Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Dec 9, 2016
    71
    I can appreciate the effort, but in the end John Yesterday’s first adventure was better in every aspect. Having said that, the supernatural story with its bizzare dialogue and the clever designed puzzles still deliver a rock solid mystery thriller.
  2. Dec 8, 2016
    80
    Yesterday Origins advances the storyline of its previous chapter, deeply exploring the protagonist's past and building a dark and exciting plot.
  3. Dec 8, 2016
    75
    Yesterday Origins is a by-the-numbers adventure game that hits all of the marks with reliable accuracy. It doesn't reinvent the wheel, and the puzzles are standard and are occasionally veer difficult for the wrong reasons. The story is elevated by some distinct concepts and strong character writing. It's worth a try just to see how immortals deal with the problem of aging.
  4. Nov 28, 2016
    70
    A well written adventure game that stays true to the format of the 90s. This also means that unless you can appreciate the old gears at work, you'll likely find the point and click formula boring.
  5. Nov 27, 2016
    69
    Yesterday Origins is a nice looking point and click game with lots of puzzles. The story doesn't really come together, though.
  6. Nov 25, 2016
    60
    Yesterday Origins has a strong cast of characters, an intriguing plot, and beautiful presentation. When you manage to work it all out, the game can be a real joy, but when things go wrong, it can be frustratingly slow and pedantic. Like its narrative, it jumps back in time to remind us of when games were far more frustrating and constrained. It brings back elements of gaming's past that we like, but it also brings back those that we don't. We've come a long way, but if all those troubles feel far away, well Yesterday Origins, to quote The Beetles, makes them look "as though they're here to stay".
  7. 60
    It certainly offers a unique story in the realm of video games. Fans of the genre will certainly get a kick out of the game, others may just be intrigued enough by the story to try it out. But will it stand out as a classic in the genre when we're getting so many of them at the moment? Probably not.
  8. Nov 24, 2016
    65
    Yesterday Origins is yet another game to add to the point & click genre that serves up a fairly unique story. It may not be the “must play” point & click adventure game of the year, but it’s one that you can escape in fairly enjoyably.
  9. Nov 23, 2016
    70
    All round, it’s a solid point and click adventure game that combines that familiar old-school formula with a couple of clever quirks. It has a decent story to boot as well, though there are slight issues with pacing, both in terms of the how the narrative unspools combined with some of the more obtuse puzzles. Together, these create a barrier that will stump players while ultimately holding Yesterday Origins back from greatness.
  10. Nov 23, 2016
    70
    Yesterday Origins is in its heart a wonderful point-and-click adventurer. With a story that grabs you with its both hands, it drags you down to a wonderful adventure. Unfortunately, an adventure that is manifested by technical problems.
  11. Nov 23, 2016
    77
    Yesterday Origins is a interesting point and click adventure but we miss some risks in its development.
  12. Nov 21, 2016
    80
    A great story and interesting atmosphere make for a highly entertaining - and at times even creepy - brain twister.
  13. Nov 18, 2016
    70
    Yesterday Origin is an enjoyable, but at times infuriating, point and click adventure game with a sprawling, compelling plot accompanied by a large amount of satisfying puzzles and a great soundtrack. However, repetitiveness and a sense of labouring the point weigh it down somewhat.
  14. Nov 12, 2016
    80
    Yesterday Origins isn't very original, but it's a great adventure that fans of the genre don't want to miss.
  15. Nov 9, 2016
    69
    Yesterday Origins is a great graphic adventure with influences from the old ones and with a very interesting story. However, it has some plot holes and a few technical issues.
  16. Nov 8, 2016
    75
    With an engaging story mixing together thriller and comedy elements with occult themes and plenty of dark humor, as well as some interesting characters, Yesterday Origins is a point and click adventure game that fans of the genre will surely appreciate. With the gameplay formula not straying too far from familiar ground, however, the game developed by Pendulo Studios will hardly appeal to those who don't enjoy this classic genre.
  17. Nov 8, 2016
    90
    An Adventure for point & click lovers. Yesterday Origins has a great story, full of stellar moments and humor, as well as complicated puzzles.
  18. 80
    Yesterday Origins updates the point and click genre and manages to tell a great thriller story at the same time. With good presentation, excellent voice acting and well thought out puzzles Yesterday Origins is a game which I can easily recommend.
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 33
  2. Negative: 9 out of 33
  1. Mar 12, 2017
    0
    The game doesnt work! there is a puzzle where you have to check the base of a cross and when the animation finishes the cursor disappears andThe game doesnt work! there is a puzzle where you have to check the base of a cross and when the animation finishes the cursor disappears and your character freezes in place! this is with all patches installed and on PS4 Full Review »
  2. Aug 24, 2020
    8
    Very good game, with charismatic characters, creative puzzles and very attractive plot. Enjoyed it very much.
  3. Dec 4, 2019
    1
    I played many adventure games and this is sadly among worst of them. I disliked it so much I considered not to complete the game but played itI played many adventure games and this is sadly among worst of them. I disliked it so much I considered not to complete the game but played it to the end (in second half quickly with walkthrough) out of curiosity just to see if the whole game is so bad and it indeed was.
    So there is: a) a truly horrible controls with often tiny active spots so the game has lots of pixel hunting. You cannot just move cursor but need to move whole person in searching for active spots and forget about modern features of adventure games as possibility to show all active spots at once.
    b) There are tons of close-ups with various details as in a hidden object game and you need to carefully inspect all of them as sometimes they are needed for progress but often these details are just useless. I remember similar feature worked quite well in Sherlock Holmes games as it was not overused but here it seemed to me just annoying.
    c) You sometimes need to combine items in particular order without any reason. So A+B works but B+A not. Often combination of several items with observations icons (that you get after noticing something) is needed with little hints as why you should do it that makes the game combining nightmare. It is usually a exercise in: "How to do simple things in most excruciating way possible" just to prolong the gameplay time.
    d) Story takes inspiration in Broken Sword games with some twists, but is just worse written. If you are interested in similar theme, I would recommend watching a movie The Ninth Gate instead.
    On plus side there is decent graphics and music in the game but overall playing was so bad for me that I can give only 1/10 score.
    Full Review »