User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 158499 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 20, 2020
    4
    Oh boy, they tell us about a revenge story that it doesn't consume at all. You can read a good amount of specialized reviews and all talks about the masterpiece of gameplay and storytelling, the gameplay, world design, ambient and more details that the game has are good but the story it´s something that rumbles into a bad end.

    The IGN Japan got it right "uninteresting new characters
    Oh boy, they tell us about a revenge story that it doesn't consume at all. You can read a good amount of specialized reviews and all talks about the masterpiece of gameplay and storytelling, the gameplay, world design, ambient and more details that the game has are good but the story it´s something that rumbles into a bad end.

    The IGN Japan got it right "uninteresting new characters burden the story, making Ellie's journey feel conventional and not nearly as captivating as the original."
    Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2020
    2
    Technical part is amazing! Shadows, light awesome.
    But story, so so so bad..
  3. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This game is a shame, seven years waiting for a great sequel and they create a ridiculous story like that, the priority was not the fans but putting all possible agendas in a game. Even a five-year-old child would have made a better story. The beautiful graphics and details don't save anything when the main focus is the narrative.
  4. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    Gameplay is boring and monotonous. The plot is bad and uninteresting. Only the graphics is good. Do not waste your money.
  5. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    stale, boring gameplay loop. shallow upgrade system. terrible story when compared to the first game. Going to get a refund fast.
  6. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    Honestly most dissapointing game of the generation for me. I saw the leaks but still wanted to go in open minded and enjoy the game for what it has to offer. While the gameplay is ok and the grafics are good everything about the story turned out to be even worse than exspected. First time being dissapointed with ND. I really don't get how all those reviewers brought this game up to a 95.
  7. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    Такого я не ожидал! Вторая половина игры, там где за Эбби - это кошмар. Жаль потраченного времени.
  8. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pure trash. This was as big of a let down as season 8 of GOT. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. Give it 1 week and buy it for $5 game basket at Walmart. The graphics were great don’t get me wrong, the story however was god awful. I get killing Joel randomly to show that he wasn’t a god, but to have Ellie turn the other cheek after killing hundreds of people after she gets a chance for revenge? Terribly and sloppy writing. Expand
  9. Jun 24, 2020
    0
    Good music, great visual style. The average gameplay. But the plot is terrible, especially Abby's line. Change the screenwriter.
  10. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    The only redeeming quality about this game is the character models and voice acting. The story is garbage, there is hardly any improvement in game play (Certainly not a generational leap), the AI sucks and enemies are reused often and most of the game is walking doing nothing. The game play loop just gets straight up boring after a while and unlike the first game, there are no likableThe only redeeming quality about this game is the character models and voice acting. The story is garbage, there is hardly any improvement in game play (Certainly not a generational leap), the AI sucks and enemies are reused often and most of the game is walking doing nothing. The game play loop just gets straight up boring after a while and unlike the first game, there are no likable characters or intense moments to keep you engaged. You can also completely rush through the game and checkpoint hop with minimal confrontations. This game game just boils down to "Revenge is bad" (but not really) and straight up torture porn. Save your money on this one. Expand
  11. Jun 19, 2020
    2
    The last of us 2 has most the same positives of the first, good graphics, enemy animations and ai and the setting. Everything else is so much worse though.
    After the fourth of fifth time i had to sit through a cutscene, then you are dropped into a linear level with roaming enemies i had to sneak past/kill i was getting fed up. Early on in the game you are treated to a wide open area that
    The last of us 2 has most the same positives of the first, good graphics, enemy animations and ai and the setting. Everything else is so much worse though.
    After the fourth of fifth time i had to sit through a cutscene, then you are dropped into a linear level with roaming enemies i had to sneak past/kill i was getting fed up. Early on in the game you are treated to a wide open area that feels more free roam, but its an illusion that doesn't last long.
    The Writing, story and voice acting have taken a massive nose dive. Characters you loved make terrible mistakes and make choices you the player are unlikely to agree with.
    What is worse, as linear and forced as the story is you then are forced to see the consequences of those actions you had no control over.
    I would not recommend playing last of us 2. Just watch the highlights on youtube.
    Expand
  12. Jun 24, 2020
    1
    The graphics are amazing. The animations are beautiful. The game play is good. The story??? OMG. This is some special stuff.. Special in the sense that it's utterly broken.. This is not acceptable from a game of this scale. If it would've been a completely new title i would give it 5 because it's progressive at least. But knowing the original game this is just straight up garbage... ItThe graphics are amazing. The animations are beautiful. The game play is good. The story??? OMG. This is some special stuff.. Special in the sense that it's utterly broken.. This is not acceptable from a game of this scale. If it would've been a completely new title i would give it 5 because it's progressive at least. But knowing the original game this is just straight up garbage... It seems like the writers simply have no idea how to write properly. Not just for shock value. It's GOT S8 yet again.. Expand
  13. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    Notorious technical achievement and great accessibility for gamers that is to be applauded. But its core, the story; it's poorly written, it just wants you to swallow it without questioning the obviousness of its shortcomings. It is sad, because after a first delivery full of love and with a message more than charming, comes this new delivery to ruin everything established to bringNotorious technical achievement and great accessibility for gamers that is to be applauded. But its core, the story; it's poorly written, it just wants you to swallow it without questioning the obviousness of its shortcomings. It is sad, because after a first delivery full of love and with a message more than charming, comes this new delivery to ruin everything established to bring something more than pretentious. A pity, really. Expand
  14. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    Terrible story. Terrible world building. Characters don’t have depth. The whole thing feels like two inch pond of depth. It thinks it’s more than what it is. Watch it on YouTube and save your money. Do not encourage such pretentious crap.
  15. Jun 19, 2020
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The last of us WAS a good franchise, but not anymore. Seeing as how the company had employees leave it makes why this game turn into hot butt butter. Visually appealing, combat mechanics similar to first, but politics being shoved down your throat with **** writing is a NO tor me dog. Save your money for Cyberpunk or UNO. Just something other than this snakeoil. Expand
  16. Jun 23, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. everything is good except the story is sometimes it doesn't make sense.
    I hate the ending
    > Ellie kill many people and then decide to stop when she got Joel flashback and let Abby and lev go. Ellie lost everything. why??

    """Edit"""
    > They want to make Abs & Lev is the new "US"
    > the plot made Ellie is the antagonist of this game.
    Expand
  17. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    Honestly I am so disappointed by Naughty Dog, I always thought Naughty Dog standed for videogame quality and good storytelling. Last of Us 2 however disappointed me so much that I think I am going to refund it.

    Regarding the game: The game's story feels so unstructured and not planned at all. In the game one of the most interesting characters in a videogame just got removed so early
    Honestly I am so disappointed by Naughty Dog, I always thought Naughty Dog standed for videogame quality and good storytelling. Last of Us 2 however disappointed me so much that I think I am going to refund it.

    Regarding the game:

    The game's story feels so unstructured and not planned at all. In the game one of the most interesting characters in a videogame just got removed so early and in such an unintuitive storytelling way. In addition the newly introduced characters feel so boring and common that I always wanted to skip the characters cutscenes and gameplay as quickly as possible. The gameplay of the game feels quite boring and rather feels like a walking simulator that has no special gameplay or variation elements.

    One positive thing about this game are the graphics (Good job art team), but you can clearly notice the extreme bad performance of the PS4 as the game often starts to stutter.

