• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: May 10, 2016
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 113 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Negative: 1 out of 113
Buy On
  1. Dec 1, 2016
    100
    Uncharted 4 is a landmark title that anyone remotely interested in interactive storytelling should invest in. Naughty Dog has once again raised the bar across the industry. Thrilling shootouts, a staggering level of detail, breathtaking visuals and emotional depth come together to make Uncharted 4: A Thief's End a must-play masterpiece.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jun 9, 2016
    100
    Not flawless, but easily the brightest jewel in the PlayStation 4 crown. Deserving of a place in your gaming museum. [July 2016, p66]
  3. May 28, 2016
    100
    I suppose some people are still hung up on the concept of a "perfect score." Of course, it doesn't mean "perfect" because no game is flawless. In this case, I suppose I could cite the ungodly precision of enemies with grenade launchers, or the fact that the camera can go just a tad loopy in certain parts. But I say a perfect score goes to the game that is, upon release, better than all the competition. If nothing on store shelves can compete, if you rack your brains and can't think of a better game to come along in the past year or so, it deserves the maximum score. I also believe in the subjective aspect, in that if the game didn't make an impact on a personal level, the critic shouldn't hand out the 10. I've almost never done it because clearly, my requirements are steep. But here, I can't imagine giving out anything less...Side note: Though, with 36 perfect scores counted so far according to Metacritic (more than 1/3 of all 102 counted reviews), I'm hardly the only one to come to this conclusion.
  4. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    May 23, 2016
    100
    Naughty Dog's victory lap is a celebration of its past, present and future, with clever pacing and thrilling set-pieces surpassing expectations in its most exhilarating Uncharted to date. No PS4 should be without this. [June 2016, p.74]
  5. May 21, 2016
    100
    Uncharted 4 is a masterpiece, albeit a flawed one. Even with its problems, the level that developer Naughty Dog can attain almost puts the rest of the industry to shame.
  6. 100
    Gameplay never ever grows stale in Uncharted 4. From beginning to terrific end, Nathan Drake's final adventure keeps you invested and focused...And when it's all over, the last thing you want it to be is the end of this franchise.
  7. May 17, 2016
    100
    Uncharted 4 is a grand adventure: over the top yet, simultaneously, graciously restrained. It is a reflection on a grandiose life with an overcast of impermanence and a dignified maturity. A Thief's End doesn't settle for telling the final story of Nathan Drake, it also tells the human story of Nathan Drake, serving as a fitting, elegant farewell. "Immersive" is a word that is often used to describe well-executed games, yet never has it been more appropriate than for A Thief's End. Never have I felt more respected as a player, as a fan, than I did during my time with Uncharted 4.
  8. COGconnected
    May 10, 2016
    100
    The conclusion to the series is fitting, harkening back to Naughty Dog’s early days while also giving us a suitable send off to the Drake’s. Fitting, but still an end.
  9. May 10, 2016
    100
    It’s the kind of closure that will make you reminisce about the first time you fired up the debut Uncharted game, but you won’t feel nudged to fire up Drake’s Fortune immediately after completing A Thief’s End.
  10. May 10, 2016
    100
    This is the best Uncharted game to date, and quite possibly one of the best games that will come out this generation.
  11. May 10, 2016
    100
    The beauty of Uncharted 4’s larger and more varied environments is that they lend themselves well to figuring out multiple solutions to tricky enemy engagements, using a combination of stealth and brute force, so there’s that kind of replayability that Naughty Dog is known for. Bumping up the difficulty to Hard or Crushing forces players to mix up their strategy since the enemies are that much more aggressive and deadly.
  12. May 9, 2016
    100
    Having exhausted my repertoire of adjectives for describing this game I’ve decided to keep it simple: Uncharted 4 is the best game in the franchise and – dare I say it – the best game on PS4. Whether you’ve been part of the series since day one or never played any of them before, it matters not – this one is absolutely worth taking the time out to sit down and enjoy.
  13. May 6, 2016
    100
    With our video game reviews we reserve a five-star rating for games that we think everyone should experience, that are so interesting or impressive in certain areas that they transcend any flaws, limitations or genre concerns. Uncharted 4 is certainly in that category. [Official Verdict - 5stars]
  14. May 5, 2016
    100
    It is, without a doubt, Naughty Dog’s finest moment and an experience that surpasses all the Uncharted games that preceded it.
