Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Dec 8, 2022
    90
    Atari 50: The Anniversary Celebration is both a game collection and an interactive documentary, and excels in each aspect. There may be a few hits missing, but the 90 games available are perfectly emulated and serve as an incredible time capsule of a bygone era. The unexpected star of the show is the interactive documentary, filled to the brim with interviews, documents, pictures, and interesting stories all told by pioneers of the era. If you have any nostalgia for this era or just enjoy learning about the history of gaming, check out this collection.
  2. Dec 5, 2022
    90
    I’ve played plenty of retro collections that either just give you a library of games alone, or accompany the games with a bunch of box shots and manuals that you often have to unlock through play, all thrown together under a menu almost as an afterthought. Atari 50: The Anniversary Celebration is nothing like those game collections. I thoroughly enjoyed making my way through each chapter - the videos are fascinating and playing the games after learning about the story behind them made me see some old favorites in an entirely new light. Atari 50: The Anniversary Celebration is a game-changer – it’s the way all future retro game collections should be made.
  3. Nov 17, 2022
    90
    Atari 50 from developer Digital Eclipse provides a proper path down memory lane with video interviews, old commercials, and a cornucopia of information to dig into about Atari’s history, the good and the bad. The inclusion of early Atari games, arcade experiences, the Atari computing systems, Lynx, and Jaguar are just icing on a well-baked, delicious cake.
  4. Nov 16, 2022
    90
    For game buffs, or Atari fans, this collection is a no-brainer and if there is any collection that could be considered a must-have, this is it.
  5. 90
    Atari 50: The Anniversary Celebration is an absolute masterclass in how to fashion a retro compilation, all the while providing both contemporary and older gamers with an immediately accessible and immaculately produced window into the halcyon days of one of the video game industry's most prolific pioneers. This is the preservation of video game history done right and Atari 50: The Anniversary Celebration is the best retro compilation ever made, bar none.
  6. Nov 23, 2022
    88
    50 years of memories. 50 years of being the king. I love how the 50th Anniversary Collection shows the ups and downs, and exposes the vulnerabilities, of one of the greatest companies of all time. Although some games could go, and I would love to see some DLC. Digital Eclipse deserves a round of applause for this as well. You love documentaries, and you love games, so here's both. And you're going to love it.
  7. Nov 11, 2022
    87
    As a long-time gamer who's stuck in the past, I must say that Atari 50: The Anniversary Celebration is one of the best compilations ever produced. From its expansive museums to its wide variety of classic games and hidden gems, it really is the cat's pajamas.
  8. 80
    If you're an Atari fan, it's hard to imagine a compilation put together with as much attention to detail and love for the subject. Sure, the games aren't always that good but even for us as UK gamers who never much cared for Atari, there are some gems on here to play and plenty of extra material to check out. This is retro done right.
  9. Nov 13, 2022
    80
    While many of the included games may border on unplayable from a modern perspective, the painstaking attention to detail in Atari 50: The Anniversary Celebration is extremely easy to appreciate. The museum-like carousel of content, from interviews through to original artwork, is presented so handsomely that you can’t not get swept up in Atari’s dramatic story. And the fact that there over 100 of the company’s most famous titles, emulated excellently with their original instruction manuals available to pore over, adds playable context to a lot of the content. This is just an impressive overall experience that will appeal to those who lived through the rise (and fall) of Atari, as well as younger players eager to learn a little more about one of the industry’s true pioneers.
  10. Nov 11, 2022
    80
    As an interactive museum exhibit, Atari 50 is quite successful, if with a clear point of view. As a labor of love, it’s filled to the brim with everything Digital Eclipse could fit. Whether it transcends “well-crafted curiosity” status, though? That’ll depend on your nostalgia for a library of games that has some trouble standing the test of time.
  11. Nov 11, 2022
    80
    Like any retro game collection, how much you get out of Atari 50: The Anniversary Celebration is largely limited by your appreciation of its games. There are a lot here, and it’s safe to say that the majority of them didn’t really hold our interest. There are some classics that remain very playable though, and some were worth returning to just for a hit of nostalgia. The real reason to pick this up, though, is its wealth of museum-like content, as well as its new, reimagined takes on some popular titles. They make this a retro collection like no other.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Dec 3, 2022
    6
    This game has a neat collection of Atari classics. There are over 100 games. So many classics from the Atari 2600 and other Atari consoles andThis game has a neat collection of Atari classics. There are over 100 games. So many classics from the Atari 2600 and other Atari consoles and handhelds. There are also the arcade games and they even added reimagined Atari games. I enjoyed the virtual museum aesthetic of this game. Man, those were the days. However, I will not fully praise a game purely on nostalgia. That "re-imagined" Haunted Houses game looks like it was a made by a 12 year old with Dreams. I expect better for $40. Speaking of $40, I saw the PS4 version for $30. Why exactly does the PS5 version cost more than the PS4? I'm getting real sick and tired of greedy developers charging $10 extra to PS5 owners for absolutely no reason. Add extra features or something to justify that $10 tax.

    These developers are so cheap, they didn't even bother to add online multiplayer. There is only local multiplayer. Atari Flashback Classics vol 1 and 2 had online multiplayer and those were $20 each. Although this game has the better collection and history than those two, it's inexcusable to charge me more money without online. These lazy developers couldn't even add global leaderboards. I recommend this game until it is $30 or cheaper.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 28, 2022
    0
    It's not that good of a game in all honesty, but I guess the premise is pretty cool.
  3. Nov 14, 2022
    8
    A really good compilation of many games, from classics to hidden gems and a lot of attention to detail.