Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 34
  2. Negative: 4 out of 34
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Nov 22, 2022
    84
    Gungrave has an eventful and largely glorious history. G.O.R.E. is a technical retread, from which you shouldn't expect too many surprises in terms of story - as well as gameplay. But that doesn't have to be a bad thing, especially since the fans know what they're being offered here: spectacular over-the-top action with hail of bullets and explosions foreman non-stop. That's exactly what we came for.
  2. Nov 22, 2022
    81
    A gothic and bloody old-style TPS with massive explosions and BIG guns. It doesn't have the charisma of Devil May Cry or Bayonetta, and its gameplay is partially flawed by some annoying issues... but you won't regret the time you'll spend with it.
  3. Nov 29, 2022
    80
    Gungrave lives by the simple principle of “kick their ass.” If that premise fails to hook you, nothing G.O.R.E. does will change your mind. If anything, its minor missteps may dissuade you from sticking with it at all. For those who love Gungrave for the kind of game it is, however, G.O.R.E. offers plenty more of it while intelligently expanding the core mechanics. This is one for all the true Gungravers out there howling at the night for more things to shoot.
  4. Nov 24, 2022
    75
    An attractive action game that you don't have to worry about reloading the gun. The participation of Yasuhiro Naito, who created the original character design, resulted in an attractive reincarnation of Grave. While the game has various combat gimmicks that spice up the battle, a story that you may not follow if you are not familiar to the original IP and repetitive stage composition may be felt awkward for some players.
  5. Nov 22, 2022
    72
    This is a proudly old-fashioned game that, at least, feels different from all the current action games.
  6. Nov 28, 2022
    70
    At the end of the day, maybe Gungrave isn’t necessarily the best game of the year, but on the other hand, it’s not the worst either. Playing it is fun, and for fans of the series, it’s a great way to get a taste of what the original iteration of the series was all about.
  7. Nov 23, 2022
    70
    Negatives aside, Gungrave G.O.R.E is a blast when it gets going. The cutscenes are over the top, as are the bosses and the main baddies of the piece. If you can put up with the archaic rust that comes with old-fashioned games, there is fun to be had in here.
  8. Nov 22, 2022
    70
    Go into Gungrave Gore with an open mind, the mindset that you're going to kick some ass in an old school action game, and maybe, after a sale.
  9. Nov 22, 2022
    70
    Gungrave G.O.R.E is a thorough examination of what games offered us before they transformed into 40-hour cinematic masterpieces. While its appeal may not be broad enough to interest everyone, it establishes itself as a love letter to a time when your gaming experience was absolutely about bombastic style, personal fantasy and massive high scores.
  10. 70
    Gungrave G.O.R.E. has been a long time coming; in many ways, this is the game fans of the franchise have been waiting for. It may not be the best game on the market regarding visual and audio design, but the gameplay makes up for that. What may seem like a repetitive shooter quickly becomes a frantic and strategic battle against hordes of enemies. Gungrave G.O.R.E. is a brutal game, but I would be amiss to admit that I loved almost every minute of my time with it. It's not for everybody, but those who take the time to appreciate its mechanics may find something special in this latest franchise entry.
  11. Nov 22, 2022
    65
    Gungrave G.O.R.E. is an action game "like the old ones", exactly like the ones from the PS2 era, and it shows in every aspect, from the graphics to the control. It's a throwback game that will find its audience thanks to its own cham and ability to entertain. If the Gungrave series is your thing, you'll enjoy it. The rest, maybe not so much.
  12. Nov 22, 2022
    65
    Gungrave GORE was a title that surprised positively, but ended up disappointing. It is certainly a recommendation for when it is at a more affordable price and, above all, for the public that likes titles with intense action and has an open mind to accept the game's flaws. Frankly, we hope we see more versions of the series eventually and that it utilizes the full potential demonstrated by GORE.
  13. Nov 22, 2022
    65
    Gungrave G.O.R.E is a very entertaining game, despite the fact that it does not have an acceptable graphic level. Its concept is interesting but it can feel quite repetitive.
  14. Dec 1, 2022
    60
    Gungrave G.O.R.E is a decent game. It's not the best shooter, but it is often very entertaining if just for the spectacle. It has a few issues, mostly in level design, and the story isn't particularly memorable, but there's plenty of fun to be had in chainsawing your enemies with a transforming coffin.
  15. Nov 30, 2022
    60
    Gungrave G.O.R.E is resurrecting a franchise, but it’s mindless bullet-slinging fun that has its problems and may not hold everyone’s attention.
  16. 60
    Gungrave G.O.R.E feels like a PS2 game and, at times, looks like a PS3 one but we enjoyed the combat, linear layouts and score-based gameplay. The difficulty spikes and slightly unintuitive controls definitely spoiled the party though.
