User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5977 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    Es demasiado bueno y ya ni desirse del contenido me gusta mucho esido fan de la frankisia desde ase mucho tiempo muchas gracias por el gran empeño que le pusieron ala historia es un gran juego y se ve el amor y empeño de santa Mónica gracias por esta obra de arte
  2. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    this game is the game I've been waiting for. it includes everything! perfect story, graphics, soundtrack, even emotions, and much more!!!. thank you Santa Monica Studio for this divine masterpiece!!!! #GOTY
  3. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    This is a fantastic game! The graphics are impeccable, combat is amazing, story is intriguing, game of the year
  4. Nov 23, 2022
    9
    An absolutely fantastic story that gripped me from start to finish, the characters are unique, and their sidequests are great too.
  5. Nov 15, 2022
    9
    Bien sur que le jeux et une version 1.5 mais il ameliore tout ce que le premier fesai déjà de bien. Que ce doit le gamaplay le bestiaire les musique et les combats de boss tout et magnifié. Un très grand jeux. Profitez du voyage
  6. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played.greet gameplay with great story.....
  7. Nov 11, 2022
    10
    The game has an awesome continuation of the story. Great addition on combat style and combat challenge not too difficult but not so relaxed as well certain in enemies at harder level they keep you entertained. I would say the story was slow in the first 3-4h of gameplay but it picked up greatly. I would say it is GOW 2018 upgraded with new story.
  8. Nov 10, 2022
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. El momento que encuentras a Thor por primera vez, hasta que peleas contra Odin en el Ragnarök, es glorioso, hubo momentos donde se sentía apagado el juego, pero cuando menos lo esperas regresas a la pelea, no le pongo un diez porque me hubiera gustado ver una tercera entrega en la mitología nórdica Expand
  9. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    It's not the game of the year, it's THE GAME OF THE LIFE! 15 years ago I met Kratos, to see how he will finally be what he deserves filled my eyes with tears, I love this story, I love Kratos and Santa Monica!
  10. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    Simplesmente uma obra prima, para o desespero dos haters que vem aqui dar nota baixa só porque não irão conseguir jogar haha só lamento por vocês aceita que dói menos
  11. Nov 11, 2022
    10
    Es un juego que mejora las grandes cosas que ya tenía, es mejor en su jugabilidad y una historia que te engancha con cada personaje que vas conociendo, un 10 de 10 sin duda, gracias a Santa Monica Studios por ofrecernos tanta calidad en cada una de sus entregas.
  12. Nov 11, 2022
    10
    Yo no lo e jugado pero los no se me hace un juego de 0 asi que vengo a contrarrestar uno de esos ceros.
  13. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game has an awesome continuation of the story and the end of the perfect series Expand
  14. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    Game of The year! What Santa Monica Studio does should be taught, and today it can be confidently stated that there are only a few in the entire gaming industry who are capable of similar performance.
  15. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    Buen juego, la optimización para PS4 es hermosa, la historia ni que decir, simplemente GOTY
  16. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    Es un excelente juego. Mejora gráficamente al anterior en todo, detalles a mas no poder. Diseño de arte maravilloso, una banda sonora muy buena. Las batallas muy precisas. La historia me ha volado la cabeza. Maravillosa. En resumen, una obra maestra.
  17. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    This game is a masterpiece and shows what Santa Monica is capable of at their best. It is a perfect mixture of excellent gameplay and graphics moving narrative. I would recommend everyone to try this out at least once because if is one of the best games this console generation has to offer. It makes me glad I got a ps5 in the first place
  18. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    It's a game with so many disadvantages, obviously, such as the number of puzzles and small bugs, but it's a masterpiece because of the father and son that I showed in this game.
  19. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best game ever made. Well done Santa Monica for giving us such a great experience. Expand
  20. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    What a masterpiece videogame . Everything in this game is perfect sure GOTY ❤️
  21. Nov 16, 2022
    10
    No spoiler review.
    This game is a must play, The way the story is told and the character development that exists is insane, from all characters, it is a game that makes you feel all type of emotions and is very enjoyable to complete.
    Personally, it's GOTY.
  22. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    This game is a masterpiece!!! The story, combat, everything about this game is a masterpiece. Thank you Santa Monica Studio for making this wonderful game.
  23. Oup
    Nov 12, 2022
    10
    Absolutely perfect game mechanics. Great sound, great visuals. Great story.
  24. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    Это абсюлютно точна игра года, 10/10
    Разрабы создали игру, которая превосходит нашумевшую в хорошем плане, четвертую часть серии
  25. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    Great, oooooooooooooooooooгонь............................................
  26. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    Game of the year for many reasons a must play gahhsggs shgshsnsjs hdjdjdjsvd
  27. Nov 10, 2022
    10
    An OG GOW fan since day 1 and I’m thankful for the work out into this masterpiece of a game!! Enjoyed every minute of it.
  28. Nov 11, 2022
    10
    GOW Ragnarok maximizes and perfects everything that was already great about the prequel. Storytelling, artwork, dialogue, audio, game-play-mechanics and combat are crafted with so much love for the smallest detail, its simply astonishing. The game is so ultra polished that it comes pretty close to perfection. And man, what an eyeopener the graphics are. One of the few real next-gen-titles.GOW Ragnarok maximizes and perfects everything that was already great about the prequel. Storytelling, artwork, dialogue, audio, game-play-mechanics and combat are crafted with so much love for the smallest detail, its simply astonishing. The game is so ultra polished that it comes pretty close to perfection. And man, what an eyeopener the graphics are. One of the few real next-gen-titles. And one of the best games ever made. 10/10 Expand
  29. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    Absolutely brilliant. Even though some people say it’s the same game as 2018, wasn’t that the case with god of war 2 and other god of wars? Everything is amazing, new additional stuff and better than its predecessor.
  30. Nov 14, 2022
    6
    I do not understand why people are saying this is goty material.

