User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 268 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 6, 2020
    2
    I got this game only for the single player campaign and it just flat out terrible.

    Positives + Star Wars Nostalgia + Graphics and Sound Negative - The writing is absolute garbage. It feels like no more than 30 minutes was spent thinking about the plot and dialogue. The decisions and motivations of the characters come across at the maturity level of a 5 year old. Who thinks this
    I got this game only for the single player campaign and it just flat out terrible.

    Positives
    + Star Wars Nostalgia
    + Graphics and Sound

    Negative
    - The writing is absolute garbage. It feels like no more than 30 minutes was spent thinking about the plot and dialogue. The decisions and motivations of the characters come across at the maturity level of a 5 year old. Who thinks this way?
    - The missions are incoherent. Much of it appears to be designed as a tutorial for the multiplayer but they somehow manage to leave the player confused. One has no idea how to prioritize anything. The design also appears to be led by someone with major attention deficit disorder.
    - The gameplay is repetitive and tedious, just not fun.

    Anyone involved in this product should be embarrassed. The lack of quality control and adult supervision on this game is remarkable. I have no idea why I forced myself to complete the campaign.
    Expand
  2. Oct 6, 2020
    0
    Meh, maybe on sale for not worth it for $40. Save yourself and wait for it to go on sale if at all.
  3. Oct 6, 2020
    0
    If you play random like every other multiplayer game. You will get beaten down by premade teams of players who know each other.
  4. Oct 5, 2020
    3
    As usual with EA there is so much potential lost on a half-baked, rushed and buggy as hell game that feels lacking in content. It's another 'game-as-a-service' with a tacked on story campaign that has barely any depth or development to it. The story keeps switching between the New Republic and The Empire but within the same story, so one minute you're playing as the Empire setting up anAs usual with EA there is so much potential lost on a half-baked, rushed and buggy as hell game that feels lacking in content. It's another 'game-as-a-service' with a tacked on story campaign that has barely any depth or development to it. The story keeps switching between the New Republic and The Empire but within the same story, so one minute you're playing as the Empire setting up an ambush, then you're playing as the New Republic trying to escape that ambush. The issue with this is that you constantly feel like you're betraying yourself and have no emotional engagement with your squadmates, since you're going to be trying to kill them in the next mission. Gameplay is a nightmare, while it imports the system management system from better predecessors, it adds in a lot of ridiculous tasks and mission goals that are a pain in the ass. And then there's the bugs, from little (AI enemies getting stuck on scenery) to gamebreaking (checkpoints failing to launch, AI squadmates spawning inside the scenery). The game is already half the price of a new title because it's only half a game, but even then I'd advise waiting until it comes down in price, and that's because I have no faith that EA will bother patching any of the technical issues. Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2020
    2
    Story is bad. Campaign is very short. The multiplayer has only two modes that's it. It's only 5vs5 in each mode. The game locks you in first person view only. You have these cool looking ships and you can see your ship or how you customized it. They need to make a game that is similar in quality as Rogue Squadrons 2 from the Nintendo GameCube era. Not worth your money or time. The gameStory is bad. Campaign is very short. The multiplayer has only two modes that's it. It's only 5vs5 in each mode. The game locks you in first person view only. You have these cool looking ships and you can see your ship or how you customized it. They need to make a game that is similar in quality as Rogue Squadrons 2 from the Nintendo GameCube era. Not worth your money or time. The game looks good and controls decent but the gameplay is very limited and gets old fast. Expand
  6. Oct 5, 2020
    1
    I was having high Hope's for this game when I pre ordered it. But my Hope's were **** on, and thrown into the garbage. Theres only 3 game modes, a short, simple, and straight forward campaign that has the same kind of mission every time. Dont get me wrong, flying in space is fun, but when you die all the time with a team that has nothing to pitch, it makes me regret ever looking at thisI was having high Hope's for this game when I pre ordered it. But my Hope's were **** on, and thrown into the garbage. Theres only 3 game modes, a short, simple, and straight forward campaign that has the same kind of mission every time. Dont get me wrong, flying in space is fun, but when you die all the time with a team that has nothing to pitch, it makes me regret ever looking at this game. I mean, come on EA, what the hell were you idiots thinking? Terrible job, another fan of yall's star wars games lost. Consider me out. Expand
  7. Oct 6, 2020
    3
    I wanted a deep flight combat game all i got was a 20 minute time killer. Im gonna start of light and work my way down to the biggest offence. Man was excited for this. Dont waste your money. “Deep” gameplay is deep for mobile gamers maybe lol. “Oh look u can divert power its deep” lolol. Doesnt even feel like star wars, characters look like they came out of a fashion magazine...and whyI wanted a deep flight combat game all i got was a 20 minute time killer. Im gonna start of light and work my way down to the biggest offence. Man was excited for this. Dont waste your money. “Deep” gameplay is deep for mobile gamers maybe lol. “Oh look u can divert power its deep” lolol. Doesnt even feel like star wars, characters look like they came out of a fashion magazine...and why arent storm troopers wearing their helmets wtf. I wanna be in a room full of storm troopers etc not in some high school drama parading with a light star wars skin on it. Skipped all the hanger parts as the characters and story are a waste of my time and nothing but cringe. A lot of the characters voice actors sound like they came from a children's cartoon and it really breaks the immersion during gameplay. Don't even get me started on the dialogue. I was hoping for the gameplay to be amazeballs thats why i bought this but my god am i disappointed...the way you track ships is horrid theres no options like in battlefield 3 to look where your opponent is while turning by locking on. Dont have VR? Good luck seeing whos going anywhere, most of the time you will be flying aimlessly. The way throttle works is also stupid as hell. All imperial ships suck. The Tie Fighter is a joke you cant see a god damned thing peripherally so have fun lolol. All in all i was gonna get vr for this and a joystick. Now i wish id saved $55 Cad. Disney and EA were made for each other. Star Wars is dead. P.S maps suck. Expand
  8. Oct 6, 2020
    4
    I'm playing this game with a PSVR headset and a Thrustmaster 4 Hotas flight stick. The only reason I bought this game was for the VR experience. If you have VR and a Hotas then it is so much fun it's ridiculous. This is by far one of the best PSVR experiences to date! The immersion and VR fun factor in this game makes you almost overlook all the negatives. To be able to feel like your in aI'm playing this game with a PSVR headset and a Thrustmaster 4 Hotas flight stick. The only reason I bought this game was for the VR experience. If you have VR and a Hotas then it is so much fun it's ridiculous. This is by far one of the best PSVR experiences to date! The immersion and VR fun factor in this game makes you almost overlook all the negatives. To be able to feel like your in a real cockpit in outer space is just beyond words on how awesome it feels.

    The buttons on the Hotas are all mapped wrong but they let you re-map them so once I got everything to my liking then it became really easy and fun to fly. I've read complaints from other Hotas users that they were having issues or that they couldn't connect at all. I'm not having any issues like that with my Hotas so I guess I'm one of the lucky ones.

    If you don't have VR and a Hotas then I highly recommend you not buy this game. I can't even imagine trying to play this on a flat screen with a regular controller. Like others have said, it's the same thing over and over with each mission. Start the mission and kill bad guys. Wash, rinse, repeat. It's also annoying switching between the rebels and the empire every couple of missions. I would have preferred to play the entire campaign from one perspective only and then start over and play from the other perspective.

    The SJW wokeness is unbearable. It even sours the VR experience a little, especially when you are on the bridge getting your briefing and you look around the room at your team mates and you think to yourself "wow the developers really despise people like me". In their drive to be politically correct and inclusive they simply eliminated white males completely.

    So in conclusion I give the VR side of this game a 10 out of 10. Playing this with a VR headset and Hotas controller is the only way I would ever play this and for that it was money well spent because I'm going to keep coming back to this game.

    If you don't have VR then I don't think you're going to enjoy this very much unless you are such a big Star Wars fan that the nostalgia factor overrides all the negatives of this game much like the VR makes you not care about the same type of missions over and over.

