User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1136 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 25, 2019
    7
    An interesting study.

    It is hard to not want to like this game given its pedigree. It is certainly a good game and a mostly well made game in its own right but that said the whole is not quite as good as the sum of its parts. Lets get the TL;DR out of the way. While it does a lot of what people expected of it from playing like a merger of Fallout and bioware RPGs the end result of
    An interesting study.

    It is hard to not want to like this game given its pedigree. It is certainly a good game and a mostly well made game in its own right but that said the whole is not quite as good as the sum of its parts.

    Lets get the TL;DR out of the way. While it does a lot of what people expected of it from playing like a merger of Fallout and bioware RPGs the end result of such story lines lack that same narrative spark that Bioware RPGs are known for. It takes the trying too hard over the top comedy of Borderlands, adds the romance, relationships and endless dialog of a bioware RPG, Bethesdas janitor simulator gameplay where all you do is wander an near endless sandbox picking up and sorting garbage and sets it with a setting and cast straight out of "a whole ship of Han Solo's" of firefly. To some that sounds like their wet dream of a video game. Honestly when its all assembled its like the worst parts of all of those franchises. Its tedious, ridiculous, and sometimes actually enjoyable. It is however long stretches between those moments.

    The remainder is specifics as to why it plays like this.

    On the flipside of the coin its mechanical game play feels a bit too simplified and lacking the same teeth. Especially when you feel the results of your consequent level upgrades. Playing as if theres really little change from level to level or even over several levels to major skill unlocks.

    Its biggest flaw is its setting and narrative. Like it is trying a little too hard to be this much fallout, this much bioware, that much borderlands. Also the "whole ship of han solo's" trope is played out and honestly just as unbearable as it has been since the likes of Firefly first tried it. The "cast of lovable goofballs and badasses" is ridiculous and shows that the plot itself lacks teeth that could have been had with such a story. It renders most of the characters stories without depth and illicit little actual caring for their plight due to the ever present comical or whimsical nonsense lurking around the corner. It may be a style many people like but its the difference between watching some vapid summer popcorn munching blockbuster that cant even go half its runtime before it starts lulling you to sleep with constant barrage of "awesome" and pandering fan service and sitting down to experience an actual film with depth, that provokes thought and reflection or elicits genuine emotion
    that leaves you wanting more and more. That proves to be a BIG problem in a game that has so many hours of dialog as it becomes tedious and forgettable VERY quickly.

    Do not get me wrong, Its a good game, but at this stage of reviewing its important to get a more objective perspective than people review bombing it into oblivion, or blindly fawning over it like its the second coming that WILL wear off when people get deeper into the content and/or when the novelty of it has worn off and when looking back on it.

    Its definitely a game of the year type game. That said it marks a fairly pedestrian if not outright bad year in gaming. I would give it either the highest possible seven or the lowest possible 8 and leaning personally more toward a 7. However accepting the game related to the entire potential audience for it and trying to also not be TOO nitpicky critical siding on the games behalf I would begrudgingly accept an 8 as a reasonable approximation. Though definitely in the B- category.

    Its not a generation defining title like say a Dark Souls was for last gen, but its definitely a solid foundation that a somewhat quick sequel in about 2 years can iron out most of the mechanical issues and give time to craft a better story while utilizing the same engine and assets or perhaps with modest graphical upgrades as an early if not launch title for next generation.

    So personally I would say unless you are REALLY dying for an RPG right now you could stand at least a couple weeks for a significant price reduction and be fully justified in doing so. Rushing to pay full price for this I cannot really recommend because while a sound cobbling together its literally nothing you have not already seen before.
    Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2019
    5
    It's got great RPG elements, and you can play however you want. Player choice is fantastic and the dialogue is done very well. Characters are very interesting, and they all have their own quirks which brought many a smile to my face. City design, and interiors are crafted beautifully.

    The Bads The graphics are just terrible! Everything is a blurry saturated colourful eye-sore, it's
    It's got great RPG elements, and you can play however you want. Player choice is fantastic and the dialogue is done very well. Characters are very interesting, and they all have their own quirks which brought many a smile to my face. City design, and interiors are crafted beautifully.

    The Bads

    The graphics are just terrible! Everything is a blurry saturated colourful eye-sore, it's so hard to differentiate anything in this world, everything has the same colour palette and enemies blend in with what's behind them!

    Enemy design leaves something to be admired, blue dinosaurs, pink dinosaurs, green dinosaurs, blue green pink dinosaurs, they might be very well designed, but I can't **** see them!

    The worlds in this game are terrible, everything is exactly the same, it's only the cities and interiors that seem to have had any effort put in, you walk down a highlighted path, bumping into the same marauders situated in the middle of the road, surrounded by a few boxes, it's the same interaction in what feels like the same area over and over and over again. No outposts, structures, places that you would remember, if I asked you to name the last interaction you had with marauders you would say, in the middle of the road surrounded by boxes, it's bad, super bad. I know it's not fallout, but if there was named areas, such as a shopping mall full of marauders, It would have changed this game completely.

    No places to visit outside of the cities, it's just a vast swamp of colours, grass, trees, rocks.

    The loot is nothing special, looting feels janky to me in this game, objects get surrounded by a blue highlight to show that it can be picked up, however nothing seems worth picking up, it's just bottles and food, the occasional gun that looks identical to the others even with it being a different kind, I don't know, looting just feels off in this game to me.

    To summarise,

    It's the best RPG we have had this year, full of choices, consequences, roll playing, character creation, but it's a far cry from what it could have been, it is definitely not game of the year and it is not as good as the feedback it is receiving, outside of the quests and story it's nothing but a copy and paste over saturated eye burner which leaves little in terms of game play.

    5/10.
    Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2019
    6
    If Mass Effect was "Start Trek: The Game", Outer Worlds is "Firefly: The Game". Lower budget, lower stakes, but still fun. Obsidian took everything they learned from making Fallout: New Vegas and made this Sci-Fi RPG. It's definitely better than anything Bethesda has released in the past few years, but it's no masterpiece. The game is packed with unnecessary systems that are only thereIf Mass Effect was "Start Trek: The Game", Outer Worlds is "Firefly: The Game". Lower budget, lower stakes, but still fun. Obsidian took everything they learned from making Fallout: New Vegas and made this Sci-Fi RPG. It's definitely better than anything Bethesda has released in the past few years, but it's no masterpiece. The game is packed with unnecessary systems that are only there because other games have them and fans would be disappointed if they were missing, but offer nothing to the game. The writing is the biggest selling point of the game (the combat definitely isn't) and although NPCs offer somewhat interesting conversations, the majority of the quests are simple fetch quests with no twists, many being extremely disappointing. As an example, there is a side quest that involves you finding a murder scene. A murder mystery! Awesome! Time to investigate! You immediately find a clue, you ask someone about it and immediately they tell you who the killer is. You confront them, end of quest. No intrigue, no interrogations, no twists. So much wasted potential. Your companions, save for one or two, also suffer the same problem, with their storylines being extremely dull and short. The worlds you explore are well made, though divided by long loading screens, and overall the game was engaging enough for me to complete the main quest, but I still had the nagging feeling that it could've been so much better. Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2019
    6
    Overly hyped game that turned out to be very very average 6/10. Really expected much more from this title.
  5. Nov 15, 2019
    6
    This game is an rpg, but is an incredibly linear one that gives you the illusion of choice rather than actual choice. The dialogue options are far weaker than fallout 1, 2, and new Vegas and the rpg mechanics aren’t as good. This is an alright game that I would recommend to buy on sale, but it is pretty short and not the rpg I was looking for. The outer worlds is by no means a bad game,This game is an rpg, but is an incredibly linear one that gives you the illusion of choice rather than actual choice. The dialogue options are far weaker than fallout 1, 2, and new Vegas and the rpg mechanics aren’t as good. This is an alright game that I would recommend to buy on sale, but it is pretty short and not the rpg I was looking for. The outer worlds is by no means a bad game, but it is not the masterpiece some are toting it to be. People are desperate for actual rpgs and not action games with a few rpg mechanics. This overall was an alright game and an enjoyable experience. Expand
  6. Dec 11, 2019
    5
    This game as not as good as the ratings suggest. It is an okay game. A poor man's fallout (all the crappy bugs and glitches included). Long load screens are frequent and the stories and quests are not great. Just a very mediocre game. As much as fallout 4 was a disappointment compared to fallout 3, it was a much better game than this.
  7. Oct 31, 2019
    7
    Visuals: It looks like Borderlands and Bioshock had a baby, pretty good with its own artstyle.
    Audio: Voice acting is decent, music is very atmospheric and overall audiodesign is pretty good.
    Mechanics: Many elements from Mass effect and previous fallout titles with a couple different ones. No hacking/lockpicking minigame was kind of disapointing. Weapons are very limited and vary in
    Visuals: It looks like Borderlands and Bioshock had a baby, pretty good with its own artstyle.
    Audio: Voice acting is decent, music is very atmospheric and overall audiodesign is pretty good.
    Mechanics: Many elements from Mass effect and previous fallout titles with a couple different ones.

