User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2103 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 20, 2021
    7
    Cons:
    - no replayablitity because at least half of screentime is cinematics
    - poor planet count - basically no challenge mode (bronze cup on first playthrough is harder than this mode) - expensive (75$+500$ console) - only like 3 different boss models - boss designs were either non existent or almost fully scripted - some weapon combinations stronger and others are simply weak
    Cons:
    - no replayablitity because at least half of screentime is cinematics
    - poor planet count
    - basically no challenge mode (bronze cup on first playthrough is harder than this mode)
    - expensive (75$+500$ console)
    - only like 3 different boss models
    - boss designs were either non existent or almost fully scripted
    - some weapon combinations stronger and others are simply weak themself and barely replace melee (razor blades, knockback shield,..)
    - lot of missed opportunities like oldschool "disguise" passages on the decorateur or prison scene. Another opportunity to add would be a hoverboot tourney/obstacle course
    - minigame/puzzles felt irrelevant and weak for the r&c series
    - no sandbox
    - no vehicles / no well known spaceship customization
    - no co-op
    - smaller issues with clipping/falling
    - no online
    - no real secondary questing / planet exploring
    - no custom lobbies
    - difficulties to chose: easy - easy - easy or easy
    - weapons too strong, too easy to level and too much ammo (easy addition could be to make certain enemies more vulnerable to certain weapons)
    - no actual challenge runs (specfic weapons, no raritarium,...)
    Pros:
    + astonishing story and cinematics
    + almost as perfect use of dual sense as astrobot
    + graphics/performance balanced perfectly
    + good audio with alot of humor and gimmicky lines
    + cool hoverboot concept as the only real extension to a not existent sandbox - also broke all maps/made them rather irrelevant in design appeal
    + good characters, kit and rivet fit the unverse really well
    + nice controls
    + really well made UI/UX
    + really lovable photo mode
    + cinematic presentation and interesting settings
    + weapon upgrades had some good twists and features
    + lovable worlds and creatures

    + good base with room for "game service" updates that would justify 75$ (planets, challenge runs with awards on save file or in rivets hideout, multiplayer, horde arenas, another boss design to make it at least 2 bosses,... so much potential to justify 75$)

    Resulting:

    10/10 first playthrough when you want a casual experience
    - make it 9/10 because the price tag

    7.8/10 up to 8.1/10 in total considering you want a video game and not a 75$ movie with potential to 10/10 when introduing i.e. a "game as a service" 2-year-roadmap.

    please invest into this great milestone of video game history instead of lamboghinis.
    Expand
  2. Jun 21, 2021
    6
    This game has the weakest, lowest amount of content in any full-sized Ratchet and Clank release to date and almost no replay value as Challenge mode adds no changes other than raising the weapon level cap. The planets are painfully linear and designed with very little creativity; the new "gadgets" acting as design crutches to thoughtlessly warp from point-A-to-B rather than requiring theThis game has the weakest, lowest amount of content in any full-sized Ratchet and Clank release to date and almost no replay value as Challenge mode adds no changes other than raising the weapon level cap. The planets are painfully linear and designed with very little creativity; the new "gadgets" acting as design crutches to thoughtlessly warp from point-A-to-B rather than requiring the developer to cleverly design the layout of the planets to wrap around themselves in new and interesting ways present in past releases. Think of the map differences between Dark Souls 1 and 2 for comparison.

    The vast majority of weapons are re-skins of past entries which is honestly fine as most RaC weapons are fun in and of themselves, but again nothing really "new" or "innovative" here. Combat feels a little clunky and I attribute a lot of that to many enemies' homing attacks which hit with very little warning as well as the lowered camera and more "over the shoulder" view present in most modern games rather than the higher camera views that allow more viewing area. The sub-bosses are very limited; approximately three to four throughout the whole game that are re-skinned over and over. The boss fights are pretty epic and grandiose, a high point of the game for sure alongside the eye-candy of the grind rail sections which are beautiful the first time but utterly forgettable and bereft of interaction compared to previous entries.

