Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 78 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 78
  2. Negative: 7 out of 78
Buy On
  1. 100
    Shenmue 3 won't disappoint fans of the first two. But that's almost secondary to the real story here. Shenmue 3's real strength is in the way that it suggests a different way of looking at the very storytelling of videogames. It challenges the idea that a game's value is in it aspiring to be "cinema", and it provides a pretty compelling argument for the alternative, too. On a personal note, as a fan of both theatre and Shenmue, this game is effortlessly my pick of what has been a very good 2019 for the creative side of videogames.
  2. Dec 13, 2019
    90
    The core of what made Shenmue so special before is retained, and Yu Suzuki’s ability to keep the story flowing seamlessly for 20 years is remarkable. If you loved the first games, get this as soon as you can. If you haven’t tried the series, then the remastered version is the best way to start and then grab this when you feel ready.
  3. Dec 1, 2019
    90
    The game fulfills a vision of steadfast humanity within the framework of a martial arts revenge tale.
  4. Nov 20, 2019
    90
    While the story's climax left us disappointed, Shenmue III is a precious game nonetheless. Feeling the lingering presence of your deceased father in a country far from home, sharing a roof with someone you love, and overcoming the teachings of a stubborn kung fu master are only a few examples of how this game portrays deep human relationships. Shenmue III also has a very addictive gameplay loop that makes great use of the attention to detail the series is known for.
  5. Dec 2, 2019
    85
    It's been eighteen years since the last one, but we're finally able to play Shenmue III. Guess what? It was worth the wait! Granted, the frequent framerate drops and numerous pop-ins are annoying shortcomings, but the authentic style, superb combat and worthy graphics more than make up for this.
  6. Nov 25, 2019
    85
    Shenmue 3 is filled with antiquated design choices, a whole lot of charm, and is ultimately a promise fulfilled. Fans got a legitimate Shenmue title in every way possible, warts and all. Nobody else is making 2019 games in the (hilariously named) “full reactive eyes entertainment” genre, but Yu Suzuki is. That’s a beautiful testament to the stubbornness that made this unlikely revival possible.
  7. Nov 25, 2019
    85
    Shenmue III feels like a remake of the Dreamcast game that never existed, for better and worse. It’s got everything fans loved about the Sega classics, along with some of their baggage. Still, the best of the series is the greatest it’s ever been. It can feel as bloated as the originals, and some mechanics feel unnecessary or are poorly explained. If you’re curious about that fabled Shenmue charm, though? This is the best entry to date.
  8. Nov 22, 2019
    83
    Exactly what franchise fans were hoping for: a thoughtful experience with a lot of adventure, some action and amazing attention to detail. A bit old-fashioned at times, but beautiful throughout.
  9. Dec 9, 2019
    80
    A direct continuation of a classic series that acts like it’s still the early 2000s, for better or worse! For returning fans this is precisely what you wanted. It’s possible for newcomers to enjoy but you should probably play the originals first.
  10. Dec 4, 2019
    80
    Shenmue III is not the best game of the year and it’s not even my favorite game of the year, but no title in 2019 brought me as much sheer joy and jubilation, and I can’t possibly imagine any fan of the franchise walking away disappointed. For that reason alone, I can only see it as a tremendous success.
  11. 80
    Shenmue IIII pushes its epic story forward while holding firmly onto dated concepts, game design, and narrative presentation, but it will likely please die-hard fans of the series. Everyone else, meanwhile, might wonder what all the fuss is about.
  12. Nov 29, 2019
    80
    If you played the first two games, the way Shenmue III uses modern technology to restablish the classic lore and gameplay may just bring tears to your eyes. It will certainly remind you of Suzuki’s genius. Certainly, it contains eccentricities that feel old-fashioned, but it also offers epic, immersive and calming escapism. For gamers of a certain age, it’s the ultimate nostalgia trip.
  13. Nov 28, 2019
    80
    With Shenmue III, we are offered a glimpse into a gifted mind, constantly turning the everyday into play.
  14. Nov 27, 2019
    80
    If you’ve never played a Shenmue game, that honestly might give you trouble. But if you have played Shenmue, then you’ll feel like you’ve come home with Shenmue 3.
