User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 969 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 28, 2016
    8
    Yes its an old game. yes it has no new content. Yes it is still the best RPG on any system. I think it should have been priced better, however it is a must own game. Noticeable improvements over the PS3 version. Graphics are a lot cleaner and crisper, character models are a lot nicer, loading screen wait times are vastly improved and every thing runs at a nice pace. One of my favoriteYes its an old game. yes it has no new content. Yes it is still the best RPG on any system. I think it should have been priced better, however it is a must own game. Noticeable improvements over the PS3 version. Graphics are a lot cleaner and crisper, character models are a lot nicer, loading screen wait times are vastly improved and every thing runs at a nice pace. One of my favorite ever games just got better, this makes me happy regardless of anything else. Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2016
    7
    It is tricky to rate. As a remaster for people who owns the original it is not so great deal. Content is same, graphics are improved but not in every aspect (you have nice lighting effects, improved flora, etc. But textures, character models etc looks still outdated). But owners dont need a review. So for people who dont know this game - just go and buy it. One of the best open world rpgsIt is tricky to rate. As a remaster for people who owns the original it is not so great deal. Content is same, graphics are improved but not in every aspect (you have nice lighting effects, improved flora, etc. But textures, character models etc looks still outdated). But owners dont need a review. So for people who dont know this game - just go and buy it. One of the best open world rpgs out there that offers hundreds of hours of fun. Beautifull detailed world, eight storylines, huge amount of ruins, forts, caves, temples, dungeons, towns,... to explore. Hundreds of unique NPCs (you can talk to almost anybody) I agree there are better games (like Witcher 3) but that does not make Skyrim a bad game. It may not be the #1 but it is still awesome experience worth exploring. Expand
  3. Oct 31, 2016
    4
    The price tag alone is a pure betrayal to people who already bought the game and sunk hours into it already. This is Bethesda at its worst, making a company like EA look good. There's nothing new to see here apart from "God Rays" and Dynamic Depth of field, which is already a standard for most games.
  4. Oct 28, 2016
    10
    Beautiful game on the ps4 wow im so happy atm. its nothing like the garbage ps3 version. BUY IT ITS WONDERFULL. I was stacking books on a shelf in my house in Whiterun, one of Skyrim's major cities, when I noticed a weapon rack right beside it. I set a sacrificial dagger in one slot, an Orcish mace in the other. They were on display for nobody but me and my computer-controlled housecarl,Beautiful game on the ps4 wow im so happy atm. its nothing like the garbage ps3 version. BUY IT ITS WONDERFULL. I was stacking books on a shelf in my house in Whiterun, one of Skyrim's major cities, when I noticed a weapon rack right beside it. I set a sacrificial dagger in one slot, an Orcish mace in the other. They were on display for nobody but me and my computer-controlled housecarl, Lydia, who sat at a table patiently waiting for me to ask her to go questing. The chest upstairs was reserved for excess weapons and armor, the bedside table for smithing ingots and ores, the one next to the Alchemy table for ingredients. I'd meticulously organized my owned virtual property not because I had to, but because tending to the minutia of domestic life is a comforting break from dealing with screaming frost trolls, dragons, a civil war, and job assignments that never seem to go as planned. It's even a sensible thing to do; a seemingly natural component of every day existence in Skyrim, one of the most fully-realized, easily enjoyable, and utterly engrossing role-playing games ever made. Expand
  5. Oct 29, 2016
    3
    Please don't buy it, this game is overpriced at 60 bucks it's not a remastered it's just an enhanced from pc version locked at 30fps really?, the game feels old it does disappoint me
  6. Nov 3, 2016
    9
    Bought this on a whim. Tried to play Skyrim at the time on PS3 but the overwhelming issues and loading times got the best of me in 5 hours or so. The ride is a lot smoother this time around, nothing game breaking or even a crash on 25 hrs played. Sure enough the trademark Bethesda bugs are there like physics going places at times but on a whole it has been really stable.

    Epic, excellent
    Bought this on a whim. Tried to play Skyrim at the time on PS3 but the overwhelming issues and loading times got the best of me in 5 hours or so. The ride is a lot smoother this time around, nothing game breaking or even a crash on 25 hrs played. Sure enough the trademark Bethesda bugs are there like physics going places at times but on a whole it has been really stable.

    Epic, excellent storyline, absolutely breathtaking soundtrack and occasionally beautiful visuals set this at a solid 9/10 for a first time Skyrim player. Is it worth the price tag for a veteran is up to you really - for a virgin its absolutely worth it.
    Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2016
    9
    Great game back in the day, Solid game now. Addition of all the dlc makes it a must buy if you missed it like I did. Visuals are better than what people are making it out to be if you have a dope TV.
  8. Nov 5, 2016
    9
    It's hardly a remaster, but it's Skyrim. On PS4. With all the DLC included.

    I picked this up at launch for £35 ($44 for our american cousins) and i don't regret it, its been years since i played, (and fell in love with) Skyrim and i now love it all over again! It does look a lot better and the load times are significantly reduced too, if you played Skyrim on 360/PS3 and enjoyed it,
    It's hardly a remaster, but it's Skyrim. On PS4. With all the DLC included.

    I picked this up at launch for £35 ($44 for our american cousins) and i don't regret it, its been years since i played, (and fell in love with) Skyrim and i now love it all over again!

    It does look a lot better and the load times are significantly reduced too, if you played Skyrim on 360/PS3 and enjoyed it, theres no reason not to buy it. :)
    Expand
  9. May 25, 2017
    10
    This is review is mainly based on the Original Skyrim here you have an amazing Game that's is beyond time in a way with a lots of content an amazing breathing living world with his flaws and bugs/glitch proper to Bethesda games and the fact that they didn't fix any of them is a little lazy but still the game is really worth it if you have not played it when it originally release. ButThis is review is mainly based on the Original Skyrim here you have an amazing Game that's is beyond time in a way with a lots of content an amazing breathing living world with his flaws and bugs/glitch proper to Bethesda games and the fact that they didn't fix any of them is a little lazy but still the game is really worth it if you have not played it when it originally release. But if you already played the original then its not that great the graphic have been slightly upgraded. Expand
  10. Jan 24, 2018
    9
    i sunk more than 200 hours into this on PS3. Years later I have revisited on PS4. Although most of the bugs are still here, I must say, perhaps the best game ever. The immersion, volume of content, customization, and thrill of exploration are still unparalleled. As a child I grew up with the original Zelda & Final Fantasy games. I was a late adopter of Elder Scrolls, but Morrowind &i sunk more than 200 hours into this on PS3. Years later I have revisited on PS4. Although most of the bugs are still here, I must say, perhaps the best game ever. The immersion, volume of content, customization, and thrill of exploration are still unparalleled. As a child I grew up with the original Zelda & Final Fantasy games. I was a late adopter of Elder Scrolls, but Morrowind & Oblivion eventually got my attention. Skyrim improved on almost every aspect of Oblivion. I recall often thinking, boy I only wish this was Zelda. No surprise then, how heavily Breath of the Wild borrowed from Skyrim. After thoroughly depleting the Witcher 3 & Zelda BotW, I returned to Skyrim. Although far from perfect, the beautiful vistas, thrilling dungeons, seemingly endless loot, lore & mystery still provide the high-water mark that future games will draw from. The only thing I find Skyrim leaves me wanting is the next better version of this game. Expand
  11. Jan 15, 2017
    9
    So I originally got this game because it is the only ps4 game that runs natively in 4k on the ps4 pro. I must say skyrim in 4k is freaking awesome!. I was suprised how quickly I was immersed into the game even though I already dumped 100's of hours into it on the 360. I can see why many don't think the remaster is worth it but if you like skyrim and have a ps4 pro it is deffinately aSo I originally got this game because it is the only ps4 game that runs natively in 4k on the ps4 pro. I must say skyrim in 4k is freaking awesome!. I was suprised how quickly I was immersed into the game even though I already dumped 100's of hours into it on the 360. I can see why many don't think the remaster is worth it but if you like skyrim and have a ps4 pro it is deffinately a purchase worth making. The load times are also dramatically improved from last gen which is a plus. I'm actually how much better this game is than fallout 4 considering it was a last gen game. Id say my only have a few complaints. 1 is the character models are still dated looking. 2 they seriously have like 5 voice actors for hundreds of npcs. I just thought it was weird that even 2 members of the thieves guild sounded exactly the same. Over all this game is awesome id say not quite as good as TW3 but exponentially better than fallout 4. Expand
  12. Nov 16, 2016
    9
    This was the first version I have played and when it began I wasn't impressed after all the hype. The combat is a bit messy compared to dark souls and other action RPGs and the graphics are nothing special. After a while however you realize that you really can go anywhere and do anything in any order. A trek up a mountain in a blizzard really does feel as arduous as it should, andThis was the first version I have played and when it began I wasn't impressed after all the hype. The combat is a bit messy compared to dark souls and other action RPGs and the graphics are nothing special. After a while however you realize that you really can go anywhere and do anything in any order. A trek up a mountain in a blizzard really does feel as arduous as it should, and exploring the world is where the majority of the fun comes from. There are quests to be done everywhere and I enjoyed it more than the Witcher. At it's core it's a good game and a great value for money single player experience, and that's what I am after nowadays. Expand
  13. Mar 16, 2017
    10
    Having not played Skyrim when it came out on PS3/XB360 back in 2011, I know nothing about the quality of the remaster. I am not giving a 10 based on how well the graphics were updated or the bugs were fixed, I am giving the game itself a 10. I know i should probably be writing this on the PS3 version so as not to confuse anyone, but this is the game I played, so this is the game I amHaving not played Skyrim when it came out on PS3/XB360 back in 2011, I know nothing about the quality of the remaster. I am not giving a 10 based on how well the graphics were updated or the bugs were fixed, I am giving the game itself a 10. I know i should probably be writing this on the PS3 version so as not to confuse anyone, but this is the game I played, so this is the game I am writing this for. The remaster may not be all that great based on what I've seen, but Skyrim deserves a 10. If you have never played Skyrim or any of the other Elder Scrolls games, I strongly suggest picking this up; it well earns the money Bethesda asks of you. Again, I don't know how well the remaster is, but as a game, Skyrim is one of the best out there. Expand
  14. Nov 23, 2018
    8
    The game is amazing, a must play in my opinion. The problem is the creation club. There is no need for the creation club. Mods do a much better job and are FREE. The creation club drags this game down a bit.
  15. Nov 3, 2016
    10
    I don't know why anyone would complain. I'm a PC player and my "vanillia" skyrim does look better with the incredible mods the community has delivered.... but who cares? Skyrim i awesome and this gives me a reason to play it for a 4th time. Buy it.
  16. Nov 7, 2016
    10
    I didn't think playing this game would be so fun and exciting.Much much better than Witcher 3 that always exceeds the violence and nudity-showing limits;on the contrary this game is just so cool and controlled.it's gameplay elements are very similar to fallout series;and it's reason is obvious.same team,same ideas.Hadn't played the non-special version and can't say much about graphicalI didn't think playing this game would be so fun and exciting.Much much better than Witcher 3 that always exceeds the violence and nudity-showing limits;on the contrary this game is just so cool and controlled.it's gameplay elements are very similar to fallout series;and it's reason is obvious.same team,same ideas.Hadn't played the non-special version and can't say much about graphical changes and compare the original version to special one.But I can admit that I was amazed by this game.really regret not playing it some years ago. Expand
  17. May 27, 2017
    10
    There is no better, more addictive, RPG than Skyrim; it provides a sense of adventure and constant discovery, with something interesting always just around the next corner. This version is the best console version. First person or third person. Real-time combat. Skyrim provides a grand open world full of dungeons and towns and cities - a large overarching series of quests make up the mainThere is no better, more addictive, RPG than Skyrim; it provides a sense of adventure and constant discovery, with something interesting always just around the next corner. This version is the best console version. First person or third person. Real-time combat. Skyrim provides a grand open world full of dungeons and towns and cities - a large overarching series of quests make up the main story, but there are scores of side quests all over the place. But that's only the beginning of the game because the PS4 version makes adding user made mods simple, which enables you to alter the graphics, add items, change game-play, and add tons of quests, and also to remove whatever you added very easily. You want to level up more slowly? There's a mode for that. More quickly? There's a mod for that. Want there to be more animals? More creatures? Mammoths not tough enough for your taste? Do you think weaker animals should have the brains not to challenge you? There's a mod for all of these things and hundreds more. Buying Skyrim is a no brainer. Expand
  18. May 10, 2018
    5
    + Graphics outdoors hold up well on PS4.
    - The combat is really clunky. Not very fun.
    - Lots of crap quests. Not close to the quality found in The Witcher 3 for example.
    - The game is huge but boring and lots of simlar looking locations.
    - The story is terrible.
  19. Nov 3, 2016
    7
    You know, I honestly was not going to pick up this game, I love Skyrim, but 60$ for a remastered game ina w orld where remasters are usually 20, seemed overdone even with all the DLC, but I found it preowned at gamestop so i picked it up just to give it a shot, and honestly its everything i remember Skyrim to be, its grandiose, its spectacular, its glorious, its not worth the 60$ for aYou know, I honestly was not going to pick up this game, I love Skyrim, but 60$ for a remastered game ina w orld where remasters are usually 20, seemed overdone even with all the DLC, but I found it preowned at gamestop so i picked it up just to give it a shot, and honestly its everything i remember Skyrim to be, its grandiose, its spectacular, its glorious, its not worth the 60$ for a nostalgia trip. yes the game does have some better graphics but the character models are outdated still, the aspects of the glitches are still there, and the game itself is nothing new. There is nothing new added on. For those new to the game, yes get it for sure its marvelous, but those looking for the nostalgia, its not worth it. I promptly returned it to gamestop within the 7 days to get my money back Expand
  20. Nov 1, 2016
    8
    You can pick this up for little more than £30. For this you get the remaster of the original, plus all three major DLC packs, and some nice mods to play with. Some kind of 'reduced price if you own the original' would have been nice (but I assume technically not possible). But this is nowhere near the cynicism of 'you must spend £70-£80 on the delux COD Infinite edition to play the COD4You can pick this up for little more than £30. For this you get the remaster of the original, plus all three major DLC packs, and some nice mods to play with. Some kind of 'reduced price if you own the original' would have been nice (but I assume technically not possible). But this is nowhere near the cynicism of 'you must spend £70-£80 on the delux COD Infinite edition to play the COD4 remaster'. For anyone who did not play the original Skyrim, this is a must (I still play games released in the 90s); for those who played (and completed) the original, it's probably a matter of taste (and more relevant to console owners than PC players).