    I can't recommend it.
    Expand
  18. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The story is just poorly written why pushing some political agenda in games?? its totally not worth wasting your time believe me. Expand
  19. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    Nope! Nope! Nope! What a way to end the franchise...in the first 2 hours of the game.
  20. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    What a waste. I live in Europe, got the game earlier than US.
    I must say that I haven't seen any spoilers before I played. The story in 2 is so much worse. Characters are not themselves it's so weird playing this.
    After the first couple of hours I almost had no motivation to play it anymore. I just treated it like an uncharted game, which says a lot when this is TLOU2 we're talking about.
    What a waste. I live in Europe, got the game earlier than US.
    I must say that I haven't seen any spoilers before I played. The story in 2 is so much worse. Characters are not themselves it's so weird playing this.
    After the first couple of hours I almost had no motivation to play it anymore. I just treated it like an uncharted game, which says a lot when this is TLOU2 we're talking about.
    Loved the first one, really bored out of my shoes with the second.
    What a waste!
    Expand
  21. H_E
    Jun 19, 2020
    3
    The game play is alright at best, not upset by it. Its just the story that really peeves me. How can you go from Last of Us 1 to this in terms of story?
  22. Jun 19, 2020
    5
    As someone who is normally a fan of Naughty Dog games and of the original Last of Us, I feel this game is a slap in the face. If you enjoyed the first game because of the story, characters and relationships, this game is not for you. Due to some questionable story-line choices, the game feels like a slog to get through and tries to force its players into a middle school ethics class ratherAs someone who is normally a fan of Naughty Dog games and of the original Last of Us, I feel this game is a slap in the face. If you enjoyed the first game because of the story, characters and relationships, this game is not for you. Due to some questionable story-line choices, the game feels like a slog to get through and tries to force its players into a middle school ethics class rather than engross us in an enthralling story. The graphics are some of the best this generation, but the game-play rarely features anything innovative and feels like more of the same as the first game. Overall, averaging everything out I would give this game a 5/10 and similar to Game of Thrones season 8 and Star Wars - Rise of Skywalker, this is one sequel that will sorely disappoint even its most loyal fans.

    Graphics - 9/10
    Gameplay - 5/10
    Story - 1/10

    Overall - 5/10
    Expand
  23. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    The writing in this game is a huge step down from it's predessor. The characters are unlikable and the dialogue made me laugh out loud. Most importantly the entire plot of the game is a generic "Revenge is bad" story stretched out over 25 hours (the game could be half that without losing any depth).

    The gameplay was mediocre but the story was hilariously bad. I loved Ellie as a character
    The writing in this game is a huge step down from it's predessor. The characters are unlikable and the dialogue made me laugh out loud. Most importantly the entire plot of the game is a generic "Revenge is bad" story stretched out over 25 hours (the game could be half that without losing any depth).

    The gameplay was mediocre but the story was hilariously bad. I loved Ellie as a character in TLOU1 but she loses all of her charisma and intelligence in this game.

    The gameplay is almost identical to TLOU1's gameplay. The gunplay is fun but the AI is very stupid. Other than dogs there are few new enemies. 80% of the game is fighting generic human enemies who can't see you crouching 10 meters in front of them in broad daylight.

    Ultimately this is a game that is inferior to TLOU1 in almost every way. Certainly not worth $60.
    Expand
  24. Jul 19, 2020
    2
    Somewhere in this mess was potential for a great story, but unfortunately it is bogged down by unnecessary side plots and baffling character choices. Unfortunately, the graphics are not enough to save this game from itself. For a sequel game, instead of building on the first, it seems to only want to tear it all down. The graphics, and attention to detail are something to admire, butSomewhere in this mess was potential for a great story, but unfortunately it is bogged down by unnecessary side plots and baffling character choices. Unfortunately, the graphics are not enough to save this game from itself. For a sequel game, instead of building on the first, it seems to only want to tear it all down. The graphics, and attention to detail are something to admire, but for a story driven game that focuses more on making the player feel miserable, this game fails spectacularly. Expand
  25. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    The video game equivalent of The Last Jedi.

    Don't buy this game if you care about the characters or anything the previous game set up.
  26. Jun 19, 2020
    4
    Sorry. I could not give this game anything else. This has to be the most boring movie like experience i have ever witnessed. The pacing is GOD AWFUL the characters are bland, flat and one dimensional. The story has an extremely bad and unsatisfying conclusion. The 4 rating is only for the visuals. I could not connect with the characters in any way. Disappointed. The gameplay has 0Sorry. I could not give this game anything else. This has to be the most boring movie like experience i have ever witnessed. The pacing is GOD AWFUL the characters are bland, flat and one dimensional. The story has an extremely bad and unsatisfying conclusion. The 4 rating is only for the visuals. I could not connect with the characters in any way. Disappointed. The gameplay has 0 improvements too. Boring. Must play my ass Expand
  27. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    it is barley a game its a really boring soap opera that is a far cry from the story build up from the original. when you have to push yourself just to get through the next part it is not a game anymore. graphics are top notch but the game is full of bugs, horrible written AI scripts bugging around or doing nothing.

    should have just made it a CGI movie people could buy, and sony and
    it is barley a game its a really boring soap opera that is a far cry from the story build up from the original. when you have to push yourself just to get through the next part it is not a game anymore. graphics are top notch but the game is full of bugs, horrible written AI scripts bugging around or doing nothing.

    should have just made it a CGI movie people could buy, and sony and naughty dog milking all these overpriced extra items to buy a 2300$ guitar come on really? just wait for it to go down to 20$ thats a fair price.
    Expand
  28. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    Boring and too PC. Going to stick mine on a certain auction site right now.
  29. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Gameplay is good. Graphics is great but story? Not anything to write home about. Tlou was way better than this Garbage . Can't believe I wasted my money on this game .... Expand
  30. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game did not give respect to the prequel. 2 hours into the game and we see our most loved character killed ruthlessly with a golf club. There are infinitely many better ways of killing off Joel but this game just chose to be bad. Joel also lost sense of guard which is not his usual attitude and this clearly highlights the weak depth of story-writing. The prequel attracts lots of people mainly with the story and the sequel should also do the same but the game just threw away hope for the fans. Also, the ending is just speechless. You got to play as someone who murdered Joel who was a father-figure like to Ellie brutally in front of her and when she eventually met her, she just forgave everything and just let her go? Are you serious Naughty Dog? I am really disappointed. Expand
  31. Jun 19, 2020
    5
    We wanted a sequel to The Last of Us and got a great game in terms of graphics and gameplay and disgusting in terms of plot
  32. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ok so game is decent in terms of gameplay,graphics,interactions but it's nothing new like devs pretend this to be. Story telling? Compared to TLoU 1 it's total doghsit the revenge thing is writed so badly that like there is revenge with no revenge at all. I can't stand it. 7 Years for this? Are you kidding me? Next time focus more on story maybe? And the critics reviews wtf? Just because it's mature story doesn't mean it's good. Expand
  33. Jun 26, 2020
    0
    The last of us 1 was loved by everyone mainly because of its good story but this game just destroyed the good feeling I had about last of us.
  34. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This game is an insult to life itself.
  35. Sep 22, 2020
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. never experienced a game where I the player had so much **** hate at the **** writing and ideas and ideologies and even the message, like I want to Ellie to feel what I felt when I popped up a **** wolf with a shotgun to the face.

    disgusted but furious like **** man, we live in a world of endurance and surviving if ain't them its me, and I chose them.

    yeah, I get it revenge was so **** written poorly that they made me feel like why in the **** are you making me hate this?

    why are you making me play as Abby?

    do you think I would care about her after hating her guts for 12 hours?

    like i am a big **** **** i would not pet a dog i just saw her **** kill Joel after he saved her life.