    Lastly, for the love of God EA when are you going to stop doing this get woke, go broke thing? Enough of your stupid radical left wing politics in your video games. People want to be entertained and not preached to. There is no reason why you should inject your identity politics into video games. Imagine someone constantly preaching their religion to you and telling you how bad you are and how you are going to hell if you do this and don't do that. That's what you are doing with your "woke religion". Preach, preach, preach, preach. Enough already!
    Expand
  9. Oct 4, 2020
    0
    Was hyped for this game, bought HOTAS for this game... and then it didn't work. Usually iam fine with it but this time i got triggered. They ruined the whole experience, and ranked score wise went to hell. Have to wait two months now for reset and hopefully a patch that makes HOTAS viable. Anyway they should hire people that acutally know what the heck they are doing, so sick of this lowWas hyped for this game, bought HOTAS for this game... and then it didn't work. Usually iam fine with it but this time i got triggered. They ruined the whole experience, and ranked score wise went to hell. Have to wait two months now for reset and hopefully a patch that makes HOTAS viable. Anyway they should hire people that acutally know what the heck they are doing, so sick of this low effort development. It's a company get the right people for the right job, what the heck is going on?!?

    The story is crap if not in VR... but you kinda want your HOTAS to work then too ey?

    Best thing with this game was the CG short... period!
    Expand
  10. Oct 6, 2020
    0
    Star Wars is always worried.
    Science fiction, space that is always concerned.
    boring. It's boring. Bored.
  11. Oct 5, 2020
    3
    This game isn't complete garbage like some of the other EA SW titles (Fallen Order, anyone?), but it's not a good game either, and it's certainly not worth the price they've put it at

    I was a huge fan of the original X-Wing game by LucasArts back in the early '90s, and to be frank, that game is vastly superior to this one, even today As many others have said, the "story" is
    This game isn't complete garbage like some of the other EA SW titles (Fallen Order, anyone?), but it's not a good game either, and it's certainly not worth the price they've put it at

    I was a huge fan of the original X-Wing game by LucasArts back in the early '90s, and to be frank, that game is vastly superior to this one, even today

    As many others have said, the "story" is laughable, considering how shallow, short, and BORING it is. The story feels like it came from someone's 5th grade "creative writing" assignments. The plot is cliche, predictable, and not interesting in any way. Personally, I don't really mind the diversity bits that a lot of folks are upset about. I don't feel that it impacts game play in any way good or bad: you don't really see your own character that much & the voice acting is still very stilted, generic garbage that might as well be an astromech's beeping....actually, I'd prefer the astromech, so there you go

    As for gameplay, it's an arcade game, straight up. This is not in any way a simulation. The controls are not good, the power management is too basic, to the point that it's actually an annoyance. Flight is very arcade-y and not smooth like you would expect in a simulation. Actual flying talent is lost in this game, there's really no point in trying to use flying tactics or even paying attention to things like your rolls and angles of attack. Just treat it like any arcade game and you'll do fine. Some folks like this style, which is fine, but this game should NEVER have been marketed as a simulation: that's a flat out lie

    The missions you are given are, for the most part, a complete joke. They make no strategic sense and seem to have been thought up in a 30-minute conference room session after the makers of this game forgot they had to put missions in. The tactical decisions made by your superiors would ensure a full on mutiny after about 2 days. Since, as mentioned, this is an arcade game, you can do these missions and survive, but I think a lot of folks will agree, the little voice in your head as you complete these missions will be laughing and crying BS on a frequent basis. Think back to when you were 5 years old playing some kind of "war" game with your friends: the tactics are about the same, as is the whole "Nuh-uh, you didn't kill me, I got a shield" ..."Yeah, well I got a shield busting gun, so you're dead"...."No because I got an anti-shield-busting gun shield, so I blocked you"....Yeah, it's about like that. immersion? Forget it, not happening here

    Multiplayer is accordingly meh: it's an arcade game, so there's really not a lot of skill to rely on. You mash a few buttons and flop around in a jerky arcade manner. pew pew pew boom yay, wash, rinse, repeat

    Speaking of button mashing....this is not unique to this game, but yes button mashing is a thing when your systems go down. Whoever originally thought this would be a fun game mechanic should be shot. Whoever still uses this game mechanic in new games thinking it's fun should be shot & then eaten by cannibals. It's BAD. Stop. Doing. This.

    Good stuff:
    Graphics are pretty decent
    I don't see any loot boxes/crates/whatever yet...maybe I just missed them, but if this game doesn't actually have this garbage, then GOOD JOB! GREAT job even. If I never see another loot crate again, I'll be happy (yeah, I know it's not gonna happen)

    All in all...this one is a big disappointment for me for the reasons above. If you're into arcade-y "flying" shooters, then this might be up your alley. If you're looking for a simulation, like this title CLAIMS to be....keep movin' on, cuz this aint it
    Expand
  12. Oct 4, 2020
    3
    the game is lacking in many aspect and that they thought on vr first ruins it. all its made for is immersion rather than fast paced multiplayer combat and the lock on system ruins any skill there could be needed
  13. Oct 7, 2020
    0
    Identity politics and agendas have no place in a Star Wars game, production time would’ve been better spent actually crafting a compelling story and fixing the numerous bugs and glitches.
  14. Oct 3, 2020
    3
    the gameplay is fine and looks good but is lacking in much to do outside of the campaign (of which youd be better playing star wars rogue squadron) the multiplayer isnt much to speak of either in general not that wont have some fun but still but overall id say a 3 for now until they show more and if not wait til the games on sale to get
  15. Oct 5, 2020
    0
    This is the 1st game in my life I have returned to the shop,it is pretty much unplayable thanks to a bug in the 1st mission,I don't even know how it has been reviewed as plenty of people on all platforms experience it.
    It also has a weird general feeling with male or female choice called A and B and no Caucasian/white options for your character.
  16. Oct 5, 2020
    0
    Game was alright at first, however became quite monotone and tedious after a while.
    It gets a 0 from me because why would you ruin a game to be politically correct?
    So silly imo
  17. Oct 4, 2020
    3
    Very poor story with completely unforgettable characters. I’ve been a HUGE Star Wars fan for over 40 years, but they have lost their way. Can’t take anymore of the SJW being crammed down our throats. Star Wars was always inclusive and diverse, WAY before it was fashionable to be, now it’s just over the top and this game is the epitome of it. Aside from that, the story is boring, the gameVery poor story with completely unforgettable characters. I’ve been a HUGE Star Wars fan for over 40 years, but they have lost their way. Can’t take anymore of the SJW being crammed down our throats. Star Wars was always inclusive and diverse, WAY before it was fashionable to be, now it’s just over the top and this game is the epitome of it. Aside from that, the story is boring, the game play is SOOOO weak, I was hoping for a Rogue Squadron experience, but this isn’t even close. Should have been 3rd person view not 1st, the controls are a mess and with everything that’s going on, it feels like you need a PhD to use them at times. Graphics look pretty good, but that’s about the only positive. Severely disappointed in this game, I’d much rather hook up my N64 or game cube and play through the Rogue Squadron games, or even play the Starfighter Assult missions on the Battlefront games. Both are superior to the mess that Squadrons is. Expand
  18. Oct 4, 2020
    2
    After playing the game for a few hours, it’s clear the technical ambition and gameplay aspirations are there. The game looks fine, plays decently if a bit sluggish, and sounds authentic. Don’t be fooled, there are many bugs and glitches albeit not enough to be completely game breaking outside of HOTAS and VR support.

    However, the biggest issue is the effort that went into this campaign.
    After playing the game for a few hours, it’s clear the technical ambition and gameplay aspirations are there. The game looks fine, plays decently if a bit sluggish, and sounds authentic. Don’t be fooled, there are many bugs and glitches albeit not enough to be completely game breaking outside of HOTAS and VR support.

    However, the biggest issue is the effort that went into this campaign. It is totally lackluster and cliche, to the point of eye rolling. Nothing new is done, and it feels like Generic Disney Star Wars, and not in the sense of Rogue One or the Mandalorian. The supporting characters are sold front and center for their gender identity, race, or political standing and not built as good characters in and of themselves. A good story that looks and feels authentic to Star Wars, especially in the timeframe of the original trilogy is paramount. Instead, the characters on screen feel they are ripped off of a modern day CW show with modern issues and identity politics included.

    What Jedi Fallen Order corrected from Battlefront II’s story, we have regressed. I’m excited to see Disney give studios other than EA a chance with the license and see if they can produce better story’s that concern themselves with the fans first, and not their social issues.
    Expand
  19. Oct 5, 2020
    3
    Initially fun, but quickly turns into a tedious grind. The story was basic, disappointing. The urge to remain politically correct has rendered elements of the game redundant. I would recommend waiting for a sale on this one rather than paying full price.

    [Character Customisation/Creation] You can clearly tell that the desperate attempt to remain politically correct was given higher
    Initially fun, but quickly turns into a tedious grind. The story was basic, disappointing. The urge to remain politically correct has rendered elements of the game redundant. I would recommend waiting for a sale on this one rather than paying full price.