    Let's start with the gameplay. It is the exact same as the first God of War. There isn't much there in terms of gameplay evolution, this could be fine if the story was better however it is not as well written as the previous. I personally believe this is due to the dumbing down of the overall design. The puzzles in
    I do not understand why people are saying this is goty material.

    Let's start with the gameplay.

    It is the exact same as the first God of War. There isn't much there in terms of gameplay evolution, this could be fine if the story was better however it is not as well written as the previous. I personally believe this is due to the dumbing down of the overall design.

    The puzzles in the gameplay frankly are a zero out of ten. Not because of the puzzles themself most are easy enough but due to the NPCS literally being on a 25 second timer to flat out tell you exactly how to do the puzzle. The designers don't even give you a single minute to try and figure it out before whatever NPC you are with explaining what to do and then rushing you along once you finish the puzzle. It is incredibly infuriating and is very telling of who this game was designed for.

    To put it simply the target audience of this game, is not serious gamers. It is people who do not like video games, or people who really just wanted to watch a movie. The NPCS rush you along through puzzles, long stretched out moments of just walking and dialogue, basic gameplay with no major evolutions. The highest difficulty feels like what the normal difficulty would be on a game made 12 years ago.

    This game is designed for the lowest common denominator and frankly it's insulting to be treated like an idiot by the game itself, but that is one of the dead giveaways to who it is designed for.

    The Sony formula is getting stale and the people who find this design appealing are dwindling. It has become an echo chamber of Sony fan boys while genuine criticism gets swished away as petty hate. This game doesn't even deserve to be nominated for GOTY yet alone win it.

    But GOTY awards need money and I'm sure Sony is willing to pay.

    Mid experience, mid, gameplay, atrociously annoying nps. Worth 15 dollars on sale.
    Expand
  31. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    Just simply a masterpiece. Don't know how they did it after 2018 but they beat my highest expectations and delivered the impossible. Was an incredible and compelling thrill ride to the very end. I mean the passion that is on display throughout the hours of playtime... wow! 10/10! 110%
  32. Nov 10, 2022
    10
    As a fan of the previous game, I didn't think a sequel could surpass it. Oh how wrong I was. God of War: Ragnarok ups the stakes, action, and emotion all the way up to 11. The story and characters are phenomenal and improve upon the original in every way. The visuals are once again striking and the action is upped thanks to new gods to fight and enemy varieties, although the rest of theAs a fan of the previous game, I didn't think a sequel could surpass it. Oh how wrong I was. God of War: Ragnarok ups the stakes, action, and emotion all the way up to 11. The story and characters are phenomenal and improve upon the original in every way. The visuals are once again striking and the action is upped thanks to new gods to fight and enemy varieties, although the rest of the gameplay stays mostly the same, which is far from a bad thing given how smooth it was in the 2018 game. God of War: Ragnarok is a triumph and shows just how games can truly be works of art and insanely fun. Expand
  33. Nov 17, 2022
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not bad, but this has already been seen too much already. They recycle areas, animations and enemies and NPCs can be annoying when solving the puzzles that one finds. Playing with the brat Atreus is disgusting. Combat improves a little from the last game, but not enough for it to be top notch. Expand
  34. Nov 11, 2022
    10
    God of War Ragnarök is everything 2018 is, but better. I mean, every little thing has been improved one way or the other, and almost 10 hours in, it shows very well. 2018 was already a critically acclaimed “masterpiece”, but Ragnarök takes it a step forward and really shows the talent at Sony’s Santa Monica Studio, and this game is the crown jewel of the PS5 so far. 10/10 worth playing,God of War Ragnarök is everything 2018 is, but better. I mean, every little thing has been improved one way or the other, and almost 10 hours in, it shows very well. 2018 was already a critically acclaimed “masterpiece”, but Ragnarök takes it a step forward and really shows the talent at Sony’s Santa Monica Studio, and this game is the crown jewel of the PS5 so far. 10/10 worth playing, worth finishing, worth replaying. Expand
  35. Nov 11, 2022
    10
    Juegazo en toda la palabra, perfecta ambientación, soundtrack y variedad de enemigos junto a la trama envolvente
  36. Nov 11, 2022
    10
    como sempre um excelente jogo dos studio #playstation a santa monicoa e outro nivel,

    playstation wins sempre

    ja a concorrencia como sempre NADA, NADA NADA NADA, KKKKKKKKK
  37. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    This game is just perfect in my eyes, an emotional narrative, amazing side characters, everything I hoped for, it may not get game of the year but it is the best game I’ve ever played
  38. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. O jogo em si é uma evolução do primeiro, porém ele inova em vários aspectos, como a história está muito melhor, gameplay está sensacional com adição de novas "armas", o final é sensacional, o plot no meio do jogo deixaria todos que jogaram chocados, a trilha sonora também é incrível. Enfim é um jogo nota 10 que valeu cada centavo. Expand
  39. Nov 16, 2022
    7
    What a disappointment. This can't be the industries "best" aaa game right now.