  15. Nov 26, 2019
    80
    If you’re only after the latest technological breaks or think that gun oil smells better than a flower field in spring, Shenmue III really isn’t for you. On the other hand, in a world where the climate change is real yet stubborn and ignorant powers that be refuse to believe it and where narrow-minded right-wing populism gains a foothold and tries to hinder the progress towards equality in all things, we need a game that advocates the values we need to survive as species. Still, Shenmue III takes a certain state of mind because it’s unmistakably what Shenmue used to be, and not how it’s supposed to be now. I hope that there will be Shenmue IV to give closure to the story and like this, it will stay true to what it is.
  16. Nov 25, 2019
    80
    This particular revisit gave me a newfound respect for Yu Suzuki and his singular vision for what Shenmue is.
  17. Nov 25, 2019
    80
    Is Shenmue III dated? Absolutely, but the game proves that, like most genres, open-world adventures still have a thing or two to learn from the past. Shenmue III isn’t always as player-friendly as it could be, but its lively, uniquely-handcrafted world is truly absorbing. Here’s hoping this isn’t the end of Ryo and Yu Suzuki’s epic journey.
  18. 80
    Shenmue 3 is an uncompromising love letter to fans of the original games, make no question about it. If you weren't on board before, then this will do little to sway your opinion, as modern conventions have been largely ignored in favour of preserving a 20-year-old experience. While it's not perfect, Shenmue 3 is about as solid of a sequel as we could have expected after all this time.
  19. Nov 22, 2019
    80
    A magnificent, authentic, totally uncompromised sequel that crucially ignores virtually every gaming trend of the past 18 years.
  20. Nov 20, 2019
    80
    There is no doubt that it is not a game for everyone. However, Shenmue 3 is perfect in its own way, and it has been designed to offer a different experience to those who dare to give it a try.
  21. Nov 20, 2019
    80
    Shenmue III has some issues and it is not a game for everyone, but, if you enjoyed the two first games and you know what kind of game this is, it will satisfy you, as far as gameplay, setting and plot are quite good and remain loyal to Dreamcast era. It was worth waiting eighteen years. Now the question is: when will we be able to play Shenmue IV?
  22. Nov 20, 2019
    80
    Light in story yet heavy on atmosphere, basic in function yet more cohesive than previous entries, Shenmue 3 is a worthy sequel and exactly what fans have been waiting for.
  23. Dec 3, 2019
    78
    Shenmue III is a weird experiment that makes you feel like playing a Dreamcast game now a days. Yu Suzuki created an interesting game just for his fans.
  24. Nov 21, 2019
    76
    Shenmue 3 is polarizing: For some it is a dream come true, for others it is frumpy game design in a slightly prettier garment.
  25. Jan 7, 2020
    75
    It may not seem worth the long wait, but in the end, Shenmue III does more right than wrong and it belongs in your game collection.
  26. Jan 4, 2020
    75
    A miracle for fans, and kind of impenetrable for everyone else. Shenmue III is a game with a mission, bring us back to Dreamcast times and extend the story of Ryo so we can (hopefully) complete the story. There is no budget for more, and it shows.
  27. Nov 28, 2019
    75
    In terms of speed, gameplay, and storytelling, Shenmue 3 hardly matches the current spirit of the times. Everything in the game grinds and cracks on all sides - and that is precisely why it pays to dive into this epic by developer Yu Suzuki.
  28. Nov 25, 2019
    75
    Shenmue III is a game true to the past, perhaps too much. Yu Suzuki manages to attract die-hard fans of the original game, but will hardly conquest the heart of the new generation.
  29. Nov 24, 2019
    75
    Unfortunately, at the end of the approximately 30 hours necessary to complete Ryo's new journey, this third chapter is not enough to conclude the story that, at this point, in all probability will never reach its epilogue.
  30. Nov 22, 2019
    75
    Shenmue 3 is a game that remains true to itself, refusing any attempt to improve a formula that was revolutionary at the time but feels inevitably outdated today.
  31. Dec 20, 2019
    74
    Shenmue 3 might not be a right choice for modern day gamers, but for die hard Shenmue fans who have waited for it for almost two decades, it's a must have.
  32. Nov 25, 2019
    73
    Shenmue III is a nostalgia trip done right and a great sequel for all the fans of the franchise, but, at the same time, just an average game for all the younger players who never got to play the first two episodes.
  33. Nov 25, 2019
    72
    Shenmue III is definitely more Shenmue, but a flawed one. It’s not as good as the originals, although it brings its essence back and lets us enjoy this timeless adventure one more time.
