• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Apr 17, 2018
Yakuza 6: The Song of Life Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 91 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 328 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Yakuza 6, Kazuma Kiryu will find out exactly how much people are willing to sacrifice for family -- be those ties through blood or bond -- when he investigates a series of shadowy events that involve the ones he holds closest to his heart. Fresh out of a three-year prison sentence, anIn Yakuza 6, Kazuma Kiryu will find out exactly how much people are willing to sacrifice for family -- be those ties through blood or bond -- when he investigates a series of shadowy events that involve the ones he holds closest to his heart. Fresh out of a three-year prison sentence, an older and weathered Kiryu comes to find out that his surrogate daughter, Haruka, has gone missing from the orphanage he looks after. The trail leads him to his old stomping grounds in Kamurocho, where he discovers that she has been struck by a car and now lies in a coma. To make matters worse, Kiryu learns that Haruka now has a son that he must look after. With baby in hand, Kiryu journeys to the seaside town of Onomichi, Hiroshima to unravel the truth about Haruka, her son, and a sinister secret that the Hiroshima yakuza are harbouring.

    From the unparalleled realism of the new setting of Onomichi, a beautiful, sleepy port town in Hiroshima Prefecture, to the latest evolution of Kamurocho, the biggest red-light district in Tokyo, Yakuza 6 is the ultimate iteration the game's blend of gritty crime story, hyper-explosive combat, and all the vices and distractions those locales have to offer.
    Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Yakuza 6: The Song Of Life - Clan Creator Minigame Gameplay Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 91
  2. Negative: 0 out of 91
  1. Mar 15, 2018
    100
    Yakuza 6 offers one of the finest, most realized crime stories of the medium. It also marks the conclusion of Kiryu Kazuma’s story, granting him an ending befitting such a well-rounded character. And the best part is that you don’t have to be a Yakuza expert to appreciate how it all ends.
  2. Mar 15, 2018
    90
    Yakuza 6: The Song of Life tells a truly gripping tale – a story that blows most games out of the water. Combine that with a refined combat system and a new engine capable of making the game's world feel more alive than ever, and you've got a stellar Yakuza title. Although the experience does feel a little stunted in places outside of the main plot, this is still a fitting final chapter. Yakuza 6 is a gloriously dramatic send off for one of the greatest characters in modern gaming.
  3. Apr 23, 2018
    90
    After 13 years SEGA brings us the final chapter of the Yakuza series. Albeit it doesn't offer many new things than change drastically its established formula and its world maps and activities feel a little bit reduced when compared to the previous entries, Yakuza 6 is an awesome game with fantastic visuals and a great and deep narrative that concludes the story of Kazuma Kiryu in a terrific way.
  4. Mar 15, 2018
    85
    Yakuza 6 succeeds because its core story is so compelling. Every seemingly disconnected part serves a purpose: Without fights, it’d just be a movie; without cutscenes, it’d just be a series of contextless fights; without exploration, it’d be an on-rails punching simulator. All of those unexpected pieces and the (oh-so-long) cutscenes interact to make an equal parts story- and punching-driven game that is heart-wrenching. This is so much more than that game about a crime guy that I had expected.
  5. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Apr 3, 2018
    80
    A fitting end for the tale of Kazuma Kiryu. With so much to see and do on top of an engrossing crime drama, it's well worth the trip. [Apr 2018, p.77]
  6. Mar 15, 2018
    80
    The Dragon Engine is certainly a welcome upgrade, creating a gorgeous Karumocho and Onomichi. But this visual change does not come without sacrifices, which can be seen in the other aspects of the game, equally or more important: combat, exploration and secondary content.
  7. Mar 15, 2018
    60
    Yakuza 6‘s thematic consistency is impressive, though the game scarcely gives women the space to be more than props or damsels or to speak up when they’re shamed for having lives outside the constraints of possessive men. The game wants to be about parents in general, but in a series steeped in the kind of male bravado where expensive suits are cast off in one swift motion to reveal extravagant back tattoos, it’s mostly just about fathers.

See all 97 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 53
  2. Negative: 1 out of 53
  1. May 26, 2018
    10
    I'm a huge fan of the Yakuza franchise and I love the love Sega is giving their western fans by releasing game after game in the franchise. 6I'm a huge fan of the Yakuza franchise and I love the love Sega is giving their western fans by releasing game after game in the franchise. 6 is the chronologically last installment in the Kazuma Kiryu saga and what a goodbye our favorite ex-yakuza human bulldozer gets. I loved every second of it and the series never looked or played better with the new dragon engine. Fights are now properly realtime, you can run away from them, vault over obstacles and even move the battle to convenience stores. Plus you have all the wacky minigames and sidemission (now fully voiced, which I initially was sceptical about but turned out to be golden move as you now get fully invested in NPCs personal stories). It's a shame the game was delayed and had to compete with GoW, which completely overshadowed it, even though it's totally worth every penny. I managed to complete it before GoW, because ones the story gets going you just can't put it down even while my copy of GoW was burning a hole in my table waiting to be played. Expand
  2. May 4, 2018
    10
    I've been waiting for this game since it was released on December 8, 2016 in Japan. After more than a year and a half, Yakuza 6 was finallyI've been waiting for this game since it was released on December 8, 2016 in Japan. After more than a year and a half, Yakuza 6 was finally released in Europe.