    The gameplay did not evolve and it is still super restrictive. You have to do everything exactly the way the game wants your to or else you don't move forward. Example you have a special skill that lets you shoot a fireball, you have a puzzle that requires you to light up a candle from a distance. My first
    What a disappointment. This can't be the industries "best" aaa game right now.

    The gameplay did not evolve and it is still super restrictive. You have to do everything exactly the way the game wants your to or else you don't move forward. Example you have a special skill that lets you shoot a fireball, you have a puzzle that requires you to light up a candle from a distance. My first thought was ok i have this new fire ball skill maybe i can just shoot the fire ball to light it up, nope doesnt even effect the candle even with a direct hit, instead you need to use the magic arrows to light a path around wall and you have to perform a specific chain bomb skill to complete the puzzle. This type of gameplay is so outdated and frustrating.

    The story is unsatisfying. The start of it is great but it gets worse the more you play, with all the forced female empowerment moments, all the cringy new characters that you don't care about getting so much screen time and development. Kratos gets completely neutered in this story, its not enough that he doesn't want to fight anymore but now he takes order from the worst character in this series (Freya) with her stupid motivations. Odin and Thor were great but we didn't get enough from them, Odin's motivations were fantastic and i actually was rooting for him to succeed because i wanted to know the answers to his questions but no we get a ton a build up and they seemingly drop the most interesting part of the story. Kratos and Atreus carry the game with their performances but that can only get you so far, by the end i didn't care anymore because everything else was just so frustrating.

    Dear Sony, lets retire the Uncharted/Naughty Dog formula. Its been 10 years of these walky talky movie games, where you NPC's never ever shut the hell up!! Move on!! find a new formula for the next generation. Im so done with this ****
    Expand
  40. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dawno się tak dobrze nie bawiłem w żadnej grze mam już w niej 29 godzin i staram się ją splatynować walka nie zmieniła się za dużo dodali kilka nowych mechanik i tyle ale to nie jest złe fabuła świetna walka z zwykłymi wrogami i bossami jest bardzo trudna więc trzeba się przyłożyć cieszę się że jest możliwość swobodnej eksploracji 8 z 9 światów można trochę pozwiedzać aktywności poboczne są lepsze niż w poprzedniej części i ciekawsze i mniej zanudzające zdziwiłem się jak w jednej z misji nagle okazało się że steruje atreusem a jeszcze później gdy grałem kratosem freja zastępowała atreusa ale to za dużo nie zmienia bo i tak obie postacie strzelają tak samo. Moim zdaniem ta gra jest 10/10 i na spokojnie wygra GOTY 2022 Expand
  41. Nov 11, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best game I've ever played!!! Gameplay and story got me playing this game!!! The scene that shocked me was that Thor was killed by Odin and Tyr was actually Odin. I'm also saddened by Brok's death and Sindri's falling out with Atreus. Odin's death made me happy. At the end Atreus makes his own choice and Kratos respects him. Long story short thank you for such a game!!!! Expand
  42. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    god of war 4 was one of the best video game sequels to ever come out, and ragnarok is the same.
  43. Nov 10, 2022
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Disappointing. You don't even feel like you are fighting with gods anymore. Where in the Norse Myth Odin was like a murican politician with short beard? They made a joke out of Thor too. We before fought Poseidon, Hades, Ares and Zeus and they all felt like a GOD. Here in the last boss fight, it's like you are fighting with mini boss from a random anime game. The writing, dialogues and the characrers are mediocre and it has paced awfully.

    You only get one new weapon the entire game which is very disappointing. The game is joky and it has lost its serious tone. 50% of the game is with Atreus and it's very meh. Is this even God of War? They have ruined the franchise. Also when we talk about Dragons, Nidhogg is the first thing that comes to mind. This dragon is so powerful that Kratos needs to activate his whole power to be able to killing it. The design and the fight itself is very weak and washed.

