Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 100
    A thunderous sequel that surpasses its already incredible predecessor in every way that counts, Spelunky 2 is the ultimate roguelike and ruthlessly inventive platformer that never stops surprising and delighting those who pick up the controller. There are perhaps far fewer better ways to close out a console generation than this.
  2. Sep 14, 2020
    100
    Mossmouth took its time and managed to deliver a masterpiece that improves upon its predecessor in ways I never even would have imagined. Spelunky 2 takes everything that made the original great and expands upon each of those individual aspects without ever over complicating the elegant, retro simplicity of its 2D platforming. It doesn’t do much to win over people who already weren’t fans of the original’s unforgiving difficulty, but as someone who is more than 200 runs in and feels like he’s only scratched the surface, Spelunky 2 is a game that I see myself playing for a long, long time.
  3. Sep 18, 2020
    90
    Spelunky 2 is more of Spelunky, and that is all it needs to be. It is still ridiculously enjoyable, packed with content, and the right mix of challenging and engaging. It's still going to kill you a half-dozen times, too. It doesn't reinvent the wheel, but it revitalizes an experience that risked going stale after a decade. The only downside is that the online experience isn't the best, but the rest of the game holds up great. If you liked Spelunky, then you'll like Spelunky 2, and if you never played the original, then Spelunky 2 is a great place to start. Just remember to always look before you leap.
  4. Sep 18, 2020
    90
    Spelunky 2 is an absolute gem. A game that preserves all the virtues of the original title, and which adds small tweaks to create an even more rounded experience. We can rarely play games that are so complicated and, at the same time, so fair to the player (or not). The point is that you will always want one more game. And when you play it, you'll be a little bit better. Just a little. Too bad that sometimes it seems more like an expansion than a sequel.
  5. Sep 18, 2020
    90
    An excellent sequel to one of indie gaming’s most enduring stars, that changes just enough to keep things interesting without losing the magic of the original.
  6. Sep 17, 2020
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Sep 16, 2020
    90
    It does right by its forebear. It’s still just as addictive as ever to journey into untold dangers over and over, and even if it may put off newcomers with its difficulty curve, it’s an experience worth having for anyone willing to rise to its challenges.
  8. Sep 15, 2020
    90
    Spelunky 2 is, at the end of the day, more Spelunky, an unspeakably radiant generosity to the medium at large. Whether or not it’s perfect is beside the point, because it’s the very definition of a must-play game. While multiplayer could not be tested for this review, the addition of online co-op will likely set Twitch streams on fire, and the return of daily runs ensures that Spelunky 2 is a game that will happily remain installed for years to come, and may even improve with age.
  9. 90
    Spelunky 2 enhances and expands on what worked in the first game without "fixing" anything that wasn't broken. In that way it's the perfect sequel for fans who have been playing this game for over a decade. Newcomers might be scared away by the difficulty and seemingly impenetrable secrets, but the effort to get through this is well rewarded.
  10. Sep 18, 2020
    80
    Spelunky 2 rests on the laurels of its predecessor, and that’s not necessarily a bad thing. It still retains all of the gameplay mechanics and level design that made the original such a satisfying experience. But as a sequel, Spelunky 2 feels a little too scared to expand its horizons. For a game that’s all about taking risks, Spelunky 2 is surprisingly risk-averse.
  11. Sep 14, 2020
    80
    Perhaps it’s a little safe in the way it goes about things, anxious not to lose that Spelunky magic by disrupting the familiar flow. But that spell hasn’t worn off after 10 years. With its dastardly remixes of existing themes and a bunch of brilliant new additions, this will certainly replace Spelunky HD as the definitive cave-diving Derek Yu roguelike. I wouldn’t change a thing – though some of my former turkey friends may have different feedback.
  12. Sep 15, 2020
    75
    While Spelunky 2 doesn’t offer the refined mechanics and enemies of the original, it does add to the chaos and fun of multiplayer. While playing alone is mostly an exercise in frustrating, unfair deaths, with friends it’s a barrel of laughs.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Sep 17, 2020
    10
    Utterly beautiful in the classiest way and impeccable game design to the minutest detail by Derek Yu. The game to top in the next decade.
  2. Sep 16, 2020
    10
    Just what the doctor ordered. I'm only about 5 hours into it, but I'm having a blast. I loved the first one and I think they changed it justJust what the doctor ordered. I'm only about 5 hours into it, but I'm having a blast. I loved the first one and I think they changed it just enough to make everything feel fresh and dangerous again while still retaining everything that really made it shine. Full Review »
  3. Sep 17, 2020
    10
    Cenários e gameplay repleto de segredos, física aprimorada, novos caminho, música bem trabalhada, level design procedural de encher os olhos.Cenários e gameplay repleto de segredos, física aprimorada, novos caminho, música bem trabalhada, level design procedural de encher os olhos. Uma run nunca será igual a outra, te obrigando a melhorar como jogador. Pra quem busca um desafio, aqui está! Full Review »