• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 20, 2015
The Order: 1886 Image
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 94 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3872 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Order: 1886 introduces us to a unique vision of Victorian-Era London in which Man uses advanced technology to battle a powerful and ancient enemy. As Galahad, a member of an elite order of Knights, join a centuries-old war against a powerful threat that will determine the course ofThe Order: 1886 introduces us to a unique vision of Victorian-Era London in which Man uses advanced technology to battle a powerful and ancient enemy. As Galahad, a member of an elite order of Knights, join a centuries-old war against a powerful threat that will determine the course of history in this third-person action-adventure shooter. Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: Ready at Dawn, SCE Santa Monica
  • Genre(s): General, General, Action, Action Adventure, Shooter, Linear, Third-Person, Sci-Fi, Arcade
  • # of players: No Online Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: M
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
E3 2014: 1886: The Order Teaser Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 94
  2. Negative: 11 out of 94
  1. Feb 19, 2015
    95
    Literally no game has ever looked this good. It’s strange to even write that, but The Order: 1886 raises the bar so far above its contemporaries that it stands in a class by itself. Joined by a soundtrack that perfects the mood, The Order is a cinematic masterpiece.
  2. Feb 23, 2015
    80
    You can fault this game for a number of things, as I’ve done here, but you can’t criticize because you haven’t the inclination to appreciate the product for what it is.
  3. Feb 19, 2015
    78
    The visuals are marvelous and the game has the potential to grow as a franchise but several flaws and its basic gameplay keep it from becoming a masterpiece.
  4. Feb 23, 2015
    65
    The Order: 1886 is a pretty good game, nothing else. Almost every part can be criticized: the story flows nicely but is extremely predictable, the fights are good, but only the ones with people in them (lycan fights are boring), graphics are gorgeous, but the world feels empty. Sir Galahad's adventure is yet another bit of proof that beauty isn't enough. You should see The Order in motion but do so only after some significant discounts.
  5. 60
    What I have a problem with is inconsistent narratives, and "gameplay" that has been so compartmentalised from the "story" that they may as well be in different products.
  6. Mar 2, 2015
    55
    There are brief moments throughout The Order: 1886 when it’s clearly striving for excellence, which only makes the end result more tragic. It’s easy to toss aside a game that looks bad or is full of bugs, but The Order feels like it should be a good game.
  7. Feb 19, 2015
    20
    The Order: 1886 is a terrible game. Not because it’s broken or made without skill. Certainly not because it’s an average-length, story-driven shooter with minimal replay value. It’s just a bad game, forgettable in every conceivable way and safely ignored by all but the most ardent Trophy hunters.

See all 95 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Feb 20, 2015
    10
    An engaging, unique and thoroughly exciting thriller.

    The Order 1886 has been copping a lot flack by reviews, I would like to pint out a
    An engaging, unique and thoroughly exciting thriller.

    The Order 1886 has been copping a lot flack by reviews, I would like to pint out a few things to help YOU decide if this is a game for you...

    If you prefer constant action, gameplay and the bullets flying (and that is totally cool btw) then you need not keep reading, go play Call of Duty or Gears of war.

    However if you enjoyed games like Heavy Rain, The Walking Dead and Life is Strange but also love a bit of third person action then this a game you will want to check out.

    ready at dawn have created a wholly unique piece of gaming art, it is completely story driven- with a lot of QTE's splashed around that don't feel lazy- they help progress the story, as this is exactly what the game has set out to be- a long, cinematic period movie.

    The story itself is full of mystery, intrigue and lore with amazing characters who you come to truly care about by the end of the game.

    The graphics are stunning, almost life-like in parts but it is the atmosphere and progression, just like a film that really got me engaged.

    I see The Order: 1886 being seen as a 'fail' by mainstream audiences, however I also see this as a cult classic for the niche market of gamers who enjoy a great tale of history and revenge.

    I am giving a perfect 10 because for what it is, that is exactly what the game deserves. It is epic beyond words.