  15. May 5, 2016
    100
    Naughty Dog has crafted a brilliant game that can stand alone as the best game on PlayStation 4. Uncharted was once referred to as a Tomb Raider clone, but it wound up being a Tomb Raider killer. Naughty Dog has elevated the video game industry as Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End is pure brilliance.
  16. May 5, 2016
    100
    Uncharted 4 works excellently as the definitive action-adventure experience and as a deep narrative-driven game. The huge attention to small details combined with the perfect adjustments to a functional gameplay formula results in a product that shows us the thirty-year experience of Naughty Dog, one of the most valuable videogame developers out there today.
  17. May 5, 2016
    100
    Jungle-choked ruins rise crookedly from cliff side foundations like a floating Atlantean paradise. Mist-cloaked mountains frame gobsmacking panoramas that might as well be National Geographic-inspired oil paintings. Foregrounds and backgrounds coalesce in visual pageantry that shouldn’t be possible on 2016-era tech. Nothing you’ve played—on any platform, including PC—approaches what Uncharted 4 looks like.
  18. May 5, 2016
    100
    It’s a game with a bigger world – and a bigger heart – than any other Uncharted, full of love for the games that have come before it and the fans who have been on board since 2009’s Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune introduced us to Nate, Elena, Sully and friends.
  19. May 5, 2016
    100
    This is one of the most fully-realized action campaigns of all time, and it sets a new bar of quality for what’s possible in the genre.
  20. May 5, 2016
    100
    Naughty Dog once again delivers the whole package. Even if the formula is almost 9 years old by now, Uncharted 4 is a superb end to a several-year journey in the best company you can imagine.
  21. May 5, 2016
    100
    Games don't get any better than this. An absolute masterpiece from Naughty Dog and a great conclusion to a great franchise.
  22. May 5, 2016
    100
    Uncharted 4 is indeed A Thief's End, the type of bookend story to which other franchises should aspire. It's an emotional ride through some pretty dangerous places, not the least of which is the mind of a man who realizes he's at a major crossroad in life. Will this be the last time we see Nathan Drake? I don't know for sure, but you know what? I sure hope it is. Godspeed Uncharted, and thanks for all the memories.
  23. May 5, 2016
    100
    Spectacular in terms of narrative, this game features astonishing graphics in order to create one of the best games of the current generation. A true masterpiece.
  24. May 5, 2016
    100
    It takes great strides to outclass its previous entries because it knows there won’t be another chance. From the opening moments to the credits rolling, Uncharted 4 is built from the ground up to close the curtain on the series with its most well-rounded, personal, and fine-tuned entry. With its new and polished mechanics, unrivaled technical prowess, human story, and thrilling action, nothing in Uncharted 4 is less than top tier. In saying goodbye, Uncharted soars to its highest heights, and bids farewell to an icon with a finale befitting of the history that preceded it.
  25. May 5, 2016
    100
    Uncharted 4 is Naughty Dog's greatest masterpiece. A brilliant game, frantic and intense, with the best gameplay mechanics and a good storyline. A new benchmark for Playstation 4 in terms of visuals. Also fun despite a lack of more game modes in multiplayer.
  26. May 5, 2016
    100
    From the tremendous environments to the incredible character work to the globetrotting story, the design of the game is second to none, setting a new bar for interactive experiences. It’s true that Naughty Dog puts a lot more stock into story and character, but even then Uncharted 4 is pure, unadulterated fun.
  27. May 5, 2016
    100
    It's the most appetising game smorgasbord we've ever had the good fortune to sample, with just the right blend of impactful storyline, cinematic cutscenes, explosive set pieces, exploration, discovery, puzzle solving and good old shootouts.
  28. May 5, 2016
    100
    It’s in a class of its own. It’s the most fun I’ve had with a video game since Super Mario World. It’s an absolute treasure that combines action and story in a beautiful concert that I never wanted to end. It’s one of the rare games that years from now I know I will remember exactly where I was when the credits rolled and I said goodbye to Nathan Drake, one of the most prolific video game characters of all time. Bravo Naughty Dog, bravo.
