User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 162 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 162
  2. Negative: 16 out of 162

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 17, 2015
    9
    Unfinished Swan is what most indie developers strive to achieve. Unfinished Swan is different and beautiful, yet simple. The game starts out having the player color the white world with black paint. Instead of a normal exploration game, you have to color the world, while also discovering it. The game starts adding variation to the world around you by adding some painted objects andUnfinished Swan is what most indie developers strive to achieve. Unfinished Swan is different and beautiful, yet simple. The game starts out having the player color the white world with black paint. Instead of a normal exploration game, you have to color the world, while also discovering it. The game starts adding variation to the world around you by adding some painted objects and shadows. This is done so you do not have to just continually paint everything the rest of the game. This is done so that the player does not get annoyed by just throwing paint continuously. And that is the line Unfinished Swan is so carefully balanced on. The line between new mechanics and annoyance. Only once in the game did a mechanic overstay its welcome a bit too long for me. For the most part the game changes mechanics regularly enough that the player stays engaged. I expected the mechanics to stay very similar throughout the game with slight variations, but instead was surprised by the amount of variation in the different chapters in the game. This variation made me want to continue playing not just to explore the beautiful world, but also to see what new mechanics are added. The story is told like a children's book. As you explore the world you will see letters on the walls and floors. These small snippets of story help explain what you are seeing in the game world and why the world is changing. The story is not complex by any means. It is a very simple story that is there to compliment the game world, and it does so perfectly. The Unfinished Swan is a game that I would recommend to just about anyone. Not only was it one of the best games of last generation, but it is now one of the best games on PS4. Expand
  2. Apr 7, 2015
    8
    Fun and beautiful, but not coming close to the adventure that was Journey. Some interesting ideas are explored, but I didn't feel compelled enough to go back and find every last balloon.
  3. Jan 26, 2015
    8
    A simple but great game! The gameplay is very easy and fun, you throw paint balls to color the environment and know where to go. Also, you can use it to activate some puzzles that constantly are appearing. The controls are very simple to use. Is a good looking game, it has decent graphics and the soundtrack is very good. The only problem that i find is that sometimes there are frame dropsA simple but great game! The gameplay is very easy and fun, you throw paint balls to color the environment and know where to go. Also, you can use it to activate some puzzles that constantly are appearing. The controls are very simple to use. Is a good looking game, it has decent graphics and the soundtrack is very good. The only problem that i find is that sometimes there are frame drops while you are walking and shooting the paint balls. Expand
  4. Jan 31, 2015
    8
    Less is more!
    The game was in discount and seemed to have high scores on the net.
    So knowing nothing about it I just bought it. My first impression staring at a complete blank screen with a little circle in the middle was : wtf is this? After throwing a few paintballs I was hanging back on the couch like : wow! The concept of using this paintballs to get through a beautifull
    Less is more!
    The game was in discount and seemed to have high scores on the net.
    So knowing nothing about it I just bought it.

    My first impression staring at a complete blank screen with a little circle in the middle was : wtf is this?
    After throwing a few paintballs I was hanging back on the couch like : wow!

    The concept of using this paintballs to get through a beautifull minimalistic world is brilliant.
    The story is a short, simple fairy tale for children. More some sort of excuse to keep de game going.
    Not bad, I liked it but certainly not a deep, solid story with good twists and such.
    I did not mind the story much as I was totaly sucked up into the visual experience.

    The gameplay is easy as are the puzzles.
    Everything is quiet obvious, the levels are straight forward and not large.
    Finishing the game takes just a few hours.
    But thats not where the fun ends. My 4 year old son is totaly crazy about this game. Yes it's that easy and fun!
    Expand
  5. Jan 22, 2015
    9
    this game is one of the cheapest games on psn, and its absolutely a must-have with it's unique mechanics (dont read anything about it, finding out by yourself is part of fun here).
    give it a try and enjoy a couple hours of puzzle story
  6. Jul 9, 2017
    9
    This game is unique, beautiful, original, heartwarming. The music is fantastic and well suited. You can finish the story in a single play through, and that is a good thing. The Unfinished Swan is a work of art and a must play.
  7. Oct 13, 2019
    8
    the way this guys create stories is just beautiful. they really try to be creative, the storytelling never dissapoint in touching you. their games may not be the triple A kind, but its actually a lot better than most of the AAA
  8. Oct 11, 2015
    8
    An interesting and unique puzzler which is relatively simplistic and playable by anyone. Its more of an experience than a game and despite its adventure aspects it is extremely linear and offers little to no replay value. However, what it does, it does well. Several gameplay elements which get introduced as you progress, they all work well and are very easy to get to grips with. TheAn interesting and unique puzzler which is relatively simplistic and playable by anyone. Its more of an experience than a game and despite its adventure aspects it is extremely linear and offers little to no replay value. However, what it does, it does well. Several gameplay elements which get introduced as you progress, they all work well and are very easy to get to grips with. The story is akin to a fairy tale and serves to usher the story along. Overall I found it a relaxing game in the same vein as something like Journey. Its actually a little hard to score or define, it is very good, but it's not a 10. I'd give it a 7.5 so I'll round it up. Expand
  9. Jun 23, 2015
    8
    The Unfinished Swan is a perfect game if you want to relax and have fun at the same time. It is pretty easy but good nevertheless. Unfortunately, the game's a little short, but you can replay it anytime.
  10. Mar 22, 2017
    9
    Excellent game, an artistic one for sure. Simple, beautiful and fun. Obviously if you like action games do not buy. I got this game for 2$ on sale and it´s ridiculous considering the quality of it...Don´t hesitate and grab it if you can.
  11. Dec 9, 2015
    9
    Wow is all I have to say about this game. So unique and a ton of fun. I did not want this game to end. The gameplay is fun and reminds me of how a game like Portal handles, but the white slate world you move around in and how you must make the world appear around you is such a cool mechanic. This is one of those lower budget game titles that makes people keep searching out the indie/lowWow is all I have to say about this game. So unique and a ton of fun. I did not want this game to end. The gameplay is fun and reminds me of how a game like Portal handles, but the white slate world you move around in and how you must make the world appear around you is such a cool mechanic. This is one of those lower budget game titles that makes people keep searching out the indie/low budget games for gems like this. The game is an art title with basic game mechanics, so if that's not for you than I would skip this title, but most people will enjoy just discovering what is hidden under the ocean of blank-ness!

    9.2/10
    Expand
  12. Feb 6, 2016
    10
    This game honestly had me in tears at the end. The way the story is developed is fantastic. Although the story is not a immediate interest, as you get toward the end - it adds such a deep layer to this game. The gameplay itself is also very enjoyable. All in all, this is one of my favorite games of all time.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jan 4, 2015
    80
    After two years from the PS3 release, The Unfinished Swan is finally available on PS4 and PSV. And the gameplay is still funny and fresh.
  2. Nov 10, 2014
    85
    Instead of a game, The Unfinished Swan is an experience… which will be enjoyed for most users.
  3. Nov 7, 2014
    80
    It's the kind of failure many developers work their fingers to the bone to achieve.