User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1190 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 26, 2023
    0
    Empty lifeless world, bad writing, last gen graphics, boring story. What more could you want from a current gen AAA game?
  2. Jan 26, 2023
    2
    Where do I begin with this mess of a game.
    1) boring npcs
    2) cringe writing for dialog 3) antagonist is absolutely unlikable, hates everyone and everything. Uses the f-bomb every two words. ( should've left her ass in the real world to begin with and chose a better character to use.) 4) graphics are bland as hell 5) poor choice of design to make character static in dialog 6) bad
    Where do I begin with this mess of a game.
    1) boring npcs
    2) cringe writing for dialog
    3) antagonist is absolutely unlikable, hates everyone and everything. Uses the f-bomb every two words. ( should've left her ass in the real world to begin with and chose a better character to use.)
    4) graphics are bland as hell
    5) poor choice of design to make character static in dialog 6) bad performance setting still get tons of stutter
    7) where are the enemies? Mostly boring ass animals.
    8) world is empty and lifeless.
    9) spells are cool and traversal is as well, but it doesn't last.

    Overall - do not buy at full price, wait for huge sale or dont buy at all and wait for something better, and if you are a minor, don't play around parents that don't like cussing. You will get an earfull.
    Expand
  3. Jan 26, 2023
    1
    I never feel the need to leave reviews on games but I took this one personally. £60! I'm not joking when I say that it is a truly bad experience in every imaginable aspect. The only reason I have even given it a 1 is because it has taught me a valuable life lesson to watch gameplay videos before buying a game. Because buying Forspoken is one of the worst mistakes I have made in gaming.
  4. Jan 26, 2023
    0
    garbage game, developers should be ashamed to release such dumbed down gameplay
  5. Jan 26, 2023
    0
    Boring, terrible awful like Sony Games. This game really is BAD
    Damn didn’t think it was gonna suck this bad
  6. Jan 26, 2023
    0
    Usles game, waste of time, bad story, verry expensive, the girl is anoying.
  7. Jan 25, 2023
    3
    The dialog is the worst part of the game. Frey's personality is dead. That is not how you write teen angst. The magic effects are pretty.
  8. Jan 26, 2023
    2
    $95 cad, for a mediocre at best, terribly optimized game? No thanks. Save your money and buy 5 great indie titles instead.
  9. Jan 25, 2023
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The world comes off as bland, empty and generic. The protagonist are unlikable with all their tounge-in-cheek bantering, and the dialogue comes off as cringey most of the time. The different bio-domes are amount to just colored filters. The story was as generic as the world and felt like it was written by an A.I

    The only plus I can give was its combat sytem, but it was soured by the lack of/amount of recycled enemies through the game.

    If you really want to dive into this game, Play the demo first. My experience was exactly the same as when I played the demo, only difference was that my bad experience is prolonged in the full version of the game.
    Expand
  10. Jan 26, 2023
    3
    Probably the worse writing seen in a video game since that awful Duke Nukem game that we all want to forget, lifeless bland open world that’s feels uninspired and gives me PTSD flashbacks to playing Anthem. It’s actually impressive, it’s like the developers decided to be inspired by the worse games to ever release. I’d like to say that the gameplay makes up for its shortcomings like otherProbably the worse writing seen in a video game since that awful Duke Nukem game that we all want to forget, lifeless bland open world that’s feels uninspired and gives me PTSD flashbacks to playing Anthem. It’s actually impressive, it’s like the developers decided to be inspired by the worse games to ever release. I’d like to say that the gameplay makes up for its shortcomings like other reviews have but I just can’t, the “parkour” movement system gets old real quick, and the combat (despite being the strongest part of the game) also suffers the same fate, after a few hours you just begin to ask the question why am I even playing this? Overall, awful writing, bland open world, and lacklustre combat. Expand
  11. Jan 26, 2023
    0
    They delayed reviews by a day to try to not get as many negative reviews. They didn’t send any PC review codes. That’s some shady practices, Gameplay is just terrible all the way around. Bland world,terrible story,uninspired characters.
  12. Jan 26, 2023
    0
    I WANT more good games to come out this year, so I was hoping this would be good. Unfortunately, it is not. The dialogue is so cringe and insufferable, that the devs had an option to lessen or mute it, entirely. I don't know why they think this kind of banter and personality type would be a hit to the masses. Gameplay is unengaging and boring; doesn't feel impactful and the enemy AI isI WANT more good games to come out this year, so I was hoping this would be good. Unfortunately, it is not. The dialogue is so cringe and insufferable, that the devs had an option to lessen or mute it, entirely. I don't know why they think this kind of banter and personality type would be a hit to the masses. Gameplay is unengaging and boring; doesn't feel impactful and the enemy AI is mindless. It's simply all flash; and nothing underneath. Hopefully this puts an end to this kind of writing. Expand
  13. Jan 25, 2023
    4
    Can be fun at times but it's mostly a mess. I got this for the PS5 because Square has a history of messing up PC ports with terrible optimization and performance but I can say the performance here is pretty bad. I like to play with at least 60 fps but even in performance mode it obviously drops below that constantly. Constant stutters even in closed rooms, combat and open world have evenCan be fun at times but it's mostly a mess. I got this for the PS5 because Square has a history of messing up PC ports with terrible optimization and performance but I can say the performance here is pretty bad. I like to play with at least 60 fps but even in performance mode it obviously drops below that constantly. Constant stutters even in closed rooms, combat and open world have even worse with stuttering. Any other mode runs 30 fps and still has some noticeable stuttering and frame rate drops. Graphics are OK but I certainly wouldn't call them great. Games like God of War: Ragnarok, Horizon and many others all look better and perform much better. Gameplay and combat can be fun but there's nothing special or really all that new. Story is not terrible but not great, the main character is completely unlikable which really takes away from my engagement. I haven't finished the game yet so maybe she gets better. Pacing is way off. Long stretches of boring, insignificant story and wondering around the city go on far too long before getting to any actual action. It's fine for a little bit, but this is way too long. I may make it through the game, I may not. I may also just shelve it for a few months and try again to see if Square actually releases any patches to fix the performance but they aren't known for putting out timely patches so I'm not holding my breath. Overall, this is a game that did have some potential but is nearly a complete miss. Expand
  14. Jan 26, 2023
    0
    Cringe and bad voice acting 720p with 60 fps lol this game is not wroth 70$
  15. Jan 26, 2023
    0
    2008 games have better gameplay and stories than this.Dont waste your gaming time here.I did for a few hours and its miserable.Its not even so bad its good.Its straight up bad and cringe.I should have listened but hey i wanted to check out the world.I had it coming.

