User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 126261 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 23, 2020
    2
    The whole plot is a stupid and boring revenge story(unlike the first game)...driven by absurd decisions that do not follow the character arc. Totally not worth my time. It's definitely not up to the standard of THE LAST OF US.
  2. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This whole game is a frickin joke. It splits at the first part, and destroys everything that was great about it. Political correctness have destroyed tlou. Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2020
    6
    Stupid story -
    Gameplay from 2013 -
    beautiful graphics +

    general. 6 points
  4. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    Best gameplay, worst story thanks for pushing your dumb agenda down everyones throat and disrespecting one of the best characters in gaming history.
  5. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    I was seriously disappointed in this title because with the critics reviews I thought this was going to be a great game. In my opinion the visuals in this game horrible , runs horrible on my ps4, The story is simply the worse I ever suffered through
  6. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The reason for this low score is not only due to the game doing nothing special, being underwhelming and generally uninteresting. The game does everything it can to ruin your favorite character from the last game and put you in an angered, frustrated frame of mind. I barely played through it. The story made it feel even more like a chore. Frustrating, agenda filled story,lack of an improvement in gameplay, and awfully poor writing. Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2020
    0
    This game is the last straw in showing the divide between critic and consumer. Stupidly high review scores due to SJW content. Take away that content and ask them to review it again. The game is an abomination. It may look great, but the visuals can only please you for so long. All the news articles saying "oh here they come, the negative review bombers...". Yes, we're here giving thisThis game is the last straw in showing the divide between critic and consumer. Stupidly high review scores due to SJW content. Take away that content and ask them to review it again. The game is an abomination. It may look great, but the visuals can only please you for so long. All the news articles saying "oh here they come, the negative review bombers...". Yes, we're here giving this game the score it deserves because the media won't.

    Pointless story of "revenge" that leaves you wondering why you bothered asking for this game for the last 7 years. How do you go from Uncharted 4 levels of quality to this mess?

    Pass the golf club, it's time to put everyone out of their misery.
    Expand
  8. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What happens when you remove a character dynamic from a game that already has mediocre action and story? You get TloU part 2. Gone are the interactions between the 2 leads, gone is the moral greyness, and in their place we have virtue signalling, the game director writing the actors into a fully mocapped sex scene with his self-insert character. Do yourself a favour and don't waste money on this game, buy something that's actually good, like Witcher 3. At least it had actual strong female leads without patronising its fanbase.
    EDIT:at least it looks good
    Expand
  9. Jun 21, 2020
    1
    l cannot believe they have done this. THAT is what happens to the....Hell I don't want to write spoilers. I was obsessed with the first game when it was first announced. I loved it when it came out. Its still one of my favorite games of all time. I can't believe what they have done. Do they REALLY think people are going to beg for a part 3 after that **** Jesus. WHAT THE **** Il cannot believe they have done this. THAT is what happens to the....Hell I don't want to write spoilers. I was obsessed with the first game when it was first announced. I loved it when it came out. Its still one of my favorite games of all time. I can't believe what they have done. Do they REALLY think people are going to beg for a part 3 after that **** Jesus. WHAT THE **** I cannot express how much I LOVE the first game and how much I HATE this. What the **** happened to the writers? Expand
  10. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Gameplay-wise, this game is amazing. Graphics-wise, this game is amazing. The world is beautiful and you can tell the devs put a lot of time into making it a better game than the first. I can agree that in most cases this game should deserve a very high rating. Unfortunately, the developers have decided that anyone who was invested in the first game and everything that took place during it can just go kill themselves. After everything that happened in the first game and the player having to come to terms with the decision Joel made at the end of the game, killing him off right at the start of this game because "his decision was wrong" is a massive kick in the balls to anyone who grew attached to both Joel and Ellie. It's like the devs are saying "you liked the story we told in the first game, so get **** you weren't supposed to like it." Even after seeing all the leaks, I wanted to give this game a chance assuming that Joel's death would happen towards the middle or at least a third into the game and be a turning point for the story. Unfortunately, it happens within the first two hours. This completely killed any enjoyment I had had in this game and ruined my motivation to keep on playing it, regardless of the fact that everything else in this game is absolutely award winning. Expand
  11. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    é como o thanos juntar todas as jóias do infinito só pra não usar no final.
  12. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I booted up my PS4 extremely hyped to play this. The fan was going crazy from where it hadn’t been turned on in months, so I spent 40min taking it apart and dusting it with canned air and cloths so I can enjoy the game fully. I can honestly say that the constant sneezing from my dust allergy caused by cleaning out my PS4 was a more compelling and fulfilling narrative than the garbage story of this game. Not only a bad standalone product, but soured my view on the entire series. Expand
  13. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 我覺得不行,喬爾的死非常沒有意義,也相當唐突,後續艾莉非常兒戲的放棄復仇,這使得前面劇情跟著毫無意義。況且,裡面過多的政治正確,導致遊戲整體非常的虛偽! Expand
  14. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    Не этой игры я ждал 7 лет. Просо обосрали серию своим тупым движением и пропогандой. Про сюжет я вообще молчу. И да вы серьезно считаете что рейтинг 95 не куплен и проплачен?
  15. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    I don't know who this game was designed for but it is certainly not for fans of TLOU.
  16. Jun 19, 2020
    4
    The game world is less interesting, and the story less compelling than the original. A downgrade in all areas, and for a story driven game to have such uninteresting characters, flat dialogue and at times nonsensical plot is unforgivable.
    The core gameplay is at least still solid, but beginning to feel dated. Scenarios are repeated too often, and begin to feel like a chore by the end.
  17. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    Story is literally trash. Plot holes and the characters have no link with the first game, they are completely different.
  18. Jun 20, 2020
    0
    I literally don't have to say why this game got the score i gave it. Nice graphics and sh1t pc story. Absolute garbage. From 10 to a 0, such a let down...
  19. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    I don't know where to begin with. TLOU2 destroys EVERYTHING that made the first game great.
    It's a **** revenge story that I couldn't care less about. The graphics are great, but it wasn't the graphics that made the first game won so many prizes; it was the STORY! here the returning characters (etc Joel, Ellie and ...) don't behave like they were introduced in the first game. they are
    I don't know where to begin with. TLOU2 destroys EVERYTHING that made the first game great.
    It's a **** revenge story that I couldn't care less about. The graphics are great, but it wasn't the graphics that made the first game won so many prizes; it was the STORY! here the returning characters (etc Joel, Ellie and ...) don't behave like they were introduced in the first game. they are completely different people, and very stupid people. The dialogues are cheesy and stupid AF. And don't get me started about the ending! If you played the first game, this game makes all you did in the first game completely pointless. And the whole story in this one is completely pointless too once you reach the ending. Don't buy it, don't waste your money!
    Expand
  20. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's hard to understand the scene where Abby notices and kills Joel. I can understand the story. But how did Abby know that he was chasing the character only by hearing that his name was Joel?
    It knocked us out of shapely. Rather than revenge, we felt as if our bond had been broken down.
    Ellie, of course, can't make rational judgments in that' ellie just want revenge. Therefore, we have to hurt innocent people as many times as we did before.
    We even have to manipulate the character Abby who hurt Joel on our own. Do we want to play a game? Joel, who was selfish in his previous work but spared no effort to protect his daughter-like Ellie, faced a disastrous end. If you're a fan of the Last of Us, can you continue the game with Abby?
    No, you'll fall into despair.
    Expand
  21. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    well, this game is just political stuff to pleasure some social justice warriors, absolute trash
  22. Jun 21, 2020
    1
    So so so boring. Seriously the gameplay felt like it’s from 2015. Is there no new way to do a suspenseful action game then point and shoot. The shooting dynamics are boring the stealth leaves so much to be desired and honestly the story feels like you just watched some revenge show on Netflix and wrote then bought the story from some freshman at film school. So besides how good theSo so so boring. Seriously the gameplay felt like it’s from 2015. Is there no new way to do a suspenseful action game then point and shoot. The shooting dynamics are boring the stealth leaves so much to be desired and honestly the story feels like you just watched some revenge show on Netflix and wrote then bought the story from some freshman at film school. So besides how good the graphics are. Which is this games o e reading quality. Like damn good btw. The rest of this game is boring sad and a huge disappointment. Expand
  23. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This is the worst game I've ever seen. NaughtyDog just ruined this franchise.
  24. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    To bs honest, everything that made TLOU fun was just thrown to the trash. The naughty dog you knew that made the first game is just gone. 20 hrs of story that in the end you'll wonder why you even bought the game. 60£ went to the trash
  25. Jun 20, 2020
    1
    Nothing new, the storyline is very old ,not interesting and bored. this isn't naughty dog game
  26. Jun 19, 2020
    2
    The Last of Us Part II is the sequel of the previous game "The Last of Us"
    Ok, first the gameplay,visual,music,graphic i give it a solid 9/10
    But.... for the story oh boy, one of the worst story in the gaming industry. Too much milking of LGBT and SJW community so sad...
  27. Jun 20, 2020
    1
    storyline is ignorant and cliched, feeling bad for wasting money and time on the game
  28. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    I tried to like it, despite all the controversy leading up to it. I can't believe this is the direction they went, 6 hours in and im ready to turn it off forever.
  29. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    Such an absolute **** disapointment. 7 years we waiting for this sequal to one of the greatest games/stories of my generation and they completely butcher it and spit in the face of everyone who fell in love with the original.
  30. Jun 19, 2020
    5
    The game spends its entirety destroying the characters you knew from the first game. The only thing about Joel that even slightly resembles the character we love is his character model.