    The old greek God of War trilogy is remained the best and i don't need to see another God of War anymore after this disappointing Ragnarok.
    Expand
  44. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    Jogo incrível 1.000.00/10 maravilhoso, uma história muito bem construída levando a um desfecho incrível. Ao longo da jornada é possível perceber o quão grande é o Ragnarok, tudo oque ele está fazendo com todos os reinos e com os personagens envolvidos, o Impacto que isso tem nas escolhas que são tomadas e como tudo levara ao fim
  45. Nov 14, 2022
    10
    People might say that it's a DLC but tbh, no. Not at all have I felt that it was a DLC at all. The graphics, gameplay, etc . Is amazing truly a must play
  46. Nov 10, 2022
    10
    Kratosun thora attığı yumruk > tüm x box oyunlarının alayının içinden geçer ağlamak masanın üstüne çıkıp tepinmek serbest kıskançlık krizleri başlasın
  47. Nov 11, 2022
    10
    O começo é impecável o meio e o fim pra mim com certeza leva o jogo do ano
  48. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    God of War Ragnarok é uma obra prima como poucos hoje na indústria. O jogo é maior, mais profundo e épico em todos os aspectos. É uma verdadeira sequência do jogo de 2018 que já era incrível, mas God of War Ragnarok é a melhor evolução e amadurecimento que a franquia poderia ter. História fantástica, lutas épicas e uma gameplay excelente e melhorado. Merece todo o reconhecimento peloGod of War Ragnarok é uma obra prima como poucos hoje na indústria. O jogo é maior, mais profundo e épico em todos os aspectos. É uma verdadeira sequência do jogo de 2018 que já era incrível, mas God of War Ragnarok é a melhor evolução e amadurecimento que a franquia poderia ter. História fantástica, lutas épicas e uma gameplay excelente e melhorado. Merece todo o reconhecimento pelo esforço e carinho dedicado à nós, fãs, e fazer um jogo que, é evidente, que foi feito com todo o amor e alma. Parabéns, Santa Monica. Expand
  49. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    Masterpiece again truly worthy sequel God of war ragnarok is perfect in every part
  50. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    Facilmente um dos melhores jogos da minha vida, lutas muito bem feitas, historia muito bem desenvolvida e o principal… a implementação de novas características para jogabilidade.
  51. Nov 12, 2022
    9
    This game is umbeliavable, it's a masterclass narration, gemplay top, and elden ring is pretty ugly
  52. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    What a masterpiece , thanks santamonica for this masterpiece. It’s perfect so so perfect from every angle it’s the meaning of perfection
  53. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    Wow. Just one of the most perfect sequels, honestly fantastic game. Wow !!!!!
  54. Nov 10, 2022
    10
    This game goes leaps and bounds beyond expectations. It greatly defies the expectations fans had. That is apparent within the first hour of the game. Bombastic fights, nuanced dialogue and insanely fun and deeper than ever combat. Puzzles were intriguing too, often times using new mechanics and existing weapons in new ways. Atreus and Kratos have grown and their goals and relationshipsThis game goes leaps and bounds beyond expectations. It greatly defies the expectations fans had. That is apparent within the first hour of the game. Bombastic fights, nuanced dialogue and insanely fun and deeper than ever combat. Puzzles were intriguing too, often times using new mechanics and existing weapons in new ways. Atreus and Kratos have grown and their goals and relationships have changed too. Every single realm is much more exploitable and has a plethora of side content and missions, each being beautiful, distinct and painstakingly detailed. Many of the existing negative reviews have definitely not played the game. Expand
  55. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    Épico, adictivo, uno de los mejores juegos de los últimos 10 años. Un imprescindible en cualquier biblioteca game.
  56. Nov 10, 2022
    6
    Nice graphics but I can't see any of the Norse gods as godly. Boss fights were underwhelming and the mobs were generic. It felt like they relied on fan baiting with bad designs and contradicting as many of the Norse legends as possible to boost a by the numbers movie game.
  57. Nov 10, 2022
    10
    I have six hours of gameplay and just i want to say that this is one of the best exclusive Playstation titles that you can play without doubt!!, a triumph for Santa Monica and Play Station!, well done!.
  58. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    Much better evolution than "God of War 2018", better graphics, better story, better gameplay.
    It has more variety of enemies and boss fights.
  59. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    Greatest game series of all time !!! What more is there to say than buy it!
  60. Nov 11, 2022
    10
    One of the best year this year. Fantastic story and gameplay, better than GoW2018
  61. Nov 16, 2022
    5
    It just doesn’t deliver. All the samey samey things are going on. No improvements at all. I’m deeply disappointed for a 4 years development situation. The game feels like they want me to feel like I am a three year old person. But I am not. I am **** 43 years old and playing a god of war game. A bit frustrated where this is going to. How does this game got so many good reviews?
  62. Nov 11, 2022
    10
    Absolutely amazing from the graphics to the story , this happens to be one of the best god of war games as of yet another masterpiece from Sony ..
  63. Nov 10, 2022
    10
    Amazing game. It has improved the last game in every way . Combat is so fluid and satisfying .
  64. Nov 11, 2022
    10
    Madre mia de los mejores juegos que he jugado, historia, personajes, jugabilidad...sí el juego es continuista pero como todos, es normal es una secuela e innova muchísimo, es una locura cuando te pones a jugarlo. JUEGAZO MAYÚSCULO
  65. Nov 10, 2022
    10
    En primer lugar, ignoren todas las reseñas de esas personas sin nada qué hacer porque sólo demuestran lo tóxica y rastrera que es la comunidad de la plataforma a la que pertenecen. Sólo ha pasado un día e intentan hacer de todo para aliviar su ardor por la nula cantidad de juegos con calidad que han tenido..

