Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. games(TM)
    Nov 19, 2016
    60
    It's in desperate need of a rethink in terms of its movement systems. [Issue#180, p.48]
  2. Oct 21, 2016
    58
    The controls are well conceived, but the puzzles as well as storytelling are without any challenge.
  3. Nov 3, 2016
    54
    From a safe yet unwieldy control scheme to a lack of cohesive content, The Assembly has the edges of a complete adventure game with just a few too many pieces missing from being able to assemble the complete picture.
  4. Jan 11, 2017
    50
    The Assembly could have been released without VR support. The story is interesting but the immersion is poor, and the controls aren't good at all.
  5. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Nov 21, 2016
    50
    Feels like an underwhelming adventure trying to piggyback on VR's inherent charms. [Dec 2016, p.89]
  6. Oct 31, 2016
    50
    I went looking for Michael Crichton in The Assembly, but I got stuck on the lowlights. As with many ambitious projects, there is some good stock here. As VR advances, another take The Assembly could realize the promise. What's here, however, just isn't thrilling.
  7. 50
    Nice concept, but an under-developed storyline, simple puzzles and graphical issues make The Assembly one of the PSVR launch games to avoid.
  8. 50
    Despite providing an interesting showcase for the equipment, it is blatantly devoid of anything that’s unique to virtual reality as a platform. Even in two dimensions, this is a title that would be hard to recommend due its mediocre story and bland puzzles.
  9. Oct 17, 2016
    50
    Virtual reality is an incredibly exciting technology. Unfortunately, The Assembly follows safely along the path of other VR games with a functional, but absolutely cumbersome, movement scheme.
  10. Oct 16, 2016
    50
    The Assembly isn't bad, but it's not good either. It's a puzzle game without enough puzzles, and a pretty forgettable plot.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 5 out of 10
  1. Feb 5, 2019
    4
    This game is boring as another reviewer stated and the graphics aren't great and for whatever reason I felt ill with the locomotion evenThis game is boring as another reviewer stated and the graphics aren't great and for whatever reason I felt ill with the locomotion even though you don't move particularly quick. Something is amiss with this title. Full Review »
  2. Oct 23, 2016
    4
    i got bored with this kinda fast, but made it to the end. i found out i could also stick my head threw the walls and doors to get to thei got bored with this kinda fast, but made it to the end. i found out i could also stick my head threw the walls and doors to get to the other side, gave me a few laughs when i was like, "oh the door is locked, well i'll just stick my head threw it and grab what i wanted inside" Full Review »