User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 43
  2. Negative: 7 out of 43
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 12, 2016
    9
    This Game is beautiful. Insomniac's first take on the metroidvania genre really came out well, with a radiant and engrossing soundtrack, well designed and well animated puzzles, and a gripping story, this game was kind of short, and the water physics could use some touch-ups but both were minuscule when thinking about just how beautiful and awesome the art was, and how I just wanted toThis Game is beautiful. Insomniac's first take on the metroidvania genre really came out well, with a radiant and engrossing soundtrack, well designed and well animated puzzles, and a gripping story, this game was kind of short, and the water physics could use some touch-ups but both were minuscule when thinking about just how beautiful and awesome the art was, and how I just wanted to dive deeper into this game. Expand
  2. Jul 14, 2016
    7
    The Pros:
    -stylistically beautiful and the narrator is an Irish lady!
    -Interesting albeit light world building The OKs: -Combat consists of punching (with your sub), shooting, and throwing. When enemies attack it is almost always in a wide open space and so each battle feels the same. Even the last boss fight is just a wide open area with waves of enemies. -Puzzles and obstacles are
    The Pros:
    -stylistically beautiful and the narrator is an Irish lady!
    -Interesting albeit light world building

    The OKs:
    -Combat consists of punching (with your sub), shooting, and throwing. When enemies attack it is almost always in a wide open space and so each battle feels the same. Even the last boss fight is just a wide open area with waves of enemies.
    -Puzzles and obstacles are relaxing and really go a long way to give you that nice tranquil vibe to mesh with the artstyle.

    The Cons:
    -gotta mention it's bad framerate. Everytime you swim (dive?) over a save point the framerate drops absurdly. Even besides that there are some dips but I never felt it affected gameplay.
    -Few cases of game breaking bugs I have heard about and I was affected by one myself. So somehow I never got an upgrade to my gun, I expect a bug that makes interact-able items to be non interact-able is the culprit, and I progressed pretty far without it until I got to a point of no return where I needed it to break a wall. Usually a game will force you to use a mandatory item shortly after getting it so I can't help but feel that the design choice not to do that coupled with the bug really boned me.

    Conclusion:
    -If you are on the fence I wouldn't suggest it. If you are mesmerized by its beauty and tranquility then sure, give it a shot.
    Expand
  3. Jul 19, 2016
    5
    I was excited for a Metroidvania-style game and didn't want to believe the reviews but unfortunately Song Of The Deep is a mediocre experience. There are some good aspects, the soundtrack in particular, but the controls are fiddly and the level design very monotonous. Not terrible but not all that great, either. I'll probably return it tomorrow then scratch the itch by replaying an oldI was excited for a Metroidvania-style game and didn't want to believe the reviews but unfortunately Song Of The Deep is a mediocre experience. There are some good aspects, the soundtrack in particular, but the controls are fiddly and the level design very monotonous. Not terrible but not all that great, either. I'll probably return it tomorrow then scratch the itch by replaying an old Castlevania or something instead. Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2016
    4
    Firstly, the game starting have no any tutorial. The Graphics are ugly but take much system resource to run (not optimized for PC).
    Secondly, the game's sound and music are bad.

    You may regret to buy this game!
  5. Jun 19, 2018
    7
    Very enjoyable and pleasant game with great game design and music. At times it can be annoying, but still fun
  6. Sep 6, 2016
    8
    This was a great, entertaining and, in spots fairly challenging game that left me with a good, happy and satisfied feeling when I was done. The artwork and underwater physics of the little sub were excellent I thought, it was a pleasure playing this game.
  7. Jul 16, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is amazing game that blow my mind of the art and puzzle. The game made by a 9 year old. The upgrade for the weapons is amazing for your submarine to get further into the game and try to fined your dad Expand
  8. Jul 27, 2016
    10
    This game is enchantingly beautiful, a steal for what I paid just under $20AUD, the story, the sound, the water, the underwater world that was created, one can see there is a lot of love put into this game, for $20AUD you cannot go wrong buying this and I don't think anyone will regret it, after all haven't we wall pretended at some stage in our young lives that we were 20000 leagues underThis game is enchantingly beautiful, a steal for what I paid just under $20AUD, the story, the sound, the water, the underwater world that was created, one can see there is a lot of love put into this game, for $20AUD you cannot go wrong buying this and I don't think anyone will regret it, after all haven't we wall pretended at some stage in our young lives that we were 20000 leagues under the sea as Captain Nemo or Ned ? Expand
  9. Jul 13, 2016
    8
    So far, so good. I picked up my reserve copy yesterday, and since it was a rainy day, decided to plunk down on the couch and test it out.

