Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 107 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 107
  2. Negative: 9 out of 107
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Jan 23, 2023
    95
    Forspoken is absolutely fantastic. With all the spells you can unlock, the gear you can upgrade, the fights, the bosses, and a storyline that rivals the best video game stories, this isn't a return to form for SquareEnix, it's a testament that they still got it, and will have it for a very, very long time.
  2. Jan 23, 2023
    90
    Forspoken is an incredible title. Although the story suffers from being a bit too generic, the gameplay is inventive, magical, and an absolute blast. This is a game I’ll come back to again and again just to move around and exist in the fascinating fantasy world. Forspoken is an exciting leap forward for action games, and I can’t get enough of it.
  3. Feb 6, 2023
    85
    There's a lot to love about Forspoken despite its technical issues. It makes up for that with great traversal, a fantastic DualSense implementation, and solid storytelling. It might not be for everyone, but I enjoyed my time in Athia and will be checking out the story DLC when it launches in the future.
  4. Jan 23, 2023
    85
    Forspoken feels like a breath of fresh air for open-world adventures with its stylish engine, but is held back by pacing and other foibles.
  5. Jan 23, 2023
    85
    Forspoken manages to stand out for its fantastic combat system and spectacular exploration in its open world. However, it clearly could have been better in other areas.
  6. Feb 2, 2023
    80
    Forspoken isn't for everyone - and this is its strength. Games that spark controversy can be the most interesting. This seems a sign that the developers have successfully realized their vision. Such courage is commendable, especially in the era of clones.
  7. Jan 29, 2023
    80
    Rough and ready, just like Frey, Forspoken is a tale worth stomping through one high-stakes, magic-infused battle at a time.
  8. Jan 27, 2023
    80
    Even with its unfortunate first impression, I’d (heartily) recommend Forspoken. Its exceptional gameplay is more than enough to make it worth playing and is all the more noteworthy, given it’s a fresh new IP. If nothing else, it lays the groundwork for a new series that has plenty to build from and could go on to be remembered for far more than some rough dialogue.
  9. Jan 23, 2023
    80
    Forspoken is an ambitious title that builds both its fluid movement and its battle system around the concept of magic. From comfortable exploration to speedy combat, this unique open world action RPG has plenty of appeal, and its story that depicts the spiritual growth of its young New Yorker protagonist is immersive. That being said, the game does have issues, such as a lack of variety in side quests and a hub area that takes too much time to navigate through.
  10. Jan 23, 2023
    80
    Forspoken is therefore an experience that takes time to reveal its potential, but which, once the controls have been mastered, offers to discover a pleasant open world thanks to the magical powers of Frey.
  11. Jan 23, 2023
    80
    Forspoken is a far better and more compelling game than I had feared, but it also doesn’t reach the heights I dreamt of. There is a lot of fun to be had exploring Athia and the main quest keeps things interesting even when you get bored with the open-world checklist. But at the same time I can’t help but be disappointed with how safe Forspoken plays the open world, and I am unlikely to go back to clear out all of those rote points of interest. And I also can’t deny there are some eyebrow-raising moments as to how the writers chose to portray a black woman like Frey, despite personally liking her quite a bit when viewed through the lens of having finished the game. There is a lot of diversity in the cast too, in a way we don’t usually get from big-budget RPGs. I am not sure how many steps forward versus how many steps back Forspoken takes, but there are steps taken forward. In the end, I recommend Forspoken to anyone who loves Final Fantasy XV or Ubisoft-style open worlds and especially anyone who has a thing for character mobility. Yet, the game has a certain charm that I believe makes it worth giving a try to anyone.
  12. Jan 23, 2023
    80
    Forspoken it's not the next gen game that we're waiting for, but it's not as bad as some found in the demo. It has its share of elements to improve, starting with the script, but it makes combat and traverse very fresh and enjoyable, in a world full of things to do, that invites to keep playing even after watching the ending credits.
  13. 80
    Forspoken represented a huge risk taken by newcomer Luminous Productions. While the story may feel a bit contrived at times, the Flow method of traversal and combat more than makes up for it. Frey may annoy some people as the protagonist, but stringing together a chain of magical commands within just a few seconds while deftly avoiding incoming fireballs is rewarding, and ultimately, I came away from Forspoken having enjoyed my time helping the people of Athia.
