User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 106 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 106
  2. Negative: 15 out of 106
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 4, 2017
    8
    Si Pirate's Curse no existiera, sin duda nos encontraríamos ante el mejor título de la saga Shantae. De hecho, la única pega que puedo encontrarle es que no ofrece tanto contenido ni profundidad como aquel, y en la comparación pierde.

    Pero como juego independiente, nos encontramos con un señor plataformas, excepcionalmente bien diseñado, entretenido, y con un apartado audiovisual
    Si Pirate's Curse no existiera, sin duda nos encontraríamos ante el mejor título de la saga Shantae. De hecho, la única pega que puedo encontrarle es que no ofrece tanto contenido ni profundidad como aquel, y en la comparación pierde.

    Pero como juego independiente, nos encontramos con un señor plataformas, excepcionalmente bien diseñado, entretenido, y con un apartado audiovisual simplemente perfecto. Idóneo para empezar en la saga, y un fanservice de calidad de cara a los mas veteranos en esta.
    Expand
  2. Dec 20, 2016
    10
    If there were one word to describe Shantae: Half-Genie Hero, it would be magical. The atmosphere this game creates backs that statement up. If you are unfamiliar with the Shantae series, they fall under the Metroidvania genre; a 2D, exploration based puzzle platformer. The controls are tight, the music is fun, the graphics are gorgeous, and the story is charming as heck; this all makes forIf there were one word to describe Shantae: Half-Genie Hero, it would be magical. The atmosphere this game creates backs that statement up. If you are unfamiliar with the Shantae series, they fall under the Metroidvania genre; a 2D, exploration based puzzle platformer. The controls are tight, the music is fun, the graphics are gorgeous, and the story is charming as heck; this all makes for a masterpiece of a game. I want to touch up on the graphics a bit; simply put, this is one the most beautiful games I have ever played. On par with the games made with the Ubi Art engine (Rayman Legends, Child of Light), the style breaths life into the game. Backgrounds and platforms are beautifully hand drawn and shaded in a vector / watercolor style. Character models are drawn similarly, but with an extra dimension added to make them come alive. The game performs very well, with little slowdowns. Unfortunately it is not locked at 60 frames per second, as I encountered a few frame rate drops here and there during hectic sequences, but nothing that detracted from my experience.

    For $20 bucks and a 6-12 hour story with plenty of replayability, buy this game. It is a masterpiece, and any gamer will be doing themselves a disservice by not giving it a try.
    Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2016
    8
    Shantae is back again! And it is just as fun as it used to be. Shantae returns in this sequel in the same form as the other games:With belly dancing, and hair whipping. The combat is fluid, and it feels very responsive. As we watch her whip, we watch her eigh neigh as she transforms into other entities to do battle and explore.

    The metroidvania element is not as prominent here, but it
    Shantae is back again! And it is just as fun as it used to be. Shantae returns in this sequel in the same form as the other games:With belly dancing, and hair whipping. The combat is fluid, and it feels very responsive. As we watch her whip, we watch her eigh neigh as she transforms into other entities to do battle and explore.

    The metroidvania element is not as prominent here, but it is there. The game replaces dungeons with extremely long levels and it was always vibrant and colorful. for 30$ this was well worth the buy
    Expand
  4. Dec 20, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Apoye este juego en por medio de Kickstarter, durante mucho tiempo solo tenía noticias esporádicas del juego, pero valio la pena, simplemente es un juegazo, como juego de plataformas es muy divertido, ya conforme se vayan adquiriendo nuevos poderes se puede ir descubriendo nuevos lugares, el juego invita a explorarlo todo, literalmente es una pasada. Los enemigos no son fáciles, hay momentos donde pueden lo pueden poner a uno en serios aprietos para continuar, pero tampoco trata de poner un techo muy alto a la dificultad de manera que lo convierta en un juego imposible.

    La música es preciosa, simplemente jueguen la primera pantalla y verán lo que digo, hay ciertas partes donde se puede escuchar la voz de la protagonista, las transformaciones molan bastante el personaje esta diseñado para que transmita una sensación de ternura, pero ojo, que es la chica es una autentica fiera a la hora de luchar.

    Gráficamente luce hermoso por todo lado, con muchos detalles, siempre va fluido, no se si a 60fps, pero si me preguntan si los debe de correr ya que se mantiene un movimiento constante, y sin que se perciba ningún problema con el movimiento. En el camino hay proyectos en kickstarter que decepcionan un poco al materializarse como sucedio con Mighty no9, pero con este juego es todo lo contrario, aquí se ve la seriedad con que Wayfoward ha hecho este juego, es que lo han cuidado en todo o casi todo mas adelante los explicare un poco mejor. Si me preguntan si valió, digo que si, sin pensarlo dos veces. Ojala que lo apoyen, por que para mi vale la pena, hay pocos juegos en el mercado en el cual se cuidan de dar al jugar una buena experiencia dando su maximo esfuerzo, son pocas las compañías que hacen este tipo de joyas y creo que hay que valorarlas.