    There is nothing to review here.Its a joke of a game.Im frustrated at myself that i even gave this a chance
  16. Jan 25, 2023
    0
    Whatever few positive points I can find to say about this game (the traversal can be satisfying, especially later on as more movement abilities open up) are swallowed up in totality the cloud of Forspoken’s mediocre graphics, disturbingly bad writing, and shallow combat. An absolute disaster of a game with a particularly unlikable protagonist.
  17. Jan 25, 2023
    0
    Whoa! This game really is BAD! Somehow the writers (if there actually were any?!) have managed to create possibly the most irritating and unlikeable character in the history of gaming who is incapable of uttering a single sentence without swearing constantly, she's bitter, mean and just horrible in every way. Apparently there is a narrative but good luck figuring out what it is, as theWhoa! This game really is BAD! Somehow the writers (if there actually were any?!) have managed to create possibly the most irritating and unlikeable character in the history of gaming who is incapable of uttering a single sentence without swearing constantly, she's bitter, mean and just horrible in every way. Apparently there is a narrative but good luck figuring out what it is, as the writing is terrible. Not even the gameplay or game world are well done. The combat and traversal just feel too floaty, the "enemies" (a lot of which are just animals in the game world) are the most generic dull creations you can imagine. Then you have numbers spilling out all over the place during combat which looks awful, then there's the graphics which seem to switch between reasonable looking to low rez 720p and lower. As for the game world itself, it's just lazily designed and rather dull looking, there's just nothing very inventive about the world design...oh and the npcs are all brain dead. There's literally nothing good in this game at all. Quite an achievement for Square Enix! Expand
  18. Jan 25, 2023
    4
    The open world was massively boring for me. This game is not engaging whatsoever, and the combat is mediocre at best.
  19. Jan 25, 2023
    0
    Major flaws of this game:
    > outdated open world design
    > empty world only made big to pretend there is scope
    > repetitive gameplay
    > outdated graphics (early PS4 era)
    > atrocious writing
    > horrible narrative design
  20. Jan 25, 2023
    0
    Damn didn’t think it was gonna suck this bad. First disappointment of 2023.
  21. Jan 25, 2023
    2
    this game could have been so much cooler, except they chose to make it cringe. refunded.
  22. Jan 25, 2023
    0
    This game wasn't fun the story was really boring and the characters were poorly executed
  23. Jan 25, 2023
    0
    Empty world, kinda boring and generic, graphics aren't great in performance mode, npc are poorly made (looks like a ps4 game). However, parkour is original and fun.
  24. Jan 25, 2023
    3
    The world comes off as bland, empty and generic. The protagonist are unlikable with all their tounge-in-cheek bantering, and the dialogue comes off as cringey most of the time. The different bio-domes are amount to just colored filters. The story was as generic as the world and felt like it was written by an A.I

    The only plus I can give was its combat sytem, but it was soured by the
    The world comes off as bland, empty and generic. The protagonist are unlikable with all their tounge-in-cheek bantering, and the dialogue comes off as cringey most of the time. The different bio-domes are amount to just colored filters. The story was as generic as the world and felt like it was written by an A.I

    The only plus I can give was its combat sytem, but it was soured by the lack of/amount of recycled enemies through the game.