    The graphical upgrade is noticeable but hardly 'wow' (the original assets are largely the same, the engine is basically the same, and this is not strictly a 'remaster'): rather, some environmental objects (plants, foliage etc) have been added, there is much improved lighting, a new depth-of-field etc; the draw distance is better and more stable (less pop-up); load-times are very much improved (no waiting half a minute to enter a tavern); and I find the mods actually render it more enjoyable for those (like me) simply wanting to relive the experience (boosting the carry weight is a 'cheat', yes, but it removes that annoying thing of having to either leave stuff or travel back to a merchant two or three times a mission). One small change I do not like is that 'running' is now toggle-based (with no option to switch to hold).

    I had the original at 9 or 10 (once the PS3 issues were finally resolved); perhaps naively, I had been hoping for 'Skyrim with Witcher 3 graphics' - this is not. But the game remains fantastic (the bugs a consequence of the sheer scale of what was attempted with last gen hardware); so 8 is a balance between the game for what it is/was and a slightly underwhelming upgrade (for those who have already played the original).
    Expand
  21. Oct 30, 2016
    8
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Remastered Edition is exactly what you want out of a remastered game. The graphics have been upgraded in a major way when compared to the original console version. The load times have been improved dramatically, and the game runs significantly better as well. Also, all the DLC has been included on the disc, so no additional downloads are needed to get the fullThe Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Remastered Edition is exactly what you want out of a remastered game. The graphics have been upgraded in a major way when compared to the original console version. The load times have been improved dramatically, and the game runs significantly better as well. Also, all the DLC has been included on the disc, so no additional downloads are needed to get the full experience.

    Unfortunately, there are some negatives to this remastered. First, the mod support on the PS4 is not good, as the file size is less than ideal, and only original in game assets are usable. Secondly, $59.99 is a steep price for the remastered, and while I had no problem paying for it, I can understand why many people feel it should have been priced at $39.99 or $49.99, as there is not a whole lot of new content.

    Overall, I loved the original, and I love this remastered, but not sure Bethesda added enough to justify $59.99 for most people. Similarly, Sony/Bethesda really dropped the ball on mod support, and it is a shame to see.
    Expand
  22. Oct 29, 2016
    9
    Sure, I can understand why there is GFX comparisions, but for some odd reasons, PC gamer come here to review a console game, which for me seems irrelevant and a behaviour of trolling. We know by now that the PC been running in Ultra for some time, but, this is a console game for console-gamers who can make their own judgement of preference.

    The biggest improvement is the audio fidelity
    Sure, I can understand why there is GFX comparisions, but for some odd reasons, PC gamer come here to review a console game, which for me seems irrelevant and a behaviour of trolling. We know by now that the PC been running in Ultra for some time, but, this is a console game for console-gamers who can make their own judgement of preference.

    The biggest improvement is the audio fidelity and obviously the texture, while sadly the Character models are still rough around the edges, and have washed out faces. This is particularly evident during the character creation process. But it's after the first 30min/hour or so that you really can start to notice the changes from 2011 PS3 version and this Special Ed. The pop-in of the objects, which was very obvious in the PS3 version, is hardly noticed since it appears in screen immediately, right in front of your eyes.

    I'd say that this game has aged with dignity, and is worth to re-enter, even after 1000's of hours spent in earlier version. This is still one of the great RPG, and if you only played on console, you now finally have the possibility of using mods. Sure, the PS4 havent recieved as much mod-love as Xbox-1 and PC, but it is finally here. Some of these mods are just minor conveniences, while others can shift the game making it feel like a totally other game. Obviously these can never be compared to the vast options of the PC, but it is a really nice treat, and they are safe to install (but be aware: You'll not be able to get any of The Trophies with Mods installed)

    Ofcourse, I won't make any false pretences, that this package makes much more sense for us console gamers, who previously didn't have a way to enjoy the experience Skyrim with the benefits of supreme PC hardware. Nonetheless, any excuse to head back out into Skyrim and become consumed by its sense of wonder and enchanting sub-stories is a good one. And if you never got around and gamed Skyrim before, and you want to experience it on Console, well now is the time to do it - with no remorse and no hesitation.
    Expand
  23. Nov 7, 2016
    10
    Some truly hilarious review on here. Giving one of the greatest RPG's of all time a low score is just stupid; there isn't a single negative review with any hint of logic or sense about it.

    Skyrim is still an amazing game, as there still isn't any other fantasy RPG that has come close to it since it's 2011 release. Now in a new and improved format, it remains King of RPG's. Better than
    Some truly hilarious review on here. Giving one of the greatest RPG's of all time a low score is just stupid; there isn't a single negative review with any hint of logic or sense about it.

    Skyrim is still an amazing game, as there still isn't any other fantasy RPG that has come close to it since it's 2011 release. Now in a new and improved format, it remains King of RPG's. Better than the Witcher 3, better than Fallout 4, it's an amazing game.

    Good - It's more of what is great about Skyrim, but now with much better visuals and Mod support to potentially greatly extend the already sizeable game. If you are like me, primarily a console player, you will be very pleased with the PS4 mods available. Personally I never thought it would happen in a million years. Since starting a new character I have installed around 10 mods, ranging from fixing little annoyances to adding new content, they're great.

    Bad - Full price is a bit much but just about worth it. The worst things about Skyrim remain to this day as most are part of the fabric of the game design. The factions are far, far too basic, particularly the Companions and Mages Guild - there simply isn't enough to do with them, especially after taking charge.

    One of the strangest/worst design decisions is the inability to simply edit your characters appearance at any time. Yes you can go and do it in the Ratway, but devs should realise that we should be able to do it from a menu at absolutely any time we want.