  29. May 5, 2016
    100
    It is rip-roaring stuff. There is no great illusion here; any risk that may have been associated with Nathan Drake’s introduction a decade ago has long gone, swept away in a tide of crowd-pleasing spectacle. But Uncharted 4’s swagger makes it easy to succumb to the ride, its craftmanship, sense of adventure and willingness to open up to its players providing a potent sugar-rush of popcorn gaming pleasure.
  30. May 5, 2016
    100
    The first three chapters of Drake’s tale sought greatness, a spirit not so relevant to A Thief’s End. The feeling of boundless adventure burns brighter than that of a neatly closing door, but though this is not these characters’ highest caliber tale, this is the tale that rings true. Whether you find Uncharted 4’s conclusion the proper one is an endless calculation of spoilers and motives. As for myself, I hope to see more of Uncharted, but if I do not, I will have witnessed an unforgettable end to a legacy.
  31. 100
    In some ways it feels like I’m playing Uncharted for the first time again, living that sense of incredulity and adventure as we join Nathan Drake and his charming half-tuck for one final adventure rooted in love and sacrifice. It’s a bittersweet feeling, but they’ve gone all in to make sure that A Thief’s End is the Uncharted finale that the fans deserve.
  32. May 5, 2016
    100
    Uncharted 4 is a true masterpiece that brilliantly concludes an unforgettable saga. Action is intense, and the story is deep and moving. The final and best chapter in the series.
  33. May 5, 2016
    100
    Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End will be regarded in the same light as Ocarina of Time and Grand Theft Auto III as a game that pushed the industry to new heights we’ve never seen before.
  34. 100
    Uncharted 4 is the ultimate video game adventure, a visual masterpiece, and a heartfelt, triumphant conclusion for a PlayStation icon.
  35. May 5, 2016
    100
    Uncharted 4 is more than masterful, bearing the hallmarks of a true system seller. What struck me most as an ardent fans of the series is how much it breaks away from the original blueprint yet manages to amaze on every level. Where many studios step safely from one sequel and into the next, Naughty Dog has taken a gigantic leap, proving yet again they’re the best in the business.
  36. May 5, 2016
    100
    A fitting end for one of PlayStation's most famous franchises, Uncharted 4: A Thief's End sits alongside The Last of Us at the apex of cinematic action experiences. Naughty Dog's ability to tell engaging tales is unmatched, with Nate's final chapter expertly balancing bombast against genuinely relatable themes. It won't redefine the genre quite like Uncharted 2, but the developer's boundless ambition means that this is a bigger, better, and more beautiful adventure than ever before.
  37. May 5, 2016
    100
    In its writing, in its design, in its understanding of what makes games unique, Uncharted 4 is something to aspire to. It's a shining example. And we'll be talking about it for years to come.
  38. May 5, 2016
    100
    I've loved this series from the beginning, but a new high bar has been set in Uncharted 4. Naughty Dog have created a truly memorable game, and one of the very best of the current generation.
  39. May 5, 2016
    100
    Uncharted 4 : A Thief's End is arguably the game of the year 2016, and probably the best game the PS4 will spawn. With amazing graphics and a strong narrative, which sees a more grown up and mature Nathan Drake, Naughty Dog has crafted another masterpiece.
  40. May 10, 2016
    98
    I can’t say that Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End is Naughty Dog’s best game (that honor goes to The Last of Us, hands down), but it is the best game in the Uncharted series with probably the best and most appropriate and comfortable ending to a series. If you own a PlayStation 4, the game is a must have. If you’re looking to buy a PlayStation 4, this should probably be the first game you get.
  41. May 9, 2016
    98
    It’s emotional, it’s powerful but more importantly, it’s probably going to be the most memorable game of the series with a theme of redemption and forgiveness!
  42. May 5, 2016
    98
    A Thief’s End is not just the best Uncharted ever, but also the verification that Naughty Dog’s kingdom is not of this world. Nathan Drake has earned the ticket to paradise with a game which is as spectacular as a movie.
  43. May 5, 2016
    98
    An epic masterpiece worth saving your gold doubloons for.
  44. May 5, 2016
    98
    Uncharted 4's journey is gorgeous and thrilling. It's full of surprises and callbacks that fans of the series will love. It manages to pay tribute to what came before while offering a satisfying conclusion to Drake's story. If this series truly is done, Uncharted 4 ensures that it's a tale we'll never forget.