  14. Jan 23, 2023
    80
    Forspoken is a game of ups and downs. The title is much more focused on the story than on the open world component and this is not a bad thing at all. The narrative is enjoyable, but not without flaws, while the open world is very classic in style without particular flashes of originality.
  15. Jan 23, 2023
    80
    There was a moment in which we really feared for the success of Fospoken, which, due to a not exactly crystal clear communication from the publisher, often ended up making us feel mixed sensations. Confirming the impressions gained on the occasion of previous direct contacts with the product, however, the new creature of Luminous Productions convinces in every respect, without excelling in any field. While the staid pace of the isekai matrix plot is counterbalanced by surprising twists and turns that leave a love flavor, the albeit chaotic combat system and the exorbitant number of optional activities offered by an open world that is anything but empty compensate for a surrender visual not quite state of the art.
  16. Jan 23, 2023
    80
    After all is said and done, Forspoken emerges as a solid new IP. It has its fair share of issues, but the longer you spend time in Athia, the more its world draws you in with its intriguing combat and the simple pleasure of freely crossing massive environments with spellbinding abilities. Luminous Productions is definitely onto something with this concept, it just needs a bit more focus and refinement. At the very least, Forspoken proves its worth on its own terms, and demonstrates the potential to someday hang alongside Square Enix’s staple franchises.
  17. Jan 23, 2023
    80
    Forspoken presents a genuinely human story blended well with combat and a variety of exploration options, setting it up to be PlayStation’s next big franchise.
  18. Forspoken doesn’t do anything new for the open-world genre of games, but it does offer just enough to distinguish itself, mostly thanks to Frey and her magic spells, and a story that’s able to stick the landing. Or to translate this to Whedonspeak, “Yep, she really did just do that!"
  19. Jan 23, 2023
    80
    Forspoken is a unique game, with a very distinct gameplay, setting and story that compose a very fun and interesting experience. It suffers with its short duration, problemactic camera, lack of variety in side missions and it needs a few adjustments to its gameplay, but its one of the most beautiful games on the PS5 so far and a title that deserves everyone's attention.
  20. Jan 23, 2023
    80
    You can spend hours completing spell challenges, exploring dungeons, fighting enemies, and activating altars to upgrade your powers. But that fun is often held back by the story. Forspoken's pacing could be better. The game takes you away from what you want to do. We often wanted to explore to our heart's content, but the game forced us to spend minutes that felt like forever in uninteresting storytelling.
  21. 80
    Want to explore a beautiful and desolate fantasy world without being stomped into the ground by every enemy you meet? The power fantasy of 'Forspoken' might just be the game for you.
  22. Jan 23, 2023
    79
    As a new title from Luminous Productions six years after FFXV, Forspoken continues to show the shortcomings of its open-world design. The abundance of magical combat and the still-excellent story make up for most of these shortcomings. However, the hopes for a fantastic magical world cannot be fulfilled.
  23. Jan 27, 2023
    75
    My time with Forspoken was a strange one. Elements of the game are fantastic, with an engrossing story and a gorgeous world. However, it all just feels segmented, like nothing really wants to work together. Forspoken is a good game and one I would recommend to most open-world fans, but it just feels so close to greatness that I can’t help but walk away disappointed.
  24. Jan 24, 2023
    75
    Forspoken is on the precipice of something great. Behind the funneled narrative beats and the obese, sprawling world is a game that simply wants players to engage with its every part. Past the eye-rolling dialog and self-serious narrative is a potentially interesting protagonist and universe that occasionally mesh well. Each puzzle piece of Forspoken is so close to fitting and so often I could see the picture clearly, especially when bounding across the seemingly boundless landscape, making the screen quiver and explode with Frey’s awe-inspiring magic. Perhaps in another place, in another time, Forspoken will speak to everyone.
