Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Jan 10, 2019
    90
    Subnautica achieves with good decisions to build a survival rich in nuances and possibilities, without ever losing any interest, staying true to its objective. A game that opens up little by little showing imagination and finesse. Rarely this genre in its late game has managed to engage so much without trusting in its multiplayer facet.
  2. Jan 9, 2019
    90
    Aside from a few technical issues, Subnautica is one of the best survival games out there. Not only is the world to explore beautiful but the narrative will keep pulling you along,
  3. 90
    I was blown away by Subnautica. What initially appeared to be a knee-high kiddie pool worth of depth, suddenly gives way to a literal ocean of gameplay opportunities.
  4. Dec 4, 2018
    90
    Subnautica is a perfect example an open world survival game that doesn’t rely on action, horror or combat elements to excite. Whilst these classic gaming features are involved to an extent, they take a back seat compared to the story, crafting and surviving elements. And this is what sets Subnautica apart from other survival experiences out there. Don’t let this be the one that got away.
  5. 85
    A survival game that manages to balance a driving plot without sacrificing player agency. Constantly balanced on the knife edge of life and watery death. Subnautica is a game with hidden depths, both literally and figuratively.
  6. 85
    Subnautica is a survival game worthy of competing with the most noble titles of the same genre. The PS4 version has a bunch of technical issues (loading times and frame rate above all), but nothing that can undermine the gaming experience.
  7. CD-Action
    Mar 25, 2019
    80
    The PS4 edition of the brilliant survival game has some performance problems (framerate dropping, environment popping up really badly if you travel fast) and navigating in three dimensions is much less intuitive with a controller than with a mouse, which did cost me my life sometimes. These flaws do not disqualify the console port though, so if you can’t enjoy Subnautica on PC, consider giving it a shot on PS4, as there are very few such games nowadays. [02/2019, p.35]
  8. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jan 27, 2019
    80
    Few games are this consistently surprising, let alone this well designed. [Issue#158, p.88]
  9. 80
    Even after four years of early access limbo, Subnautica remains as one of the quintessential examples of its genre. The uniquely beautiful and terrifying world is fantastic to explore, while the goal based narrative keeps things interesting beyond the usual plate spinning mechanics of other survival games.
  10. Dec 17, 2018
    80
    Subnautica sees you submerged in a vast and utterly breathtaking underwater world, teeming with secrets and polished off with an unsettling atmosphere that instigates a real sense of thrill as you play. The game has a rewarding crafting system that encourages exploration. Furthermore, the story is full of endearing twists and turns that will take you to the deepest, darkest parts of the alien planet, even against your better judgement. Whether survival adventure is your genre of choice or you’re just a sucker for a gorgeous open world begging to be explored, Subnautica truly is a must-play.
  11. Dec 7, 2018
    80
    Subnautica is an inspired survival game with a great atmosphere and a surprising narrative. On PS4, however, the game is not as smooth as we had hoped and suffers from sometimes cumbersome controls.
  12. 80
    A survival game that isn’t out just to punish its players, but to entertain; with an impressive mix of exploration, crafting, and survival horror.
  13. Dec 4, 2018
    80
    Performance problems aside, Subnautica will rekindle your faith in the overcrowded survival genre, and scare you senseless.
  14. Dec 20, 2018
    70
    Subnautica is a title for those who love to explore.
  15. Dec 18, 2018
    70
    On PlayStation 4, Subnautica has maintained loyalty to its original spirit, but has not corrected some technical limits and issues. In any case, it's an interesting first person survival, with a strong identity and a good balance between exploration and storytelling.
  16. Jan 15, 2019
    65
    I have rarely seen a game go from being absolutely sublime to absolutely awful, but Subnautica manages to pull it off. The first 25-30 hours are a superb sci-fi survival experience that I would happily recommend to anyone, and I’ll cherish that time under the waves for years to come. But the endgame? It really does ruin a good thing. If the first chunk of the adventure were scored on its own, it would rate much higher. But as a complete experience? The issues are too large to ignore.
  17. Jan 10, 2019
    65
    I felt that Subnautica could do with a little more work to iron out these performance problems to make it even more fluid and seamless, which would then make it then a top contender in the survival genre.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 230 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 230
  1. Jan 11, 2019
    0
    I challenge the gaming community to find a game that runs this poorly on any console. One has to seriously question the morality of the peopleI challenge the gaming community to find a game that runs this poorly on any console. One has to seriously question the morality of the people making money off of this port. Did anyone think to see if the game worked before charging people their hard earned money? Is it really forgivable to put us through this? I want people to know that i spent over 100 hours with this game before writing this review and tried to reinstall multiple times etc. I platinumed this POS and believe I could have done so in less than 10 hours without performance issues. The game all out crashed 30-40 times. Saves failed to actually save my progress around 5 times and lost me about 50 hours of my life. Objects often don’t render until you are inside them and you will get stuck countless (100s) times because of this. The game half freezes every time you come to the surface and will generally do this regardless of where u are or what u are doing about every 5 seconds. The performance is directly linked to the size of your save file so it takes time for all of this to come to fruition. Like 15 minutes at least before it all falls to bloody hell. Objects get stuck inside your base and sub, sometimes breaking the game. Pet “fish” dissappear every time you leave the base regardless of what you do to protect them. The frame rate is legit 3 FPS for the latter half of the game. I’m infuriated and truly can’t believe you got away with this. How in the actual **** does this game get approved for release. Sure it’s one of the best game ideas ever conceived if it runs well but it hardly runs at all. This game struggles to perform on
    pc. It’s a complete joke on PS4. Sooooo many more bugs I cant fit in this space that are practically game breaking in their own right. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 17, 2020
    1
    DON’T BUY THIS GAME ON PS4. I absolutely echo what others have said. I love this game but the bugs are game breaking on PS4. I tried twoDON’T BUY THIS GAME ON PS4. I absolutely echo what others have said. I love this game but the bugs are game breaking on PS4. I tried two playthroughs and in both I encountered a save bug that wouldn’t let me save my game. I lost over 50 hours of game time. I’d give this game another shot if they fixed the bugs but I hear the developers have already moved on to other games. Bottom line: don’t buy this game on PS4, buy it on PC. Full Review »
  3. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. A few technical issues on console but overall it's a great experience. If you like survinal baseOne of the best games I've ever played. A few technical issues on console but overall it's a great experience. If you like survinal base building games, this game is one of the best in the market. Full Review »