    Jugado en PS5. Desde el comienzo es un juego excelente, las primeras horas están
    En primer lugar, ignoren todas las reseñas de esas personas sin nada qué hacer porque sólo demuestran lo tóxica y rastrera que es la comunidad de la plataforma a la que pertenecen. Sólo ha pasado un día e intentan hacer de todo para aliviar su ardor por la nula cantidad de juegos con calidad que han tenido..

    Jugado en PS5.

    Desde el comienzo es un juego excelente, las primeras horas están llenas de acción y escenas increíbles. Ragnarök es mucho mejor que el anterior: mucha más variedad de enemigos y zonas, su estilo de combate es más pulido y se siente excelente, justo lo que debe ser una secuela. Uno de los mejores juegos creados en lo que va de la década e incluso podría decir que de la historia, Santa Monica Studio nunca decepciona.
    Expand
  66. Nov 11, 2022
    10
    siendo una continuación directa al de juego del 2018, igualmente este nuevo juego trae muchas nuevas novedades y habilidades como el también mecánicas jugables, se agradece que en racnarok Santa Mónica haya encontrado el equilibrio para traernos el Kratos definitivo uno poderoso, y con conciencia humana lo que lo hace un personaje más profundo y no la masa de odio de otras entregas , lasiendo una continuación directa al de juego del 2018, igualmente este nuevo juego trae muchas nuevas novedades y habilidades como el también mecánicas jugables, se agradece que en racnarok Santa Mónica haya encontrado el equilibrio para traernos el Kratos definitivo uno poderoso, y con conciencia humana lo que lo hace un personaje más profundo y no la masa de odio de otras entregas , la historia impecable y todo lo demás excelente Expand
  67. Nov 10, 2022
    10
    you have to play the game to see how awesome is. I don't have words I love it!!!
  68. Nov 11, 2022
    10
    Juegazo 10/10 gran continuación de la historia del primero con un combate genial
  69. Nov 10, 2022
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a solid game. It does everything it needs to and nothing more. The faults this game has are with its’ hand holding nature and linear pathing. Outside of combat the game nearly plays itself. Atreus, Freya and Mimir answer all the game’s puzzles before you even have a chance to solve them yourself. There’s too many QTE (quick time event) situations that are needless. I understand the original trilogy of games had them but it’s an old trope. These would just be better served as a cutscene. The Game is on rails outside of combat, almost literally. As you go on these Disney Land-esque train and boat rides to hide the loading screens. Thankfully the game does provide plenty of lore and backstory to make the trek more bearable. The combat is fantastic and almost feels like a fighting game with extensive combos and a variety of awesome moves to choose from. The enemy variety has improved since the last entry. Plenty of different enemy types and epic bosses to slay. I just wish the in between battle stuff was more engaging. God of War Ragnarök feels like a walking simulator at times. Many PlayStation games as of late follow this trend. However the sound design is awesome! The voice acting and music are top tier. The animations are both good and bad at times. Sometimes you’ll sit in a boat with your son Atreus and he’s stiff as a board. Other times he’s galavanting around with smooth motions. I will say the graphics are phenomenal as well. God of War Ragnarok tells a heart warming and engaging story with glorious combat. But everything outside of that is a slow, tedious, and relatively thoughtless trudge of pressing random buttons to activate switches, mechanisms, and doors. The puzzles are so simplistic they might as well not be there at all. Especially because Atreus and Mimir act as kratos’s brain throughout the game.

    The second half of the game (after 15 hours of play and climbing a massive wall) improves the overall experience. The battles get bigger and better, the story takes a few unexpected turns and the combat improves after receiving an awesome new weapon. Highly recommended getting through the messy first half because the game excels in the second!
    Expand
  70. Nov 17, 2022
    6
    it's not the game I was expecting, I thought the game would be bigger in every way. This game is supposed to be the biggest triple AAA on PS5, but the game has nothing spectacular, the game doesn't make you feel the same experience as GoW 2018. While the combat is good, the story is too linear and very meh, the final boss battle is disappointing.
  71. Nov 10, 2022
    10
    Excellent game that improves the previous game in all aspects, the gameplay is entertaining and addictive; excellent art direction in each of the scenarios, impeccable sound and more with the improvement of 3D sound, the story manages to convey many emotions even more if you are a fan of the saga, a game that you have to try and enjoy, an excelent masterpiece contemporary.
  72. Nov 10, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. El mejor juego del año. GOTY asegurado. Mucho seguidor de sassel estan dando 0 pobres puleros llorones Expand
  73. Nov 11, 2022
    10
    A perfect sequel, this will easily be game of the year! Combat has evolved and storytelling is top notch.
  74. Nov 10, 2022
    10
    Better than God of war 2018. You should play this game!
    Combat: 5/5
    Story: 5/5
    Graphics: 5/5
    Map Design: 5/5
    Kratos: Dad/Boy
  75. Nov 10, 2022
    10
    Good-
    A largely captivating story; Large and varied cast of characters, all of which are brilliantly written and acted; Excellently paced story with the trademark God of War sense of scale; Healthy amount of bosses, minibosses, and set piece moments; A number of incremental improvements make for a massively improved combat system; Excellent enemy variety; Progression and loot feel much
    Good-
    A largely captivating story; Large and varied cast of characters, all of which are brilliantly written and acted; Excellently paced story with the trademark God of War sense of scale; Healthy amount of bosses, minibosses, and set piece moments; A number of incremental improvements make for a massively improved combat system; Excellent enemy variety; Progression and loot feel much more rewarding; Exploration feels consistently rewarding; Tons of engaging side content, including plenty of endgame challenges; Looks absolutely gorgeous.