    The arena, a staple in every major Ratchet release, is painfully lacking. The puzzles start strong but fizzle over time as nothing really changes from puzzle to puzzle and no new elements are introduced. The "side missions" with the hacking robot are painfully simple and straightforward. More than anything they highlight the writers' inability to create interesting characters beyond ham-fistedly harping on their "positive qualities" until I'm sick to death of hearing them reassure themselves every four seconds. The pocket dimension challenges are anything but challenging mostly consisting of linear jaunts over a few asteroids toward an armor pickup and a rift skip back to the beginning. Same goes for the Gold Bolts, most of which sit idly in fields or just around easily-accessible corners. Exploration in this game is almost non-existent and very slimly rewarded when present.

    My first playthrough lasted around 10 hours, and to be honest a huge majority of that time is spent watching cutscenes and story, which is also pretty mediocre and standard fare. Challenge mode is going to take far less time, and I honestly don't know if I'm even going to finish it.

    Compared to the older titles in the series Rift Apart is a mediocre, uninspiring Ratchet entry that's worth a rent but definitely doesn't live up to the $70 price tag. Once the initial shock of the graphics wears off and people start realizing how weak this game is under the hood I expect the scores will steadily decline.

    I regard the original trilogy as the best trilogy in PS history for reference, and this will be the first Ratchet and Clank game I sell after completing. This series is no longer worthy of pre-orders, and I absolutely hate that they've migrated away from innovative, fun gameplay with solid replay value in favor of graphics, set-pieces, "movie stories", and more of an instant gratification layout.

    The Ratchet of old is pretty clearly dead. He deserved better.
    Expand
  3. Jun 13, 2021
    5
    Its Ratchet and Clank thats it. Its good but Nothing New or exciting from the last game. It sure does look good in places but not so much in some other.
  4. Jun 13, 2021
    7
    After spending 7-8 with the game and almost Platinuming it the game presentation is gorgeous and voice acting is done well but the gameplay and variety is not as innovative as I was expecting where I hold hope for the next one when the ps5 has been out for a few years will truly be something to see would I remember yes but not at the £70 price tag wait for a drop or preowned
  5. Jun 13, 2021
    5
    me encanta cono se ve el efecto de los portales pero en serio me a decepcionado tanto que se acabara en tan poquito tiempo, lo pase con calma, disfrutandolo a cada momento y en 7 horas ya fue todo, sinceramente 81.19 dolares ya con impuestos incluidos por un juego tan corto no vale la pena, me parece un robo, ademas es tan facil pasarlo que ni siquiera pierdes tiempo repitiendo nada. heme encanta cono se ve el efecto de los portales pero en serio me a decepcionado tanto que se acabara en tan poquito tiempo, lo pase con calma, disfrutandolo a cada momento y en 7 horas ya fue todo, sinceramente 81.19 dolares ya con impuestos incluidos por un juego tan corto no vale la pena, me parece un robo, ademas es tan facil pasarlo que ni siquiera pierdes tiempo repitiendo nada. he jugado casi todos los r&c y este es el que mejor se ve pero el peor en todos los demás aspectos Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2021
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ditto schottip's review June 2021.

    I've played games for 30 years, including early games like Jak and Daxter on PS2. Never played a Ratchet and Clank game.

    It was fun. Haptic feedback was great (e.g. typing on keyboard). I got stuck on 2nd map multiple times because I tried to explore areas sooner than the game intended but it did a poor job preventing me from trying with double jumps and dashing. Should have been detected during play testing. One quest in particular on 2nd map was poorly designed (e.g. flying dragon to fetch plants). Other maps and quests were fine.