    Verdict - If you are a fan and have the PS3 version, BUY IT. If you've never played it but want to play probably the best ever fantasy RPG, BUY IT. While you're waiting for it to download, read some of the hilarious negative reviews and laugh at how stupid people can be. 10/10
    Expand
  24. Nov 6, 2016
    10
    If you played the original Skyrim on PS3 or X360 I highly recommend this game! The graphics improvements are great but it also runs ALOT smoother and load times are almost gone. Plus you can now mod the game. There are still some bugs but most of them have workarounds by now. Overall a great game with a lot more polish. 200+ hours of gameplay is easy on this title especially with all theIf you played the original Skyrim on PS3 or X360 I highly recommend this game! The graphics improvements are great but it also runs ALOT smoother and load times are almost gone. Plus you can now mod the game. There are still some bugs but most of them have workarounds by now. Overall a great game with a lot more polish. 200+ hours of gameplay is easy on this title especially with all the DLC included. (Dragonborn and Dawnguard were both great!) Cant speak to PC version. Expand
  25. Nov 1, 2016
    5
    Pretty much the same as the original, except with upgraded to 2012 graphics. They stories fine and enjoy the only problem is the combat is incredibly dull. The combat is so lack luster that even fight a dragon is boring. The game would easily be a 9 out of 10 if the gameplay felt at least somewhat rewarding.
  26. Oct 28, 2016
    10
    This is the best "console" version of one of the greatest open world RPG's ever. What else needs to be said? It's an amazing game with an insane amount of content. And now console users are gaining access to mods as well. This is imo, an important step in console gaming. As a PC user I would like to apologize for all of the jaded "Supreme master race" PC users who are gonna talk crap.This is the best "console" version of one of the greatest open world RPG's ever. What else needs to be said? It's an amazing game with an insane amount of content. And now console users are gaining access to mods as well. This is imo, an important step in console gaming. As a PC user I would like to apologize for all of the jaded "Supreme master race" PC users who are gonna talk crap. We've been playing modded Skyrim for years and while it's true that the Special Edition doesn't offer anything new to PC users, it's free for anyone who already owns the content included in this version of the game. So there is absolutely no reason for PC users to be spreading any negativity about this remaster. For console users this is an amazing value and certainly worth it. Expand
  27. Nov 3, 2016
    4
    This is how lazy Bethesda was with this remaster: There's a mod called the "Unofficial Skyrim Special Edition Patch" which fixes bugs in the remaster. Keep in mind, these exact same bugs existed in the original Skyrim. Bethesda didn't even bother fixing them for the remaster. Apart from the usual graphical bells and whistles, this is the exact same thing as the original Skyrim. 4 for laziness.
  28. Oct 28, 2016
    9
    With the Skyrim: Special Edition you get exactly what you pay for. This is the same game as before, but with crisper quality, a bit faster loading times and mod-support. This game offers the perfect nostalgic feeling for old players with the same beautiful soundtrack, same amazingly written dialogue, hundreds of hours of fun and the good ol' awkward bugs from time to time. If you haven'tWith the Skyrim: Special Edition you get exactly what you pay for. This is the same game as before, but with crisper quality, a bit faster loading times and mod-support. This game offers the perfect nostalgic feeling for old players with the same beautiful soundtrack, same amazingly written dialogue, hundreds of hours of fun and the good ol' awkward bugs from time to time. If you haven't played Skyrim before at all, this is certainly a must-buy! Even if you have played Skyrim to its full extent I advise you to still give it a go. It may be a bit too expensive for those who already have played it, but if you plan to play it from start to finish again, you are paying for a lot of hours of fun!

    Note: Mods disable trophies!
    Expand
  29. May 20, 2017
    8
    I've played Oblivion but I never tried skyrim due to the "dark" imagery.. I thought it was too bland for me and the open world aspect looked boring.
    So I tried Witcher 3 which bored me(sorry if you disagree. GO ahead downvote my review I don't care. Witcher 3 is overrated, the story is boring...chasing after ciri gets old after 20 hours)....
    But I just got this game and after spending
    I've played Oblivion but I never tried skyrim due to the "dark" imagery.. I thought it was too bland for me and the open world aspect looked boring.
    So I tried Witcher 3 which bored me(sorry if you disagree. GO ahead downvote my review I don't care. Witcher 3 is overrated, the story is boring...chasing after ciri gets old after 20 hours)....

    But I just got this game and after spending time on it. I gotta say Bethesda KNOWS how to make a game feel alive and the quests are not ALL boring fetch quests. Some of them do have kick ass plots(ex: Dark brotherhood).

    I'm a hard to please gamer and I don't fall for hype of graphics and new shiny features. But the good reviews from this game are deserving. There are waaay too many open world games these days. This game is one that deserves to open world even if it makes it boring and repetitive at times(quests).

    Any reviewers giving this game anything below 6 should be ashamed of themselves.... They are dragging the User Score to 6.7. If I never played this game, this might have made me think this game was crap.... I would've missed out on it.

    Note: For those players who are complaining that it offers nothing new compared to PS3 and deserves a low rating.... Are you guys retarded??? NO DUH!! It's a re-release of an old game. DID YOU REPURCHASE THIS GAME EXPECTING A FRESH NEW STORY/GAMEPLAY? Come on.
    Expand
  30. Oct 31, 2016
    10
    I'm truly surprised at the low rating this game has. I had played it on pc and started playing this PS4 edition yesterday. The picture looks decent, the sound is amazing. After spending 3-4 hours playing, I'm sure I would want this game to never end. It feels like the first time. So I highly recommend to buy this game.
  31. Nov 1, 2016
    10
    Very worth it. I have played over 1000 hours across PS3, Xbox 360, and PC. On PC (i5 2500/HD7950/8GB) this game wouldn't even run if I had loaded mods making it look like this version.

    Now I have a PS4 version that looks better than my PC version, and looks the same as my PC version if I am running the SE version on PC (which I also obviously have. Also, FINALLY a stable version of
    Very worth it. I have played over 1000 hours across PS3, Xbox 360, and PC. On PC (i5 2500/HD7950/8GB) this game wouldn't even run if I had loaded mods making it look like this version.

    Now I have a PS4 version that looks better than my PC version, and looks the same as my PC version if I am running the SE version on PC (which I also obviously have.

    Also, FINALLY a stable version of Skyrim on console at last!
    Expand
  32. Oct 31, 2016
    10
    I loved Skyrim when I originally bought it, beat it but never played the DLC's. I wasn't going to re-buy it, didnt have anything going on this weekend, ended up buying it and had a absolute BLAST. Loved being back in Skyrim with the new graphics. They arent the best part though, along with getting to play the DLC, the LOADING TIMES ARE CUT AT LEAST IN HALF, HALLELUJAH LOL
  33. Nov 15, 2016
    7
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Special Edition isn't really something I'd call a special edition. The base game of Skyrim is here with all the DLC and updated graphics. Despite this, it still carries over the flaws from the original game such as the boring combat, repetitive side-quests, and buggy game play. I would only suggest this game if you have never played the original or loved theThe Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Special Edition isn't really something I'd call a special edition. The base game of Skyrim is here with all the DLC and updated graphics. Despite this, it still carries over the flaws from the original game such as the boring combat, repetitive side-quests, and buggy game play. I would only suggest this game if you have never played the original or loved the original to no end, but if you played it and had lukewarm feelings about it then this is nothing more than what you've played. Expand
  34. Nov 14, 2016
    7
    The game is just as fun as it used to be and the mods that are available allow it to be slightly more enjoyable than it had been before. Sadly this game isn't as awesome as it could be just because of the fact that it cannot be enjoyed like it can on the xbox because of the lack of mods. This game has made me see that xbox might be the way to go in the future for gaming. I also think thatThe game is just as fun as it used to be and the mods that are available allow it to be slightly more enjoyable than it had been before. Sadly this game isn't as awesome as it could be just because of the fact that it cannot be enjoyed like it can on the xbox because of the lack of mods. This game has made me see that xbox might be the way to go in the future for gaming. I also think that because of the fact that there is not as much actual content available to playstation users that the price should not have been as high as it was. Expand
  35. Nov 4, 2016
    9
    Skyrim es un juego que debes jugar SI o SI. Dicho esto, esta edición es imprescindible para dos tipos de público: los que no jugaron en su día y no disponen de un buen PC o los que su único contacto con el título fue la versión de PS3 o XBOX 360, la cual esta edición se come con patatas.

    Pero si dispones de un buen PC, con su opción de texturas de alta resolución, sus mods para poner el
    Skyrim es un juego que debes jugar SI o SI. Dicho esto, esta edición es imprescindible para dos tipos de público: los que no jugaron en su día y no disponen de un buen PC o los que su único contacto con el título fue la versión de PS3 o XBOX 360, la cual esta edición se come con patatas.

    Pero si dispones de un buen PC, con su opción de texturas de alta resolución, sus mods para poner el título a 4K y un frame rate personalizable, pues entiendo de veras que esta edición no suponga nada para ti.

    Lo que nos queda aquí es esto: la posibilidad de jugar a la mejor versión lanzada en consolas de uno de los mejores juegos que jamás se hayan creado, con todo su contenido y con una calidad de imagen que, si bien es mejorable, si que se nota el trabajo realizado en el remaster. Ni mas ni menos.
    Expand
  36. Jan 16, 2017
    5
    The only thing worthwhile about this edition is its addition of mods to the console. Every other feature is a minimal improvement in areas such as graphics and single quest content. Instead of deciding to improve gameplay or running capability Bethesda decided to take one of the easier ways out. This game is truly a glorified cash grab.

    Most of the fun my friends and I have had with
    The only thing worthwhile about this edition is its addition of mods to the console. Every other feature is a minimal improvement in areas such as graphics and single quest content. Instead of deciding to improve gameplay or running capability Bethesda decided to take one of the easier ways out. This game is truly a glorified cash grab.

    Most of the fun my friends and I have had with this game has been in the screwy things that spawn as a result of the mods conjoined with the usual fun had in playing the base game of Skyrim. This title really wasn't necessary.

    That being said, I do think this edition was additive to the Skyrim experience on console. The change in graphics really did brighten the previously dull atmosphere. The addition of mods opened a new set of opportunities to goof around with a beloved game. Part of the fun of Skyrim was in its rough brokenness; this game contributes to that fun (and I'm not saying that ironically).

    All in all, this game adds just enough to not be a sham, but certainly not enough to cost 60 big ones. If you can pick it up for 20 bucks or less it might be worth it.
    Expand
  37. May 29, 2018
    3
    Skyrim is probably my favourite game of all time. I've played it on PC, PS3, Xbox 360, Switch and now PS4. This version has a significant graphical upgrade from previous console versions, the ability to load in mods (albeit in a very limited fashion compared to the other platforms) and shorter load times (at least with the digital release, which is what I'm reviewing).