    If you really want to dive into this game, Play the demo first. My experience was exactly the same as when I played the demo, only difference was that my bad experience is prolonged in the full version of the game.
    Expand
  25. Jan 25, 2023
    0
    We all knew from the trailers that the protagonist would be annoying as hell. I thought though that I could just change the language to Japanese and everything else would be solid. I should've known better.

    Not only is the protagonist super annoying, but everything else is terrible as well: poor overall story and writing, shallow combat, dissapointing graphics. Don't buy into the
    We all knew from the trailers that the protagonist would be annoying as hell. I thought though that I could just change the language to Japanese and everything else would be solid. I should've known better.

    Not only is the protagonist super annoying, but everything else is terrible as well: poor overall story and writing, shallow combat, dissapointing graphics. Don't buy into the marketing; this game is just flat-out bad.
    Expand
  26. Jan 25, 2023
    0
    I hate it how Optimization is an after thought in modern gaming. Especially for something that looks like an early PS4 game
  27. Jan 25, 2023
    0
    Todo esta mal con esta porqueria, soundtrack soso, gameplay poco intuitivo y para nada divertido, es todo lo contrario, es frustrante y eso es malo, el juego quiere copiarle a Sonic Frontiers con el concepto de recorrer un mundo abierto a toda velocidad, pero ForsWOKEn fracasa en todo y Sonic no, Forspoken tiene un mundo abierto vacío y demasiado pequeño, mas bien deberia llamarse "patioTodo esta mal con esta porqueria, soundtrack soso, gameplay poco intuitivo y para nada divertido, es todo lo contrario, es frustrante y eso es malo, el juego quiere copiarle a Sonic Frontiers con el concepto de recorrer un mundo abierto a toda velocidad, pero ForsWOKEn fracasa en todo y Sonic no, Forspoken tiene un mundo abierto vacío y demasiado pequeño, mas bien deberia llamarse "patio de juegos", la mecánica de los hechizos es un punto a destacar y el único punto bueno del juego, pero eso no salva todo el desastre que es, el combate es repetitivo, aburrido y recompensa poco, el apartado artístico es basura, con un mundo medieval genérico y el diseño de los enemigos y personajes lo empeora, la narrativa es horripilante, se llega poner fuerte a mediados del juego pero no se pone tan fuerte que digamos y no la salva por completo, solo se trata de una historia de tu tipico Isekai genérico y ya, con una protagonista con nada de personalidad, desarrollo o carisma, es un protagonista plano como fue de esperarse y las actuaciones y expresiones faciales de los personajes son tan pero TAAAAAAN horripilantes, que hace ver las actuaciones y expresiones del Sonic Adventure de Dreamcast como una obra maestra.
    Como conclusión... Forspoken es una cosa genérica, que desde la Tokyo Game Show estaba apestando a flatulencias y que los Sonyers con todo orgullo van a tragarse y defender esta cosa a capa y espada porque es su exclusivo, mejor invierte esos 70 dolares en algo que valga la pena como Mario Odyssey, Kirby and the Fogotten Land o Sonic Frontiers o ahorrarlos para futuros lanzamientos de videojuegos como Zelda Tears of the Kingdom, RE4 Remake o Hogwarts Legacy, si dudabas de este juego, tenias razon, es un bodrio y un chiste mal contado.