    Overall, a game that folks with a PS5 should check out, but seems just slightly overrated. Probably ideal for younger and/or less skilled players. I appreciated it with that in mind and if my review were more narrow in scope considering only that audience, I would rate slightly higher, more in line with the critics.
    Expand
  7. Jun 13, 2021
    7
    Kind of dissappointed with this one, because it was one of the only games i was looking forward to and is my first R&C game. I don't like going fully into details, so i will try to keep it as simple as possible. Graphics are a solid 9/10 (once i have seen an upgrade from ps2 to ps3/4), nothing can really surprise me with graphics. So graphics are great whatever. Game play wise? As i said,Kind of dissappointed with this one, because it was one of the only games i was looking forward to and is my first R&C game. I don't like going fully into details, so i will try to keep it as simple as possible. Graphics are a solid 9/10 (once i have seen an upgrade from ps2 to ps3/4), nothing can really surprise me with graphics. So graphics are great whatever. Game play wise? As i said, i never played previous R&C games, but this to me is repetitive and boring. If i would rate the game play i would give it an 6/10. Same goes for the story 6/10, your typical save the world/universe from the bad villain yada yada yada. So overall is around a 7 to a 7.5 out of 10, not a bad game by any mean. Its just, for me at least, definitely not a 10/10. Expand
  8. Jun 13, 2021
    5
    Great game! Awesome visuals, audio and haptics, enjoyed every minute of 20 hours of my time put in so far it and am still playing for that minor number of items I missed. Superb work Insomniac games and worth every penny for me personally.
  9. Jun 13, 2021
    7
    De lo mejor graficamente de ps5 sin duda, lo que pasa es que es muy corto, la jugabilidad muy simple cosa que me aburrio, vendian los portales como algo nuevo y no afecta en nada 0 innovacion, el cambio de skin a rivet me resulto poco trabajado. Se vende como un AAA, 80e precio oficial y ni me resulta AAA ni vale 80e, llama la atencion graficamente pero eso no justifica el precio. Un pocoDe lo mejor graficamente de ps5 sin duda, lo que pasa es que es muy corto, la jugabilidad muy simple cosa que me aburrio, vendian los portales como algo nuevo y no afecta en nada 0 innovacion, el cambio de skin a rivet me resulto poco trabajado. Se vende como un AAA, 80e precio oficial y ni me resulta AAA ni vale 80e, llama la atencion graficamente pero eso no justifica el precio. Un poco decepcionado con la calidad tan baja en juegos que esta sacando sony juegos en ps5. Expand
  10. Jun 12, 2021
    7
    No vale 80 euros esto. Como juego es divertido pero lo han vendido como que el sistema de portales era lo más y la verdad que el 80% del tiempo es punto a a punto b.

    A partir del nivel 2 la calidad gráfica baja bastante en comparación al primer nivel. Juego continuista a rabiar pero no es un punto negativo esto.

    Recomendado
  11. Jun 12, 2021
    7
    Buenos graficos, buena jugabilidad, le doy un 7 porq no es de mi gusto el juego, pero solo es mi opinion personal la cual no tiene q ser la opinion de los demas.
  12. Nov 1, 2021
    7
    Rift Apart is without a doubt, the most graphically impressive game out for now. It has high-action set pieces, engaging gameplay, excellent cutscene directing, immersive haptic feedback, and no load times.

    But the game has some problems: Boss fights are boring because enemy bosses are reused over and over. The game is only 10 hours long, so it's quite short. There are only 9 worlds,
    Rift Apart is without a doubt, the most graphically impressive game out for now. It has high-action set pieces, engaging gameplay, excellent cutscene directing, immersive haptic feedback, and no load times.

    But the game has some problems:
    Boss fights are boring because enemy bosses are reused over and over.
    The game is only 10 hours long, so it's quite short.
    There are only 9 worlds, there are a huge amount of worlds from previous titles that we could have checked out in next-gen hardware.
    I was hoping to see lots of new enemy types and races but for the most part, you just fight nefarious troopers.
    Craiggerbears serve no purpose, you collect them for no reason.
    The twist and origin of rivet losing her arm was painfully obvious and just felt too dramatic.
    Insomniac could have fleshed out and shown ratchet's adventures in comparison to rivet's adventures, and we could have explored the reasons for how and why the dimensional counterparts look and act differently, but that never happened.
    Instead of being a threat, Dr Nefarious is reduced to a comic relief character, a far cry from his original portrayal in RAC3.
    Rivets' past is barely explored; we could have learned about her upbringing or whether she defeated Drek, etc. The robot pirates have returned, but emperor Tachyon is nowhere to be found, despite the fact that he created them.
    Rift Aparts themes and ideas are overly simplistic; for example, the sequence in Torren 4 where the fixer miraculously changes his mind could have been fleshed out more, it just felt forced and anticlimactic. Feels like I’m just playing kids game instead of a game for all ages

