Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
Buy On
  1. Sep 30, 2014
    85
    Fans of Sherlock Holmes as he was originally portrayed will find this game as delightful as a Blue Carbuncle stuck in the crop of their Christmas goose.
  2. Sep 30, 2014
    85
    At least Sherlock Holmes: Crimes & Punishments can be broken up into manageable chunks in between your other gaming sessions. If you’re a fan of Sherlock Holmes or mysteries in general, I can’t recommend this one enough.
  3. 85
    My time as Holmes was extremely exciting, fun, and immersive, and I was impressed with how long it lasted.
  4. Oct 20, 2014
    83
    Nonetheless, for those who do like a good mystery, you probably owe it to yourselves to at least give this a look, and see how much it catches your mystery-craving fancy.
  5. 80
    Sherlock's mind is presented in such a way that he is clearly a man treading the line between madness and brilliance, which makes this opportunity to play him all the more riveting and an opportunity not to be missed people who enjoy genuine detective fiction.
  6. Oct 7, 2014
    80
    I clearly wasn’t as smart as Sherlock Holmes, but the game sure made me feel like him – something I haven’t been able to say about the other games bearing his name.
  7. Oct 7, 2014
    80
    Fun puzzles, inventive murders, and new crime-solving features help make up for a morality system that needed far more fleshing out to be effective.
  8. Oct 1, 2014
    80
    Has the great advantage of being accessible to all types of gamers, providing mysterious and fascinating investigative cases. There is much variety in puzzles and riddles, although the difficulty is quite low for an expert adventurer.
  9. Sep 30, 2014
    80
    While the narrative is a bit disconnected, Sherlock Holmes: Crimes and Punishments uses the short story framework to its benefit, keeping each of its cases focused on pure, thrilling detective work.
  10. Sep 30, 2014
    80
    It may not provide much in the way of deductive challenge, but it succeeded more than any mystery game I've played in genuinely making me think.
  11. Sep 30, 2014
    80
    In focusing on the cerebral side of Sherlock Holmes, Sherlock Holmes: Crimes and Punishments manages to rise above its adventure game roots, presenting an excellent take on a classic character that, while propped on a foundation of less then interesting tropes, manages to feel fresh and captivating.
  12. Oct 4, 2014
    78
    A great episode of the series, clever and well executed. If you're looking for an adventure full of mysteries waiting to be resolved, this is the one.
  13. Oct 1, 2014
    78
    Sherlock Holmes: Crimes and Punishments delivers a good system for finding clues and solving murders with a complex clues and deductions system, plenty of puzzles to be had, and good mysteries to boot.
  14. Oct 17, 2014
    76
    An interesting adventure game with a slow pace and a nice atmosphere, that brings a breath of freshness to the series, thanks to the introduction of some new features in gameplay.
  15. Nov 19, 2014
    75
    It features a host of interesting mechanics that do a great job of capitalizing on the character and world of Sherlock Holmes, and the six cases are very intriguing. Crimes & Punishments is easily one of the best Holmes titles I've played, and I look forward to what Frogwares has in store for the next game in the franchise.
  16. Nov 11, 2014
    75
    With clever puzzles and a dash of modern sensibilities inspired by the BBC show, Crimes and Punishments is an easy recommendation to armchair detectives - and the first to let players really experience being Sherlock Holmes.
  17. Oct 17, 2014
    75
    It's a bit dumbed down and the graphics are sub-par, but other than that, Crimes and Punishments is a definite step in the right direction.
  18. Oct 10, 2014
    75
    It is one of the most entertaining adventures the sleuth stars in. Nonetheless technically the episodes are rough around the edges – even more so on the PS4.
  19. Sep 30, 2014
    75
    The cases are thoroughly enjoyable, but deducing the murderer can be nebulous and unsatisfying due to a preponderance of circumstantial evidence.
  20. Sep 30, 2014
    75
    Sherlock Holmes and John Watson land on next-gen platforms with graphical ups and downs, but with the deserved quality these renown characters have in the literary field.
  21. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Nov 28, 2014
    70
    Those expecting modern hyper-Holmes will be aghast, but traditionalists will be all comfy pipe 'n' slippers. [Christmas 2014, p78]
  22. Nov 19, 2014
    70
    Less crime and more punishment.
  23. Oct 15, 2014
    70
    Ultimately Sherlock’s alright - not much more, but alright might be all you need in the quiet autumn evenings.