    [Character Customisation/Creation]

    You can clearly tell that the desperate attempt to remain politically correct was given higher priority than other essential aspects of this game.

    Each pilot (New Republic/Empire) has a default name which can't be edited. Which is absolutely pointless as it's not used at all during the entire campaign. They always refer to you as your call sign. You also pick a voice which is only used for one line in the entire game "I need a resupply" when you request one.

    Then you've got the appearance. There are a male and female variation of every race available, However they've been very careful to not mention gender anywhere and allow you to use male voices for female and vice versa to check that politically correct box. The whole game is also in first person so you never see your customised character either.

    The fact that voices aren't used, names aren't referenced and you never see your character during the entire game gives the impression that something was intended here, but the politically correct brigade stepped in last minute to make it redundant.

    [Controls]

    These were awful, even by the end of the campaign they didn't seem right. Yes you do have the ability to remap them entirely, but the issue is that every single control is already in use, so it's hard to move anything from the thumb sticks.

    For example the throttle up and down is on the left thumb stick, along with roll, which means you're constantly accidently affecting your speed when trying to manoeuvre or vice versa. Also worse is that if you click the left thumb stick it boosts your engine, which resulted in scenarios where I boosted into an obstacle several times.

    If I were to remap, due to every button being in use, something hand to replace where the throttle sat and so would cause the same issue. Compared to other combat flight sims this was a poor.

    [Gameplay]

    Tedious. I was hoping for a little more variety with the environment. Perhaps a land map where you're attacking ground targets. Instead everything is in space where you're either dog fighting or attacking the same capital ships over and over. It was initially fun, but quickly turned into a grind after the first few missions.

    The ship selection is good, they've done well to ensure each ship has significant roles to play.

    [Virtual Reality]

    Fantastic! You can see this was one of the key considerations. For me personally motion sickness is definitely a risk and I found myself requiring a good break between missions to recover. In fact for the last few missions I avoided using VR. The very fact that I did feel rough when barrel rolling and flying upside down is a credit to the realistic flight simulation this game provides.

    [Story]

    Standard. From the trailers and initial revealed gameplay I was hoping for something deeper. Instead the Titan Squadron were the stereotypical bad guys who all possessed English accents (missed out xenophobia on the political correctness list there guys). Vanguard Squadron on the other hand all had American accents and played the underdog as usual.

    I was hoping for more interaction with the members of the squadron, instead you get a brief dialogue with them sporadically in between missions where all you can do is listen, no interaction or opportunity to build a relationship whatsoever.

    There is one point in the game where it gives the impression of a morale choice, but as it's one of the objectives anyway you have no choice.
    Expand
  20. Dec 11, 2020
    3
    Most missions come down to chasing enemy fighters. And all the cool cinematic moments happen in pre-rendered cinematic, so it feels like you've been enlisted as the pilot for the most boring parts of the campaign. I regret the purchase.
  21. Nov 4, 2020
    3
    I'll be honest, this game is pretty lackluster and boring. I fondly remember playing the old Gamecube games in the series and those were actually fun and enjoyable. I ended up quitting after a few missions in this one because of glitches and an utterly borefest of a story. The characters also suck and the controls are not great either. It seems like a VR game turned into a standard one. II'll be honest, this game is pretty lackluster and boring. I fondly remember playing the old Gamecube games in the series and those were actually fun and enjoyable. I ended up quitting after a few missions in this one because of glitches and an utterly borefest of a story. The characters also suck and the controls are not great either. It seems like a VR game turned into a standard one. I would avoid this one at all costs, unless you're a Star Wars fanatic. Expand
  22. Jan 2, 2021
    0
    While a great idea in theory, its execution of a Star Wars space fighter game is terrible.
    There is no grand campaign or custom sandbox or couch co-op. It's a very short linear game.
    The characters are unlikable and certain choices were made with them clearly at the last minute which hurts their development as it feels so unnatural and forced.

    Next time let us make our own character.
  23. Dec 15, 2020
    4
    This game had a phenomenal amount of potential to place you in the thick of your dream Star Wars scenario; instead, it’s a constant struggle to ignore the weak, ineffectual characters who were clearly designed by committee as opposed to any sort of unified (or single) vision. This is before we even get onto the redundant customisation, buggy action and convoluted controls...

    Firstly on
    This game had a phenomenal amount of potential to place you in the thick of your dream Star Wars scenario; instead, it’s a constant struggle to ignore the weak, ineffectual characters who were clearly designed by committee as opposed to any sort of unified (or single) vision. This is before we even get onto the redundant customisation, buggy action and convoluted controls...

    Firstly on the characters, there appears to have been a deliberate attempt to avoid making anyone truly good or evil, and it’s totally fine to blur this line as long as the characters themselves are charismatic in some manner (they aren’t). Every single crew member is both bored and boring in their role within the story. It feels more like taking part in space battles with some corporate office colleagues on a “fun” work day out, as opposed to a crew of experienced and battle-hardened ace pilots. The game has managed to make the entire cast very diverse AND YET all somehow the exact same in terms of personality, to the point that everyone is absolutely forgettable - a bunch of mild-mannered, polite, quietly spoken jobsworths. I PLAY GAMES TO ESCAPE THESE PEOPLE!

    Onto the gameplay itself, which is brilliant...sometimes...under certain circumstances...I think. It certainly feels great sitting in the cockpit and looking around, and when the action is light it all feels controlled and slick. However, as soon as multiple enemies turn up, it descends into an anarchic blend of thrashing around, trying in vain to cycle through enemies and bumping into things whilst the voiceovers shout the same pointless drivel over and over. The controls probably feel great with a keyboard and mouse, but on a PS4 controller it’s more of a lucky combination of button-mashing / praying. I also witnessed a fair amount of ships stalling and glitching, and the game itself crashed on me once or twice after just a couple of missions.

    Finally, I was really, REALLY looking forward to customising my own character and my ship, but the game renders this fun bit of personalisation totally useless, since the entire experience is first-person - I’ll never get to peek around the ship or look into the cockpit, gutted!

    If I could, I’d get a refund on this game, but since I have already missed that window of opportunity I will instead trudge through the remaining missions, imagining I’m surrounded by charismatic heroes and villains instead of my usual 9-5 coworkers in jumpsuits...and I’ll be sticking it on Story Mode to get through it ASAP.

    Swing and a miss. Don’t let the glowing official reviews fool you on this one.
    Expand
  24. Dec 27, 2020
    1
    Controls for HOTAS are all over the place, showing key numbers that don't exist. Trying to set features to certain keys by mouse changes control layout to keyboard/mouse. It's basically impossible to remap joystick controls in the menu - so I simply cannot play. How can you botch flight controls so badly?! Throttle is inverted and located on a tiny slider ON my friggin THROTTLE whichControls for HOTAS are all over the place, showing key numbers that don't exist. Trying to set features to certain keys by mouse changes control layout to keyboard/mouse. It's basically impossible to remap joystick controls in the menu - so I simply cannot play. How can you botch flight controls so badly?! Throttle is inverted and located on a tiny slider ON my friggin THROTTLE which doesn't do a thing!!! You had ONE job - and you blew it Expand
  25. Oct 24, 2020
    3
    Lazy, under-developed, disappointing. This is a hastily-developed beta version game that lacks proper mechanics, physics and immersion of a starfighter simulator. Some people say this is the successor to the xwing-tiefighter franchise; not even close. Missions are boring and poorly choreographed, there are certain parts of the battlefield you can't go, trigger events and dialogue messesLazy, under-developed, disappointing. This is a hastily-developed beta version game that lacks proper mechanics, physics and immersion of a starfighter simulator. Some people say this is the successor to the xwing-tiefighter franchise; not even close. Missions are boring and poorly choreographed, there are certain parts of the battlefield you can't go, trigger events and dialogue messes up with your speed and direction, and hangar dialogues are completely unnecessary and very forgettable; so are the characters.