    This game is pretty disappointing for longtime fans, the originals are still the best RAC games in my opinion. Hopefully, Rift Apart guides them to play the originals.
    Expand
  13. Jul 7, 2021
    6
    Visually it is gorgeous. The main problem comes in with the gameplay.
    There is not enough variety in the types of zones. Most of the game you are cleaning of enemies zones and it becomes tedious.
    Although Insomniac tried to make it less noticeable adding lots of weapons or other playable characters at the end it is boring. There are other zone types: Exploratory, puzzle, races and
    Visually it is gorgeous. The main problem comes in with the gameplay.
    There is not enough variety in the types of zones. Most of the game you are cleaning of enemies zones and it becomes tedious.
    Although Insomniac tried to make it less noticeable adding lots of weapons or other playable characters at the end it is boring.
    There are other zone types: Exploratory, puzzle, races and arena. That's all. And They aren't fun.

    The portals are just a gimmick.

    It's duration is short, but I'm ok with it. More is not always better.
    Expensive for its content.

    As a family movie it is a 10. As a game... I think it is a 6.5
    Expand
  14. Feb 14, 2022
    5
    8 Hours, repeating bosses £70 price tag. I really tried to enjoy this game. Buy the 2016 R&C and some other older games.
  15. Jul 9, 2021
    6
    Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart (PS5)

    "The First True Ninth-Generation Console Game" (+) Presentation (+) Characters (+) Performance R&C: Rift Apart is breathtaking. It is absolutely stunning to look at in almost every corner. From the insane details on the character models to the gorgeous backdrops in the numerous worlds I visited, this is easily the most beautiful R&C yet. The
    Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart (PS5)

    "The First True Ninth-Generation Console Game"

    (+) Presentation
    (+) Characters
    (+) Performance

    R&C: Rift Apart is breathtaking. It is absolutely stunning to look at in almost every corner. From the insane details on the character models to the gorgeous backdrops in the numerous worlds I visited, this is easily the most beautiful R&C yet. The presentation here is next to none. Alongside the returning protagonists, new additional characters are added to the roster. These additions were welcoming and a nice contrast. The one thing that I still can’t get over is how well this game ran on the PS5. I had no crashes or glitches, and very few bugs (clipping through the ground). I was amazed during my entire playthrough that all of this was running at a smooth framerate and resolution.

    (-) Gameplay
    (-) Weapons/Gadgets
    (-) Replay-ability

    Perhaps the biggest weakness in this game is the lack of diversity in gameplay when compared to its previous titles. I was really hoping by adding new characters to play you would see differentiation in gameplay. Perhaps certain weapons/gadgets/puzzles are locked off to certain characters, but this never happens as the narrative explains that the four playable characters mirror each other. Moreover, there are only four new weapons added and a slight tweak to an existing gadget. The gameplay here is near identical to the previous titles, which I found to be very disappointing considering that this is a AAA $USD 69.99 game. This brings me to my final point: replayability. When I played the 2016 R&C there were trophies pushing me to upgrade each weapon, collect all the collectibles, upgrading my character, and more which resulted in me playing the story 5 times. This time around all the trophies can be achieved in one playthrough and the first five minutes of challenge mode (buying one additional weapon). Which for me was a bummer as I didn’t see fit to return to the game any time soon.

    (3/5) - Above Average - Recommended at $49.99
    Expand
  16. Jul 19, 2021
    5
    Отличная картинка. Посредственная игра. Которая быстро забывается после прохождения. Почти по всем главным игровым параметрам проигрывает и оригинальной трилогии, и тому же Crack in Time.
  17. Jun 21, 2021
    5
    Absolutely the best game on the PS5 to date. Fun from the moment I popped in the disc until the moment I hit platinum.
  18. Aug 28, 2021
    7
    Ratchet and Clank: A Rift apart is a fantastic looking game wit some fun, if not revolutionary gameplay mechanics. Every thing is visually stunning and the world is just a joy to go through. Ratchet himself is an annoying character, and I oftentimes wish that Rivet was the main character in the game. The game could could have been longer considered the asking roice. But solid game nevertheless.
  19. Nov 6, 2021
    7
    Nowhere near as fun as the previous instalments of this series. Very long opener which was a touch overdone. Smooth game play and all the satisfying weapons we came to love. It is the storyline that is lacking. Point - there isn’t one. Have played 3/4 through the game and really, it’s about smashing and shooting than the flimsy premise of a story. Sorry guys but you dropped the ball andNowhere near as fun as the previous instalments of this series. Very long opener which was a touch overdone. Smooth game play and all the satisfying weapons we came to love. It is the storyline that is lacking. Point - there isn’t one. Have played 3/4 through the game and really, it’s about smashing and shooting than the flimsy premise of a story. Sorry guys but you dropped the ball and seem to be heading toward Ubisoft and Bethesda style games. Expand
  20. Jun 28, 2021
    7
    Ratchet's debut on the PS5 is an interesting dilemma. Visually the game is stunning, having some of the best visuals ever made in a video game. The PS5 also allows for loading that's essentially instant, as seen when you go from different planets or dimensions. The haptic triggers also make Ratchet's signature weaponry infinitely more satisfying.