  17. Nov 22, 2022
    60
    Polish issues aside, Gungrave G.O.R.E. is a nostalgic trip to a certain era of action game design, dressed up in improved visuals and performance. Its anachronistic take on shooting gameplay and late-90s anime aesthetic won’t be for everyone, but the separation of years makes it clear that there’s nothing quite like it on the market.
  18. Nov 22, 2022
    60
    Almost nothing about Gungrave G.O.R.E. feels like it was released in 2022. By sticking so closely to the original, it inherits all the faults of the PlayStation 2 game. It’s short, repetitive and while the combat system remains a highlight, it’s surrounded by story, mechanics, sound and art that somehow still feel dated and aren’t much fun compared to so many other, better action games. There are many devotees of the original, but I think they might be disappointed. However, if you’re a fan of chaotic third person shooters you might find Gungrave G.O.R.E. entertaining for a few minutes. Just don’t expect the fun to last.
  19. Nov 22, 2022
    60
    Gungrave G.O.R.E. marks Grave’s return to blasting everything in sight. Fans of the earlier entries in the series will be happy to see the gameplay has remained largely the same, which is charge into battle with guns blazing for pure action-packed carnage. Mindless mayhem and destruction can be a good time and that’s exactly what this title delivers, which works as a double-edged sword for Gungrave. Because of how basic and repetitive the gameplay can be, it’s easy to lose interest after a few levels and not find the experience of playing it fulfilling. On the other hand, there are times when it’s good to just turn the brain off and have fun, and when that mood strikes, Gungrave G.O.R.E. is just what the doctor ordered.
  20. Nov 22, 2022
    60
    There’s always more blood on the horizon, making Gungrave G.O.R.E. feel like a break-neck romp with little room to move or breathe along the way. While dotted with moments of joy and violent freedom, the action of the game quickly devolves to repetition – making it a largely enjoyable romp, but one that only rarely makes a meaningful impact.
  21. Nov 22, 2022
    60
    Gungrave G.O.R.E isn't a bad game at heart. It's a clear ode to the PS2 era, with almost no modern trappings at all.
  22. Nov 22, 2022
    60
    Gungrave G.O.R.E lacks quality-of-life found in more recent games. While I’m a sucker for nostalgia, G.O.R.E tends to be more frustrating than fun. There are some exciting moments of arcadey action, but you’ll likely grow tired of the waves of enemies and artificial difficulty that stems from annoying mission objectives. I’m glad Grave is back from the dead, but I can’t help but want more.
  23. Nov 22, 2022
    59
    I don't want to close with the impression that I had a bad time with Gungrave G.O.R.E. I didn't. But I didn't have a memorable one, either. It was a nice bit of action nostalgia for a short while, but in a world where less glitzy action titles feature so much more depth, agility or even wit, Gungrave G.O.R.E. will have a tough time separating itself from all of the bullet-fare that's out there.
  24. Nov 27, 2022
    55
    Voluntarily old school, both in its feeling and in its structure, the title developed by the South Koreans fully assumes its status as a basic shooter. Thought as a tribute to a period when video games were simple, it can sometimes be compared to a shoot'em up where shooting and moving continuously is highly vital. Too bad, however, that its very uneven realization prevents it from living up to today's standards.
  25. Nov 22, 2022
    55
    Gungrave GORE is a game out of time even if you look at it through the lens of nostalgia. Beyond a narrative context that has not been received, but in line with the two past games, everything from gameplay to level design is too old, even when it manages to entertain in a rather genuine way.
  26. Nov 26, 2022
    50
    Having no main series entry for over two console generations, Gungrave G.O.R.E is faced with high expecations from its loyal fanbase that it can not fully satisfy. Like its predecessors G.O.R.E is an arcade style third person shooter that lacks variety in gameplay, enemies and level design. Often monotone and with an uninteresting plot, it still has its moments once the gameplay loop gets going. But overall it could have been much more and only functions as an elaborate protoype for a potentially good Gungrave game.
  27. Nov 22, 2022
    50
    Gungrave Gore is repetitive, there’s no question about that, but like most arcade games – racers, sports, shmups – there can be great enjoyment to be had from something so fully of itself. Gungrave is Gungrave, and if you play it, you’ll know exactly what I mean. Whether its simplistic, repetitive nature will appeal for the price you pay is another question. Maybe wait for the inevitable discounts – or just play it on Game Pass.
  28. Nov 22, 2022
    50
    If you’re a fan of the series and you can hack constantly pulling the right trigger as you slowly push forward through linear environments, there’s some fun to be found in Gungrave G.O.R.E, for sure. But for most, it’ll prove to be too repetitive. There’s simply not enough variety to be found in this action-packed third-person shooter. Eventually it begins to feel like a test of your endurance rather than your gaming skills.