    Yakuza 6 is great! I like everything in this game! With the new Dragon Engine, Kamurocho looks the best so far. Now Kamurocho is really more realistic, actually, it looks like you're in real Kabukicho (part of Tokyo on which Kamurocho is based). Battle system is excellent. The fighting is similar to the first five Yakuza games (1-5), no more fighting styles like in Yakuza Zero and Kiwami. I play Yakuza games since 2006, so I prefer the battle system from Yakuza 1-5 and I'm glad they continued with a similar system in Yakuza 6. There are many interesting things you can do in Kamurocho and Onomichi. I always enjoyed in all the minigames that appeared in Yakuza games. I could spend hours just having fun with the minigames in Yakuza games and that's one of the reasons why I like this franchise. Also the story of this game is very good and interesting. Unfortunately this is the last chapter of my favorite character in video games. I enjoyed playing all seven stories (Yakuza Zero, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6) of Kazuma Kiryu, and Yakuza 6 gives an excellent conclusion to his story. Of course Yakuza games does not end up with Kazuma Kiryu: SEGA has already announced a new game in series (Shin Ryū ga Gotoku) with a new main character, but at the moment I'm most interested in spin-off Hokuto ga Gotoku (based on the series Fist of the North Star) that will be released before the new Yakuza game.

    Also I want to add: I hope SEGA will make a remake of Yakuza 3, 4 and 5 for PS4 after Kiwami 2. I would like to have the entire Yakuza collection of games on PS4.
    Expand
  3. Apr 22, 2018
    10
    More like 9.5 than 10.

    Yakuza 6: The Song of Life is the last game in the Yakuza series, but not the last in terms of quality; far from it.
    More like 9.5 than 10.

    Yakuza 6: The Song of Life is the last game in the Yakuza series, but not the last in terms of quality; far from it. My knowledge of this series already comes from Yakuza 4, which came out in PS Plus in February 2015 and from there I was completely addicted and aware of the upcoming Yakuza that were to come at that time, namely Yakuza 5, Yakuza 0 and Yakuza Kiwami. As in previous games, Yakuza 6 is an action-adventure game that mixes brawler style combat with RPG elements. And again we have the protagonist, the 4th Chairman, that is, Kazuma Kiryu.

    When I returned to Kamurocho, I soon noticed that it was visually amazing and the same goes for the city Onomichi, who is also present in the game. Now we will not have loadings of 1 second, each time we enter or leave a restaurant for example. Whenever we come into conflict with some ruffians on the streets, the city itself "becomes a battle arena" (and still we can escape successfully), unlike the previous ones where we were limited to a small place. Yes, we can also take and fight the ruffians in places like Poppos or on Smile Burger. The spectacle of all this is to see smashed glasses, objects flying and as result, the employee expels us and the site is temporarily closed for repairs. It's these little details that make me delight in this Yakuza 6: The Song of Life.

    But you may be wondering, what has really changed in the gameplay over Yakuza 0 and Yakuza Kiwami? A lot of things. The Brawler and Rush styles were eliminated, with only Beast (when we entered Extreme Heat Mode) and Dragon remaining and still have their differences. In Beast we don't have those slow movements anymore and in Dragon, the moveset is different from the previous Yakuzas. Each time we win a battle or eat something, we are rewarded with experience points for 5 abilities: Strength, Agility, Spirit, Technique and Charm, which can be used to increase Kiryu's stats (Health, Attack, Defense, Evasion, Heat Gauge) and to buy Battle Skills, Heat Actions and other skills.

    What I really have to say about the gameplay of Yakuza 6: The Song of Life is that I feel the character's moves and the blows are smooth, frantic, and full of strength. It is true that at the beginning we are taking a lot of kicks when we are facing many ruffians, triads or yakuzas, but it is because we are limited to a one quickstep (there are double and triple) and the fact that we don't have the quickstep cancel. It's always rewarding to see our enemies taking with a Heat Action, some of theme are hilarious. An example of this is the Essence of Electromagnetic Torture, which consists to shoot the enemy at the microwave and asking the employee to "warm" the head of our enemy. Another example, the Essence of Knock Out Punch, allows us to see (through a 1 second Slow Motion) our enemy spitting blood whenever we punch him in the chin. In comparison to the previous ones, we don't have some old Heat Actions, but we have many new ones.