  24. Oct 10, 2014
    70
    Over the last decade, Frogwares has been steadily eliminating the impossibly bad elements from their games, and what remains is the closest anyone's ever come to an authentic Baker Street experience.
  25. 70
    In terms of pure gameplay this is perhaps the best serious detective game so far, but the issues with the script and characters remain more than a one pipe problem.
  26. Sep 30, 2014
    70
    Its most brilliant innovation, though, is the chance to fail. Each case is a hunt for clues to populate your “deduction space”, a literally cerebral device where information snippets get associated with neurons in Sherlock’s brain, which you can mess around with to make connections. Once enough deductions are made, conclusions become available which allow you to close the case, finger a suspect, and decide their fate.
  27. Sep 30, 2014
    70
    Visually, Sherlock Holmes is brilliant, from the detailed crime scenes to the realistic facial animations. The clunky gameplay, frustrating mini-games and inconsistent voice performances do detract from the overall experience though.
  28. Sep 30, 2014
    70
    Perhaps Sherlock Holmes: Crimes and Punishments’ greatest achievement is how guilty you feel when you punish an innocent person – even just being able to get it wrong is a superb idea.
  29. Sep 30, 2014
    70
    Poor voice acting and obnoxious back tracking let it down – but this is still on the right side of the law as far as we’re concerned.
  30. 70
    Mini-games are hit-and-miss and frequent loading screens frustrate, but there’s a lot to like about this latest series of detective adventures with some immersive cases and a decent production quality.
  31. Games Master UK
    Dec 21, 2014
    68
    A neat "brain pathways" interface helps you piece your findings together. [Christmas 2014, p.78]
  32. Oct 1, 2014
    65
    Clunky controls, frequent and time consuming travels between areas and the ability to literally skip through all of the challenging sections are real setbacks to what could have otherwise been a very enjoyable game.
  33. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Nov 16, 2014
    60
    There's a clunkiness even Holmes can't solve. [Dec 2014, p.87]
  34. Sep 30, 2014
    60
    Sherlock Holmes: Crimes & Punishments is not without its issues, but it is loyal enough to its source material and the adventure genre to make it worth a look if you're a fan of either.
  35. Sep 30, 2014
    60
    The atmosphere is good, but there’s no real thrill since everything is just served to the player on a silver platter and most of the time is spent on a coach traveling between locations.
  36. Dec 8, 2014
    55
    The Sherlock Holmes franchise is trying to reach more people, and maybe with this game it will. The game however lacks a real challenge now. The game is a real detective game, but doesn't really convince.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 231 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 231
  1. Sep 30, 2014
    9
    Rainy day video game playing at its best right here. The mystery, the atmosphere. It's like I've been transported to London in the deep fog,Rainy day video game playing at its best right here. The mystery, the atmosphere. It's like I've been transported to London in the deep fog, chasing a killer with the eyes of the legendary Sherlock Holmes! I'm no Robert Downey but this game made me feel like I was playing the detective in a finely crafted film. I love it. Perhaps what intrigued me most about the game was the option to fail. Now, I know that sounds pretty self-depricating, but I absolutely hate games that walk me through like a child, holding my hand when the going gets tough. It's pretty thrilling to know you could actually imprison the wrong person, and this keeps you on your toes. I would say more but I'm only through the first case! Must get back! Full Review »
  2. Oct 3, 2014
    10
    I have never played a better detective game than this one and I've enjoyed quite a few of them in the past. The open-ended solutions to casesI have never played a better detective game than this one and I've enjoyed quite a few of them in the past. The open-ended solutions to cases is a wonderful idea, the setting is spot on, Sherlock is very likeable (prefer him to the Cumberbatch version), Toby has the best nose in the entire Empire and the music is great. The game looks quite good, to be honest - the high texture details help appreciate the Victorian era even more. I have read a few reviews complaining about the voice acting - I very much disagree - the voice acting is at least adequate, if not good. This is one of the best games of 2014 for me and I'm already waiting for the next installment. Full Review »
  3. Oct 1, 2014
    10
    I am VERY happy that they fixed the lip-syncing in this one. I have enjoyed all Sherlocks that Focus and Frogwares have put out but for theI am VERY happy that they fixed the lip-syncing in this one. I have enjoyed all Sherlocks that Focus and Frogwares have put out but for the previous games, that error took me out of the experience. There isn't a game out there like C&P that take advantage of better graphics hardware.So if you haven't yet experienced good hidden object/investigative gameplay, Crimes and Punishments is the best start. Full Review »