User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 374 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 6, 2020
    0
    If you play random like every other multiplayer game. You will get beaten down by premade teams of players who know each other.
  2. Oct 7, 2020
    1
    Nice Mobile Game...
    Or it is not fully done yet and will be better in the future, or I bought a mobile game on PS4
  3. Oct 5, 2020
    3
    As usual with EA there is so much potential lost on a half-baked, rushed and buggy as hell game that feels lacking in content. It's another 'game-as-a-service' with a tacked on story campaign that has barely any depth or development to it. The story keeps switching between the New Republic and The Empire but within the same story, so one minute you're playing as the Empire setting up anAs usual with EA there is so much potential lost on a half-baked, rushed and buggy as hell game that feels lacking in content. It's another 'game-as-a-service' with a tacked on story campaign that has barely any depth or development to it. The story keeps switching between the New Republic and The Empire but within the same story, so one minute you're playing as the Empire setting up an ambush, then you're playing as the New Republic trying to escape that ambush. The issue with this is that you constantly feel like you're betraying yourself and have no emotional engagement with your squadmates, since you're going to be trying to kill them in the next mission. Gameplay is a nightmare, while it imports the system management system from better predecessors, it adds in a lot of ridiculous tasks and mission goals that are a pain in the ass. And then there's the bugs, from little (AI enemies getting stuck on scenery) to gamebreaking (checkpoints failing to launch, AI squadmates spawning inside the scenery). The game is already half the price of a new title because it's only half a game, but even then I'd advise waiting until it comes down in price, and that's because I have no faith that EA will bother patching any of the technical issues. Expand
  4. Oct 6, 2020
    2
    I got this game only for the single player campaign and it just flat out terrible.

    Positives + Star Wars Nostalgia + Graphics and Sound Negative - The writing is absolute garbage. It feels like no more than 30 minutes was spent thinking about the plot and dialogue. The decisions and motivations of the characters come across at the maturity level of a 5 year old. Who thinks this
    I got this game only for the single player campaign and it just flat out terrible.

    Positives
    + Star Wars Nostalgia
    + Graphics and Sound

    Negative
    - The writing is absolute garbage. It feels like no more than 30 minutes was spent thinking about the plot and dialogue. The decisions and motivations of the characters come across at the maturity level of a 5 year old. Who thinks this way?
    - The missions are incoherent. Much of it appears to be designed as a tutorial for the multiplayer but they somehow manage to leave the player confused. One has no idea how to prioritize anything. The design also appears to be led by someone with major attention deficit disorder.
    - The gameplay is repetitive and tedious, just not fun.

    Anyone involved in this product should be embarrassed. The lack of quality control and adult supervision on this game is remarkable. I have no idea why I forced myself to complete the campaign.
    Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2020
    1
    I was having high Hope's for this game when I pre ordered it. But my Hope's were **** on, and thrown into the garbage. Theres only 3 game modes, a short, simple, and straight forward campaign that has the same kind of mission every time. Dont get me wrong, flying in space is fun, but when you die all the time with a team that has nothing to pitch, it makes me regret ever looking at thisI was having high Hope's for this game when I pre ordered it. But my Hope's were **** on, and thrown into the garbage. Theres only 3 game modes, a short, simple, and straight forward campaign that has the same kind of mission every time. Dont get me wrong, flying in space is fun, but when you die all the time with a team that has nothing to pitch, it makes me regret ever looking at this game. I mean, come on EA, what the hell were you idiots thinking? Terrible job, another fan of yall's star wars games lost. Consider me out. Expand
  6. Oct 5, 2020
    2
    Story is bad. Campaign is very short. The multiplayer has only two modes that's it. It's only 5vs5 in each mode. The game locks you in first person view only. You have these cool looking ships and you can see your ship or how you customized it. They need to make a game that is similar in quality as Rogue Squadrons 2 from the Nintendo GameCube era. Not worth your money or time. The gameStory is bad. Campaign is very short. The multiplayer has only two modes that's it. It's only 5vs5 in each mode. The game locks you in first person view only. You have these cool looking ships and you can see your ship or how you customized it. They need to make a game that is similar in quality as Rogue Squadrons 2 from the Nintendo GameCube era. Not worth your money or time. The game looks good and controls decent but the gameplay is very limited and gets old fast. Expand
  7. Oct 6, 2020
    0
    Meh, maybe on sale for not worth it for $40. Save yourself and wait for it to go on sale if at all.
  8. Oct 6, 2020
    3
    I wanted a deep flight combat game all i got was a 20 minute time killer. Im gonna start of light and work my way down to the biggest offence. Man was excited for this. Dont waste your money. “Deep” gameplay is deep for mobile gamers maybe lol. “Oh look u can divert power its deep” lolol. Doesnt even feel like star wars, characters look like they came out of a fashion magazine...and whyI wanted a deep flight combat game all i got was a 20 minute time killer. Im gonna start of light and work my way down to the biggest offence. Man was excited for this. Dont waste your money. “Deep” gameplay is deep for mobile gamers maybe lol. “Oh look u can divert power its deep” lolol. Doesnt even feel like star wars, characters look like they came out of a fashion magazine...and why arent storm troopers wearing their helmets wtf. I wanna be in a room full of storm troopers etc not in some high school drama parading with a light star wars skin on it. Skipped all the hanger parts as the characters and story are a waste of my time and nothing but cringe. A lot of the characters voice actors sound like they came from a children's cartoon and it really breaks the immersion during gameplay. Don't even get me started on the dialogue. I was hoping for the gameplay to be amazeballs thats why i bought this but my god am i disappointed...the way you track ships is horrid theres no options like in battlefield 3 to look where your opponent is while turning by locking on. Dont have VR? Good luck seeing whos going anywhere, most of the time you will be flying aimlessly. The way throttle works is also stupid as hell. All imperial ships suck. The Tie Fighter is a joke you cant see a god damned thing peripherally so have fun lolol. All in all i was gonna get vr for this and a joystick. Now i wish id saved $55 Cad. Disney and EA were made for each other. Star Wars is dead. P.S maps suck. Expand
  9. Oct 4, 2020
    0
    Was hyped for this game, bought HOTAS for this game... and then it didn't work. Usually iam fine with it but this time i got triggered. They ruined the whole experience, and ranked score wise went to hell. Have to wait two months now for reset and hopefully a patch that makes HOTAS viable. Anyway they should hire people that acutally know what the heck they are doing, so sick of this lowWas hyped for this game, bought HOTAS for this game... and then it didn't work. Usually iam fine with it but this time i got triggered. They ruined the whole experience, and ranked score wise went to hell. Have to wait two months now for reset and hopefully a patch that makes HOTAS viable. Anyway they should hire people that acutally know what the heck they are doing, so sick of this low effort development. It's a company get the right people for the right job, what the heck is going on?!?

    The story is crap if not in VR... but you kinda want your HOTAS to work then too ey?