    Bad-
    A few narrative missteps; Some technical issues.

    Thoughts-
    When a game is as good as God of War Ragnarok is though, its issues become much easier to ignore, and that’s certainly been my experience. Ragnarok is better than what I was expecting it to be, and I was expecting the world. It’s a stellar game that perfectly captures both, the scale and bombast of the older entries in the series, and the heart and grounded nature of God of War (2018). From beginning to end, it’s an exciting romp that delivers a steady stream of thrills, whether you’re going through its captivating story, engaging with its massively improved combat, or getting lost in the endlessly explorable and wonderfully designed Nine Realms of Norse mythology. It might seen like an iterative upgrade on paper, but it’s much more than that- not for the first time, a new God of War game has come along and set a new standard for the medium at large. Anyone with a passing interest in games has to play God of War Ragnarok.
    Expand
  76. Nov 13, 2022
    7
    I'm not going to spoil anything but this game is just a shadow of God of war 2018 , the first one was brilliant the second one is boring and annoying
  77. Nov 10, 2022
    6
    Awosome start but dissapointed pacing with the addition of the boring and cartoonish characters to the cast. Starts and ends great everything in between were not interesting at all. Feels like i played this game so damn long. Side events are bad again but side quests are really good also now we have actual bossfights which was lacked in 2018 version. Story feels so rushed and unpolished
  78. Nov 10, 2022
    4
    Very era inappropriate writing that fails to immerse or capture the setting. Characters speak, behave and swear like the most normal, distinctly modern people, with their divinity and unique existence as gods being almost completely ignored. Immortal gods are made to deliver some of the strangest, most casual lines like walking into someone's home and saying "Nice place." or complainingVery era inappropriate writing that fails to immerse or capture the setting. Characters speak, behave and swear like the most normal, distinctly modern people, with their divinity and unique existence as gods being almost completely ignored. Immortal gods are made to deliver some of the strangest, most casual lines like walking into someone's home and saying "Nice place." or complaining about their "moms" and how typical they are. Words like yep, yeah, kinda, sorta, pretty are used just like in the modern day. This is a strong contrast versus the original trilogy, and 2018's God of War.

    Casual writing can have its place to break the tension or as comedic relief, but in Ragnarok the villains, main characters and side characters all engage in this kind of dialogue, making everything feel constantly comedic.

    The graphics are gorgeous and the combat remains as good as in the previous game, but a game this focused on dialogue and story leaves ultimately little of value when the writing fails this much.
    Expand
  79. Nov 17, 2022
    2
    Nothing huge or new, game does not loo PS5 level, Dragging story and annoying dialog. Once you get into it feels like you already played this with a new skin. Way too many cutscenes.
  80. Nov 10, 2022
    4
    Are you kidding me! 94

    Same gameplay
    Same graphic
    Same melee
    Same level design

    I swear to real god if you've played GOW 2018, you don't need to buy Ragnarok.
  81. Nov 10, 2022
    0
    Overrated sadly

    - underwhelming first 7 hours
    - bad lvl design with invinciblle walls
    - boring platforming and slow walking
    - reused old realms and enemies
  82. Nov 10, 2022
    2
    This game felt more fun and fluid than the previous one with the lack of slow forced walking segments compared to GOW 2018 and the inclusion of Blades of Chaos at the start. Enemy variety is improved. Other than that, this game is garbage. It's about the same as the last. This game was in development for over 4 years with no games released during that timeframe. There is no excuse for copyThis game felt more fun and fluid than the previous one with the lack of slow forced walking segments compared to GOW 2018 and the inclusion of Blades of Chaos at the start. Enemy variety is improved. Other than that, this game is garbage. It's about the same as the last. This game was in development for over 4 years with no games released during that timeframe. There is no excuse for copy and pasted animations. It's almost as if this game was planned DLC, but the developers turned it into a full game for more money. Why does this cost more than the PS4 version? This game still uses too many masked loading screens. $70 and it doesn't utilize the strength of the PS5.

    The levels are boring and repetitive. It's as if the developers randomly added enemies into the environments and called it a day. Ubisoft Montreal can design levels better than these developers, and let me remind you that Ubisoft Montreal develop games at a faster rate. Which begs the question, why can't these developers make more frequent releases if they are just going to copy/paste and lazily design the levels? Keep in mind that this is only half of the game, meaning these lazy developers only had to do half of the work. Where is the freaking multiplayer? Sony Santa Monica are clearly too cheap and greedy to hire more developers. The physics are beyond horrible. The camera is too close. It's embarrassing that modders can give us a FOV option with ease, and these lazy developers can't even give us a simple feature. Boss fights are terrible.