    ESTE VIDEOJUEGO NADA ESPERABA O NADA DIO
    Expand
  28. Jan 25, 2023
    0
    This game is a pure joke. Poor story. Downgraded graphics from the trailer big time. A bland and boring open world, bad dialogue and Soundtrack that’s extremely annoying. The only upside is gameplay is fluid and fast but that alone is not worth 79,99€ for the standard European version. Can’t even refund because of PlayStations policies. Guess jokes on me. #sonyiwantmymoney
  29. Jan 25, 2023
    0
    Had potential but was ruined by poor writing, characters, and optimization...
  30. Jan 25, 2023
    0
    One of the worst games I've ever seen. At first I began to list the shortcomings in detail, but when I got to half it turned out to be a huge wall of text, so I gave it up ... Just don't buy this misunderstanding ...
  31. Jan 25, 2023
    3
    This is "Baby's first open world game". It's so formulaic, that you can name any open world cliche and it will be in the game. Square Enix should have made this game linear, maybe then it would have been good. As it stands now it's just a subpar open world game in an ocean of open world games.
  32. Jan 25, 2023
    0
    Awful game. Definitely not a 10. Stop defending this trash so SE can release better.
  33. Jan 25, 2023
    0
    The game looks last gen and performs horribly. What really gets the low score here is the absolute disaster of a story, a main character that completely fails and who hates the world every single minute of her life. They even let you lower the amount she talks because its so awful. Did I mention she uses cuss words every third word? There is only one reason this game was made,The game looks last gen and performs horribly. What really gets the low score here is the absolute disaster of a story, a main character that completely fails and who hates the world every single minute of her life. They even let you lower the amount she talks because its so awful. Did I mention she uses cuss words every third word? There is only one reason this game was made, diversity.....everything else in the game was an afterthought Expand
  34. Jan 25, 2023
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Huge let down, for a Playstation exclusive this is absolutely trash. Boring empty open world, ABSOLUTELY BORING PROTAGONIST who's cringe af and I hate with passion.and no character development with major lack in backstory or story at all...so much you don't find yourself caring about the people/world you're supposed to be saving. Good concept poor execution and to say Expand
  35. Jan 25, 2023
    1
    Cringe in game form...That is what this is...Its the same toxic level of cringe we got from the terible Saints Row Reboot..The gameplay is wonky and repetative, they expect flashy particle effects and big explosions to make up for the messy unsatisfying feel of it all. Your unlikable ( politically corect, ceiling breaking) protagonist flops around the screen like a fish out of waterCringe in game form...That is what this is...Its the same toxic level of cringe we got from the terible Saints Row Reboot..The gameplay is wonky and repetative, they expect flashy particle effects and big explosions to make up for the messy unsatisfying feel of it all. Your unlikable ( politically corect, ceiling breaking) protagonist flops around the screen like a fish out of water spewing tech effects in all directions,. Its just lazy and uninspired. This is another game where you might be in another world but everyone acts and talks like the are on a college campus in California or San fransisco. Horrible writing and characters! Another painful modern game with painful modern writing, bloated mechanics and stale over blown gameplay. Expand
  36. Jan 25, 2023
    3
    What can I say. Last last gen graphics, typical storyline, horrible dialogue, main character is an unbearable foul mouth , unlikable mess, combat is clumsy and repetitive repetitive repetitive. Jumping around in the open world is the only thing that's remotely fun. It's a game that should have been released 5-6 years ago and even then I'd still give it a 3/10. Plenty of better gamesWhat can I say. Last last gen graphics, typical storyline, horrible dialogue, main character is an unbearable foul mouth , unlikable mess, combat is clumsy and repetitive repetitive repetitive. Jumping around in the open world is the only thing that's remotely fun. It's a game that should have been released 5-6 years ago and even then I'd still give it a 3/10. Plenty of better games out there. Stay clear of this one. Expand
  37. Jan 25, 2023
    0
    Awful game, mediocre gameplay, poor performance beyond my understanding.

    Do not buy this game!
  38. Jan 25, 2023
    0
    Worst dialog and voice acting I've ever experienced in a game. Open world seems pointless with the path of the game, feels very linear. Gameplay is uninteresting.

    Recommend passing on this one. Or at least wait for a deep sale.
  39. Jan 25, 2023
    0
    Get ready for your ears to bleed because this game is cringe beyond belief. The game isn't worth 4 dollars. Seriously, go install UE5 and run their free tech demos and you will have a funner time than this game.

    If Square Enix has any integrity they should allow refunds for anyone that asks.
  40. Jan 25, 2023
    0
    Amazing game the traversal the gameplay mechanics spotbon ignore the hate and just have fun I especially love how the cuffs voice is similar to Jarvis from Iron man! for balance
  41. Jan 25, 2023
    0
    Muy repetitivo, gráficamente bueno pero aburrido. Mundo abierto vacío, repetición de monstruos, misiones secundarias aburridas y el combate repetitivo. Ni por 60 euros lo hubiera comprado… en GAME en menos de un mes vale 30 euros… y los diálogos cuando pasas porque ya lo has leído se para y carga la siguiente frase. MUY MAL SQUARE.
  42. Feb 6, 2023
    0
    Unlikable character, lifeless world, cringe writing, generic title that the world don't need.
  43. MKY
    Feb 5, 2023
    0
    don't waste your time on it, just skip it enteirly there is plenty of good games out there
  44. Feb 5, 2023
    1
    There is no plot. Empty world. Lots of spells that are not needed. Bad optimization. Full of sh1t. I give TWO points. People will forget about this game in two weeks. (ง ͠°ل͜ ͡°)ง
    Everything is terrible: optimization, design, plot, and voice....
    One of the worst games I've ever seen in my life ʕ•ᴥ•ʔ▄︻̷̿┻̿═━一
  45. Feb 6, 2023
    0
    C'est très mauvais. Un jeu complétement vide et qui mérite amplement sa mauvaise note. L'histoire n'a rien d'intéressant.
    .
  46. Feb 6, 2023
    0
    Forspoken es un juego con una buena historia, a pesar de varios clichés, pero que termina teniendo giros argumentales sorprendentes. La jugabilidad, aunque difícil de dominar al 100%, es muy dinámica en el combate y quizá sea éste su punto fuerte.
    Todo lo contrario de su mundo abierto. Un mundo muerto, vacío y realmente aburrido en el que solo destaca la abrumadora cantidad de
    Forspoken es un juego con una buena historia, a pesar de varios clichés, pero que termina teniendo giros argumentales sorprendentes. La jugabilidad, aunque difícil de dominar al 100%, es muy dinámica en el combate y quizá sea éste su punto fuerte.
    Todo lo contrario de su mundo abierto. Un mundo muerto, vacío y realmente aburrido en el que solo destaca la abrumadora cantidad de coleccionables de diversos tipos y que realmente no suponen un beneficio para el desarrollo del personaje. Recomendable únicamente si su precio baja o está de oferta, no vale lo que cuesta.
    Expand
  47. Feb 5, 2023
    0
    The hate on the Game is way too hard. But its also not the best Game of all times.
    Most fun Gameplay i had in a long time tho.
    The Story is good but feels fast foward after 2nd Main Boss.
    Its wasted potential and could be better.