    El unico aspecto negativo que le he encontrado a este juego es la traducción al español, ya que los NPCs tratan a Shantae cuando hablan con ella como si fuera un personaje masculino, y hay uno que otro error gramatical. No es algo que nuble al juego, pero es algo que podrían mejorar a futuro.
    Expand
  5. Dec 21, 2016
    10
    The last masterpiece of 2D action games in 2016.
    Improved music and sound, graphics, stage design and character animation are all excellent.
    Simple difficulty is rather an advantage of the game.
    I hope the series will continue to come.
  6. Dec 20, 2016
    8
    Maybe I'm not the most suited person to make a review of this game because I'm a huge fan of the Shantae Series since I discovered them (and I haven't finished it yet, so my judgment is based on the first hours of the game); but I needed to say a pair of things about this game.
    First, I love the music, the smooth animation and I have laughed a lot with some funny moments and details on
    Maybe I'm not the most suited person to make a review of this game because I'm a huge fan of the Shantae Series since I discovered them (and I haven't finished it yet, so my judgment is based on the first hours of the game); but I needed to say a pair of things about this game.
    First, I love the music, the smooth animation and I have laughed a lot with some funny moments and details on the background; but the spanish translation of the game... It's unbelievable awful.
    Spanish is my mother tongue and I'm afraid that we can't say the same about the ones that made the spanish location. Huge errors as switching the gender in the conversations (Shantae and Risky are often referred as boys and Bolo once as a girl), literal translations that doesn't have any sense in spanish and even words not translated at all (in the item shop some item descriptions include the word "Magia" and others just "Magic" in perfect english.)
    With a translation so poorly done I would prefer to have the game in english. At least I could then have understood some parts too bad translated to be read; but that option it's not available.
    Please, if someone of Wayforward read this, please, fix the spanish translation in a future patch.
    Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2016
    8
    I would give this game a 10 if not for 2 issues.

    #1 It glitched out and crashed on me in the bat transformation room. After getting it, I jumped off to check for secrets and got stuck below the room.