  45. May 5, 2016
    97
    The best Indiana Jones game ever made. It looks amazing, the combat is great, it has excellent pacing, the vehicle sections are thrilling and exciting, and it leaves you feeling like you have experienced an awesome adventure. Not many games can say that of themselves.
  46. May 5, 2016
    97
    There are only small flaws for a title that is otherwise incredible, a turning point for videogames in many respects. It's truly an adventure from start to finish, and something that every gamer should experience.
  47. Game World Navigator Magazine
    May 16, 2016
    96
    Does Uncharted 4 have flaws? Sure. From time to time, you notice some animation glitches, and in some episodes developers use artistic license in regards to laws of physics too excessively. But the magic of the game is that it makes you forget these flaws immediately.
  48. May 5, 2016
    96
    Uncharted 4: A Thief's End is the first great gift by Naughty Dog to the PS4 users. But it's also for you, Uncharted fan, who now reads these lines after years following the exciting adventures of the "descendant" of Sir Francis Drake. This generation really begins with Uncharted 4, because this game is what everyone was expecting. It's technically excellent, it's what's really required for this console. The grand finale for one of the best PlayStation franchises.
  49. Uncharted 4: A Thief's End is the best game you can experience in the action/adventure genre with its amazing storytelling, fascinating characters and entertaining gameplay mechanics. Good job Naughty Dog, good job.
  50. May 5, 2016
    96
    Simply the best game of the current generation. Thanks, Naughty Dog.
  51. Pelit (Finland)
    Jun 14, 2016
    95
    The best Uncharted game and a perfect ending to the saga of Nathan Drake. This is what a farewell should feel like. [June 2016]
  52. May 23, 2016
    95
    If you're a fan of action adventures, you owe it to yourself to at least borrow a copy of Uncharted 4 and experience it first-hand. An epic journey like none other, fueled by an atmosphere from action movies of olden times, cheesy at moments, but with more than enough charisma to stay with you long after you complete it.
  53. May 10, 2016
    95
    Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End is the PS4’s best exclusive to date, and one of the best reasons yet to own the console.
  54. May 5, 2016
    95
    I have recently finished all previous episodes of the series and the verdict is in - A Thief's End is the best Uncharted there is. It expertly combines all the things we know and love with some nice, minor improvements and creates the perfect conclusion. It's a game that can be bought without hesitation, it's simply that good.
  55. May 5, 2016
    95
    With its awesome mixture of climbing, shooting, exploring and puzzles, Uncharted 4 is the perfect bow for Nathan Drake’s unforgivable adventures.
  56. 95
    Hands down, Uncharted 4 is the best title ever developed by Naughty Dog, and not just because of the stunning graphics. A wonderful balance between storytelling and gameplay, even better than the previous installments, pushing the boundaries of engagement and sheer fun. There’s no better way to say it: if you own a PlayStation 4, you must play this game.
  57. May 5, 2016
    95
    A Thief End’s is the best Uncharted yet, delivering a story I didn’t want to end, and an adventure that concludes with a hell of a payoff. The “wow” factor of the world exploding under Drake’s feet has diminished in the years following Uncharted 2, but those moments are still effective, and a true showpiece of the developer’s exquisite craftsmanship for world and gameplay design.
  58. May 5, 2016
    95
    Uncharted 4 is one of the best action game ever created. The story doesn't have the same emotional impact of The Last of Us, but it bravely focuses on the characters and their relationships. On the other hand, the tension, the diversity, the pace and the aesthetic value of Nate's last adventure is something we've never experienced before.
  59. May 5, 2016
    95
    Uncharted 4 is one of those rare games where everything has been made out of passion. The narrative is more important now and it won’t be as genre-defining as Uncharted 2, but it’s the biggest and most complete game in the series. If you’re even just slightly interested in video games, you should try Uncharted 4.
  60. May 5, 2016
    95
    Uncharted 4 is Drake's last adventure and absolutely his best one. The game looks fantastic and plays even better. The numerous new features and multiplayer modes bring even more enjoyment. This is a must buy for every PlayStation 4 gamer.
  61. May 5, 2016
    95
    That the interpersonal relationships aren't overshadowed by $400 million in pirate gold, or by hundreds of dead mercenaries, is a testament to the caliber of storytelling.
  62. May 15, 2016
    94
    With Uncharted 4: A Thief's End, Naughty Dog have created their very best game and one of the best titles of this entire generation. If you own a PlayStation 4, you simply need to play it and if you don't, this is certainly a good reason to purchase the console.
