Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 47
  2. Negative: 3 out of 47
Buy On
  1. Feb 3, 2021
    90
    Destruction AllStars may not be a killer app that sells you on a PS5, but anyone who owns a PS5 will be happy to add it to their library. It is definitely one of the best perks of owning a PS5 yet.
  2. Feb 3, 2021
    80
    As far as gameshow/sporting event-style games go, Destruction AllStars is maybe some of the most fun I’ve had in a while. I love the pageantry when a match starts and my character does their intro before kicking things off. The visuals are smooth and pristine throughout the fast-paced action and the gameplay in different modes is absolutely delightful. I would like the foot game to be boosted a bit, and it desperately needs some better cosmetics and an easy-access Mute All function, but there’s an absolutely enthralling foundation here in Destruction AllStars. I want to see more characters, more arenas, events… I want to see where Destruction AllStars goes in the long run and I’ll be happy to keep playing as we work our way there.
  3. Feb 3, 2021
    80
    I had a good time behind the wheel in Destruction AllStars, even if I don’t know that it has enough to keep me around forever. That’s not to say there isn’t anything to do; there is a decent-enough selection of modes and activities between online and offline, with more on the way. And I appreciate the instantly satisfying action that’s as easy to drop in and out of as the cars themselves. Even if the novelty of vehicular mayhem isn’t enough to sustain my interest for many more long-haul sessions, I’m looking forward to taking it for a quick spin every now and again.
  4. Feb 3, 2021
    80
    It’s addictive, great fun and all about people playing online together. And it feels original, even if many of the individual elements are borrowed from other games. If you have a PS Plus subscription it’s a no brainer to download this free title at some point over the next two months before it becomes paid for. Destruction AllStars is a brilliant new addition to the PS5 roster and will brighten up dull February with some colourful car-smashing fun.
  5. Feb 3, 2021
    78
    I like Destruction AllStars. I really like it a lot. The anarchy of the gameplay reminds me of my endless PS1 evenings with Destruction Derby or Demolition Racer. Something happens all the time, there is always a crash somewhere - I never get bored.
  6. Feb 16, 2021
    75
    Destruction AllStars is, above all, fun and enjoyable mayhem, supported by a very polished technical aspect and an undeniably cool stylistic approach. The choice to launch it as part of the Plus Collection will certainly give it a huge boost in terms of playerbase – certainly more than its 80,99€ launch price would have attracted otherwise – but, as usual, these kinds of games are a matter of endurance. And for how long Destruction AllStars manages to keep its audience engaged remains to be seen.
  7. Feb 10, 2021
    75
    With slick and satisfying gameplay wrapped in a visually stunning package, AllStars has an almost limitless potential that will only go unrealised if a few irritating roadblocks stay unmoved.
  8. Feb 7, 2021
    75
    Destruction AllStars is a game with good ideas that, sadly, lacks enough content to warrant a constant return to this title.
  9. Feb 4, 2021
    75
    This new PS5 exclusive offers some amusing ideas while taking advantage of the superior hardware, but it's too shallow in content and uses some greedy strategies. Future updates could change the situation, though.
  10. Feb 4, 2021
    75
    If Destruction AllStars was entirely focused on the driving and crashing aspects, this review would be a hands-down recommendation. I just wish it didn’t come to a complete stop as often as it does when you lose control of the car. It does interesting things with the DualSense’s adaptive triggers and has a satisfying loop but comes to a screeching halt in other areas. Lucid Games has promised at least a year of new content for the game following its release, so hopefully, things will be fixed over time. Waiting for a fix, however, isn’t how I like to enjoy games. Luckily, Destruction AllStars is one of the free PS+ games for February, so with an online subscription and a PS5, I would recommend downloading it to give it a spin.