  34. Dec 30, 2019
    70
    Players coming to Shenmue III will find neither a fast-paced plot nor an action-packed story. Instead, they will pour many hours into mundane things and accomplish very little for their time and effort. But that is the point of Shenmue. That is its greatest strength and weakness: to pass time doing the insignificant things while enjoying what’s around them. Fans of the previous games will love the third instalment, and those who disliked the previous two games will not find anything here to change their minds. This game shamelessly and unapologetically retains the old-style gameplay in spite of two decades of new developments in the game industry. The magic is still there, though diminished to a degree due to a few poor design decisions, mainly in the broken QTE and food systems.
  35. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Dec 17, 2019
    70
    You have to admire the commitment to staying true to the series. In so doing, it remains a wholly unique, slowpaced detective game that fans will love. Not a fan? Maybe you should be. [Issue#170, p.84]
  36. Dec 16, 2019
    70
    Shenmue III is a game lost in time, but that’s probably the greatest compliment you can pay this long-awaited sequel. Newcomers will be utterly bemused by its slice of life-style idiosyncrasies, but for franchise fans this is the faithful follow-up that they’ve been waiting almost two decades for. This is a weird and wonderful game; it defies contemporary convention in favour of its own decades-old direction. The industry may have moved on, but even 18 years later, Ryo Hazuki still somehow feels relevant.
  37. 70
    Shenmue III is finally here and it's a surreal experience, taking you back to the early 2000s. Fans of the series will feel right at home but its reluctance to change means it won't attract new fans. I'd have liked more plot progression than is here but hopefully this paves the way for the story to finally be finished.
  38. Dec 9, 2019
    70
    Shenmue 3 faithfully continues the next chapter of Ryo Hazuki’s journey. After an 18-year wait against seemingly impossible odds and expectations, the end result is mostly successful. Welcoming locations and an absorbing plot are held back by presentation issues, while the combat system just hasn’t come together. Regardless, Shenmue 3 is a nostalgic return to a different time and a priceless reward for anyone invested in Lan Di’s demise.
  39. Dec 2, 2019
    70
    Some players may want to mainline Shenmue III in order to see all the story has it has to offer as quickly as possible. This is not advised. For one, there’s actually not very much new story information to glean during a playthrough. Secondly, doing so would make the more annoying aspects of the game all the more glaring. It’s much better to savor Shenmue III at a leisurely pace. There’s tons of enjoyment to be had simply taking in the scenery, wasting hours fulfilling weird requests for NPCs or even just fishing. It may not be perfect, but it is undoubtedly a Shenmue title. Even after all these years, there are no other games quite like it out there.
  40. Nov 27, 2019
    70
    This is a rough-around-the-edges nostalgia trip for die-hard fans, but with very little narrative reward.
  41. Nov 25, 2019
    70
    A beautifully anachronistic title, a dream come true for fans but also a nightmare for those who have lost the ability to dream.
  42. Nov 22, 2019
    70
    As I walked back to Shenhua's cottage to turn in for the night after a hard day's work, earning back the money I had gambled away, it hit me: people just aren't making many games like this anymore.
  43. Nov 22, 2019
    70
    The story we never thought would come is already here, outdated in many aspects and mechanics, but maintaining all the necessary charm to not disappoint the fans.
  44. Nov 22, 2019
    70
    Speaking of a video game of such importance, it is difficult to separate the nostalgia effect from the actual quality. While Shenmue III proposes itself exactly as it wanted to be, on the other hand it stumbles into flaws that go far beyond anachronism. The desire to appear in everything as the ideal sequel to a series frozen for eighteen years proves to be a double-edged sword. As much as Shenmue III manages to find internal coherence in its compact rhythm, one cannot overlook the obvious conceptual limits that undermine its overall quality. Yu Suzuki's title does not go beyond the "miracle" of his own existence, and as satisfied as it may be, even for the most dedicated fans it will be impossible not to admit an unpleasant aftertaste of lost opportunity.
  45. Nov 19, 2019
    70
    All the ingredients are there to make Shenmue III a great Shenmue game : riveting story, copious side content, beautiful backgrounds and great characters. But it's also a bit dragged down by its dated production values. Gamers who loved the first two Shenmue games and who can overlook technical shortcomings will have a great time. Bring on Shenmue IV!
  46. Dec 19, 2019
    65
    It looks and feels like a new Shenmue chapter, but it’s far from the original two episodes on Dreamcast. The new elements like the feeding system and RPG contribute nothing to the franchise. Nostalgia does not save Shenmue 3 to become the most disappointing game in the saga.