    So far, so
    Skyrim is probably my favourite game of all time. I've played it on PC, PS3, Xbox 360, Switch and now PS4. This version has a significant graphical upgrade from previous console versions, the ability to load in mods (albeit in a very limited fashion compared to the other platforms) and shorter load times (at least with the digital release, which is what I'm reviewing).

    So far, so good... but there's a massive problem with this release which you will only discover if playing with a surround sound system (5.1 or 7.1). The sound channels are completely messed up, particularly for speech.

    For some reason, the NPC's dialogue and other sounds comes out of the opposite left/right rear channels to what you would expect. So, if the NPC is on your right, their voice comes through the front right speaker (which is correct) and the rear left speakers (which is wrong!). And the reverse also happens.

    As well as ruining the immersion, this also makes locating potentially combatants confusing to impossible. I've tried to live with it, but it's a game breaker unless I force the PS4 into stereo output, which is a pretty miserable concession when every other PS4 game works just fine.

    This has been raised on Bethesda's forums, Bethesda's Twitter channel... but the problem remains to this day. It rather demonstrates a lack of proper quality testing (perhaps the QA testers only play with 2-channel headphones on?). The PS3 version doesn't have this problem (although it has many many other problems). The Nintendo Switch version also doesn't have this problem, and I have been told the Xbox One version is also fine. I have loads of other games that use 7.1 sound perfectly (such as Uncharted 4). The problem is solely with Skyrim.

    In short, if you have (and use) a multi-speaker surround sound system, buy this game on anything but the PS4.
    Expand
  38. Sep 12, 2020
    10
    Skyrim is by far one of the best rpg ever made. My favorite game of all time!
  39. Jan 20, 2021
    1
    Skyrim is the most overrated game of all time.

    That's an objective fact. I've never played a game more shallow, devoid of life, and lacking than Skyrim. I'm sure you're thinking "But there's so much to do in this game! How can you ever get tired of it?!" Every single quest in the game is as shallow as a kiddy pool. Add to that the terrible voice acting and writing and you have a game
    Skyrim is the most overrated game of all time.

    That's an objective fact. I've never played a game more shallow, devoid of life, and lacking than Skyrim. I'm sure you're thinking "But there's so much to do in this game! How can you ever get tired of it?!" Every single quest in the game is as shallow as a kiddy pool. Add to that the terrible voice acting and writing and you have a game that isn't worth your time or money.

    The writing might be the worst part about the game. This game feels like they got a bunch of high school students to write it. It's about your character (the Dragonborn, which is a name i can't say without cracking up) being chosen as "the One" to defeat Alduin (A dragon who, surprise surprise, is going to destroy the world). I've definitely never heard that one before (Sarcasm). I would go into detail, but what's the point? You already know how it ends.

    The gameplay is what makes skyrim terrible. Here's a summary of it. You go into a town, talk to somebody who tells you to go talk to somebody in a town on the complete opposite end of the map and then you walk to the next town. Then that guy usually tells you to go talk to somebody in a town all the way back where i basically was. And then you walk to that town, and that guy will make you do some meaningless errand, and then the mission ends. Now imagine doing that over, and over, and over, and over, and over, and over. You can technically fast travel to these places, but you can only fast travel to places once you've been there. By that time, there's only a few missions left. You're basically forced to walk everywhere. That's the main problem of skyrim. It's a glorified walking simulator.

    Besides the main missions, there's nothing to do in skyrim. There are technically a lot of side quests, but there so short and pointless that you get bored of them fast. There's a lot of dungeons, but you quickly realize that they're all the same. You enter, kill a bunch of enemies, make it to the boss, and once you've defeated him, you learn a spell and collect some treasure. That also gets old very fast. You can also get married and adopt kids, but again, there's no depth or detail in the system. You get an amulet from a guy in a temple, and then you talk to a random person, and then ask them to marry you. That's it. Adopting is even worse. You literally just talk to a random kid, ask them if you can adopt them, and again, that's it. You don't even have to pay for anything.

    The biggest gripe i have with this game is the fact that it's not an RPG. None of the choices you make affect the story. You're forced to play the same generic hero role Bethesda wants you to play. I tried to be mean to everybody, yet the game doesn't let you. The little bit of "customization" this game has is also (are you ready for it?) shallow. All you can do is make outfits out of various things you collect, which should be awesome, but there's no unique aspect to it. it's the same outfit that everybody else can make. What's the fun in that?

    Oh yeah, and the game's buggy as hell to boot. There's been several times where i fell through the world, several dragons became unkillable, and the game crashed at several points for no reason. This was on the latest patch of the game.

    The graphics are nothing to write home about. Everything just looks plain and drab. Some of the valleys and peaks look nice, but most things just look...dull.

    The music, while good, isn't anything special. When you compare it to other scores by Jeremy Soule, it feels like he wrote this on Auto-Pilot. There aren't many memorable pieces outside of the Main theme.

    It truly blows my mind how a game this terrible can be praised like this.
    Expand
  40. Nov 1, 2016
    4
    I understand why they re-released it, I understand why it is selling well, but I can't justify them selling the exact same game to people with an upgrade here or there, release it with at least some new content, quests, game enhancements, new mechanics, literally anything. 4 out of 10 and it gets a 4 literally just because Skyrim is a good game.
  41. Oct 29, 2016
    10
    Huge improvement over the PS3 version. The negative reviews are mostly people who are complaining about the steep price (they haven't even played it) or are comparing it to PC.

    This version has added a lot for the Sony crowd (mod support, albeit limited; improved sound; improved graphics; better performance; etc) It's a great buy for a first-time Skyrim player, probably not worth $60
    Huge improvement over the PS3 version. The negative reviews are mostly people who are complaining about the steep price (they haven't even played it) or are comparing it to PC.

    This version has added a lot for the Sony crowd (mod support, albeit limited; improved sound; improved graphics; better performance; etc) It's a great buy for a first-time Skyrim player, probably not worth $60 for someone coming back to the game again, but wait for a price drop and it will be worth it. This is what Skyrim for console should have been the first time it was released - but better late than never I suppose.
    Expand
  42. Oct 28, 2016
    10
    How to rate a game that is a remaster of a game that is a gaming icon like GTA5?

    Simple, if you havent played it--and enjoy RPGs--BUY IT and plan to spend 100+ hours immersed in one of the seminal games of our generation. If you HAVE completed it then you know exactly whether to buy this version or not.. As for me, I am loving losing another 100+ hours of my life to the world of
    How to rate a game that is a remaster of a game that is a gaming icon like GTA5?

    Simple, if you havent played it--and enjoy RPGs--BUY IT and plan to spend 100+ hours immersed in one of the seminal games of our generation.

    If you HAVE completed it then you know exactly whether to buy this version or not..

    As for me, I am loving losing another 100+ hours of my life to the world of Skyrim Enhanced
    Expand
  43. Oct 2, 2017
    0
    I'm being overly dramatic on the score, the game is fine, but rereleasing a 6-year-old single player game to add microtransactions is frankly unacceptable and that's why it deserves a zero.
  44. Oct 28, 2016
    10
    Awesome game, still the good old Skyrim with better graphics, better performance and the ability to use mod. Also, just the ability to play on a PS4 is great.
  45. Oct 28, 2016
    5
    Obviously for financial reasons, bethesda decided to make THIS PORT of a good game for new consoles that in general doesn't add anything relatively new in the experience. The graphics are worse than PC. And yet, the framerate remains at 30fps. If you never played this game, worth buying it. But if you have an medium-PC, buy the PC version for less money. Ignore completely this consoleObviously for financial reasons, bethesda decided to make THIS PORT of a good game for new consoles that in general doesn't add anything relatively new in the experience. The graphics are worse than PC. And yet, the framerate remains at 30fps. If you never played this game, worth buying it. But if you have an medium-PC, buy the PC version for less money. Ignore completely this console version, which in my opinion NOT WORTH THE FULL PRICE $60. Thank GOD I could sell my copy for $50, at least that. Expand
  46. Oct 29, 2016
    8
    Skyrim has been the proverbial thorn in my side ever since it's initial release. If you tell another fellow gamer that you have never played Skyrim before your credibility goes out the window faster than a farmer's daughter's first sexually active boyfriend. So naturally, I finally decided to give it a shot. Skyrim is a beautiful and massive rpg developed by the beloved BethesdaSkyrim has been the proverbial thorn in my side ever since it's initial release. If you tell another fellow gamer that you have never played Skyrim before your credibility goes out the window faster than a farmer's daughter's first sexually active boyfriend. So naturally, I finally decided to give it a shot. Skyrim is a beautiful and massive rpg developed by the beloved Bethesda studios. My first impression was that for a complete remaster Skyrim didn't look all that great, especially considering fps was still locked at 30. Wtf? However, after about 3 hours my frame rate concerns were completely overwhelmed by a completely immersive experience, followed closely by a grand sense of exploration. Several times I caught myself veering way of the beaten path a story mission had me following just so I could see what was on the other side of a certain hilltop. I tend to forget what I was doing quite often. This could be a negative to some, but for me it was awe inspiring. With so much to level up, skills to learn, weapons to use, armor to wear, things to craft, you could certainly feel overwhelmed but none of that ever hindered my ability to enjoy playing the game. Skyrim is a true testament to the last generation, and I'm sure a game to be talked about and enjoyed years to come. I gotta say that before I bought Skyrim, I was playing Battlefield 1 almost exclusively, and even though I can't wait to get back on the battlefield I just can't tear myself away from Skyrim. I admit to the reader I am not even close to making a dent in Skyrim's campaign, but I am super confident that what I have played so far is par for the coarse. If you are looking to play Skyrim for the first time then you should do yourself a favor and get started. Players looking to revisit might be a little disappointed, especially on PC. Bethesda locking Skyrim at 30 fps on console is a bit frustrating but as I said before it is over shadowed by what the game has to offer on a pure gameplay level. I think it is safe to say that the combat in Skyrim has not aged well, but fun none the less. Long story short; If you have played Skyrim already maybe you should steer clear. I don't think that what Skyrim remastered has to offer warrants 60 dollars for those who have already played it on consoles. If you have NEVER played Skyrim like me, then it is definitely a must buy. Especially for those of you who consider yourselves to be RPG fans. Expand
  47. Oct 29, 2016
    10
    A better graphic engines, mod supports like Fallout 4, it remain the old Skyrim's storyline and this game is still one of the best RPG game currently selling.
  48. Apr 3, 2017
    0
    Failure to negotiate a way to allow external assets onto the PS4 makes this a complete waste of time compared to Xbox and PC. It's the game you've already bought once with a *slight* improvement to the graphics. No other gameplay changes/bug fixes to be seen here. Do not buy.
  49. Nov 5, 2016
    7
    Even if I have played through this 10+ times on the Ps3, I bought it on my Ps4. It is not worth 60 bucks. The game does not look so much better on the Ps4, trust me. If you don`t believe me search it up. Everyone knows what Skyrim is by now anyways, so don`t buy it now. Wait till you can pick it up for 30-40 bucks.
  50. Oct 28, 2016
    9
    Ignore the people giving this game a low score because of the price tag; Skyrim is an immense, fun, practically endless experience that you could play for hours and hours. I rated it a 9 when it came out in 2011, and I'm giving it the same score now.