    I did and would again buy it but you could also wait i guess.
  48. Feb 6, 2023
    1
    The only good about this game is the theme song. ………………………………………………………………..
  49. Feb 2, 2023
    1
    Forspoken's dialogues give me stage 3 cancer. I'd rather eat an expired banana coverd in dunkey piss.
  50. Jan 26, 2023
    2
    A generic and boring game, I expected more from this game, the only saving grace is the graphics
  51. Jan 30, 2023
    2
    El juego es tan malo como su desarrolladora, Va siendo momento que square enix piense bien lo que tiene que hacaer.
  52. Jan 30, 2023
    0
    Unoptimized woke trash. More one liners than Marvel movies. Lags even on RTX 4090. For 80 Euro you can get at least 3 better games.
  53. Jan 30, 2023
    1
    Sorry but this game is a perfect example of woke, overhyped garbage. It was very promising from what we saw in trailers but I feel like the finished product is a parody of what it could have been. The writing is weak, solidified by the over use of the F-bomb. The voice acting is cringe to the point where the sound of the protagonists voice actually gets on my nerves after a little while.Sorry but this game is a perfect example of woke, overhyped garbage. It was very promising from what we saw in trailers but I feel like the finished product is a parody of what it could have been. The writing is weak, solidified by the over use of the F-bomb. The voice acting is cringe to the point where the sound of the protagonists voice actually gets on my nerves after a little while. Graphically I find it underwhelming, especially with how much Square Enix hyped up how hard they were working on it. I guess this is just a reminder that not everything Sony throws money at is going to be a hit. Expand
  54. Jan 30, 2023
    0
    I honestly couldn't even make it past the demo, I wanted it off my computer almost immediately. It felt like the devs were given individual tasks to work on and weren't allowed to communicate with anyone else, then they pieced it together....I do not recommend.
  55. Jan 27, 2023
    2
    Not like I've expected much of this game.. still ended up disappointed tho..
  56. Jan 30, 2023
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What is this abomination? Without a doubt, this game is one of the most cringe-worthy experiences I have ever encountered. The worst part is that there doesn't seem to be anything redeeming about the entire experience; it's just a terrible mess from start to finish. Expand
  57. Jan 30, 2023
    1
    This game is $90aud.... thank G... for the 7 days return...
    Its just so bad...
  58. Jan 26, 2023
    0
    The game is plagued with a laundry list of issues that stem from choices the designers made. They created an expansive world that ended up being a barren wasteland. A forgettable and unappealing world , reminiscent of games like Death Stranding and Sonic Frontiers. As unsatisfactory as the world feels, the gameplay felt more off-putting still. A clumsy UI to select different abilities andThe game is plagued with a laundry list of issues that stem from choices the designers made. They created an expansive world that ended up being a barren wasteland. A forgettable and unappealing world , reminiscent of games like Death Stranding and Sonic Frontiers. As unsatisfactory as the world feels, the gameplay felt more off-putting still. A clumsy UI to select different abilities and repetitive combat that feels unsatisfying and unrewarding. The unpleasant dialogue makes the main character very unlikeable throughout the game. A game designed with very little care, with a very high price tag. Not recommended at all. Expand
  59. Jan 26, 2023
    0
    everything from the getgo just feels poorly made.
    also why would the protagonist curse every 3 seconds?
  60. Jan 29, 2023
    2
    Why....i desperately wanted it to be good..just sad..just So much potential wasted
  61. RB7
    Jan 26, 2023
    2
    I was looking forward to this game from the trailers, however this is a other miss from Square Enix. It's great to see a person of colour as the protagonist but the writing fails her miserably. She is unbelievably boring and this is highlighted with her interactions with the just as uninteresting NPC's. The dialogue between her and Cuff is so cringy they give you and option to dial itI was looking forward to this game from the trailers, however this is a other miss from Square Enix. It's great to see a person of colour as the protagonist but the writing fails her miserably. She is unbelievably boring and this is highlighted with her interactions with the just as uninteresting NPC's. The dialogue between her and Cuff is so cringy they give you and option to dial it back. The premise is actually interesting but the execution of it is poor. The amount of hand holding and black screens make the beginning of the game a slog and a chore to play. This results in the plot overall being uninteresting to me and doesn't come close to capturing the imagination. The open world feels empty even though there are things to do. This is because they don't give a good enough reason to actually do side quests/things on the map. It feels like they just randomly put things on the map without any thought. Gameplay feels decent but only against bigger enemies does it feel satisfying. Against smaller enemies it feels u rewarding. The game also doesn't run well on PC. This is what I and most PC gamers are expected and currently experiencing. The writing was on the wall for how bad the PC version would be as no PC codes were sent to reviewers before launch, which is a major red flag.
    Ultimately Forspoken fails on a lot of levels, and the game being $10 more than usual is just pathetic. This is a game that'll be heavily discounted in a couple of months because of how bad it is, so save your money and only buy it if the discount is around 60%/70% off and above.
    Expand
  62. Jan 26, 2023
    0
    the game is complete garbage cash grab, no soul, ps2 graphics , horrible protagonist and story, another square failure since they are working with sony
  63. Jan 27, 2023
    0
    Anything that woke touches turns to sh*t....What a waste of a man's time...
  64. Jan 26, 2023
    2
    Green reviews are paid reviews. Bad game with bad narrative, boring as hell, etc.
  65. Jan 26, 2023
    2
    Juego muy aburrido no innova nada jugabilidad muy tosca y downgrade increíble lo peor del año sin duda
  66. Jan 28, 2023
    2
    (Overhyped, wait for it to be fixed and deep sale then play it if you want something to turn off your brain too)