    No hacking/lockpicking minigame was kind of disapointing.
    Weapons are very limited and vary in power only by levelgaps, like lvl 15 weapons are all the same power, then lvl 18 is the next step up and so on. Weapons overall feel quite good, but lacking in power, or atleast power scaling.

    I don't even know wether there are any romance options in this game since the one I was interested in went for another npc, that was unexpected.

    Very limited crew BUT in turn you can have 2 crewmembers active and following at the same time, so thats sort of a plus and minus.

    Characters overall are relatively good, but you're just not compelled to interact with too many of them, not even your crew. Its definitely not at the level of character design and intrigue as fallout 3/nv.

    The TTD which is essentially the new version of VATS was exceptionally disapointing for me and I found it completely useless.

    Story is overall very interesting and is inviting, but not enough is explained about the backstory of humanity, potentially to save that up for a sequel, but it felt like nothing was really explained. Or not enough atleast.

    All in all I had fun playing through it, but the world and its people felt a little too empty and uninviting. I definitely enjoyed FO3 alot more.
    Expand
  8. Nov 4, 2019
    7
    Good game! But I expected more in 2019 it is a shame the combat is so clunky and not responsive. The menus are bad and sense of direction is very difficult within buildings. Again great RPG elements but same old obsidian issues moving from one game to another. I believe today you can couple the beautiful RPG elements with good and even great mechanics.
    In a nutshell if you are looking for
    Good game! But I expected more in 2019 it is a shame the combat is so clunky and not responsive. The menus are bad and sense of direction is very difficult within buildings. Again great RPG elements but same old obsidian issues moving from one game to another. I believe today you can couple the beautiful RPG elements with good and even great mechanics.
    In a nutshell if you are looking for a good RPG this is it. But the graphics, gameplay, enemies, etc. leaves much to the imagination.
    Expand
  9. Nov 10, 2019
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While this game has a highly-polished surface and mostly smooth mechanics, it suffers from pretending to be more than it is, and this often leads players on and eventually makes their experience suffer for it. Expand
  10. Nov 9, 2019
    7
    The latest Obsidian RPG can be described as a successor of Mass Effect, Fallout and Firefly. While the narration is brilliant and various quests usually offer more than one resolution, the RPG and perk systems are shallow, crafting and modding gets boring really quickly and more than often I found myself just going from one quest marker to another without really caring about what and how.The latest Obsidian RPG can be described as a successor of Mass Effect, Fallout and Firefly. While the narration is brilliant and various quests usually offer more than one resolution, the RPG and perk systems are shallow, crafting and modding gets boring really quickly and more than often I found myself just going from one quest marker to another without really caring about what and how.
    The enviornment design is brilliant and gunplay feels more responsive and FPS-like than any other RPG shooter I've played, so you actualy have the feeling of playing shooter rather than RPG-style statistic-oriented combat mechanic.
    It shows that Obsidian can make great stories, characters and interesting worlds, however the actual gameplay framework everything is set on didn't deliver.
    Expand
  11. Oct 30, 2019
    7
    Not worth $60

    if you're going to buy this game know that it is mainly focuses on dialogue over gameplay. The main story itself is pretty good, your actions have a lot of interesting consequences and the main quest itself is engaging. The story takes you to memorable places and lets you decide on your own how you want to deal with the situation without holding your hand too much. There
    Not worth $60

    if you're going to buy this game know that it is mainly focuses on dialogue over gameplay. The main story itself is pretty good, your actions have a lot of interesting consequences and the main quest itself is engaging. The story takes you to memorable places and lets you decide on your own how you want to deal with the situation without holding your hand too much. There are plenty of skill checks and dialogue options that make it seem like your character choices matter. Graphics are ok (there are some stuttering issues in some of the towns) and the game is mostly bug free.The crafting is really basic and boring, you are only allowed to install a limited amount of armor and weapon mods and improve them using money. The combat in this game is also very simple and repetitive, just shoot the weakspots and go slow-mo when you're in trouble.Companions are another weak spot. The reasons for your companions joining you are very weak and most of their side missions seem really dull and skippable. Character progression doesn't feel as fleshed out as it should be either, none of the perks are interesting and all your left with is allocating 10 skill points per level.

    This game is like a smaller scale Fallout New Vegas without the fallout. Grab it on sale if you enjoyed New Vegas
    Expand
  12. Oct 30, 2019
    7
    buen juego de los mismos de fallout new vegas si te gusto fallout recomendado
  13. Oct 31, 2019
    7
    Okay, this game is good. But it could've been so much more.

    The bad: - the loot system was trash. Honestly. There were lots of different consumables but only one really mattered. And lots of stuff was only usable for selling. Literally went straight into your junk folder cause it had no use whatsoever. Loot, guns, and armour were kinda boring. -I enjoyed the combat but it was overshadowed
    Okay, this game is good. But it could've been so much more.

    The bad:
    - the loot system was trash. Honestly. There were lots of different consumables but only one really mattered. And lots of stuff was only usable for selling. Literally went straight into your junk folder cause it had no use whatsoever. Loot, guns, and armour were kinda boring. -I enjoyed the combat but it was overshadowed by the boring same enemies. They feel like a random fly that you need to sway away so you can continue you normal duties.
    - the exploration is lacking. The outerworlds has an interesting but the worlds are kinda small. I wish it were larger and had more to explore. But I guess they did want it to be so much an open world rpg.
    - a lot of the side quest turn into traveling to do lists. Which gets tiring after a while. I was able to not touch the main quest for hours in fallout new Vegas but in outerworlds you cant really do that.
    - the guns were lacking. Not enough guns to be honest, needs more interesting guns.
    - I wish it was more customizable regarding clothing

    The good.
    - the ability to mod weapons and armour was nice.
    - the dialogue and main story in this are really good. I really enjoyed the companions and was able to connect with them.
    - I read some people talking about this game forcing sjws values and what not but I didnt get any of that. Yea there are a lot of powerful female characters but they are good characters with interesting characteristics. - I enjoyed the art and looks of the game. It was very pretty. Although I constantly had to adjust my brightness cause the contrast in game made it very difficult to see things.
    - I thought the ability to raise the level of guns or clothing that you liked was really cool. Although because theres not that much gun variety you end up running into a better version of you gun, and theres no special gun that I felt needed to be updated with my level. Same with armour.


    On a last note this game was too short. My first play through I was able to blitz right through it in less than a few days. But on my second play through I turned off all subtitles and slowed down. And I have to say it's been much more enjoyable that way. It was a good game but there is a lot to do to make it a great game. And I believe obsidian has the potential to make a greater outerworlds game. If they do make a second one I hope they listen to the more negative reviews and improve in the game.
    Expand
  14. Nov 3, 2019
    7
    This is a well crafted, but very simple, take on the Fallout formula. The core pieces such as freedom of choice, expansive dialogue and characters, and the Fallout brand of quests are all there and fantastically done. But this is a product that was clearly on a budget.

    The combat is fine, but straightforward and it lacks the polish of AAA games. The landscapes are not only small, but not
    This is a well crafted, but very simple, take on the Fallout formula. The core pieces such as freedom of choice, expansive dialogue and characters, and the Fallout brand of quests are all there and fantastically done. But this is a product that was clearly on a budget.

    The combat is fine, but straightforward and it lacks the polish of AAA games. The landscapes are not only small, but not particularly interesting. The companions lack any real standouts and the AI is weak. Character development is okay, but it lacks the depth of a Fallout or Elder Scrolls. The game itself is very short for an RPG. The Outer Worlds just lacks that layer of depth you would expect of a game of this style. The result is a linear game with an open world DNA. It's fun for the ride, but It doesn't really fill your belly.

    It's worth a playthrough if you like this style of game. But treat it like an appetizer to the next big thing.
    Expand
  15. Oct 27, 2019
    7
    It's good, but overhyped. It's just not quite at the level of your better AAA titles. I'm having fun, but it's been a little on the dull side at times with the missions and stories, while combat is barely serviceable. Also really wish it wasn't in first person, especially with how cool the armor and customization looks but you pretty much never get to see your character.
  16. Nov 11, 2019
    7
    Игра хорошая, проработанная, смешные диалоги. Но она просто не зацепила. Игра очень напоминает Fallout 4, хотя она никоем образом не должна быть такой. Графика могла быть лучше - сильно проигрывает тому же RDR2. Думаю если бы не было столько много шумихи вокруг этой игры было бы лучше, играл бы без предвкушения. Получились смешанные чувства.
    The game is good, well-developed, has funny
    Игра хорошая, проработанная, смешные диалоги. Но она просто не зацепила. Игра очень напоминает Fallout 4, хотя она никоем образом не должна быть такой. Графика могла быть лучше - сильно проигрывает тому же RDR2. Думаю если бы не было столько много шумихи вокруг этой игры было бы лучше, играл бы без предвкушения. Получились смешанные чувства.
    The game is good, well-developed, has funny dialogs. But it seems that I just didn't like it. The game is very similar to Fallout 4, although it shouldn't be such. The graphics could be better - RDR2 graphics much better. I think if there weren’t so much hype around this game it would be better if I played without anticipation. I have mixed feelings.
    Expand
  17. Nov 21, 2019
    6
    Probably my expectations were too high, but you know, lesson is learned.