    Best thing with this game was the CG short... period!
    Expand
  10. Oct 5, 2020
    3
    This game isn't complete garbage like some of the other EA SW titles (Fallen Order, anyone?), but it's not a good game either, and it's certainly not worth the price they've put it at

    I was a huge fan of the original X-Wing game by LucasArts back in the early '90s, and to be frank, that game is vastly superior to this one, even today As many others have said, the "story" is
    This game isn't complete garbage like some of the other EA SW titles (Fallen Order, anyone?), but it's not a good game either, and it's certainly not worth the price they've put it at

    I was a huge fan of the original X-Wing game by LucasArts back in the early '90s, and to be frank, that game is vastly superior to this one, even today

    As many others have said, the "story" is laughable, considering how shallow, short, and BORING it is. The story feels like it came from someone's 5th grade "creative writing" assignments. The plot is cliche, predictable, and not interesting in any way. Personally, I don't really mind the diversity bits that a lot of folks are upset about. I don't feel that it impacts game play in any way good or bad: you don't really see your own character that much & the voice acting is still very stilted, generic garbage that might as well be an astromech's beeping....actually, I'd prefer the astromech, so there you go

    As for gameplay, it's an arcade game, straight up. This is not in any way a simulation. The controls are not good, the power management is too basic, to the point that it's actually an annoyance. Flight is very arcade-y and not smooth like you would expect in a simulation. Actual flying talent is lost in this game, there's really no point in trying to use flying tactics or even paying attention to things like your rolls and angles of attack. Just treat it like any arcade game and you'll do fine. Some folks like this style, which is fine, but this game should NEVER have been marketed as a simulation: that's a flat out lie

    The missions you are given are, for the most part, a complete joke. They make no strategic sense and seem to have been thought up in a 30-minute conference room session after the makers of this game forgot they had to put missions in. The tactical decisions made by your superiors would ensure a full on mutiny after about 2 days. Since, as mentioned, this is an arcade game, you can do these missions and survive, but I think a lot of folks will agree, the little voice in your head as you complete these missions will be laughing and crying BS on a frequent basis. Think back to when you were 5 years old playing some kind of "war" game with your friends: the tactics are about the same, as is the whole "Nuh-uh, you didn't kill me, I got a shield" ..."Yeah, well I got a shield busting gun, so you're dead"...."No because I got an anti-shield-busting gun shield, so I blocked you"....Yeah, it's about like that. immersion? Forget it, not happening here

    Multiplayer is accordingly meh: it's an arcade game, so there's really not a lot of skill to rely on. You mash a few buttons and flop around in a jerky arcade manner. pew pew pew boom yay, wash, rinse, repeat

    Speaking of button mashing....this is not unique to this game, but yes button mashing is a thing when your systems go down. Whoever originally thought this would be a fun game mechanic should be shot. Whoever still uses this game mechanic in new games thinking it's fun should be shot & then eaten by cannibals. It's BAD. Stop. Doing. This.

    Good stuff:
    Graphics are pretty decent
    I don't see any loot boxes/crates/whatever yet...maybe I just missed them, but if this game doesn't actually have this garbage, then GOOD JOB! GREAT job even. If I never see another loot crate again, I'll be happy (yeah, I know it's not gonna happen)

    All in all...this one is a big disappointment for me for the reasons above. If you're into arcade-y "flying" shooters, then this might be up your alley. If you're looking for a simulation, like this title CLAIMS to be....keep movin' on, cuz this aint it
    Expand
  11. Oct 4, 2020
    3
    the game is lacking in many aspect and that they thought on vr first ruins it. all its made for is immersion rather than fast paced multiplayer combat and the lock on system ruins any skill there could be needed
  12. Oct 5, 2020
    0
    This is the 1st game in my life I have returned to the shop,it is pretty much unplayable thanks to a bug in the 1st mission,I don't even know how it has been reviewed as plenty of people on all platforms experience it.
    It also has a weird general feeling with male or female choice called A and B and no Caucasian/white options for your character.
  13. Oct 3, 2020
    3
    the gameplay is fine and looks good but is lacking in much to do outside of the campaign (of which youd be better playing star wars rogue squadron) the multiplayer isnt much to speak of either in general not that wont have some fun but still but overall id say a 3 for now until they show more and if not wait til the games on sale to get
  14. Oct 7, 2020
    0
    Identity politics and agendas have no place in a Star Wars game, production time would’ve been better spent actually crafting a compelling story and fixing the numerous bugs and glitches.
  15. Oct 5, 2020
    0
    Game was alright at first, however became quite monotone and tedious after a while.
    It gets a 0 from me because why would you ruin a game to be politically correct?
    So silly imo
  16. Oct 4, 2020
    2
    After playing the game for a few hours, it’s clear the technical ambition and gameplay aspirations are there. The game looks fine, plays decently if a bit sluggish, and sounds authentic. Don’t be fooled, there are many bugs and glitches albeit not enough to be completely game breaking outside of HOTAS and VR support.

    However, the biggest issue is the effort that went into this campaign.
    After playing the game for a few hours, it’s clear the technical ambition and gameplay aspirations are there. The game looks fine, plays decently if a bit sluggish, and sounds authentic. Don’t be fooled, there are many bugs and glitches albeit not enough to be completely game breaking outside of HOTAS and VR support.

    However, the biggest issue is the effort that went into this campaign. It is totally lackluster and cliche, to the point of eye rolling. Nothing new is done, and it feels like Generic Disney Star Wars, and not in the sense of Rogue One or the Mandalorian. The supporting characters are sold front and center for their gender identity, race, or political standing and not built as good characters in and of themselves. A good story that looks and feels authentic to Star Wars, especially in the timeframe of the original trilogy is paramount. Instead, the characters on screen feel they are ripped off of a modern day CW show with modern issues and identity politics included.

    What Jedi Fallen Order corrected from Battlefront II’s story, we have regressed. I’m excited to see Disney give studios other than EA a chance with the license and see if they can produce better story’s that concern themselves with the fans first, and not their social issues.
    Expand
  17. Oct 6, 2020
    0
    Star Wars is always worried.
    Science fiction, space that is always concerned.
    boring. It's boring. Bored.
  18. Oct 5, 2020
    3
    Initially fun, but quickly turns into a tedious grind. The story was basic, disappointing. The urge to remain politically correct has rendered elements of the game redundant. I would recommend waiting for a sale on this one rather than paying full price.

    [Character Customisation/Creation] You can clearly tell that the desperate attempt to remain politically correct was given higher
    Initially fun, but quickly turns into a tedious grind. The story was basic, disappointing. The urge to remain politically correct has rendered elements of the game redundant. I would recommend waiting for a sale on this one rather than paying full price.

    [Character Customisation/Creation]

    You can clearly tell that the desperate attempt to remain politically correct was given higher priority than other essential aspects of this game.

    Each pilot (New Republic/Empire) has a default name which can't be edited. Which is absolutely pointless as it's not used at all during the entire campaign. They always refer to you as your call sign. You also pick a voice which is only used for one line in the entire game "I need a resupply" when you request one.

    Then you've got the appearance. There are a male and female variation of every race available, However they've been very careful to not mention gender anywhere and allow you to use male voices for female and vice versa to check that politically correct box. The whole game is also in first person so you never see your customised character either.

    The fact that voices aren't used, names aren't referenced and you never see your character during the entire game gives the impression that something was intended here, but the politically correct brigade stepped in last minute to make it redundant.

    [Controls]

    These were awful, even by the end of the campaign they didn't seem right. Yes you do have the ability to remap them entirely, but the issue is that every single control is already in use, so it's hard to move anything from the thumb sticks.

    For example the throttle up and down is on the left thumb stick, along with roll, which means you're constantly accidently affecting your speed when trying to manoeuvre or vice versa. Also worse is that if you click the left thumb stick it boosts your engine, which resulted in scenarios where I boosted into an obstacle several times.

    If I were to remap, due to every button being in use, something hand to replace where the throttle sat and so would cause the same issue. Compared to other combat flight sims this was a poor.

    [Gameplay]

    Tedious. I was hoping for a little more variety with the environment. Perhaps a land map where you're attacking ground targets. Instead everything is in space where you're either dog fighting or attacking the same capital ships over and over. It was initially fun, but quickly turned into a grind after the first few missions.

    The ship selection is good, they've done well to ensure each ship has significant roles to play.

    [Virtual Reality]

    Fantastic! You can see this was one of the key considerations. For me personally motion sickness is definitely a risk and I found myself requiring a good break between missions to recover. In fact for the last few missions I avoided using VR. The very fact that I did feel rough when barrel rolling and flying upside down is a credit to the realistic flight simulation this game provides.

    [Story]

    Standard. From the trailers and initial revealed gameplay I was hoping for something deeper. Instead the Titan Squadron were the stereotypical bad guys who all possessed English accents (missed out xenophobia on the political correctness list there guys). Vanguard Squadron on the other hand all had American accents and played the underdog as usual.

    I was hoping for more interaction with the members of the squadron, instead you get a brief dialogue with them sporadically in between missions where all you can do is listen, no interaction or opportunity to build a relationship whatsoever.