    The visuals are by far the best i've seen on any console game, and the level design/locations are built very well. The AI feels like it belongs in a game from 2014, and the secondary main character
    The game spends its entirety destroying the characters you knew from the first game. The only thing about Joel that even slightly resembles the character we love is his character model.

    The visuals are by far the best i've seen on any console game, and the level design/locations are built very well.
    The AI feels like it belongs in a game from 2014, and the secondary main character moves like a GTA IV character.
    The gameplay feels like its half a decade old, disappointingly the moments you find yourself actually feeling challenged and enjoying an encounter usually turn out to be entirely scripted, meaning you spend 20 minutes fighting a "mini boss" just to realize the only reason the encounter was difficult at all is because you are meant to lose regardless of how you perform. doesn't exactly feel rewarding to find out you would've gotten the same ending to a fight if you didnt touch your controller and let the monster beat you in 3 seconds.

    All in all this game is a massive disappointment to anyone expecting a true attempt to continue the beloved story, this game shouldn't even be considered TLOU2, its essentially a new IP that reuses assets, names and voice actors.
    Expand
  31. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    Разочарование 2020 года!!! Верните мои деньги!!! Сони относится к нам,как к быдлу,блокирует комментарии,отзывы,типо кушайте какашку,и говорите ,как вкусно вам было,не понимаю почему все молчат,это должен быть мировой скандал,чтобы сони запомнила на всю жизнь,как делать нельзяРазочарование 2020 года!!! Верните мои деньги!!! Сони относится к нам,как к быдлу,блокирует комментарии,отзывы,типо кушайте какашку,и говорите ,как вкусно вам было,не понимаю почему все молчат,это должен быть мировой скандал,чтобы сони запомнила на всю жизнь,как делать нельзя
  32. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    Graphics = phenomenal bext gen like
    Gameplay = intense
    Story = completely ruin every other aspect of the game i found my self hating the gameplay like i was a prisoner forced to see an awful stroy unfold the story completely deconstruct the first game, game of thrones style
    Please dont make the same mistake i did dont buy this game wait for ghost of tushima
  33. Jun 21, 2020
    2
    A colossal disappointment of unimaginative story telling that attempts to explore the consequences of anger/revenge at the kindergarten intellectual level while using x-rated violence and gore. I’ve honestly never been more insulted by the in game narrative choices made on my behalf. There are humans on this planet that behave like the characters in this game. Clinical psychologist’sA colossal disappointment of unimaginative story telling that attempts to explore the consequences of anger/revenge at the kindergarten intellectual level while using x-rated violence and gore. I’ve honestly never been more insulted by the in game narrative choices made on my behalf. There are humans on this planet that behave like the characters in this game. Clinical psychologist’s categorize them as psychopaths. Rational people just do not behave this way, including the "supposedly complex" characters in this game; Naughty Dog simply drops them into the sewer to deliver forced brutality shock - again - and again. The scarcity of genuine and believable character development keeps TLoU2 floating in the sewer throughout. I’m not sure what the hell Naughty Dog was trying to do, but this game could just as easily have been called Postal 2. It failed to engage me on any level. Others are claiming that Last of Us 2 is a disservice to the established characters from the first game. I think this is too kind, The Last of Us 2 is a disservice to every character in the game - each one a mockery of humanity, and then overtly politicized which only heightens the mockery. Naughty Dog seems caught up in their own bubble of smugness, because very, very few people care if game characters are straight or gay; white, black, or blue; Human, Krogan, or Orc. But virtually every gamer does care that the characters fit the world, lore, environment, and narrative; virtually every gamer cares that the narrative is unique, engaging, and builds upon the established lore. Here, Naughty Dog simply takes a dump on the world. Yes the game looks great - but honestly, that’s expected for a AAA title. The game play is adequate - if just barely, which is expected from B level games. Given the ridiculous and insulting context of this game, I have no intention of “finishing” only to accentuate my level of disappointment. Perhaps Naughty Dogs next masterpiece will let you role-play as Eric and Dylan. This game has a single central pillar - Story - which fails badly - 2/10. Expand
  34. Jun 22, 2020
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. -Graphics 10/10 (IGN style)
    -Story 2/10
    -Gameplay 6/10

    Whoever thinks the story is fine* should be more honest about how they actually feel.
    Instead of WhiteKnighting Naughty Dog.
    Expand
  35. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    this game destroyed all of my good memory of firs game this game has great visual but.........but story is sucks boring oh my god ..... i expect more from naughty dog
  36. Jun 19, 2020
    2
    Everything about this games story is so bad that it shadows any positive things about this game. Plot is absolutely disappointing.
  37. Jun 19, 2020
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Awful storytelling, especially after coming from the first game which is impeccable across the board. Too depressing and melancholic to a point of being self loathing. A terrible shame to see the franchise fall in such a disreputable state and it’s safe to say it’s worth just watching the cutscenes on YouTube to understand the complaints.