    When I knew that that a new Obsidian game is going to be released, I was confident that Feargus Urquhart, Tim Cain and Leonard Boyarsky can't go wrong. These are the people, who were behind legendary Black Isle that brought us Fallout/Fallout 2, Baldur's Gate, Planescape Torment and later as Troika games Tim and
    Probably my expectations were too high, but you know, lesson is learned.

    When I knew that that a new Obsidian game is going to be released, I was confident that Feargus Urquhart, Tim Cain and Leonard Boyarsky can't go wrong. These are the people, who were behind legendary Black Isle that brought us Fallout/Fallout 2, Baldur's Gate, Planescape Torment and later as Troika games Tim and Leonard (with Jason D. Anderson) brought to life Arcanum and Vampire the Masquerade: Bloodlines. So you get the idea of who are these people. I grew up playing that classic and still consider Fallout 1/2, Arcanum, Planescape Torment and Baldur's Gate series to be the pinnacle of RPG genre. Later, after Black Isle disband I was so glad when Obsidian Entertainment was created and with their first title - Star Wars: Knight of the Old Republic II (KOTORII) I had a feeling that these grand maestros will be doing great games once again. With Tim and Leonard joining Obsidian, I was expecting a full power return of the kings.

    Well, I guess I was a bit unrealistic. So where to start. I can imagine the pre-production meetings where publisher would demand some sort of "Bethesda killer" or just the research from the marketing department saying that the target audience should be a console-orientated FPS younger players.

    And here we get the product - neither RPG (in the way I see it), neither FPS.

    Don't get me wrong - a lot of love and efforts were put into project - design, story, plot. It's all worked through. But when brought together - it's just not as fun as it could be. I could definitely see the the main references here - Borderlands, Bethesda's Fallout, Bioshock and Mass Effect. You literally see and feel the insights from Arcanum, Bloodlines and KOTOR II as well. But as I said - it's not as dynamic as Borderland to be enjoyable as a shooter, as pace and combats are not that intense. Too much messing around with items, which was fun in Borderlands (since it was a parody of MMORPG item-mania with color coding, random drop, etc).

    I felt myself like a kleptomaniac. Haven't been like that since Morrowind, but back then you could grab literally any item, here you are stuck with repetitive items to grab. Mechanics are going to be like that: run around, get all the quests, follow markers, kill enemies, loot everything. Loot more while looking around, then go back, while looting more junk. Get rewards, sell everything. Repeat on a different planet. Repeat. The end. Reminded me World of Warcraft from 15 years ago.

    Speaking of that - the choice of cartoonish design also reminded me WoW. Overall design idea is interesting - kind of sci-fi Art Nouveau (Modern of 1900s beginning), but it's really sad to see a lot of interesting models, architecture and item design that are just being repeated and pasted over and over again. All these levels are just empty. You walk around nicely designed surrounding that are just empty. All those bottles, food and posters are like an empty spectacle. You find deserted forsaken labs and bases, but they are all shiny and neat, with fresh dead bodies. And you have to believe that it's been there for years. And again - more of same stuff around. Literally 80% of the game is looting. I wish they would do "Grab All" button.

    I feel like that game shows the crisis of the industry. Bethesda actually raised a whole generation of bad taste gaming. In my opinion Obsidian should stick to what they are known for - real RPGs, I feel like KOTOR (kind like bioware'ish) or Pillars of Eternity approach would benefit the game, but it will not benefit the sales, so again - it's business after all.

    Dialogs are dull in 90%, there are couple interesting moments, especially with your team members, but then again - if you played original Fallout, Arcanum and Planescape or KOTORII, nothing would suprise you.

    Honestly I've beaten the game mostly because of the story, and because of the team behind the game - I just wanted to see the whole thing to make my own opinion. But after first day I was so disappointed that even was thinking about returning the game. Unfortunately I didn't get the fun I got from FPS games with slight RPG elements (Borderlands, FarCry5), nor the true RPG enjoyment (Arcanum, KOTOR).

    I feel there are very important game design requirements for each of this genres, and to blend them together is not an easy task. Obsidian took shortcuts and it didn't work out, at least for me. For people, who never have seen any of older titles, and who consider Fallout 3/4 and other Bethesda latest titles to be OK, this game would be a revelation. Surely it beats any of that Bethesda crap. But if you are into computer games since 90s - be prepared to have these frustration moments.

    There are some minor engine related stuff I find odd as well - blurry textures, drawing distance through sniper scopes, weird physics (jumping, invisible walls, e
    Expand
  18. Oct 26, 2019
    7
    +Well written questdialogues
    +Atmosphere
    +Interestting characters -Really bad economyammo managment i had over 4-6k of bulletts at the end of the game and i used evry type of it -Zero balance, from like level 7 i just go and oneshoot almost all enemies -Dull perk system, u literally don't need to choose any of them -Simillar boring enemies, there are only 4 types of enemies which i
    +Well written questdialogues
    +Atmosphere
    +Interestting characters
    -Really bad economyammo managment i had over 4-6k of bulletts at the end of the game and i used evry type of it
    -Zero balance, from like level 7 i just go and oneshoot almost all enemies
    -Dull perk system, u literally don't need to choose any of them
    -Simillar boring enemies, there are only 4 types of enemies which i encountered

    But it is still a great game i really enjoyed playing but i woulndn't recomendt it for full price, the game is really short
    Expand
  19. Oct 28, 2019
    7
    A great start, but they really needed to implement the stuff that are also bad about Fallout? Also, there's a lot of silly quests, like, you speak to the NPC, then you go to the next room, read a document that is conviniently right there, go back and talk again to the NPC. Wow, mission acomplished! There are some graphical glitches, but in general it's a good game. Far from perfect, but fun.
  20. Nov 2, 2019
    7
    I thought a game couldn't be anymore up my street but it plays like a game from 2009 and looks so terrible 10 hours in I just can't be bothered to contiue
  21. Oct 26, 2019
    7
    Good game. That's where Fallout Feeling comes in with a new design. I like it. But in the present time and the quite large German speaking market I would have liked a German Synchro. therefore I will not buy it but will only watch it as a last play.
  22. Oct 27, 2019
    6
    Feels like a good Fallout 3d game. But it is too linear and just too short. Feels like you get rushed through the game halfway through.

    Flow of the story feels like Dragon Age 2. Very linear but your companions regularly want you to revisit old places.

    Paying 60$ for this game is too much. For the 1$ game pass it was a nice weekend distraction. But not the glorious comeback I expected
  23. Oct 27, 2019
    7
    The Outer Worlds can be a fantastic start to a new IP for Obsidian Entertainment but it has definitely certain downfalls. For rpg genre and Fallout fans it is definitely worth a play but wait for a price cut.

    I was playing this on my PS4 Pro with SSD so I cannot say how textures and loading times are normally. To me it was pretty decent in the seconds between areas. The engine itself
    The Outer Worlds can be a fantastic start to a new IP for Obsidian Entertainment but it has definitely certain downfalls. For rpg genre and Fallout fans it is definitely worth a play but wait for a price cut.

    I was playing this on my PS4 Pro with SSD so I cannot say how textures and loading times are normally. To me it was pretty decent in the seconds between areas. The engine itself seems solid in general I had hiccups in one singular spot, the rest of the game was fluid with no frame rate issues at all.

    The engine looks pretty but might be to graphically overloaded for some people. I personally enjoyed it besides some hefty blurring effects. Sound is decent, the whole game is vocalized and well done. The controls are pretty standard, no deadzone hiccups but with some details left for improvement, e.g. panning time in the galaxy screen, standard setting of the menu and quest sorting etc.

    The rpg and world elements are decent and have similarities to Fallout especially when it comes to looting and dialogue management. I m personally not a fan of Fallout but I enjoyed The Outer Worlds because it was a decent bit more polished, no bugs at all, good asthetics and worthy quality-of-life improvements. Also the movement and combat feeling is less clunky and more fluid. The skill and perk system is outstanding, same goes to the companion system. In my whole playthrough I was over-encumbered ONCE which was so enjoyable because I was free to grab everything I liked when I chose the according skills ans perks to enhance carrying weight decently.

    The weapons are okay-ish but also somewhat uninspiring in general. I was playing melee, which was not that fun, besides I used maybe two weapons to finish the game and the variety was clearly lacking in comparison to other titles. Same goes to other weapons I found. The variely lacks a tough bit in this game same goes to the game length overall. I cleaned up quite a lot of the companion and side quests, still the game did not last even 20hrs on normal. For veterans I highly suggest a higher difficulty. I think playing it with full range and tank companion is way too easy.

