Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 29 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 29
  2. Negative: 16 out of 29
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Nov 13, 2019
    65
    This year's chapter has failed to be placed as the best installment of the saga. It meets what we can expect from wrestling matches, but simply said, it complies. Too much emphasis on the show and little emphasis on gameplay and bug fixes.
  2. Oct 29, 2019
    65
    The debut of Visual Concepts alone with WWE 2K20 has not gone as well as we expected, with a very continuous title regarding modes and content, and with many flaws at the graphic level. But if you are a fan, you' ll find a game with a lot of content and many hours of fun.
  3. Oct 28, 2019
    65
    Lots of content, but unable to hide his problems and the absence of new features in the gameplay. The franchise needs a deep change.
  4. Oct 29, 2019
    64
    The game is flat-out broken right now and unlike Matt Hardy, I don’t think the lake of reincarnation can help it. It needs some time to be fixed up and lots of it. Fortunately, 2K through their WWEGames Twitter account maintains that patches are coming in the next few weeks – so if those come out and fix things up, grab the game then. Until then, you can safely skip 2K20 and it’s a shame because conceptually, it’s got a lot of improvements – but the final product just doesn’t live up to its potential.
  5. Jan 23, 2020
    60
    Even though at this point many of the tragic problems the game had at its release have been addressed, WWE 2K20 is a shadow of the former games of the series, and only capable of delivering some fun only to the most avid fans of the franchise.
  6. Nov 13, 2019
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Oct 28, 2019
    56
    Ugly, unplayable, and filled with glitches, not even the biggest wrestling fan should pick up WWE 2K20 in its current state.
  8. Oct 28, 2019
    53
    In the current state of affairs, WWE 2K20 is in fact a faded copy of its predecessor.
  9. Oct 21, 2019
    53
    It feels as if this was a rebuilding year for the WWE 2K franchise. While a few of the legacy strengths such as the creation suite are still strong, the most important part, the gameplay is in a bad place. The previous years’ version of a game shouldn’t play significantly better than the new title, but that’s the case with WWE 2K20.
  10. Nov 8, 2019
    50
    A good project, released maybe too early to be really enjoyable. A lot of bugs distract the player from the main goal, witch is to try and innovate the WWE franchise. The hopes are all in future patches to bring the game to its full potential.
  11. Nov 3, 2019
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.
  12. Oct 27, 2019
    50
    WWE 2K20 has good ideas and a lot of content… but it’s basically broken. When things work, you have fun with it, but bugs show up way too often. If a patch can fix this mess, then it might be worth your time.
  13. Oct 24, 2019
    50
    Some fun can be had playing with WWE’s toys, but the cost of entry seems steeper than ever this year.
  14. CD-Action
    Nov 25, 2019
    45
    After the pretty good 2K19 edition the series was supposedly back on its tracks. There’s nothing furthest from the truth, however. Never before has it been as bad, as it is in WWE 2K20, and everything that was built in 2K19, now has been somehow lost. [13/2019, p.84]
  15. Nov 13, 2019
    45
    WWE 2K20 is flat out worst entry in the series, period. The game is obviously unfinished and is full of bugs and glitches, and there is almost no way that even the die hard fans of WWE can enjoy it. WWE 2K series seems to be done for this generation, and we can only hope that the new developers will have something to offer on next generation of consoles.
  16. Nov 4, 2019
    45
    I will be very interested to look at WWE 2K20 a year from now, after some massive updates, and featuring all modes. It’ll probably have the same ugly graphics, but let’s hope that this is a wake-up call to 2K games that they need to release a polished product. Some of us still like having our games on disc when we buy them.
  17. Nov 22, 2019
    42
    Overall I had fun with it as your characters get leveled up and check off career highlights, but this doesn’t make up for things. Continuing with the trend of women in each mode, they also added Mixed Tag matches, which has taken way too long to show up in the franchise. Again a nice addition, but not game changing. That’s pretty much it; some new wrestlers and arenas, but mostly same old WWE 2K, except worse character models.
  18. 40
    WWE 2K20 has its issues, and maybe they could have been overlooked if all the game modes worked. Sadly, that is not the case, and it feels like a broken game from the get-go.