    Graphics and Gameplay are serviceable, but that isn’t enough to carry a story driven experience.
    Expand
  38. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    This by all measurements is an objectively terrible sequel. with nothing but a technical improvement to the graphic quality this game is an insult to fans. The multiplayer was removed for no reason which is value that made the original game worth the $60 price. now that it's removed we are left with a disgusting, demented story that in some cases literally tortures the characters of theThis by all measurements is an objectively terrible sequel. with nothing but a technical improvement to the graphic quality this game is an insult to fans. The multiplayer was removed for no reason which is value that made the original game worth the $60 price. now that it's removed we are left with a disgusting, demented story that in some cases literally tortures the characters of the original to no avail. This will be known as one of the most hated videogames in history as it destroyed an idea that videogames could focus on story instead of pure gameplay. It clearly shows how shallow the gameplay is when the story becomes insulting to play. Congradulations Naughtydog for destroying a genre. Expand
  39. Jun 19, 2020
    2
    Technical part is amazing! Shadows, light awesome.
    But scenario, so so so bad..
  40. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    Apesta, políticamente correcta esta basura de PS, para esto me hicieron esperar 7 años luego de la obra maestra que fue la primera parte
  41. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The writing and story takes a complete 180° from the first game. They ruin characters that we have grown to love from the first, and add new ones that feel uninspired and dull. The ending is a headscratcher. Overall a very poor performance that ruins excellent graphics and animation. Expand
  42. Jun 26, 2020
    3
    I gotta say the game looks great, but this games story is terrible. Poorly written from the plot holes to the character development. Don't waste your money on this because I'm sure it'll be free/discounted in a month or two.

    Graphics 10/10
    Story 0/10
    Gameplay 10/10
  43. Jun 26, 2020
    5
    Edited and reposted to reflect current changes.

    An opening note about "review bombing": take a look at the positive reviews. See how many of the reviews don't go beyond a paragraph, or even a sentence? And in addition, that ten is the only review on that account? This is my first review, but I've tried to be as fair as possible, since I feel something needs to be said about how rhis all
    Edited and reposted to reflect current changes.

    An opening note about "review bombing": take a look at the positive reviews. See how many of the reviews don't go beyond a paragraph, or even a sentence? And in addition, that ten is the only review on that account? This is my first review, but I've tried to be as fair as possible, since I feel something needs to be said about how rhis all was handled. A large portion of the negative or mixed reviews are well-written criticisms of the game by fans of the series, while many of the 10s don't even mention a thing about the game itself. Don't review the game until you've finished it? I highly doubt all the positive reviewers have played the game through, either. Is "review bombing" justified when it's positive? Even if it's being done to counteract the backlash, it's still highly disingenuous and doesn't help the cause in the long run. With gaming journalists constantly being strong-armed into giving AAA titles high scores, honesty is becoming a precious commodity. The score disparity means something is wrong. The game has its good points, but it is definitely not flawless. Neither side is innocent. Look for yourself and think critically before blindly pushing your own narrative.

    With that said, the review.

    The game looks, feels, and sounds amazing. There's no denying that. The graphics are breathtaking, and I'd say that aesthetically speaking, the game is unlike anything else on the console, pushing the PS4 to its absolute limits. A fitting sendoff, in light of the PS5's approaching release. The sound design is haunting, the musical score, environment, and enemies all sound incredible. This all ties together to paint possibly the most realistic and immersive picture of post-apocalyptic America I’ve ever seen. Play it on the biggest screen you have, wear headphones, and enjoy.

    In terms of gameplay, it's good. It builds upon the established formula, refining it into a smooth and enjoyable stealth-action gameplay loop, tried and true. However, I wouldn't say it's game-changing, especially in comparison to its predecessor. TLOU brought us an entirely new experience, heart-pounding and suspenseful in a way that transformed the zombie genre. TLOU2 is equally exhilarating, but I wouldn't say it breaks any significant ground that its predecessor hadn't already. As a standalone game, it's excellent. As a sequel to the first game, which made me fall in love with the genre, it's just a tad disappointing.

    Now, the story and characters. What the vast majority of reviews, me included, find issue with. I won’t get into detail about major plot points in order to keep this review friendly to those who haven’t played the game yet.

    The way the story unfolds is confusing, forgettable, and downright infuriating at points. I think the idea was great; however, the order that it’s presented to you only made me less invested as the game went on. It retcons beloved characters, doing complete 180s on their personalities in ways that go beyond subversion into alien-skinsuit territory. The new characters that the game attempted to make me emphasize with were unlikable for multiple reasons, even to the point where I would take more risks in combat, not valuing their lives as highly. felt detached from the characters and uninvested in the story; so, why play the game?

    All in all, TLOU2 would have been a great game, were it not a sequel. However, it is a sequel. It can’t be judged purely on its own merit. The graphics are incredible, the gameplay is great, but the story falls short. And that’s the issue. TLOU established itself as a narratively-driven game, a story about forging bonds and finding the good in a brutally unforgiving world. TLOU2 is a revenge story that beats you while you’re down and leaves you empty by its conclusion. Perhaps that was the point. Subversion isn’t a bad thing in itself. It can be a powerful tool, where betraying established expectations can create an experience more powerful than before. However, there’s a difference between subversion and indiscriminately breaking down aspects of a beloved series for the shock factor. The marketing seemed to double down on this idea, the trailers promising an entirely different game than what you ultimately buy. It’s shocking, but not in a good way.

    The Last of Us should have been the last entry in the series. Go play that, wait for this to go on sale or pre-owned, and save yourself some cash.
    Expand
  44. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    They lost it. ND If this is the new direction you're heading towrads go make some movies or something and stay away from videogames
  45. Jun 20, 2020
    0
    I loved last of us 1
    The duo of joel and the girl and the story was awsome
    Last of us 2 has Good graphism but I didnt liked the direction took the story
  46. Jun 19, 2020
    5
    Wanted to leave a real review. I stopped after the getting the gas at the dome and the other location. Visuals/Acting/Presentation is a 9/10.

    My problem is story and gameplay. The game plays like it's 2012, controlling Ellie feels like driving a tank. Between that, the close up camera and 20-30 FPS this game doesn't feel fun to play. I didn't have this problem with RE2, but maybe
    Wanted to leave a real review. I stopped after the getting the gas at the dome and the other location. Visuals/Acting/Presentation is a 9/10.

    My problem is story and gameplay. The game plays like it's 2012, controlling Ellie feels like driving a tank. Between that, the close up camera and 20-30 FPS this game doesn't feel fun to play. I didn't have this problem with RE2, but maybe because it was 60FPS on PC, not sure.

    The story.....wow. I'll be nitpicky here but everything adds up. Starting minute 1, characters are low energy like their on melatonin or something. I get their setting a depressing tone, but there has to be someone that I like. They go into school drama with Dina kissing Ellie, but Ellies not sure, and Jessie dated Dina but he's cool with Ellie and Dina, but the bartender is a bigot, and on and on....it's torturous. You didn't give me a reason to care about these low energy, grumpy characters, why would I care about their relationships?