  25. Jan 23, 2023
    75
    Forskpoken isn't a bad game, but it isn't outstanding either. If you get interested in its universe, whether for its story or combat, it won't leave you indifferent. However, the game doesn't dazzle, and it might not meet the expectations of all players.
  26. Jan 23, 2023
    75
    Forspoken's story and combat fail to reach the heights of its movement and exploration, but thankfully those two latter elements make up most of the experience. I sprinted, often literally, through the campaign in about 15 hours, and now I have a large world filled with nooks and crannies I'm eager to run through and explore. The narrative won’t linger with me, and I avoided combat in the open world often, but I loved making Frey leap and fly through Athia to discover all its treasure chests and secrets.
  27. Jan 23, 2023
    75
    There's something here to get stuck into for fans of open world adventures, and Forspoken isn't without its charms, but like Frey herself, it's often its own worst enemy.
  28. Jan 23, 2023
    75
    Forspoken is neither black nor white, it's a mottled gray of spectacular combat and magical parkour to be experienced within a dated open world.
  29. 75
    Forspoken offers a unique and thrilling experience with its impressive combat and smooth traversal mechanics. The story and open world may fall victim to the pitfalls of its genre and the largely formulaic side quest design only shines occasionally, but it's an overall satisfying and well-crafted action RPG with fast-paced and energetic gameplay.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jan 23, 2023
    Forspoken is a good idea that is unable to build the playable and narrative style to make it shine. We want to explore its world, but there's not much to do, nor does the story push you to do so. [Not Recommended]
  2. Jan 23, 2023
    Forspoken takes it time to get over a wobbly start, but there's something worthwhile here amongst the noise.
  3. Jan 25, 2023
    I’ll come back here and rate the game once I’ve finished the last chapter. However, I’m not convinced that it’s going to become any more magical and entertaining than it is now. It’s a shame, because the game starts from a good place: A new fantasy IP with a take-no-prisoners female protagonist. And I can tell that a lot of the people who worked on the game were sincerely trying. But I can also tell that several others very much were not.
  4. Jan 31, 2023
    Forspoken deserves better than what shipped on January 24. The strength of its story and protagonist do outpace its many problems, but much like Frey’s early struggles in seeing her own greatness, it’s clouded by unfortunate circumstances.
  5. Jan 23, 2023
    Forspoken’s final hours feature a bizarre difficulty curve, where I found myself absolutely destroying certain bosses before the full dialogue could even play out, only to then be pitted against the big bad who, among other things, featured a one-hit kill cleverly disguised as a cutscene.
  6. Jan 23, 2023
    There’s a fascinating story and incredible parkour action buried under lackluster combat and a game lacking technical polish.
User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1191 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Jan 25, 2023
    0
    Whoa! This game really is BAD! Somehow the writers (if there actually were any?!) have managed to create possibly the most irritating andWhoa! This game really is BAD! Somehow the writers (if there actually were any?!) have managed to create possibly the most irritating and unlikeable character in the history of gaming who is incapable of uttering a single sentence without swearing constantly, she's bitter, mean and just horrible in every way. Apparently there is a narrative but good luck figuring out what it is, as the writing is terrible. Not even the gameplay or game world are well done. The combat and traversal just feel too floaty, the "enemies" (a lot of which are just animals in the game world) are the most generic dull creations you can imagine. Then you have numbers spilling out all over the place during combat which looks awful, then there's the graphics which seem to switch between reasonable looking to low rez 720p and lower. As for the game world itself, it's just lazily designed and rather dull looking, there's just nothing very inventive about the world design...oh and the npcs are all brain dead. There's literally nothing good in this game at all. Quite an achievement for Square Enix! Full Review »
  2. Jan 25, 2023
    0
    Whatever few positive points I can find to say about this game (the traversal can be satisfying, especially later on as more movementWhatever few positive points I can find to say about this game (the traversal can be satisfying, especially later on as more movement abilities open up) are swallowed up in totality the cloud of Forspoken’s mediocre graphics, disturbingly bad writing, and shallow combat. An absolute disaster of a game with a particularly unlikable protagonist. Full Review »
  3. Jan 25, 2023
    0
    Damn didn’t think it was gonna suck this bad. First disappointment of 2023.