    The throne for a worthy xwing-tiefighter successor is still very much empty.
    Expand
  26. Nov 1, 2020
    0
    I hate this game, utter complete ****. I've been trying to get my money back for this crap since I bought it.
  27. Oct 16, 2020
    3
    Bland story. Bad match making. In multiplayer you will probably go against teams of people that are there almost 24 hours a day, so good luck scoring a kill as you start on line. Dogfights are not ranked meaning that all the kills doesn't help with you overall standing. A few (and I mean A FEW) offline maps. Graphics and sound design are good. Wait for it to be on a bargain bin.
  28. Oct 24, 2020
    1
    Such as disappointment after the surprising hit Jedi Fallen Order, it this is EA.
    The things I liked about the game are the graphics and visuals, amazing game mechanic, the VR that really enhances the experiences, it makes me really want to love the game. However...
    The story campaign was short and boring and the characters were lame as hell, I did not care for any of them. I would've
    Such as disappointment after the surprising hit Jedi Fallen Order, it this is EA.
    The things I liked about the game are the graphics and visuals, amazing game mechanic, the VR that really enhances the experiences, it makes me really want to love the game. However...
    The story campaign was short and boring and the characters were lame as hell, I did not care for any of them. I would've prefer playing as Wedge.
    The game has only two game modes and there is nothing else much to do in this game that it immediately became redundant after two days playing it. Why can I NOT blow up the Death Star or have a heroes vs villain campaign in their respective ships. Why aren't there any planets we know and love from the movies, not the sequels ,in this game. Why can't I fly the millennium falcon? AND WHY DOES IT NOT HAVE THE THIRD-PERSON PRESPECTIVE OPTION? Stuff like this really what I think deserves this low score rating. So much potential but classic EA's pure laziness and the obvious anti white male racism in this game, destroys it.
    Star Wars: Rogue Squadron is twice the game I wished this one would be.
    Expand
  29. Oct 11, 2020
    3
    I just wanted Starfighter Assault from BF2 fleshed out to a full game. Not forced first person super-serious flight sim.
  30. Oct 7, 2020
    1
    Nice Mobile Game...
    Or it is not fully done yet and will be better in the future, or I bought a mobile game on PS4
  31. Oct 11, 2020
    0
    Oh it’s a great game, when the constant incessant bugs aren’t ruining the whole experience. Game crashes on the goddam prologue. Now I’m on mission 8 and I can’t even complete the level because the game bugs out at the final loading screen. Avoid this game or just buy it used in a few months when they’ve patched everything.
  32. Oct 9, 2020
    0
    Ta gra jest gównem. Ciągle się coś wypierdala, a sama gra jest nudna jak flaki z olejem.
  33. Oct 19, 2020
    0
    its like playing as past white guy in whole universe, there is 8 ships and this game is about to ignore every piece of lore, pure ****
  34. Oct 11, 2020
    0
    Даже если не учитывать наличие в игре толерантной "повесточки", то оценить ее на что-то больше чем 0 очень сложно. Да, они сделали кабины истребителей и добавили функционала в них, но во время полета у меня складывалось впечатление, будт-то я не лечу на истребитнле, а плыву на подводной лодке. Истребитель абсолютно ваиный. Графика только ухудшилась, относительно Battlefront 2. И это яДаже если не учитывать наличие в игре толерантной "повесточки", то оценить ее на что-то больше чем 0 очень сложно. Да, они сделали кабины истребителей и добавили функционала в них, но во время полета у меня складывалось впечатление, будт-то я не лечу на истребитнле, а плыву на подводной лодке. Истребитель абсолютно ваиный. Графика только ухудшилась, относительно Battlefront 2. И это я молчу про убогую сюжетную кампанию, персонажи которой абсолютно неинтересны. Expand
  35. Oct 18, 2020
    0
    It’s giant bag of **** on fire, it’s unbelievable how much that sweeden **** can devastate star wars title. It have ONLY SIX SHIPS!! look at star wars universe, there is like hundreds of ships and who know what more.
    Your squad on both sides imperium/rebels is horribly annoying, botg squads are assembled from: gays, trans and lesbians that can saz nothin more than: I aM lEsBiAn/GaY/TrAnS
    It’s giant bag of **** on fire, it’s unbelievable how much that sweeden **** can devastate star wars title. It have ONLY SIX SHIPS!! look at star wars universe, there is like hundreds of ships and who know what more.
    Your squad on both sides imperium/rebels is horribly annoying, botg squads are assembled from: gays, trans and lesbians that can saz nothin more than: I aM lEsBiAn/GaY/TrAnS lOoK aT mE i NeEd YoUr AtTeNtIoN bla bla bla...
    And storz is just garbage...
    Expand
  36. Jan 1, 2021
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You fly around and shoot stuff. Zipping to and fro your enemy. It's terrible. Expand
  37. Nov 6, 2020
    8
    A very fun and unique space combat MOBA. The worst of the launch day ranking and balance issues have been resolved, now onward to space victory.
  38. Oct 7, 2020
    5
    I wanted to love this game, unfortunately, it's just a rather shallow experience. If you're looking for a modern X-Wing vs Tie fighter you will be disappointed but if you're looking for an arcadey type' flight sim' you will love it.

    If you're after a quick blast with low skill ceiling game then you will probably enjoy it, I'm more of a hardcore flight sim fan so found it lacking. I
    I wanted to love this game, unfortunately, it's just a rather shallow experience. If you're looking for a modern X-Wing vs Tie fighter you will be disappointed but if you're looking for an arcadey type' flight sim' you will love it.

    If you're after a quick blast with low skill ceiling game then you will probably enjoy it, I'm more of a hardcore flight sim fan so found it lacking. I appreciate the developers trying something 'new' and understand why they went the route they did, but hopefully, they will bring us a true successor to the X-Wing/tie fighter games of old
    Expand
  39. Oct 8, 2020
    9
    Pew pew pew pew pew five stars!

    I’m having a blast with this game. Riding in the cockpit of some of my favorite Star Wars ships is an amazing experience, especially in VR Scratches the starfighter itch that Battlefront couldn’t quite reach. One of the best Star Wars offerings since the Dark Times.
  40. Dec 11, 2020
    5
    I'm updating my review because I actually ended up enjoying this game considering the $20 I paid for it. The controls are bizarre (Why this doesn't use a single stick to steer when it shows cutscenes of pilots steering with a single stick, I will never know) but I eventually got used to them, and a masterpiece this is not, but maybe this a fun three hours that you can have if you'reI'm updating my review because I actually ended up enjoying this game considering the $20 I paid for it. The controls are bizarre (Why this doesn't use a single stick to steer when it shows cutscenes of pilots steering with a single stick, I will never know) but I eventually got used to them, and a masterpiece this is not, but maybe this a fun three hours that you can have if you're looking to scratch a Star Wars itch like I was. Expand
  41. Oct 5, 2020
    10
    Definitely the spiritual successor to the x-wing series. The nostalgia is as really as the fun. I've played a lot of Elite and this has almost everything I was missing from that game. Don't listen to the bigots who are review bombing this for lgbtq or racial reasons... At $40 this is a steal. I'm hoping that they keep this game updated and current for years to come.
  42. Oct 3, 2020
    6
    gameplay:8.5
    story:6
    characters:3
    multiplayer: 8
    content: 5

    overall: 6
  43. Oct 12, 2020
    8
    Really good controls, VR SUPPORT IS SO GOOD!!!! but the multiplayer gets stale, but this is a VR must title. Trust me.
  44. Oct 4, 2020
    5
    Pretty enough and a great VR experience. The gameplay is fresh, kind of a MOBA feel to it. It claims to support HOTAS but it does so very poorly. You will likely have a nightmare of a time making it work right if you can at all. Flight mechanics are pretty poor. This is not a space sim. It is Overwatch in X-Wings. That's not bad, just not what I feel was advertised.
  45. Oct 4, 2020
    9
    Somewhere in between Super Fun and Exhilarating dogfighting gameplay and extremely frustrating haha.. but in a good way, this game is well balanced, I think it comes down pure skill... and loadout of the ships... i've had matches where i am 19&5 and i have had matches where i am 2&9 lol .. KD. Its worth the play though, and i think its only going to get better with updates... i haven'tSomewhere in between Super Fun and Exhilarating dogfighting gameplay and extremely frustrating haha.. but in a good way, this game is well balanced, I think it comes down pure skill... and loadout of the ships... i've had matches where i am 19&5 and i have had matches where i am 2&9 lol .. KD. Its worth the play though, and i think its only going to get better with updates... i haven't played VR, so i can't speak to that but i have friends who swear it is a great VR Experience. since many people are scoring it low, im gonna give it a solid 9/10 Expand
  46. Oct 4, 2020
    9
    I grew up playing Xwing Tie Fighter on a 386. I’ve been waiting for something close for years and am really enjoying this. The customization options are fun and I can only imagine the other game modes that could be introduced in the future. I do not have VR yet but would love to try that as well. I play with an xbox controller on pc.
  47. Oct 8, 2020
    8
    Star Wars: Squadrons is by far one of the most immersive games I have played. The gameplay is smooth and truly puts you in the cockpit making you feel like you are a daring rebel ace or a highly trained Imperial pilot. Being able to manage power into the various subsystems of your fighter is an amazing aspect that can separate a more experienced ace from a new pilot. This is complimentedStar Wars: Squadrons is by far one of the most immersive games I have played. The gameplay is smooth and truly puts you in the cockpit making you feel like you are a daring rebel ace or a highly trained Imperial pilot. Being able to manage power into the various subsystems of your fighter is an amazing aspect that can separate a more experienced ace from a new pilot. This is complimented by the multiple player that allows you to coordinate with your allies to take down your enemies. Coordination is vital as not having a squad member by your side could end in your fighter being an explosion on the side of a Star Destroyer.