    They try to remedy that with Ellie and Dina's dialogue while progressing through the game but for some reason neither of them interest me. Their both kinda boring, corny jokes, just nothing interesting to say. It's weird because you'd think they'd have a lot of cool stories but they don't.

    The other character is a trainwreck, she's basically Sasuke in Naruto times 10. Not sure why I'm supposed to care about her.

    I think 5/10 is fair, maybe higher if you enjoy the gameplay. The story is a slog, pacing bad, unlikable characters, etc. Good set pieces and visuals but it's not worth it.
    Expand
  47. Jun 22, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't even know how to put everything this game has made me feel in words... Could have been an amazing game, but the story is beyond awful, in the first 2 hours it will break you...I just continued playing to get revenge, just to get to the end and not having that option... I wish I could get my money back... If you liked tlou 1 don't buy this,for me there was never a part 2. Expand
  48. Jun 19, 2020
    5
    I live in New Zealand. After playing through the game I simply can not understand how this game received a 95/100 meta score.
    Positives:
    -Game play -Graphics -Top Tier Animation -Cut scenes and voice acting Negatives: -Characters -Character development (It's non existent) -Plot -The ending The writing destroys this game. The writer Neil Druckman say this game is about hate
    I live in New Zealand. After playing through the game I simply can not understand how this game received a 95/100 meta score.
    Positives:
    -Game play
    -Graphics
    -Top Tier Animation
    -Cut scenes and voice acting

    Negatives:
    -Characters
    -Character development (It's non existent)
    -Plot
    -The ending

    The writing destroys this game. The writer Neil Druckman say this game is about hate and revenge, however, you never get revenge. You're left with a game which is anticlimactic.
    Expand
  49. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. How you dare to kill Joel and won't give the opportunity to avenge him! What is this!!

    You Ruined the first TLOU!! I can't believe this!
    Expand
  50. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The worst game EVER! The first game was about the relationship between two characters: Joel and Ellie. This part introduced way too many unnecessary new characters that only complicated the story and deviated from the evolution of Joel and Ellie. The whole game was about the cycle of revenge. Abby kills Joel, and Ellie set on a journey to kill Abby. While she kills hundreds of people just to get to Abby, she gets the epiphany that killing won't change anything. Excuse me? What about the hundreds that Ellie Killed just to get to Abby? They're just unimportant I guess. I just don't understand what is the point of the second part. The first game ended and let the players decide for themselves whether Joel did the right thing or not. However, the second part assumes that Joel's decision is wrong, and it's just a big f*ck you to all the people who thought Joel did right by Ellie. And who's Abby again, the unrealistically muscular daughter of a worthless NPC from the first part. Everything felt forced in this part just to demonize some characters and try to push Druckmann's ideas of what is right and wrong. As a true lover of the first part, The Last of Us had ended at the point where Ellie said "okay." This part is just a spin-off and is not even close to the first part story-wise. The game is fantastic on level design, sound, and graphical fidelity, which is something I expected from ND developers. But Druckmann needs to leave ND if Sony wants this studio to continue. Otherwise, Druckmann will bring ND demise! Expand
  51. Jun 19, 2020
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm so disappointed with this overpriced horror show. A complete deconstruction of the first game and the characters you developed a connection to therein. Just a complete brutality to basically every character new and old, and the whole franchise's reputation.

    Joel announcing his name to a group of strangers he already seemed suspicious of despite knowing that people could be looking for him after what he did was so forced and out of character. Ellie walking in on Joel getting beaten to death, GUN IN HAND, and not immediately shooting Abby was also incredibly ooc. Poor writing, not just in the overall story but also in terms of the characters is literally used as a gratuitous stepping stone, AKA a shameless excuse to get to all of the brutal, gorey violence.

    Noy to mention it ends in a bleak way with no silver lining at all. Compare that to the way the first one, while bleak in nature still had its nice moments. Its moments of "ya know what maybe this hellscape is worth sticking around for." But this game? I'd get more enjoyment shoving fingernail clippings up my a** hole.

    Don't get me wrong, I expected it to be bleak. The tone of the game is post-apocalypse. It revolves around death and the ugliness of man and yes yes it's all very grim. That kind of prepares you for how this isn't going to be a totally happy story. But everything they built up and established in the first game is just burned to the ground.

    All the gameplay is basically the same as the first with some exploration buffs and NPC tweeks, companion AI feels clunkier now but a lot of the interactions between your people and between enemies outside of cutscenes feels very fluid and natural. That said, a lot of the stuff that's good about the game is done in flashbacks to when Ellie was younger. The actual current story they're telling had potential but the executuion is poor.

    The game is trying so hard to get a specific reaction while blowing holes in why and how you should feel that way. We are supposed to empathise with Abby just because we are exposed to her when we're forced to play as her? We are supposed to think bad of Ellie when she killed Mel after Mel attacked her first instead of just pleading "I'm pregnant!"?

    Abby killed the man that saved her life brutally and mercilessly. She wasn't able to empathise at all with why Joel might have done what he did, but you are expected to empathise with her? She even goes on to have a similar, protective sort of relationship with Lev as Joel did with Ellie. Maybe not in a parental way, but the parallels are still there. It really could have been a good story had they spent more time on the gap years rather than jumping straight a timeskip and Joel's very premature death.

    All of this and the fact that the ending is not at aaaaall worth it makes this feel so incredibly soulless. They wanted to go down the route of "is there really a good guy in this kind of world?", and that idea could be incredible. But then they butcher the execution. Force you to play as the character who beat Joel to death for a massive portion of the game, and leave off with a terrible ending.

    Ellie stated in the first game that she's most afraid of ending up alone, and they did that to her. She suddenly realises that killing is wrong after slaughtering countless men and women to get to this moment with Abby. She is in the middle if drowning her and suddenly lets her live. This woman killed Joel, almost killed Dina. In fact, upon hearing that Dina was pregnant from a battered and bleeding Ellie, she says "Good.", and proceeds to almost slit her throat only that Lev stops her. But Ellie suddenly forgets all of that and lets her leave.

    Ellie goes back to Dina only to find she has left already, goes into a room and sees her guitar in its case. She pulls it out and learns she can no longer play the way Joel showed her all those years ago because she had her fingers bitten off during the struggle with Abby. She props the guitar up by the window, almost as if in memory of the man who taught her to paly, and leaves it behind. She has no use for it now. Ellie walks through the field outside, alone. Joel dead. Tommy partially paralysed but his characterisation definitely got massacred. Dina gone. Cut to credits. Game over.

    There isn't even a slither of happiness in this game. Was the lesson "revenge is bad"? Because if so, they should have rolled the credits as soon as Abby killed Joel and told players "if that made you uncomfortable, do not seek revenge." In big writing before rolling the credits.
    Either way the ending would leave you shifting uncomfortably with a bad taste in your mouth.

