including elemental ammo and various stat boosts. It has a very nice quest structure with side quests actually giving substational benefits and new weapons (many weapons in this game) I really enjoyed it. Expand
  2. Apr 5, 2018
    9
    I would like the start with the fact that I have never played Shadow Warrior 1 and I mostly play Shadow Warriors 2 in Co-op. I truly missedI would like the start with the fact that I have never played Shadow Warrior 1 and I mostly play Shadow Warriors 2 in Co-op. I truly missed games like Shadow Warrior 2, they have become so rare and sadly that has been especially the case on the PS4. Three weeks ago I started up the game for the first time, in single player, I played through the tutorial and afterwards, I directly closed the application. The gameplay wasn't bad it just felt a little weird, same for the Art Style and Graphics. I told my best buddies that I bought a game that was freaking awesome and playable in Co-op, but honestly, at the time I just wished it was awesome '' we really needed something fresh to play''. One of my friends directly liked the idea of the game, but was a little sceptical and wanted to see some gameplay through Share Play, so I started up the game (second time ever) and started playing. It took a full 15 minutes and bam we both became super enthusiastic. The Sword mechanics still felt a little bit weird but I was killing things with it and I slowly started to control the sword as a master. The game is extremely satisfying, as a coop experience, you both find your own loot, there is no reviving mechanic, meaning if one dies the monster's health bar just reset and I think that works extremely well. You constantly try to keep each other alive (you watch one another) instead of trying to get somebody back to life occasionally and that only strengthen the Co-op experience. This game has a lot of different difficulty settings from Easy to Insanity and Insanity has multiple difficulty levels on it own. Insanity 1 is the start, Insanity 2 is the logical next step, Insanity 3-4 is where the pain starts and from their, you start to wish again you could super fast revive your mate instead of resetting the monster's health bars you had been busy cutting into for the last 2 hours! Grrrrr, this game is great because it's not too easy, it doesn't hold your hand and tells you which mission you need to do, neither does it forces you a certain path on skill three, no ,no you free to go where you want to, and to molt and shape your character the way you like it '' I only hope for you, that you characters vision will work or you will keep dying a horrible death, over and over and over, reset, after reset, after reset..... Expand
  3. Jun 8, 2017
    9
    truly enjoyable,
    a lot of weapons, same humour, plenty of missions
    what bothered me was changing environment from green to techno city
    truly enjoyable,
    a lot of weapons, same humour, plenty of missions

    what bothered me was changing environment from green to techno city which led to less chopping and slicing :(
    Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2017
    8
    You wanna have fun? You wanna have fun with your friends? Well then buy this game,its simple but a blast. Its Doom meets saints row,funny asYou wanna have fun? You wanna have fun with your friends? Well then buy this game,its simple but a blast. Its Doom meets saints row,funny as hell,goofy as hell and fun as hell,I love it. Collapse
  5. May 24, 2017
    7
    it is unbelievable how amazing games some very small companies do only for the so few fans of them and for the small amount of profit theyit is unbelievable how amazing games some very small companies do only for the so few fans of them and for the small amount of profit they will do when gigantic companies like ea and ubisoft which are working for millions and have millions of fans do such a crappy work . this game is so amazing ! it has a perfect design the graphics are great and they gameplay is insanely fun ! i am calling to anyone please buy this game , is great and i swear you will not regret even for 1 cent of what you'll spend ! Expand
  6. Jun 18, 2019
    7
    This is definitely a step up from the first one. The game has enjoyable combat with an over the top comedic style to everything. The story isThis is definitely a step up from the first one. The game has enjoyable combat with an over the top comedic style to everything. The story is alright, and the graphics are pretty decent. Not much to talk about, it's solid all around. Expand
  7. Aug 11, 2017
    0
    Being a fan of the previous Shadow Warrior I was excited to get this because I thought it would be more of the same. Unfortunately it isn't.Being a fan of the previous Shadow Warrior I was excited to get this because I thought it would be more of the same. Unfortunately it isn't. Shadow Warrior 2 is completely dissimilar to its predecessor. Instead of a fast paced, fun, action FPS, it's an open-world RPG with an uneven loot-based system. The original gameplay from the first Shadow Warrior is overhauled with the annoyances of bullet sponge enemies and lackluster upgrades.

    What was an enjoyable story with a witty protagonist is now a "been there, done that" journey with the same beats and plot points. The multiplayer is tacked on and unenjoyable, being that the host is the only player who actually progresses in their game. This sequel pales in comparison to the first Shadow Warrior.
    Expand

See all 12 User Reviews