    There is one point in the game where it gives the impression of a morale choice, but as it's one of the objectives anyway you have no choice.
    Expand
  19. Oct 4, 2020
    3
    Very poor story with completely unforgettable characters. I’ve been a HUGE Star Wars fan for over 40 years, but they have lost their way. Can’t take anymore of the SJW being crammed down our throats. Star Wars was always inclusive and diverse, WAY before it was fashionable to be, now it’s just over the top and this game is the epitome of it. Aside from that, the story is boring, the gameVery poor story with completely unforgettable characters. I’ve been a HUGE Star Wars fan for over 40 years, but they have lost their way. Can’t take anymore of the SJW being crammed down our throats. Star Wars was always inclusive and diverse, WAY before it was fashionable to be, now it’s just over the top and this game is the epitome of it. Aside from that, the story is boring, the game play is SOOOO weak, I was hoping for a Rogue Squadron experience, but this isn’t even close. Should have been 3rd person view not 1st, the controls are a mess and with everything that’s going on, it feels like you need a PhD to use them at times. Graphics look pretty good, but that’s about the only positive. Severely disappointed in this game, I’d much rather hook up my N64 or game cube and play through the Rogue Squadron games, or even play the Starfighter Assult missions on the Battlefront games. Both are superior to the mess that Squadrons is. Expand
  20. Dec 11, 2020
    3
    Most missions come down to chasing enemy fighters. And all the cool cinematic moments happen in pre-rendered cinematic, so it feels like you've been enlisted as the pilot for the most boring parts of the campaign. I regret the purchase.
  21. Nov 4, 2020
    3
    I'll be honest, this game is pretty lackluster and boring. I fondly remember playing the old Gamecube games in the series and those were actually fun and enjoyable. I ended up quitting after a few missions in this one because of glitches and an utterly borefest of a story. The characters also suck and the controls are not great either. It seems like a VR game turned into a standard one. II'll be honest, this game is pretty lackluster and boring. I fondly remember playing the old Gamecube games in the series and those were actually fun and enjoyable. I ended up quitting after a few missions in this one because of glitches and an utterly borefest of a story. The characters also suck and the controls are not great either. It seems like a VR game turned into a standard one. I would avoid this one at all costs, unless you're a Star Wars fanatic. Expand
  22. Dec 15, 2020
    4
    This game had a phenomenal amount of potential to place you in the thick of your dream Star Wars scenario; instead, it’s a constant struggle to ignore the weak, ineffectual characters who were clearly designed by committee as opposed to any sort of unified (or single) vision. This is before we even get onto the redundant customisation, buggy action and convoluted controls...

    Firstly on
    This game had a phenomenal amount of potential to place you in the thick of your dream Star Wars scenario; instead, it’s a constant struggle to ignore the weak, ineffectual characters who were clearly designed by committee as opposed to any sort of unified (or single) vision. This is before we even get onto the redundant customisation, buggy action and convoluted controls...

    Firstly on the characters, there appears to have been a deliberate attempt to avoid making anyone truly good or evil, and it’s totally fine to blur this line as long as the characters themselves are charismatic in some manner (they aren’t). Every single crew member is both bored and boring in their role within the story. It feels more like taking part in space battles with some corporate office colleagues on a “fun” work day out, as opposed to a crew of experienced and battle-hardened ace pilots. The game has managed to make the entire cast very diverse AND YET all somehow the exact same in terms of personality, to the point that everyone is absolutely forgettable - a bunch of mild-mannered, polite, quietly spoken jobsworths. I PLAY GAMES TO ESCAPE THESE PEOPLE!

    Onto the gameplay itself, which is brilliant...sometimes...under certain circumstances...I think. It certainly feels great sitting in the cockpit and looking around, and when the action is light it all feels controlled and slick. However, as soon as multiple enemies turn up, it descends into an anarchic blend of thrashing around, trying in vain to cycle through enemies and bumping into things whilst the voiceovers shout the same pointless drivel over and over. The controls probably feel great with a keyboard and mouse, but on a PS4 controller it’s more of a lucky combination of button-mashing / praying. I also witnessed a fair amount of ships stalling and glitching, and the game itself crashed on me once or twice after just a couple of missions.

    Finally, I was really, REALLY looking forward to customising my own character and my ship, but the game renders this fun bit of personalisation totally useless, since the entire experience is first-person - I’ll never get to peek around the ship or look into the cockpit, gutted!

    If I could, I’d get a refund on this game, but since I have already missed that window of opportunity I will instead trudge through the remaining missions, imagining I’m surrounded by charismatic heroes and villains instead of my usual 9-5 coworkers in jumpsuits...and I’ll be sticking it on Story Mode to get through it ASAP.

    Swing and a miss. Don’t let the glowing official reviews fool you on this one.
    Expand
  23. Dec 27, 2020
    1
    Controls for HOTAS are all over the place, showing key numbers that don't exist. Trying to set features to certain keys by mouse changes control layout to keyboard/mouse. It's basically impossible to remap joystick controls in the menu - so I simply cannot play. How can you botch flight controls so badly?! Throttle is inverted and located on a tiny slider ON my friggin THROTTLE whichControls for HOTAS are all over the place, showing key numbers that don't exist. Trying to set features to certain keys by mouse changes control layout to keyboard/mouse. It's basically impossible to remap joystick controls in the menu - so I simply cannot play. How can you botch flight controls so badly?! Throttle is inverted and located on a tiny slider ON my friggin THROTTLE which doesn't do a thing!!! You had ONE job - and you blew it Expand
  24. Feb 24, 2021
    2
    The single player was ok, the story kept you playing.. Multi-player just blows hard, horrible.

    Was so looking forward to this game, but was so disappointed in it.. If it was more like the battlefront flying part of that game, it would of been awesome.. but its not so it kinda just sucks...
  25. Jun 13, 2021
    0
    Как такое можно выпускать, игра не вызывает интереса вообще.
  26. Apr 8, 2021
    3
    TLDR: Bland campaign, sluggish gameplay, underwhelming online, unimpressive graphics and sound.

    Basically it's a shame. I thought this game might be a step in the right direction but it really hasn't impressed me. I've been a long-time fan of space and flight combat games like Colony Wars, Ace Combat, and the old SW Starfighter game on PS2. And I'm a long-time Star Wars fan. I really
    TLDR: Bland campaign, sluggish gameplay, underwhelming online, unimpressive graphics and sound.

    Basically it's a shame. I thought this game might be a step in the right direction but it really hasn't impressed me. I've been a long-time fan of space and flight combat games like Colony Wars, Ace Combat, and the old SW Starfighter game on PS2. And I'm a long-time Star Wars fan. I really enjoyed Starfighter Assault in Dice's SW Battlefront 2 as well, it just should've gotten more content.

    Squadrons though just ain't it. The campaign is not remotely interesting, about as mediocre as the Battlefront 2 campaign, and that's no surprise as Motive was responsible for both. The highlight was seeing Hera from Rebels, but even she lacks the life and character she had in the show.

    As for gameplay, the controls might have depth and complexity, but that doesn't make them feel good. This is not a very accessible game, even for someone like myself who has a fair bit of experience with other games in the genre. The piloting controls just feel sluggish, loose and imprecise. Banking, turning, pitching, rolling, accelerating/braking, none of it feels responsive enough, and this makes hitting small moving targets frustratingly difficult. This is all worsened by always being locked into first person perspective, with your field of view restricted things just feel more cumbersome and claustrophobic. It may be more immersive for some, and I know this game was made with VR in mind, but the lack of a third person view is a big turn-off for me.

    I will say Motive played with some interesting ideas for the mechanics, like managing the power systems of your fighter, adjusting deflector shield positioning, and boosting and drifting. These ideas have potential, but the unpleasant basic controls for steering your craft always overshadow the interesting tactical options that could be offered by the deeper mechanics. The customisation on offer though is very welcome.

    Then there's online, it's dominated by people who are really into the game. That's not surprising, but with all matches being 5v5 (that's less than half the number of players you could have in a full Starfighter match in Battlefront 2) things can definitely feel very one-sided. And with the small player count in a match these space battles often feel pretty sparse and empty, there aren't enough extra AI enemies to make things feel bigger. These dogfights amount to small skirmishes, not epic fleet battles.