    AND THE BS DEATH OF JOEL ? AND ABBY AND ALL THE GANG OF HERS ARE SOMEHOW FORGOT THAT THEY LIVE IN A WORLD OF APOCALYPSE? LIKE MAKING TOMMY GO ? ELLIE GO ? like make Ellie find the body after they are done not that poor writing of " We are good people **** killing a human is the worst thing ever, but you get over it after killing a ton, since she is one of the "the best at killing scars"

    like I would get it if they said they were fireflies to Joel, like I would be so **** messed up about it that I get it, what Joel did was wrong, but to make Ellie lose everything and spit on my **** face with a **** fan fiction writing like this is just a big **** you from Neil,

    JESSE. AND **** TOMMY ? LIKE HE WENT TO KILL THEM SO ELLIE WOULD BE SAFE NOT FOR REVENGE IN THE FIRST TIME!

    all the male characters where done dirty, like manny dies Abby doesn't care after 5 seconds, Jesse dies no one cares, Tommy somehow **** survived and i **** wish he died since they did him **** dirty.

    but oh boy Ellie just ****ed up and killed a pregnant woman who didn't say anything to save her life, like the first thing she said

    " how we know you wouldn't kill us" **** just **** say where she was since you obviously hate Abby ! and do the gamble of hey we let her live so she must be not going after anyone other than Abby ! and yeah is am pregnant btw so think about that before killing me. and ellies way if interrogation?? like everything doesn't make **** sense.

    oh yeah, let's talk about how Dina was cut off half of the game and made the game playing as Ellie alone. even Jesse split was retarded, like dina just told you she will not go back without ellie ?? so leave her alone to go after Tommy ? why take the gamble ?

    lev and whoever her name was kinda great if it weren't for the laughable idea of lev going to bring his mom and killing her, in self-defense or not that arc was so **** stupid. oh yeah, let's go for the way the market the game.

    they did the cult dirty. the were **** great, but they didn't have any impact on the story in any way what so ever, like they marketed the game as Joel and Ellie adventure for revenge for the Jackson attack from that cult, but hey that what was they showed us for seven years and made us believe and they **** lied to us in the face in the trailers, i didn't know jack **** about the spoilers other than it was really **** bad, but i still had faith that it will be worth it. and avoided it for months.

    Ellie going after revenge after seeing her having PTSD and Dina being done about it is cheap and **** stupid.

    breaking the cycle bs doesn't make sense since she could leave them for dead.

    and all i know that ellie didn't see what Abby is about other than she is the one who killed Joel.

    the whole thing was a big **** you from Neil for the fans, like saying this game was unique and had a really deep story is just, opinion, i care about the game that is why i am happy to see people enjoyed the game but for me the ending was...

    like i felt nothing, i didn't cry, get angry, or even felt anything, just a feeling in my tongue, as if Neil made me clean his ass after taking a ****.

    on a final note, ASHLEY CAN **** SING HOPED THERE WAS MORE OF HER SINGING!

    that take me on was so wholesome man, and that song that Joel wrote god man the feels are real, the birthday flash back was what i wanted Neil, just give me 12 hours of ellie and Joel breaking apart from each other and her asking and seeing her going from our little ellie to this ellie, no Abby **** no need for that message of "an eye for an eye" like do u really think making us feel for Abby and then just saying "yay ellie **** lost everything wonderful deep story Neil good job"

    like what is this broke the cycle crap man ? like what the **** dose it mean ? we live in a world of death and darkness, no one cares other than there own group, Abby being the daughter of the doctor is so **** cliche, like make her vague in a good way show us the dark 20 years of Joel and what he did while talking to Tommy or " Joel had a gf said in an interview" to his gf, like show us what Joel did was really ****ed up in a good way.

    all i can say amazing at everything, the only thing was wrong was Neil druckmann "message".
    Expand
  36. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    The story was horrific even though the gameplay was barely decent.

    Us fans waited 7 years for a great new arrival and what we got in return was a pile of vile trash.

    I tried to enjoy this game regardless of all the bad reviews but honestly could not force to trick myself.

    False advertising to promote their game is just a red false flag. 0/10. WOULD NEVER pay again for a naughty dog game.
  37. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This game is an insult to previous game.
    It has better technology than before, but has a story like garbage.
  38. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    Could have been the best game of all time, but it suffered from a bad narrative.
    I got the game early, I liked the world, but hated every character in it.
  39. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    The weakest game of this half year. You know, there is such a practice, if you can’t do a good work, then shove hard violence, sex, very harsh words, unexpected and / or inappropriate plot twists into it and people will eat it. So now they do half the series. They take a very bad plot, which earlier they would have wandered to hell at the level of synopsis, add the above-describedThe weakest game of this half year. You know, there is such a practice, if you can’t do a good work, then shove hard violence, sex, very harsh words, unexpected and / or inappropriate plot twists into it and people will eat it. So now they do half the series. They take a very bad plot, which earlier they would have wandered to hell at the level of synopsis, add the above-described ingredients and advertise it everywhere. Well now this practice has come to video games. Expand
  40. Jun 19, 2020
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Last of us 2 feels sloppy in its writing and Execution The death of joel was handled very sloppy. The characters joel and ellie you come to love from the 1st game feel so disconnected in this one Instead of seeing these characters grow more as people. last of us 2 feels like a bad fan fiction. The first game was about loss hope and growth but this game is just not good character development or direction. The first game was about hope i feel this game was forced in all its narrative. I just don't agree with the story direction and will say last of us part 2 was a major disappointment for me my personal opinion.The story ended with the first game Expand
  41. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    Such an absolute **** disapointment. 7 years we waiting for this sequal to one of the greatest games/stories of my generation and they completely butcher it and spit in the face of everyone who fell in love with the original.
  42. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    i liked previous series, so i expected this would be even better. i was wrong. story , characters , everything is bad about this game. very Disappointed.
  43. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Игра говно и заслуживает 3/10. Геймплей не развили, он и в 1 части был посредственный, но то был 2013 год. С анимациями беда: трава максимально нереалистичная, будто это волосы. Герои постоянно подергиваются, будто у них нервный тик. Разнообразие нпс не работает, постоянно одинаковые модели. Ну и сюжет провален в плане а) предсказуемости б) полит пропаганды из всех щелей в) перелопаченных характеров героев, что вообще не соотносится с 1 частью
    А ведь когда-то хотел купить пс4 ради этой поделки
    Expand
  44. Jun 20, 2020
    1
    Gave it 4 for the gameplay and visuals, story wise its one of the most fustrating and disappointing games ever made. Sad to see that this is the sequel to one of the best games ever made.
  45. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Joel is dead. As a daughter, you are willing to forgive the enemy? Are you kidding me? Expand
  46. Jun 19, 2020
    4
    From a technical Standpoint it is looking good, the animations are fluid and I would expect nothing else from NDog.
    BUT that's about it, the "Gameplay" is what we've seen from NDog for xth time. The same repetitive mechanics, sprinkled on top with antique buttonmashing QTEs.
    The Story is utter garbage, I love movies and games and I have seen the exact same story handled a thousand times
    From a technical Standpoint it is looking good, the animations are fluid and I would expect nothing else from NDog.
    BUT that's about it, the "Gameplay" is what we've seen from NDog for xth time. The same repetitive mechanics, sprinkled on top with antique buttonmashing QTEs.
    The Story is utter garbage, I love movies and games and I have seen the exact same story handled a thousand times better than here.
    The Characters act completely different than in the first part, and the new ones are just sooo unlikable and behave like they are from planet ****
    The general Theme of the game is Hate, and that's what I should feel for this game, but all I feel is pity. Pity for the employees and the people suffering through this game that were lured in by false reviews.
    Expand
  47. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Played it for the First Time and already i have seen many plot Holes and unlogical Charakter decisions.

