Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 39
  2. Negative: 5 out of 39
Buy On
  1. Sep 21, 2017
    100
    Obviously, there are some people that probably won’t enjoy Yonder too much. If you want action and adventure, of course, it’ll probably bore you, and if you want a fast-paced story, you’re not going to find that here. But if you’re just looking for a delightful game that allows you to explore to your heart’s contest, Yonder is exactly what you’re looking for.
  2. 100
    Yonder is the nicest, and yet most deeply transgressive game we’ve seen in our little section of the art world, for quite some time, if not forever.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Feb 8, 2018
    80
    Looks like Zelda, totally isn’t. What you’ve got here is a farming concern which deserves to be spoken in the same breath as Harvest Moon. [September 2017, p71]
  4. Jul 28, 2017
    80
    Yonder: The Cloud Catcher Chronicles is undoubtedly one of the cutest and most welcoming games that I've played in a long while. Sure, the experience may be slightly marred by a handful of minor faults, but Yonder more than compensates for these issues with its beautifully realised world and its enjoyably lighthearted tone.
  5. Jul 21, 2017
    80
    If you're tired of shooting guns and swinging swords Yonder offers laid back palate cleansing cuteness in this open-world adventure.
  6. 80
    Yonder Chronicles brings to the industry a game focused more on exploring, developing, and interactions over violence and leveling, and the end product is refreshing. A few things hold it back, but the heart and soul of the entire package is not to be denied on its way to success.
  7. Jul 31, 2017
    79
    Yonder lacks combats, but that it's not a problem when you have a world as beautifully crafted as this is. Match it with addictive (although simple) crafting mechanics, and you have a unique adventure, where joy is found behind every new landscape.
  8. Jul 23, 2017
    78
    Yonder takes many of the things, such as fishing and farming, that usually take a backseat and brings them front and center with rewarding results.
  9. Jul 31, 2017
    75
    Yonder is as calming as it is addictive. I had thought I was happy with the amount I had played, only to come back the next day and complete even more quests. At just shy of $40 it's a little more than I'd want to pay for a game based around exploration, despite how wonderful the world being explored was. That hasn't stopped me from showing the island of Gemea off to all my friends though. Like a kid with the latest set of Pokémon cards, they're not really interested, but I'm going to make sure they know all about Yonder: The Charming and Calming.
  10. Jul 20, 2017
    75
    Despite a few minor hiccups, Yonder offers a beautiful world to explore at your pace. You won't be fighting legions of demons to save the island, but you do collect cats and the likes.
  11. Jul 20, 2017
    72
    Yonder: The Cloud Catcher Chronicles delivers an imaginative and colourful atmosphere that's contained within its own unique fantasy land. It's great fun to explore, learn skills, complete quests, and befriend the residents and the local wildlife. I only wish there was a clearer sense of direction and the ability to traverse this wondrous land more efficiently.
  12. Aug 16, 2017
    70
    Yonder: The Cloud Catcher Chronicles is a charming and visually pleasing experience that will remind you immediately of 3D Legend of Zelda titles, mainly The Wind Waker, in how the towns, island, and citizens are portrayed.
  13. Aug 4, 2017
    70
    A perfect approach to introduce kids in RPGs and a good choice for those who wish to enjoy a friendly and peaceful game.
  14. Jul 31, 2017
    70
    This beautiful adventure transports you to an amazing world filled with a wonderful soundtrack. As far as gameplay is concerned, Yonder never becomes complex, instead opting for a simple, but charming experience. Highly recommended.
  15. Jul 21, 2017
    70
    Prideful Sloth has created a well balanced game with a great artistic style and an amazing OST. Great game for the players that enjoy exploration and adventure.
  16. Jul 20, 2017
    70
    Despite these niggles, Yonder is obviously a fantastic game for adults to play with their children, and for slightly older children to be allowed to play unsupervised. Even for adults it's surprisingly beautiful, and a soothing breath of anxiety-calming non-violence. But the older you get, the less mileage you might receive from Gemea.
  17. Jul 19, 2017
    70
    In some ways, Yonder reminds of Animal Crossing with a bit of Fantasy Life thrown in, if one squints and tilts their head sideways. All three offer pleasant busywork and pastel colors, and they’re all just the sort of thing if a person’s in the mood for it. However, I strongly suspect that the optimal audience is comprised of kids looking for a game that offers a lot of easily-accomplished Stuff To Do without fear of restarts or penalties. Yonder: The Cloud catcher Chronicles isn’t a great fit for me and I suspect most seasoned players will bow out in a hurry, but I’m going to let my eight-year-old son sit down with it tomorrow, and I imagine I’ll have to pry him off of it with a crowbar.
  18. 70
    Much like the fauna that inhabits its world, Yonder: The Cloud Catcher Chronicles is a beautifully odd creature. The things it does well it does extremely well, which leaves me baffled at some of the obvious drawbacks that limit its scope and longevity. With that said, I am massively impressed by what such a small team was able to accomplish, and the attractive launch price certainly makes it all the more appealing.
  19. Jul 17, 2017
    70
    Yonder: The Cloud Catcher Chronicles is a delightful little game that can appeal to players of all ages and skill levels. The island of Gemea – complete with its atmospheric weather and seasonal cycle – makes for the perfect destination if you're looking for a relaxing virtual vacation.
  20. Jul 18, 2017
    69
    Yonder: The Cloud Catcher Chronicles is an enjoyable enough adventure, but it’s missing a hook to get players invested. The game wants you to get lost in the economy and exploration it offers, but in just performing these menial tasks for their own sake it fails to create any moments where the entire experience is more than a series of distractions.
  21. Jul 18, 2017
    68
    Quotation forthcoming.
  22. Aug 2, 2017
    65
    Yonder: The Cloud Catcher Chronicles has an earnest heart and an anxious mind. Brilliant landscapes and gorgeous vistas create a waking daydream while economic riddles and perfunctory direction recall the drag of reality. Yonder's strides, despite an admirable form, don't seem to take it anywhere.