    And then the presentation. The graphics are definitely worse than Battlefront 2's, there's just less detail and polish in general. The cockpits look nice, but the space outside, not great. Unfortunately I think because of the prioritisation of VR, visual fidelity has been sacrificed. If you have VR it might be very impressive, but for the average Joe like myself playing games on his TV it feels a little lacking. The effects for explosions and laser fire also just lack the impact of previous games or the old movies. Part of that is also down to the sound design, it just lacks the kick of Ben Burtt's work on the original films.

    Overall I'm just sad I couldn't get into this game. I love Star Wars, I love starfighters, I love flight combat games, Squadrons should've been a winner for me, but it missed the mark on basically every aspect. Clunky controls and lacklustre story and online just hold it all back. I feel bad for being so harsh on a game that doesn't pull any of the microtransaction and live-service nonsense that's become so ubiquitous, but I'm not going to congratulate anyone for doing the bare minimum to appear consumer-friendly. That's basically what recent Star Wars games have been all about anyway.

    Here's hoping the formation of Lucasfilm Games leads to some more impressive stuff, and hopefully it won't be another decade before we see a new starfighter game. Games are built on hope.
    Expand
  27. Jun 24, 2021
    3
    Boring and dull for the average user. Maybe accomplished dog fighters could find some enjoyment here but for the most it lacks any reason to play.
  28. Jun 16, 2021
    2
    At first, the game is interesting, but later the gameplay becomes boring, since you, besides just sitting in a spaceship and shooting at other players, can do nothing else.
  29. Oct 4, 2021
    0
    Absolutely boring & repetative. Not recommended to anyone. This is where they need to pay you to play this game, not the opposite.
  30. Jul 31, 2021
    0
    Do not belive the 79 score, it is not even around 5.5 by only fans of star wars, the fair score is 0.5, and this 5 only for star wars universe, which is been **** by everyone who can offer good money, thank you very much jorje lucas. The only reason why i played this piece of **** it"s because it was ps store free on june or july. I can only imagine how people, who payed real money, isDo not belive the 79 score, it is not even around 5.5 by only fans of star wars, the fair score is 0.5, and this 5 only for star wars universe, which is been **** by everyone who can offer good money, thank you very much jorje lucas. The only reason why i played this piece of **** it"s because it was ps store free on june or july. I can only imagine how people, who payed real money, is feeling) Sorry for you guys. Expand
  31. Aug 5, 2021
    4
    maybe its because games like this are not my favorite genre but i m not really happy with this game - feels like youre not really involved - it doesnt really matter how you perform - the graphics are not special - it never felt like action its always like watching it from far instead of flying fighting yourself
  32. Jul 18, 2021
    4
    The characters are either black or female. I am a white male. What a discriminatory game. I am so offended.
  33. Sep 24, 2021
    3
    This game controls like a tank. Unfortunately alot of it just sucks, because it seems very unresponsive to Dual Shock controls, I dont remember games like Ace Combat this bad.
  34. Aug 17, 2021
    1
    If you play random like every other multiplayer game. You will get beaten down by premade teams of players who know each other.
  35. Jan 9, 2022
    0
    I really love this genre. But after this game, I sincerely hope that developers will never make games again. It's horrible. Everything is bad. Broken gameplay after 1.5 years. Disgusting storyline. It is better not to do the company at all if you do it this way.
  36. Dec 5, 2021
    4
    Showed promise but has very poor mouse/keyboard controls. It is like the joystick programming was used for the mouse. Battlefield (any) and War thunder do so much better at mouse/keyboard than this game.
  37. Oct 24, 2020
    3
    Lazy, under-developed, disappointing. This is a hastily-developed beta version game that lacks proper mechanics, physics and immersion of a starfighter simulator. Some people say this is the successor to the xwing-tiefighter franchise; not even close. Missions are boring and poorly choreographed, there are certain parts of the battlefield you can't go, trigger events and dialogue messesLazy, under-developed, disappointing. This is a hastily-developed beta version game that lacks proper mechanics, physics and immersion of a starfighter simulator. Some people say this is the successor to the xwing-tiefighter franchise; not even close. Missions are boring and poorly choreographed, there are certain parts of the battlefield you can't go, trigger events and dialogue messes up with your speed and direction, and hangar dialogues are completely unnecessary and very forgettable; so are the characters.

    The throne for a worthy xwing-tiefighter successor is still very much empty.
    Expand
  38. Nov 1, 2020
    0
    I hate this game, utter complete ****. I've been trying to get my money back for this crap since I bought it.
  39. Oct 24, 2020
    1
    Such as disappointment after the surprising hit Jedi Fallen Order, it this is EA.
    The things I liked about the game are the graphics and visuals, amazing game mechanic, the VR that really enhances the experiences, it makes me really want to love the game. However...
    The story campaign was short and boring and the characters were lame as hell, I did not care for any of them. I would've
    Such as disappointment after the surprising hit Jedi Fallen Order, it this is EA.
    The things I liked about the game are the graphics and visuals, amazing game mechanic, the VR that really enhances the experiences, it makes me really want to love the game. However...
    The story campaign was short and boring and the characters were lame as hell, I did not care for any of them. I would've prefer playing as Wedge.
    The game has only two game modes and there is nothing else much to do in this game that it immediately became redundant after two days playing it. Why can I NOT blow up the Death Star or have a heroes vs villain campaign in their respective ships. Why aren't there any planets we know and love from the movies, not the sequels ,in this game. Why can't I fly the millennium falcon? AND WHY DOES IT NOT HAVE THE THIRD-PERSON PRESPECTIVE OPTION? Stuff like this really what I think deserves this low score rating. So much potential but classic EA's pure laziness and the obvious anti white male racism in this game, destroys it.
    Star Wars: Rogue Squadron is twice the game I wished this one would be.
    Expand
  40. Oct 11, 2020
    3
    I just wanted Starfighter Assault from BF2 fleshed out to a full game. Not forced first person super-serious flight sim.
  41. Jan 2, 2021
    0
    While a great idea in theory, its execution of a Star Wars space fighter game is terrible.
    There is no grand campaign or custom sandbox or couch co-op. It's a very short linear game.
    The characters are unlikable and certain choices were made with them clearly at the last minute which hurts their development as it feels so unnatural and forced.

    Next time let us make our own character.
  42. Jan 1, 2021
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You fly around and shoot stuff. Zipping to and fro your enemy. It's terrible. Expand
  43. Oct 16, 2020
    3
    Bland story. Bad match making. In multiplayer you will probably go against teams of people that are there almost 24 hours a day, so good luck scoring a kill as you start on line. Dogfights are not ranked meaning that all the kills doesn't help with you overall standing. A few (and I mean A FEW) offline maps. Graphics and sound design are good. Wait for it to be on a bargain bin.
  44. Feb 2, 2021
    0
    bad game, no clear hinds how to play and confusing. It's really not fun to play, DO NOT BUY THIS
  45. Oct 11, 2020
    0
    Oh it’s a great game, when the constant incessant bugs aren’t ruining the whole experience. Game crashes on the goddam prologue. Now I’m on mission 8 and I can’t even complete the level because the game bugs out at the final loading screen. Avoid this game or just buy it used in a few months when they’ve patched everything.
  46. Oct 19, 2020
    0
    its like playing as past white guy in whole universe, there is 8 ships and this game is about to ignore every piece of lore, pure ****
  47. Oct 9, 2020
    0
    Ta gra jest gównem. Ciągle się coś wypierdala, a sama gra jest nudna jak flaki z olejem.
  48. Jun 1, 2021
    0
    One of the worst Star Wars games ever made. Who makes a star fighter game and leaves it as first person only? Trash...
    Can’t believe EA can get by with a poorly made game like this but everyone bashes cyberpunk when this **** is no better!
  49. Jun 2, 2021
    2
    Very poor graphics, boring gameplay, simplistic everything. The writing is ABYSMAL. Its just not fun. Sort of challenging ( I played it on veteran), but just doesn't feel right. Very woke, as well. Just not a good game. Felt like it was for under 12 children. Felt like a PS 2 game. Boring story mode.
  50. Nov 22, 2021
    0
    I got it for free with ps plus. It's boring, repetitive, mechanics are slow and not intuitive...and the icing on the cake: it's full of sjw characters.
    Thumbs down.
  51. Jun 11, 2021
    0
    I started this game only because it was free on PS plus and I quickly found out why. This game is absolute trash. I can't even comment on the story and how bad it is, not that anything like that surprises me from EA, and I couldn't get past about 15 minutes of playing. For me it's the controls, which are 99% of a flying type game and they are absolutely the worst! You throttle down andI started this game only because it was free on PS plus and I quickly found out why. This game is absolute trash. I can't even comment on the story and how bad it is, not that anything like that surprises me from EA, and I couldn't get past about 15 minutes of playing. For me it's the controls, which are 99% of a flying type game and they are absolutely the worst! You throttle down and yet somehow turn slower than when at max throttle. You leave the throttle at mid for normal maneuverability, and yet you still slow down and randomly speed up in turns. yeah have fun aiming with that mess. The only thing positive about this game is that it's free now, it's nostalgic star wars, and it works with VR if you have it, which I don't. Honestly I don't know how EA even stays in business with the trash they continue to churn out. Pay attention the user reviews. This is another EA money grab and frankly the so called critics should be ashamed anyone gave it over 50. I suppose the cash tentacles of EA reach all over even so called critics.