  11. Feb 3, 2021
    75
    Destruction AllStars is both new and familiar, but it’s a refreshing collection of cars, modes, and madcap driving that shows great promise for the future. A mental destruction derby with some admittedly annoying quirks, there’s plenty of charm under the hood of this game that respects your time and smashes into the competition with a gung-ho attitude and some novel ideas.
  12. Feb 7, 2021
    72
    Destruction AllStars is undoubtedly fun and has a very original concept, but its lack of content represents the biggest flaw of the combat racing developed by Lucid Games.
  13. Feb 3, 2021
    72
    What is there, entertains only briefly - and the banishment of the other episodes behind a payment barrier is crap. The scope could also be more generous in general: If you deduct Stockpile, which is currently too haphazardly for me, only three modes remain in very similar arenas; The character skills and special attacks of the hero cars are too interchangeable for me. Ultimately, however, I'm curious to see where the journey with Destruction AllStars is going - both in terms of new content and the question of whether it might become a full-price title at the beginning of April.
  14. Feb 4, 2021
    71
    Although it features flashy visuals and initially intriguing gameplay, Destruction AllStars begins to get a bit tiresome after a while. It still offers plenty of entertainment but the fun factor doesn't quite have as much longevity as some similar titles do.
  15. Feb 8, 2021
    70
    Big doubts remain about the durability of the product: in terms of content, Destruction AllStars did not seem ready to sustain the attention of the average player for more than a handful of hours, and despite its undoubted qualities it could easily end up in oblivion well before the arrival of any additions and corrective noteworthy. To this we must unfortunately also add the total impossibility of playing with friends in the individual modes, undoubtedly among the most effective of the package. A limitation that, in a game like this, could prove to be particularly disabling in the long run.
  16. Feb 5, 2021
    70
    Destruction AllStars delivers delightful carnage and non-stop mayhem, but issues with progression, monetization, and some poorly designed modes hold it back. Hopefully, Lucid Games and Sony will continue to build on this excellent foundation, because Destruction AllStars has the potential to be a special game with a little bit of work.
  17. Feb 5, 2021
    70
    For now, the biggest selling point of Destruction AllStars is the fact that it's included in the PS Plus: at 80 euros we certainly wouldn't have recommended it.
  18. Feb 3, 2021
    70
    Destruction AllStars has many strong points to offer. Mainstream and approachable, the directing is quite good and the gameplay quick to learn — although it takes time to be truly mastered. We had a lot of fun throwing out violent bumper blows and jumping on platforms to change vehicles, as well as unleashing the powers of the many heroes available. However, it's hard to predict whether it will be successful in the long run, and the PS5's exclusivity and high purchase price may prevent it from reaching a large audience.
  19. Feb 8, 2021
    65
    Sweet mix between Destruction Derby and Twisted Metal, the game from Lucid Games has some good ideas, but never manages to make them come true. There is fun, explosion, but it lacks depth. Fortunately, it is offered in the PlayStation Plus this month.
  20. Feb 5, 2021
    65
    Destruction AllStars certainly has its charm. It exudes personality, thanks to a varied cast of characters that - despite having zero story - seem to have something about them that makes you want to learn more about them, such as their name. You’re here for the cars, and they are fun. The smashing, or destruction, of other cars, is a genuinely fun experience that's made all the better by each character having their own ability to mix things up. The game modes do keep things ticking over, though It needs to be said that the game needs to add more in the future to keep things fresh. This isn't a bad start for Destruction AllStars, but it's also one that needs to focus on the strengths and drop the weaknesses - particularly the abysmal on-foot gameplay - to make this game the online draw it could be.
  21. Feb 5, 2021
    65
    By all means, claim this game and enjoy it while you can if you have a PlayStation 5. But don't expect it to stay in your weekly rotation for very long. It's a nice enough intro to the console, but it's fleeting.
  22. Feb 5, 2021
    65
    This is an interesting approach to multiplayer combat games, although a bit flawed. The main issues? The arenas are too big, the matches too long and the story mode is just a bunch of challenges you need to buy.