  29. Nov 22, 2022
    50
    Gungrave G.O.R.E is overall a bit of a misfire, and evidence that some franchises should stay in the early 2000s. The game is a spectacle action game that has failed to learn anything meaningful from 20 years of game design evolution, from the importance of having an interesting or charismatic lead to gameplay which gives the player options and which evolves over time. The levels show a strong disposition towards dark and grey, and the plot won’t do much to engage you either. If you’re a diehard Gungrave fan who has been longingly awaiting the franchise’s revival, there might be something for you here; for anyone else, there are far better offerings out there.
  30. 50
    There is some joy in the mindless blasting, but overall G.O.R.E. is a messy, repetitive experience that could have used a bit more time in the oven.
  31. Nov 23, 2022
    40
    Equal parts missed opportunity and failed return, Gungrave G.O.R.E‘s high aspirations are often met with the harsh reality of how messy it ultimately became. Even the notable names attached to this comeback couldn’t save it from the mindless, frustrating, and tedious mess this game is. The best-case scenario for this game is someone curiously downloading this on Game Pass, playing for an hour or two, and deleting it shortly after. Some things should just stay buried.
  32. Nov 22, 2022
    40
    If you're someone who heard "a new Gungrave" and got excited, this is a game for you. For what it's worth, it nails that. It genuinely feels like a lost PS2 game, and that's the kind of thing we love. Although, the original game had the benefit of only being around two hours long, while G.O.R.E. clocks in at about 12. However, we can't in good faith recommend someone to spend £45 on this, outside of those with an affinity for the series.
  33. Nov 22, 2022
    40
    I played Gungrave G.O.R.E with zero knowledge of the franchise, and I reckon that is for the better. I would be infinitely more disappointed going into this game as a diehard fan of the series and seeing what a disservice G.O.R.E does to the Gungrave name. It’s astonishing to see Iggymob charging $50 for a low-budget, niche game riddled with unoriginal gameplay, multiple soft-locks, atrocious level design, and laughable voice acting.
  34. 30
    While I do admire the attempt to give players the power fantasy of playing as a guy so utterly, brutally powerful that he can calmly walk through a bullet ballet, Gungrave G.O.R.E burns its goodwill far too quickly and from there it’s too exhausting to bother with.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 5 out of 21
  1. Nov 25, 2022
    10
    I still don't understand why the game has such low ratings, Gungrave G.O.R.E is one of the gems of this year and certainly much better thanI still don't understand why the game has such low ratings, Gungrave G.O.R.E is one of the gems of this year and certainly much better than the garbage GOW Ragnarok DLC.
    The game rests on two iron pillars, the first thing you can see is how the developers loved Gungrave and tried to invest every cent in the game despite the average budget. The second is the gameplay itself and the combat system is a child's dream, because the Bible Epic is happening on the screen.
    The player seems to be dancing with weapons, two pistols, almost like Dante's, and his huge coffin on his back, allow the player to create complete chaos on the screen, because there are a lot of ranged attacks and it all looks mega spectacular and epic.
    The 2002 Gungrave anime is still remembered with warmth in my heart, as is the Ps2 game, and I was very surprised that G.O.R.E was associated with previous Gungrave works, thanks a lot to the developers for loving this iconic character and really looking forward to continuing the new one G.O.R.E, because the game is super and there are no direct analogues on the video game market right now.
    PS, I have already completed the game on XBOX Series X at 1000g ❤
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 26, 2022
    9
    Gungrave G.O.R.E is a good third person shooter that has awsome music from the person who did the music for thr Devil may cry games as well asGungrave G.O.R.E is a good third person shooter that has awsome music from the person who did the music for thr Devil may cry games as well as good sized amount of content considering of 7 different locations and a total of 30 stages. There are a few issues I had with the game but there were not enough to keep me from completing the game. The two things I had a issue with was the last section of stage 5 when I was on the roof of the train the signs have a not great hit box also does not help that there are many different emeies but what I really don't like is after I get to the arrow and jump over the third sign there is a mine in front that will knock me to the ground, once I get pased that I will need to somehow get past three emies with missiles and a few others as well as get into the other car that is surrounded by mines in the like four ofr five minutes I have before my head is lopped off and Quartez strats screaming my name. But besides that Quatez can be very talkive during the game but is also helpful hero warn me when if I am not paying attention. I enjoyed all the boss fights and Bunjis stage was fun and interesting I would like to have played as him more but it's fine. I am hoping that from how the game ended there will be dlc hopefully I will get my preorder dlc but besides that I would suggest this to anyone that would like it Full Review »
  3. Nov 24, 2022
    10
    I been waiting for almost a lot of time.funally, im really happy!!! Ulimited bulets, cool characters, rush and rush. This is real gungrave!!!