    The bullet time feature is a nice addition but nothing new. The inhalator system for buffing and healing is something newly refreshing but nothing that extra ordinary after all. Decisions mostly matter and you can decide quite a bit of how fractions will develop and behave, although choosing the lie/persuade/etc. related sentences are mostly the right choice anyways. In the end the regions are way too small and the game is far too short to make any of these decisions really something of weight. Surely it changes the ending you will receive but it did not touch me too much on whom I killed or let live. Worthy note: you wont be able to game on after the games point-of-no-return. Which is a little bit sad.

    Equipment balance seemed a bit dull on normal. At the beginning I was way too weak going melee (with full melee skill+perks!!) and had to watch my steps pretty well then I found a sword and got my companion. After that things smoothened out. One more weapon find and companion number two made this a run through without thinking. I still did not like melee at all and wont suggest it. If you want a bigger challenge get rid of one or both companions. Although I enjoyed the feeling of not being "alone" on my journey.

    Summary:
    The game was pretty enjoyable and I would recommend it, for a price cut though of at least 20%. The game is too short and the areas are too small. Even switching to higher difficulties will not change this issue. The game is pretty and well polished. I did not encounter a single bug or quest issue. The atmosphere is nice and the story itself has charisma but being totally transparent... it did not catch me too much.

    I would like to see The Outer Worlds 2 with some more quality of life settings, especially for console players and more content. This new IP certainly has everything it needs to make a worthwhile second happening.
    Expand
  24. Oct 27, 2019
    7
    There’s a lot to love about this game, full of choices to make a story that fits your individual personality. Excellent character personalities, well designed cities, well designed dialogues. And the fact that you can kill pretty much everyone, makes the game more exciting for all those characters that annoy you. Although this game does come with bad sides, lackluster and repetitiveThere’s a lot to love about this game, full of choices to make a story that fits your individual personality. Excellent character personalities, well designed cities, well designed dialogues. And the fact that you can kill pretty much everyone, makes the game more exciting for all those characters that annoy you. Although this game does come with bad sides, lackluster and repetitive combat. It’s literally the same group of either animals or marauders that you kill over and over again. Although some of the science weapons does add an entertainment attribute to it. Colors are vibrant, but makes it hard to differentiate between what’s lootable and what’s not. Graphics are pretty bad for 2019. Many of the “bads” can be forgiven as the developers didn’t have an endless budget to perfect all areas. This new IP does give me strong hope for the future of obsidian. For 60$ it’s worth the purchase, you get a fully entertaining game with major replay ability, virtually bug free. I would recommend this game for people who loves RPGs. Expand
  25. Oct 30, 2019
    7
    This game is unfortunately too much like Fallout New Vegas. So if you loved Fallout New Vegas you'll love this game. If you thought that New Vegas was great in the beginning but then bogged down with too much grinding and no real motivation to continue at a certain point in the plot you wont like this game. And because of that I can't give this an 8. I think your either going toThis game is unfortunately too much like Fallout New Vegas. So if you loved Fallout New Vegas you'll love this game. If you thought that New Vegas was great in the beginning but then bogged down with too much grinding and no real motivation to continue at a certain point in the plot you wont like this game. And because of that I can't give this an 8. I think your either going to think its an ok game or an awesome game, no inbetween. That being said this is a mixed review, but the game is well done just not for all audiences. This is for the FNV crowd. Expand
  26. Oct 26, 2019
    7
    i feel sad and bored when i play this game, but this better cod. Why i need change settings in "Ini" file for comfortable text???
  27. Nov 17, 2019
    5
    So old school and so safe it's actually pretty boring. Especially considering the visual aspect of it circa 2010. How could you make UE4 look so bad.. And those endless loading screens between tiny, by today's standards, hubs with repetitive enemy encounters?. Unless you're willing to get real deep into the lore and the storyline and play with factions, the action aspect of just isn't worth it.
  28. Nov 10, 2019
    6
    About 5 hours in, first area cleared. Already feeling the genericness. Good effort and I'll try to finish it but it feels so bland. No urgency whatsoever so far. Enticing main storyline but I wish it was $40 or less. :/
  29. Nov 11, 2019
    5
    I wanted this to be awesome. Shame it deliveres only halfway. The good:
    - dialogues
    - interior design - science weapons -companions -atmosphere in some places The bad: - enemy ai - companion abilities - planets look exactly alike - outdated graphics - useless looting system( i stopped looting anything halfway through the game because it is for nothing) -only around 10 different weapons...
    I wanted this to be awesome. Shame it deliveres only halfway. The good:
    - dialogues
    - interior design
    - science weapons
    -companions
    -atmosphere in some places

    The bad: - enemy ai
    - companion abilities
    - planets look exactly alike
    - outdated graphics
    - useless looting system( i stopped looting anything halfway through the game because it is for nothing) -only around 10 different weapons... Several mark 2a nd ultimate versions though. Only affects damage. - waaaay too easy and only a handfull of stupid enemies
    - boring repetitive missions
    .-too few weapon modification alternatives -sneaking is also completely useless
    Expand
  30. Nov 21, 2019
    7
    welcome to mr balbool reviews
    so where to begin? the outer worlds has so many flaws, i felt so dissatisfied about their map design like their isn't much to do when it comes to exploring, every encounter is the same old marauder/monster camp on the road what am i supposed to do that's interesting when not doing quest.
    also the consumable system in this game is convoluted im not that
    welcome to mr balbool reviews
    so where to begin? the outer worlds has so many flaws, i felt so dissatisfied about their map design like their isn't much to do when it comes to exploring, every encounter is the same old marauder/monster camp on the road what am i supposed to do that's interesting when not doing quest.

    also the consumable system in this game is convoluted im not that high of a level and i own an entire supermarket OK obsidian i know you want your game to be stylized with content but i never find myself using these at a constant rate compared to how frequent i find these items

    my next point. pristine items are pointless. they weren't given much effort to them, all they are normal weapons with more durability and price value.
    no special abilities
    not anything different in looks

    also can someone tell me why they made the character creation very detailed and specific but in the actual game you can't have the option of 3rd person

    stealth is really bad in this game, no matter the approach you take to killing a guy after you hit him enemies get alerted no matter what you cant chain kill and theres no point in meleeing, you cant do stealth with guns either since there are no silencers

    however apart from all these the game is very fun just wish it would be more detailed, story is good, quests are varied, gunplay feels great, companions are interesting and it is one of the best rpgs that have come out lately. the dialogue is definitely the best part of the game. your choice its better than fifa
    Expand
  31. Oct 28, 2019
    5
    The game is pretty "meh" and average. I'm disappointed with Obsidian It was either completely overhyped, or Bethesda lower the level so low with Fallout 4, that this game now looks fantastic in comparison. As for an ARPG goes, the game is not great not terrible type of game.

    The whole combat needs a complete overhaul in my opinion. And the quests are bland and boring. Most NPCs are
    The game is pretty "meh" and average. I'm disappointed with Obsidian It was either completely overhyped, or Bethesda lower the level so low with Fallout 4, that this game now looks fantastic in comparison. As for an ARPG goes, the game is not great not terrible type of game.

    The whole combat needs a complete overhaul in my opinion. And the quests are bland and boring. Most NPCs are complete bipolar and act out of character most of the time. Another problem is that all enemies are the same, but the boss is blue instead of red, and slightly bigger; lame and lazy.

    In short, the game is too pricy, not to mention that they sell their soul to Satan doing the Epic Store exclusive baloney.