  47. Nov 26, 2019
    65
    Shenmue III is a game for the fans … and only for the fans. It feels like what would have happened if the Shenmue series had continued on the Dreamcast. This is delightful if you were hoping for a continuation of the franchise, but unfortunately, the appeal stops there for most casual players. If you're a fan of playing old, quirky games, you'll find something to like here, but if you can't tell Shenmue from Shamu, you probably won't understand the hype. It's nice to revisit a long-dead franchise, but if Shenmue IV gets made, one can only hope that it's slightly more ambitious.
  48. 65
    Shenmue III should have been the final game in this trilogy, all loose ends tied up and (re)vengeance served. Instead, Suzuki-sama hopes to continue Ryo’s story and with little improvement made over the past two decades and I fear that a fourth game will stick to this same stagnant formula. Disappointed as I am with this news, my real hope is that he can pull off a fourth and final game sooner than later. Because as much as I love this series, I’d be lying if I didn’t admit to feeling let down with this revival and worry about ever seeing the end of this tale.
  49. Nov 22, 2019
    65
    To put it politely, Shenmue III has the potential to charm existing fans of the Shenmue saga, if only in how much it painstakingly recreates the stilted beauty of its two predecessors. However, if judged on its merits alone and/or by a non-Shenmue fan, this game just feels like a whole bunch of wasted Kickstarter money. If there’s one thing that Shenmue III proves, it’s that bringing new fans into the fold was never Ys Net’s goal.
  50. Edge Magazine
    Jan 3, 2020
    60
    The overriding sensation is that, 18 years of waiting later, this is not the game we had dreamed of... And despite the areas in which it clearly struggles, Shenmue III does ultimately leave us wanting to see how those plot developments are resolved, and to take our virtual tourism to a new frontier. Whether we, and Hazuki, will get that opportunity... we'll see. [Issue#341, p.98]
  51. Dec 10, 2019
    60
    Shenmue 3 is a trip to gaming’s history, specifically around the year 2001. Some of the game mechanics are positively archaic and slow down the engaging story of personal vengeance. I’d honestly rather play Yakuza.
  52. Dec 10, 2019
    60
    Shenmue III is still surprisingly charming, and an earnestly emotional journey for fans of the series. Ryo’s lack of interest in the opposite sex and his unwavering need to go to bed early and practise his martial arts training diligently each day, make him pure in a way we rarely see. It doesn’t leave much room for excitement, but it ensures that Shenmue III is every bit the sequel it set out to be.
  53. Dec 6, 2019
    60
    A middle of the road game, out of fashion, and twenty years late. Nevertheless, Shenmue 3 will please players that enjoyed its prequels.
  54. Dec 1, 2019
    60
    Apparently, Yu Suzuki's own vision for the open world genre did not match what the latter came to be. But we do give him credit for choosing to stay on the route that fans expect. In the end, this is still a Kickstarter-funded product would not exist without the fans. What the rest of us think of outdated controls, confined environments that pretend to be open-world-like and mediocre voiceover efforts is secondary. For anyone who has waited to continue the story of Ryo's journey in pursuit of his father's killer, it's the most important event of years to come. For everyone else, it was Friday.
  55. Nov 26, 2019
    60
    Despite having many issues with Shenmue III, I’m glad I returned to this world. It scratched an itch I didn’t know I had, and periodically showed me why it was an important game back in the day. But it mostly reminded me of why a third entry didn’t release for almost two decades.
  56. Nov 25, 2019
    60
    Shenmue III is the monkey-paw wish of videogames — it is exactly what fans have wanted, to the point where it feels like it belongs in a different era.
  57. Nov 22, 2019
    60
    I’m glad that Shenmue 3 exists, and I hope the series continues so fans get the conclusion they deserve. It’s just a shame that it has rooted itself in the past. What’s been delivered is sure to delight those who were eager for Ryo Hazuki’s story to continue, but more could have been done to make the series relevant to gamers who haven’t played the 20 year old originals. Shenmue 3 is both a miracle and a missed opportunity. It’s no doubt a masterpiece for a minority, but most will find it simply mediocre.
  58. Nov 22, 2019
    60
    I’m all for remasters of old games and keeping those same clunky mechanics with those old games, including the punishing difficulty. However, I want my sequels to old games to adapt and grow with the times. If Shenmue III had done that, it not only would have been a better game overall, it would have appealed to a bigger audience outside its cult following.