    I didn't buy this game, I played about 6 hrs on my idiot friend who suffer a severe case of preorder disorder. The characters of the story especially MC Frey are insufferable. The story is incoherent and ludicrous. Performance and resolution is a "fecal matter" which strange
    (Overhyped, wait for it to be fixed and deep sale then play it if you want something to turn off your brain too)

    I didn't buy this game, I played about 6 hrs on my idiot friend who suffer a severe case of preorder disorder. The characters of the story especially MC Frey are insufferable. The story is incoherent and ludicrous. Performance and resolution is a "fecal matter" which strange coming from Square Enix.

    The only good thing which made me not to give it zero is the combat is ok but need more work. NPCs are zombies from PS1 era music beautiful but broken, skip button too slow and frustrating, characters look ugly and wired, etc...

    Wait for it to be fixed and deep sale then play it if you want something to turn your brain off to,
    Expand
  67. Jan 28, 2023
    2
    Very disappointed. The downgrade is very obvious compared from what they showed previously. The world feels empty. Also the controls aren’t comfortable to use.
  68. Jan 27, 2023
    0
    This game dialogue and writing are atrocious and the story very basic with the most dislikable protagonist ever.
  69. Jan 28, 2023
    2
    Cringe, Boring, Empty. Don't Buyt it.
    Seriously, it is the first big disappointment of the new year.
    Avoid it.
  70. Jan 26, 2023
    0
    Trash and looks terrible on PS5. Another unfinished, unpolished game. It’s crazy that this game is a “next gen” exclusive. This could pass for a late PS3 early PS4 game. Visuals are blurry and muddy. The world is lifeless and baron. Such a disappointment.
  71. Jan 26, 2023
    0
    One of the worst games i've ever played! Absolute zero likeable characters, specially the main character wich is the most annoying girl i've seen in a video game!
  72. Jan 27, 2023
    1
    This is the result of years and years of people buying garbage games and being ok with it. These are indeed the dark ages of gaming. I refunded the game on steam. It's not even a game.. its torture... Instead, I'd read through an encyclopedia backward and have to play this for another minute.. it doesn't even look good.. you'd think AT LEAST they could make it look good, but it seems worseThis is the result of years and years of people buying garbage games and being ok with it. These are indeed the dark ages of gaming. I refunded the game on steam. It's not even a game.. its torture... Instead, I'd read through an encyclopedia backward and have to play this for another minute.. it doesn't even look good.. you'd think AT LEAST they could make it look good, but it seems worse than some games in 2008. We need to start rating these games and rate them HARSHLY to send a message to these developers. I'm done with these garbage AAA games. Expand
  73. Jan 26, 2023
    2
    I wanted to like this game as I thought clips were being cherry picked to make it look bad. I was wrong. The dialogue alone was enough to make me stop playing. I've never had this experience before with a game. I guess if you are deaf give it a go otherwise save your money.
  74. Jan 26, 2023
    2
    This game causes a cringe from the first minutes. Made a REFUND. The game is worse than rotten eggs.
  75. Jan 27, 2023
    2
    Wow this game stinks. Invisible walls and respawns when you go off track, who thought that was a good idea for big open world game? Main character is not good imo and starts with her terrible dialog. Frame rate is bad probably poor optimization since there is not much going on at times on screen. The spells are cool but I never found the combat to feel smooth or fun. Sony probably shouldWow this game stinks. Invisible walls and respawns when you go off track, who thought that was a good idea for big open world game? Main character is not good imo and starts with her terrible dialog. Frame rate is bad probably poor optimization since there is not much going on at times on screen. The spells are cool but I never found the combat to feel smooth or fun. Sony probably should have not bought this one exclusively. Going to try to sell it while there's still a little interest in the game. Expand
  76. Jan 26, 2023
    0
    Everything is bad. Move, combat, story, characters, enviroment. This is not 4A game. This is not 3A game. Its anoying stupid game with terrible quality.
  77. Xsg
    Jan 26, 2023
    0
    Worst graphics I have ever seen and with dialogues meant to make you sleep.
  78. Jan 26, 2023
    1
    everything in this game is wrong, story gameplay etc,
    honestly the state of games is awful ,shame on the studios and game developers
  79. Jan 26, 2023
    0
    The game would be considered decent if it was an Indie game, priced at a max of 40$, but considering it is a AAA game, marketed as aiming for the best graphic, this is absolute trash if we look at optimization and quality. This can be called a flop even if it was an Indie game
  80. Jan 26, 2023
    0
    This game is so bad that is so sad. Had big hopes for this game but got disappointed .. do not spend a penny on it !!!
  81. Jan 26, 2023
    0