    Again, I can not stress enough if you are looking for an action title, best save your $$.
    But if you are willing to try something new, have an open mind and are not bogged down by the pretty unfair negative press you will be pleasantly surprised by what i would call a masterpiece of cinematic gaming.
    Expand
  2. Feb 26, 2015
    10
    Having just completed this amazing game, I'm baffled by the largely mediocre reviews this title has received from an obtuse gaming press.Having just completed this amazing game, I'm baffled by the largely mediocre reviews this title has received from an obtuse gaming press. It's a perverse reception for an outstanding work of interactive fiction, boasting a gripping story with memorable characters, including a well-defined cuarta charismatic lead, smart, literate dialogue voiced by a splendid cast, and some of the most stunning graphics ever seen in a console game. And despite what one may have heard, the gameplay is just fine, an Uncharted-style mix of cover-based shooting and perfectly judged QTE's, with a sprinkling of tense stealth action and mild platforming. In short, a triumph. Can't wait for the sequel! Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2015
    9
    Before I start bashing the press and you people for following the herd of bad reviews (shame on you - didn't anyone teach you to think forBefore I start bashing the press and you people for following the herd of bad reviews (shame on you - didn't anyone teach you to think for yourselves), I am going to give my honest opinion of the game, which seems to be lacking on this site. Instead this game got shaken down by poor media reviews that soured the user reviews by expecting it to be bad (you know how expecting something to be bad makes it so if you let it). I give it a Solid 8.5 (beats the pants off COD or the Resistance series - ugh).

    I am in awe of how good this game looks. You have to play just to see that for yourself. The gunplay is very solid (gears good) with different weapons to try out. You can't see over cover. That is true, but can you see over cover in real life when you are ducked behind it. Its one of those gaming tropes we have gotten used to, but it makes no sense to be able to see over cover you are ducking behind and its unfair that you can see the AI and they can't see you (poor ai). The black bars at the top and bottom of my screen, that I was fairly concerned about, might as well not exist because I don't notice them.

    The cutscenes are not jaring at all, which I find them to be most of the time (like they take you out of the action and they look so much better than the gameplay, graphically). Like Uncharted before it, Ready At Dawn makes the gameplay look as good as the cutscenes so you actually have to move the stick to see if you are in control yet. The one negative I have is for the QTEs, which I have no love for. They are not frustrating most of the time, but there is a melee fight that was very frustrating to me because I couldn't see the prompts since they were tiny and off to the side of the action (normally these flash up on top of the action so you can see them and watch the action at the same time). I failed it until I just watched the prompts on the side instead of being engaged in the action. I will say there aren't any multi-button timed QTEs. Just single button/stick presses/moves. I would have prefered Batman-like melee controls instead of QTEs of course, so that is my main problem with the game. Shooting good. Melee combat - needs improvement.