  63. May 6, 2016
    94
    Uncharted 4 is an unforgettable adventure and the best chapter in the series. Broader maps and improved gunplay make the game a joy to play. And visually everything is simply stunning.
  64. May 5, 2016
    94
    Uncharted 4 is a worthy and gorgeous end to the legendary Uncharted franchise. It’s a bittersweet goodbye, but Drake’s adventure couldn’t have ended in any better way.
  65. Games Master UK
    Jul 5, 2016
    93
    Whiteknuckle action, captivating characters, and luscious locales - the best Uncharted yet. [June 2016, p.64]
  66. May 5, 2016
    93
    We could not have wished for a better end to the series. Uncharted 4: A Thief's End offers action, humour and gorgeous graphics, combined with new gameplay elements that really feel very natural to the series. There is so much love put into the game, and it pays off: this is an excellent way to end this legendary series.
  67. May 5, 2016
    92
    It's rare that developers actually keep the promises they made at fairs and preview events. A fantastic conclusion to the series. Nathan Drake's biggest and best adventure is a must-have.
  68. May 5, 2016
    91
    Visually Uncharted 4 is a benchmark for this generation. But it is so much more. Within the franchise's constraints the characters show tremendous depth while the action is varied as never before. And while not everything is perfect (too easy puzzles and AI faults come to mind) this is one gorgeous action-adventure.
  69. CD-Action
    Jul 21, 2016
    90
    Stating that the forthcoming game will be the last rendezvous with a popular, charismatic hero is a rare phenomenon. I congratulate Naughty Dog on their courage and in spite of myself keep my fingers crossed for them to stick to their decision. The farewell party they threw for Nate is simply spectacular. This is how I want to remember him, not as an old man who rubbed his joints with pain cream and then found a UFO. Uncharted 4 is a brilliant game and a breathtaking demonstration of what PS4 is capable of. [07/2016, p.56]
  70. Edge Magazine
    May 31, 2016
    90
    This is still a game with a formula, then, but it has never been better, and there are few areas where it could be improved. [July 2016, p.104]
  71. May 19, 2016
    90
    Uncharted 4 is like a book that you literally swallow page by page, but at the same time you are sad to see the diminishing count of unread pages. You don´t want it to end, you know what is coming but nothing can be done. Nathan Drake's adventure ends, but it's probably the best final chapter you could wish for.
  72. May 17, 2016
    90
    If this really is the last we see of the Uncharted series, A Thief's End will have been a remarkable and surprisingly inventive farewell. More so than either sequel before it, Uncharted 4 builds on the formula in unexpected but natural ways, while telling a story that is more mature and thoughtful than previous games, but which still retains the series' beloved blockbuster thrills. The best in the series, and another Naughty Dog classic.
  73. May 13, 2016
    90
    Uncharted 4: A Thief's End is a strong ending to the series. It deviates slightly from the franchise's established themes and ideas in favor of something more down to Earth, but it works.
  74. May 12, 2016
    90
    Overall Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End is simply one of the best games in recent years and is arguably one of the best games of this generation.
  75. May 10, 2016
    90
    On the whole, however, A Thief's End is a more than satisfying finale to the series, a lovingly designed treasure that’s more than worth the rare scuffs and obstacles encountered along the way.
  76. May 9, 2016
    90
    Throughout the twenty-two chapters and a wonderful final level that you won’t want to miss, Nathan Drake’s story is finally complete. Whatever a future developer chooses—Naughty Dog has said this is their last Uncharted—they have mighty big shoes to fill. Muddy, worn out, hilarious shoes.
  77. May 9, 2016
    90
    Most importantly, it adds closure. There’s no cheap set-up for a sneaky sequel, no cliffhanger ending. Just the door fittingly closing on a series of great – if unfortunate - adventures. While I wouldn’t go so far as to call Uncharted 4 the greatest game that’s ever been made, it is indeed a remarkable one, and undoubtedly the best the Uncharted series has to offer.
  78. May 6, 2016
    90
    Where Naughty Dog shines brightest, however, is in its ability to make you feel like you’re discovering your way through what is essentially a linear adventure game. The path is predetermined, the outcome singular, but when you find that one handhold or fling yourself through that one open window, you own it. Uncharted 4’s level design is remarkable, simultaneously holding your hand and letting it go.