    #2 The character design is a bit less sexy, and more cutesy. The art for Pirate's Curse was tops imo.
  8. Jan 3, 2017
    10
    I'm a big fan of the Shantae series. Got this on launch day and was not disappointed. Gameplay wise, It plays the best out of all the game in my opinion. The transformations are smooth and cool, and the classic hair-whipping is still there, and it's still satisfying. This game plays more like a traditional platformer as opposed to other games, which may be a positive or negative for some.I'm a big fan of the Shantae series. Got this on launch day and was not disappointed. Gameplay wise, It plays the best out of all the game in my opinion. The transformations are smooth and cool, and the classic hair-whipping is still there, and it's still satisfying. This game plays more like a traditional platformer as opposed to other games, which may be a positive or negative for some. This does make backtracking a little boring at times, but the game isn't long enough to the point that it would be much of a hassle. Overall, great game. Expand
  9. Jan 24, 2017
    8
    1/2 genie hero retains the same formula that has made previous entries so much fun to play: simple and responsive combat, solid controls, awesome music, good level design, funny characters and silly story. Transforming dances return, way more in depth than before, and the overall level layout has been streamlined for easier navigation (which is a good thing, considering the huge amounts of1/2 genie hero retains the same formula that has made previous entries so much fun to play: simple and responsive combat, solid controls, awesome music, good level design, funny characters and silly story. Transforming dances return, way more in depth than before, and the overall level layout has been streamlined for easier navigation (which is a good thing, considering the huge amounts of backtracking this game requires). The graphics are bright and colorfull, vibrant and most important: fluid. The only thing that this game lacks, are more awesome boss fights, but other than that, is a very good game, specially for those who were born on the golden era of platformers (the late 80's and early 90's) Expand
  10. Dec 23, 2017
    8
    Great game, beautiful graphics and animations, and megaman x (ish) gameplay to make it even better, the only thing i didn't like was the unnecessary paid dlc, because the game itself is not that long and the paid dlc are part of the "start your adventure" menu, it feels like the game is incomplete if you don't pay the extra money (the one available is 9. 99, so the other is going to beGreat game, beautiful graphics and animations, and megaman x (ish) gameplay to make it even better, the only thing i didn't like was the unnecessary paid dlc, because the game itself is not that long and the paid dlc are part of the "start your adventure" menu, it feels like the game is incomplete if you don't pay the extra money (the one available is 9. 99, so the other is going to be the same), for just playing as risky and shantae friends, just not cool. Expand
  11. Feb 14, 2017
    9
    Hands down one of the best old school platforming games made in years. It's cute, funny, beautifully drawn, fantastic soundtrack and also just the right amount of sex appeal (watch her transformation dance) ha ha. Wayforward did a great job with this game and the only reason it's not getting a perfect 10 is because it's kinda short... but then again it's only $30 in store and $20 forHands down one of the best old school platforming games made in years. It's cute, funny, beautifully drawn, fantastic soundtrack and also just the right amount of sex appeal (watch her transformation dance) ha ha. Wayforward did a great job with this game and the only reason it's not getting a perfect 10 is because it's kinda short... but then again it's only $30 in store and $20 for download. Waiting patiently for the DLC missions. Expand
  12. Mar 14, 2017
    8
    This is a fun little action sidescroller platformer. The game is nothing deep just plain fun. The game is a little on the short side taking me around 6 and 1/2 hours to complete with getting all the collectibles but for the price point i think that is okay. If you enjoy these new age indie platformers you will enjoy this game and the others in the series.
  13. Apr 15, 2017
    9
    With the way the market is in today's gaming, we tend to fall into the ones who go big. In this game they kept the elements that made a classic game good, and made it incredible. With these guys updated from the pixelated to the now flourishing movements of Shantae, it feels new, while keeping the elements classic. The music drew me in, I was stuck in the mermaid area, and I found myselfWith the way the market is in today's gaming, we tend to fall into the ones who go big. In this game they kept the elements that made a classic game good, and made it incredible. With these guys updated from the pixelated to the now flourishing movements of Shantae, it feels new, while keeping the elements classic. The music drew me in, I was stuck in the mermaid area, and I found myself not dreading every second of it, the music kept me going. The story is a bit eh...nothing groundbreaking really. Basic "stop the bad guy" with a little bit of lore. Sub par to me, but hey it sold. Expand
  14. Apr 20, 2018
    9
    Shantae is the story of the half genie hero of Scuttle Town, protecting the town from all foes that come her away, along side her uncle, and her friends Bolo, Sky, and many others. She along with her animal-shifting abilities, must fight to defeat Risky Boots and other enemies to not only save her home, but the Genie Realm as a whole.

    This was definitely the first game in a long time
    Shantae is the story of the half genie hero of Scuttle Town, protecting the town from all foes that come her away, along side her uncle, and her friends Bolo, Sky, and many others. She along with her animal-shifting abilities, must fight to defeat Risky Boots and other enemies to not only save her home, but the Genie Realm as a whole.

    This was definitely the first game in a long time that fit into the arcade/platformer style. It was an enjoyable experience, offering a great experience for all ages. It is mechanically understandable even from the perspective of a child, but is more than enough for an adult to ponder on and fall in love with. Along with all of the DLC content available, there is enough Shantae for weeks, even months worth of entertainment.

    Shantae will go down as one of my favorite games to play in 2018.

    Shantae: Half Genie Hero Score: 9/10

    Any platformer players would love to play this game. I recommend this to anyone looking for a fun experience, full of puzzle, tough boss battle, and plenty of comedic value,
    Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Apr 25, 2017
    80
    Shantae: Half-Genie Hero is an excellent 2D platformer that doesn’t take itself too seriously. The humor is quirky, the gameplay is great, and it expertly crafts a retro-style game into a glossy and new coat of paint. Even so, it didn’t seem to provide the same sense of awe that Shantae and the Pirate’s Curse provided in the not-so-distant past of 2014. This is not to say that Half-Genie Hero missed the mark; it’s just different from what you would expect out of the series. Fortunately, that’s one of the best features about the series as a whole. Each game feels unique, bringing a whole new taste to the table every time. This is what always brings me back to Shantae, and it’s what makes Half-Genie Hero all the more enjoyable. Ultimately, Shantae: Half-Genie Hero manages to create a sense of old-school bliss in the modern era where there proves to be little success, and it’s wonderful.
  2. games(TM)
    Mar 9, 2017
    80
    A delightful surprise that'll warm your heart. [Issue#184, p.81]
  3. Games Master UK
    Feb 18, 2017
    77
    A beautiful HD realisation of a very likeable world that's lovely to revisit. Both fun and funny. [Feb 2017, p.73]