The Last Guardian Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 110 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2311 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It’s an action adventure title. It’s a story about a young boy who has been kidnapped or captured under strange circumstances. It’s about an encounter between that boy and the mysterious beast Trico amidst ancient ruins, and a story about their journey together in the hope of escaping theirIt’s an action adventure title. It’s a story about a young boy who has been kidnapped or captured under strange circumstances. It’s about an encounter between that boy and the mysterious beast Trico amidst ancient ruins, and a story about their journey together in the hope of escaping their mysterious predicament. [Fumito Ueda via Playstation.com] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Last Guardian – CG Cinematic Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 110
  2. Negative: 1 out of 110
  1. Feb 10, 2017
    100
    The Last guardian is indeed suffering from some technical and control input issues, but its warm, beautiful adventure filled with countless touching moments is something we’ll never forget for the rest of our lives. The Last Guardian is not just a game, it’s an absolute work of art.
  2. Dec 5, 2016
    93
    The Last Guardian is not perfect, but those issues are nothing compared to its wonderful gameplay and its beautiful setting. This game and its soundtrack will live forever in the gaming world.
  3. Dec 5, 2016
    90
    Details are a golden currency in Ueda’s games, and The Last Guardian greatest puzzle is their ultimate assembly. The impact in its final act is both somber and spirited, and it’s the pinnacle of the ideas it tries to put forward. I knew where The Last Guardian was going and I still couldn’t help but respond with deluge of raw emotion.
  4. Dec 5, 2016
    80
    Despite an appalling technical aspect with camera troubles and a wacky handling, The Last Guardian is a very good story-based puzzle game that makes you feel immersed in the relationship between the boy and Trico.
  5. 80
    Whether or not you feel the mechanical issues will be enough to ruin this sweet, impeccably realised, emotive game is up to you. For me, they're annoying but ephemeral. There were a hundred games released this year that are more fluid and fun to play minute-to-minute, and dozens that perform with a silky smooth frame rate, yet I'll remember this adventure with Trico long after I've forgotten those.
  6. Dec 5, 2016
    75
    A heartwarming story, a mysterious world, and a slowly-growing bond between two unlikely companions ensure that fans of Team Ico’s past work won’t be disappointed. Clunky controls and a handful of graphical issues, however, mean that The Last Guardian may not be an enjoyable game for everyone—though, either way, Trico is adorable.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 12, 2017
    40
    Outdated and flat gameplay mechanics, poor controls, technical issues. The Last Guardian couldn’t be saved even by the extreme efforts from Sony to finish the game no matter the time. As you will love Trico for sure, the game itself you will certainly not. [Issue #270]

See all 118 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 60 out of 387
  1. May 3, 2017
    10
    Fumito Ueda and his team managed to bring the art back into action, and bring the fan of ico and shadow of the colossus back to the universeFumito Ueda and his team managed to bring the art back into action, and bring the fan of ico and shadow of the colossus back to the universe he created. Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2016
    10
    Amazing game for an amazing experience!The soundtrack is very beautiful. Trico is the best NPC ever made! I can play this game all day. thankAmazing game for an amazing experience!The soundtrack is very beautiful. Trico is the best NPC ever made! I can play this game all day. thank you Mr Ueda! Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2016
    10
    It was a completely absorbing game that I just did not wish to stop playing. Even when I took the occasional break, my thoughts seemed toIt was a completely absorbing game that I just did not wish to stop playing. Even when I took the occasional break, my thoughts seemed to always drift back to this fantasy world. If you've played and enjoyed ICO and Shadow of the Colossus then the Last Guardian will not disappoint. Expand
  4. May 28, 2017
    9
    The Last Guardian can at times be very frustrating, mostly due to the realistic behaviour of Trico. This could be seen as both a positive andThe Last Guardian can at times be very frustrating, mostly due to the realistic behaviour of Trico. This could be seen as both a positive and negative thing, depending on your stance. For me it just deepened my bond with him, making the whole experience of the journey incredibly satisfying. Despite a few obvious gameplay flaws, The Last Guardian triumphs and soars when it gels. Expand
  5. Jan 7, 2017
    8
    Pros and cons:
    + Exciting plot
    + Behavior of Trico is extremely realistic, much like a real animal + Art Direction by + Soundtrack -
    Pros and cons:
    + Exciting plot
    + Behavior of Trico is extremely realistic, much like a real animal
    + Art Direction by
    + Soundtrack

    - Camera may be cluttered indoors
    - Frame rate is very variable
    "Physics of the boy is unrealistic.

    Result: Despite the technical problems, The Last Guardian is one of the most captivating titles on the Sony platform, it's easy to create an emotional bond with Trico and for sure his story will bring a mix of joy and sadness.
    Expand
  6. Dec 6, 2016
    6
    This game has some very emotional moments and a pretty cute story. But it has its obvious issues as well. Very poor frame rate, outdatedThis game has some very emotional moments and a pretty cute story. But it has its obvious issues as well. Very poor frame rate, outdated graphics and mechanics. It's an okay game at best, luckily I wasn't hyped for it so I am not disappointed. Overall, it wasn't terrible but there definitely were some times where the game was frustrating to play. Expand
  7. Aug 1, 2017
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I created an account just so I could leave this review.
    Gameplay mechanics: sad.
    Camera control/movement: sad.
    Tutorial on screen the entire game: sad.
    Inability to make your jump button not triangle: sad.
    AI intelligence and cooperation: sad.
    Number of times you'll get stuck or frustrated: 648.
    What happened to you, Team ICO? I'll pray for you.
    And I'm glad Trico dies.
    Expand

See all 387 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall Games Preview: 20 Most-Anticipated Videogames

    Fall Games Preview: 20 Most-Anticipated Videogames Image
    Published: September 12, 2016
    We profile the most noteworthy videogames scheduled for release between now and the end of the year.
  2. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives Image
    Published: January 14, 2011
    Our preview of the year in gaming concludes with a look at the top titles expected in 2011 that will be exclusive to the 360, PS3, Wii, PC, or handheld platforms.