    The graphical improvements are definitely nice, but when it comes down to it, they don't hold a candle to the likes of Uncharted 4, DOOM,
    Ignore the people giving this game a low score because of the price tag; Skyrim is an immense, fun, practically endless experience that you could play for hours and hours. I rated it a 9 when it came out in 2011, and I'm giving it the same score now.

    The graphical improvements are definitely nice, but when it comes down to it, they don't hold a candle to the likes of Uncharted 4, DOOM, and a few other games, but that's to be expected. As a remaster for such an old game, Bethesda did a very good job at being what a remaster is supposed to be; The exact same game, code and all, that has improved textures, lighting effects, etcetera.

    All I can say is that if you're a current gamer, or even just getting into games, Skyrim is a must-have.
    Expand
  51. Oct 29, 2016
    10
    Skyrim Special Edition is a love letter from Bethesda to fans of the game. Yes, it is a 6 years old game, and yes this is yet another remaster for PS4, but TBH, I spent 100+ Hours on the original version, and I pirated it for PC, given that I didnt pay for that one, Im more than happy to pay 60usd for this one, even when I already have played through it. For returning fans like me, its upSkyrim Special Edition is a love letter from Bethesda to fans of the game. Yes, it is a 6 years old game, and yes this is yet another remaster for PS4, but TBH, I spent 100+ Hours on the original version, and I pirated it for PC, given that I didnt pay for that one, Im more than happy to pay 60usd for this one, even when I already have played through it. For returning fans like me, its up to you if this game is worth the price, opinions are quite divided here. I think it is.

    FOR NEWCOMERS: This is the best RPG out there, it has insane amounts of content unlike most AAA games nowadays.

    CONTENT: This game is up there with The Witcher 3 and GTA V in terms of content. And it is good content. Every quest has its own little story, and you can do everything from getting married, joining covenants to killing dragons or exploring dungeons.

    GRAPHICS: A little lackluster for todays standards, but the adition of some lighting engines and nice little enhancements, combined with the beautiful open world make for some amazing views when outside. Graphics look the worse when indoors but even then it is nothing unplayable.

    GAMEPLAY: Combat is nothing to run home about, its not an Arkham game, however it is good enough to be fun. Several weapon classes and variation in spells, in adition to the awesome VOICE powers make for some really cool combinations, and offer everyone a way to fight like they want to. Be a mage, be a swordsman, be both. You can choose.

    OVERALL: This game is a 10/10. If you havent played it and only have a console, making it impossible for you to pirate it on PC and play with 8K textures at 120fps, go buy it. It is more than worth it. If you have a PC capable of running the awesome mods that the community has created, go pirate/buy it there instead.
    Expand
  52. Oct 28, 2016
    2
    Look, its Skyrim, Still a fantastic game. But comparing the original release to special edition there really isn't much to run home about. The graphics upgrade hardly warrants a second purchase. If you already own the game, don't rebuy. If you have never played it then I might suggest picking it up, but just keep in mind that 60 bucks is pretty steep considering you can make a betterLook, its Skyrim, Still a fantastic game. But comparing the original release to special edition there really isn't much to run home about. The graphics upgrade hardly warrants a second purchase. If you already own the game, don't rebuy. If you have never played it then I might suggest picking it up, but just keep in mind that 60 bucks is pretty steep considering you can make a better looking game with the original and some texture mods. Expand
  53. Oct 28, 2016
    10
    Thank God Skyrim is back! Yes, the same old game I've spent hundreds of hours in but this time available on my PS4. If you're expecting something new, this is not your game. If you, just like me, are looking forward to another hundreds of hours creating epic characters, smashing skulls or sneaking around the living and the dead, this is again your game. It looks amazing and it plays evenThank God Skyrim is back! Yes, the same old game I've spent hundreds of hours in but this time available on my PS4. If you're expecting something new, this is not your game. If you, just like me, are looking forward to another hundreds of hours creating epic characters, smashing skulls or sneaking around the living and the dead, this is again your game. It looks amazing and it plays even better. Forget all the newcomers. The disappointments and the wannabes, this is Skyrim and it's here to stay! Expand
  54. Nov 1, 2016
    5
    Let's see. The game is from 2011. The game does NOT run at 60fps. The games has an initial price of 59.99$.
    Those are the facts.
    Sorry Bethesda but even a game like Skyrim can't justify such price.
  55. Nov 11, 2016
    5
    I have played this game on PC in 2011 for 200+ hours or so. This is DLC included. After 5 years I felt like playing this remastered game again on PS4. But come on Bethesda, did you just re-release this game for cash cow purposes? From the start, this game is filled with bugs and glitches. Even more than I encountered in 2011! That is just sad for a remastered version.
    On top of this, the
    I have played this game on PC in 2011 for 200+ hours or so. This is DLC included. After 5 years I felt like playing this remastered game again on PS4. But come on Bethesda, did you just re-release this game for cash cow purposes? From the start, this game is filled with bugs and glitches. Even more than I encountered in 2011! That is just sad for a remastered version.
    On top of this, the latest patch was the last straw. The game crashes all the time. I have stopped playing and sold the game.
    Even so, without these problems I probably would have played another 200 hours or so. So my opinion if you want to buy this game? Wait until the price is dropped and the game is fixed correctly. You can buy The Witcher 3 GOTY for less, and it is 10 times better at this point.
    Expand
  56. Nov 5, 2016
    6
    Skyrim remains one of my favourite games of all time, with my 11 year old self spending way over 200hrs across 10 different playthroughs, back in 2011. However, despite my rose-tinted spectacles I cannot deny that the PS4 special edition isn't anything 'special'. To clarify, Bethesda's improvement of the visuals & graphical fidelity of the game does not justify the lack of any realSkyrim remains one of my favourite games of all time, with my 11 year old self spending way over 200hrs across 10 different playthroughs, back in 2011. However, despite my rose-tinted spectacles I cannot deny that the PS4 special edition isn't anything 'special'. To clarify, Bethesda's improvement of the visuals & graphical fidelity of the game does not justify the lack of any real overhaul of the game; glitches, terrible AI & bugs are still rife in the world of Skyrim, and they all compound to emphasise how poorly this game has aged (I some times have trouble going back to play TES V or even Oblivion). Furthermore, the updates to graphics on all versions still do not surpass that of what mods are capable of on the PC (obviously) so-if you can-just play the PC version if you're really concerned with graphical superiority.
    If you are a console owner, who has yet to play Skyrim, and are not bothered by any of the above: then I would recommend Skyrim Special Edition, as Skyrim is one of the best western RPG's ever released (just don't expect it to hold up to modern RPG standards, as it is quite dated & of course comes packaged with the classic Bethesda charm).
    Expand
  57. Nov 29, 2016
    10
    Skyrim was my first Elder Scrolls and I immediately became a fan for life.
    The game is nigh perfect. My only complaint, which is always my complaint, is I wish there was more character development and story. I want characters to matter. I want to care about them.
    Serana in Dawnguard was what I want from all main NPCs, but even she wasn't enough. Sadly, this is just how sandbox games
    Skyrim was my first Elder Scrolls and I immediately became a fan for life.
    The game is nigh perfect. My only complaint, which is always my complaint, is I wish there was more character development and story. I want characters to matter. I want to care about them.
    Serana in Dawnguard was what I want from all main NPCs, but even she wasn't enough.
    Sadly, this is just how sandbox games are.
    Skyrim is as close to perfect as you can get.
    As for bugs and glitches. I don't care. I played this on PS3 and only had a few very minor issues.
    Expand
  58. Mar 4, 2017
    7
    It's a fun game, but the world feels overwhelming sometimes. Like there's too much stuff to do. And I didn't find myself caring about the characters. I ended up giving up on trying to care and rushed through the story just to try to get done with it. I know in my head it's a great game but it just doesn't have the "it factor" that Fallout 4 did.
  59. Feb 9, 2017
    4
    The game is unplayable because there is a glitch when you save it says 0kb left even tho I have a 2tb hardrive so I cannot go 5 minutes without having to close the game and go back into it and have it not work properly. The game was a disaster on PS3 and is shaping to be a desaster on the PS4. Bethesda is my favorite gaming company been here since oblivion this is unacceptable fix it andThe game is unplayable because there is a glitch when you save it says 0kb left even tho I have a 2tb hardrive so I cannot go 5 minutes without having to close the game and go back into it and have it not work properly. The game was a disaster on PS3 and is shaping to be a desaster on the PS4. Bethesda is my favorite gaming company been here since oblivion this is unacceptable fix it and I'll give a 10/10 Expand
  60. Oct 28, 2016
    8
    The game looks very beautiful. I am happy that the PS4 version does not offer console commands that spoil the experience. A bit expensive, though, after also purchasing it on PC and XBOX 360 in the past...
  61. Nov 3, 2016
    0
    Please don't buy this game!!! Then game companies know they can get away with selling the SAME exact game in 5 year intervals with MINOR improvements. It is absolutely disgraceful.
  62. Oct 31, 2016
    0
    Eighty dollars for a remastered game that I have already played???

    No thanks............$20 and I would probably buy it.