    In this Yakuza 6: The Song of Life we have something new called Clan Creator. Let's say it's a kind of Fighting Manager, in which we have a hierarchy (Chairman> Captain> Lieutenant> Soldier) to organize, take them to the missions and fight against other clans. Correct, if we want a soldier for our clan, sometimes we will have to search in the streets of Onomichi and defeat this person in a fight. They all have different moves, weapons, punches and some characters have special moves. And yes, we can also take our team to the online battles.

    As always, this Yakuza 6 also features the usual Yoshida Batting Center, Hostess Clubs, Substories and Mahjong, but new things have also been added, such as hunting fish, octopuses and sharks in the waters of Onomichi, a site called RIZAP Kamurocho to exercise our muscles and improve our character's physique, and we even have to rescue lost cats, which we then send to the Nyan Nyan Café. In addition, there are also Vending Machines, which help to temporarily increase our stats and the missions or the help requests to rescue someone who is having trouble with ruffians, for example. And, of course, the Sega Club is also present in this Yakuza 6: The Song of Life, and we have games like Virtual Fighter 5: Final Showdown and even classics such as Out Run, Puyo Puyo, Super Hang-On, Fantasy Zone and Space Harrier.

    Despite all of this, i miss the mini-games like Bowling, Pool, gambling and fights in the Purgatory Coliseum. Fights against bosses are challenging, with a phenomenal soundtrack and feature breathtaking scenes. SEGA has done a almost perfect work by keeping the style that made this series unique, but at the same time make some changes so that the game and series stay fresh. Yakuza 6: The Song of Life is not only one of the best entries in the series, but also one of the best experience of 2018 so far.
    Expand
  4. Feb 27, 2019
    9
    General:
    This is my first experience playing a Yakuza game, as it was available in my library. I was reluctant to start with such a late
    General:
    This is my first experience playing a Yakuza game, as it was available in my library. I was reluctant to start with such a late installment, but the story was self-contained so I was able to smoothly sail in however some things were unknown to me and others I could just guess at.

    Things I've liked:
    Going into the game, I've found a world map that made up for size with content, gameplay that looks more fun to play than it looks, combat with a easy to understand amount of depth, and most of all, a story with a fantastic hook and that will keep you glued to your seat. Speaking of this game's graphics, it's not fantastic but it's pretty damn good, I once heard that it is as good as it has to be. My only disappointment is that I got attached to a main character in his last installment.

    Flaws:
    The only flaws that I could have seen is a bit plot-related where at one point, a big revelation occurs and it made me raise a eyebrow like "what?" but I've been quick to accept it because this game's treatment of plot is brilliant. Also there is this one mini-game the game forces upon you regarding a baby that I wasn't too excited about since it kept on interrupting but it happens only one time really.

    To be overall, I was surprised to find the amount of heart put into this game. I've been hearing all but praise for the Yakuza series and I am convinced, this game kept me glued to my seat and is a example of pure gaming fun.
    Expand
  5. Apr 21, 2018
    8
    I love Yakuza series.

    But Yakuza 6 disappoint in terms of content. The story is nice, the new engine brings new cool stuff, but compared
    I love Yakuza series.

    But Yakuza 6 disappoint in terms of content.

    The story is nice, the new engine brings new cool stuff, but compared to the fantastic Yakuza 0, this conclusion of Kiryu Kazuma's journey feels unfinished.

    A bunch of mini-games have simply disappeared. No more snooker, bowling, dancing, casino (black jack, roulette, poker), UFO catcher, bonnet game, cards, etc...

    Same thing with the trophies. The platinum is much more easy to get and you don't need to do everything at 100%, at all.

    Yakuza 6 is still a pretty good game with some cool new features, but not the best entry, be warned.
    Expand
  6. Jun 14, 2018
    8
    The new engine works magnificently. Every brawl, location and cut scene looks incredible. And yet the combat, restricted locations and missingThe new engine works magnificently. Every brawl, location and cut scene looks incredible. And yet the combat, restricted locations and missing cast members leave a lot to be desired. Even the new side story, gang war, only serves as a platform to show off it's NJPW guests. Expand
  7. May 24, 2018
    4
    Since I've studied Japanese for many years, I know the importance of deferential language in social interactions in that country.Since I've studied Japanese for many years, I know the importance of deferential language in social interactions in that country. Unfortunately, it makes no difference in this game because everyone wants to hurt you. Clearly, the game lacks for cultural understanding. Disappointing. Expand

See all 53 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2018 Videogame Preview: PlayStation 4 Games

    2018 Videogame Preview: PlayStation 4 Games Image
    Published: January 19, 2018
    Get details on 35 of the most-anticipated games headed to the PlayStation 4 console in 2018.