    A game with sooooo much potential but "missed the mark" on just about every aspect of the game!!! Greatness was achievable, it was right there and they just couldn't get there unfortunately and ended up being one of the clunkiest, worst games I have ever played! Glad I did the free trial and didn't throw my money away! I wont even play this game if they put it in the PS5 plus store forA game with sooooo much potential but "missed the mark" on just about every aspect of the game!!! Greatness was achievable, it was right there and they just couldn't get there unfortunately and ended up being one of the clunkiest, worst games I have ever played! Glad I did the free trial and didn't throw my money away! I wont even play this game if they put it in the PS5 plus store for free. It really is that bad!!! The worst part to me about this is that this is the game, out of ALL games I was looking forward to the most. I couldn't stop talking to my friends and family about it. Really disappointing. Expand
  82. Jan 26, 2023
    0
    This is why Games should not cost $69.99, they say they charge more because of the graphics, well the graphics in this game looks like Ps3 graphics, every 5 seconds there is a cut scene and the story is horrible, no wonder there was an embargo on this game until release date and there should be a law against showing trailers made on super computers and then releasing a game made on an Atari 2600.
  83. Jan 27, 2023
    0
    stupid camera position ruins the game. Put the character in the center!!!!!
  84. Jan 27, 2023
    3
    Great idea for a new IP, unfortunately bad optimized for his launch nothing different from the demo and really downgrade of what we see on the trailer, forspoken will need a lot of help to run properly, even after said this game was made for PS5 it doesn't even run properly on the PC or the console.
  85. Jan 27, 2023
    0
    Basura infecta ,me lo han dejado y después de esperar 4 horas a que la Ps5 se descargarse el juego me he puesto a jugarlo,20 minutos he aguantado jugando este truño con gráficos de PS3 y una jugabilidad que dan ganas de llorar.
  86. Jan 26, 2023
    3
    It looks like Square Enix went to the same recruiting agency that has been supplying the individuals trashing the Disney Marvel Universe. It literally has the same humor as the recent She Hulk. The positive here is at least it's not an existing intellectual property being trashed. The main character is completely unlikable with no redeeming qualities. She is literally nasty to peopleIt looks like Square Enix went to the same recruiting agency that has been supplying the individuals trashing the Disney Marvel Universe. It literally has the same humor as the recent She Hulk. The positive here is at least it's not an existing intellectual property being trashed. The main character is completely unlikable with no redeeming qualities. She is literally nasty to people that just helped her to an unnatural level where it doesn't even make sense. If the gameplay is just average the story and characters need to make up for it which this game doesn't. Stop listening to the few woke extra loud squeaky wheels and in quotes "professional" game critics that are activist in disguise. Honestly diversity even made sense in the beginning of this game but to overdo it with making every single person in power a women looks like it was just pushing an agenda instead of focusing on making a good game. Diversity is good and won't ruin a good game but forced diversity can make an average game bad which the user scores clearly show. Average game play, average graphics, points for being weird, not likable main character, and way to many other games to play to finish this one. The game is a typical 6 but a 0 for forced diversity making it a 3. It can be immersion breaking & immersion is the whole reason people like Square Enix games. You kill immersion you kill Square Enix. I play videogames to escape the politics of this stupid world and when even I can pull out a scorecard while playing a game something is really wrong. If this is where games are headed thank god there are so many old ones that I have enough for a life time. Expand
  87. Jan 28, 2023
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I need get my money back 70$ for nothing , I have questions why this game is 70 $ ??! Expand
  88. Jan 28, 2023
    0
    The developers should be ashamed of this creation, the open world is lacklustre and unpolished, which coupled with the terribly written dialogue makes the experience of playing this game mentally draining. This game is not worth $115AUD, let alone half that. Don't waste your money.
  89. Jan 28, 2023
    2
    It’s just a bad game. The main character is toxic and not likable, graphics and lighting is half baked and feels like PS4 game era, the world feels empty, the enemies feels boring and repetitive, technical optimization is not finished. It’s just bad.
  90. Jan 30, 2023
    4
    No da la talla cono rpg, ni como mundo abierto ni técnicamente.
    Lo he acabado en 13 horas.
    Aburrido, vacío, insulso, tedioso.
    No puedo recomendar su compra.
  91. Jan 26, 2023
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Давайте сначала о достоинствах, в этой игре действительно очень хороший OST. К сожалению, на этом достоинства заканчиваются.