    But please ignore the ridiculous people whining about identity politics because they can't play a whiter person. Inclusivity is the only thing they got right about this game.
    Expand
  52. Dec 1, 2021
    0
    It’s giant bag of **** on fire, it’s unbelievable how much that sweeden **** can devastate star wars title. It have ONLY SIX SHIPS!! look at star wars universe, there is hundreds of ships and who know what more.
    Your squad on both sides imperium/rebels is horribly annoying, both squads are assembled from: gays, trans and lesbians that can saz nothin more than: I aM lEsBiAn/GaY/TrAnS lOoK
    It’s giant bag of **** on fire, it’s unbelievable how much that sweeden **** can devastate star wars title. It have ONLY SIX SHIPS!! look at star wars universe, there is hundreds of ships and who know what more.
    Your squad on both sides imperium/rebels is horribly annoying, both squads are assembled from: gays, trans and lesbians that can saz nothin more than: I aM lEsBiAn/GaY/TrAnS lOoK aT mE i NeEd YoUr AtTeNtIoN bla bla bla...
    And story is just garbage...
    Expand
  53. Oct 11, 2020
    0
    Даже если не учитывать наличие в игре толерантной "повесточки", то оценить ее на что-то больше чем 0 очень сложно. Да, они сделали кабины истребителей и добавили функционала в них, но во время полета у меня складывалось впечатление, будт-то я не лечу на истребитнле, а плыву на подводной лодке. Истребитель абсолютно ваиный. Графика только ухудшилась, относительно Battlefront 2. И это яДаже если не учитывать наличие в игре толерантной "повесточки", то оценить ее на что-то больше чем 0 очень сложно. Да, они сделали кабины истребителей и добавили функционала в них, но во время полета у меня складывалось впечатление, будт-то я не лечу на истребитнле, а плыву на подводной лодке. Истребитель абсолютно ваиный. Графика только ухудшилась, относительно Battlefront 2. И это я молчу про убогую сюжетную кампанию, персонажи которой абсолютно неинтересны. Expand
  54. Mar 26, 2021
    0
    The main issue with this game is the new player experience, which can best be described as awful. There is a very steep and long learning curve with the flight control mechanics. It takes a lot of time to master so as long as you enjoy dying over, and over, and over very quickly with no short or medium term enjoyment then this is the game for you. If your the sort of person who wants toThe main issue with this game is the new player experience, which can best be described as awful. There is a very steep and long learning curve with the flight control mechanics. It takes a lot of time to master so as long as you enjoy dying over, and over, and over very quickly with no short or medium term enjoyment then this is the game for you. If your the sort of person who wants to enjoy a game straight out of the box then avoid.... seriously! Expand
  55. Oct 7, 2020
    5
    I wanted to love this game, unfortunately, it's just a rather shallow experience. If you're looking for a modern X-Wing vs Tie fighter you will be disappointed but if you're looking for an arcadey type' flight sim' you will love it.

    If you're after a quick blast with low skill ceiling game then you will probably enjoy it, I'm more of a hardcore flight sim fan so found it lacking. I
    I wanted to love this game, unfortunately, it's just a rather shallow experience. If you're looking for a modern X-Wing vs Tie fighter you will be disappointed but if you're looking for an arcadey type' flight sim' you will love it.

    If you're after a quick blast with low skill ceiling game then you will probably enjoy it, I'm more of a hardcore flight sim fan so found it lacking. I appreciate the developers trying something 'new' and understand why they went the route they did, but hopefully, they will bring us a true successor to the X-Wing/tie fighter games of old
    Expand
  56. Nov 6, 2020
    8
    A very fun and unique space combat MOBA. The worst of the launch day ranking and balance issues have been resolved, now onward to space victory.
  57. Apr 9, 2021
    0
    All I needed to do was watch the trailer for the game; I discovered that finding a white man in it was much like playing a game of Where's Waldo. That pretty much tells me everything I need to know about this title: it is made by people who aren't outside of the box thinkers, they are followers that go with the crowd, and they will deliver a sub par game that may be worth playing for a fewAll I needed to do was watch the trailer for the game; I discovered that finding a white man in it was much like playing a game of Where's Waldo. That pretty much tells me everything I need to know about this title: it is made by people who aren't outside of the box thinkers, they are followers that go with the crowd, and they will deliver a sub par game that may be worth playing for a few days at most. Personally, I am not going to give money to any company that thinks that I am evil because of my skin color. Thanks. Expand
  58. Oct 5, 2020
    10
    Definitely the spiritual successor to the x-wing series. The nostalgia is as really as the fun. I've played a lot of Elite and this has almost everything I was missing from that game. Don't listen to the bigots who are review bombing this for lgbtq or racial reasons... At $40 this is a steal. I'm hoping that they keep this game updated and current for years to come.
  59. Oct 8, 2020
    9
    Pew pew pew pew pew five stars!

    I’m having a blast with this game. Riding in the cockpit of some of my favorite Star Wars ships is an amazing experience, especially in VR Scratches the starfighter itch that Battlefront couldn’t quite reach. One of the best Star Wars offerings since the Dark Times.
  60. Oct 3, 2020
    6
    gameplay:8.5
    story:6
    characters:3
    multiplayer: 8
    content: 5