    Fix the bugs and add something worthwhile if you are going to charge full price.
  63. Oct 29, 2016
    10
    No, no and no to all the critics. Its hugely improved compared to the ps3 version and is also better than the pc version - as i have both. Totally wonderfull, exciting game - one of the best ever - and there is a huge new feeling, like being the present in a sometimes almost breathtaking beautyfull and excting world. I dont think its just one cent too expensive. Its a must have. The bestNo, no and no to all the critics. Its hugely improved compared to the ps3 version and is also better than the pc version - as i have both. Totally wonderfull, exciting game - one of the best ever - and there is a huge new feeling, like being the present in a sometimes almost breathtaking beautyfull and excting world. I dont think its just one cent too expensive. Its a must have. The best game ever (many think it is) looking better than ever. There are a few places, like a rock or edge of grass which is still from the old version, but very few. As it is here, definately the best game available, because it already was the best game, now with very enhanced graphics - both in details and 3d feeling - and also in sound. there are games with a better graphic, like the new Battlefield 1, but its not many. There is absolutely a cinamatic feeling in the new PS4 version. Come on to the whiners:) - a huge game like that would be almost impossible to make quite in the BF quality regarding graphics and u know it. Buy it - and i'm not Bethesda employee:) U wont be disappointed Expand
  64. Oct 30, 2016
    0
    This game was released, in 2011!!! Alright, this release has improved textures (but not really different from original PC version), but overall game mechanics and everything else, just doesn't really correspond year 2016. It's DATED.
    There is nothing in this release, to justify 59 price tag. No new content, no new nothing. Creators of the original game most definitely got just zero from
    This game was released, in 2011!!! Alright, this release has improved textures (but not really different from original PC version), but overall game mechanics and everything else, just doesn't really correspond year 2016. It's DATED.
    There is nothing in this release, to justify 59 price tag. No new content, no new nothing. Creators of the original game most definitely got just zero from it.
    Yet another publisher making money out of the air.
    Expand
  65. Oct 28, 2016
    1
    Exactly the same game only with better graphics. Graphics that you can get with mods. The same bugs and the same things. Poor work of Bethesda.
    Why lose the time with this **** and don't remaster morrowind/oblivion or do TES VI?
  66. Jan 3, 2017
    7
    Skyrim Special Edition is a bit of a disappointment. Instead of trying to improve the game for the remaster, Bethesda's only focus was to make the game look prettier with water-color textures and other stuff like that. They could have really improved Skyrim's issues to make it the near-masterpiece it could have been. But no.
    Also, why did they not remaster Oblivion instead? 2016 does mark
    Skyrim Special Edition is a bit of a disappointment. Instead of trying to improve the game for the remaster, Bethesda's only focus was to make the game look prettier with water-color textures and other stuff like that. They could have really improved Skyrim's issues to make it the near-masterpiece it could have been. But no.
    Also, why did they not remaster Oblivion instead? 2016 does mark the 10 year anniversary of Oblivion. I don't care if "It'll be a big job" because it really won't. It's a game that came out in **** 2006, 10 years ago. It won't be overly hard to improve the graphics and solve the issues that were present in Oblivion. And I don't care if it got pushed to 2017. The point is, Oblivion needed a remaster more. Skyrim Special Edition isn't a bad game, but very unnecesary, and a tad of laziness was shown on Bethesda's part.
    Expand
  67. Oct 29, 2016
    2
    This score is intended for the vast majority who have played the game on older consoles and are thinking about buying for mods and graphics improvements. First the mods are unbelievably limited on ps4. So much so, in my opinion it would have been better to advertise this version as without including mods. You wont see any mods that really change your experience for a new play through.This score is intended for the vast majority who have played the game on older consoles and are thinking about buying for mods and graphics improvements. First the mods are unbelievably limited on ps4. So much so, in my opinion it would have been better to advertise this version as without including mods. You wont see any mods that really change your experience for a new play through. Graphics look a little worse than I remember with unrealistic npcs, out dated "blocky" environment, muted colors and bugs galore. All said and done I'm selling my copy for $40 and I personally wouldn't pay over $20 for it. Mods 0/10; Graphics 3/10 Expand
  68. Nov 3, 2016
    5
    Same game higher price for x box one and ps4.
    If you never played this game you might consider buying it.
    Otherwise the pc version with graphics mods is always superior.
  69. Oct 28, 2016
    1
    One of the best games thats been sugar coated with an outragesous price tag. Blah blah blah it's still a six year old game. Great for the sheep and fan boys.
  70. Oct 29, 2016
    3
    крутые разрабы крутой компании курят от стыда в сторонке, как как не смогли даже рядом повторить то что сделали модеры самоучки. стыд и срам!
  71. Dec 17, 2016
    4
    the mods don't add much to the PS4 version of the game and the game itself is great if you haven't played it already on other systems before. Stick to the PC version.
  72. Nov 3, 2016
    0
    DON'T BUY THIS VERSION OF THE GAME. Wait until the superior Nintendo Switch version launches next year.

    There is nothing that this version can do that that version can't do on the go.
  73. Nov 2, 2016
    0
    Bethesda Softworks lazy so blatantly to take the game 2011 and to desecrate it, to 4 fallout I thought this publisher is the only one who would never stoop to the level of Activision, but I'm never wrong.
    In the game there are only disadvantages:
    1 Manager mods(I believe the old editor mods more convenient) 2 Price in my currency in steam 23.65 USD(in the following paragraphs I will
    Bethesda Softworks lazy so blatantly to take the game 2011 and to desecrate it, to 4 fallout I thought this publisher is the only one who would never stoop to the level of Activision, but I'm never wrong.
    In the game there are only disadvantages:
    1 Manager mods(I believe the old editor mods more convenient)
    2 Price in my currency in steam 23.65 USD(in the following paragraphs I will explain why I believe this price is extortionate)
    3 Graphic of the game looks like Bethesda took the mod and put in the game (there are mods that makes the game more beautiful than Bethesda did)
    4 Animation (she was "wooden" and left)
    I know that Bethesda won't hear, but suddenly Todd Howard will want to see the feedback on his "new" game and see my comment and come to their senses and will make future games not for teaching profit, and in order that the players played and enjoyed the game.
    Once upon a time I bought the legendary version and 3 friends gave skyrim without DLC (something they bought DLC and I bought a couple of games by Bethesda), so I would like to thank the publisher, and he doesn't want to try.
    Expand
  74. Nov 1, 2016
    1
    Still one of the most overrated pieces of turd I've ever had the misfortune of even looking at. It's not even worth TWO PENNIES! It's like the number 'V' has a curse of being the worst game in a franchise; And it all started with this abomination that shouldn't even be called a RPG, then it leaked into GTA then Metal Gear.

    EVERYTHING STILL LOOKS GRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY BY THE WAY
    Still one of the most overrated pieces of turd I've ever had the misfortune of even looking at. It's not even worth TWO PENNIES! It's like the number 'V' has a curse of being the worst game in a franchise; And it all started with this abomination that shouldn't even be called a RPG, then it leaked into GTA then Metal Gear.

    EVERYTHING STILL LOOKS GRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY BY THE WAY GRAY MONOCHROME CAVES TREES MOUNTAINS, OR UMMMMMM EVERYTHING!

    This story and dialogue is written terribly from the moment you start the game, none of it redeems itself beginning to end. (Michael Kirkbride isn't part of the writing staff as well)

    THE GAMEPLAY OH GOD THE GAMEPLAY. THE ADDITION OF KILL ANIMATIONS, EXPLOIT YOUR WAY TO THE HIGHEST LEVEL, GO THE FORGE AND CRAFT YOURSELF 1000 DAGGERS AND MORE,

    VIOLENCE IS FUN huh... WRONG! NO DEPTHS. KILL ANIMATIONS HUH THATS TOSH. This addition to Elder Scrolls is like why GTA is more popular then Shenmue, WORSE BUT CELEBRATED CAUSE VIIIIIIIIIOOOOOOOOOOLENCCCCE!!!!!

    If you like looking at characters who somehow look like more disgusting higher poly versions of the 5 poly faces in morrowind. (HA IT'S WORSE!) OBLIVION SOMEHOW HAS BETTER LOOKING AND MORE EMOTIVE CHARACTERS. OBLIVION EVEN HAD A PERSUASION SYSTEM THAT'S MISSING IN THIS ONE. (PLUS, WHAT THE HELL IS UP WITH THE REDGUARDS?!?!? ORCS?! khajiit?! ARGONIANS?!????! OR MOST RACES! THEY ARE ABSOLUTE TRASH IN SKYRIM!)

    DRAGONS ARE SO STUPID. THEY MAKE FIGHTS SUPER LAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IF YOU WERE A DRAGON WOULD YOU LAND WHERE EVERYONE CAN ATTACK YOU EVEN THOUGH YOUR GREATEST WEAPON IS FIRE BREATH AND FLIGHT! THAT IS NOT HOW DRAGONS WOULD FIGHT! DRAGON'S DOGMA HAS WAY BETTER EXAMPLES OF FIGHTS WITH DRAGONS!

    CLASS SYSTEM OR MOST SUBSYSTEMS ARE GONE.
    PERKS ADDED... WHAT IS THIS CALL OF DUTY? OH WAIT IT BASICALLY IS!
    ONLY SIMPLIFIED OPTIONS! WAIT LET'S JUST ADD INSTA-WIN ABILITIES! DUMBED DOWN STREAMLINED CRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAP!

    YOU LIKE FIGHTING THE SAME THING OVER AND OVER AND OVER AgAIN?! BASICALLY JUST SKELETONS AND SPIDERS IN DUNGEONS!

    VOICE CAST IS WEAK. NO UNIQUE VOICES THAT I'VE NOTICED. I mean it's not like I'm asking for Patrick Stewart like in Oblivion, BUT EVERYONE SOUNDS THE GODDESSDAMN SAME!

    MAGIC IS SUPER DUUUUUUUUMB IN THIS GAME. YOU HAVE TO ALLOCATE A HAND MAGIC. NO WEAPONS WHILE USING MAGIC. HOW DO THEY JUSTIFY IT? SHOUTS?! WTF WERE THEY THINKING! OBLIVION HAD A WAY BETTER AND PRACTICAL SYSTEM! AND OBLIVION DOESN'T TAKE 40 SECONDS TO CAST SOMETHING. OR NEED TO GO BACK INTO THE MENU AND EQUIP MAGIC EVERYTIME!

    DLC BECOME VAMPIRE! BUILD HOUSE! DO THINGS THAT ARE DONE WAY BETTER IN OTHER GAMES THAT AREN'T CALLED SKYRIM!