    Neil Druckman should be ashamed of the false advertising via trailers and "10/10" reviews that sprouted up after all of the leaks. Just wait for how quickly the price drops on the PS Store to see how poorly it did. And even when it's cheap, don't subject yourself to this trashfire.
    Expand
  52. Jun 20, 2020
    0
    This game is more of a political statement than a game. It’s like a bad movie at this point. Forced, out of place characters to push a political agenda. The people reviewing are not “homophobic” or “anti transgender”. The game isn’t bad because the characters are gay and transgender, the game is terrible because they are so horribly written and 100% forced into a once great game series.This game is more of a political statement than a game. It’s like a bad movie at this point. Forced, out of place characters to push a political agenda. The people reviewing are not “homophobic” or “anti transgender”. The game isn’t bad because the characters are gay and transgender, the game is terrible because they are so horribly written and 100% forced into a once great game series. Leave politics with politics and keep video games video games. Once you Intertwine the two, it’s chaos. No one wants to play video games to be political, video games are an escape from that. Expand
  53. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    What is this garbage. There is no game in there. Just a number of different agendas they tried their best to show.
  54. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The story is terrible and the ending makes the whole story pointless. You go on a **** killing spree only to decide “rEvEnGe iS bAd”at the end and not kill the one person you were going for the whole time? That doesn’t even make sense. If revenge is bad why the hell did Abby get her revenge and end up getting a better ending than everyone else? The ending makes the whole story pointless. Expand
  55. Jun 19, 2020
    2
    The game is **** even combat movements don't like what they show in trailers and the story is trash I can't believe they takes 7 or 6 years to make this .
  56. Jun 21, 2020
    0
    The grahics look good but the story is really bad especially the end. We wanted to play more with Joel.
  57. Jun 22, 2020
    1
    Bad story
    Unlikeable characters Bad ending
    Killing someone we truly care about because we played with him mostly in the first game isn't an issue the issue is how you kill him. It's about the game not having good high points like the first part. There is literally no depth and many mechanics of the game are useless and temporary. Neil you just destroyed a video game that was looked up to
    Bad story
    Unlikeable characters Bad ending
    Killing someone we truly care about because we played with him mostly in the first game isn't an issue the issue is how you kill him.
    It's about the game not having good high points like the first part.
    There is literally no depth and many mechanics of the game are useless and temporary.
    Neil you just destroyed a video game that was looked up to by Soo many fans.
    We waited for years for this?
    I love the first part and the only thing I like about the second part is that it makes me love the first part even more.
    Because it's the end of the world and it's All about survival no one cares about being nice or even or just. Your are the authority you are the judge jury and executioner and you have to adapt.
    It's all about hope and it's all about finding something to fight for.
    I'm devastated after playing this you just destroyed my favorite video game of all time. And for those who say that it's the right thing or that it's his perspective understand this that majority of the people don't want this so yes these ratings are well deserved.
    Expand
  58. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    Incredible potential but falls flat on its face with unlikeable characters and cheap tropes. I wish I never played it. The storyline is just atrocious and lazy.
  59. Jun 20, 2020
    0
    Terrible plot, repetitive gameplay, and unlikeable characters. Forgets any character development before the second game
  60. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    Если говорить без спойлеров, то разработчики плюнули на фанатов первой части, и вместо того, что бы рассказать историю о мести (как её заявляли), они задвигают тему феминизма и толерантности, и во всех бедах виноваты белые парни натуралы...

    В техническом плане это плохо оптимизированная игра на ps4 (фатке). За 5 часов прохождения 15 вылетов, консоль ревёт как самолёт, а фпс редко
    Если говорить без спойлеров, то разработчики плюнули на фанатов первой части, и вместо того, что бы рассказать историю о мести (как её заявляли), они задвигают тему феминизма и толерантности, и во всех бедах виноваты белые парни натуралы...

    В техническом плане это плохо оптимизированная игра на ps4 (фатке). За 5 часов прохождения 15 вылетов, консоль ревёт как самолёт, а фпс редко поднимается выше 25.
    Expand
  61. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    What a horrible story, Give my money back!! İ hate u neil !!! Why i’m playing abby the last of us 2? İ’m waiting 7 years this game! İ love elly and joel but i’m playing “abby”.
    İ hate u neil! Please leave your job. You dont deserve it.
  62. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    game play was amazing, graphics are amazing, but the story is bad, and there is nothing left in a naughty dog game if the story is bad.
  63. Jun 19, 2020
    5
    Great Gameplay - Gorgeous Landscape - Terrible Story

    The first Last of Us is still one of my favorites, so this game was a 7 year long wait. Technically, the game is no different than other Naughty Dog games. Every gameplay mechanic is improved and built upon. I found stealth to be more enjoyable. Every encounter is different. It is a semi-open linear world, so there are multiple paths
    Great Gameplay - Gorgeous Landscape - Terrible Story

    The first Last of Us is still one of my favorites, so this game was a 7 year long wait. Technically, the game is no different than other Naughty Dog games. Every gameplay mechanic is improved and built upon. I found stealth to be more enjoyable. Every encounter is different. It is a semi-open linear world, so there are multiple paths you can take where you might or might not encounter certain enemies. NPC (unlike previous games) have names and react when one of their fellow mates get killed. The game is gruesome and violent but that is to be expected given the current state of the world in the Last of Us. It's also amazing what Naughty dog has achieved graphically on a PS4 Pro where the game is running on 1440p@30fps.

    Unfortunately, on the other hand, the story has left me with a lot to desire. The first few hours feel rushed and questionable, however, I thought this would lead to an ending not possible without taking this direction. However, the ending has to be one of the worst game endings of a AAA game in recent memory. Character-wise it makes no sense. I don't want to post any spoilers so I will say this. "It can't all be for nothing" would describe part I. "It was all for nothing" would describe part II.
    Expand
  64. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    The system and graphics in this game are great, but it has the worst story I've ever seen.
  65. Jun 20, 2020
    0
    The story of the 1 first game and the relation of joel and ellie was the principal reason i loved the game this game was a big fu to the fans and you quit to put effort in the story to push agenda.
  66. Jun 19, 2020
    2
    The last of us 2 has most the same positives of the first, good graphics, enemy animations and ai and the setting. Everything else is so much worse though.
    After the fourth of fifth time i had to sit through a cutscene, then you are dropped into a linear level with roaming enemies i had to sneak past/kill i was getting fed up. Early on in the game you are treated to a wide open area that
    The last of us 2 has most the same positives of the first, good graphics, enemy animations and ai and the setting. Everything else is so much worse though.
    After the fourth of fifth time i had to sit through a cutscene, then you are dropped into a linear level with roaming enemies i had to sneak past/kill i was getting fed up. Early on in the game you are treated to a wide open area that feels more free roam, but its an illusion that doesn't last long.
    The Writing, story and voice acting have taken a massive nose dive. Characters you loved make terrible mistakes and make choices you the player are unlikely to agree with.
    What is worse, as linear and forced as the story is you then are forced to see the consequences of those actions you had no control over.
    I would not recommend playing last of us 2. Just watch the highlights on youtube.
    Expand
  67. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    Imagine waiting 7 years for the continuation of one of the best written games of the last generation, just to obtain a sequel that not just is a mess in it's writing, but completely misses the point of the last game; it's not just supposed good and evil but an spectrum between, but TLOU2 just tries to make every character being one or another at certain points just because the writerImagine waiting 7 years for the continuation of one of the best written games of the last generation, just to obtain a sequel that not just is a mess in it's writing, but completely misses the point of the last game; it's not just supposed good and evil but an spectrum between, but TLOU2 just tries to make every character being one or another at certain points just because the writer and/or director says so.
    I love TLOU, but the Part II just misses the mark. But hey, at least is enjoyable while playing... although that wasn't the reason why the first game was so acclaimed in the first place.
    Expand
  68. Jul 2, 2020
    0
    Sadly, this sequel is a poorly written revenge story, which tries force its message down you throat, too which it becomes cringe worthy. They try to introduce new characters, but fails miserably in giving them any depth. Consequently, one does not care about them at all. Furthermore, the well developed characters from the previous game, acts totally out of character in this sequel, inSadly, this sequel is a poorly written revenge story, which tries force its message down you throat, too which it becomes cringe worthy. They try to introduce new characters, but fails miserably in giving them any depth. Consequently, one does not care about them at all. Furthermore, the well developed characters from the previous game, acts totally out of character in this sequel, in order to fit a narrative. Unfortunately, this sequel destroys the remarkable achievements of the first game. Its some what decent game-play mechanics (maybe a little outdated) and breath-taking graphics, is overshadowed by how terrible the story is. Ultimately, they have destroyed their own franchise - a franchise once beloved and admired. Expand
  69. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This game is a tragedy. Following up on one of the most critically acclaimed and popular titles of the PS3, there were certainly high expectations for The Last of Us Part II, and it has not only failed to meet those expectations, but has become emblematic of a far larger problem in gaming, and the entertainment industry as a whole.