  23. Jul 31, 2017
    65
    Yonder offers a beautiful world and a big heads-up to the bigger franchises of this planet. The fact that only three people developed it, make this game very special. It is too bad the search for Sprites is exhausting, cause otherwise this could have been a pretty awesome game.
  24. Jul 26, 2017
    65
    Yonder: The Cloud Catcher Chronicles is a fun, friendly and visually stimulating sandbox with a world that invites you to relax and have fun. But the lack of variety in the chores to do, through simplistic and not very deep mechanics, ultimately affects the game in a negative way.
  25. Jul 26, 2017
    65
    Yonder has some interesting aspects to it, and while they really tried to throw in everything and the kitchen sink into it minus combat, many of them fall flat or shallow. The exploration is the best part of the game by far, and while the other parts of the game may be to shallow for me, others may find enjoyment out of them. Even then, the pacing is well done and players will have a pretty view the entire time. I’d say wait for price drop, but when that happens check it out.
  26. Jul 17, 2017
    65
    Yonder: The Cloud Catcher Chronicles is a lovely, sedate open world adventure game that inexplicably gates its crafting mechanic behind an obtuse, tiered system that renders it moot.
  27. Aug 23, 2017
    60
    Yonder is beautiful and relaxing, but only up to a certain point. It's great for the first few hours, wandering around and discovering new sights, but the world ultimately leaves you wanting more depth and personality to explore.
  28. Aug 18, 2017
    60
    In the end, Yonder is undeniably a fantastic game to sit back and chill with. If you're looking forward to some exploration, collection, and light building and farming elements, then Yonder is definitely right up your alley. However! There should be a heavy emphasis on "light" in the sentence up above! This is not the next Harvest Moon or Stardew Valley. No, this is a game with few puzzles, no combat, and filled to the brim with fetch quests and item collection. Yonder isn't without its charms, to be sure. But deep and engaging game play (and story) definitely isn't one of them.
  29. Aug 10, 2017
    60
    Yonder: The Cloud Catcher Chronicles offers an amazing world to play in, but an underdeveloped story and menial side-quests offer little to keep players interested.
  30. Jul 25, 2017
    60
    This is a title aimed at players who want a peaceful adventure, where exploring is the key. If you're a more experience player looking for something challenging or deep, you might have to look elsewhere.
  31. 60
    Even with its flaws, Yonder: The Cloud Catcher Chronicles manages to create a beautifully peaceful experience.
  32. Jul 19, 2017
    60
    Yonder: The Cloud Catcher Chronicles is a beautiful canvas that needs more detail to make it a masterpiece. Gemea is an enchanting location and the majority of systems in the game function well, but the magic hook is missing. The story isn’t engrossing and the quests just blend into each other for the most part, as do the characters that give them. Gemea is magical, the content not so much.
  33. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Aug 24, 2017
    50
    Simple quests, a lack of tutorials, and little-to-no backstory makes Yonder feel unpolished, in direct contrast to its whimsically charming setting. [Sept 2017, p.84]
  34. Jul 31, 2017
    50
    Yonder offers a beautiful and cutesy world to explore, but there is so little to do, the exploring is over way too soon.
  35. Aug 16, 2017
    46
    If gathering resources, exploring, and “go get this for this, or find an item or persons for this” kind of quests are your deal or if you just want a change of pace, Yonder: the Cloud Catcher Chronicles is just for you. More experienced players may find some of the shallowness of the story and game play to be a little off putting. However younger players and those that desire a passive bit of simple gaming away from the loads of violence driven games with no choice but violence in them will have a good time with Yonder: the Cloud Catcher Chronicles. Though I must give this warning… you may smile.
  36. Jul 28, 2017
    30
    Yonder is a beautiful and cute game that sadly lacks almost every aspect of a good sandbox role-playing game. The quests are tedious, the farming is undercooked, and the constant gathering of resources - without a compelling combat system or a peaceful equivalent - makes for a title that is fun for about half an hour before it grinds itself into forgetfulness.
  37. Jul 21, 2017
    30
    Without a way to fail, the game just soldiers on like its fishing minigame: a thing that’s tedious but not at all difficult, and which simply continues until players either succeed or become bored enough to give up.
  38. Jul 20, 2017
    30
    It has admirable intentions, but this misguided role-player proves a quiet life is rarely an entertaining one when it comes to video games.
  39. Jul 17, 2017
    30
    One cannot comprehend who Yonder: The Cloud Catcher Chronicles is meant to serve. Exploration is a chore based on frame rate issues and less-than-stellar graphics. Questing sucks because there is no real sense of progress or accomplishment. Farming and crafting is similarly pointless as there just isn’t a heck of a lot to do. I will confess to giving up after only a couple of hours in hopes that I was the recipient of Alpha code.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 52
  2. Negative: 9 out of 52
  1. Jul 19, 2017
    8
    Yonder is a game that doesn't add anything new to a game that we have seen before, but it maximizes every element that is involved in a RPGYonder is a game that doesn't add anything new to a game that we have seen before, but it maximizes every element that is involved in a RPG that is quirky, stylistic and above all else, fun. Yonder feels like a mesh between Zelda mixed with VIVA PINATA, and to those of you who dont know, viva pinata was a base building game that involved pinata pets (horrible example i know). Yonder Isn't a game that stands out as one of the greatest games ever made, but for the price and the entertainment, as well as the content within, it is certainly worth trying it for yourself. Full Review »
  2. Jul 25, 2017
    10
    Yonder is a relaxing and beautiful game. If you don't like to be relaxed, or you don't like beauty or cute things, then this game isn't forYonder is a relaxing and beautiful game. If you don't like to be relaxed, or you don't like beauty or cute things, then this game isn't for you.