    THIS GAME SUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCCCCCCCCCCCKKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Expand
  75. Jan 1, 2017
    10
    A remaster of one of the best games ever what's not too like. I'm playing it all over again and I love it. One for the collection. Keep up the great work Bethesda!
  76. Apr 6, 2017
    6
    I really hate to give Skyrim, one of my favorite PS3 games, a score so low. But in terms of a remaster, as a "Special Edition," this fails on quite a few levels. The graphics do not look all that better to be truthful, and in some areas of the game, I actually consider to be inferior than the 7th gen version. The E3 trailer made it appear like they had redone the game from the ground up,I really hate to give Skyrim, one of my favorite PS3 games, a score so low. But in terms of a remaster, as a "Special Edition," this fails on quite a few levels. The graphics do not look all that better to be truthful, and in some areas of the game, I actually consider to be inferior than the 7th gen version. The E3 trailer made it appear like they had redone the game from the ground up, but that is far from the case. The lighting mostly looks better, but sometimes, doesn't. And for a special edition, this game adds very little. It came with all the DLC, which i liked, having not bought any for the PS3 version. But shortly after reading the back cover you realize.... that's it. You payed $60 for a game you already own. Yeah sure, playing it with a dualshock 4 is nice, and there are a lot of bug fixes obviously, but there is absolutely no value here for those who already own the game. For new players, I recommend this game fully. Please, go buy it now. But for returning players like myself, just save your cash for ES6, you know, if it ever comes out. Expand
  77. Nov 29, 2016
    10
    I bought this years back for the 360 and never played it. So I decided to buy it again for the PS4 and I'm loving every minute of this game. I see alot of people saying 'its a bad remaster' 'the graphics are horrible'. But who really cares about graphics? The quests are so fun and I just love it. There is a reason why Skyrim won over 200 game award people. Just keep playing. Trust me.
  78. Nov 15, 2016
    4
    The most boring combat in an RPG i have seen in a while and graphics that look like they are out of Everquest. Hard to get into when much better options exist. Although the story might be interesting, it just couldn't capture me and immerse me. As I ran around the beginning levels all I was doing is hitting right trigger constantly. Compare this with Wither 3 which has a dynamic andThe most boring combat in an RPG i have seen in a while and graphics that look like they are out of Everquest. Hard to get into when much better options exist. Although the story might be interesting, it just couldn't capture me and immerse me. As I ran around the beginning levels all I was doing is hitting right trigger constantly. Compare this with Wither 3 which has a dynamic and engaging combat system or Shadow of Mordor which again has a great combat system. You want to feel like your personal skill matters and I did not get that feeling here. As for the graphics, they are very very very dated and not amazing at all. Characters we washed out, dirty and not even the females looked nice. There wasn't a single character that I really was attracted to play. The cut scenes were similarly dirty and just sub par compared to today's graphics. I give it 4 on the story and no more. Expand
  79. Nov 19, 2016
    2
    Having not played Skyrim before I was excited to discover what so many were talking about. Launching the game also launched a growing disapointment in what I payed $69AUD for. The game is tired, clunky and there is little graphically to interest. I had realised that all the positive reviews from friends and youtube were people who had played the game years ago. They were influenced byHaving not played Skyrim before I was excited to discover what so many were talking about. Launching the game also launched a growing disapointment in what I payed $69AUD for. The game is tired, clunky and there is little graphically to interest. I had realised that all the positive reviews from friends and youtube were people who had played the game years ago. They were influenced by nostalgia as years ago this would have been a great game. For a new player this game is little more than a waste of time. Expand
  80. Nov 23, 2016
    3
    Step right up ladies and gentlemen ! For the measly sum of 40-50 pounds you too can experience the wonder 5 year old game with fatal flaws that actually hard crash your console ! Want to see all kinds of bugs and glitches with some of the most janky animation and player faces ever ? We got you covered ! It was never acceptable for this game to be as unfinished as it was 5 years ago, itStep right up ladies and gentlemen ! For the measly sum of 40-50 pounds you too can experience the wonder 5 year old game with fatal flaws that actually hard crash your console ! Want to see all kinds of bugs and glitches with some of the most janky animation and player faces ever ? We got you covered ! It was never acceptable for this game to be as unfinished as it was 5 years ago, it doesn't work properly and it never did, Bethesda had 5 years to polish up and fix skyrim for the next gen and did absolutely nothing but make it look a bit better, it's a joke . Expand
  81. Nov 19, 2017
    8
    Truly shocked at some of poor reviews for this amazing game. Even 6 years after the original version, this game feels great. Over 100 hours in and I still haven't finished the main quests. There's so much to do! I wouldn't mind having to think a little bit more on some of the quests, and it would be nice to have explore a bit more to find things without a marker showing you where to go.Truly shocked at some of poor reviews for this amazing game. Even 6 years after the original version, this game feels great. Over 100 hours in and I still haven't finished the main quests. There's so much to do! I wouldn't mind having to think a little bit more on some of the quests, and it would be nice to have explore a bit more to find things without a marker showing you where to go. Games need to stop holding our hands! Expand
  82. Jan 23, 2017
    3
    "We love money". Bethesda releases an updated version of the 2011 game and sells it at a price just released Battlefield 1 and Mafia 3. But thanks to developers we can say at least for the fact that we do not need to buy add-ons. Glad that continue to release updates, the game will not throw.
  83. Feb 1, 2018
    0
    A truly wonderful game that was rendered unplayable by bugs that I think Microsoft put there to poison this game for PS4 owners, a pity. Bosses froze up after a hit or 2 and monsters had half their sprites smeared all over, a mess.
  84. Mar 7, 2017
    1
    This game is absolute horse **** in every way. The game lacks the ability to be obtuse and unconventional. I'd rather play mini clip all day. In my opinion the only good thing is the colors, I didn't even know there was that many goddamn colors in the **** rainbow..
  85. Nov 7, 2017
    8
    One of my favorite games ever. I have purchased this game 3 times (Xbox 360, Xbox One, PS4 when I realized Xbox is garbage)

