Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Feb 24, 2015
    86
    Pick up Styx if you're a fan of staying in the shadows and don't want to have to dust off your old PS2 just to play a proper stealth game.
  2. Oct 23, 2014
    80
    If you are a fan of the likes of Thief and Hitman then Styx: Master of Shadows is well deserving of a play. Goblins may be foul, disgusting creatures, but you won’t help but like this one.
  3. 80
    A great game that completely took me by surprise. It is strategic, intelligent, and offers players hours and hours of sneaky gameplay.
  4. Oct 10, 2014
    78
    If there is one aspect of modern stealth action it would be the pacing. Sometimes you feel like a hyperactive squirrel taking or killing everything that crosses your path. Styx is different: He demands thoughtful planning and that you take your time. And if you do that you’ll get a challenging and experience that is engrossingly different, albeit far from being perfect.
  5. Jul 16, 2015
    71
    While it's a decent stealth game, Styx: Master of Shadows doesn't meet PS4's quality standards due to its bland AI, basic combat system and poor graphic design.
  6. Feb 16, 2015
    71
    Styx: Master of Shadows is quite an interesting stealth adventure, both for its enjoyable moments as for the variety it offers once you unlock different skills. A good example of what can be achieved without the nowadays common excess of action.
  7. Games Master UK
    Dec 21, 2014
    70
    Pick it up and expect to be battering aside thugs at your peril as its titular goblin hero is shockingly delicate. [Christmas 2014, p.78]
  8. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Dec 28, 2014
    60
    Every action is coupled with a frustrating feeling of unpredictability in a game that really should deliver precision inputs for its harsh, stealthy goals. [Christmas 2014, p.85]
  9. Nov 20, 2014
    40
    Styx: Master Of Shadows showed some potential. Styx himself is an interesting character and the game’s use of amber allows the player to be creative in their approach to each mission, but unfortunately these ideas have been thrown into a game which lacks the enjoyment to appreciate them.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 128 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 128
  2. Negative: 30 out of 128
  1. Oct 10, 2014
    8
    This is wierd. Not in the sense that the game is wierd by any means, but simply why is this game racked down by critics? The primary concernThis is wierd. Not in the sense that the game is wierd by any means, but simply why is this game racked down by critics? The primary concern when I bought this game, was of the abysmal controls which a lot of reviewers mentioned. But after having played the game and tested it, my conclusion is VERY different.

    I have had ZERO issues with controls. Infact, everything is explained in the tutorial, that in order to drop down from a ledge, you have to walk slowly towards it. To Grab a ledge simply jump towards it, and if you´re close enough, styx automatically grabs it.

    So here´s my honest review of why you should buy this game (at least on the PS4, which is the platform i bought it on).

    Let´s break it down into Pros vs Cons.

    Pros

    +Good story
    +fantastic world/level design
    +Styx is an awesome character
    +Well done stealth mechanics
    +Price

    Cons:

    -Textures
    -models except Styx looks strange
    -Some animations are slight off
    -Voice acting not consistent

    Styx has good story, some of the best level design you can get. Cool stealth mechanics, with lots of options regarding how you want to proceed. Do you want to sneak by. ghosting the entire level or do you murder every single enemy? I chose the latter, and I had so much bloody fun.

    So I don´t know why this game scored to badly on the pc, maybe because of keyboard + mouse? But I can tell you, controller works like a charm every single time.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 2, 2015
    9
    Just upped my rating from an 8 to a 9 having just completed the game. In a world where everything is released broken, where everything begsJust upped my rating from an 8 to a 9 having just completed the game. In a world where everything is released broken, where everything begs you for more money or patronisingly holds your hand through the whole game, this is a breath of fresh air.

    Styx is a straight to basics stealth platformer, it gives you the tools, gives you some huge levels and lets you get to work. The Atrium is a brilliant setting, the graphical design is solid, the audio excellent. I won't say too much about the story but it was better than most - being a lower priced title most of it is told via static handrawn cut scenes. If you liked the original Tenchu games, you really can't go wrong with this one.

    Only deducted a point for the technical side of things - sometimes there's texture pop-in which results in incorrect colours for a frame on a fast camera pan, and the loading between deaths (you will die a lot) is very slow. Other than that I didn't have any problems. Note that they do start recycling levels about half way through but the game is very long. Luckily the non linear nature of the levels stops this being a huge issue.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 8, 2015
    4
    i got styx for free with ps plus and i can tell you the game is a bit mediocre to be honest it looks like a really fun adventure game but iti got styx for free with ps plus and i can tell you the game is a bit mediocre to be honest it looks like a really fun adventure game but it is actually quite boring and annoying

    PROS
    - single player can be fun at times

    CONS
    - really boring a lot of the times
    - can be annoying
    - boring adventure

    overall: 4.1/10 :{ i really did not enjoy this game
    Full Review »