    To start, I can see the spirit of many good ideas
    This game is a tragedy. Following up on one of the most critically acclaimed and popular titles of the PS3, there were certainly high expectations for The Last of Us Part II, and it has not only failed to meet those expectations, but has become emblematic of a far larger problem in gaming, and the entertainment industry as a whole.

    To start, I can see the spirit of many good ideas throughout. The visuals, the gameplay, the music, it's all top-notch. The framework for interesting narrative and character developments is present, but what has been applied to that framework is frankly terrible. What could have been a compelling tale of revenge, given Abby and Ellie's near identical personal quests to 'kill their father's murderer', becomes a poorly handled mess as desperate attempts to make Abby appear more likable and relatable fall apart with her ultimate characterization being that of a dangerous psychopath, consumed by her own bloodlust and unchecked by the lawless nature of this post-apocalyptic world. What's worse, is as a person of LGBTQ+ status, her poor characterization feeds into the prejudices many people unfortunately hold to this day, resulting in a character that feels less like positive representation and more exploitation. Ellie, on the other hand, is made out to be far worse than we know her to be in a clear attempt to improve the perception of Abby. And the same is certainly true of former series protagonist, Joel, who is made out to be a monster.

    Abby's past is framed in a manner that neglects Ellie's lack of consent in the operation that would've killed her, trying to further endear her, as well as the posthumous representation of her father, to the player despite their complicity in the murder of a young girl. And while there is opportunity for a deeper exploration of 'sacrifice for the greater good' it goes largely untouched.

    The game's story and characters all are mishandled and misused at best, or outright abused at worst. Now, does this make the game a 0 / 10? No. What does is the impetus of The Last of Us Part II and what it represents in media.

    It's difficult to miss the controversy over the last decade. 'Subversion of expectations' has certainly made its rounds as an excuse for rushed, forced and sloppily handled properties. There's also the implication, particularly in gaming journalism, of a 'cut-off' of insider information which in turn can lead to such outlets losing traffic and by extension, money. It's difficult to remain a competitive news source when you've been restricted access to review copies, trailers, and interviews all because you've been critical of a particular company. But that's not the biggest problem here. That award goes to the sheer venom and spite many companies and teams in the entertainment industry have towards their fan base. To see the directors, writers, producers, all of these major personalities associated with movies, TV shows, and games to show such open contempt for their detractors and critics and to see associated news outlets scurry to their defense is far beyond insulting. We live in a world where if a film releases starring a female lead and it is panned by audiences, there are marketing crews to spin the criticism as sexism to undermine their validity. If a video game releases and consumers flock to berate it, it's classified as 'review bombing' or 'trolling' or sometimes also 'sexism', 'racism', or 'LGBTphobia'. In the Last of Us Part II's case it's all of the above.

    This practice isn't just becoming normalized either. It IS the norm. And that's unacceptable. Entertainment media should thrive because of its audience, not in spite of them. The Last of Us Part II is yet another case study in a long, long list of these controversies. It is far from the first and sadly I fear it'll be far from the last.
    Expand
  70. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What a terrible story. druckmann takes our beloved characters from the first game and pisses all over them, even going so far as to animate himself as a character that spits on joel. for a new character and storyline that has no character development or goal. Graphics and acting are great but the story is so bad that I wanted to stop playing, especially while controlling the boring new character. This game is another game disguising itself in the last of us world. Terrible, insulting writing. Expand
  71. Jun 19, 2020
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There were good points in the game which i loved, flash backs with ellie and joel. But it was too much of a disrespect to the player to let you go through such **** Ruining the beloved characters, that you will wish that this was all a **** dream and never happened. I was really hoping that my anger with the antagonist(or maybe the protagonist after all) will subside as the story progress. Turns out i did not give a **** about her and i just want joel back. Expand
  72. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In the graphic aspect, gameplay, and mechanics, it is great, but once you finish it the feeling inside you will not be great, you seek vengeance for very long, Ellie took a lot of lifes during that path, and once she has the killer of Joel in front of her, she decides to let Abby live, after all of that? That is a slap in the face to the players. Expand
  73. Jun 27, 2020
    0
    Wow, you guys are awesome!! What tf is this story dude? Like what were you thinking while making the scenario huh? What was that ending? Holly s.... dude. Okay dude graphics and mechanics are good no doubt, but the story no dude. You screwed up Neil.
  74. Jul 2, 2020
    0
    Save your 60$ and your mental health. Story and gameplay - trashfire on sunflower seeds husk factory. Animations also bad as f lol.
  75. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was so excited for the next chapter of this storyline but Last of Us 2 story is absolute s**t. I watched Joel’s daughter die in his arms in The Last of Us and loved the relationship that grew between him and Ellie. I saw him grow as a person and while many of us didn’t necessarily agree with his decision at the end of The Last of Us, we understood it because he couldn’t see another daughter (figure) die. I would have accepted his death and Ellie becoming the main character, I have no issues with her sexuality, but to use him as a pawn and sacrifice him in this manner just for shock value was a slap in the face to all fans of the last of us. On top of that, I am forced to play as the character that kills him and then they try to convince me that she isn’t all that bad. Gameplay is amazing, but the storyline that drives the game makes it all not worth playing especially for it to end the way it does (absolute bulls**t). I can’t give this game a zero because of the graphics, world design, gameplay and hard work of the developers are all amazing; But the story was the main reason why people loved this series and now it’s ruined. I avoided all the spoilers and leaks and bought the game but now I regret it. Thank you Neil Drukmann & Anita Sarkeesian for robbing me of $60 and giving me a s**t story in return. This game and Anthem are the most disappointing gaming purchases I’ve ever made and I do not recommend either. Expand
  76. Jun 27, 2020
    0
    This vote is not for the "gay" content, it's not like we fans care for sexuality of the characters. We care for the story, and this story is bad, and even worse is the narration, the motivation and the execution of all this story. It's a mess, it's not even a chapter 2 for me, just a bad fan fiction.