    Please save us Cyberpunk, you are our last hope.
    Expand
  32. Oct 26, 2019
    7
    Played on windows 10 version.
    first of all i will say this game does look very beautiful, however i found my self having stutters and frame rate drops on medium graphics even with my GTX1060. Outer worlds is a great RPG experience, however i felt it was too short lived; it was disapointing when i finished the campaign and found out i could not continue exploring like other RPG
    Played on windows 10 version.
    first of all i will say this game does look very beautiful, however i found my self having stutters and frame rate drops on medium graphics even with my GTX1060. Outer worlds is a great RPG experience, however i felt it was too short lived; it was disapointing when i finished the campaign and found out i could not continue exploring like other RPG experiences, recognise that it was going for a fallout 1-2 ending style, however i would have preferred to continue playing. another aspect i found made it shorter was the lack of explorable planets, although there is at least 8 planets on the map there is only around 5 explorable ones which is a bit misleading. the armour and weapons also feels a bit stagnant when you get towards the end of the game, there is not really any new or cool styles to find. playing on hard difficulty i feel like the easiness of the game also made it too short. although it may sound like i didn't like this game overall i had fun even if it was a bit too short for my liking.
    Expand
  33. Oct 27, 2019
    5
    Yes, those developers fullout 2, and other games. What we see, first of all this project is very boring, I do not advise to play for those who find it difficult to think.Puzzles for those who are a nerd.A lot of dialogue.In principle, the game is not bad, but for an Amateur, and fans of the series fullout.Why the press decides for everyone.Not good.Let's just say the nurse will get boredYes, those developers fullout 2, and other games. What we see, first of all this project is very boring, I do not advise to play for those who find it difficult to think.Puzzles for those who are a nerd.A lot of dialogue.In principle, the game is not bad, but for an Amateur, and fans of the series fullout.Why the press decides for everyone.Not good.Let's just say the nurse will get bored after 5 or 10 hours many. Advise this game, from whom with nerves in order, thank you for attention .The first game reviewer, from Russia. Expand
  34. Oct 31, 2019
    5
    The Outer Worlds is receiving many plaudits from critics and gamers alike but I think it is undeserved. Why do I think that? Because it this game is painfully generic, basically a Fallout 4 clone. The graphics, despite their garish hues, could be straight from that game. The Outer Worlds won't win any beauty prizes, being a RPG does not excuse it from looking bad especially as Witcher 3 isThe Outer Worlds is receiving many plaudits from critics and gamers alike but I think it is undeserved. Why do I think that? Because it this game is painfully generic, basically a Fallout 4 clone. The graphics, despite their garish hues, could be straight from that game. The Outer Worlds won't win any beauty prizes, being a RPG does not excuse it from looking bad especially as Witcher 3 is a much older game but still looks great for 2019. Movement feels airy and slow (even when running), your interaction with the environment and objects feels detached as there is no animation when you handle or open objects and worst of all you cannot sit on chairs! Even Fallout games had animations for that! Combat doesn't feel like you're hefting a weapon about, it also feels airy with no feeling of weight behind your melee attacks.

    The fact The Outer Worlds has no micro-transactions, is a single player game and isn't made by Bethesda seems to have helped it score brownie points with critics and fans alike. But it feels like Fallout 4.5 rather than it's own game, maybe because Tim Cain and Leonard Boyarsky, the creators of the Fallout series, served as the game's directors. Resulting in The Outer Worlds feeling very familiar to the point of being boring.
    Expand
  35. Oct 28, 2019
    7
    It's not a bad game but it's a 6.5 - 7 at bests. Once again stupid side quests added for game time, I would of prefered a shorter game if they had of left them out. Over all it was an enjoyable weekend playing but it was just short of the mark.
  36. Oct 28, 2019
    5
    Quite disappointing I'm afraid and not a patch on New Vegas. It's entertaining enough for a while,.but I'm maybe 10 hours in and can't be bothered to keep going. The writing is terrible and the humor is all but gone so there is no incentive to keep foing. RPGs have moved on from 2009, this game hasn't.unfortunately.
  37. Oct 28, 2019
    6
    This is a decent game but those who say it’s not sjw are full of it. No matter how you try to customize your female character she always comes out looking butch. Even the main AI for your ship is butch. Where are all the normal women in the game. Not saying I need them to be hot, but just normal would be nice. If you can overlook the political and character models then you’ll enjoy theThis is a decent game but those who say it’s not sjw are full of it. No matter how you try to customize your female character she always comes out looking butch. Even the main AI for your ship is butch. Where are all the normal women in the game. Not saying I need them to be hot, but just normal would be nice. If you can overlook the political and character models then you’ll enjoy the game. If you are super against what I said then maybe not. Expand
  38. Oct 29, 2019
    5
    I am surprised how good reviews this game have. Unfortunately, but for me this game is a clone of FO3/4. all mechanics are the same as 10 years ago. The graphics are poor despite the bright colors and the interiors are all the same. npc are stupid and have no life of their own. flora is poor and fauna looks like in NoMansSky. after 5 hours of "fun" I decided to return to witcher3, this isI am surprised how good reviews this game have. Unfortunately, but for me this game is a clone of FO3/4. all mechanics are the same as 10 years ago. The graphics are poor despite the bright colors and the interiors are all the same. npc are stupid and have no life of their own. flora is poor and fauna looks like in NoMansSky. after 5 hours of "fun" I decided to return to witcher3, this is good rpg game, not The Outer Worlds, maybe 10 years ago, not now. for me 5/10 is max Expand
  39. Nov 6, 2019
    6
    Great effort and nice to see a complete single player game RPG with no in game transactions. But for me personally felt a little dated and flat, completed casually over a week but nothing pulling me back in to give it a second go or complete more side quests. I think it’s bridged a very wide gap of better executed fantasy epics. 6.5/10
  40. Nov 4, 2019
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just not a fan. I tried, but I just can’t get hooked. My biggest issue is the combat. It’s very sloppy and very short lived. Beautiful game, just not for me. Expand
  41. Nov 2, 2019
    6
    I always liked Obsidian and KOTOR2 is one of my all-time favorites. The Outer Worlds isn't a terrible game, it's just a slog to play through.

    Everything feels disconnected, uncanny, unnatural and forced. Uninspired kill & fetch quests turn your journal into a boring to-do list. Eventually I just kept going from A to B, killing the same enemies in the same crossroads, corridors and camps
    I always liked Obsidian and KOTOR2 is one of my all-time favorites. The Outer Worlds isn't a terrible game, it's just a slog to play through.

    Everything feels disconnected, uncanny, unnatural and forced. Uninspired kill & fetch quests turn your journal into a boring to-do list. Eventually I just kept going from A to B, killing the same enemies in the same crossroads, corridors and camps with explosive boxes.

    The whole game lacks variety and polish. It's like Obsidian just decided they have to release in October. Even TOW's character creation is a big step backwards. There's not enough sliders or even hairstyles (for women at least) and the faces remind me of the Oblivion potatoheads. You keep blindly looting the same stuff all over again like a robot. Levelling up anything else other than speech and tech skills is useless.

    Guns miss the much needed KICK and the gunplay often ventures into Borderlandish bullet-spongy territory. Wanna know how my gunplay loop went? I resorted to spamming one button - the one that activates special abilities of my companions. Man, these cutscenes get old fast. But it was still faster than endlessly shooting the dumb hostile NPCs. Don't even get me started on melee combat. What the hell were they going for here? A homage to Morrowind?

    Yes, it's supposed to be story-driven. Mind you, I just came after playing Disco Elysium. And TOW hasn't caught my attention at all. We can all probably agree that Parvati is cute, but that's nearly not enough to carry a game. Maybe the main plot gets better later. Except it's already too late.

    What really happened here, I think, is that people really wanted to send Bethesda a huge middle finger. This was actually a part of Obsidian's marketing campaign. I guess that worked for them, but the game itself did not meet my expectations. This game gets more credit than it deserves and its rating is strongly affected by the recent AAA games. Meaning their microtransactions, bugs, artificial corporate statements - you name it. TOW has none of that, but evading these flaws does not make your game automatically a masterpiece.
    Expand
  42. Oct 29, 2019
    6
    A fairly average adventure in an overly colourful world with far too many enemies in close proximity. The existence of "quest hubs" is far too prominent, detracting from the living world experience it is otherwise trying to convey. A companion character saying "wow I've never gone this far before!" when you are barely 300 metres away from the settlement she lives in feels completely wrong.A fairly average adventure in an overly colourful world with far too many enemies in close proximity. The existence of "quest hubs" is far too prominent, detracting from the living world experience it is otherwise trying to convey. A companion character saying "wow I've never gone this far before!" when you are barely 300 metres away from the settlement she lives in feels completely wrong. Everywhere you go is just littered with corpses and generic enemies. These outer worlds felt simply stale to me.

    Unfortunately the characters and plot of this game did not interest me very much, but it is evident that the developers tried hard to incorporate as much choice as possible. It is not that the plot is necessarily bad, just personally found it uninteresting and forced. It may as well be another amnesiac player character story.

    The shooting and melee is competent and usually feels strong and impactful, the time slow down ability is well implemented and useful.

    The game is outrageously easy on normal difficulty.
    Expand
  43. Nov 8, 2019
    6
    Great RPG with terrible art-direction. Graphics are ok, but the style is awful.
  44. Nov 7, 2019
    6
    This game is whatever the opposite of subtle is. Its story is so "hit-you-over-the-head" that it quickly starts to get tiring when you can almost predict what every character is going to say. The dialogue from the player character side is better than anything any RPG has had to offer since Obsidian's last 1st-person shooter RPG foray *cough NEW VEGAS cough*. In many ways it doesThis game is whatever the opposite of subtle is. Its story is so "hit-you-over-the-head" that it quickly starts to get tiring when you can almost predict what every character is going to say. The dialogue from the player character side is better than anything any RPG has had to offer since Obsidian's last 1st-person shooter RPG foray *cough NEW VEGAS cough*. In many ways it does outshine New Vegas, but generally-speaking, everything feels like it's thrown at you at once with no sense of adequate pacing. You basically know every companion the second you meet them, there's very few things in the way of characterization that you learn as you travel with them. I think that this really is the fatal flaw of the game, how blunt it is. If your frontal lobe is underdeveloped and you just like when the funny scientist man doesn't like capitalism, then you're liable to have a good time. If not, you'll probably roll your eyes half the time, even if you don't disagree.