    The story is in a word fun. At times it just feels like a drawn out tutorial for multiplayer and then acts more like a movie showing me what happened after Return of the Jedi. Answering my questions on what happened to certain characters I began to love after the movies, shows, and even novels. As of right now there are no plans to add additional content for the story mode or multiplayer which is unfortunate as I would love for more starfighter and customizations to be added. However, as the game is right now Pop! Culture Today gives Star Wars: Squadrons a 8/10
    Expand
  48. Oct 4, 2020
    9
    The campaign is a good way of learning the the mechanics in the game and it is overall fun, but the flying is hard to master
  49. Oct 4, 2020
    8
    Star Wars squadrons is pretty good video game overall, but isn’t for everyone. If your a Star Wars fan like I am, I would highly recommend it. The storyline (though I haven’t completed it) is well thought out and provides an introduction to the games controls. Speaking of the games controls, they can be a bit daunting at first, especially if you haven’t played a star fighter type game. ButStar Wars squadrons is pretty good video game overall, but isn’t for everyone. If your a Star Wars fan like I am, I would highly recommend it. The storyline (though I haven’t completed it) is well thought out and provides an introduction to the games controls. Speaking of the games controls, they can be a bit daunting at first, especially if you haven’t played a star fighter type game. But certain modes allow you to play against AI which allows you to sharpen your skills. The campaign/storyline is well though out and provides an introduction to the controls. Expect a beefier and more complex battlefront two campaign if it was only the star fighter missions. But the multiplayer is the bulk of this game. Expand
  50. Oct 4, 2020
    8
    This + PSVR is just great. I'm not going to comment on playing this game without VR aside from it being fairly bland and probably at best a 6 but when you get that headset on and get in the game, even the lackluster campaign that feels like a bad Disney film is raised above the sum of it's parts, it's fun regardless of the objectives and even more so when you up the difficulty to VeteranThis + PSVR is just great. I'm not going to comment on playing this game without VR aside from it being fairly bland and probably at best a 6 but when you get that headset on and get in the game, even the lackluster campaign that feels like a bad Disney film is raised above the sum of it's parts, it's fun regardless of the objectives and even more so when you up the difficulty to Veteran and turn of the UI so you can only use instruments on your ships dash. Same for the Multiplayer, it's just plain fun and add addicting ontop of that.

    If you're buying this for the TV or don't have VR, STOP. Save your money (maybe put it towards a VR headset fund) and back away. If you have a VR headset, this is a must play and just skip the exposition with the button prompts, use the campaign as a sort of multiplayer tutorial and then get stuck in when the campaign tutorials stop showing up but even with that said, you'll want to return to the campaign for some odd reason and role play as one of the space pilots. Just forget the weak Disney crap and make your own story.

    Reviewed on 10 campaign missions (i believe I have 3 left) and about 6 hours multiplayer in the PSVR headset with about an hour on both the campaign and MP on a 4k, HDR TV screen. All on PRO.
    Expand
  51. Oct 3, 2020
    9
    PS4 Pro
    PSVR
    T.Flight Hotas 4 This game is okay on a television and duelshock. You can't walk around your hanger, and you have to play in first person. Flight controls were meh but the cockpit design looked cool. It wasn't until I set up the VR and Flight Stick that this game really started to shine. It's obvious Squadrons was designed for VR and ported to flat-screen. There are
    PS4 Pro
    PSVR
    T.Flight Hotas 4

    This game is okay on a television and duelshock. You can't walk around your hanger, and you have to play in first person. Flight controls were meh but the cockpit design looked cool.

    It wasn't until I set up the VR and Flight Stick that this game really started to shine. It's obvious Squadrons was designed for VR and ported to flat-screen. There are sections to just look around at your Xwing or Tie Fighter, which again is okay on a television, but in VR it's quite the sight. Mid flight it's pretty awesome to be looking around and see planets and stars and fellow wingmen.

    Mulitiplayer starts up quick and is a lot of fun. Most matches I've played have come down to the final few points. Singleplayer is a great introduction to the different ships and systems used, and there are a lot of them.

    Normally, I can only play a VR game for maybe a half hour or so, before needing a break. This has been one of the few that I've played for a couple of hours at a time with no problems. If you have the means for both a flight stick and VR, that's the best way to enjoy this game.
    Expand
  52. Oct 12, 2020
    10
    I was a fan of X-Wing Alliance and I really love playing this game. Great graphics, well done EA.
  53. Dec 3, 2020
    10
    Star Wars Squadrons has an uninspired and irritating single-player campaign. It's Disney Star Wars now, of course, so if you weren't a fan of the recent Star Wars movies you'll find the more of the same bad writing and predictably annoying characters on display here. There are a couple of good missions, but it only really serves as a tutorial to introduce you to each of the flyable ships.Star Wars Squadrons has an uninspired and irritating single-player campaign. It's Disney Star Wars now, of course, so if you weren't a fan of the recent Star Wars movies you'll find the more of the same bad writing and predictably annoying characters on display here. There are a couple of good missions, but it only really serves as a tutorial to introduce you to each of the flyable ships. It is a shame though, since it is clear that a large part of the game's budget has gone into this when it would have been much better spent on the game's multiplayer.

    The multiplayer is a different beast altogether. In VR, this is the ultimate Star Wars experience. Real Star Wars from back when Star Wars was awesome. The cockpits are breathtaking in their realism and the gameplay is pitch perfect. It's incredibly challenging, and so much fun!

    Without VR, this is a 6/10 game. The single-player campaign really lets it down. However, if you have PSVR and a HOTAS, then this is a 10/10 must-own game. There really is nothing else like it on the Playstation.
    Expand
  54. Nov 4, 2020
    5
    It is not what i expected. Quite dull cosmosim. Al you do it chase the bloody target. When you aqure it in view you have 2-3 seconds to shoot then he flyes pass you (behind you) you start searching again, get target in view and 2-3 sec for shooting then everytnig repeats and this is over and over and over again...
  55. Oct 3, 2020
    9
    Squadrons is a phenomenal GAME. It’s “old school”, which means it’s better than pretty much anything EA has put out in the past 20 years. This is a GAME about dogfighting spaceships. Period. If you are good, you win. If you are bad, you lose. There are a TON of people this game is not for. It’s not for people who care more about their copilots sex lives than they do flying spaceships. It’sSquadrons is a phenomenal GAME. It’s “old school”, which means it’s better than pretty much anything EA has put out in the past 20 years. This is a GAME about dogfighting spaceships. Period. If you are good, you win. If you are bad, you lose. There are a TON of people this game is not for. It’s not for people who care more about their copilots sex lives than they do flying spaceships. It’s not a game for people who care more about outfitting their pilot than they do shooting down the enemy. It’s not for people who’s want a Star Wars movie. (Those already exist.)

    This game is for people who want a serious (but lighthearted) game with deep technical detail. This is a game that you can play, sans any story, alone or with friends in any time increment you like. You can be in the game and fighting within minutes. You can tweak almost every option of the game to your liking. It’s what PC games used to be like before the consolization for the masses. It’s a worthy sequel to x-wing and Tie Fighter.

    This game is the best thing EA has done in decades. It’s going to be a lot of people’s favorite game ever and many peoples “it would be better if it made these changes that would make it an entirely different game” game.

