Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
Buy On
  1. 90
    All together Utawarerumono is a lengthy game, and while I usually advocate for games to be shorter, in the particular case of this series, I do think the narrative justifies the length and experience that it's looking to share.
  2. May 26, 2020
    84
    Utawarerumono: Prelude to the Fallen isn't a flawless VN/SRPG hybrid, but it is an enjoyable one that starts off a grandiose tale I'm all the more ready to dive further into.
  3. May 22, 2020
    80
    Utawarerumono: Prelude to the Fallen is yet another port of Utawarerumono for Japanese fans, but it's the first time in nearly 20 years that the first chapter of this iconic hybrid visual novel trilogy is playable in English. A unique world and unforgettable characters are at the heart of this game, but they're complemented by gorgeous artwork, addictive battles, and incredible music. It drags in the middle act, but once that final act ends and the credits roll, you'll barely remember the rough edges of this otherwise fantastic experience.
  4. May 22, 2020
    80
    Utawarerumono: Prelude to the Fallen gives western players the missing piece to this almost 20-year-old story. The updated visuals and balance of narrative and battles creates an experience that's more approachable to new fans, but still true to the series.
  5. May 22, 2020
    71
    Prelude to the Fallen is a solid introduction to the Utawarerumono universe so if simple SRPG battles and visual novels appeal to you then this is one game that you'll definitely want to play.
  6. May 28, 2020
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. May 25, 2020
    70
    Between a visual novel and a strategic game, Utawarerumono: prelude to the Fallen crosses the boundaries of the oriental market to capture the hearts of western players with a well packed game.
  8. 70
    If someone is a visual novel fan, then Utawarerumono: Prelude to the Fallen’s story will definitely be reason enough to devour this feast. If someone is considering it because they enjoy strategic RPGs and are hoping for something challenging and new, they’ll likely find themselves disappointed. I would say the saga is strong enough that it makes enduring an occasional, brief battle every once in a while, but people who feel like they need more would be justified in not helping Hakuowlo pick up the pieces.
  9. May 22, 2020
    70
    Utawarerumono: Prelude to the Fallen is an ideal opportunity to get into the series and learn what it’s all about. It won’t be for all; those unable to deal with the slow pace of visual novels will get unstuck in the many events that try and build relationships at the expense of driving the plot, something that is almost omnipresent throughout both this game and the Mask duology. However, for those who enjoy winding down with a deep story and some enjoyable tactical combat, the game provides that in spades.
  10. May 22, 2020
    70
    It's certainly not the deepest Tactical RPG that I've played, nor the absolute best Visual Novel that I've read, but Utawarerumono: Prelude to the Fallen brings more than enough to the table to be worthy of your time. It may have taken entirely too long for the entire series to make its way over, but I'm glad that it has - and that more and more players will have the chance to start it. Utawarerumono is a great, charming series, and one that is more than deserving of a closer look. This remake might not stand the test of time quite as much as its sequels, but don't let that stop you from getting into the series - it's one that I can't recommend enough.
  11. May 22, 2020
    63
    Utawarerumono: Prelude to the Fallen is graced by a compelling plot, but everything else is quite forgettable in this by-the-numbers visual novel.
User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 4 out of 6
  1. May 26, 2020
    10
    Really enjoying it great story characters music. Artwork looks great and plenty of funny moments. Great game can't wait to finish it.
  2. May 26, 2020
    0
    The game is really bad, whoever bought this game is someone I feel extremely bad for