Hitman 3 Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 274 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Death Awaits
    HITMAN 3 is the dramatic conclusion to the World of Assassination trilogy and takes players around the world on a globetrotting adventure to sprawling sandbox locations. Agent 47 returns as a ruthless professional for the most important contracts of his entire career.
    Death Awaits
    HITMAN 3 is the dramatic conclusion to the World of Assassination trilogy and takes players around the world on a globetrotting adventure to sprawling sandbox locations. Agent 47 returns as a ruthless professional for the most important contracts of his entire career.

    Supported by his Agency handler, Diana Burnwood, 47 joins forces with his long-lost friend Lucas Grey. Their ultimate mission is to eliminate the partners of Providence, but they are forced to adapt as their hunt intensifies. When the dust settles, 47 and the world he inhabits will never be the same again.
    Top of the World
    Every mission location in HITMAN 3 is meticulously detailed and packed full of creative opportunities. Players will have unrivalled freedom to complete their objectives and the game world will react to everything they do.
    A Platform of Assassination
    The World of Assassination trilogy is fully realised with HITMAN 3 as the ultimate place to play all three games. Players of previous HITMAN games will be pleased to know that it will be possible to 'import' locations that they own from the previous two HITMAN games into HITMAN 3, essentially putting all 20+ locations from the entire trilogy in one place.

    Playing the entire trilogy from beginning to end, from within HITMAN 3, also means that the progression systems in HITMAN 3 work across all locations. You can unlock an item in Dubai and take it with you to Paris, for example. HITMAN 2 players will have the option to carry over their hard-earned unlocks and progression into HITMAN 3.
    Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
HITMAN 3 - Official Opening Cinematic Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Jan 29, 2021
    95
    Hitman 3 hits the mark, plain and simple. Not only is it the best stealth/assassin sandbox gameplay of the franchise, but it stands among the best of the genre. It’s everything you love and want from a Hitman game with extreme polish, intriguing levels and tons of replay value.
  2. Jan 22, 2021
    90
    Hitman 3 is the definitive case for careful refinement over needless reinvention. While not that fundamentally different from its predecessors, Hitman 3 has been polished to a high sheen, offering up fantastic frictionless stealth gameplay and an eye-catching array of unique, exciting stages. At times it's felt like luck was against this trilogy, but Agent 47 would be proud of how IO Interactive’s well-laid plans have come together in the end.
  3. Feb 19, 2021
    90
    Hitman 3 feels like a love letter to the ‘World of Assassination’ and I can’t think of a better way to conclude the series. With its delightfully witty dialogue and the fact that all existing Hitman content (as long as you’ve bought Hitman and Hitman 2) has progression carry over into Hitman 3, this game is a joy to play and the best Hitman has ever been. It takes all the best parts of the series we’ve come to love and leaves us with a bittersweet, Agent 47-sized gap in our hearts.
  4. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Feb 17, 2021
    84
    It doesn’t really bring anything new to the Hitman formula. Still, Hitman 3 offers the biggest and the most intricate levels in the trilogy, as well as the satisfying conclusion to the current story arc. [Issue#241, p.52]
  5. Jan 19, 2021
    82
    Hitman's formula dances his last tango in which he puts the finishing touch to the trilogy: and leaving aside the episodic format suits him great. Direct, effective and with multiple possibilities to think like real killers.
  6. 80
    Giving the formula a polish rivaled only by Agent 47’s supernaturally perfect cranium is the best way for the Hitman trilogy to go out. New additions, great levels, and engine fine-tuning make the final entry every bit as good as the rest.
  7. Jan 20, 2021
    70
    As much as Hitman III was a pleasure to play, it left me longing for the mood of the old games—for that European concoction of sirens and splashing rain, drenched in Jesper Kyd’s cold scores. I’m as excited as anyone for Project 007, but I wonder how long we will be left looking for 47—a wraith in a red tie, who has proven elusive enough to slip IO’s grasp.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 95
  2. Negative: 22 out of 95
  1. Jan 22, 2021
    10
    Hitman 3 is solid enough game to start 2021 gaming season. It's nothing extremely new, but best of this new Hitman trilogy. Really coolHitman 3 is solid enough game to start 2021 gaming season. It's nothing extremely new, but best of this new Hitman trilogy. Really cool looking big levels (by hitman standard) and very beautiful graphics. Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2021
    10
    It's almost crazy how much care has went into this hitman trilogy compared to what cyberpunk 2077 was. Night and day difference.
  3. Jan 22, 2021
    10
    Great game, would recommend!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  4. Jan 13, 2022
    9
    Excellent gameplay and replay value, brilliant atmosphere, gorgeous graphics and an absolutely phenomenal story (the ending is incredible ifExcellent gameplay and replay value, brilliant atmosphere, gorgeous graphics and an absolutely phenomenal story (the ending is incredible if you have been following the hitman series for a while), Hitman 3 has it all! Expand
  5. Aug 25, 2021
    8
    Excellent game! The depth and "custom" ways to complete various missions is a mix of fun, challenging and exciting. I had a lot of funExcellent game! The depth and "custom" ways to complete various missions is a mix of fun, challenging and exciting. I had a lot of fun playing. However, I will say that I wish the base story within the game was longer. I beat the main story in a matter of a few cumulative hours. Would have loved to have been able to play longer before being forced to pay to play through the various DLC offered in conjunction with the main game.
    Graphics were relatively nice as well, could have been a little more polished, but for the first Next Gen installment in the series, I was impressed.
    Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2021
    6
    Given that this is the third iteration, the first on next-gen, and also the latest in a very long saga of games perhaps I am holding Hitman toGiven that this is the third iteration, the first on next-gen, and also the latest in a very long saga of games perhaps I am holding Hitman to higher account than usual. However, this game is great when it really gets going but is massively held back back some painful design decisions and dated gameplay.

