Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 121 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Negative: 0 out of 121
Buy On
  1. Jun 12, 2020
    Trying to extend the story of The Last of Us in a meaningful way was always going to be an uphill battle. What’s so frustrating about Part 2 is that the game seems to have all the pieces necessary to do just that. But those pieces end up getting lost as the game also tries to tell an entirely new story, one that tries to expand the Last of Us world into a generalized setting for an anthology of loosely connected stories. The end result never comes together in a satisfying way.
  2. Jun 12, 2020
    So as the credits roll on my second playthrough I consider going back for a third, because this wonderful story does feels so good to play. It’s a game that’s never held down by the weight of its predecessor’s importance. Its writing and its performances feel pitch-perfect throughout, driven by the fact no movie or book or soon-to-follow HBO TV show could properly replicate the story it tells. It’s a video game and it could only exist as such. Now, just be sure you see it through to its incredible end.
  3. Jun 12, 2020
    But it's not fair to appraise Last of Us Part 2 as some kind of futuristic hybrid. It is a game -- a thrilling, harrowing and thoughtful one. Prepare to be riveted, surprised and, yes, traumatized.
  4. Jun 12, 2020
    Can a slick, mainstream action game really reckon with the violence that drives it? The answer is yes - messily, but powerfully. [Eurogamer Essential]
  5. Jun 12, 2020
    The first game’s story was polarizing; this one’s will clearly be as well. So many people worked on this game for so long, and at such cost, that I want The Last Of Us II to be more than the experience I had. It’s a visually beautiful game that feels distinct to play, and the story it tells and how it tells it, at the most basic level, certainly pushes the edges of what games have done before. None of those accomplishments elevated or redeemed it for me. Like the nature consuming Seattle, or the outbreak consuming humanity, its ugliness overshadowed everything else.
  6. Jun 12, 2020
    The Last of Us Part 2 depicts individual people who are instead ruthless, capable, yet self-absorbed, and whose perception of violence is limited to how it affects them and their chosen family members. They are almost unbelievably unable to see the bigger picture. Part 2 ends up feeling needlessly bleak, at a time when a nihilistic worldview has perhaps never been less attractive. Its characters are surviving, but they’re not learning, and they’re certainly not making anything better. Maybe the most surprising thing that The Last of Us Part 2 offered me was the surety that, while the game was made with great skill and craft, we are actually much, much better than Naughty Dog thinks we are.
  7. Jun 16, 2020
    This sequel has more false stops than Return Of The King, and by its operatic and downright biblical finale, it begins to flirt heavily with pure bombast, with a self-seriousness as overgrown as any Bloater. But it’s usually smart to bet on Naughty Dog sticking the landing, and Part II invests so heavily in these characters—new but especially old—that by the time the actual ending finally arrives, it’s gutting in a wholly different way than the original’s.
  8. Jun 25, 2020
    It's decent. It's a good little game...The violence is inherently fun... I don't think I've seen a bigger gap between promise and reality since I played Fable 3. [7.5 out of 10 "if I were doing review scores still..."]
  9. Jun 12, 2020
    Yet, I’m glad I pushed through — because those dark, disturbing moments are what make The Last of Us Part II so powerful. It’s not just a game about violence. It’s one that grapples with the impact of that violence and shows players the consequences.
  10. Jun 12, 2020
    While the violence of the first game served a compelling moral tale, the over-the-top bloodshed of Part II is all in service of a rather clichéd and tiresome lesson about the endless cycle of revenge. The banter that elevated the first game above mere dystopian fantasy is gone too, as Ellie often navigates this ultra-violent world on her own. It makes for a lonely, depressing experience at a moment when many of us are already feeling lonely and depressed...Still, it’s a rare AAA video game that will take any sort of risk — and Naughty Dog takes a lot of risks.
  11. Jun 12, 2020
    The Last of Us Part II feels complacent, yet also preoccupied with its predecessor. Every facet of the original game has been expanded and enlarged in the sequel, but not actually improved. It is as if its only inspiration is the original game, and the well of pop culture it was drawing from. There is practically nothing here we haven’t seen and done repeatedly throughout previous Naughty Dog games. It sets out to surpass its predecessor, but the only meaningful contrast between them is in its even more oppressive bleakness and violence. It digs two graves, fills them with blood, and then just fu.king wallows in them.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 152225 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    My disappointment is immeasurable, and my day is ruined.
    I waited 5 years to play this
    And they gave me a horrible intro and **** ending I
    My disappointment is immeasurable, and my day is ruined.
    I waited 5 years to play this
    And they gave me a horrible intro and **** ending
    I just want to forget about this game.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 19, 2020
    3
    It breaks my heart to write this, but I really did not expect such a poor story after all these years of waiting. While there were a fewIt breaks my heart to write this, but I really did not expect such a poor story after all these years of waiting. While there were a few genuinely good moments, majority of game filled up with plot holes. It just took elements of what worked for the first game without understanding what made them compelling. It seems like this game was done by other studio, but its not!!. The basic gameplay has stayed the same (for better or worse), environment puzzles are almost gone. So remove story from the table and you are left with the shallow gameplay that will have you looking for some other game. Full Review »
  3. Jun 19, 2020
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. So I got the game early and played it. I read or saw no spoilers before the release. I never do.

    So here is what I think:

    Pros:
    - gameplay
    - graphics
    - atmosphere
    - sound
    - music

    All those parts are undeniable very good. Its top notch. Sure the controls sometimes feel weird but they do in most of the games. It would be unfair to say this game isnt up to date in terms of all those points I mentioned.

    Cons:
    - story
    - character design
    - character development
    - plot holes

    So, even with all the pros this game is really really bad. It makes NO sense that Ellie act how she acts in certain parts of the game but that isnt even the biggest thing about why its bad.
    The reason is: character development.
    If you kill one of the most beloved characters early in the game (Joel) and want to bring in new main playable characters like Abby, you HAVE to bring WAY more backstory in order to make the player feel with her.
    I mean she KILLED Joel!
    How do you make the player like her? Bring more and more backstory before she does that. Let the players play 2-10h as Abby when she was a child or whatever. The backstory of her is basically told in 10minutes and then her dad is being killed. Thats it? And now I have to feel with her and understand why she killed Joel?
    Hell no!
    That is weak story telling. Really really weak.

    Then there are all the other new characters. Nobody is likeable. Like really. They all feel empty. They are only shells without any meaning.

    This game is just bad. Do yourself a favor and dont buy it. The reviews the journalists wrote are either bought by Sony or ND or are heavily politicly influenced. Sad thing is: because of that same journalists will most likely make this game GOTY. What a joke.

    Safe your money and buy something else.

    And last but not least: this is technically a very good game but the story/characters is/are SO bad it just doesnt matter how well the rest is done.

    You want a good revenge story? Watch "Oldboy" then you know how to make a good revenge story that shocks everybody to their core.

    This game right here? Its garbage.

    End of story.
    Full Review »