  59. Nov 20, 2019
    60
    A literal dream come true for fans and while most others will struggle to understand the appeal it’s impossible not to admire Yu Suzuki’s vision and tenacity in not only making the game but making it his way.
  60. Nov 19, 2019
    60
    Despite these annoyances, despite the fact that it’s a game designed with decades-old sensibilities, I enjoyed my time with it. It doesn’t have the conclusion we’ve been waiting two decades for and it barely drives the story forward at all, but the climactic battle is as satisfying as that 70-man tussle in the first game’s harbour.
  61. Dec 10, 2019
    56
    Shenmue 3 feels instantly outdated, but at the same time is seemingly uncompromising in its vision. Despite some fun mechanics, lots of distractions, and a restrained take on combat, my nostalgia could only partially gloss over the weak characters, story and progress gating.
  62. CD-Action
    Jan 10, 2020
    55
    It’s a time travel which proves that now we live in better times. Those who understand how important the series was for the development of open world games, the ones who were raised on Shenmue I and II, will have a better time with it. Will it be a good time, though? I’m not sure. [01/2020, p.68]
  63. Dec 10, 2019
    55
    Shenmue III feels like a game that would have been revolutionary in 2003. Maybe that is what the fans wanted. This is a game that flopped massively when it released and somehow has garnered a cult following that clearly wants more of what it delivers. Shenmue III delivers just that. A game that feels like it time travelled to 2019 from the Dreamcast era and I think that is just fine with the fans. They got what they wanted and I am thrilled for them, but anyone coming in to see what all the noise is about is likely going to come away confused as to why it took 18 years to create the game in front of them.
  64. Nov 27, 2019
    55
    Finally Shenmue 3 is here. After 18 years Ryo's story continues. But the third chapter feels more like an enormous side mission than the continuation of the story. The game looks great and plays away like a modern game, while staying true to the first two parts. For fans this is a must play, but others don't miss out if they skip this one.
  65. Apr 13, 2020
    50
    Shenmue 3 is a tough recommendation for general audiences. It won't please the die-hard fans of the originals due the step backwards in terms of game design. Neophytes who are curious about it will be confused and bored by the sleep-inducing pace, plus the how the voice acting has not changed since the early '00s. The visuals may have improved, and the loading times are a thing of the past, but this is still has the soul of a Dreamcast title. It won't live up to the expectations that fans have, nor will it excite interest in the franchise. Nothing of substance gets solved by the conclusion, and there's a lack of a pay-off to playing such an intentionally slow experience. The highs in Shenmue 3 involve doing what amounts to nothing; that is just taking in the atmosphere and exploring.
  66. Dec 6, 2019
    50
    Shenmue III could've been made 18 years ago as it feels very similar to the previous two entries, with no real improvements, making it feel rather outdated.
  67. Dec 3, 2019
    50
    Shenmue III has its moments. It delivers on the promise of creating interesting and engaging new environments for Ryo and friends to explore and play around in. Yet, I can't help but think that the game's dogged determination to retain the same "feel" of its Dreamcast ancestors at any cost hurts it immensely. The creative team seems determined to not move anything forward substantially when it comes to Shenmue--including the story, which ends on yet another unfinished cliffhanger. Shenmue III is certainly an interesting game thrown out of time, but that doesn't mean that it's always enjoyable to play.
  68. Dec 3, 2019
    50
    Shenmue 3 is exclusively aimed at the most hardcore of nostalgic fans, who want this game more than their next breath of air. We find everything that was on the Dreamcast game, and nothing more, like if the last 20 years did not happen.
  69. Dec 2, 2019
    50
    Shenmue 3 is a game that I wished I loved or at least liked. It’s a game that I could only enjoy in spurts since so much of my experience was marred by mediocre, repetitive gameplay, terrible characters, and a disappointing, meandering plot. I didn’t head into Shenmue 3 with high expectations due to its budget but the game still failed to meet even those lowered expectations.
  70. Nov 25, 2019
    50
    Shenmue 3 suffers from hamfisted exposition, tedious repetition, monotonous grinding, and a heap of other fundamental flaws that are inexcusable in 2019. However, its environments are so confident in their sense of place that exploration is a capable redeemer, and the game is at times, on that ground alone, worth playing.
  71. Nov 19, 2019
    50
    Shenmue 3 is an anachronistic work unable to extricate itself from the grip of a distant past.
