User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 130 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 130
  2. Negative: 30 out of 130

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    I have thoroughly enjoyed every moment of this - what initially appears to be a jazzier version of Gwent from Witcher 3 reveals itself to be thoughtful and deep strategy/ RPG - a must have for fans of the Witcher books
  2. Oct 16, 2019
    9
    I hope if you read this review, you know that Thronebreaker is not a AAA video game. You can clearly see it from it's price. This game largely concentrates on witcher universe, and the only reasons you should buy this game are: if you love witches universe and want to spend additional 40-50 hour in it, if you like card games, or if you want just support CD Project Red for their work.I hope if you read this review, you know that Thronebreaker is not a AAA video game. You can clearly see it from it's price. This game largely concentrates on witcher universe, and the only reasons you should buy this game are: if you love witches universe and want to spend additional 40-50 hour in it, if you like card games, or if you want just support CD Project Red for their work.
    Since it is not AAA game I will grade it as an some sort of Indi game

    Story- 4/6 the story for witcher fans will seem good enough to get into it, but for all others I think it might seem being too slow.

    Card Element- 3/3 I'm not a huge fan of card games, but I've played some of them few years ago and I can say it is the most interesting one from all that I've played.

    Soul- 1/1 some of you might ask what is soul, I think the ones that played games like Witcher, Skyrim you will know what I'm talking about

    So, I will give it 9/10 as an Indi game, as an AAA game( we all know it is not AAA just looking at 20$ price) I would give it 7/10
    Expand
  3. Jun 6, 2019
    9
    Pros:
    +Epic story and characters
    +Epic music and voice acting +Great battle system with so many potential builds +Choice results are more acceptable than Witcher 3, in which you can end up murdering people reluctantly. +Amazing to see how imperialism's features are pictured, which still apply today, and how Meve stands against it. Truly inspirational! Cons: -Geralt hype: he takes
    Pros:
    +Epic story and characters
    +Epic music and voice acting
    +Great battle system with so many potential builds
    +Choice results are more acceptable than Witcher 3, in which you can end up murdering people reluctantly.
    +Amazing to see how imperialism's features are pictured, which still apply today, and how Meve stands against it. Truly inspirational!
    Cons:
    -Geralt hype: he takes only 15 mins in a 30h+ game, but makes it into main screen where most of the important characters dont even make.
    -Hearing the same storyteller voice in a long game can get boring. They could spice it up with Dandelion, a female voice etc.
    -Frame drops on AI's turn
    Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2019
    9
    Jedna z lepszych gier w jakie grałem w tym roku. Pięknie zrobiona, bardzo fajne urozmaicenie w postaci zagadek do rozwiązania. Trochę kiepsko wyważona, przez co na końcu staje się zbyt łatwa przez przeogromną ilość nazbieranych zasobów.
  5. Nov 6, 2019
    10
    Еще один Шедевр от CDPR, мои аплодисменты. Игра построена классно и свежо, геймплэй по принципу карточной игры в новинку.
  6. Jan 7, 2022
    9
    The game that explain geralt is "from the rivia". Amazing game , CD Red have done a Greta job with this card/interattive game
  7. Dec 7, 2021
    10
    Прекрасная история по вселенной ведьмака, с удовольствием прошёл на платину
  8. Dec 30, 2018
    10
    Updated after patch 1.02

    Game is very cool. I think more games of this genre RPG+Strategy+CCG should come out. Battles in form of CCG are very interesting. And it is more interesting to play CCG in form of the game with the scenario, than CCG alone. And it is cheaper.
  9. Jan 1, 2019
    10
    Кровная вражда — не просто приключенческая карточная игра, это самый настоящий пазл, созданный на основе мира «Ведьмака». Пазл, который отлично смотрится в одном ряду с книгами и другими играми по их мотивам. И собирать его предстоит не один вечер, но итоговая картинка того стоит.Кровная вражда — не просто приключенческая карточная игра, это самый настоящий пазл, созданный на основе мира «Ведьмака». Пазл, который отлично смотрится в одном ряду с книгами и другими играми по их мотивам. И собирать его предстоит не один вечер, но итоговая картинка того стоит.
  10. Dec 8, 2018
    10
    Beautiful game, exciting history, addictive gameplay ... and the wonderful Witcher world. It's worth to come back to the game again
  11. Aug 25, 2020
    9
    Геймплей (очень интересный и затягивающий), сюжет (хороший, т.е не шикарный и неплохой), визуальная составляющая (графика в виде мультяшной рисовки) на хорошем уровне, а также интересные головоломки.
  12. Jul 18, 2020
    10
    It’s a really good game, great characters, great story, and excellent gameplay mechanics. If your a fan of the Witcher play this game and if your a fan of gwent then your gonna love this game.
  13. Aug 8, 2020
    10
    I gotta admit, I bought this game blindly when I saw the Wicher's name on it. I didn't check any review or trailer, I was like "Take my money!" And when I started playing I was utterly disappointed, I kept saying "What is this sh*t?" But I gave it time and found how incredible and unique this game is. The story, dialogs, voice acting, and art in this game are one of a kind. Give this gameI gotta admit, I bought this game blindly when I saw the Wicher's name on it. I didn't check any review or trailer, I was like "Take my money!" And when I started playing I was utterly disappointed, I kept saying "What is this sh*t?" But I gave it time and found how incredible and unique this game is. The story, dialogs, voice acting, and art in this game are one of a kind. Give this game a chance, you will lose yourself in it. Expand
  14. Sep 30, 2020
    8
    Excellent game with excellent voice acting and engaging story. I’m a PS4 trophy hunter and recommend using a guide since there are missable trophies. My rating would have been a “9” but the game glitched/bugged and closed out several times. Overall I highly recommend this title if you enjoy card game based combat, strategy and a rich story.
  15. rvp
    Nov 30, 2020
    10
    I loved the game. I just like the Witcher setting and the storytelling of it! I liked Gwent in Witcher 3 and they transformed it to a great and unique gameplay mechanic. Unfortunately, the game didn't succeed and there probably won't be a second part. I would have loved a new game like that.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 23, 2020
    86
    Gamers everywhere should give the royal treatment to Thronebreaker: The Witcher Tales. It is a stunning display of storytelling that rarely stumbles throughout a 25-hour runtime. While bogged down by the stiff card-playing, the easy mode can turn Thronebreaker into one of the best visual novels around. With 30 endings and an arresting art style, this is one utterly unmissable tale.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jan 27, 2019
    80
    As the backbone of a larger game, though, it's solid, and an interesting alternative to the combat system of most RPGs. [Issue#158, p.91]
  3. Dec 20, 2018
    90
    Thronebreaker: The Witcher Tales is by far the best representation of Gwent that CD Projekt Red has developed so far, and a worthy adventure RPG that deserves your time even if you aren't the biggest fan of card games.