    Firstly, you should be warned that this game can glitch out and only allow you to play the first level, telling you the remainder need a patch to play. I spent ages troubleshooting this with uninstalling and almost gave up before it finally installed properly. I still don't quite understand this error but it's horrendous to have it still happening a long time after release.

    The graphics I have mixed feelings for. It's not really until the last couple of levels where the game starts to shine as you are in vibrant landscapes that can avail of the PS5's power. The opening level is clearly designed to wow us and it does this well. The second level has a gothic feel to it but the third level I found to have very mundane graphics as you're in dark alleys and laboratories. After this the game picks up and the environment becomes much more enjoyable to explore, but I think previous games did it better. Ultimately, most of the time I couldn't differentiate between Hitman 3 on PS5 and Hitman 2 on PS4.

    The gameplay of Hitman 3 won't require a tutorial if you've played any of the others. The formula is pretty much the same here; navigate through the level to assassinate your target, ideally unnoticed. At it's core I find this the most enjoyable aspect of the game and quite annoying as other missions get in my way, such as finding a case file or any other activity not related to setting up an assassination. I think this is partly my own impatience as there are some very creative options on offer here, such as a murder-mystery in the second level as a means of getting access to your target by helping them identify the murderer.

    As typical for Hitman games, taking your time to explore your options can be quite rewarding although I often found it frustrating as it's not always clear in a step-by-step sense when trying to make someone's death look like an accident etc. One of my biggest irks is likely my own fault; when I'm stealthily attempting a level but get caught part-way through and end up shooting my way out in blazing fashion because I don't want to restart and have to repeat my progress.

    I think my biggest gripe with this whole trilogy of Hitman games is that they have gradually stepped towards the live services model, a model almost universally hated. You can tell this because the menus are incredibly unfriendly to use and want to sell you add-ons and other rubbish. Let's not forget that the game also forces you to be always online or face FOMO by telling you all the things you'll miss such as mission ratings.

    Players may also be rather disappointed to hear there are only six missions in this game. If, like me, you want to hit your target ASAP then it'll be a very short game. Hitman has always been about the replayability of each level and given that a single level can take over an hour, this game could still take you 8+ hours, similar to the latest R&C game.

    Hitman 3 places more emphasis on the story than usual, especially as it draws to a close. I found the final level very enjoyable and seeing 47 and Diana's relationship develop and reach a sense of conclusion was one of the more satisfying aspects of the game. I'm not sure the game does a good job of explaining how each target you kill fits into the bigger picture but knowing you're taking down a shady organisation is enough for me.

    Overall, Hitman 3 closes out the trilogy in a wobbly fashion. I almost didn't even get to experience it thanks to a technical error that could have been avoided. If Hitman games are to continue I'd want to see a bit more coherence and not the live services model that mars what are otherwise very good games. Hitman 3 doesn't break any new ground in terms of gameplay, but your stealth and assassination itches will be very well scratched by the time you reach the end.
    Expand
  7. Jan 30, 2021
    0
    Es una pena que vendan la bodrio5 como la mas poderosa cuando ni siquiera soporta el motor grafico de hitman 3 el cual en la Godbox Series XEs una pena que vendan la bodrio5 como la mas poderosa cuando ni siquiera soporta el motor grafico de hitman 3 el cual en la Godbox Series X tiene un desempeño sin igual con una calidad visual impresionante, en resumen no lo recomiendo en ps5, solo en xbox y pc vale la pena Expand

See all 95 User Reviews