    Impressive! Good story line and graphics, wow, very nice. It's nice to play a game without having to look over your shoulder every 2 seconds. The narration of the Story line I found rather soothing. If you are Trophy Hunting, this is not a game for
    So far, so good. I picked up my reserve copy yesterday, and since it was a rainy day, decided to plunk down on the couch and test it out.

    Impressive! Good story line and graphics, wow, very nice. It's nice to play a game without having to look over your shoulder every 2 seconds. The narration of the Story line I found rather soothing.

    If you are Trophy Hunting, this is not a game for you. There are none to be had. Simply enjoy the game for what it is.

    For something different, visually impressive this is a game for you!
    Expand
  10. Aug 23, 2016
    9
    One of my factors when judging a game is on how much I pay for them and the amount of enjoyment I get out of them. For $20CDN I have to say the 15 hours I spent on Song of the Deep was an absolute steal.

    The game has a nice story with easy and relaxing gameplay. The graphics are quite beautiful although I did encounter a few framerate drops in certain parts, but nothing that took away
    One of my factors when judging a game is on how much I pay for them and the amount of enjoyment I get out of them. For $20CDN I have to say the 15 hours I spent on Song of the Deep was an absolute steal.

    The game has a nice story with easy and relaxing gameplay. The graphics are quite beautiful although I did encounter a few framerate drops in certain parts, but nothing that took away from the game.

    For a game I never thought I'd even consider buying, it's one I look forward to revisiting once again, soon.
    Expand
  11. Apr 19, 2018
    7
    Song of the deep is a pretty good adventure that doesn't costs much for great visuals,great puzzels and good music.
    It was like i was Nemo,which is a good thing
    Unfortunately the game is short and has bugs and wasn't a game that will stay long in my head
  12. Feb 9, 2019
    9
    Overall, this game is a joy. It has a lighthearted mentality combined with a mystical atmosphere in which you can explore an underground world. You also gain more feats during progression, which freshens up the gameplay multiple times. You can then reach areas you had to skip previously. While the most time it is relaxing to play, here and there you will find yourself in a tight spot. TheOverall, this game is a joy. It has a lighthearted mentality combined with a mystical atmosphere in which you can explore an underground world. You also gain more feats during progression, which freshens up the gameplay multiple times. You can then reach areas you had to skip previously. While the most time it is relaxing to play, here and there you will find yourself in a tight spot. The cute graphics are adorable on top of that. If you like side scrolling games with these attributes, it is a must-play. Expand
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Dec 1, 2016
    70
    An enjoyable undersea adventure overall, and we expect it to last about 6 to 8 hours for most players. The serene music sets a relaxing pace for you to search out each nook and cranny while the friendly narration bolsters the storybook tone. It strikes a nice balance between making sure you never feel lost, while providing ample room to experiment and explore. Don’t fret over this sub’s creaks and groans. There’s much to see beneath the waves.
  2. Edge Magazine
    Sep 26, 2016
    40
    For the most part, Song of the Deep is content with being pleasantly unremarkable. [Oct 2016, p.119]
  3. Games Master UK
    Sep 6, 2016
    68
    Takes on too much water to cruise comfortably, but it's bailed out by a few brilliant moments. [Sept 2016, p.81]