Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. May 10, 2022
    90
    Eiyuden Chronicle is a quick and frothy good time - exactly the introduction to the Eiyuden universe that was needed to get players excited for the next game. Cool, lighting-fast combat, fun characters, and non-stop progression all combine to make this a title worth exploring. Consider my appetite for more from this universe to be fully engaged.
  2. May 14, 2022
    80
    The beginning of Eiyuden Chronicle: Rising is boring and tiring. However, as the adventure progresses, you will find the fun you wish you had at the beginning. Although it has its flaws, it can be a good option for fans of the genre who want to prepare for Hundred Heroes.
  3. May 10, 2022
    80
    Eiyuden Chronicle: Rising is an enjoyable 2D Metroidvania RPG with a fun town upgrade system. Combining the abilities of CJ, Garoo, and Isha to explore the corners of various dungeons is a treat and I'm now even more excited for the release of Hundred Heroes.
  4. May 10, 2022
    80
    With its to-ing and fro-ing and overly basic combat for its first hour or two, Eiyuden Chronicle: Rising won’t be everyone’s cup of tea. Those that stick with it though, will find a game that develops into something very enjoyable indeed. This is a charming adventure, with combat and platforming that grows ever richer with each new upgrade and ability you obtain. But it’s the world that’s the real star here. The story of Eiyuden Chronicle: Rising might not be all that grand, but it’s full of characters that we’ve already grown to love. And so, as a taster for Eiyuden Chronicle: Hundred Heroes, it does its job admirably.
  5. 80
    A great start to what I'm hoping will be a great franchise. Eiyuden Chronicle: Rising doesn't do anything to move the side scroller action RPG genre forward, but it does everything to make it fun. Rising reminded me a lot of old school 2D action platformers but with an entire town-building mechanic. It's also one of the most visually impressive indy titles I've seen in a while. Overall, Eiyuden Chronicle: Rising is a great starting point for what's set to be an epic JRPG, with Eiyuden Chronicle: Hundred Heroes releasing in 2023.
  6. May 9, 2022
    80
    Eiyuden Chronicle: Rising is a game that will grow on certain types of people, if it doesn't charm you out of the gate.
  7. May 9, 2022
    80
    I went into Eiyuden Chronicle: Rising cynically expecting a title that would serve as nothing more than an appetizer for its bigger JRPG sibling that we can expect next year. I couldn’t have been more wrong as Eiyuden Chronicle: Rising is much, much more than that. With its gorgeous art direction, stylish combat, and substantial content offering, it’s a game that arguably offers more than it needed to. If you can make it past the slowish opening act, you’ll find that Eiyuden Chronicle: Rising is a title that is more than capable of standing on its own, to the extent where I can’t help but recommend it, irrespective of whether you are excited for Eiyuden Chronicle: Hundred Heroes or not.
  8. 75
    Eiyuden Chronicle: Rising is a good game that introduces you to a bright and colorful cast of characters and the world they inhabit. It’s short and sweet, with the main story missions costing me 10 hours, but it leaves just enough of an impression without overstaying its welcome. I do worry that it’s releasing a bit too early compared to the main entry and with a game focused around questing, it’s so disappointing how badly the questing system and UI is setup. There is also a lot of needless backtracking that could have been avoided. All that being said, it’s a good start and for those Suikoden fans out there, it brings out a lot of nostalgia and moments that feel like Suikoden. Great start from Rabbit & Bear, we can’t wait to see what’s next.
  9. May 9, 2022
    75
    Eiyuden Chronicle: Rising is a grind fest that only a select few will enjoy. Those that overlook that will enjoy its well-written characters; for everybody else it's an easy pass.
  10. May 10, 2022
    73
    Quotation forthcoming.
  11. May 27, 2022
    70
    A short game that doesn’t outstay its welcome, Eiyuden Chronicle: Rising was an enjoyable, if slightly repetitive, experience that serves as an ample teaser for something bigger.
  12. May 10, 2022
    70
    Eiyuden Chronicle Rising show great ambitions and keeps most of these promises even if it gets lost at times. A good introduction to the new universe by the creators of Suikoden, Rabbit & Bear.
  13. May 18, 2022
    65
    You know what you’re getting into with Rising. There’s treasure to be found, a town to be restored, and new friends to make. To that end, my recommendation is based on your reaction to that premise. Are you thrilled by the prospect of elevating a town to its full potential? Do you relish the thought of digging up treasure with a growing cast of companions? If so, Eiyuden Chronicle: Rising is just what you’ve been looking for. Otherwise, I suggest you proceed with caution.
  14. May 12, 2022
    60
    If you can stomach its disappointingly dull quests, Eiyuden Chronicle: Rising is a solid enough action RPG. Some pretty visuals and a cosy JRPG vibe do a lot to mask its flaws.
  15. May 10, 2022
    60
    Eiyuden Chronicle: Rising is a two-dimensional action game built on the precepts of Japanese role-playing. It is an enjoyable "JRPG lite" that doesn't require a great deal of commitment, and presents an interesting and enjoyable universe in which you want to linger. A game that doesn't do anything wrong, but doesn't do anything particularly remarkable either, and which serves as a prequel to the eagerly awaited Eiyuden Chronicle: Hundred Heroes.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. May 12, 2022
    8
    Pretty enjoyable for a short game to introduce us the world. let's get ready for the next main game
  2. May 12, 2022
    3
    Decent graphics but poor writing and characters. The animations are not the best but get the job done. This is being touted as a spiritualDecent graphics but poor writing and characters. The animations are not the best but get the job done. This is being touted as a spiritual successor to the great Suikoden. Unfortunately, this game doesnt even come close. The main character is also very one dimensional and the supporting cast dont fair much better. Give this one a pass. Full Review »
  3. May 21, 2022
    4
    They should have just called this game Fetch Quests: Rising because that's all the game is and it really wears you down after doing 20 or soThey should have just called this game Fetch Quests: Rising because that's all the game is and it really wears you down after doing 20 or so of the 160(?) fetch quests in the game.

    At first I started playing in Japanese and I gave it a chance by reading the dialogue and such. But around the 7 hour mark I really started to get bored. It was too much and a lot of it was filler. I thought maybe I wasn't understanding what was going on. So I changed the language settings to English and found the dialogue JUST as boring and filler like. I didn't like how they portrayed characters in their English translation either. If the writing was good I'd probably be interested in reading no matter the language.

    And what about that English text font? Usually a game's font doesn't bother me, but the one in this game is horrible looking. It looks like the kind of font you see in a translated mobile game. I feel bad for English only players.

    The game play is simple and bad. I don't like the controls because it's very unresponsive at times and it locks up as well. Also I got confused a lot because I might switch to one character and then press another button thinking I would continue to attack as that character. But instead it would switch me to another character.

    Music at first sounded good but it's the same few tracks throughout the game. So they get stale fast. The one thing I do like is the presentation of the characters. The background graphics are pretty good and I like how the characters are designed. Very reminiscent of the Suikoden series.

    Sadly I can't recommend this game. Was their a story? I couldn't tell you since I got tired of all the filler and just continued to skip everything. I wasn't very drawn into the story or the characters presented. Just too many fetch quests and honestly some of the dialogue I did read early in the game was kinda cringe. Maybe get this game on sale if you can. Honestly, if I had a choice I would rather have liked the creators use the funds to get Hundred Heroes out sooner in some way rather then use it to make this. I honestly hope this game isn't a reflection of the quality of Hundred Heroes.
    Full Review »