    EA needs to do more of this and less of everything else. Stop trying to be all things to all people.
    Expand
  56. Oct 4, 2020
    8
    Given that the initial price is $20 below standard pricing for a new game I think that Squadrons is a good buy. The story mode is pretty generic but reasonably fun to play through. The game is definitely focused on multiplayer and, while there are only two modes, both modes are fun to play. The controls are easy to pick up and I find that they work pretty well. You have the option toGiven that the initial price is $20 below standard pricing for a new game I think that Squadrons is a good buy. The story mode is pretty generic but reasonably fun to play through. The game is definitely focused on multiplayer and, while there are only two modes, both modes are fun to play. The controls are easy to pick up and I find that they work pretty well. You have the option to customize your ships by purchasing different equipment and cosmetics - all through in-game currencies, no real money shop is currently available. There are a few glitches that need to be sorted out but nothing game-breaking; I am hopeful that they'll release patches to fix these over the next few weeks.

    Is this a game that I'm going to play endlessly for months? Hard to say but, given what is currently available, it does seem inevitable that it will get stale pretty quickly unless they add new modes, ships, or weapons. Even if it does, I see myself easily getting 50+ hours of solid playtime out of it, which is a good deal for $40. I am playing with friends though, if you do not have any friends getting the game then I could see it getting boring a bit sooner.
    Expand
  57. Oct 4, 2020
    10
    Star Wars squadrons is a great game, a throwback to classic Star Wars flight sims.
  58. Oct 4, 2020
    10
    The Best Star Wars game since Rogue Squadron. Squadrons lacks the extras of most AAA games but it’s gameplay harkens back to golden age of console gaming.
  59. Oct 5, 2020
    9
    Lifelong Star Wars fan here. I love this game. For a 40 dollar online title the story is perfectly fine as an entertaining prolonged tutorial. Online is sensational. No glitches observed on my end. Fans of the old Rogue Squadron or TIE Fighter games will love this. You can be male or female in every race so not sure what the sjw complaints are about. Just trolling it seems. Buy this game.
  60. Oct 5, 2020
    10
    This game is great. If you are looking for a fun star wars flight sim this is it.
  61. Oct 11, 2020
    5
    As a huge fan of X-Wing vs Tie Fighter, I had great expectations. This game looks and sounds really well done as a AAA (is it one?) title should look and sound like. Also it makes really fun. I can´t comment on the VR experience but I read it´s fantastic. The campaign part is quite boring and uninspired but i was more looking forward to the multiplayer part which is fun.
    Other than that
    As a huge fan of X-Wing vs Tie Fighter, I had great expectations. This game looks and sounds really well done as a AAA (is it one?) title should look and sound like. Also it makes really fun. I can´t comment on the VR experience but I read it´s fantastic. The campaign part is quite boring and uninspired but i was more looking forward to the multiplayer part which is fun.
    Other than that the whole game feels like a mini game with the lack of content and options. EA already stated that there will be no DLC so this explains the low price... I would recommend all players to test it first and make your own thoughts if you really need this great "mini game".
    Expand
  62. Oct 3, 2020
    10
    Great game. I played only in VR but I would recommend to any Star Wars fan and much more if you have VR. I’ve waited for a Star Wars space flight simulator for a long time. Been playing Tie Fighter and X-Wing on PC a long time ago and it’s fun to play again in a spaceship. I hope they will make another game with more content one day. I would have put a 8 but I must put a 10 because ofGreat game. I played only in VR but I would recommend to any Star Wars fan and much more if you have VR. I’ve waited for a Star Wars space flight simulator for a long time. Been playing Tie Fighter and X-Wing on PC a long time ago and it’s fun to play again in a spaceship. I hope they will make another game with more content one day. I would have put a 8 but I must put a 10 because of those low score stupid arguments evaluations. Expand
  63. Oct 3, 2020
    10
    Amazing game!!! Great campaign and amazing multiplayer. It does take a challenge to play MP. Please play this game in VR!!!
    BEST VR GAME OUT THERE !!!!!
  64. Oct 4, 2020
    10
    Amazing game!! For those who love dogfighting and Star Wars this game is for you. Single player campaign is brilliant and the multiplayer is worth the challenge.
  65. Oct 4, 2020
    10
    Great game. Ignore the haters review bombing because of their pronoun hate.

    Rate the game, nothing else. Game works fine
  66. Oct 4, 2020
    8
    A phenomenal game! Everyone says the story is a “glorified tutorial” which isn’t totally wrong, but it is a fun story and the gameplay helps it so much! I remember playing on the GameCube Rebel Strike with my older brother and this game brought that back for us! Now we get to play online and watch each other’s backs. This game is a such a nostalgic trip! Also, if you have ever dreamedA phenomenal game! Everyone says the story is a “glorified tutorial” which isn’t totally wrong, but it is a fun story and the gameplay helps it so much! I remember playing on the GameCube Rebel Strike with my older brother and this game brought that back for us! Now we get to play online and watch each other’s backs. This game is a such a nostalgic trip! Also, if you have ever dreamed about flying in the Star Wars Universe then play this game! My only complaint is that it was stated that if the game does well there would be talks for DLC plans, which I would love to see Clone Wars era ships and some other game modes and maps. Hell I would love a Co-op mode, but for 40 this game is so worth it. Do not let the nitpicky people deter you from this game, this game is great and so much fun. Love this game! Expand
  67. Oct 8, 2020
    10
    It's the best Star Wars game in this videogame generation. The campaign is fast paced, cool and inmersive and the multiplayer is where the game shines: 5vs5 battles with the mission to destroy a huge Star Destroyer or a CR75 frigate.

    The game allows you to play in the style you want with hundreds of combinations for each spaceship class... Fighter: Multirole spaceship Bomber: Heavy
    It's the best Star Wars game in this videogame generation. The campaign is fast paced, cool and inmersive and the multiplayer is where the game shines: 5vs5 battles with the mission to destroy a huge Star Destroyer or a CR75 frigate.

    The game allows you to play in the style you want with hundreds of combinations for each spaceship class...
    Fighter: Multirole spaceship
    Bomber: Heavy duty, attack spaceship
    Interceptor: Fast spaceship
    Support: Teamplay focused

    As a counterpart -the only one the game has- it could be more cosmetic customization and some helmets can not be removed in the briefing zone.
    The game also has some minor bugs that can be resolved via update.
    More multiplayer maps would be absolutely awesome, lets hope EA gives a chance with this incredible game. By the way, it's ONLY 40$, amazing price
    Expand
  68. Nov 5, 2020
    10
    Really good space shooter, best star wars game ever, really well done EA! Amazing in VR as well. Ignore the haters, its just a fun game.
  69. Oct 31, 2020
    9
    Love it so far . I really do not get the hate in the user comments. The game plays and looks great. I will admit it is not for everyone. For me it hits my nostalgia dead center. Remember the old Tie Fighter and X-Wing games ? I have been having so much fun playing this. The only thing I did not like - was not having a control for 3rd person . Though i think the reasoning has to do with VRLove it so far . I really do not get the hate in the user comments. The game plays and looks great. I will admit it is not for everyone. For me it hits my nostalgia dead center. Remember the old Tie Fighter and X-Wing games ? I have been having so much fun playing this. The only thing I did not like - was not having a control for 3rd person . Though i think the reasoning has to do with VR ( i do not have a setup :/) . I hope we get a sequel in a few years, I really want to play this with my son & daughter when the are old enough . And yes they will get their Star Wars lore education before ! I would say - give this game a chance !! Expand
  70. Oct 3, 2020
    8
    A fun game to play with friends . The gameplay is solid and if you have VR this is a real no brainier . Story left much to be desired from a star wars title
  71. Oct 6, 2020
    10
    Made an account only to dispel the amount bull being sprouted about this game. to be clear: If there was ever a game were you should trust critics over user score, it's this one.

    Straight up, this game is THE star wars flight sim you've been waiting for. The story is short, but it's not the focus of the game, if anything it's mainly there to show you the ropes and give you a feel for
    Made an account only to dispel the amount bull being sprouted about this game. to be clear: If there was ever a game were you should trust critics over user score, it's this one.

    Straight up, this game is THE star wars flight sim you've been waiting for. The story is short, but it's not the focus of the game, if anything it's mainly there to show you the ropes and give you a feel for the game. the multi-player is where it's at. nothing, and I mean nothing, beats the feeling of doing a bombing run on a capital ship, putting full power in engines while focusing shields to the front, diving in close to get under their shields and just letting the payload go. Or covering my wing-man while he's does the bombing run, shooting enemy ties as they try to get a lock on him. Growing up watching star wars movies, it's been my dream to recreate scenes like that, and now I'm finally able to.