  79. May 5, 2016
    90
    Uncharted 4: A Thief's End is a fantastic game. Almost everything is a bit more polished than the earlier games, with better gameplay flow and with more possibilities for approaching situations your own way.
  80. May 5, 2016
    90
    Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End is a true work of art, and the only time the slightest apprehension may surface is when one compares it to the titanic installments that came before.
  81. May 5, 2016
    90
    A Thief's End is an appropriate ending to the Uncharted series. It combines everything that made the previous games so popular with a long, robust and personal adventure with lots of variation.
  82. May 5, 2016
    90
    Ultimately, I was deeply impressed by Uncharted 4, and I absolutely believe it lives up to the high bar of quality the series has set for itself, meaning all the delays were probably worth it. I think it relies entirely too much on the no-longer-innovative climbing mechanic, but there’s simply no denying that this game is a visual masterpiece with likable characters in an interesting and intense story. In short, it’s an Uncharted game, and once again, that can speak for itself.
  83. May 5, 2016
    90
    Uncharted 4 undoubtedly keeps up pace with its predecessors, serving as an excellent ending for the series. A lot of action, incredible adventures, humor, and highest levels of audio and graphics in video games - Uncharted 4 has it all. It's a stellar game.
  84. May 5, 2016
    90
    Uncharted 4: A Thief's End is the most spectacular game you will play this year, the best looking game ever and a worthy end to the adventures of Nathan Drake.
  85. May 5, 2016
    90
    A performance of power. Naughty Dog realizes their profound technical ability, showcases a relationship between gorgeous locales and engaging level design, and executes a progressive yet agile and animated narrative. The viability of Uncharted's action—safe but nimble platforming and brisk cover-based shooting parallel to limitless coincidences and explosions—can feel out of sync with 2016, but A Thief's End is easily the best it has ever been.
  86. 90
    An incredible technical achievement but also one of the most cleverly crafted and most cinematic action games ever made.
  87. May 5, 2016
    90
    What I can say, however, is it is the best representation of the Uncharted series we have seen to date, and you’d be doing yourself a disservice if you didn’t experience it firsthand.
  88. May 5, 2016
    90
    Uncharted 4 finishes off the story of Nathan Drake in style. It's one of the best-looking games on PlayStation 4, the environments are huge, and the action set pieces are great. The pacing falters in the middle due to new vehicle sections, but once Uncharted 4 gets going, it's a great ride.
  89. [Multiplayer is] competent, polished (I experienced a few connection problems but chalked them up to pre-launch network jitters), and reasonably entertaining. But it lacks the depth and long-term appeal of shooters that make online play their bread and butter.
  90. May 5, 2016
    90
    We've had a few years with the PS4 now, and while I've cherished games like 'Until Dawn' and 'Bloodborne,' there has been a void when it came to the question of a must-own exclusive. Uncharted 4: A Thief's End is that game. It's not ahead of its time like its series' forebears, but the elements of story, gameplay, and visuals come together like a masterwork. For me, the final product beats the impressive previews. It's not a revolution, but it is Naughty Dog at the top of their game.
  91. May 5, 2016
    90
    There is nothing cheap about how Naughty Dog has decided to retire this franchise — no door is left open for a crass surprise sequel — and there's nothing ambiguous about its resolution. Every other Uncharted game has, to varying degrees, posed a question — "can a thief be good?" — and summarily moved on without wagering a guess. In finding an answer, Uncharted 4's story soars, and presents a moving, fulfilling finale.
  92. May 5, 2016
    90
    A remarkable achievement in blockbuster storytelling and graphical beauty. Though it’s let down by a lack of imagination and some self-indulgence, especially in a third act that drags on far too long, Uncharted 4 carries on the series’ proud tradition of peerless polish and style, with a great multiplayer component to boot. Most importantly, it’s a gentle sendoff to the rag-tag group of characters we’ve known for nine years.
  93. May 5, 2016
    90
    Naughty Dog has done it again, creating a cinematic marvel that sets the bar for the action genre. There are a couple of off moments throughout the story and the multiplayer, while a decent component, lacks the variety other games deliver, but the thirteen hour single player campaign will blow you away. It’s filled with an intriguing mystery, heart-wrenching emotional scenes, incredibly over the top set pieces, and of course the humor fans have come to love from our plucky (now older) hero and his trusty sidekicks.