    For example: right before Joel gets Killed, they all are in the Same room. Tommy should have Seen Abby behind him with a Shotgun pointing at Joel. Camera angle doesnt Show, but Tommy should have Seen it.
    Expand
  48. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    Absolutely horrible game that destroys any and all expectations and respect for the previous game.

    Technical-wise it is one of the most well detailed and beautiful looking game naughty dog as produced, and gameplay-wise it improves on the original's formula. That's the only positive thing about it. Unfortunately, despite the impressive graphics, somehow the character design and
    Absolutely horrible game that destroys any and all expectations and respect for the previous game.

    Technical-wise it is one of the most well detailed and beautiful looking game naughty dog as produced, and gameplay-wise it improves on the original's formula. That's the only positive thing about it.

    Unfortunately, despite the impressive graphics, somehow the character design and obvious excessive anti-sexualization made the character models somehow look inferior to the seven year older predecessor, intentually making all charcters look more gritty and androgynous.

    And while the gameplay has slightly been improved upon, the game AI, shooting mechanics, and general gameplay formula is nearly identical to the original, which was fairly clunky and outdated even for seven years ago.

    And worse of all is the plot, which is abysmal from every possible aspect.

    Characters are all the same gritty one-dimensional characters, with very few unique and captivating qualities to any of them other than their SJW characteristics (race, sex, sexual orientation). Even Ellie, who used to be an cute sharp-tongue girl is reduced to a rough monotone protagonist that will make you fall asleep.

    The plot seemlying forgets about the infected and randomly remembers that they exists and just throws in random encounters, the vast majority of the game focuses on human survivor wars.

    They force you to play a new transgender character, Abby. Who destroys everything you love about the original. Instead of making her the antagonist, they amazingly make her the protagonist which you play half the game as (possibly more), in order to make you sympathize with her instead, which horribly fails. Playing has her is a chore which you wish to end as soon as possible. In addition previous character motives and behaviors are changed and not consistent throughout the story leading to incredible inconsistencies and plot holes.

    This game is like a Tumbler fan fiction of the last of us, meant to push SJW propaganda and not a sequel to one of video games most beloved games.
    Expand
  49. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolute disgrace and an insult to the original Last of Us game.

    I dont even know where to start.

    When Sony realized what Druckmann did to this game they tried to censor everybody even talking about this game (complete censorship of reddit LoU page, then copyright triking everyone everywhere with any LoU2 related opinion/content that criticized the game, and superstrict embargo terms on reviewers that were basically put in to conceal the second half of the game where you play for some unimportant character, just so Druckmann can check his box for his feebleminded agenda and that so people unknowingly buy a game based on false marketing (they never told us we are gonna play as some unimportant and very negative character half of the game)).

    Crunch for the poor developers and pushing agenda on their own employees?

    Most basic story that a 9 year old would come up with?

    Zombie apocalypse being suddenly irrelevant because of agenda?

    Ellies immunity being completely thrown away as theres a ton of immune people suddenly appearing in the game?

    Dont buy this game!
    Expand
  50. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    What were they thinking? really? this is a big middle finger to all those who loved the first game.
  51. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    The game basically took all the good from the first game and threw it away

    The writing is significantly worse, and yet it still the only slightly redeemable aspect of the game

    The gameplay itself is boring, repetitive, and uninspired

    The only people who would enjoy it are those who are payed to play it, plus Rob likes the game so it is trash
  52. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    Disappointed to say the least. This is a proof that graphics don't mean much.
  53. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    disappointing plot and game play experience. NaughtyDog really know how to add PR tags to the game, but at the end of the day, what really matters is still the quality of the game and its story line.
  54. Jun 19, 2020
    4
    Wow...just wow.
    Did you know Revenge is bad? No? Well this game will take 25 hours of your life, just to tell you, that in fact it is! Naughty Dog just went full "The last Jedi" on this one.
    Beside the story, gameplay is completely copy and paste from the last game, with a bit more exploration and, well now you can "jump" (only where the game wants you to, so its basically useless).
    Wow...just wow.
    Did you know Revenge is bad? No? Well this game will take 25 hours of your life, just to tell you, that in fact it is! Naughty Dog just went full "The last Jedi" on this one.
    Beside the story, gameplay is completely copy and paste from the last game, with a bit more exploration and, well now you can "jump" (only where the game wants you to, so its basically useless).
    Graphics and animations are very impressive , but if you remember Star Wars Battlefront thats not enaught to sell a game...
    Best of all... IGN gave it a 10/10, and calls it a MASTERPEACE. In my opinion TLOU2 feels like TLOU1 but with its soul completely ript out, thus leving it behind as just another mediocre Game.
    Expand
  55. Jun 24, 2020
    7
    All I'm going to say is, what were they thinking with this game.
    The way Sony and ND handled the backlash against the spoilers made it even worse.
    If you wanna push your politics into the game, at least don't shove it in our faces or make a joke out of the characters people loved. Neil, you're not a good director. I'm editing this after seeing the full game, and i think, i still don't
    All I'm going to say is, what were they thinking with this game.
    The way Sony and ND handled the backlash against the spoilers made it even worse.
    If you wanna push your politics into the game, at least don't shove it in our faces or make a joke out of the characters people loved. Neil, you're not a good director.
    I'm editing this after seeing the full game, and i think, i still don't like how the developers did, ND in general, and some of the issues with the story, but overall, i can't say i felt goosebumps in some parts, and that it made me think a lot. I felt like Abby was the best part of the game, even if some interactions are made in a way to kind of force you to see her as a good person, i still think it woks.
    I just hope ND learns how to treat their employees and in the future, maybe people will be less hateful about the game they haven't even experienced.
    Expand
  56. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Frankly, embarrassing for Naughty Dog. I can't believe the enthusiastic critic reviews - Last of Us was not just about the gameplay but also (IMO primarily) the wonderfully crafted story. Part II stomps on the legacy of the Last of Us by killing Joel within its first two hours, barely giving him any attention prior to this raw, sudden death. ND tries to compensate for this through Ellie's flashbacks, only one of which are worth remembering (when he explains the truth of the cure to Ellie), yet even this scene stomps on Last of Us Pt.1 because it was implied she already understood there was no cure. We have to play as Abby, Joel's killer for about 15 hrs. It just doesn't work when you find out she was out for revenge because Joel killed her father, one of the *despicable* Firefly doctors. One ends up having no sympathy for this character whatsoever, hoping that after all of Ellie's killing, she will have no mercy on Abby - but she does. What??? All in all, no payoff, weak characters, a terrible tragic story, an insult to the legacy of Pt. 1. RATING: 1.0/10, for graphics and gameplay. Expand
  57. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    game play was amazing, graphics are amazing, but the story is bad, and there is nothing left in a naughty dog game if the story is bad.
  58. Jun 19, 2020
    4
    Disgusting attitude towards the fans of the previous game.
    Naughty dog ​​wasted the best chance to continue the TLOU IP.
  59. Jun 21, 2020
    0
    If you didn't enjoy The Last Jedi or GoT season 8, you will probably hate this game.