    This next praise is looked upon as a negative by some; The game is highly scripted and linear just like a Gears, Resistance or COD campaign. I like a narrative driven game, heavy on amazingly well voiced dialogue and story with beautifully crafted cutscenes. I lose interest in open world games many times if they lack some reason to move forward (ala Dragon Age Inq.). Should a game get lower reviews because it delivers a great story at the expense of the typical open world that I have become so bored with this gen? I say no. The game moves you slowly sometimes to soak in the enviroments. The devs put so much effort into making this game photorealistic, it deserves your time to soak it in. So if you are a speed runner that goes as fast as you can through every game you play this game isn't for you. If you like to look at everything in a game and let it come to life for you then give the game your money and your time. It totally deserves your hard earned money. I see replaying this game a few times so I don't feel cheated (I knew it would be on the short side, but so was Halo 3 and I never felt cheated just playing the excellently scripted campaign. I expect it will take by 10+ hours to finish since I am moving so slowly through the environments enjoying the amazing world RAD built. I think I've made my point of what kind of gamers will like this game. Support this game if you like this sort of game. It deserves your money and time. I'm hoping for a sequel!
    Expand
  4. Feb 22, 2015
    8
    If you liked games like Uncharted, I think you'd find a lot to like in The Order - it's a glitch-free, graphical powerhouse with an emphasisIf you liked games like Uncharted, I think you'd find a lot to like in The Order - it's a glitch-free, graphical powerhouse with an emphasis on its own production values that brings little new to the gameplay table. Yes, the game is short and doesn't have multiplayer (took me about 7 hours on Medium, but I intend to play a second time on Hard for trophies, so I estimate a total of 12-15 hours for myself altogether - $60/12 hours=$5/hour or $60/15 hours=$4/hour, worth the money to me), and yes, you will spend a good portion of that time watching cutscenes. However, I found the action to be urgent and exciting when it was available, and the scenes were interesting enough to me that I didn't mind sitting back for a few minutes here and there because I wanted to see what would happen next. You'll learn to savor the action scenes and even feel encouraged to experiment with the weaponry as much as possible. It's by no means a perfect experience, but I'd argue it's a rival to Uncharted and at the very least it's worth a rental. I'm a father of two and I only get an hour or two to game each night if I'm lucky, so my time is definitely valuable to me, and I can't say I felt like any of it was wasted playing this game. I think it's a great first entry for a new series and I already can't wait for a sequel. I recommend playing with an open mind and considering this game as a pilot episode for a promising sequel or two - so again, I can't wholeheartedly recommend a purchase, but I do think it should be experienced either as a rental or once the price drops a bit. Expand
  5. Mar 6, 2015
    7
    To start off, I completed everything in this game in less than a day (8 hours 30min). I played on hard difficulty which made it a little moreTo start off, I completed everything in this game in less than a day (8 hours 30min). I played on hard difficulty which made it a little more interesting but not by much. The game is the best looking game on the PS4 with an amazing atmosphere. I was quite surprised at how many different weapons there were and they all had their own perks (even though I barely had a chance to use any of them). The story was more of a tease and I didn't find the quick time events that annoying.

    My biggest gripe about this game is the length and the pacing. It just takes a ridiculous amount of time for anything to happen which is not good when the story only takes 8 or so hours to complete. The characters are interesting but most of the time you just get sick of waiting to actually play the game and not just watch cutscenes. The placing of quick time events are also questionable because they occur after a long cut scene which leads to some slow reaction times because you weren't really expecting it. The stealth portions of the game are a joke and are one of the least developed aspects of the game. The gun fights are boring with some of the most generic AI I've seen in a while. The Lycan fights are uninspired and dull.

    In addition, even though the world is so beautiful, it feels empty. At least in AC Unity you felt like you were living during that time. In this game, you feel like the world of London is just a desolate place.

    I knew exactly what I was getting into before buying this game but I still felt disappointed. If the story and pacing was up to the level of a AAA title, I wouldn't mind such a short game. However, I feel as if Ready at Dawn focused too much on the technical aspects of the game and forgot about making a good story/game. I have faith that they will take all the criticism and use as a chip on their shoulder when and if they make a sequel. I was interested enough to possibly dip into a sequel if I see some improvements in the future.
    Expand
  6. Apr 28, 2015
    6
    I was hesitant when the reviews came out, I didn't want to accept that a game I've been waiting for so long would be a poorly made, annoyingI was hesitant when the reviews came out, I didn't want to accept that a game I've been waiting for so long would be a poorly made, annoying graphical engine over a polished master piece. I just don't understand their thinking, picking up an apple to distract a guard. It forces you to look at the apple for 30 seconds, before allowing you to press RT to throw it... Just not good enough.

    Some of the stealth bits were unplayable due to poorly made gameplay mechanics. Forcing you to play a game at a very meticulous pace which takes all the momentum and joy out of it. I have to praise it for the character design, original ideas and the story, but the game is just not well made at all.
    Expand
  7. Jan 26, 2021
    0
    This game is short. Looks great but almost everything in the world is static. The game-play is so linear that you must press button X toThis game is short. Looks great but almost everything in the world is static. The game-play is so linear that you must press button X to continue else you die...

    You can skip this one if you haven't played it. You won't miss anything
    Expand

See all 1018 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2015

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2015 Image
    Published: January 14, 2015
    We look at the coming year's most noteworthy planned releases, from new properties like No Man's Sky and Evolve to highly anticipated sequels such as Batman: Arkham Knight, Halo 5, Uncharted 4, The Witcher 3, and a new Legend of Zelda release.