Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. 90
    I loved my time with VA-11 Hall-A: Cyberpunk Bartender Action. It’s one of the best visual novels I have played in years and one of the best stories in games this decade. It’s a funny, tragic, stunning adventure unlike anything I’ve played recently.
  2. May 1, 2019
    90
    Despite having a story that is filled with cybernetically enhanced people trying to cope with their dystopian life that is blurred more than ever due to lifelike artificial intelligence, VA-11 Hall-A is remarkably human in its nature.
  3. 90
    Va-11 Hall-A is one of those games that comes out of nowhere and blindsides you with what it has to say. It beats the hearts and minds of the creators in special ways all while delivering a wonderful stylized world through its unique list of characters. Despite its few shortcomings and hefty reading, Va-11 Hall-A offers up something all its own rarely found in this industry.
  4. May 29, 2019
    85
    Overall, VA-11 Hall-A is a unique experience that borrows some design elements from games in the past, such as Carmen Sandiego, that features solving problems through natural dialogue with ambiguous clues. The additional narrative to it is captivating at times, though some dialogue can get way too long in the tooth. The additional money-making motivation and customization options help to sell the experience a little further beyond its initial design.
  5. 80
    While it’s not the most immediate of games and probably won’t appeal to those who want constant stimulation and action, VA-11 HALL-A has a tonne of heart that cannot be denied and a lot more depth than you may initially realise, all backed by razor-sharp writing.
  6. May 3, 2019
    80
    A charming visual novel about tending a cyberpunk bar, VA-11 HALL-A is a genuinely fantastic title. A focused, neon-drenched art direction, paired with incredible music and razor-sharp writing, the game is great if you’re new to, or curious about, visual novels. The writing’s deft handling of darker or more taboo subjects makes for a compelling title with a varied cast of characters that each bring something unique.
  7. May 1, 2019
    80
    VA-11 Hall-A’s fresh take on the visual novel genre makes the jump to consoles with relative ease. Those that don’t mind the occasional bit of salty language will find a cyberpunk adventure that will captivate you to the very end.
  8. May 15, 2021
    65
    To prepare an excellent Visual Novel cocktail, we particularly need a very good writing quality, varied narrative paths and the ability to transport ourselves to a world with a unique atmosphere. On these points VA-11 Hall-A is very convincing. But where the recipe turns sour, it is in the inability of the game to renew its gameplay and its sequences.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 41
  2. Negative: 10 out of 41
  1. Jul 5, 2019
    10
    Great fun, good narrative. The world-building is fantastic and after it finished I wanted to see more of the world. If you're a fan of theGreat fun, good narrative. The world-building is fantastic and after it finished I wanted to see more of the world. If you're a fan of the Cyberpunk genre, you will have a blast. Full Review »
  2. May 14, 2019
    8
    People needs to understand that this is mainly a Visual Novel, which means 95% of the game is based on reading dialogues. From time to timePeople needs to understand that this is mainly a Visual Novel, which means 95% of the game is based on reading dialogues. From time to time there will be a mini-game where you need to make cocktails for your customers (as you play as a bartender), but that's it. If you don't want to read, this game is not for you!

    Otherwise the story is really nice and full of interesting characters. Dialogues can be very crude sometimes and there is a dark cyberpunk atmosphere. The graphics are in 2D retro style and looks like an old-school Amiga 500 game, you can even activate a scanlines filter if you like. Music is good and you will have to manage the jukebox by selecting 12 tracks from a list.

    I really enjoy playing it before i go to bed as it's kind of relaxing. The only negative point is that you can't save whenever you want, but only when you go home after work or when you have a break, which means that sometimes you will have to play for about 20 minutes before being able to save. But once you know it, it's not that annoying actually.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 12, 2019
    3
    Allright, so this is NOT a game, more like a visual novel. Fine, I can try new things. I have been warned.

    However, whoever wrote this game
    Allright, so this is NOT a game, more like a visual novel. Fine, I can try new things. I have been warned.

    However, whoever wrote this game has never been in a bar in their whole life. Dialogue is cringy and unrealistic. Characters try to use fancy words, but it falls flat. Conversations last forever with a client at a time. Does the bartender has nothing to do all day? There are never ever more than two clients at a time? Fine, its a slow night, every night. Sure. It would have been more realistic if sometimes the game juggled with 2-3 clients.

    Asked for refund. Got some potential, but was not convinced.
    Full Review »