    overall: 6
  61. Oct 4, 2020
    5
    Pretty enough and a great VR experience. The gameplay is fresh, kind of a MOBA feel to it. It claims to support HOTAS but it does so very poorly. You will likely have a nightmare of a time making it work right if you can at all. Flight mechanics are pretty poor. This is not a space sim. It is Overwatch in X-Wings. That's not bad, just not what I feel was advertised.
  62. Oct 4, 2020
    9
    I grew up playing Xwing Tie Fighter on a 386. I’ve been waiting for something close for years and am really enjoying this. The customization options are fun and I can only imagine the other game modes that could be introduced in the future. I do not have VR yet but would love to try that as well. I play with an xbox controller on pc.
  63. Oct 12, 2020
    8
    Really good controls, VR SUPPORT IS SO GOOD!!!! but the multiplayer gets stale, but this is a VR must title. Trust me.
  64. Oct 4, 2020
    9
    The campaign is a good way of learning the the mechanics in the game and it is overall fun, but the flying is hard to master
  65. Oct 4, 2020
    9
    Somewhere in between Super Fun and Exhilarating dogfighting gameplay and extremely frustrating haha.. but in a good way, this game is well balanced, I think it comes down pure skill... and loadout of the ships... i've had matches where i am 19&5 and i have had matches where i am 2&9 lol .. KD. Its worth the play though, and i think its only going to get better with updates... i haven'tSomewhere in between Super Fun and Exhilarating dogfighting gameplay and extremely frustrating haha.. but in a good way, this game is well balanced, I think it comes down pure skill... and loadout of the ships... i've had matches where i am 19&5 and i have had matches where i am 2&9 lol .. KD. Its worth the play though, and i think its only going to get better with updates... i haven't played VR, so i can't speak to that but i have friends who swear it is a great VR Experience. since many people are scoring it low, im gonna give it a solid 9/10 Expand
  66. Oct 8, 2020
    8
    Star Wars: Squadrons is by far one of the most immersive games I have played. The gameplay is smooth and truly puts you in the cockpit making you feel like you are a daring rebel ace or a highly trained Imperial pilot. Being able to manage power into the various subsystems of your fighter is an amazing aspect that can separate a more experienced ace from a new pilot. This is complimentedStar Wars: Squadrons is by far one of the most immersive games I have played. The gameplay is smooth and truly puts you in the cockpit making you feel like you are a daring rebel ace or a highly trained Imperial pilot. Being able to manage power into the various subsystems of your fighter is an amazing aspect that can separate a more experienced ace from a new pilot. This is complimented by the multiple player that allows you to coordinate with your allies to take down your enemies. Coordination is vital as not having a squad member by your side could end in your fighter being an explosion on the side of a Star Destroyer.

    The story is in a word fun. At times it just feels like a drawn out tutorial for multiplayer and then acts more like a movie showing me what happened after Return of the Jedi. Answering my questions on what happened to certain characters I began to love after the movies, shows, and even novels. As of right now there are no plans to add additional content for the story mode or multiplayer which is unfortunate as I would love for more starfighter and customizations to be added. However, as the game is right now Pop! Culture Today gives Star Wars: Squadrons a 8/10
    Expand
  67. Oct 4, 2020
    8
    Star Wars squadrons is pretty good video game overall, but isn’t for everyone. If your a Star Wars fan like I am, I would highly recommend it. The storyline (though I haven’t completed it) is well thought out and provides an introduction to the games controls. Speaking of the games controls, they can be a bit daunting at first, especially if you haven’t played a star fighter type game. ButStar Wars squadrons is pretty good video game overall, but isn’t for everyone. If your a Star Wars fan like I am, I would highly recommend it. The storyline (though I haven’t completed it) is well thought out and provides an introduction to the games controls. Speaking of the games controls, they can be a bit daunting at first, especially if you haven’t played a star fighter type game. But certain modes allow you to play against AI which allows you to sharpen your skills. The campaign/storyline is well though out and provides an introduction to the controls. Expect a beefier and more complex battlefront two campaign if it was only the star fighter missions. But the multiplayer is the bulk of this game. Expand
  68. Dec 11, 2020
    5
    I'm updating my review because I actually ended up enjoying this game considering the $20 I paid for it. The controls are bizarre (Why this doesn't use a single stick to steer when it shows cutscenes of pilots steering with a single stick, I will never know) but I eventually got used to them, and a masterpiece this is not, but maybe this a fun three hours that you can have if you'reI'm updating my review because I actually ended up enjoying this game considering the $20 I paid for it. The controls are bizarre (Why this doesn't use a single stick to steer when it shows cutscenes of pilots steering with a single stick, I will never know) but I eventually got used to them, and a masterpiece this is not, but maybe this a fun three hours that you can have if you're looking to scratch a Star Wars itch like I was. Expand
  69. Oct 4, 2020
    8
    This + PSVR is just great. I'm not going to comment on playing this game without VR aside from it being fairly bland and probably at best a 6 but when you get that headset on and get in the game, even the lackluster campaign that feels like a bad Disney film is raised above the sum of it's parts, it's fun regardless of the objectives and even more so when you up the difficulty to VeteranThis + PSVR is just great. I'm not going to comment on playing this game without VR aside from it being fairly bland and probably at best a 6 but when you get that headset on and get in the game, even the lackluster campaign that feels like a bad Disney film is raised above the sum of it's parts, it's fun regardless of the objectives and even more so when you up the difficulty to Veteran and turn of the UI so you can only use instruments on your ships dash. Same for the Multiplayer, it's just plain fun and add addicting ontop of that.

    If you're buying this for the TV or don't have VR, STOP. Save your money (maybe put it towards a VR headset fund) and back away. If you have a VR headset, this is a must play and just skip the exposition with the button prompts, use the campaign as a sort of multiplayer tutorial and then get stuck in when the campaign tutorials stop showing up but even with that said, you'll want to return to the campaign for some odd reason and role play as one of the space pilots. Just forget the weak Disney crap and make your own story.

    Reviewed on 10 campaign missions (i believe I have 3 left) and about 6 hours multiplayer in the PSVR headset with about an hour on both the campaign and MP on a 4k, HDR TV screen. All on PRO.
    Expand
  70. Oct 3, 2020
    9
    PS4 Pro
    PSVR
    T.Flight Hotas 4 This game is okay on a television and duelshock. You can't walk around your hanger, and you have to play in first person. Flight controls were meh but the cockpit design looked cool. It wasn't until I set up the VR and Flight Stick that this game really started to shine. It's obvious Squadrons was designed for VR and ported to flat-screen. There are
    PS4 Pro
    PSVR
    T.Flight Hotas 4

    This game is okay on a television and duelshock. You can't walk around your hanger, and you have to play in first person. Flight controls were meh but the cockpit design looked cool.

    It wasn't until I set up the VR and Flight Stick that this game really started to shine. It's obvious Squadrons was designed for VR and ported to flat-screen. There are sections to just look around at your Xwing or Tie Fighter, which again is okay on a television, but in VR it's quite the sight. Mid flight it's pretty awesome to be looking around and see planets and stars and fellow wingmen.

    Mulitiplayer starts up quick and is a lot of fun. Most matches I've played have come down to the final few points. Singleplayer is a great introduction to the different ships and systems used, and there are a lot of them.

    Normally, I can only play a VR game for maybe a half hour or so, before needing a break. This has been one of the few that I've played for a couple of hours at a time with no problems. If you have the means for both a flight stick and VR, that's the best way to enjoy this game.
    Expand
  71. Oct 12, 2020
    10
    I was a fan of X-Wing Alliance and I really love playing this game. Great graphics, well done EA.
  72. Oct 3, 2020
    9
    Squadrons is a phenomenal GAME. It’s “old school”, which means it’s better than pretty much anything EA has put out in the past 20 years. This is a GAME about dogfighting spaceships. Period. If you are good, you win. If you are bad, you lose. There are a TON of people this game is not for. It’s not for people who care more about their copilots sex lives than they do flying spaceships. It’sSquadrons is a phenomenal GAME. It’s “old school”, which means it’s better than pretty much anything EA has put out in the past 20 years. This is a GAME about dogfighting spaceships. Period. If you are good, you win. If you are bad, you lose. There are a TON of people this game is not for. It’s not for people who care more about their copilots sex lives than they do flying spaceships. It’s not a game for people who care more about outfitting their pilot than they do shooting down the enemy. It’s not for people who’s want a Star Wars movie. (Those already exist.)

    This game is for people who want a serious (but lighthearted) game with deep technical detail. This is a game that you can play, sans any story, alone or with friends in any time increment you like. You can be in the game and fighting within minutes. You can tweak almost every option of the game to your liking. It’s what PC games used to be like before the consolization for the masses. It’s a worthy sequel to x-wing and Tie Fighter.

    This game is the best thing EA has done in decades. It’s going to be a lot of people’s favorite game ever and many peoples “it would be better if it made these changes that would make it an entirely different game” game.