    Zero is the vote and the money this game and Naughty Dog will get from me in the
    This vote is not for the "gay" content, it's not like we fans care for sexuality of the characters. We care for the story, and this story is bad, and even worse is the narration, the motivation and the execution of all this story. It's a mess, it's not even a chapter 2 for me, just a bad fan fiction.

    Zero is the vote and the money this game and Naughty Dog will get from me in the future. I regrete wasting so many hours until the end, just to see how bad it can get.
    Expand
  77. Jun 20, 2020
    5
    It seems like the story writers didn't really take the main characters personality from the first game into account.

    Here, in the sequel, the main characters feel "out of character" because their decisions in don't line up with the prequel. Character conversations feel forced and cringey. After a certain point you just want to put down the controller and stop playing. The graphics and
    It seems like the story writers didn't really take the main characters personality from the first game into account.

    Here, in the sequel, the main characters feel "out of character" because their decisions in don't line up with the prequel. Character conversations feel forced and cringey.
    After a certain point you just want to put down the controller and stop playing. The graphics and technical details are amazing but you just want to skip the whole story and dialoges.

    This is coming from someone who loved the story of the first game.
    It's sad to see naughty dog in a state like this. I've always had high regards for older naughty dog titles but the way the company has chosen makes me rethink ever supporting them in future games.
    I feel let down.
    The story as a whole feels cheap and the ending makes things pointless.

    If you don't care game stories and want to play a game with great graphics and gameplay ported over from the last of us 1, this game is perfect for you.
    If you were looking for an experience with the story like the first game, stay away from this game.
    Try to forget that it ever existed, for it will only dissapoint.
    Expand
  78. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    They destroy everything i love. Why just why are you doing this ? İf i buy last of us i want to play last of us not a netflix s*it
  79. Jun 25, 2020
    2
    Somewhere in this mess was potential for a great story, but unfortunately it is bogged down by unnecessary side plots and baffling character choices. Unfortunately, the graphics are not enough to save this game from itself. For a sequel game, instead of building on the first, it seems to only want to tear it all down. The graphics, and attention to detail are something to admire, butSomewhere in this mess was potential for a great story, but unfortunately it is bogged down by unnecessary side plots and baffling character choices. Unfortunately, the graphics are not enough to save this game from itself. For a sequel game, instead of building on the first, it seems to only want to tear it all down. The graphics, and attention to detail are something to admire, but for a story driven game that focuses more on making the player feel miserable, this game fails spectacularly. Expand
  80. Jun 19, 2020
    4
    Wow...just wow.
    Did you know Revenge is bad? No? Well this game will take 25 hours of your life, just to tell you, that in fact it is! Naughty Dog just went full "The last Jedi" on this one.
    Beside the story, gameplay is completely copy and paste from the last game, with a bit more exploration and, well now you can "jump" (only where the game wants you to, so its basically useless).
    Wow...just wow.
    Did you know Revenge is bad? No? Well this game will take 25 hours of your life, just to tell you, that in fact it is! Naughty Dog just went full "The last Jedi" on this one.
    Beside the story, gameplay is completely copy and paste from the last game, with a bit more exploration and, well now you can "jump" (only where the game wants you to, so its basically useless).
    Graphics and animations are very impressive , but if you remember Star Wars Battlefront thats not enaught to sell a game...
    Best of all... IGN gave it a 10/10, and calls it a MASTERPEACE. In my opinion TLOU2 feels like TLOU1 but with its soul completely ript out, thus leving it behind as just another mediocre Game.
    Expand
  81. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    Could have been the best game of all time, but it suffered from a bad narrative.
    I got the game early, I liked the world, but hated every character in it.
  82. Jun 20, 2020
    0
    absolutely Garbage the story telling is a joke the writer doesnt respect the value of the characters.
  83. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    Boring and too PC. Going to stick mine on a certain auction site right now.
  84. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Frankly, embarrassing for Naughty Dog. I can't believe the enthusiastic critic reviews - Last of Us was not just about the gameplay but also (IMO primarily) the wonderfully crafted story. Part II stomps on the legacy of the Last of Us by killing Joel within its first two hours, barely giving him any attention prior to this raw, sudden death. ND tries to compensate for this through Ellie's flashbacks, only one of which are worth remembering (when he explains the truth of the cure to Ellie), yet even this scene stomps on Last of Us Pt.1 because it was implied she already understood there was no cure. We have to play as Abby, Joel's killer for about 15 hrs. It just doesn't work when you find out she was out for revenge because Joel killed her father, one of the *despicable* Firefly doctors. One ends up having no sympathy for this character whatsoever, hoping that after all of Ellie's killing, she will have no mercy on Abby - but she does. What??? All in all, no payoff, weak characters, a terrible tragic story, an insult to the legacy of Pt. 1. RATING: 1.0/10, for graphics and gameplay. Expand
  85. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game did not give respect to the prequel. 2 hours into the game and we see our most loved character killed ruthlessly with a golf club. There are infinitely many better ways of killing off Joel but this game just chose to be bad. Joel also lost sense of guard which is not his usual attitude and this clearly highlights the weak depth of story-writing. The prequel attracts lots of people mainly with the story and the sequel should also do the same but the game just threw away hope for the fans. Also, the ending is just speechless. You got to play as someone who murdered Joel who was a father-figure like to Ellie brutally in front of her and when she eventually met her, she just forgave everything and just let her go? Are you serious Naughty Dog? I am really disappointed. Expand
  86. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Usually I abstain from posting negative reviews.. but after spending 18 hours awake just to realize I played essentially a fan-fiction with ultra violence gore on is an absolute waste of $60. The game-play COULD be forgiven but the plot is such a divergence from the original, you can't even call it The Last Of Us. Expand
  87. Jun 22, 2020
    3
    Знаете, я только что расписывал здесь огромную тираду о том, почему мне как фанату 1 части серии эта игра абсолютно не понравилась, но решил всё стереть, считаю что и без моего мнения здесь достаточно разочарованных людей, это недо-продолжение недостойно того, чтобы я тратил свое время на расписание всех его проблем. Могу сказать так, не покупайте эту игру, я её прошёл и я оченьЗнаете, я только что расписывал здесь огромную тираду о том, почему мне как фанату 1 части серии эта игра абсолютно не понравилась, но решил всё стереть, считаю что и без моего мнения здесь достаточно разочарованных людей, это недо-продолжение недостойно того, чтобы я тратил свое время на расписание всех его проблем. Могу сказать так, не покупайте эту игру, я её прошёл и я очень разочарован. Expand
  88. Jun 26, 2020
    0
    The last of us 1 was loved by everyone mainly because of its good story but this game just destroyed the good feeling I had about last of us.
  89. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    Наверное ярчайший пример того как талант уничтожается об желание навязать и пропагандировать свои идеи и обосрать все в угоду современному повесточному помешательству.
  90. Jun 20, 2020
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was a huge fan of naughty and the last of us but it breaks my heart to see what they made of Joel, it’s not even the fact that he died but the way in which he died, why not kill joel by the end of the game in an epic way trying to save or help ellie but no Expand
  91. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This is a disgusting game that spoils the memories of the beautiful first part with its feminist and inclinations. Awful gameplay, bad graphics and nasty plot. All this on ps4. How could a great company fall so low?
  92. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you want understand new character? You should make grinded meat pie. I can understand why joel is die, but you should be show respect who saves abby's life. She does not mention about it who takes risk to save unknown person. Even he is enemy. Kill with one bullets his head. Then we can understand abby's situation or something. But naughtydog is using anger for joel's terrible death. So player can consentrate playibg revenge for joel's death. It is very simple and easy way to concentrate player's attention. But it's too simple so it can not contain various meaning or aspect of related characters. So concentrated with ellie, it is distinguish thing play who killed joel and make him grinded meat pie. So if you play This game, game will sucked you mind and experience what's the failure of story telling Expand
  93. Jun 19, 2020
    2
    Big fan of the fist game,They absolutely ruined the sequel with their agenda pushing.Save yourself 60 bucks and play something else or wait for a discount
  94. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    This is a vile, disgusting, truly repellent piece of nihilistic trash that wallows in the worst, most base and deplorable elements that could be conceived by the human imagination.