  94. 90
    One of the few PS4 exclusives that lives up to the "Greatness Awaits" slogan. There's a special element to games from Naughty Dog that deliver the type of single player experiences that can stand on their own, offering the perfect blend of story telling, visuals, and gameplay -- everything else I just consider a bonus.
  95. May 5, 2016
    90
    This is a masterful piece of storytelling from Naughty Dog, packed full of wonderful and genuine character moments, great performances from the main cast and no small amount of little references for fans of both the series and developer. As a celebration of what Nathan Drake has given us over the last nine years we couldn’t really have asked for too much more.
  96. May 5, 2016
    90
    Uncharted 4: A Thief's End is simply amazing. Naughty Dog has done an incredible job with the last chapter of this epic franchise, creating a deep, emotional and entertaining experience for both the movies and video games addicted. If you have a PlayStation 4, buy this game and live a gorgeous adventure around the world.
  97. 90
    With Uncharted 4: A Thief's End, Naughty Dog has delivered another gorgeous, action-packed and memorable epic. Although it's kept from perfection by some pacing issues and a couple of other minor quibbles, it's a jaw-dropping experience that offers a lot of bang for one's buck. As such, it's something that every PlayStation 4 owner, and self-respecting gamer, should play through at least once.
  98. Jun 24, 2016
    88
    Overall, Uncharted 4 is a good game, but I can't help but be slightly disappointed in it. I wish there were more puzzles in the game, and that the puzzles that are there were more challenging.
  99. May 11, 2016
    88
    The fourth installment is a worthy addition to the series. And yet I'm sorry to say that the gameplay isn't groundbreaking, and it almost seems like Naughty Dog was too cautions and not prepared to take any risks. It frequently feels like the series is relying too much on its own reputation.
  100. 88
    Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End is different from the others. It eschews the supernatural elements of the previous games in favor of a slower-paced, deeply personal story that’s marred by some pacing issues. However, as usual, this entry pushes Sony’s console to the max. Whether or not A Thief’s End usurps Among Thieves’ position as the best in the series is unclear; however, this is Drake’s best tale.
  101. Jun 6, 2016
    85
    The fourth installment of Uncharted is exactly what you were waiting for: awesome action sequences, kick-ass graphics, and, finally, a full point in the story of Nathan Drake.
  102. May 5, 2016
    85
    Sony’s premier action adventure series is showing its age from a creative standpoint, if not a technical one. Recognizable story cues and shock attempts have become bromidic, and there are moments that had me rolling my eyes as Uncharted 4 expected me to be startled by twists anticipated from miles away. As cornball as it can be, however, Uncharted 4 remains a damn classy romp with a sensitive side, and fans are undoubtedly going to adore it.
  103. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jun 20, 2016
    80
    Excellent part four, which maybe repeats most of its previous tricks, but repeats them so well that you will forgive it for doing so. [Issue#254]
  104. May 17, 2016
    80
    It would be easy to dismiss Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End as a jack of all trades and a master of none, and in terms of gameplay, that would be true. Beyond navigating the environments, nothing is truly exemplary and is mostly fine or good. Thankfully, it’s so much more than that with standard bearing presentation, writing, and acting.
  105. May 17, 2016
    80
    Uncharted 4: A Thief's End is visually stunning, and the best we've seen on console. Naughty Dog have produced a fine farewell to one of PlayStation's most beloved characters.
  106. May 10, 2016
    80
    Uncharted 4 offers nothing profound, assured in its own way that it has nothing to prove.
  107. May 5, 2016
    80
    It’s a good conclusion for the series overall. Sure, it’s a little loose at the start, and tonally it tries hard to be so serious and grown up, but once it gets all that out of its system the Uncharted-ness comes through and we get to take Nate for one last spin, ‘Oh Craps’ and all.
  108. May 5, 2016
    80
    As expected, Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End is a spectacular action adventure, with some of the best and most impressive effects in the gaming history. At the same time it’s a little too safe game and we have seen the formula before. Still: the best parts are, as always, jaw-dropping good.