  23. 65
    Destruction AllStars is loaded with style, flair, and a great core concept, but what you see is what you get. While that’s not a bad thing at all, there are very few surprises and no sense of depth lurking beneath the surface. I want more to do. I want more to chase. I want more reasons to want to jump into another match than just leveling up to earn coins for character color swaps. As a PlayStation Plus free game, there’s a lot of potential, hopefully something that Lucid Games can expand upon before asking people to pay a premium up front. In a sea of multiplayer games begging for people’s attention, Destruction AllStars has a bit more work to do to earn it.
  24. Feb 4, 2021
    65
    Everything could have gained more dynamism and appealed to the players a little more by offering various tricks such as slow motion or "killcam", but unfortunately, Lucid Games preferred to keep this type of functionality for the game's Solo mode. A Solo mode which also could have been successful, finally if it was not restricted by a system which requires the player to take out his credit card.
  25. Feb 26, 2021
    60
    Destruction AllStars is a fun multiplayer game, but the lack of content and some questionable monetization decisions prevent us from recommending it, especially if we consider that it is a full-priced game. On the other hand, as a free PS Plus game it makes perfect sense, and we hope that Sony makes it a permanent addition to the PS Plus Collection.
  26. Feb 15, 2021
    60
    To become a fixture like Fortnite, though, Destruction Allstars needs more content than its current four game modes and handful of courses. In any case, Lucid Games has already announced plans to continually expand and improve the game at least during its first year, so the future looks bright for PS5 owners.
  27. Feb 10, 2021
    60
    Destruction AllStars is a fun game to watch and play. However, the slow pace of progress and lack of tangible goals limit the motivation to continue playing. The funneling towards microtransactions for progress and paywalled single-player content is frustrating. That's not to mention balance between AllStars is sorely in need of work. The good news is all of these issues can be fixed. The bones of a really great online game are here.
  28. Feb 9, 2021
    60
    Destruction All Stars is a game with fun gameplay and a pleasant technical showcase. The amount of content, unfortunately, is not enough to keep players' interest high in the long run. An articulated plan of updates and contents will be needed for the future.
  29. Feb 9, 2021
    60
    Destruction AllStars has the foundations of a decently entertaining demolition derby, but that's about it. The game is short on content, doesn't feature much depth or serves as a showcase for the PS5, and its only saving grace is that it's free for PS Plus at launch. When, or perhaps if, the game returns to its regular pricing, it will be much tougher to recommend.
  30. Feb 9, 2021
    60
    Some fun but no content, Destruction AllStars is typical of those games getting a precocious release, and who deserve to be played again later on. We'll see if the players give this PS5 exclusive its chance in the long term.
  31. Feb 5, 2021
    60
    Destruction All-Stars is a game with some potential if we get some extra modes or if it's challenges had been free. But there are some design decisions that limit what this game can do in the future.
  32. Feb 4, 2021
    60
    Destruction AllStars can provide fun bursts of frantic car combat action, but never adds up to much more than that.
  33. Feb 4, 2021
    60
    The car combat genre has long been out of fashion and still has a way to go if it wants to take us back to its glory days of the 1990s. Destruction AllStars is a mostly satisfying modernisation that has some neat ideas and looks fantastic, though ultimately spins its tyres on repetitive rival-wrecking gameplay and a lack of truly worthwhile content at launch.
  34. Feb 4, 2021
    60
    Destruction AllStars can be a brilliantly frantic multiplayer game, with fun characters and cars, great DualSense feedback, and entertaining modes. However, it can ring a little hollow at times when the action dips. Lacklustre customisation options and mictrotransaction-locked content doesn't help matters, but when everything is playing out smoothly, this is more than capable of giving you a good time. Currently free to PS Plus members, it's well worth taking for a spin.
