Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Sep 8, 2015
    95
    Its retro inspired aesthetic and difficulty make it a blast for anyone who grew up playing Metroid, and its straight-up fun factor make it a great time for anyone else.
  2. Oct 1, 2015
    90
    There are some genuinely cool skills given and the later one I wish could have been used a little more before finishing the game. I’d rather not spoil any of them, because one of the early skills is truly cool and really helps give this game a single unique aspect. Instead of hearing me describe them, go take a few hours and collect them, you’ll love the run ( and may think about playing through it again right after).
  3. 90
    Renegade Kid took to Xeodrifter with the retro scene in heart, and the end result reflects that. The charm of exploring each planet far outweigh that it’s all over a little too quickly.
  4. Oct 11, 2015
    88
    Retro 8-bit platforming at its best.
  5. Nov 27, 2015
    80
    Renegade Kid’s throwback to yesteryear in both style and gameplay make for a rather difficult, but ultimately rewarding game that perfectly captures the tone of pulp sci-fi.
  6. Aug 27, 2015
    80
    Anyone who enjoys Metroidvania gameplay will enjoy this; even if its repetitious boss battles stand out as a glaring weakness, the core game is a blast to play and surprisingly diverse as well.
  7. Sep 25, 2015
    75
    While Xeodrifter could've benefitted from more levels and a bit more boss diversity (are these guys related?), it's still an enjoyable Metroid clone that fans of the genre will certainly want to venture through. Here's hoping that, if we get a sequel, it's bigger and better.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 66
  2. Negative: 23 out of 66
  1. Sep 2, 2015
    1
    I like indies. I do not have any problem with indies. In fact, I want to encourage indie game developers by buying their games. Indie gamesI like indies. I do not have any problem with indies. In fact, I want to encourage indie game developers by buying their games. Indie games are a huge opportunity to give a chance to fresh ideas without the support of mainstream game developer companies that controls financial power in gaming industry.

    But here is the point. Personally, I request FRESH-NEW- ORIGINAL ideas from indie game developers. and I think it is my right to demand it. With getting an indie game, I am voluntarily ready to see 25 years old pixel graphics, listen retro soundtracks or **** effects. The only thing I requested is an original game-play that has some kind of creativity. That's all !!!

    I am tired of mainstream game developers because of copy paste FPS games with shallow scenarios and shiny graphics. Now indie game producers are doing the SAME THING. At the moment 2D INDIE!!!! SHOOTER-PLATFORMER producers do not have any original idea but just copying same game-play over and over again with different environments. XEODRIFTER is a perfect example of these inflated copy-paste indie platformers that you can find in Playstore. I love indies but sorry, I am waiting more than METROID copies from indie producers, otherwise what is the point of producing indie games? If they will develop games with mainstream studios mentality, what is indie (independent) about these games? Sorry, I am taking this, even for free.

    PS: I am 32 years old and did not see that much similar platformers even in 90s.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 3, 2015
    4
    A 2d platformer/shooter that is so old school you can’t even fire at angles Xeodrifter isn't completely unplayable but it does absolutelyA 2d platformer/shooter that is so old school you can’t even fire at angles Xeodrifter isn't completely unplayable but it does absolutely nothing that hasn't been done (better) thousands of times in games dating all the way back to the late 80’s. I don’t expect these indie titles to have all the bells and whistles of bigger budget games but if they’re not even going to try to do something a little different they’re kind of pointless. Full Review »
  3. Sep 2, 2015
    7
    At first sight, Xeodrifter seemed pretty lame. But here's the deal, with it's pixel-art style that clearly remind a minimalist metroid andAt first sight, Xeodrifter seemed pretty lame. But here's the deal, with it's pixel-art style that clearly remind a minimalist metroid and some well inspired mechanics, the game is a really good surprise. In fact, the game look like metroid in the way you play it too. You chose one of the four planet to start your journey and you explore. And BAM! your first boss, then an upgrade. And a secret path. And you're stuck in the game and don't want to quit it.
    The power ups are well designed (like the one that allow you to go on the background) and you'll find a little custom option for your weapon.
    The only two bad points are that the boss are too similar and you cant save outside your ship, making the beginning a little hard.

    Not to mention that the game is free for now on PS+.
    Full Review »