    Great art inspires. THE LAST OF US PART II does not contribute anything positive to society or humanity.. It's the type of product that will leave you a worse person for having experienced it. By the time
    This is a vile, disgusting, truly repellent piece of nihilistic trash that wallows in the worst, most base and deplorable elements that could be conceived by the human imagination.

    Great art inspires. THE LAST OF US PART II does not contribute anything positive to society or humanity.. It's the type of product that will leave you a worse person for having experienced it. By the time you're half way in you will feel the need to bathe yourself in bleach to cleanse yourself from its griminess and abhorrent worldview.

    The person responsible for this game must a disturbed and sick individual. I feel sorry for all the talented programmers and artists and other employees who had to bring this anti-human garbage to rancid life.
    Expand
  95. Jun 20, 2020
    0
    Good graphics bad storyline slow game pacing the so call expert reviewers ign gamespot had to have gotten paid for there perfect scores. Never go by ign gamespot etc there clearly bias when it comes to sony and there exclusives.
  96. Jun 25, 2020
    2
    I'm giving this a 2/10 for the wonderful craftsmanship that went into all the game assets, voice acting and performance captures. Very talented people worked on the execution of this game and they deserve some accolades for their great work. (It would've been a 0/10 otherwise.)
    Sadly all of this is tainted by a mess of a story that tries way too hard to come across as gritty and deep,
    I'm giving this a 2/10 for the wonderful craftsmanship that went into all the game assets, voice acting and performance captures. Very talented people worked on the execution of this game and they deserve some accolades for their great work. (It would've been a 0/10 otherwise.)
    Sadly all of this is tainted by a mess of a story that tries way too hard to come across as gritty and deep, while disrespecting the previous game and its characters. Established characters are being railroaded and behave in either stupid or despicable ways, just to drive home a very banal morality tale about the cycle of revenge. The magic of The Last Of US, that made the previous game special, seems entirely absent.

    Amateur writers are often faced with the criticism of "Don't cut yourself on all that edge", but the writers in charge of TLOU2 seem to have entirely skipped that stage of development and self-reflection. The more shocking and uncomfortable, the better right? No sense of subtlety in sight and no taste. The game tries to tackle many adult themes and is geared towards a mature audience, but comes across as incredibly juvenile. It's like the wet dream of a 16 year old kid about the most violent and super edgy grim-dark story they could imagine.

    The game is obsessed with proving some kind of point and it seems like your typical instance of writers on a huge ego-trip. The previous game posed the question, whether, in the end, it was all for nothing in a brilliant way, making the player consider the consequences of the violence. In this game the question-mark is entirely absent. "It was all for nothing" and there's nothing to take away from it but a banal "revenge is bad" morality tale, which 99% of its audience don't need to learn. Ellie and Joel deserved better. What a disgrace.

    The amount of talent that was wasted on this project is incredibly heart breaking. It also feels like this put the nail in the coffin for the series.
    Expand
  97. Jun 21, 2020
    0
    My advice - DO NOT BUY this game.
    I've never seen any studio lie so hard in the trailers, guess Naughty Dog is living up to its name now. And whose idea was it that having to play for a random but hateful character for half the game is entertaining, meaningful or necessary for whatever reason? Too bad the writers and producers have become that unprofessional.
    I hope at least the studio
    My advice - DO NOT BUY this game.
    I've never seen any studio lie so hard in the trailers, guess Naughty Dog is living up to its name now. And whose idea was it that having to play for a random but hateful character for half the game is entertaining, meaningful or necessary for whatever reason? Too bad the writers and producers have become that unprofessional.
    I hope at least the studio will lose money and credibility, so maybe they'll learn a lesson from this total letdown of a game.
    Expand
  98. Jun 21, 2020
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. **** game..
    Игра гавно .
    Scheis Spiel
    Spiel ohne gameplay, häsliche Hauptharaktere, einfach eine entäuschung.
    игра обсолютно не о чём, не идёт ни в какае сравнение с первой частью, однозначно не покупать,
    ни за какие деньги.
    Expand
  99. Jun 19, 2020
    1
    The writing in this game is a huge step down from it's predessor. The characters are unlikable and the dialogue made me laugh out loud. Most importantly the entire plot of the game is a generic "Revenge is bad" story stretched out over 25 hours (the game could be half that without losing any depth).

    The gameplay was mediocre but the story was hilariously bad. I loved Ellie as a character
    The writing in this game is a huge step down from it's predessor. The characters are unlikable and the dialogue made me laugh out loud. Most importantly the entire plot of the game is a generic "Revenge is bad" story stretched out over 25 hours (the game could be half that without losing any depth).

    The gameplay was mediocre but the story was hilariously bad. I loved Ellie as a character in TLOU1 but she loses all of her charisma and intelligence in this game.

    The gameplay is almost identical to TLOU1's gameplay. The gunplay is fun but the AI is very stupid. Other than dogs there are few new enemies. 80% of the game is fighting generic human enemies who can't see you crouching 10 meters in front of them in broad daylight.

    Ultimately this is a game that is inferior to TLOU1 in almost every way. Certainly not worth $60.
    Expand
  100. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    This is not a game that we know
    Silly story Repeative gameplay High budget
    7 years of developments
    That ends like trash.. nothing is worth to play this game
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 114 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Negative: 0 out of 114
  1. Jul 13, 2020
    85
    If you enjoyed the first TLOU, you'll definitely find something to love in The Last of Us Part II. The game greatly expands upon just about everything that made the first game popular. The second game didn't get to me emotionally like the first game did, but it definitely has some heavy moments and the shock value is rather extreme at some points.
  2. Jul 6, 2020
    90
    Part II is an unavoidable achievement in so many ways. The few things it doesn’t get right don’t bog it down as many seem to think. Collectively speaking, this game subverts expectations in ways that make it stand out head and shoulders above the rest. For that reason alone, you should feel confident that the money you drop on this game will be money well spent. The PlayStation 4 couldn’t have received a better swan song.
  3. Jul 2, 2020
    98
    The Last of Us Part 2 is the finishing touch that both its history and the console itself deserve. A perfect game in all its aspects, with a story that captures you from the first moment and with unforgettable characters. Essential.