    Neil has proven that without Bruce or Amy to steer the ship, he's a completely incompetent writer. The game is a pandering mess with ridiculous characters, subplots and writing. Beloved characters from the first game are disregarded and desecrated so you can focus on Neil's new cast of diverse
    If you didn't enjoy The Last Jedi or GoT season 8, you will probably hate this game.

    Neil has proven that without Bruce or Amy to steer the ship, he's a completely incompetent writer. The game is a pandering mess with ridiculous characters, subplots and writing. Beloved characters from the first game are disregarded and desecrated so you can focus on Neil's new cast of diverse characters.

    Zombies are not a main focus of this zombie game because it doesn't fit into the pseudo-progressive narrative. If you have active brain cells between your ears I would avoid this game at all costs.

    For a game series which is almost completely reliant on it's story-line, Naughty Dog have swung and missed on this one entirely.

    Nice graphics though.
    Expand
  60. Jun 27, 2020
    0
    Do not waste your money, only the first half of the game is barely worth playing, then the designers completely ruin the playing experience. They should be thoroughly ashamed of ruining a great franchise for the sake of trying to be edgy. The game sure looks pretty but not much advancements otherwise on the original which is now several years old, the game is also over the top violent.Do not waste your money, only the first half of the game is barely worth playing, then the designers completely ruin the playing experience. They should be thoroughly ashamed of ruining a great franchise for the sake of trying to be edgy. The game sure looks pretty but not much advancements otherwise on the original which is now several years old, the game is also over the top violent. Joel and Ellie's story should have finished as it did in the first game and then left alone, not tarnished forever by this monstrosity. Expand
  61. Jun 19, 2020
    2
    Technical part is amazing! Shadows, light awesome.
    But scenario, so so so bad..
  62. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    A spit in the face of the original. Nonsensical narrative and a total disregard for beloved characters, how did this make it to print?
  63. Jun 19, 2020
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Graphics are amazing. It's not the worst game ever made. But I wouldn't call it good. While I enjoy the combat even though it's outdated, I play last of us for story, the story is what made this games downfall. I will point out just one very big plotpoint now, will not spoil the rest. The way they handled one particular death in this game is bad... and I mean BAD. so you will tell me a person who killed hundreds of guys in the last game... met his end by a golfclub? (Also, how stupid is it to have him reveal his name to complete strangers?) Oh, yeah, it's just so he could die.. . Let's be real, you know who I'm talking about and I don't think any of us expected him to survive this game... But kill him like that and not even at the end of the game? By a character we barely know and not a good character at that.. I'm disappointed ND. You have lost my faith again. The writing was BAD. I wouldn't recommend the game to hardcore TLOU fans. People who never played the 1st, might like this game. I could see this being at least a 7-8 for people who never played the 1st. For me? 4. Expand
  64. Jun 19, 2020
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Petty revenge plot with spontaneous forgiveness at the end after hundred killings. Below average.
    False advertising with Joel. His 3d model was changed from promo materials basically it was implied he should've been for a while but killed off after 3 hours and all conversations of JoelElly is poorly written flashbacks.
    DinaElly relationship shown ok and sometimes great but at the end it's soap opera.
    Graphics and acting is great.
    Don't care about gameplay and was here for continuation of THE story.
    But got just A story.
    4 golf clubs out of 10 spits on the grave of IP.
    Expand
  65. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    I was looking forward to the The Last of Us 2, however I was left bitterly dissapointed with the direction the game took especially after the enjoyment i got out of playing the first one.
  66. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    I have no word to say how disappointed I am. Waiting for this game since I was 15 in 2013, just to see Naughty dog spitting on my beloved characters. Congratulations rest of the team, gameplay and graphics are great. I feel sorry for you even more, hope that you can find a place where you can connect your talent with some great story.
  67. Sep 6, 2020
    4
    The story was completely disappointing and when you criticize the game for being horrible you get developers saying the only reason you didn’t like it is because you’re a homophobe or a bad person but in reality they took a risk and It did not pay off at all. To any last of us player that wants to play this game I highly do not recommend you will only be left unsatisfied and angry. TheThe story was completely disappointing and when you criticize the game for being horrible you get developers saying the only reason you didn’t like it is because you’re a homophobe or a bad person but in reality they took a risk and It did not pay off at all. To any last of us player that wants to play this game I highly do not recommend you will only be left unsatisfied and angry. The only redeeming thing about this game is the graphics and the soundtrack that’s it. Expand
  68. Jun 19, 2020
    4
    The graphic, gameplay and atmosphere is great. But everything is destroyed by the story, which doesn't make any sense and destroys the whole experience.
  69. Jun 22, 2020
    3
    Знаете, я только что расписывал здесь огромную тираду о том, почему мне как фанату 1 части серии эта игра абсолютно не понравилась, но решил всё стереть, считаю что и без моего мнения здесь достаточно разочарованных людей, это недо-продолжение недостойно того, чтобы я тратил свое время на расписание всех его проблем. Могу сказать так, не покупайте эту игру, я её прошёл и я оченьЗнаете, я только что расписывал здесь огромную тираду о том, почему мне как фанату 1 части серии эта игра абсолютно не понравилась, но решил всё стереть, считаю что и без моего мнения здесь достаточно разочарованных людей, это недо-продолжение недостойно того, чтобы я тратил свое время на расписание всех его проблем. Могу сказать так, не покупайте эту игру, я её прошёл и я очень разочарован. Expand
  70. Jun 19, 2020
    5
    Graphics are the best I've seen for years. Gameplay is almost the same as the first one except they improved melee combat and weapon management. Story is very linear, dull and contains a lot of plot holes. Abby's retrospective narrative is very much uncompelling and doesn't add that much to her character development. Lev and Yara doesn't provide that much momentum to fuel the whole revengeGraphics are the best I've seen for years. Gameplay is almost the same as the first one except they improved melee combat and weapon management. Story is very linear, dull and contains a lot of plot holes. Abby's retrospective narrative is very much uncompelling and doesn't add that much to her character development. Lev and Yara doesn't provide that much momentum to fuel the whole revenge plot. Tommy got a plot armor while Joel's death seems rushed and anticlimatic.In the end, it will leave everyone with nothing but emptiness and makes you asked so many questions about the life choices of every character in the game that lead them to that pointless finale. Expand
  71. Jun 19, 2020
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There were good points in the game which i loved, flash backs with ellie and joel. But it was too much of a disrespect to the player to let you go through such **** Ruining the beloved characters, that you will wish that this was all a **** dream and never happened. I was really hoping that my anger with the antagonist(or maybe the protagonist after all) will subside as the story progress. Turns out i did not give a **** about her and i just want joel back. Expand
  72. Jun 19, 2020