  19. Oct 28, 2019
    40
    WWE 2K20 can’t be recommended in its current state and something like this should have never been released. There are less than a handful of bright spots and if they had just launched with 2K Originals and more importantly The Fiend, the most over WWE Superstar right now, it would have helped. What you get is a buggy experience and one glaring issue hampering an enjoyable experience in each of its different modes. MyCareer would be worth progressing through if you can stomach the awful loading times and Showcase would be great if the gameplay didn’t hinder actual advancement through the mode. In the end, it’s still a WWE game and Visual Concepts is promising patches.
  20. Nov 14, 2019
    35
    WWE 2K20 is littered with bugs, glitches, graphical errors and performance issues. 2K should truly be ashamed of themselves; releasing a game in this abysmal state is simply not acceptable.
  21. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Dec 17, 2019
    30
    Patches may rescue this to some degree. For now, it’s an unfinished game which should remain unpurchased by your wallet. [Issue#170, p.86]
  22. Dec 2, 2019
    30
    With the news that WWE games will take a new route regarding the development of their games, we were all skeptical about the future result. Sadly, with the game out now, it is much worse.
  23. 30
    Between the game breaking bugs, the glitches, the recycled moves, grating commentary, stale presentation and now the unneeded content barriers and paywalls, I have exhausted my patience with this series. WWE 2K20 is the worst wrestling game to come along in a decade and is in desperate need of a ground up rebuild.
  24. Nov 1, 2019
    30
    Perhaps as much as anything else, we feel angry at WWE 2K20 for robbing us of precious time as we circle the swirling vortex of death. It’s completely bewildering that a game of this magnitude has been released in such a state, and whether you want to pin the blame on outgoing developers, poor management, or a rushed development cycle, there is absolutely no denying that this title needed more time in the oven. We initially wondered why 2K weren’t that keen to send us their latest WWE title, but after playing one of the highest profile flops of 2019, we’re starting to understand why.
  25. Oct 29, 2019
    30
    It plays miserably and functions just as well.
  26. Oct 27, 2019
    30
    After several patches and months of waiting this may, possibly, become a halfway decent wresting game, but at launch this is the gaming equivalent of Doink the Clown.
  27. Oct 25, 2019
    30
    WWE 2K20 is a slap in the face. I’m sure plenty of passionate people worked on this game, but the fact that 2K Games was willing to release it in such a sorry state shows they believe WWE hardcores will blindly gobble up whatever they shovel at them. WWE 2K20 is ugly, broken, uninspired junk, written and presented with contempt for pro wrestling and its fans. I know buying the annual WWE game is a tradition for a lot of people, but I strongly urge you to reconsider this year. If 2K and Visual Concepts can’t do better than this, it may be time to hang up their boots.
  28. Oct 24, 2019
    30
    This flawed game was released just for the sake of being released. You can still have some fun, though, by observing its bizarre glitches.
  29. Oct 29, 2019
    20
    WWE 2K's annual release schedule has felt superfluous for a number of years now. This has never been more apparent than with WWE 2K20, a game that's not only riddled with frequent technical issues, but one that's notably worse than its predecessor in almost every area--whether it's the dull and unenjoyable combat, the fact half the roster look like terrifying goblin facsimiles of themselves, or MyCareer's obnoxious and tedious story. This is the moment the WWE 2K series hit Rock Bottom.
User Score
1.6

Overwhelming dislike- based on 311 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 311
  1. Oct 24, 2019
    0
    I'm not surprised this game is a mess - Yukes left and they scrambled to try and get whatever they could together in order to release a gameI'm not surprised this game is a mess - Yukes left and they scrambled to try and get whatever they could together in order to release a game and it really shows. People are talking about them patching it but I don't think they'll get anywhere near a 5/10 within a year when you consider they'll be switching their focus to 2k21 in the not too distant future. Full Review »
  2. Oct 22, 2019
    0
    The game is literally unplayable. Tons of glitches, all modes have issues.
    It's just not fun, it's a Shame,but this is The first time i hate a
    The game is literally unplayable. Tons of glitches, all modes have issues.
    It's just not fun, it's a Shame,but this is The first time i hate a WWE game
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 22, 2019
    0
    This game is a huge step backwards. I love wrestling and wrestling games. This is as bad as WCW Nitro on PS1