  35. Mar 1, 2021
    50
    Destruction AllStars can be an enjoyable Twisted Metal-like experience for those nostalgic for that, but once you feel the frustration of the crashing mechanic and realize there isn’t much to work towards, you’ll probably turn around and use that nitrous in the opposite direction.
  36. Feb 16, 2021
    50
    Desctruction AllStars had a chance to deliver some creative car combat and it mostly set it sights on being mediocre and forgettable. Granted it’s free for PS+ users so it’s not a large barrier to get into. But down the road this is not a game worth a price of admission unless they prove they can do something better. It’ll likely be forgotten in the eventual ocean of other PS5 exclusives that release down the road.
  37. Feb 10, 2021
    50
    The on-foot gameplay plays a large role in Destruction AllStars' true problem: It feels like there's a lot of downtime. Even though there's always a new car to find or an enemy to chase, there's only one thing that's really worth doing--crashing--which takes a lot of setup for a short-lived reward. Even with great looks and solid controls, you spend too much time spinning your wheels.
  38. Feb 9, 2021
    50
    Destruction AllStars isn't necessarily a bad game - but it is disappointingly average, especially for a PS5 exclusive. There are some moments that get players hyped up and ready to smash cars together, but the lack of incentive to customize characters, combined with the strange lack of excitement in matches can get frustrating and make any long-term investment in Destruction AllStars feel like a waste of time, especially when there are so many great multiplayer experiences already out there for gamers to get their hands on.
  39. Feb 8, 2021
    50
    Out of the gate, Destruction AllStars is shallow and struggles to give players a compelling reason to stick with it for the long-term. But like other live service games, it's possible that Destruction AllStars will improve as the developers address fan feedback and add more meaningful content to the game. The foundation is there for Destruction AllStars to eventually be great, with reliable performance, beautiful graphics, and fun core gameplay, but there's a long way to go if it ever wants to reach that point.
  40. Feb 8, 2021
    50
    Destruction AllStars has a bunch of great ideas and unique twists on the standard car combat genre, but it's severely lacking in both content and gameplay variety.
  41. Feb 8, 2021
    50
    Destruction Allstars provides an interesting experience for a short time. The game doesn't have a lot of variation and lacks quite a bit of content. Since it's a free PS Plus game right now it's worth it to check it out, but if you have to pay full price for this game it's better to leave it on the roadside. Especially because of the shady microtransactions that are present in the game, which give an extra bitter taste to an experience that isn't amazing, to begin with.
  42. Feb 5, 2021
    50
    Scratch the surface and you’ll find a very shallow car combat game that simply doesn’t have what it needs to pull you back in over and over again. Destruction AllStars is unlikely to be the next PlayStation Plus success story.
  43. 50
    A fun, uncomplicated romp that’s a great way to relax for 20 minutes or so. Beyond that though it struggles to entertain, especially given the grubby approach to microtransactions.
  44. 50
    Destruction AllStars is a clunky mess of a multiplayer experience, committing a few cardinal sins when it comes to its online experience and offering uninteresting and dull gameplay most of the time. Each character feels unique and their abilities and vehicles are fun to use, but when meshed with the rest of the experience, it doesn't work. Predatory microtransactions, a lack of lore and backstory into the AllStars, and poor single-player offerings make this the weakest PlayStation Studios title in a long time.
  45. Feb 8, 2021
    40
    Destruction AllStars has a sturdy engine, but it’s overworked in almost every respect. The needless on-foot component and character abilities clutter an otherwise light but fun pick-up-and-play game with satisfying wrecks. Toss in some overeager DualSense support, and the result is a multiplayer game that’s chaotic for all the wrong reasons.
  46. Feb 3, 2021
    40
    I wanted to love Destruction AllStars. I still do. There’s just not enough there to make it worth my while right now. A couple of times, I ran into a weird technical issue where I would jump into a brand-new car, but it just wouldn’t move. I think that issues like this can certainly be fixed in a future patch, though. I also know that the development team of Lucid Games has a year’s-worth of content planned for the game. As such, although I can’t recommend playing Destruction AllStars right now, I do have high hopes for the future of the game. Especially since the car combat genre is ripe for the taking with no new Twisted Metal in sight.