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Worst plot ever. Don’t spend money for this. Horrible. Score 1 only for graphic and music in the game. Expand
  73. Jun 21, 2020
    0
    A dumpster fire with a burning rotten dog carcass inside, the developers want to present to you as as bouquet of Roses. Human misery simulator, there's nothing redeeming about this game. The only good thing it does is exposing the blatant corruption of payed reviewers. Stick to the first game, and pretend its the last one, Part II will ruin even the first if you play it. Gameplay 7.A dumpster fire with a burning rotten dog carcass inside, the developers want to present to you as as bouquet of Roses. Human misery simulator, there's nothing redeeming about this game. The only good thing it does is exposing the blatant corruption of payed reviewers. Stick to the first game, and pretend its the last one, Part II will ruin even the first if you play it. Gameplay 7. Graphics 9. Story 0. Overall 0 Expand
  74. Jun 25, 2020
    1
    how to destroy a franchise
    story & storytelling = 0/10
    gameplay = 8/10
    graphics =9/10
    but the last of us franchise is all about the story ... now It’s a SJW game
  75. Jun 20, 2020
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Thanks Naughty Dog for destroying my favourite game and characters with your sjw crap. Wtf have you done to Joel and Ellie.. youve gone from a heros journey of redemption, family and love to this dribble. Shame on you... Expand
  76. Jun 30, 2020
    1
    by far the worst game I've ever played. I give this game 1/10 because of several things: making old characters, that every fan of the part I beyond recognition, false advertising, boring gameplay and new characters, that are not even close to characters from the original game. ND you need to APOLOGISE to the fans FOR THIS HUGE FAILURE.
  77. Sep 2, 2020
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If the game was supposed to make me miserable and angry, it succeeded. That’s not how I felt playing the last of us 1, and it wasn’t what I expected from a sequel. They can call it artistic, but it doesn’t change the fact that I didn’t like it and I cannot recommend it. Large sections are just walking simulators, the stealth and gunplay gets repetitive quickly, and there is very little innovation from the first game. It is one of the only games I’ve played through where I can honestly say that I was bored for a majority of it. Pair this with a story that is predictable at its best moments and rage inducing at its worst. Joel was never a hero, but the choice that he made at the end of the first game, at least in my opinion, was the correct one. I feel insulted by this games repeated attempts to vilify Joel for his actions. Even if Ellie could die for a cure, that was not the fireflies’ choice to make, and he was acting to protect someone he loved. Even if Ellie wanted to sacrifice herself, without a guarantee of a cure, she would basically be committing suicide. Joel’s only fault was lying to Ellie about it, and he did that to protect her from the guilt. I don’t mind Joel dying, but saying that he deserved it is ridiculous. Abby’s actions, meanwhile, are completely unforgivable, and then the game spends hours trying to make you sympathize with her. She is irredeemable, but the game insists that she is redeemed by the end and deserves to live. The theme of revenge being bad is not innately awful, but it is most definitely played out and predictable, and this game has little else to offer. Honestly, the game would be vastly improved with only a few changes, which only makes its failures more infuriating. More than anything else, I hate that they ruined my memory of the first game. There did not need to be a sequel. If this was a standalone game, and not a sequel, I might have liked it better. My expectations would have been lower, at least. Truthfully, I would give this game a score of 4, the lowest score I would give any game I’ve ever finished, but I am giving it a 1, simply because of the number of people rating it highly to superficially raise the score. There may be some haters who are bigots, but that should not take away from genuine criticism. There are idiots on both sides. Expand
  78. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The relationship between Ellie and Joel, which I want to see from the second game and reflected in the first game, is a mess in this game. And they present it as an impressive scenario. A good scenario is not killing a loved character just because people are shocked.If your only goal was to kill Joel, it should have been more grounded and a death worthy of him. Expand
  79. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    Разочарование 2020 года!!! Верните мои деньги!!! Сони относится к нам,как к быдлу,блокирует комментарии,отзывы,типо кушайте какашку,и говорите ,как вкусно вам было,не понимаю почему все молчат,это должен быть мировой скандал,чтобы сони запомнила на всю жизнь,как делать нельзяРазочарование 2020 года!!! Верните мои деньги!!! Сони относится к нам,как к быдлу,блокирует комментарии,отзывы,типо кушайте какашку,и говорите ,как вкусно вам было,не понимаю почему все молчат,это должен быть мировой скандал,чтобы сони запомнила на всю жизнь,как делать нельзя
  80. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    I tried to like it, despite all the controversy leading up to it. I can't believe this is the direction they went, 6 hours in and im ready to turn it off forever.
  81. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    Graphics = phenomenal bext gen like
    Gameplay = intense
    Story = completely ruin every other aspect of the game i found my self hating the gameplay like i was a prisoner forced to see an awful stroy unfold the story completely deconstruct the first game, game of thrones style
    Please dont make the same mistake i did dont buy this game wait for ghost of tushima
  82. Jun 20, 2020
    1
    Felt like Game of Thrones Season 8. Everything like graphics, gameplay etc all firing at all cylinders, except for the awful writing, and poor decision making on behalf of Naughty Dog.
    All the good things about this game are trumped by the terrible writing and being forced to play as a character which doesn't have the proper set-up to make us care. The game isn't fun to play and felt like
    Felt like Game of Thrones Season 8. Everything like graphics, gameplay etc all firing at all cylinders, except for the awful writing, and poor decision making on behalf of Naughty Dog.
    All the good things about this game are trumped by the terrible writing and being forced to play as a character which doesn't have the proper set-up to make us care. The game isn't fun to play and felt like a chore after the 2 hour mark.
    Also the fact that there is such a gap between user and critic reviews tell me alot about the untrustworthy industry, and confirms the fears regarding the bad rumours going around about the shady dealings of Naughty Dog.
    Expand
  83. Jun 21, 2020
    1
    So so so boring. Seriously the gameplay felt like it’s from 2015. Is there no new way to do a suspenseful action game then point and shoot. The shooting dynamics are boring the stealth leaves so much to be desired and honestly the story feels like you just watched some revenge show on Netflix and wrote then bought the story from some freshman at film school. So besides how good theSo so so boring. Seriously the gameplay felt like it’s from 2015. Is there no new way to do a suspenseful action game then point and shoot. The shooting dynamics are boring the stealth leaves so much to be desired and honestly the story feels like you just watched some revenge show on Netflix and wrote then bought the story from some freshman at film school. So besides how good the graphics are. Which is this games o e reading quality. Like damn good btw. The rest of this game is boring sad and a huge disappointment. Expand
  84. Sep 11, 2020
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I hate the Story in this game! I hate this monster Abby killed Joel. And I hate that you have to play with this monster! This game is just **** Expand
  85. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    Let me break this down for you quickly: PANDERING has negatively infected gaming culture and the Last of Us 2 is the quintessential example of it