    Я поиграл в неё 3 часа, с надеждой, что вот-вот станет лучше, но становилось только скучнее, а недостатков появлялось все больше и больше.

    Начнем с того, что графически игра выглядит гораздо хуже большинства игр поколения PS4. Нью-Йорк из Spider Man или Division выглядел гораздо более живым, красивым и детализированным. Освещение в Forspoken отвратительное, там где все проблемные участки можно было спрятать освещением или режиссурой сцены - абсолютная пустота.

    Открытый мир Атии, или как он там, вообще напоминает ММО, абсолютно пустые и голые поля с группами врагов, которые просто стоят и ничего не делают, пока не подойдешь их бить. Геймплей как был скучным в деске, так таким же и остался. Циферки, выпадающие из них в интерфейсе на момент написания отзыва не отключались.

    Может бы вытащил все это дело сюжет, но увы, он на таком низком уровне, что лучше бы его просто не было. С момента, когда в доме героини начинается пожар и она уже будучи одетой просто игнорирует сумку с деньгами пока не найдет кошку... Ну, вы сами должны увидеть эту сцену, ничего, абсолютно ничего не мешало её взять эту сумку за 2 секунды, которая стояла прямо перед ней, а потом спасти кошку. Я понимаю, что таким образом сценаристы хотели "раскрыть героя", мол она выбрала спасти кошку и лишилась всего, но это не делается так тупо.

    Далее побег из башни-тюрьмы, мы сбегаем, тревога, весь город на ушах, нас все ищут стража прочесывает каждый уголок. Но уже с утра в этом же городе всем АБСОЛЮТНО наплевать на ваше присутствие. С вами здороваются местные жители, стражники приветствуют и улыбаются.. Эммм, простите что? Я восемь часов назад сбежал из тюрьмы и вы уже ничего не помните? В городе всего человек 100 живет...

    И вот так у них все, корявые анимации, постоянные зацепы героини за окружение, одинаковые дома, одинаковые текстуры всего, плохое освещение, плохой сюжет, постоянные "фак, фак , щит, фак, крап, фак , фак" где это совершенно неуместно.

    Короче не покупайте это, кроме музыки ничего хорошего в Forspoken нет.
    Expand
  92. Jan 26, 2023
    0
    One of the most unlikable characters in recent memory for a video game. Combat is fun but is completely ruined by poor character design and an empty open world. Square should focus less on appealing to a Western audience.
  93. Jan 26, 2023
    0
    Very disappointed with the game. Bland story line. I was really expecting more! And the worst part is, I can’t get my money back
  94. Jan 26, 2023
    0
    This game is from Square so I expected it to be at least good at story and character but boy do I be wrong. The characters are cringy the story is nonsensical and the gameplay is average FOR A $70 game
  95. Jan 26, 2023
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The graphics downgrade in this game, is insane, how is possible? I just dont understand. Expand
  96. Jan 26, 2023
    0
    720p, Dips to 20fps, bad dialogue. Had to return it for a refund. I wouldn’t recommend it. But if you enjoy it then of course play it.
  97. Jan 26, 2023
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Gameplay sucks as the graphics sucks. I’m trying to like it but it’s not even hitting a steady frame or steady resolution lol 1080 but dips to 720 I couldn’t believe it and Sony Fanboys are saying that their GRAPHICS CARDS beats 3090 lol. Expand
  98. Jan 26, 2023
    0
    Juego insulso vacio aburrido y a 720p es una carta de insulto al mundo de los videojuegos.
  99. Jan 26, 2023
    0
    Should have delayed longer this game is not ready for a ps3 game let alone a ps5.
  100. Jan 26, 2023
    4
    Un juego que salió roto y que desgraciadamente ni con parches quedara decente.
    Square Enix tenía las ideas pero no supo unificarlas.
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 107 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 107
  2. Negative: 9 out of 107
  1. Feb 7, 2023
    50
    Forspoken is a massive open world game, and that's its biggest problem. It's unnecessarily big and there is not enough content and things to do to make up for this huge world, and even though the combat system, spell mechanisms and parkour gameplay are mostly solid, the final product feels shallow and unsatisfying.
  2. Feb 7, 2023
    55
    In some respects Forspoken is a truly modern game that ditches the past generation and its limitations. Sadly, it turned out to be no more than a beautiful foundation ultimately used to create a benchmark rather than a compelling experience. I greeted the end credits with some relief and I’ll remember this game mainly as a case of a criminally wasted potential.
  3. Feb 7, 2023
    65
    Forspoken is a solid action RPG that sadly falls short due to some of its design. The world is just not that interesting to explore and the weird dialogue can detract from an otherwise interesting narrative. I enjoyed my time with the game and if you do dive in, I recommend simply mainlining the core story as it keeps the repetition to a minimum. If you are a sucker for tons of mindless side content though this game has it in spades. I truly wish it was just more interesting though.