    Yonder isn’t aiming to take you on an epic journey filled with conflict or drama. It isn’t trying to overhaul its genre with new mechanics or gameplay. Instead, it’s a beautiful, easy going and relaxing experience. One in which you’re free to collect flowers and cats, explore the various gorgeous environments, or run a farm. All at your own leisure.

    Following a quick ship wreck and some rushed story scenes explaining a thing called ‘Murk’, which is a strange mist infecting the land, you’re dumped on the islands of Gemea. A deceptively large world, which features diverse environments from deserts to dense forests and snowy mountains. From there on, you’re free to wander and explore to your heart’s content. Which was exactly what I did.

    Yonder1

    Yonder if anything, is beautiful. I spent the first half an hour just wandering around, taking in the gorgeous artstyle and environments on display. Seriously, just watching a sunrise or sunset is a treat. There are breathtaking landscapes galore, intricate trees and foliage around every corner and areas which just sparkle in the sun and moonlight.

    The Australian developer Prideful Sloth’s debut title, coming to PS4 and Steam for the time being, is not just for show though. It features a range of activities for you to fill your time. Fishing, farming, taming cute animals, crafting and learning trades such as being a brewer or carpenter. And a gazillion collectibles, most notably cats. Who will purr loudly when they are nearby.

    You’ll be tasked with completing a variety of missions too, from finding out who stole a lamington, to various fetch quests. Which as you could imagine, grew old incredibly fast. Although, where Yonder shines most is when its mechanics are focused around exploration, as its exquisite world steals the show.Yonder2The Murk, which covers parts of the world and stops you progressing to new areas, forces you to explore the regions you already have access to in order to find ‘Sprites’. Little fairy like beings which allow you to clear the Murk. It is a smart mechanic which led to me exploring the many nooks and corners each region had hidden throughout.