  109. 80
    In terms of giving the fans what they want, I’m certain Naughty Dog has nailed every part of the brief that it was given. Uncharted 4 shows a truly masterful eye for detail and is near perfect in mechanical execution. It’s also presented with cinematic brilliance. My issues with the game are less about it in isolation than it as representative to the broader AAA-blockbuster space. I am increasingly uncomfortable with the superficiality of these games, and the way that they work so hard to hide just how passive you are as a participant.
  110. May 5, 2016
    80
    It's a confident, assured, and rather more intelligent game than it first appears, and a strong end to the series.
  111. May 24, 2016
    75
    If I can sum up my experience and thoughts on the game at all, it’s with the above metaphor. Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End is an enjoyable romp, but it’s essentially an interactive movie with very little player-choice over what any of that interaction is.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. May 5, 2016
    While Uncharted 4 is a beautiful and thrilling way to pass the time, it feels like an insubstantial experience in the end. What will probably be Nathan Drake's final tale feels mostly slick and forgettable, lacking the strong character drama or plotting that can make other cinematic games stick with you long after they're completed. I doubt I'll be spending much time working over the events of Uncharted 4 in my head the way I have for games like Dishonored, Bioshock Infinite, or even Naughty Dog's own The Last of Us. That doesn't matter when you're in the middle of a thrilling firefight, but it becomes apparent quickly once those credits begin to roll.
  2. May 5, 2016
    Uncharted 4 delivers the fan service series loyalists will absolutely eat up. For the rest of us, Naughty Dog treats the player to an adventure that spares no expense...If this is indeed the last Uncharted game, it's a supremely satisfying celebration of the series and an absolute must-play on PlayStation 4.
  3. Oct 19, 2016
    Uncharted 4 may have problems at its edges, but its middle is phenomenal. It is a sufficiently wonderful finale for a studio that has made its own case that its next great step should be somewhere new.
  4. May 5, 2016
    Uncharted 4 lives up to the legacy the series has earned for itself, but it fails to evolve much beyond that. Naughty Dog proved with The Last of Us that satisfying gameplay could capably co-exist with a complex plotline. This is a step back from that.
  5. May 5, 2016
    These issues are easy to overlook in favor of the game’s pleasures: its grasp of narrative, its pacing, its sense of scope, and the charm of its heroes. They squabble and suffer and feel real in a way that makes every jump, dodge, and victory count.
  6. May 5, 2016
    The lighting, the detail, the mocap and animation of the characters, the delivery of the dialogue are all so near-flawless that I forgot I was watching computer people. It just felt like a movie. The transitions between cinematic scenes and gameplay are seamless. The load times are non-existent (unless you jump around from chapter to chapter or reset from a previous point).
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12248 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. May 10, 2016
    10
    Naughty Dog delivers once again! The graphics are amazing, the story is almost on TLOU-level in my opinion and the gameplay got even better.Naughty Dog delivers once again! The graphics are amazing, the story is almost on TLOU-level in my opinion and the gameplay got even better. It is not perfect but no game will ever be so for me its still 10/10. Full Review »
  2. May 10, 2016
    1
    The most surprising thing about this game is how boring it is. What isn't surprising is how bad the multiplayer is (we knew that from theThe most surprising thing about this game is how boring it is. What isn't surprising is how bad the multiplayer is (we knew that from the god-awful betas). But what makes it all worse is how slimy Naughty Dog are being with the paid-content in multiplayer. You can either get lucky and eventually get what you want, or you can pay stupid amounts of money for things that in the past we got for free. It's so stupid. But whining about multiplayer is pointless since it's not fun to play anyway. The real crime here is how utterly bland and boring the story and gameplay are. Save your money and rent it Full Review »
  3. May 10, 2016
    4
    Though this game must be good, I can not take this as industry "standard".
    Graphics and animations are great sure, but story, gameplay, and
    Though this game must be good, I can not take this as industry "standard".
    Graphics and animations are great sure, but story, gameplay, and soundtrack are all generic, boring and does nothing new that we haven't already seen before in the industry.
    Everyone likes to praise Naughty Dog games for being industry defining when it simply isn't true, there are far more innovative titles out there from companies who get no recognition,
    because of mainstream titles like Uncharted stealing the show with it's graphics.
    I think it should be condemned for killing the success of games that come from actual devs with passion and talent who cant make it out in the world because **** generic shooters like this one is the star of the show.

    This is an honest review on my thoughts on the game and what impact it really has.
    Full Review »