    EA needs to do more of this and less of everything else. Stop trying to be all things to all people.
    Expand
  73. Oct 4, 2020
    8
    Given that the initial price is $20 below standard pricing for a new game I think that Squadrons is a good buy. The story mode is pretty generic but reasonably fun to play through. The game is definitely focused on multiplayer and, while there are only two modes, both modes are fun to play. The controls are easy to pick up and I find that they work pretty well. You have the option toGiven that the initial price is $20 below standard pricing for a new game I think that Squadrons is a good buy. The story mode is pretty generic but reasonably fun to play through. The game is definitely focused on multiplayer and, while there are only two modes, both modes are fun to play. The controls are easy to pick up and I find that they work pretty well. You have the option to customize your ships by purchasing different equipment and cosmetics - all through in-game currencies, no real money shop is currently available. There are a few glitches that need to be sorted out but nothing game-breaking; I am hopeful that they'll release patches to fix these over the next few weeks.

    Is this a game that I'm going to play endlessly for months? Hard to say but, given what is currently available, it does seem inevitable that it will get stale pretty quickly unless they add new modes, ships, or weapons. Even if it does, I see myself easily getting 50+ hours of solid playtime out of it, which is a good deal for $40. I am playing with friends though, if you do not have any friends getting the game then I could see it getting boring a bit sooner.
    Expand
  74. Oct 4, 2020
    10
    Star Wars squadrons is a great game, a throwback to classic Star Wars flight sims.
  75. Oct 4, 2020
    10
    The Best Star Wars game since Rogue Squadron. Squadrons lacks the extras of most AAA games but it’s gameplay harkens back to golden age of console gaming.
  76. Oct 5, 2020
    9
    Lifelong Star Wars fan here. I love this game. For a 40 dollar online title the story is perfectly fine as an entertaining prolonged tutorial. Online is sensational. No glitches observed on my end. Fans of the old Rogue Squadron or TIE Fighter games will love this. You can be male or female in every race so not sure what the sjw complaints are about. Just trolling it seems. Buy this game.
  77. Oct 5, 2020
    10
    This game is great. If you are looking for a fun star wars flight sim this is it.
  78. Oct 11, 2020
    5
    As a huge fan of X-Wing vs Tie Fighter, I had great expectations. This game looks and sounds really well done as a AAA (is it one?) title should look and sound like. Also it makes really fun. I can´t comment on the VR experience but I read it´s fantastic. The campaign part is quite boring and uninspired but i was more looking forward to the multiplayer part which is fun.
    Other than that
    As a huge fan of X-Wing vs Tie Fighter, I had great expectations. This game looks and sounds really well done as a AAA (is it one?) title should look and sound like. Also it makes really fun. I can´t comment on the VR experience but I read it´s fantastic. The campaign part is quite boring and uninspired but i was more looking forward to the multiplayer part which is fun.
    Other than that the whole game feels like a mini game with the lack of content and options. EA already stated that there will be no DLC so this explains the low price... I would recommend all players to test it first and make your own thoughts if you really need this great "mini game".
    Expand
  79. Oct 8, 2020
    10
    This is a great game! Awesome dogfights and fleet battles, in which you will require genuine skill to achieve. This might even be worth getting a VR headset and a HOTAS setup
  80. Oct 3, 2020
    10
    Great game. I played only in VR but I would recommend to any Star Wars fan and much more if you have VR. I’ve waited for a Star Wars space flight simulator for a long time. Been playing Tie Fighter and X-Wing on PC a long time ago and it’s fun to play again in a spaceship. I hope they will make another game with more content one day. I would have put a 8 but I must put a 10 because ofGreat game. I played only in VR but I would recommend to any Star Wars fan and much more if you have VR. I’ve waited for a Star Wars space flight simulator for a long time. Been playing Tie Fighter and X-Wing on PC a long time ago and it’s fun to play again in a spaceship. I hope they will make another game with more content one day. I would have put a 8 but I must put a 10 because of those low score stupid arguments evaluations. Expand
  81. Oct 3, 2020
    10
    Amazing game!!! Great campaign and amazing multiplayer. It does take a challenge to play MP. Please play this game in VR!!!
    BEST VR GAME OUT THERE !!!!!
  82. Oct 4, 2020
    10
    Amazing game!! For those who love dogfighting and Star Wars this game is for you. Single player campaign is brilliant and the multiplayer is worth the challenge.
  83. Oct 4, 2020
    10
    Great game. Ignore the haters review bombing because of their pronoun hate.

    Rate the game, nothing else. Game works fine
  84. Oct 4, 2020
    8
    A phenomenal game! Everyone says the story is a “glorified tutorial” which isn’t totally wrong, but it is a fun story and the gameplay helps it so much! I remember playing on the GameCube Rebel Strike with my older brother and this game brought that back for us! Now we get to play online and watch each other’s backs. This game is a such a nostalgic trip! Also, if you have ever dreamedA phenomenal game! Everyone says the story is a “glorified tutorial” which isn’t totally wrong, but it is a fun story and the gameplay helps it so much! I remember playing on the GameCube Rebel Strike with my older brother and this game brought that back for us! Now we get to play online and watch each other’s backs. This game is a such a nostalgic trip! Also, if you have ever dreamed about flying in the Star Wars Universe then play this game! My only complaint is that it was stated that if the game does well there would be talks for DLC plans, which I would love to see Clone Wars era ships and some other game modes and maps. Hell I would love a Co-op mode, but for 40 this game is so worth it. Do not let the nitpicky people deter you from this game, this game is great and so much fun. Love this game! Expand
  85. Nov 4, 2020
    5
    It is not what i expected. Quite dull cosmosim. Al you do it chase the bloody target. When you aqure it in view you have 2-3 seconds to shoot then he flyes pass you (behind you) you start searching again, get target in view and 2-3 sec for shooting then everytnig repeats and this is over and over and over again...
  86. Oct 3, 2020
    8
    A fun game to play with friends . The gameplay is solid and if you have VR this is a real no brainier . Story left much to be desired from a star wars title
  87. Oct 8, 2020
    10
    It's the best Star Wars game in this videogame generation. The campaign is fast paced, cool and inmersive and the multiplayer is where the game shines: 5vs5 battles with the mission to destroy a huge Star Destroyer or a CR75 frigate.

    The game allows you to play in the style you want with hundreds of combinations for each spaceship class... Fighter: Multirole spaceship Bomber: Heavy
    It's the best Star Wars game in this videogame generation. The campaign is fast paced, cool and inmersive and the multiplayer is where the game shines: 5vs5 battles with the mission to destroy a huge Star Destroyer or a CR75 frigate.

    The game allows you to play in the style you want with hundreds of combinations for each spaceship class...
    Fighter: Multirole spaceship
    Bomber: Heavy duty, attack spaceship
    Interceptor: Fast spaceship
    Support: Teamplay focused

    As a counterpart -the only one the game has- it could be more cosmetic customization and some helmets can not be removed in the briefing zone.
    The game also has some minor bugs that can be resolved via update.
    More multiplayer maps would be absolutely awesome, lets hope EA gives a chance with this incredible game. By the way, it's ONLY 40$, amazing price
    Expand
  88. Oct 6, 2020
    10
    Made an account only to dispel the amount bull being sprouted about this game. to be clear: If there was ever a game were you should trust critics over user score, it's this one.

    Straight up, this game is THE star wars flight sim you've been waiting for. The story is short, but it's not the focus of the game, if anything it's mainly there to show you the ropes and give you a feel for
    Made an account only to dispel the amount bull being sprouted about this game. to be clear: If there was ever a game were you should trust critics over user score, it's this one.

    Straight up, this game is THE star wars flight sim you've been waiting for. The story is short, but it's not the focus of the game, if anything it's mainly there to show you the ropes and give you a feel for the game. the multi-player is where it's at. nothing, and I mean nothing, beats the feeling of doing a bombing run on a capital ship, putting full power in engines while focusing shields to the front, diving in close to get under their shields and just letting the payload go. Or covering my wing-man while he's does the bombing run, shooting enemy ties as they try to get a lock on him. Growing up watching star wars movies, it's been my dream to recreate scenes like that, and now I'm finally able to.

