User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 2 out of 23

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 17, 2020
    10
    Utterly beautiful in the classiest way and impeccable game design to the minutest detail by Derek Yu. The game to top in the next decade.
  2. Sep 16, 2020
    10
    Just what the doctor ordered. I'm only about 5 hours into it, but I'm having a blast. I loved the first one and I think they changed it just enough to make everything feel fresh and dangerous again while still retaining everything that really made it shine.
  3. Sep 17, 2020
    10
    Absolutely loving it. First Spelunky is one of my all time favourite games and i never thought sequel can live up to its greatness, but i was wrong. This game is beautiful, super challenging and addicting. There are more enemies, traps, secrets. It feels similar yet so different at the same time time.
    Highly recommended for everyone that loves Spelunky.
    For these that haven't played
    Absolutely loving it. First Spelunky is one of my all time favourite games and i never thought sequel can live up to its greatness, but i was wrong. This game is beautiful, super challenging and addicting. There are more enemies, traps, secrets. It feels similar yet so different at the same time time.
    Highly recommended for everyone that loves Spelunky.
    For these that haven't played first game - better start from there. Spelunky 2 is significantly more challenging.
    Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2020
    10
    Cenários e gameplay repleto de segredos, física aprimorada, novos caminho, música bem trabalhada, level design procedural de encher os olhos. Uma run nunca será igual a outra, te obrigando a melhorar como jogador. Pra quem busca um desafio, aqui está!
  5. Sep 18, 2020
    10
    Easily the best platformer ever, the original had a great concept but levels felt empty and weren't very detailed or complex, they were clearly the result of an algorithm. Furthermore the game felt very barebones and it was lacking when it comes to content, however the sequel improves so much on the formula of the original that these issues are non existent in this game. Levels feelEasily the best platformer ever, the original had a great concept but levels felt empty and weren't very detailed or complex, they were clearly the result of an algorithm. Furthermore the game felt very barebones and it was lacking when it comes to content, however the sequel improves so much on the formula of the original that these issues are non existent in this game. Levels feel designed and man made, they don't feel like the result of an algorithm even though they are, this is extremely impressive and thanks to this there are an infinite amount of unique and fun levels. Furthermore the game is also extremely varied and has a huge amount of content, it switches biome/world every 4 levels and has more of them than the original, there is also a huge amount of enemy types so you definitely wont get bored. The game is also challenging, like old school platformers which is a definite plus in my book. It has a very nice progression system too. Its mechanics are very well made and very polished. Furthermore the controls are very tight and responsive. The art style is great, much better than the originals imo. This game is perfect. The price is too cheap for what you get. The original was a 7/10 at best, this one is a definite 10/10. Expand
  6. Sep 17, 2020
    10
    Just fantastic. Feels like the first but with even tighter controls, sharper graphics and amazing sound.

    More danger, more companions to find and tons of secrets to discover. If you liked the first game, you will love this even more, WOW.
  7. Sep 18, 2020
    9
    Spelunky 2 is a great, challenging game that will dazzle both veterans and newcomers alike.
  8. Sep 20, 2020
    10
    It's a real game (like Dark Souls, and Bloodborne, Breath of the Wild, and Gran Turismo Sport), it's a rewarding challenge, but also a piece of astonishing craftsmanship. A marble.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Sep 18, 2020
    80
    Spelunky 2 is a successful evolution of what made the original Spelunky work; the tight controls, impressive use of procedural generation, expressive art style, and interesting stage themes are better than ever here. But the more notable changes in how we play and talk about this game will likely happen in the coming months as players discover the heart of the game in the deep, dark depths we aren't yet even aware exist.
  2. Sep 18, 2020
    90
    Spelunky 2 is more of Spelunky, and that is all it needs to be. It is still ridiculously enjoyable, packed with content, and the right mix of challenging and engaging. It's still going to kill you a half-dozen times, too. It doesn't reinvent the wheel, but it revitalizes an experience that risked going stale after a decade. The only downside is that the online experience isn't the best, but the rest of the game holds up great. If you liked Spelunky, then you'll like Spelunky 2, and if you never played the original, then Spelunky 2 is a great place to start. Just remember to always look before you leap.
  3. Sep 18, 2020
    90
    Spelunky 2 is an absolute gem. A game that preserves all the virtues of the original title, and which adds small tweaks to create an even more rounded experience. We can rarely play games that are so complicated and, at the same time, so fair to the player (or not). The point is that you will always want one more game. And when you play it, you'll be a little bit better. Just a little. Too bad that sometimes it seems more like an expansion than a sequel.