    Graphically, this game is nothing special. What makes it great is the huge amount of content and giant open world to immerse yourself in.
  86. Nov 5, 2017
    8
    Skyrim Special Edition brings the epic fantasy to life in detail. The Special Edition includes the game and add-ons with all-new features like remastered art and effects, volumetric god rays, dynamic depth of field, screen-space reflections, and more.
  87. Nov 15, 2017
    10
    nice job Bethesda .Good game not the best but stil good for the switch and nintendo and its 3d party.Hope you do more titles in the future on the switch.
  88. Dec 2, 2017
    1
    The Game could have been a masterpiece if it wasnt for the many Buggs.
    While many can argue about it being a good elder scrolls i will focus on the game itself with no relations to the older titles which i played as well.
    The world is big and fun but once youve seen all the spotts the gets boring after its been played completly once. The story isnt the best but had potential. The real
    The Game could have been a masterpiece if it wasnt for the many Buggs.
    While many can argue about it being a good elder scrolls i will focus on the game itself with no relations to the older titles which i played as well.
    The world is big and fun but once youve seen all the spotts the gets boring after its been played completly once. The story isnt the best but had potential. The real issue is that this game is so badly bugged that it will frustate you pretty fast. Quests are broken and game freezes frequently and since the game release on the PS3 they didnt anything about it, they port the to every possible plattform and cahrge money over and over but dont do anything to solve the buggs at all no mathere where you play it on.
    Expand
  89. Dec 23, 2018
    1
    Okay, 2011, ps3 - 30 fps. But, 2016, new generation, ps4 - still 30 fps. Seriously? Thanks Bethesda, but no
  90. Oct 20, 2020
    0
    Игра, которая не прошла проверку временем. Если в какую-нибудь Gothic 2 играть по прежнему интересно, то Скайрим безнадежно устарел. В нем плохо абсолютно все. Нет, всё же кое-что сделано хорошо: интересно внутриигровые книжки читать с историей вселенной свитков. Сама вселенная свитков это такое примитивное фэнтези в духе дешёвого русского фэнтези от неизвестных писателей. Вердикт: говноИгра, которая не прошла проверку временем. Если в какую-нибудь Gothic 2 играть по прежнему интересно, то Скайрим безнадежно устарел. В нем плохо абсолютно все. Нет, всё же кое-что сделано хорошо: интересно внутриигровые книжки читать с историей вселенной свитков. Сама вселенная свитков это такое примитивное фэнтези в духе дешёвого русского фэнтези от неизвестных писателей. Вердикт: говно говна для дебилов Expand
  91. Feb 15, 2022
    10
    It's been 10 years since this game came out, and I've played it almost religiously since day one. I am convinced that this game is the absolute pinnacle of perfection in video games. No matter how many games I play, I always come back to Skyrim. No matter what new games come out, I compared their UI to Skyrim's. No RPG feels as freeing as Skyrim. No adventure game feels as adventurous asIt's been 10 years since this game came out, and I've played it almost religiously since day one. I am convinced that this game is the absolute pinnacle of perfection in video games. No matter how many games I play, I always come back to Skyrim. No matter what new games come out, I compared their UI to Skyrim's. No RPG feels as freeing as Skyrim. No adventure game feels as adventurous as Skyrim's. No story feels as raw as Skyrim's.
    Nothing compares. Skyrim is as close to flawless as a video game can get. From the second it starts it is non-stop exploration and escape and exciting. There are endless mountains to climb, ruin to explore, cave to dive into, people to meet and help. Flawless score, fantastic graphics, memorable quests and characters, alongside the heart that goes into living in a world like Skyrim.
    My favourite of all time. Nothing's come close in 10 years. I don't think anything ever will.
    Expand
  92. Dec 11, 2020
    10
    Great story and well portrayed characters made me play this game for 100+ hours. Definitely will play this game again in the future!
  93. Jul 27, 2017
    2
    Bethesda may have upgraded the look but they fixed none of the inherent gameplay issues. As I played this disrespectful re-release, all the problems that existed in the original edition were still there in the SE edition, vebatum. That boyish face of Howard may by able to sell swampland in Florida, but for me never again. My new release day for any future games by this fat headed, arrogantBethesda may have upgraded the look but they fixed none of the inherent gameplay issues. As I played this disrespectful re-release, all the problems that existed in the original edition were still there in the SE edition, vebatum. That boyish face of Howard may by able to sell swampland in Florida, but for me never again. My new release day for any future games by this fat headed, arrogant development company will be at least 6 mos. to a year following the actual release day. They can write a decent yarn, but implementation of it in video game form is broken. They continue to produce 'lemons' and get away with it. Bethesda is shameless. Mods. They should never be on consoles! The console doesn't have enough tools to deal with the problems that exist and arise from using them. The hard reset is about it, but that stresses the console to keep doing it. It wasn't designed for this. Bethesda once again puts the burden on the consumer to spend money, time, and hardware to get their product running. But Bethesda needs the modding community to fix, enhance, and keep there product selling. And the modding community itself? An intellectually incestuous group that can't seem to come together on their efforts. Self-absorbed, arrogant, some don't even want to be bothered with issues and results that occur from their mod usage. My recommendation is to use only the USSEP patch and no others, if one can help it. Some modders don't even have Xboxs to test their mods with! Some won't be bothered with feedback. This isn't even their game they are adding to and manipulating. Disgusting! Putting a mustache on the Mona Lisa. Well, this game is NO Mona Lisa! It is not art! It's minor entertainment and no more. Make your own f*****g game if you modders think your so good. That also leaves Bethesda to have to stand on the foundations of their own game. To Howard, "I will never trust you again, period"!! I give this rehash a 2 for story only, when it works right.(with the USSEP of course) They (Bethesda) could have fixed it before putting facepaint on it and selling it yet again for $60.00. This smacks of money grabbing and arrogance. And Nintendo is going to release it on the Switch? Bad move. Good move on Sony's part to resist and to not allow scripted mods. Only not good enough, they bought in to this lie in the end. A warning! There is at least one modder out to brick consoles. An ignorant pc modder with an agenda against console users and I don't believe Bethesda truely cares enough or is vigilant enough to guard against it! Expand
  94. Dec 27, 2016
    2
    This one is a no-brainer. Of course Skyrim is a great game, but it's a game that is five years old. Instead of new content, Bethesda decided to give us this, and even had the audacity to charge full price even though there is nothing new to enjoy. Maybe we'll get something new on the PS5 (and ESO doesn't count)
  95. Feb 20, 2017
    9
    I don't get the low reviews. It looks great on ps4. I have played it on xbox 360, pc and ps3 and can say it is worth getting for ps4. Colours much improved and a great game to have and replay. The ability to use mods is great, even if limited. I only use mods that increase merchant gold and make things more convenient, finding that many mods end up making you overpowered and take theI don't get the low reviews. It looks great on ps4. I have played it on xbox 360, pc and ps3 and can say it is worth getting for ps4. Colours much improved and a great game to have and replay. The ability to use mods is great, even if limited. I only use mods that increase merchant gold and make things more convenient, finding that many mods end up making you overpowered and take the challenge out of the game. This game is better than witcher 3, which I have played, and offers no customization, no first person view, and doesn't have the replayability of skyrim. Get it if you like RPGs. Best RPG for PS4 (fallout 4 is very close 2) Expand
  96. Jan 26, 2019
    5
    terrible framerates. long loading times. glitchy textures. fan spinning because overheating ps4pro.
    This game deserves to be played on pc, where can shine also with mediocre hardware. On ps4, optimization and performances are terrible.
  97. Jan 23, 2021
    9
    Skyrim is a game that is far better than the sum of its parts. On paper skyrim shouldn't be as amazing as it is but here we are. The game has some issues such as glitches samey dungeon design and stilted combat but Skyrim nails the most important thing for an open world game, the world. Skyrim is a vast land full of people to see, things to do and the best lore I have ever seen in aSkyrim is a game that is far better than the sum of its parts. On paper skyrim shouldn't be as amazing as it is but here we are. The game has some issues such as glitches samey dungeon design and stilted combat but Skyrim nails the most important thing for an open world game, the world. Skyrim is a vast land full of people to see, things to do and the best lore I have ever seen in a video game. No other game has engrossed me so much in it's lore that I read hundreds of books learning about skyrim and its history. Fantasy elements run wild in skyrim allowing for encounter with demon deities that have build up present in books you can find as well as the many dragons that can swoop down at any time. There are other such events like finishing one quest you find out about a researcher that stole the work of another who has since died. I ran into him on the road with the results of her research and he tried to kill me to silence me, which caught me extremely of guard has i had never really had a scene like that before in a game . Skyrim the place is a character in itself and it was executed to near perfection. The game has a huge volume of quests but it is startling how good they are. The main questlines for each faction in particular are highlights as they introduce you to groups of new characters, facets of the world it takes place in as well as giving you the most varied quests. When your walking through towns people talk about big events that have happened such as the murder of an important person. These little lines add so much to the world of skyrim that they can't be understated. Combat is something you spend a lot of time doing in Skyrim and while I was initially unimpressed by it when I started mixing and matching using all the tools in my arsenal I came to found the combat highly enjoyable, as while each individual method of fighting has little depth using all of them is incredibly versatile. The dungeons are filled with puzzles enemies and most have some kind of quest that anchors them in the world. While they aren't amazing by any means they are enjoyable videogame junk food. There are events that happen in the world that aren't due to the actions of the player that makes skyrim feel alive. Skyrim is full of choices big and small like taking a side in the civil war which the game never lets you forget about as every character has a say. Skyrim's leveling up system is tied to how much you do a specific action which fits perfectly for such a roll driven experience as it allows you to make your the character the way you want them to be. Being able to make your a character into a thief, warrior mage or even a smith creates so many avenues for a player to go down and gives the game replayability. Skyrim in short is a flawed masterpiece that excels in so much that the warts present are almost forgotten and even though my character's journey has come to a fitting conclusion with a wife and adopted children I still find myself itching to hop back in and see what else this world has to offer Expand
  98. May 5, 2017
    9
    Uno de los mejores juegos de la anterior generación. Lastima que no hayan sacado una oferta para los que ya lo teníamos en PS3. Lo compraré, sin duda, pero cuando baje a un precio razonable.
  99. May 24, 2022
    8
    Its Skyrim, by now you've either played it or you haven't, you either like it or you don't.
    I like it, despite never progressing very far in the game.
    The amount of quests to do, places to go, people to talk to is overwhelming and is probably, in my eyes, more of a hinderance than an benefit. You can literally lose yourself in this game and I can see why people have put 100s and 100s of
    Its Skyrim, by now you've either played it or you haven't, you either like it or you don't.
    I like it, despite never progressing very far in the game.
    The amount of quests to do, places to go, people to talk to is overwhelming and is probably, in my eyes, more of a hinderance than an benefit.
    You can literally lose yourself in this game and I can see why people have put 100s and 100s of hours and played through it multiple times.
    Basically, if you're thinking about playing it but still can't decide, just play it, chances are you'll love it
    Expand
  100. Jan 10, 2020
    9
    I played the ps3 version back in 2011 when the game came out (11/11/11 never forget), and I played the damn game for 4 straight years, until I bought the PS4 in 2015. Back then I gave Skyrim a 10/10, for me was and still is the best game that I ever played in my life. 4 years after I terribly missed the damn game, so I bought for very cheap this version of the game for PS4. Now....howI played the ps3 version back in 2011 when the game came out (11/11/11 never forget), and I played the damn game for 4 straight years, until I bought the PS4 in 2015. Back then I gave Skyrim a 10/10, for me was and still is the best game that I ever played in my life. 4 years after I terribly missed the damn game, so I bought for very cheap this version of the game for PS4. Now....how does this 8 year old game compares with current gen gems like The witcher 3, Red dead Redemption 2, Outer Worlds, etc?

    Short answer: It is still one of the best games of all time.
    Long answer: You don't play Skyrim for Its story (It's only Ok), neither for Its interesting deeply complex charecters (because there is none), neither for Its amazing gameplay (It is still Okay or good depending on your class, but It is visible that It aged quite a bit), You play Skyrim because of the incredible immersion that It gives you! You can play whatever class you want (knight, thief, nightblade, battlemage, etc), roleplay the type of guy you want to be (evil, good, whatever), in a highly detailed world where you can interact with almost everything. You can even be a vampire or a werewolf. This game is the apex of exploration games, the map is highly densed with interesting sites (caves, nordic ruins, dwarf ruins, etc) each of them with a deep lore and interesting stuff to see. The world of skyrim feels alive and not empty like 90% of most open wold games, during your journeys on the road you can even find a series of random encounters that help keep the wold fresh and alive. The leveling system for me is still the best one in all games that I played, the skill trees are diverse, and each one of them very deep! The Crafting/enchanting/smithing system remains the best and more complex one! The weapons and armours are diverse and very nice looking.

    Skyrim day-to-day life to my character is like this: I wake up in my homestead that I bough and build it from the ground, i pack my stuff and go out to the world to see If the jarls have interesting jobs to give, or if the guilds that I belong (dark brotherhood, thieves guild, the companions and college of winterhold) have jobs for me too, or just wander in the wilderness to lose myself in some cave or bandit camp.
    This is a example:
    Yesterday I found a lighthouse in the frozen northern coast of skyrim, It was the first time that I saw It in all these years, I entered in It expecting to find some npc's, it happens that i found some bodies on the ground covered in blood and pierced by arrows, and the room was chaotic. By reading their journals I found out that there was a family leaving there, and that the siblings suspected of something living in the basement due to strange noises in the night. It turns out that their basement led to a falmer (elves that became blind and savage after being enslaved by the dwemer race ) cave. In that cave I found the body of the 2 siblings, one of them with a knife that her father gave her, as appointed in her letter, so that she avoided a painfull death by being eaten by a giant chaurus that the falmer kept as a pet. Her father however was given to that monster as a meal, as his remains were right next to It. This is just one example of the more than hundred adventures that you can have in this game.

    Finally, well this review turned out to be a love letter to skyrim, sorry for that, the game has now some aging issues, but that for me were not ground breaking. The combat has not aged well but it is still fun, the graphics are not on the same level as current gen graphics, however there is something about the artstyle/graphics in this game that make the views very.....beautiful. The landscaped are truly wonderful to witness. Fortunately, the bugs are (finally) pretty much resolved, so they wont be a issue. If you haven't played the game......you own It to yourself to play It, It is a mandatory game. If you played on ps3/xbox360 and miss skyrim, buy It because the graphics/framerate and loading screens are very improved, and the game is very cheap. Only pc users gain nothing by buying this game.
    Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. CD-Action
    Jan 12, 2017
    85
    Special Edition is a boring remaster – there’s no new content and the visual update is modest. Nonetheless it’s the best way to play Skyrim on a console and a good reason to spend another couple hundred hours in one of few games that are truly worth it. [13/2016, p.67]
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jan 8, 2017
    90
    Thankfully, the base game itself remains as utterly essential as always. [January 2016, p78]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Dec 27, 2016
    90
    Five years on and Skyrim's quality still stands head and shoulders above all RPGs not named The Witcher 3. It's well worth a revisit, even if the mod support is sorely lacking versus other formats. [Christmas 2016, p.94]