    This game is fantastic and it doesn't deserve to be review bombed. So let's address that. You can play as a white person. There are plenty of white people in the campaign, just look around. they're there. nothing about the characters race, sexuality or whatever feels forced or is rubbed in your face. if you feel like it does, odds are that says something about you rather than the game. This game is worth it, end of story.
    Expand
  89. Oct 3, 2020
    10
    This game is absolutely awesome on vr, dont believe that negative reviews crap about it, try for yourself, awesome
  90. Oct 3, 2020
    10
    The gameplay is great, the story is great and they're rating it low scores just because it has a non-binary character.
  91. Sep 22, 2021
    9
    Star Wars Squadrons has an uninspired and irritating single-player campaign. It's Disney Star Wars now, of course, so if you weren't a fan of the recent Star Wars movies you'll find more of the same bad writing and predictably annoying characters on display here, only worse. There are a couple of decent missions, but it only really serves as a tutorial to introduce you to each of theStar Wars Squadrons has an uninspired and irritating single-player campaign. It's Disney Star Wars now, of course, so if you weren't a fan of the recent Star Wars movies you'll find more of the same bad writing and predictably annoying characters on display here, only worse. There are a couple of decent missions, but it only really serves as a tutorial to introduce you to each of the flyable ships. You'll be left scratching your head about why the Empire and the Rebel Alliance are fighting each other instead of sorting out whatever minor differences they might have over a round of decaf almond lattes. It's not something I'll ever put myself through again.

    The multiplayer is a different beast altogether. In VR, this is a fantastic Star Wars experience. Real Star Wars from back when Star Wars was awesome. The cockpits are rendered beautifully and the gameplay is smooth as silk. It's incredibly challenging, and a lot of fun!

    Without VR, this is a 5/10 game, or less. The terrible single-player campaign really lets it down. However, if you have PSVR and a HOTAS, then this is a must-own game on PS4.
    Expand
  92. Oct 31, 2020
    9
    Love it so far . I really do not get the hate in the user comments. The game plays and looks great. I will admit it is not for everyone. For me it hits my nostalgia dead center. Remember the old Tie Fighter and X-Wing games ? I have been having so much fun playing this. The only thing I did not like - was not having a control for 3rd person . Though i think the reasoning has to do with VRLove it so far . I really do not get the hate in the user comments. The game plays and looks great. I will admit it is not for everyone. For me it hits my nostalgia dead center. Remember the old Tie Fighter and X-Wing games ? I have been having so much fun playing this. The only thing I did not like - was not having a control for 3rd person . Though i think the reasoning has to do with VR ( i do not have a setup :/) . I hope we get a sequel in a few years, I really want to play this with my son & daughter when the are old enough . And yes they will get their Star Wars lore education before ! I would say - give this game a chance !! Expand
  93. Oct 5, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Had mixed expectations after EA's handling of Star Wars Battlefront II, but Motive have produced a fantastic product. Excellent game that has the feel of the old X-Wing/Tie-Fighter games. Excited to see where it goes from here. Expand
  94. Nov 5, 2020
    10
    Really good space shooter, best star wars game ever, really well done EA! Amazing in VR as well. Ignore the haters, its just a fun game.
  95. Oct 3, 2020
    10
    Love this game!! Really looked forward to this game and I am not disappointed. The flight mechanics are great. Graphics and sound/music are top notch. Great campaign and multiplayer. VR really does take the win and the immersion is amazing. Can't recommend this game enough!!!
  96. Oct 4, 2020
    10
    Loving the game so far. Looking forward to taking out star destroyers with friends.
  97. Oct 7, 2020
    6
    This game is made for VR. The flying is very slow and so is the aiming, it's like piloting a space boat in the mud. It's okay and easy in the single player mode but online it's frustrating as hell trying to chase people around because turning is so slow. It's a great VR game but a very shallow console game.
  98. Oct 3, 2020
    8
    Is a fun game but they could be better gameplay and the story is ok the characters are no interest me but it is fun game with your friends
  99. Oct 3, 2020
    10
    If you dont love this game You are not a true star wars fan, you are just some fake that likes to pretend but doesnt really know **** about the lore. This game in VR is AMAZING!!!!!!
  100. Oct 15, 2020
    7
    While I’m not much of a fan of the “Star Wars” series, I find that I can’t really escape it. Maybe it’s because I have so many friends that enjoy the series, or maybe it’s because I see so many people talk about it on social media, but I feel like it’s hard to fully ignore it. And lately, it feels like most of what I hear about “Star Wars” is how much the films have been ruined, and howWhile I’m not much of a fan of the “Star Wars” series, I find that I can’t really escape it. Maybe it’s because I have so many friends that enjoy the series, or maybe it’s because I see so many people talk about it on social media, but I feel like it’s hard to fully ignore it. And lately, it feels like most of what I hear about “Star Wars” is how much the films have been ruined, and how the recent entries have been so much worse than the originals. I wouldn’t know, since I don’t watch them, but I’ve gotta say that I’ve been enjoying the recent wave of video games in the “Star Wars” series. Last year’s “Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order” has obviously been the biggest highlight, but a little over a month ago, I also enjoyed my time with “Vader Immortal: A Star Wars VR Series.” “Star Wars: Squadrons,” however, snuck up on me: perhaps it’s because the game was announced in June and released just four months later, but I wasn’t exactly expecting this game for a while. After playing it, though, I was definitely happy with my experience.
    “Star Wars: Squadrons” is quite an immersive game, and the approach it takes to space combat feels excellent. Even though it might take a bit of getting used to, the ship controls are fantastic, and they hit that perfect borderline between being accessible and challenging. I also love the depth and scope of view from within the ship, as while it’s a seemingly minor thing, it made me feel closer to the action than I expected at first. I also think the visual design for the game is pretty great, capturing the aesthetics of “Star Wars” wonderfully to craft lovely space environments that are exciting to explore. The game also features VR support on several versions, and it’s definitely a nice touch: it’s thrilling without feeling too dizzying, and it makes the game feel even more immersive than it already is. It’s perfectly fine without the VR, but it’s certainly a great addition.
    There are definitely a few flaws with the game that hold it back from being as good as it could’ve been. For starters, I wouldn’t say the story is all that captivating. It’s your typical “Star Wars” stuff, and I don’t think it’ll do anything that will actively anger “Star Wars” fans, but it doesn’t do anything to stand out, either. On top of that, the game is pretty short, and while that’s not the worst thing ever given that it costs $40, don’t expect it to be much more than a side game that you can play between other, longer titles. Also, I was a bit disappointed that there wasn’t a lot of content here: beyond the aforementioned short story mode, there’s not a whole lot of modes to enjoy in the multiplayer, and there’s not a huge variation in that component of the game, either. This might be even worse for some, given that the game’s developers recently announced that the game would not be received any post-launch content. While I appreciate that they’re not taking the money-grubbing approach that you might expect given that they’re owned by EA, this is the kind of game that feels like it’s begging for more content, and the fact that it’s not getting that is disappointing.
    Overall, “Star Wars: Squadrons” is an enjoyable, immersive space combat adventure. Yes, it’s flawed, and it probably won’t stand as tall as some of the best games to grace the “Star Wars” name, but it’s definitely a solid adventure that even non-fans of “Star Wars” can find some enjoyment in. And hey, as someone that doesn’t particularly care for the series, if the games can continue to be consistently solid as they have been, that’s all I could really ask for.
    Final rating: 7 out of 10 “Good”
    Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Nov 18, 2020
    73
    Moderately hardcore, a tad nostalgic, devoid of AAA luster, but engaging nonetheless – Squadrons is a nice choice for those who miss Star Wars: X-Wing Alliance. [Issue#249, p.56]
  2. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Nov 15, 2020
    80
    It’s the game PS VR was made for; dogfighting is fast and nuanced, but it’s the physical act of sitting inside some of the Star Wars universe’s most iconic cockpits that never fails to impress. [Issue#181, p.84]
  3. Nov 10, 2020
    80
    While Squadrons has likely already come and gone for those who can’t experience it as its best, I can’t overstate just how vital it is for Star Wars fans fortunate enough to play in VR. This is arguably the first productive thing EA has done with the Star Wars franchise — I don’t know what took them so long, but I hope it’s a sign of things to come.