    For goodness sake, why won't these developers let me skip the cutscenes in their games? Enough already. I don't want to watch a stupid movie about Norse mythology. I just want to punch monsters. It just goes to show how out of touch these developers are. I don't know anyone that cares about Norse mythology, aside bookworms. Some of us just want to go straight to the gameplay. Besides, the only people that I hear talk about stories in video games are millennials that love classic rock. I'm pretty sure the rest of us want to play the game, not watch a movie. I had the game crash on me and I was forced to watch the same boring cutscene again. This is why it's important to let us skip cutscenes. Even Naughty Dog lets me skip cutscenes. It's one thing to write a trash story, but forcing me to watch it is pathetic. I paid $70 so I should be able to skip whenever I want.

    There is no multiplayer. So once you beat the story, there is literally not a reason to play this game again. Charging $70 for a game with no replay value is a cash grab. And the greedy developers had the audacity to not include the disc in the Jotnar edition, in a pathetic attempt at scamming players to buy the game twice. I know Sony is stingy with multiplayer, but not stingy enough to give me at least co-op. When I complained about the lack of multiplayer in GoT and Returnal, those developers actually listened to my complaints. They added co-op multiplayer and endless modes. Sony Santa Monica have more money than Suckerpunch and Housemarque combined. There is literally no excuse as to why these lazy cheapskates can't give me online. I paid $70 for goodness sake, I should be entitled to online multiplayer at that outrageous price. If I don't get the multiplayer, then it will only prove that these developers are too greedy and lazy, greedier than EA. I would recommend this game until it is under $15 or just wait until it's free on PS Plus.
    Expand
  83. Nov 10, 2022
    2
    Disappointing on the PS5, it makes no use of the strong hardware of next-gen and traveling between realms is still 20-30 seconds which is a joke when it's near instant on Horizon, GoT and TLOU.

    Even non-PS5 games make and take advantage of the hardware, Ragnarok doesn't. It also copy pastes 70% of the previous game with more enemy variet and... snow.
  84. Nov 11, 2022
    2
    I'm truly sorry for what happened to the once great God of War series, after Cory Barlog took over, the series went from an epic Hack and slash game to a corrupted Souls Like that was completely lacking in Gigantism, violence, sex scenes, and cool boss battles.

    I’m generally silent about the plot, yesho was written by a child from elementary school, and now they are trying to sell us DLC
    I'm truly sorry for what happened to the once great God of War series, after Cory Barlog took over, the series went from an epic Hack and slash game to a corrupted Souls Like that was completely lacking in Gigantism, violence, sex scenes, and cool boss battles.

    I’m generally silent about the plot, yesho was written by a child from elementary school, and now they are trying to sell us DLC for $ 70, I think this is arrogance and disrespect for users. I hope the second reboot of this series will go better than from 2018, and the series will live for more than 1.5 parts
    Expand
  85. Nov 11, 2022
    0
    Is boring and also is almost the same game than GoW 2018. Atreus still an awful character. IT is definitely not a next gen game. You can realize that is a game for ps4
  86. Nov 10, 2022
    0
    so poor gameplay and graphic, its like game from ubisoft where only avanposts and grinding for grinding.
  87. Nov 11, 2022
    0
    Didn't live up to my expectations personally, really hoped the game would be much better than this
  88. Nov 11, 2022
    0
    -Bad combat ( same old animations and how many in total? 3-5? )
    -Bad graphics ( poor art design )
    -Story make no sense
    -Too many "please cry" moments
    -Kratos become a Lebowski
    -Agressive marketing and lies
    -Bad level design
    -Grind
  89. Nov 11, 2022
    1
    A DLC full of BUGS. Nothing new A repetitive game full of puzzles and cinematics that cut the gaming experience. bring your popcorn
  90. Dec 4, 2022
    7
    The main character says a lot that he is tired, that he needs to be kinder and then breaks the heads of enemies. They overdid the plot and didn't understand what happened themselves
  91. Dec 5, 2022
    7
    TL;DR: It's good, but not as good, as the first one.

    Basically God of War Ragnarok is the same game as GoW (2018). Story is okay, but can be slow/boring sometimes, and I personally expected more epicness from the great scandinavian apocalypse. Combat is mostly the same, meaning it's fun when you're up to 2-3 enemies, but when there are 4-5, you often get screwed by camera and
    TL;DR: It's good, but not as good, as the first one.

    Basically God of War Ragnarok is the same game as GoW (2018).

    Story is okay, but can be slow/boring sometimes, and I personally expected more epicness from the great scandinavian apocalypse.

    Combat is mostly the same, meaning it's fun when you're up to 2-3 enemies, but when there are 4-5, you often get screwed by camera and clunky controls. Also is seems Kratos and his son prepared so hard for Ragnarok, that they had lost all the weapons/armors and forgot all skills, sic!.