    Before we get into game-play, story, sound design and overall fun of the game; we need to have serious discussion on what pandering is and how it effects culture negatively. Pandering is defined as doing things for an individual or group in
    Let me break this down for you quickly: PANDERING has negatively infected gaming culture and the Last of Us 2 is the quintessential example of it

    Before we get into game-play, story, sound design and overall fun of the game; we need to have serious discussion on what pandering is and how it effects culture negatively. Pandering is defined as doing things for an individual or group in order to gain a favor and advantage for yourself.

    Every game, comic book, movie or music may contain some form of pandering, and in most cases it isn't a big deal. In modern culture, however, we have reached a point where pandering has become an issue, particularly when a medium appeals to a certain demographic without making any effort to understand the people they're supposedly representing.

    It often feels like an afterthought, something thrown in to reap the benefits of including that group (typically a minority) without doing any actual work. Typically it's lazy representation at best, and at worst it can be actively harmful to the demographic being (mis)represented.

    The Last of Us 2 is the latter.

    I am a huge fan of the first game; but not in terms of the its game-play, graphics and sound design. The game's story, specifically its masterful pacing and development of the two main protagonists Ellie and Joel, is what draws players in (myself included) and captivates them throughout the entire journey. The writers knew what these two characters represent: Joel is a damaged, old and experienced man that has reluctantly partnered with an energetic, young and naive Ellie in order to potentially save humanity from a deadly virus. The game has a beautiful thematic narrative on society and human-beings; Ellie represents humanity's hope for the future (the literal cure for the virus), and thus needs to be protected by the battle-hardened adults, which is where Joel steps in (both story-wise and in game-play). Both characters grow and start depend on each other, and the game ends with an ambiguous question of whether this father/daughter relationship has either doomed or saved humanity.

    The Last of Us 2 has this beautiful theme and relationship dynamic completely thrown out of the window in order for the writers to pander Ellie as a strong female LGBT lead. All the charm and charisma she had in the first game is completely gone as Ellie has been reduced to being part of a, as writer Neil Druckmann puts it.... "diverse cast of strong female characters".

    Being female and gay does not make Ellie a strong character.

    Being deadly and proficient in killing does not make Ellie a strong character.

    Having a tortured past and being an emotionally distant does not make Ellie a strong character.

    In fact, being the potential cure to save humanity, also did not make Ellie a strong character either. She became a strong lead because of how her actions dynamically affected those around her, specifically Joel and his group. In this bleak future, Ellie is the Last bit of humanity (of Us, if you will) in a literal sense but also in an emotionally resonant way for all of us.

    In an effort to pander to certain demographics, the story takes a complete thematic nose-dive to have so-called representation of minorities surviving in an apocalyptic wasteland. Ellie, our future for humanity, is now comically emotional for wanting vengeance to the point of absurdity for the death of a close friend. None of her witty lines, or virus-curing antiques is needed here. All the Last of Us 2 seems to concern itself with, is how violence is violent for violent characters because a violent world needs violent people to justify the violence.

    And who better to justify this game's theme than humanity's last hope for the future... who's a lesbian.

    Pandering with no thought of the narrative pedigree that the first game had, has a sure way of alienating audiences and it does not make for a great gaming experience; especially when the first-game to this day is a herald for refined video game story-telling.

    In my humble opinion, Naughty Dog Studio have never been the creators of original game-play and stories, however, they have always been prime examples of expertly "refined" experiences. Uncharted/Crash Bandicoot and even the Last of Us were not pioneer games; but they were amazingly refined platformer/survival games to the point that it gave the illusion that they were.

    The graphics and sound design of the Last of Us 2 is worth praise as enemies converse realistically and move dynamically through the environment, a touch of the naughty dog refinement that is muddied unfortunately by the bog-standard run-of-the-mill 3rd-person action game-play.

    However the sound, game-play and the game's overall fun factor is connected to the story Naughty Dog has written, thus it suffers immensely for it. 1/10
    Expand
  86. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    beginner's error, never put two stories of two different characters in 30 hour games in a 1h or 2h movie yes or put a choice or a dlc to separate the story.
  87. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    Honestly this game is not for fans of the relationship between Joel and Ellie, this game totally destroys that and it changed it into something unrecognizable for The Last Of Us, Gameplay and Graphics amazing, but story is not worth the 7 years wait.
  88. Jun 19, 2020
    4
    i was so hyped for this game 20 and something hours later i finished the game and all i can say is this is one of the most disappointing games i have played this year and here why

    pros: - the visuals looks great every detail and everything is just wow - sound is top notch from the music to the sound of the zombies - voice acting is really good -the world building and map
    i was so hyped for this game 20 and something hours later i finished the game and all i can say is this is one of the most disappointing games i have played this year and here why

    pros:

    - the visuals looks great every detail and everything is just wow

    - sound is top notch from the music to the sound of the zombies

    - voice acting is really good

    -the world building and map design is really up there

    cons ( oh boy here we go)

    - the sheer amount of plot holes is just laughable

    - story writing is trash

    - forgettable characters

    - the way they handled some characters is just ridicules

    - AI is still stupid af

    - ending was a piece of hot garbage

    -antagonist is basically useless and gets away with way to much

    - devs basically destroyed everything they built in the previous game

    as you see this game is divided into two parts gameplay and story the gameplay of this game improved so much and props to them but the story just took a deep nose dive and ruined the whole franchise and because the story is the important part because this is a story based game the game just fails miserably

    in conclusion (and it really pains me to say this because the first game was a 1010) this game deserves a 4 out of 10 i do not recommend this game just play the first one and end it there in the end all i can say is LOOK HOW THEY MASCARAED MY BOY
    Expand
  89. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    For a game centered around the story it doesn't lend itself to it very strongly instead relying on shock value which is just too lazy in the current year.

    The Good: graphics, mo-cap, voice acting, and sound The Bad: Tired linear game play (No improvement or attempt at evolving from its predecessor), AI worse than previous, clunky movement, and bad/sometimes forced story telling
    For a game centered around the story it doesn't lend itself to it very strongly instead relying on shock value which is just too lazy in the current year.