  47. Feb 3, 2021
    40
    Out of the 4 modes available at launch, 2 of them feel redundant and unbalanced. The single-player content is slim and if you want even a crumb more, you’ll have to pay, which leaves Destruction Allstars feeling like a clumsy, hollow product whose fun moments go by in a blur.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Feb 5, 2021
    Destruction AllStars is a fun title that bets on chaos and destruction in a casual fast-paced bet. Its use of the DualSense gives a good clue of what is to come in the future on the platform and has a good grid in which to lose yourself trying possibilities and finding the heroes with whom you feel more comfortable. However, their proposal is limited and it may be that after a while there will not be too many incentives to stay in the game. I would have liked to see more synergies between the skills of drivers and cars, I think the team component loses a bit of meaning within the framework of a game like this. As a final consideration we must bear in mind that, due to its characteristics, it is a game that can be expanded and improved in the future, so we must be attentive to its progression and acceptance within the player community.
  2. Feb 3, 2021
    The good outweighs the bad. Get a PlayStation Plus trial and give this imperfect car-combat gem a spin.
  3. Feb 4, 2021
    Destruction AllStars does a lot right. It looks the part. It's polished and, from what I can tell, largely bug free - a testament to Lucid that the studio was able to produce a game this slick amid a pandemic and a work-from-home order. It's vibrant, feels good in the hand, and I like most of the character designs. But it's throwaway and barebones at launch. It's a game of potential right now. It desperately needs more to it, more depth, and more strategy. The driving is so good I'm craving an actual racing mode, or maybe a power-up filled multiplayer mode, something like a Mario Kart crossed with Burnout. That would be cool, I think.
  4. Feb 2, 2021
    Destruction AllStars left me with feelings of hope and promise, and some uncertainty. Lucid Games didn’t make advance copies of the game available to Kotaku. Nearly everyone you see playing this game is experiencing it in the same way at the same time. Could it take off the way Fall Guys—which itself received a boost from showing up on PS Plus for a month—did last summer? Or will it sputter out like, say, Bleeding Edge? I don’t know what to make of the game yet. No one does, not really. Luckily, it currently doesn’t cost much to find out. [Impressions]
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 558 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Feb 3, 2021
    10
    A racing game with a lot of potential and reminiscent of Rocket League, it can be greatly improved with patches.
  2. Feb 3, 2021
    8
    Probably a 6 or 7 right now but I’m giving it an 8 based on the fact it’s probably gonna grow into something amazing. This is a perfect gameProbably a 6 or 7 right now but I’m giving it an 8 based on the fact it’s probably gonna grow into something amazing. This is a perfect game to add new modes, arenas and characters to keep things fresh. As of right now, I am definitely having a blast and it’s a mostly unique experience. I’m sure it will become repetitive if nothing new is added but I have a feeling the developers are going to stick with it with new updates. The graphics, design and performance are very good. This game feels super fluid and smooth, with a super crisp art style and graphics. Needs music during matches though. Needs a few tweaks but overall I’m excited for the future of this game, and itching to play again! Don’t miss this while it’s free. With something like the Rocket League battle pass and more customization than we currently have, I think this could get pretty big Full Review »
  3. Feb 3, 2021
    10
    Very fun game that stands out for its chaos, its frenzy, some very good animations of both characters/cars, and a eccentric style that willVery fun game that stands out for its chaos, its frenzy, some very good animations of both characters/cars, and a eccentric style that will attract more than one.
    The core of its gameplay is functional, but it lacks updates to shine correctly, such as a free-to-play game is more than decent, but as a paid game it may seem lacking in content, even so, there is confidence that the developer studio will listen to the criticism, and improve the game according to what is expected of it.
    Full Review »