    P.S. Dear Santa Monica Studio, I hate you for these berserker fights!
    Expand
  92. AYN
    Nov 14, 2022
    10
    an amazing sequel to the God of war 2018
    And the lack of different type of enemies and boss fights in the last game is no longer a fact in this part
  93. Dec 3, 2022
    10
    I honestly don’t understand how people on here are giving this game 0’s and 1’s.. very clearly trolls or Microsoft fanboys.. Halo is free on Game pass and people STILL don’t wanna play it so yall are mad now. It just blows my mind how hateful and petty gamers can be.. not everybody wants to play call of duty or Apex legends. If story based, cinematic games aren’t your thing, cool.. but toI honestly don’t understand how people on here are giving this game 0’s and 1’s.. very clearly trolls or Microsoft fanboys.. Halo is free on Game pass and people STILL don’t wanna play it so yall are mad now. It just blows my mind how hateful and petty gamers can be.. not everybody wants to play call of duty or Apex legends. If story based, cinematic games aren’t your thing, cool.. but to call this game trash or “$70 DLC” is just so disingenuous. Don’t play the game if it ain’t your thing but stop acting like a child because its better than any of the games you like to fanboy over. This game delivers in every single way.. every single story moment and ark set up in the first game has a satisfying pay off.. the gameplay is better, the graphics are better, the story is every bit as good.. the only complaint that I have is that new game plus wasn’t day one but that’s a nitpick if I’m being honest. I’ve put in upwards of 60 hours into this game and still haven’t even begun to see everything this game has to offer.. 100 percent worth every penny.. please go out and buy this so we can keep getting more games like this.. Expand
  94. Nov 19, 2022
    10
    1 of the best games I've played in my entire life, not an exaggeration 10/10
  95. Dec 5, 2022
    7
    Ragnarok is neither the masterpiece nor the absolute crap people are saying on the internet. It's a linear game, not open world like many claim it to be, with action, puzzles and good but reoetitive combat. Graphs and art are 10/10, impressive CGI and motion capture. Voice actors do an excellent job.
    The problem is that Ragnarok follows the SONY AAA playbook. It's basically every game
    Ragnarok is neither the masterpiece nor the absolute crap people are saying on the internet. It's a linear game, not open world like many claim it to be, with action, puzzles and good but reoetitive combat. Graphs and art are 10/10, impressive CGI and motion capture. Voice actors do an excellent job.
    The problem is that Ragnarok follows the SONY AAA playbook. It's basically every game we've played in the last decade. Took me 40 hours to beat it but I swear it felt like 100. The main story is just BORING. It trys and succeed in bulding a climax that never comes....at the and of the game I felt like I've got a good BJ but never got to cum. If you are a fan of the classic TRILOGY like me, you can sit this one out, or at least wait on a bit. It's definetley not worth the $70.
    Expand
  96. Nov 20, 2022
    9
    Epic game but lacking the scale due to limitations of the ps4, gameplay hugely improved upon, story is very nice and engaging. Kratos finally becomes the God everyone needed without him even knowing it. Can't wait for their ps5 only adventure
  97. Nov 14, 2022
    10
    Absolutely amazing. The team made exactly the right tweaks making sure to improve the combats but keeping the feeling of GoW 2018. Well done.

    The upgrades menus etc. are a lot cleaner making it easier to choose upgrades. GoW 2018 overwelmed you with all those upgrades you could choose from, and i was afraid Ragnarok would add even more upgrades. I was surprised in a positive way.
    Absolutely amazing. The team made exactly the right tweaks making sure to improve the combats but keeping the feeling of GoW 2018. Well done.

    The upgrades menus etc. are a lot cleaner making it easier to choose upgrades. GoW 2018 overwelmed you with all those upgrades you could choose from, and i was afraid Ragnarok would add even more upgrades. I was surprised in a positive way.

    Story absolutely great. I loved every single second.

    Thanks to the whole team for making me have such an amazing experience. It's a masterpiece.
    Expand
  98. Nov 14, 2022
    10
    This is a great sequel to the 2018 GOW. Thank you the developers for putting all together and developing a great game with awesome storytelling. This is for me a perfect game.
  99. Nov 19, 2022
    10
    This is a fantastic Game! The Character development in this game is one many others can learn from.
    The combat and level design is fleshed out and challenging, the graphics are amazing as well.
    Does everything the first game does right and better.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 140 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Negative: 0 out of 140
  1. Dec 1, 2022
    80
    It’s a satisfying conclusion to the modern God of War saga, but it’s hard to walk away and not feel like this could have been something greater.
  2. Edge Magazine
    Dec 1, 2022
    70
    The combat is beefy enough to carry you through the slower stretches, but even when you're lopping heads off dragons it can feel like what you're really killing is time. [Issue#379, p.100]
  3. Dec 1, 2022
    95
    God Of War Ragnarok is an instant addition to the collection of PlayStation classics, standing as one of the best games of all time. It manages to outdo its predecessor in every way possible and despite some of its issues with its ending and a few plot points feeling rushed, it does not take anything away from the masterpiece this title is. Santa Monica Studio continues to produce excellent and masterful experiences with Kratos, and the door is most certainly open for more.