    The Good: graphics, mo-cap, voice acting, and sound

    The Bad: Tired linear game play (No improvement or attempt at evolving from its predecessor), AI worse than previous, clunky movement, and bad/sometimes forced story telling really leaves a lot to be desired.
    Expand
  90. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    Imagine waiting 7 years for the continuation of one of the best written games of the last generation, just to obtain a sequel that not just is a mess in it's writing, but completely misses the point of the last game; it's not just supposed good and evil but an spectrum between, but TLOU2 just tries to make every character being one or another at certain points just because the writerImagine waiting 7 years for the continuation of one of the best written games of the last generation, just to obtain a sequel that not just is a mess in it's writing, but completely misses the point of the last game; it's not just supposed good and evil but an spectrum between, but TLOU2 just tries to make every character being one or another at certain points just because the writer and/or director says so.
    I love TLOU, but the Part II just misses the mark. But hey, at least is enjoyable while playing... although that wasn't the reason why the first game was so acclaimed in the first place.
    Expand
  91. Jun 19, 2020
    4
    I highly anticipated this game. I think to this day that TLOU 1 is simply one of the top 3 games ever made. The gameplay was simple but felt not at any point boring. The graphics were astonishing and the story was perfect from the beginning till the end. One of the few games I really shed some tears. The Last of Us 2 tries so hard to fit into its part one shoes that it lost the tone whichI highly anticipated this game. I think to this day that TLOU 1 is simply one of the top 3 games ever made. The gameplay was simple but felt not at any point boring. The graphics were astonishing and the story was perfect from the beginning till the end. One of the few games I really shed some tears. The Last of Us 2 tries so hard to fit into its part one shoes that it lost the tone which made it so great. Some things are great like the graphics and motion capture are almost perfect. The linear lvl design is almost all the time great and the melee combat feels real. But there are things which are truly not good from a players standpoint. The standard AI feels sometimes more dumb than the first one, yes I know you can rank the difficulty up, but that only helps to a certain degree. I wished for more enemy diversity to be more precise the infected. It feels like, "just more of the same". And the last important point is the story. All the different emotions I felt in first few minutes into the first one where unbelievable. There was only one moment I felt something for any of the characters and that one was Joel. All the others even Elli felt like only driven by one emotion and my empathy for anyone was very limited. Everything in the story felt like such a generic revenge story and there are many games which did it better. I watched the ending in disbelieve and sat there for a minute and asked myself: "that was it?" After such a long time playing this game(the playing time was for me about 20-30h I am not sure right now) it didn´t felt satisfying. I am truly, truly heartbroken for how they decided to handle the story archs. Was it a bad game? No, from the gameplay standpoint I didn´t think so. Was it a good game? No, the story destroyed my expirience completely. The hole plot from the first is perfect. The second one feels like: "We have to put this theme on it, REVENGE, REVENGE, REVENGE. No other thing has a place in it." I will play the first one, again and again but this game is done for me. Sad but true... Expand
  92. Jun 22, 2020
    4
    gameplay didnt improved at all
    and the Story ......
    HUGE let down
    i dont get how people can give that game 10s
    another franchise butchered :(
  93. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This game is not worth you to cost $60 to buy,if you are a fan of TLOU .It really sucks
  94. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Lesbian here who owns the collector's edition. I was extremely excited for this game and had pre-ordered on the first day. The only true last of us is in my favorite games of all time. I was excited up until the first leaks came out. I had a small piece of hope that it would be at least somewhat good as I already expected Joel would probably die in the squeal just not in the way the leaks showed. When I played the game and saw how they made Joel/Tommy go against their characters, by telling these people where they live and their names when they do not know these people at all. The way Abby just kills Joel when at this point the player has no idea who Abby makes her insufferable. All the work they do to try and make her sympathetic does nothing. At the end of the game, I agree with Ellies's decision to still go after Abby cause 'it can't all be for nothing'. It does not make sense that she would almost just let Abby go, she had just killed a man to get information on where Abby is. The ending is inconsistent with Ellie's character, as the entire game she has been killing people to try and get to Abby, and it is stupid she did not just shoot her in the head. Ellie's ending is bad and she does not even get revenge if she had just killed her straight away all that would be different is she would still have 10 fingers. A waste of £160. Expand
  95. Jul 23, 2020
    1
    This story is one of the worst stories I've ever seen in video games. Characters in this game behave completely differently from the first game. Gameplay mechanics are really similar. The ending is just the worst and makes you question why you even bothered playing till the end.
  96. Jun 21, 2020
    0
    How did you mess this up so bad???? I want a refund. Marketing completely lied to me about what I should be expecting. What the heck is with all the bait and switch?
  97. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    So this is where we are in video games, gratuitous sex scenes for no literal reason? This game has a flat story with no worth while characters or character development for that matter. This game just takes a steaming dump on the first games story and world building. Anyone who rates this torture porn garbage a 10 is SICK IN THR HEAD
  98. zkl
    Jul 3, 2020
    3
    disappointing follow up filled with inconsistencies, disrespect, a general lack of logic in decision making. despite the possibility of experiencing sensible, realistic, and above all interesting journeys with new and returning characters, the developers decide to shove mostly dry garbage in your face and force you to drudgingly eat it for hours on end. lets be real this series is alldisappointing follow up filled with inconsistencies, disrespect, a general lack of logic in decision making. despite the possibility of experiencing sensible, realistic, and above all interesting journeys with new and returning characters, the developers decide to shove mostly dry garbage in your face and force you to drudgingly eat it for hours on end. lets be real this series is all about the story and the passable game play is just a tool to tell it. if graphics and immersion are so goddamn important minecraft wouldn't even be a thing. if the gameplay was so crucial and fun it would be at the core of everybody's love for the series but its not. who says i play the last of us on repeat mainly for the really note tedious scrounging and extreme gore? sadists? a majority of people drop less than a week's worth of total playtime on the game then decide whether it was a worthwhile and satisfying experience. while the technical atmosphere was mostly great the drag of a plot is trash and kills the whole experience. delusional fans deflecting excuses toward strawman arguments instead of the real problem on how key moments of this game are total nonsensical garbage is actually just extremely sad. i was so excited to experience this new installment, now its all just dissatisfaction and disgust. this game is a 7 AT BEST, especially considering what came before. anybody giving this game a near-perfect score is delusional. Expand
  99. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    Could have been the best game of all time, but it suffered from a bad narrative.
    I got the game early, I liked the world, but hated every character in it.
  100. Jun 19, 2020
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. VERDICT [4/10] I never expected I'd write a negative review about a game from Naughty Dog. I never expected that I have to write this around 3 AM from where I am because this is too much. First, great visuals, animations, sound, music, environment, design, as always Naughty Dog pushing the game's engine to reach the fullest potential of the PS4's capabilities (Not pro). * HUGE SPOILERS AHEAD*

    Straight to the point on why I'm giving it 1/10 for the story. (TLOU1 was good because of the writing, not much on the gameplay.) They really tried to mix things up, like how it usually happens in the 'good' movies or films, books or shows. I am in for it and I was already anticipating Joel's death even then when the very first teaser for this game came out. In this sequel, you're going to play as Ellie and Abby. Both characters are going to be involved in revenge (although Abby did it first right away). You'll be able to play as Abby for the next half of the game. Naughty Dog wants you to build empathy for a character that killed your main character. It's a really good concept but it's beyond ignorance as to what they're really trying to achieve here. Antagonist Main Character? Sure you can give me that, Playing as the antagonist because you'll have to accept her "revenge" to your protagonist and empathize with her? No. Big no. Building up empathy for the "antagonist" is like building up empathy for ignorants/murderers allowing your citizens to die from the real world pandemic/police brutality.

    For Joel and Ellie:

    Joel got killed in the very first 2hrs of the game (IDK how long, prob even less than 2hrs). Basically, the story was already being set up as a revenge plot. Joel is the key to the revenge plot (forgive me, I love Joel as a character, He and Ellie were the reasons why TLOU1 was great). Now, Ellie was ready for that, and even Tommy was. Let's face it, the game was pulling an LGBTQ card right from the beginning (I'm being sensitive, hear me out). I don't care any of that, Ellie can always be who/how she wants to be (Same goes for everyone out there who's LGBTQ). Shouldn't have taken the political route. What else were they pulling in the game? SJW. (Yes, you've read this from other reviews already). Well, guess what, for 20+ hrs you'll be playing a massacre, killing every single one of the enemies who're Washington Liberation Front except for one character that killed Joel because why would you, right? Why would you kill someone who killed your father-like figure right? That's wrong, killing is bad but only after you've killed like 100 of them and letting go the one you played to kill for the whole game. I guess that's ethical and merciful.

    No, you do not set up a revenge plot and not giving it to the end. What's the whole Joel death thing for? (and those you killed with all the graphic/gore?) "He just died because it's life, just kind of like how reality works." It's basically what Naughty Dog is trying to teach us here. The lesson is to kill everyone and only to realize that it's not right and so Ellie let go of Abby.

    Fantastic story! Great ending! Way to just steal people's money for selling a plot we all thought how it was going down. Great job Neil Druckmann, I feel like you and your team just want to end Naughty Dog's reign as part of the SIE. No wonder why it had to be released before PS5. Good job on the paid reviews as well.
    Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 121 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Negative: 0 out of 121
  1. Sep 13, 2020
    90
    The Last of Us Part II is the high point of the PlayStation 4. The plot is controversial, but the game is the incredibly addictive adventure of Ellie, from which it is impossible to pull away from the opening and to the very end.
  2. Sep 5, 2020
    93
    Not everyone is going to enjoy the motives of The Last of Us Part II. But if you try and manage to accept the subliminal and not so subtle messages as a fact that the world has gone awry and that people have the need to have somewhere or someone to belong to as their own way out, then... You will witness the boundaries of gaming expand. You will witness a true masterpiece.
  3. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Sep 3, 2020
    75
    If you loved the original for its great characters and well-paced story – stay away from this game. However, if you’re aching to sink into the depths of depression, or just want to cut some throats and burn some zombies – Part II will deliver. [Issue#247, p.72]