  72. Nov 24, 2019
    45
    As a fan of the previous games, I enjoyed some of my time with Shenmue III. However, as a modern game that was aiming to encourage new players to get into the franchise, I cannot urge caution more strongly. For hardcore fans of Shenmue, this is an easy choice. It’s the continuation of a story nearly 20 years in the making, with the beloved characters, mechanics, and design that made the original games so popular within that niche. Unfortunately, for everyone else, Shenmue III is archaic in design, limited in content, and flawed throughout.
  73. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 28, 2020
    40
    An action adventure game frozen at the turn of the century, which can have its nostalgic charm for the hardened fans of the original two instalments. [Issue#301]
  74. Dec 14, 2019
    40
    If you loved the original Shenmue and Shenmue II, then you'll likely love Shenmue III for how closely it adheres to the original games. If you enjoyed the HD remasters of Shenmue & Shenmue II, then you will likely enjoy Shenmue III as a faithful sequel. There isn't much to recommend for everyone else, as Shenmue III is a ponderous experience that exists more to waste player's time than tell a compelling story.
  75. Nov 25, 2019
    40
    Shenmue 3 would have been well received in 2003, but we’re 18 years on from the last entry and Shenmue hasn’t budged an inch. If you weld your nostalgia goggles to your face, you’ll be able to slog through the story, but it really is a chore. Poor game design and a complete lack of innovation are the killers, but even the continuation of the story is a meagre offering thanks to ludicrous levels of padding.
  76. May 18, 2020
    30
    What a horrible experience this was. Whatever minuscule redeeming qualities this game might have are drowned out by just how infuriating it is. And I can’t think of anybody who is a fan of this franchise that can honestly call this game good with a straight face. Get this game if you’re a fan of the series, but don’t be surprised if it just ends up making you hate yourself for waiting nearly two decades for what is essentially the video game equivalent of Freddy Got Fingered.
  77. May 18, 2020
    30
    What a horrible experience this was. Whatever minuscule redeeming qualities this game might have are drowned out by just how infuriating it is. And I can’t think of anybody who is a fan of this franchise that can honestly call this game good with a straight face. Get this game if you’re a fan of the series, but don’t be surprised if it just ends up making you hate yourself for waiting nearly two decades for what is essentially the video game equivalent of Freddy Got Fingered.
  78. Jan 10, 2020
    30
    Shenmue III is a game of half-measures. It ultimately delivers on its promise of the continuation of the Shenmue story for fans that have been waiting on it for years, but that doesn’t mean it delivers on that promise well. Shenmue III could have been so much more, or at least tried to wrap up Ryo’s tale, but instead, we are left with another cliff-hanger. Deep Silver and Ys Net delivered a game that works but is as unambitious and dull as Ryo’s dialogue.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Nov 20, 2019
    A bewitching time capsule that transports us to late 80s China, and to turn-of-the-century video games. [Eurogamer Recommended]
  2. Dec 3, 2019
    Within the context of the series, Shenmue III feels more like connective tissue than a fully functioning organ. There are a few revelations about the larger myth arc, and a one-sided battle with Lan Di, but it’s hard to say that much actually happens until the very end.
  3. Nov 20, 2019
    It’s not the lack of elegant dialogue or the glitches that make this game so disappointing, but the idea that a series that was so obsessed with what would be possible from gaming in the future has turned into a way for people to attempt to revisit the past.
  4. Nov 22, 2019
    Shenmue III doesn’t push the Unreal Engine 4 to its limits yet, on the whole, there’s an enchanting aura about it. Yes, some character models look comically garish, but there’s a beauty to the game’s environments – spaces that you actually live in instead of racing through on a whistle stop tour. Where Shenmue previously captured the hustle and bustle of cramped urban areas, it manages to do the same with the vibrant and somewhat mystic Bailu village.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1073 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Nov 19, 2019
    10
    what fans expected since shenmue II, classic gameplay, good graphics and the usual music
  2. Nov 19, 2019
    10
    It was worth the wait! After 18 years we finally have a game that is completely different from everything we have in the industry. Shenmue 3It was worth the wait! After 18 years we finally have a game that is completely different from everything we have in the industry. Shenmue 3 does not have the best graphics, however the game has the soul from the golden era, where games had a message to pass. Full Review »
  3. Nov 19, 2019
    10
    A true master piece! Shenmue is a rare kind of game, one that we don’t see around anymore. This game brings so many good memories!