    There's also a huge problem with moment-to-moment gameplay, since the combat is literally the worst I've suffered through this year at least. I played on hard, and my lord is everything too spongey. Ammo is basically a non-concern, so to balance that out they made everything deal basically no damage. You can basically only play stealth since it feels like nothing makes any real impact, especially in the first half of the game. If I can get turned into red paste in a microsecond, then you bet your ass that I think my shotgun should do the same.

    Play it through Gamepass if you can, or buy it on sale.
    Expand
  45. Oct 25, 2019
    6
    The Outer Worlds is a new single-player first-person sci-fi RPG from Obsidian Entertainment and Private Division. Lost in transit while on a colonist ship bound for the furthest edge of the galaxy, you awake decades later only to find yourself in the midst of a deep conspiracy threatening to destroy the Halcyon colony
  46. Oct 29, 2019
    5
    5 out of 5. One of the most complete and polished games I’ve played in the last ten years. Absolutely love the dialogue, and the plethora of choices you can make that actually effect the outcomes. I honestly don’t think I’ve ever deliberated this hard on in-game decisions. Also, there is a decent selection of guns to choose from that allows for different styles of attack. This game is5 out of 5. One of the most complete and polished games I’ve played in the last ten years. Absolutely love the dialogue, and the plethora of choices you can make that actually effect the outcomes. I honestly don’t think I’ve ever deliberated this hard on in-game decisions. Also, there is a decent selection of guns to choose from that allows for different styles of attack. This game is breath of fresh air in today’s gaming industry. I hope it wins game of the year. Expand
  47. Nov 4, 2019
    6
    It's very weak re-skin of New Vegas in space. Boring, low budget, unbelievable characters, small spaces, strange art style. The reviews was good because people are tired of AAA micro transactions hell, but other than that, it is very mediocre game.
  48. Nov 2, 2019
    6
    Having completed the game and all side-quests I ran into, as well as getting all the companions and completing their quests in a little under 25 hours of gameplay, it's certainly a bit shorter than the titles it gets compared to. But I don't consider that a problem, it actually manages to cram a loot of content and entertainment into those 25 hours and it mainly does away with boringHaving completed the game and all side-quests I ran into, as well as getting all the companions and completing their quests in a little under 25 hours of gameplay, it's certainly a bit shorter than the titles it gets compared to. But I don't consider that a problem, it actually manages to cram a loot of content and entertainment into those 25 hours and it mainly does away with boring grinds or "get X of Y" chores - there literally was only one of those and even that ended interestingly.

    The graphics are impressive, if a bit garish - probably not everyone's style, but I found it well done and consistent throughout, with clear identities for the various worlds. The game combines aspects of Fallout, Mass Effect and Borderlands, although it arguably misses the key elements that made those games stand out, respectively the size and depth, the deep character story-lines and their impact on the story overall and the off-beat humour and 'a million guns' collect-a-thon. Still, apart from those signature elements, the game does feel like it's learned from its predecessors and avoids most of their flaws.

    So, why only 7/10 then? A few reasons.

    First and foremost, the game feels rushed out. In various parts of the game I encountered bugs that didn't completely break the game but made playing frustrating and breaking the fourth wall in the worst possible way: letting me know I'm playing a game that was released before it was properly finished; and having me pay full price all the same, without an 'early access' discaimer. Apparently we've arrived in a time where that is no longer needed, we all need to accept that buying a game early after 'release' means you're volunteering to be part of the final testing and paying for the privilege.

    Secondly, although the game sets up a massive world with interesting factions and a strongly written backstory and the quests and stories fit into that nicely, there's many loose ends and aspects of the game that feel unfinished. The game is heavy on gun-play, but the guns are very samey and apart from the basic categories being fairly different, there's no interesting weapons to discover or work towards. The later weapons are literally "Some gun version 2", with the same graphics as "Some gun" and stats that are simply "more damage". Another aspects that feels it didn't get enough attention is experience gain. There was only about and hour between me getting about 800xp for killing a hard monster and being given tens of thousands of xp for hooking someone up with a partner in a dialog. Same for money - someone makes a big deal of paying you 1,700 bits for stealing world-changing research from a heavily guarded military base, but 2 hours later my character casually offers a guard a 3,000 bit bribe to look the other way for a misdemeanor.

    That lack of attention and unfinished-ness also result in the third major flaw: the uninspired ending. Without spoiling it, it feels railroaded and uninspired. None of the clever interaction and varied approaches that were written in so well early on. Just a hard to kill boss (even though I can one shot every other creature in the game and have 100/100 stats on firearms) and a linear progression through levels with a very disappointing payoff on the hard-fought faction standing.

    In the end, it's easy to see what The Outer Worlds could have been. And it starts out really strong. Perhaps it can be saved by DLC and ultimately a definitive version in a year or so. But that's not why I fork over full price for what's supposed to be a triple-A title from an established publisher and development team. Currently, The Outer Worlds does not deserve the high marks give to it by people who clearly didn't play the whole thing through.
    Expand
  49. Nov 5, 2019
    6
    The Outer Worlds is a game that people really like because it's not Bethesda and is an actual RPG. Most of the praise probably is influenced by Bethesda being really dumb, but lets talk about the Outer Worlds.

    The STORY- It's pretty good. I like the concept, I like the endings, and overall it left me feeling very satisfied. The whole thing is presented to you extremely well and gives
    The Outer Worlds is a game that people really like because it's not Bethesda and is an actual RPG. Most of the praise probably is influenced by Bethesda being really dumb, but lets talk about the Outer Worlds.

    The STORY-
    It's pretty good. I like the concept, I like the endings, and overall it left me feeling very satisfied. The whole thing is presented to you extremely well and gives off that it's a true RPG with open-ended choices and outcomes.

    GAMEPLAY- This is really where I think a lot of the problems for Outer Worlds stack up. The combat is very shallow. You can get perks to enhance your damage, to make you tougher, or to make you faster, but they don't really add anything to combat. Every battle just feels exactly the same and it doesn't feel like it was designed with any real impact or any difficulty, even on supernova mode the combat is a total joke unless you go full John Rambo. Perks in general don't add much, if anything but a tiny boost, leaving to your perks just....not really being helpful to the overall game aside from increased carry weight. Not much else to say other than the slow down time system is bootleg VATS and considering it doesn't last that long, it's a more useless VATS as well.

    The skill system is back with a mixed bag feeling. A lot of the skills are very important to use, and unlock speech checks, however some skills don't unlock any new bits at all and it makes you wonder whats the point?

    Another personal dislike is the companion system, even though I gave them the best armor and guns in the game, these dudes still shoot and are as durable as wet toilet paper, even on the easiest difficulty with like, all their perk points put into tanky stuff. Another funny thing is that even though your companions will disagree with some of your actions or downright cruelty, they won't leave your party or service LOL, so it has no meaning other than "You just made them mad is all."

    The biggest problem with the game in my opinion if its a problem at all(It's really subjective), but for an open world game about Space and Sci-fi, it's really damn short. Like there was some side stuff from the game's few areas, but there wasn't really any other reason to explore the world other than what the side quests and quests wanted you to find. It feels more like a less restricted on-rails RPG, especially considering every area has a fetish for placing boxes EVERYWHERE in cities.

    Speaking of cities, that's all you will really find in this game apart from abandoned stuff. It's kind of disappointing there's no real tiny towns or extremely small settlements to talk to. Every place is major in some way.

    LOOT- Unless you play on Supernova difficulty(The survival mode), Food, Water, and Sleep are pointless, and anything other than Adreno(The healing item) and better weapons and gear are useless. The only time buffs were really needed were for the game's final boss, and that's really the only part of the game that gets difficult. Loot in general is kind of....eh. There's not many unique items or weapons to discover, and even the unique weapons in general are just re-skins or somewhat edited versions of an already existing weapon. Sometimes they're even WORSE than the weapons and gear you already have lol.

    It may sound like i'm being really negative about The Outer Worlds, but overall I did have fun with it. Is this the spiritual successor of old school Fallout or New Vegas? ehhhhhhhhhhhhh no. Is it way better than Bethesda's recent "RPG?" Definitely.
    I think if The Outer Worlds had a bit more to offer, and maybe just worked on the game longer it would've been a more enjoyable experience but overall it's just a really 6/10 game.

    I'll probably play it again someday, if they add expansions to it.
    Expand
  50. Oct 29, 2019
    6
    The outer worlds is a great first attempt at building a new RPG, first-person shooter by Obsidian, but to met left a bit to be desired in terms of overall quality and excitement.

    Pros: 1.) The dialogue is plentiful and deep, with a ton of character choice, for those who like that 2.) Smooth gameplay, great shooting mechanics 3.) The game looks gorgeous, and it's a pleasure to walk
    The outer worlds is a great first attempt at building a new RPG, first-person shooter by Obsidian, but to met left a bit to be desired in terms of overall quality and excitement.

