Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Mar 23, 2020
    75
    With Twin Breaker, the team at Lillymo, along with Moriarty and Maldenado, have constructed a wonderful take on a time-honoured genre that has been woefully underserved in recent years.
  2. Mar 27, 2020
    74
    Despite some flaws, Twin Breaker: A Sacred Symbols Adventure is a sincere homage to an underrated sub-genre. It captures what made classics like Arkanoid and Breakout beloved while putting its own special spin on the formula. The result is brick-breaking bliss that I would recommend to most lovers of arcade indies.
  3. Apr 2, 2020
    70
    On the whole I enjoyed Twin Breaker: A Sacred Symbols Adventure. I am not normally a fan of this type of game but the old-school presentation and interesting story made it enjoyable. I am happy I got to play it. Plus you get 2 versions for the price of one, what's not to like.
  4. Mar 23, 2020
    70
    It’s a lot of fun to play, though – and should prove a treat for fans who’ve been following Moriarty since the days of Shatter on the PlayStation 3.
  5. Mar 23, 2020
    70
    Twin Breaker: A Sacred Symbols Adventure sets itself apart from other brick-breakers by not only having a narrative but also by including some unique systems. The multiple paddles add some new elements to the genre to put brick-breaker masters’ skills to the test. Regardless of the challenge, the game has a nice difficulty curve that makes it possible to pick up and enjoy a few levels at a time. Still, Twin Breaker lacks options and some quality-of-life features that could have made the entire experience more enjoyable. There are a few different modes here to keep you playing, but I can see most players just getting through the story and then quickly moving on to something else.
  6. Mar 23, 2020
    65
    The writing during the story and in collectibles is typically great, the boring moments in gameplay are hard to come by (especially during the first playthrough), and it’s a rare well-priced PlayStation Vita release that offers replayability on the go. I doubt Twin Breaker will manage to find much of an audience outside of Sacred Symbols listeners, but I’m glad that the game Sacred Symbols fans are receiving is a solid and unique one.
  7. Mar 23, 2020
    60
    Overcoming its unnecessary and glib narrative, Twin Breaker manages to be a fun, if not terribly original, retro adventure with plenty of content.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 46
  2. Negative: 11 out of 46
  1. Mar 25, 2020
    10
    Great game, really enjoyed it. Fun and challenging game play with tons of game modes to extend the game. Controls are tight and the power upsGreat game, really enjoyed it. Fun and challenging game play with tons of game modes to extend the game. Controls are tight and the power ups make for a fun loop. The second half ups the challenge and adds 2 other paddles and really makes the game different. The plat isn't too crazy and won't be too much for most people. Full Review »
  2. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    The campaign is excellent and the gameplay is challenging and rewarding. There's tons of modes and endless replayability. An absolute steal atThe campaign is excellent and the gameplay is challenging and rewarding. There's tons of modes and endless replayability. An absolute steal at $9.99USD or $13.49CAD Full Review »
  3. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    this is a perfect arcadey game for me to get inmeshed with. very charming and fun.