    This game is fantastic and it doesn't deserve to be review bombed. So let's address that. You can play as a white person. There are plenty of white people in the campaign, just look around. they're there. nothing about the characters race, sexuality or whatever feels forced or is rubbed in your face. if you feel like it does, odds are that says something about you rather than the game. This game is worth it, end of story.
    Expand
  72. Oct 3, 2020
    10
    The gameplay is great, the story is great and they're rating it low scores just because it has a non-binary character.
  73. Oct 3, 2020
    10
    This game is absolutely awesome on vr, dont believe that negative reviews crap about it, try for yourself, awesome
  74. Nov 9, 2020
    10
    A childhood dream come true! Absolutely brilliant. Drifting alone makes it a 10.
  75. Nov 2, 2020
    9
    This is a really good game - and when played in VR, it's basically a dream come true for any Star Wars fan! Don't believe the haters who vote this down for political reasons or whatever. I try not to even read the things they write but from what I get, they complain there are characters there of unclear gender or whatever. But even if you're sensitive about this topic for whatever reason,This is a really good game - and when played in VR, it's basically a dream come true for any Star Wars fan! Don't believe the haters who vote this down for political reasons or whatever. I try not to even read the things they write but from what I get, they complain there are characters there of unclear gender or whatever. But even if you're sensitive about this topic for whatever reason, I played through the story and I don't even know what they are talking about. Nothing is shoved in your face or anything, and tbh, who can know all the genders of all characters in the Star Wars cantina? So these complaints and petitions to "remove these characters from the game" are just completely made up and/or based on lies. So even IF you are from the dark side and would like to annihilate any kind of diversity in species, don't be afraid, even YOU can enjoy this super awesome Star Wars game ;D Expand
  76. Nov 1, 2020
    10
    I honestly really enjoyed this game! If you ignore all of the unwarranted hate from all of the EA haters.
    The campaign is really good and it made me feel attached to the characters and it did a great job in portraying the conflict between the Empire and the New Republic. The multiplayer is challenging and despite some minor bugs is also really good. If you do not want to play against real
    I honestly really enjoyed this game! If you ignore all of the unwarranted hate from all of the EA haters.
    The campaign is really good and it made me feel attached to the characters and it did a great job in portraying the conflict between the Empire and the New Republic. The multiplayer is challenging and despite some minor bugs is also really good. If you do not want to play against real players you can always play unranked (against A.I bots). In short I really enjoyed the game and I recommend people to buy it
    Expand
  77. Oct 8, 2020
    10
    This is a great game! Awesome dogfights and fleet battles, in which you will require genuine skill to achieve. This might even be worth getting a VR headset and a HOTAS setup
  78. Oct 7, 2020
    6
    This game is made for VR. The flying is very slow and so is the aiming, it's like piloting a space boat in the mud. It's okay and easy in the single player mode but online it's frustrating as hell trying to chase people around because turning is so slow. It's a great VR game but a very shallow console game.
  79. Oct 18, 2020
    7
    This game could habe been a great game for VR, but it isn‘t. The cutscenes are pre-rendered videos with many compression artifacts, thats just a shame. Also in VR the cutscenes are not stereoscopic ... why not? It would be very easy to do that. The game itself feels really bad in VR, the resolution is one of the badest I’ve ever seen on PSVR, just the cockpit looks good. It could have beenThis game could habe been a great game for VR, but it isn‘t. The cutscenes are pre-rendered videos with many compression artifacts, thats just a shame. Also in VR the cutscenes are not stereoscopic ... why not? It would be very easy to do that. The game itself feels really bad in VR, the resolution is one of the badest I’ve ever seen on PSVR, just the cockpit looks good. It could have been such a good game ... I‘m pretty sad about that.

    Edit: +1 for removing compression artifacts

    Edit: +1 for adding story experience in VR and more content
    Expand
  80. Oct 3, 2020
    10
    Love this game!! Really looked forward to this game and I am not disappointed. The flight mechanics are great. Graphics and sound/music are top notch. Great campaign and multiplayer. VR really does take the win and the immersion is amazing. Can't recommend this game enough!!!
  81. Oct 4, 2020
    10
    Loving the game so far. Looking forward to taking out star destroyers with friends.
  82. Oct 3, 2020
    8
    Is a fun game but they could be better gameplay and the story is ok the characters are no interest me but it is fun game with your friends
  83. Oct 3, 2020
    10
    If you dont love this game You are not a true star wars fan, you are just some fake that likes to pretend but doesnt really know **** about the lore. This game in VR is AMAZING!!!!!!
  84. Oct 15, 2020
    7
    While I’m not much of a fan of the “Star Wars” series, I find that I can’t really escape it. Maybe it’s because I have so many friends that enjoy the series, or maybe it’s because I see so many people talk about it on social media, but I feel like it’s hard to fully ignore it. And lately, it feels like most of what I hear about “Star Wars” is how much the films have been ruined, and howWhile I’m not much of a fan of the “Star Wars” series, I find that I can’t really escape it. Maybe it’s because I have so many friends that enjoy the series, or maybe it’s because I see so many people talk about it on social media, but I feel like it’s hard to fully ignore it. And lately, it feels like most of what I hear about “Star Wars” is how much the films have been ruined, and how the recent entries have been so much worse than the originals. I wouldn’t know, since I don’t watch them, but I’ve gotta say that I’ve been enjoying the recent wave of video games in the “Star Wars” series. Last year’s “Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order” has obviously been the biggest highlight, but a little over a month ago, I also enjoyed my time with “Vader Immortal: A Star Wars VR Series.” “Star Wars: Squadrons,” however, snuck up on me: perhaps it’s because the game was announced in June and released just four months later, but I wasn’t exactly expecting this game for a while. After playing it, though, I was definitely happy with my experience.
    “Star Wars: Squadrons” is quite an immersive game, and the approach it takes to space combat feels excellent. Even though it might take a bit of getting used to, the ship controls are fantastic, and they hit that perfect borderline between being accessible and challenging. I also love the depth and scope of view from within the ship, as while it’s a seemingly minor thing, it made me feel closer to the action than I expected at first. I also think the visual design for the game is pretty great, capturing the aesthetics of “Star Wars” wonderfully to craft lovely space environments that are exciting to explore. The game also features VR support on several versions, and it’s definitely a nice touch: it’s thrilling without feeling too dizzying, and it makes the game feel even more immersive than it already is. It’s perfectly fine without the VR, but it’s certainly a great addition.
    There are definitely a few flaws with the game that hold it back from being as good as it could’ve been. For starters, I wouldn’t say the story is all that captivating. It’s your typical “Star Wars” stuff, and I don’t think it’ll do anything that will actively anger “Star Wars” fans, but it doesn’t do anything to stand out, either. On top of that, the game is pretty short, and while that’s not the worst thing ever given that it costs $40, don’t expect it to be much more than a side game that you can play between other, longer titles. Also, I was a bit disappointed that there wasn’t a lot of content here: beyond the aforementioned short story mode, there’s not a whole lot of modes to enjoy in the multiplayer, and there’s not a huge variation in that component of the game, either. This might be even worse for some, given that the game’s developers recently announced that the game would not be received any post-launch content. While I appreciate that they’re not taking the money-grubbing approach that you might expect given that they’re owned by EA, this is the kind of game that feels like it’s begging for more content, and the fact that it’s not getting that is disappointing.
    Overall, “Star Wars: Squadrons” is an enjoyable, immersive space combat adventure. Yes, it’s flawed, and it probably won’t stand as tall as some of the best games to grace the “Star Wars” name, but it’s definitely a solid adventure that even non-fans of “Star Wars” can find some enjoyment in. And hey, as someone that doesn’t particularly care for the series, if the games can continue to be consistently solid as they have been, that’s all I could really ask for.
    Final rating: 7 out of 10 “Good”
    Expand
  85. Oct 5, 2020
    9
    So I made a decision to preorder this game since I have a PSVR and needed to experience something like flying iconic Star War ships in VR. I couldn't of been anymore happier once midnight came around and I can finally play it. The moment you sit in the cockpit of the famous X-Wing and able to look around freely it is something that any Star Wars fan needs to experience. I completed theSo I made a decision to preorder this game since I have a PSVR and needed to experience something like flying iconic Star War ships in VR. I couldn't of been anymore happier once midnight came around and I can finally play it. The moment you sit in the cockpit of the famous X-Wing and able to look around freely it is something that any Star Wars fan needs to experience. I completed the campaign and even though it was nothing groundbreaking it was still a fun story that I plan to return to so I can get the trophies for it. Fleet battles is where its at, whether you're playing against AI or players, the constant tug of war is intense. the amount of customization will make any fans smile. Highly recommend this game with or without VR, especially with a $40 price tag. Expand
  86. Pj7
    Oct 5, 2020
    10
    A great tactical team game in space. Really like how the ships and power systems were designed, as you’re flying you must decide which sub system needs priority (engines, weapons, shields), also if the ship has a shield you can focus them (front, back, or balanced). There are differences between imperial and rebel ships but it seems balanced so far, no one side seems to dominate/loseA great tactical team game in space. Really like how the ships and power systems were designed, as you’re flying you must decide which sub system needs priority (engines, weapons, shields), also if the ship has a shield you can focus them (front, back, or balanced). There are differences between imperial and rebel ships but it seems balanced so far, no one side seems to dominate/lose matches consistently from what I’ve seen.