    Pros:
    1.) The dialogue is plentiful and deep, with a ton of character choice, for those who like that
    2.) Smooth gameplay, great shooting mechanics
    3.) The game looks gorgeous, and it's a pleasure to walk around and explore each area
    4.) For those who like Obsidian games, this a great effort by them, and really has a great RPG system and immersive choice based dialogue.

    Cons:
    1.) For me, there is too much focus on dialogue and not enough on actual cut-scenes or story telling away from spending 5-6 meetings at a time going through a conversation. You can spend quite a bit of time chatting with one character after another, which gets tedious. More balance is going to be needed for some less hardcore Obsidian fans.

    2.) I found the worlds to feel quite lifeless at times, and the game really takes a while to get going and immerse you in the environment. The world looks pretty, but is very sparse with "life".
    3.) The game is relatively short. It's not a terrible, but you can get through things in 30-40 hours easy. If you're going to go this directly with the RPG and exploration elements, I would have preferred something a bit longer.
    4.) The enemy AI is generally terrible, and the mission sets are repetitive, with some enemy NPC's being a bit bullet spongy at times.
    5.) The 1st-person style is okay, but I would like a 3-rd person, especially as you start to customize your character. Also, the way your character always holds up their gun is awkward and not believable.
    Expand
  51. Nov 4, 2019
    5
    To say this is what fallout began fans wanted is an understatement, it’s exactly what I’ve been wanting from a fallout game but I’ve been looking at the wrong developer. It takes the rpg shooter through the path I always hoped it could go. My girlfriend loves it too and has been playing it even more than me, it delivers an amazing story, deep iconic characters, a fresh interesting worldTo say this is what fallout began fans wanted is an understatement, it’s exactly what I’ve been wanting from a fallout game but I’ve been looking at the wrong developer. It takes the rpg shooter through the path I always hoped it could go. My girlfriend loves it too and has been playing it even more than me, it delivers an amazing story, deep iconic characters, a fresh interesting world and impactful decisions with very seamless gameplay. 10/10 Expand
  52. Oct 25, 2019
    5
    I play at a distance of 2 meters from the screen and I must say that it is impossible to make out such small subtitles, although I have excellent eyesight. fix it please
  53. Nov 14, 2019
    7
    A great RPG game. The best part is definitely the dialogues, characters and the story and quests. You feel like you have some real choices to make and you can pick which side you want to align yourself with. As in any good RPG game, things are never black-and-white and as easy as they seem at a first glance, there is always some depth to both the different sides you can choose to be on.A great RPG game. The best part is definitely the dialogues, characters and the story and quests. You feel like you have some real choices to make and you can pick which side you want to align yourself with. As in any good RPG game, things are never black-and-white and as easy as they seem at a first glance, there is always some depth to both the different sides you can choose to be on.

    There are some problems too. Mainly, the combat in the game never really feels satisfying. Its serviceable, but not good. Most of the bad guys feel quite generic and it kind of feels like the animations are not that great. The weapons are boring too. Some of the level designs can feel a bit bland sometimes too, there are no real "wow" moments when walking around.

    But in the end, that is not what makes a great RPG in my opinion but rather the dialogs and quests, which feels important and that lets you decide how you want things to evolve.
    Expand
  54. Nov 19, 2019
    5
    Very good game, the exploration os Very cool and the sode Quest até Very interesting.
  55. Nov 28, 2019
    5
    Good Story but not worth $60 due to quality. Clouds were low quality, maps were baren to nothing but foilage and the same type of enemies with terrible drops. Overall should have been max $30
  56. Dec 28, 2019
    7
    This is an interesting game to rate. On one hand it's pretty decent and software bug free but on the other hand it doesn't do a very good job with immersion despite its role playing nature. I neither want to bash it nor compliment it. I usually rate must have games as an 8 or more but I think for this one I would just recommend, so a score of 7. The load times on this game are noticeable,This is an interesting game to rate. On one hand it's pretty decent and software bug free but on the other hand it doesn't do a very good job with immersion despite its role playing nature. I neither want to bash it nor compliment it. I usually rate must have games as an 8 or more but I think for this one I would just recommend, so a score of 7. The load times on this game are noticeable, the color palette of the graphics goes from colourful to gloomy in a unique way. For me I found the game to be too much of a fetchquest. I really never felt any tension in this game and I think that is it's main problem being a little too focused on making you go here and there and back. Seems more like a casual time waster than anything. That said it does have different difficulty settings and the ability to invite party members with you or go solo. The party members can be customized and coupled with the difficulty and being software bug free I do see a lot of value in replaying the game. Seems to be many quest and dialog options. Despite being a solid game though I'm just not being pulled in. The game is kind of an amalgamation of other successful games and it does suffer from not having its own identity but rather refamiliarizing you with memories of all your past favourite games. On one hand that's great this game is streamlined to have all the key elements of many games but on the downside it's also "been there, done that" too. Pretty much a sell out design but that also means it's probably worth your money whether you buy now at full price or later down the road in the bargain bins whenever that time hits it should probably be a game to at minimum try. Expand
  57. Dec 22, 2019
    6
    The Outer worlds Starts strong with a familiar character creator, an interesting premise and better than expected combat, unfortunately my high expectations were swiftly eviscerated.
    The world design although pretty is uninteresting and repetitive, the voice acting is good but the dialogue is horrendous, the world building is all presented through text dumps on terminals found throughout
    The Outer worlds Starts strong with a familiar character creator, an interesting premise and better than expected combat, unfortunately my high expectations were swiftly eviscerated.
    The world design although pretty is uninteresting and repetitive, the voice acting is good but the dialogue is horrendous, the world building is all presented through text dumps on terminals found throughout the world, these text dumps only come in 2 flavours "Capitalism bad" and "Egregious violations of human rights" all of these text dumps are written about as well as a 3 year olds name on a pre-school painting.
    The thing I enjoyed most about the outer worlds is the length of the game, it was very short, so short I was able to complete the game in it's entirety within the 7 day full refund return period, this is a not a game worth $60 but it is a game worth playing when it becomes a little cheaper.
    Expand
  58. Dec 27, 2019
    7
    I was excited for this game but it is incredibly... mediocre. The game keeps repeating "corporations bad" without any of the depth that Obsidian's previous games like Fallout New Vegas had. The combat is mostly boring and monotonous.
  59. Jan 15, 2020
    5
    Really terrible combat, poorly designed environments, abysmal crafting mechanics. As for the supposedly good dialogues, I mean, OMG, how is this stuff any good? I couldn't care less about any of the NPCs, they were simply super dull and uninteresting. The dark humor tries too much, too hard, and falls flat, becoming ultra repetitive early in the game. By the end of the game, I was doingReally terrible combat, poorly designed environments, abysmal crafting mechanics. As for the supposedly good dialogues, I mean, OMG, how is this stuff any good? I couldn't care less about any of the NPCs, they were simply super dull and uninteresting. The dark humor tries too much, too hard, and falls flat, becoming ultra repetitive early in the game. By the end of the game, I was doing quest just because I wanted to be done with it all.
    People compare it to Fallout New Vegas, but for me there is simply no comparison at all, on any level. FNW had hugely better combat, better characters, a better setting that was still ironic, without cranking it to 11, and a story I cared about. KOTOR 2 was an incredible RPG, with storytelling moments that sent shivers down my spine. This looks like a third grader effort, in comparison.
    Finally, male NPCs are a bunch of rock-stupid and corrupt morons, while most females are powerful, competent and compassionate. There are very few exceptions to this rule.
    Expand
  60. Dec 28, 2019
    7
    El juego como tal está bastante bien, tiene elementos de acción que son divertidos e incluso te suponen un reto dependiendo de la dificultad, pero hay otros elementos que necesitan ser pulidos. Los tiempos de carga en una PS4 PRO son horribles, casi a cada paso hay una pantalla de carga, y tarda un ratito en cargar, ha llegado a ser desesperante, por el resto el juego es entretenido, laEl juego como tal está bastante bien, tiene elementos de acción que son divertidos e incluso te suponen un reto dependiendo de la dificultad, pero hay otros elementos que necesitan ser pulidos. Los tiempos de carga en una PS4 PRO son horribles, casi a cada paso hay una pantalla de carga, y tarda un ratito en cargar, ha llegado a ser desesperante, por el resto el juego es entretenido, la historia es muy corta, visualmente está bien, lo conseguí por 30€ a si que para mi se merece un 7. Expand
  61. Dec 31, 2019
    6
    I love RPG games especially in a Sci-fi setting, but this game just couldn't hold my attention.
    My biggest problem with the game are the graphical choices. If your a Colorblind player:
    AVOID THIS GAME LIKE THE PLAGUE Non Colorblind players struggle enough, enemies blend in with the background The game is also very linear I was hoping to d do loads of exploring, but I was disappointed to
    I love RPG games especially in a Sci-fi setting, but this game just couldn't hold my attention.
    My biggest problem with the game are the graphical choices. If your a Colorblind player:
    AVOID THIS GAME LIKE THE PLAGUE

    Non Colorblind players struggle enough, enemies blend in with the background The game is also very linear I was hoping to d do loads of exploring, but I was disappointed to see very small map areas where most of the buildings are not interactive leaving no sense of freedom. Gunplay is very clunky but in a RPG this is not the end of the world. Dialogue is interesting but doesn't hook your curiosity. This feels like an indie game and if it had a lower price point it maybe worth a punt, but at AAA price I'd give it a miss. Not worth the hype unfortunately.
    Expand
  62. Dec 25, 2019
    7
    It is a really good step forward when you look at the games released over the last 3 years. Single player focus, world-building, kinda nice lore and good RPG elements.