    Overall, Yonder aims to be a nice and playful time. The characters and models are simple but cute, like a child’s playset. How characters talk is quite friendly and often silly. Even the font seems somewhat childishly friendly. None of these are negatives, just observations of the developer’s obvious aim of creating an easy going experience. One which will definitely appeal to younger audiences, as well as older ones looking for a calming game to wind down to after a long day.Yonder3

    As if to emphasise this more, the first chance I had to jump off a ledge my customisable character pulled out an umbrella to glide down with. It was only at that point I realized I didn’t have health. In fact, there aren’t any enemies in the game to fight at all.

    Yonder avoids conflict wherever possible. If you go too deep into water, you spawn back to safety. Animals you come across, such as buffalo or foxes, actively avoid you, through turning their bums in your direction (unless you have the right food). It is cute and honestly adorable. All and all, it creates a refreshingly pleasant game.

    Populating the variety of towns there are plenty of people to talk to. Some pop up continuously throughout your journeys, giving you facts on the land or about cute animals inhabiting the world. Some will be quest givers, many you’ll be able to hire as hands on your farms or be able to trade various items with.

    Overall though, the characters I encountered in my journeys felt one dimensional and empty. You can’t develop actual friendships through story lines or dialogue. They often felt more like filler and lacked character. Which is disappointing, considering the world has so much. Yonder4The small quirks and sometimes silly dialogue of the characters will most likely be enough depth for some. But I felt mostly unattached to my quest givers, who felt just that. More points of contact for quests if I ever became bored of exploring.

    Despite these faults the story, gameplay and world comes together in the main objective of the game, which is to repair the Cloud Catcher. You’ll need to traverse the many environments, talk to and collect items from people from all walks of life and complete some of the most unique missions of the game.

    Albeit still lacking the finesse and character to make this an incredible game, there were moments which made me feel like I was going on an exciting adventure towards the end. One which required me to have truly explored and understood the world to complete it.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 20, 2017
    4
    Superficial and Empty. The "No Man's Sky" of RPG Farming Sims.

    I enjoyed my first hour, keeping an open mind throughout, and I wanted so
    Superficial and Empty. The "No Man's Sky" of RPG Farming Sims.

    I enjoyed my first hour, keeping an open mind throughout, and I wanted so bad to love this game. But I am tired of making excuses to justify my wasted evening and my wasted money.

    Art style is cute and original (outside of the obvious BOTW influence), but the plot is mediocre and unoriginal.

    Farming is boring and automated. The animals go from adorable to unnecessary, quick.

    Crafting is unrewarding. Items lack interesting descriptions to enhance the experience, leaving a mass of rather useless junk filling up your backpack.

    Your backpack's carrying capacity is unclear until you are far away from a chest and unable to store the items, as opposed to Stardew Valley, which is always clear. This is due to the expectation that a scrolling menu (rather than a fixed menu) can imply a very large or endless capacity.

    I rather like the bartering system as opposed to a coin-centric model. However, items are shown to equal a certain amount of money, even though actual money is never used, resulting in a strange inconsistency.

    Finding Sprites in Yonder (including the prototypical two sentence "you found me" snarky comment) is a not so subtle riff off of finding Kokiri in BOTW (except without the fun/unique/challenging/charming puzzles that come with BOTW).

    Yonder's Murk (the purple fog) is clearly another not so subtle riff off of BOTW's Malice (the purple goo).

    MC does not sleep, eat, run out of energy, etc, rendering the chef path another useless edition to the game.

    MC does not have a house or a central hub, which would have aided in a feeling of commitment to the land and community.

    NPCs lack depth and add nothing to the main quest line, who are only there to trigger sidequest after boring sidequest of grinding for useless resources that you probably already have in your bloated backpack.

    And there are the recipe quests: Bring me this item, but, first, here is the recipe for the item, and, also, here are the ingredients to craft the item. Make the item. Give me item. (ಠ_ಠ) Thanks.ヽ(ಠ_ಠ)ノ

    The most frustrating part about this game is its unfulfilled potential, and it has so much potential!

    There is more to say, but I'm just one person. There are extensive reviews on Steam that are very helpful. Please read the reviews before purchase. It may save you your evening and your money.
    Full Review »