    I was a big Eve Valkyrie fan and this feels like a spiritual successor. They took the good parts of that game (fleet battles, VR, etc.) and built in even more awesome features using the Star Wars universe.
    Expand
  87. Oct 5, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Had mixed expectations after EA's handling of Star Wars Battlefront II, but Motive have produced a fantastic product. Excellent game that has the feel of the old X-Wing/Tie-Fighter games. Excited to see where it goes from here. Expand
  88. Oct 5, 2020
    9
    Its like the old xwing VS tie figther saga.... I love it ¡¡¡

    to the people who talk trash only attending if they can feel identified with the main characters...and editing a critic readed right here... """Where is fat and ugly peoples ?? Again playing with a hot guy??? The biggest quantity of people’s who buys your game is ugly and without life, So think about it fatties peoples
    Its like the old xwing VS tie figther saga.... I love it ¡¡¡

    to the people who talk trash only attending if they can feel identified with the main characters...and editing a critic readed right here...

    """Where is fat and ugly peoples ??
    Again playing with a hot guy???
    The biggest quantity of people’s who buys your game is ugly and without life, So think about it
    fatties peoples pay you money"""

    obviusly, im being sarcastic here...but really, you can identify yourself with a hotass with conan body jedi twilek, but no with other gender/colour people??? oh,the irony...
    Expand
  89. Oct 4, 2020
    8
    Very pleasant gameplay without stress could be more content but anyway for evenings perfect.
  90. Oct 5, 2020
    9
    Fantastic squad based experience. Controls on HOTAS and in PSVR are smooth. ship handling is phenomenal, intuitive and a complexity to master that in fun.
    Matchmaking seems to be largely fixed. and the story they tell in the timeline is perfect.
  91. Oct 5, 2020
    9
    First good Star Wars Game for very long Time, with VR. Everthing i was dreaming about
  92. Oct 5, 2020
    9
    This game is fantastic. It's exactly what I've been waiting for. Last game that was similar was X-wing Alliance, which released about 20 years ago. It's an improve in a lot of ways. I love the customization. I'm hopping that the game continues to grow as I would like to see new ships and game modes.
  93. Oct 13, 2020
    8
    It's a good game, not a masterpiece but you can buy this game at 36$ more or less (search discounts) in it's releasing date.

    Let's see what we have for 36$: -10-12h Of story with some replay value (medals and difficulties) -Multiplayer with tons of replay value; ranks, cool cosmetics, events... -Practice mode, just sit down and enjoy beating up spaceships. (Optional) If you have
    It's a good game, not a masterpiece but you can buy this game at 36$ more or less (search discounts) in it's releasing date.

    Let's see what we have for 36$:

    -10-12h Of story with some replay value (medals and difficulties)
    -Multiplayer with tons of replay value; ranks, cool cosmetics, events...
    -Practice mode, just sit down and enjoy beating up spaceships.

    (Optional) If you have VR you'll enjoy the mentioned above x10.

    And now my personal score:

    -Story: 8
    -Characters: 5
    -Gameplay: 10
    -Graphics: 7
    -Multiplayer: 8
    -Content (for it's releasing price): 8.5

    (If you had VR i would add 1 point extra because it's an awesome experience)

    Conclusion:

    I don't now why there are so bad reviews when for the first time in a lot of time we have EA giving us a fully fledged game/experience without ripping our wallets. I could understand Mixed reviews or maybe some negative ones, because of occasional bugs (that i haven't experienced). But this game doesn't deserve 0's, 1's, 2's or 3's (In my opinion those are just hate reviews without being impartial).
    If you love space shooters and star wars buy this game, or if you aren't sure wait a little bit.
    Expand
  94. Oct 14, 2020
    9
    If you aren't playing this in VR you are stuck in the stone age of gaming. I can't tell you enough how much fun this is- to sit in an x-wing cockpit and to turn around and see R2D2 fixing your ship while you see a tie fighter shooting from behind you. This is the future of gaming.

    I gave it a 9 because I couldn't help but notice that Kathleen Kennedy's woman empowerment was a HUGE
    If you aren't playing this in VR you are stuck in the stone age of gaming. I can't tell you enough how much fun this is- to sit in an x-wing cockpit and to turn around and see R2D2 fixing your ship while you see a tie fighter shooting from behind you. This is the future of gaming.

    I gave it a 9 because I couldn't help but notice that Kathleen Kennedy's woman empowerment was a HUGE distraction to me. identity politics is getting old.
    Expand
  95. Oct 10, 2020
    10
    As a fan of the Lucasarts sims, this was an unexpected gift, an old school space sim/shooter with a lot of controls and beautiful graphics. I'm playing with throttle and stick and VR and it is amazing. The single-player campaign does a good job of introducing each fighter and the different gameplay elements and is fun. The real meat of the game is the multiplayer dogfights and fleetAs a fan of the Lucasarts sims, this was an unexpected gift, an old school space sim/shooter with a lot of controls and beautiful graphics. I'm playing with throttle and stick and VR and it is amazing. The single-player campaign does a good job of introducing each fighter and the different gameplay elements and is fun. The real meat of the game is the multiplayer dogfights and fleet battles. In these you join a small squad and fight together. Voice communication works well and you can customize your loadout for each mission. The majority of the negative reviews seem to be from people who haven't played the game but are upset that the squads are so diverse, don't worry, you can still play as a white guy. Expand
  96. Oct 11, 2020
    10
    A medio camino entre simulación y arcade, nos encontramos ante un juego exigente en lo jugable del mismo estilo de los x-wing de los años 90 y primeros 2000, en el que debemos fijarnos en el tablero de mandos de la nave para poder jugar correctamente. Su modo Vr es inmersivo y fantástico
  97. Oct 8, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game, amazing mechanics. Story is short but it is a multiplayer focused game. Honestly for 40$ they knocked it out of the park. Expand
  98. Nov 1, 2020
    8
    The gameplay is pretty fun which is the most important part IMO.
    PC port is also very good, props to EA for getting it right this time.
    It could be better story-wise since they made the empire generic bad guys again and the idea to mix in the empire and rebel campaigns into one didn't really pan out but the single-player is still engaging and fun. Almost deducted a point for that
    The gameplay is pretty fun which is the most important part IMO.
    PC port is also very good, props to EA for getting it right this time.
    It could be better story-wise since they made the empire generic bad guys again and the idea to mix in the empire and rebel campaigns into one didn't really pan out but the single-player is still engaging and fun.

    Almost deducted a point for that republic ending tho.
    Expand
  99. Oct 8, 2020
    10
    Absolutely amazing game. the low review score is just people mad simply because it is published by ea. no logic whatsoever. half the people dont even have the game. 10/10 game for me
  100. Oct 8, 2020
    10
    The game is awesome some other reviews have said what’s positive. Have to go full 10 because of the dweebs rating 0 for a damn agenda. Awesome game and I hope it gets content.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Nov 18, 2020
    73
    Moderately hardcore, a tad nostalgic, devoid of AAA luster, but engaging nonetheless – Squadrons is a nice choice for those who miss Star Wars: X-Wing Alliance. [Issue#249, p.56]
  2. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Nov 15, 2020
    80
    It’s the game PS VR was made for; dogfighting is fast and nuanced, but it’s the physical act of sitting inside some of the Star Wars universe’s most iconic cockpits that never fails to impress. [Issue#181, p.84]
  3. Nov 10, 2020
    80
    While Squadrons has likely already come and gone for those who can’t experience it as its best, I can’t overstate just how vital it is for Star Wars fans fortunate enough to play in VR. This is arguably the first productive thing EA has done with the Star Wars franchise — I don’t know what took them so long, but I hope it’s a sign of things to come.