    BUT it lacks much needed side quests to lose yourself, divert from the main storyline and experience the setting created. The companions are nice but there is a long way to go before catching up with Mass Effect
    It is a really good step forward when you look at the games released over the last 3 years. Single player focus, world-building, kinda nice lore and good RPG elements.

    BUT it lacks much needed side quests to lose yourself, divert from the main storyline and experience the setting created.

    The companions are nice but there is a long way to go before catching up with Mass Effect standards. You don't bond, you eventually don't care about them in the end.

    Last but not least, the game is TOO short. Anyways, good work!
    Expand
  63. Dec 30, 2019
    6
    After about 15 hours of playtime I just got bored with this game. Put it down and have never had the urge to go back.

    It does have a lot of charm and wit but after that wore off I couldn't find anything that hooked me.
  64. Dec 5, 2019
    5
    Very fun game to play but there is a huge problem with the amount of content here.
    I breezed through the whole story and ALL side missions in a couple of sittings.
    I am utterly disappointed with the amount of content they give us for this price.
    That being said, the graphics are good, the gameplay is fun and the sound is decent.
    All in all, great game but WAY too short. :-(
  65. Dec 28, 2019
    7
    Not a bad game kinda lacking in environments and places to explore. Wish my character had a voice, he's kinda mute. I understand that's a obsidian thing but maybe we can start giving our player a voice? It's almost 2020. the game was overall enjoyable and combat was fun, but some of the conversations just drag on too long. I'd wait for all the DLCs to be out so it has more variety.
  66. Dec 23, 2019
    7
    Ну что я хочу сказать о The Outer Worlds на ps4, Obsidian есть Obsidian. Я не знаю почему они так сделали игру, но такое ощущение, что "беседка" им запретила менять что-либо в фаллаут-образных играх. Вроде и движок другой, а такое ощущение что играешь в какой то фаллаут.
    Начну с анимации, тут как говорится найди 3 отличия от фаллаут 4.
    Теперь загрузки. Они обещали без шовный мир. В итоге
    Ну что я хочу сказать о The Outer Worlds на ps4, Obsidian есть Obsidian. Я не знаю почему они так сделали игру, но такое ощущение, что "беседка" им запретила менять что-либо в фаллаут-образных играх. Вроде и движок другой, а такое ощущение что играешь в какой то фаллаут.
    Начну с анимации, тут как говорится найди 3 отличия от фаллаут 4.
    Теперь загрузки. Они обещали без шовный мир. В итоге из 60 минут одного сюжетного задания 50 минут я наблюдал экран загрузок (версия ps4 может на pc будет быстрей, не пробовал).
    Наконец прокачка. Я не знаю зачем они меняли ее в "нью вегасе"? В 3м фаллауте по моему было лучше. Так вот сюда они перетащили ее из "вегаса". То есть перки даются только в чётный уровень, зачем? Не знаю.
    ‌Еще я не понял фишки с ингалятором. В него можно вставлять сразу несколько бонусов, согласен к месту. Но вот почему нельзя было простую лечилку поставить на отдельную кнопку или на долгое нажатие? Объясню. Аптечек в игре много, а вот всяких улучшалок не очень. По этому когда во время боя тебе нужно просто полечиться раза 2 или 3, ты тратишь не только аптечку но и ценные улучшалки вставленные в ингалятор, впустую. Так что проще поставить игру на паузу выбрать то, что нужно в данный момент и продолжить. А в ингаляторе у мня всегда была только одна лечилка.
    ‌Теперь о хорошем... ЭТО Fallout В КОСМОСЕ!!! И это перевешивает все предыдущие недостатки. Хотелось бы русскую озвучку для более полного погружения, но имеем что имеем.
    ‌И так, кому зашел "вегас" зайдет и эта игра. Мне фаллаут от Obsidian понравился меньше 3й чати, по этому дикого восторга не испытал. А так советую попробовать, может понравится!
    К стати очень странно, но игра заканчивается после финальных титров. После этого в откратом мире поиграть не дадут...
    Expand
  67. Nov 13, 2019
    7
    Graphics are 10yr+ and colors oversaturated. Game is mediocre at best which makes sense since theyre xbone developer now. Save your money, get the game on PC for 1$ gamepass and pre order Death Stranding or buy Modern Warfare which is absolutely amazing!!!
  68. Dec 24, 2019
    7
    The Outer Worlds is a refreshing western-developed RPG experience, despite it's flaws. Objectively speaking, this game is really only great by comparison to it's recent contemporaries. If gaming wasn't in a spot where games are praised by virtue of actually working as intended at launch, this game would be okay at best. Consumables are basically useless outside of the highest difficultyThe Outer Worlds is a refreshing western-developed RPG experience, despite it's flaws. Objectively speaking, this game is really only great by comparison to it's recent contemporaries. If gaming wasn't in a spot where games are praised by virtue of actually working as intended at launch, this game would be okay at best. Consumables are basically useless outside of the highest difficulty setting, combat is pretty meh, not a whole lot of weapon variety, perks are kinda s****y, companion perks even more so. Yes we get it corporations are evil, you don't need to beat us over the head with it. Companions are bland, and the story is kinda hard to care about. Don't get it twisted, it's a reasonably good game and a return to what Fallout is supposed to be, but it's definitely not the be all to end all. I feel like this game is maybe a 6.5 but I'll be generous and round it up to a 7. Worth buying but probably not at full price. Expand
  69. Jan 1, 2020
    7
    Outer Worlds is an extremely fun and unique experience. The world building is fantastic of this game, the dialogue is great, and combat is fun. The biggest strength of this game, is the writing and finding all the terminals. The biggest weakness is how safe Oblivion played it and how close to the vest they played. They didn't venture out, it feels like a re-skin of New Vegas.

    Biggest
    Outer Worlds is an extremely fun and unique experience. The world building is fantastic of this game, the dialogue is great, and combat is fun. The biggest strength of this game, is the writing and finding all the terminals. The biggest weakness is how safe Oblivion played it and how close to the vest they played. They didn't venture out, it feels like a re-skin of New Vegas.

    Biggest gripe I have, is the game feels so lacking of quests. My first playthrough, I was able to grab (to my knowledge) almost every single quest leading to the end of the day and some of them, finally went to me just having to fast travel and go to load screen to load screen and running from planets. Another complaint, is the difficulty of the game. This is one of the easiest games I've played in quite some time, even on the hardest difficulty. Mix that with the modding system, which never really felt that impactful, feels abit like a letdown.

    Graphics wise, the game was fantastic. Virtually experienced 0 bugs or if it was, it was minor visual bugs. The customization in the game, is fantastic for your character and for the skill system. You can make a stealthy, assassin who snipes people and hacks and picks locks or a swavy gun slinger.

    The choice system in the game, makes me want to play the game again and experience the choices that could have happened.

    All in all, the games very good, be it abit so safe. Its above average, but just more of what you expect with a new skin.
    Expand
  70. Jan 17, 2020
    7
    A fallout in space. It ıs a delightful game. The game have mistakes but I had fun while playing.
  71. Jan 22, 2020
    5
    Des promesses non tenues quand au retour en force de Obsidian, l'histoire est sans intérêt comme la plupart des quêtes, graphiquement c'est moches et les personnages sont inintéressants. Les dialogues sont insipides malgré un certain humour et la multitude de loot est aussi inutile et fatigante que les écrans de chargement.
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. Dec 5, 2019
    70
    I can see that while I play, The Outer Worlds is everything needed and expected from a first-person RPG, one that can then be expanded on in the future, with innovative systems, original worlds, and unexpected characters - they now have a hub to fit into. The problem for players is: why play this game instead of waiting for the one that fully escapes the shadow of Fallout?
  2. Dec 4, 2019
    90
    The Outer Worlds is the Bethesda RPG you always wanted, but it's not made by Bethesda. This is one of the finest RPG experiences that let you take complete control of your storyline, and it's one hell of a ride.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Nov 18, 2019
    80
    An out-of-this-world adventure that, for better and worse, feels far from alien, even if you’ve been frozen for a few years. The familiar done well and then some. [Issue#169, p.85]