    There are however, issues you see when
    Ratchet's debut on the PS5 is an interesting dilemma. Visually the game is stunning, having some of the best visuals ever made in a video game. The PS5 also allows for loading that's essentially instant, as seen when you go from different planets or dimensions. The haptic triggers also make Ratchet's signature weaponry infinitely more satisfying.

    There are however, issues you see when you look deeper into the game. The combat in Rift Apart is perplexing, as the weapon lineup and controls are possibly the most fun and consistent in the series, but the loose weapon balance and lacking enemy variety leads to combat encounters feeling too repetitive and not asking much of the player. This was how the combat was in R&C, but the enemy variety issue makes it way worse in Rift Apart. I can't tell you how many times I had to fight the same "Nefarious Juggernaut" midboss. With a lower planet count compared to the PS2 originals and even the PS4 remake, with some of the planets even returning, Rift Apart feels a little stagnated.

    Half the game is genuinely new, with cutting edge graphics showing the PS5's capabilities, which is fantastic. But, the other half feels old and outdated, like the loose weapon balancing. If insomniac fleshes out the mechanics and design of a new Ratchet with more new and interesting gameplay, then you will have a cutting-edge game that truly stands out with the best of the best.
    Expand
  21. Jun 30, 2021
    6
    Overall im fairly dissapointed with this entry.
    This is the best looking ratchet and clank game but thats about the only great thing about it.
    The gameplay is decent, the guns are ok but nothing truly stands out. The levels are all forgettable, the enemies are not varied enough, the bosses are all the same and overused. the music is poor but by far the worst thing abut this is the
    Overall im fairly dissapointed with this entry.
    This is the best looking ratchet and clank game but thats about the only great thing about it.
    The gameplay is decent, the guns are ok but nothing truly stands out.
    The levels are all forgettable, the enemies are not varied enough, the bosses are all the same and overused. the music is poor but by far the worst thing abut this is the story.
    The story is terrible. Ratchet is so bland and uninteresting, a shade of his former self. I like the addition of Rivet but nothing is done with her character, theres no depth and no development. Kit is cringey and so is clank, what has become of these characters.
    Expand
  22. Jul 7, 2021
    7
    Ratchet and clank rift apart is very good game for a specific audience. If your not in that group this game is just slightly above average with great haptic controls and graphics. If your a fan of these types of games you will love this one.
    Either way it is not 10 out of 10 game. Don't listen to those ppl. The high scores mostly reflect how desperate we all are to actually have next gen
    Ratchet and clank rift apart is very good game for a specific audience. If your not in that group this game is just slightly above average with great haptic controls and graphics. If your a fan of these types of games you will love this one.
    Either way it is not 10 out of 10 game. Don't listen to those ppl. The high scores mostly reflect how desperate we all are to actually have next gen games to play on our hard to find expensive new hardware.
    Expand
  23. Jun 24, 2021
    7
    The game is interesting enough. Very beautiful. Shooting with tactile triggers is poorly implemented, it is very inconvenient to hold the button halfway, well, these are most likely features of a very weak dualsense resistance. The game is VERY short, paying the full cost to complete the game in 3 squats, which does not reach the full cost. I advise you to buy at discounts.
  24. Jul 4, 2021
    7
    There isn't much depth in this game and the xploration is not very rewarding. They needed to add a bit more tatical character building stuff that you needed to use on harder difficulty for the adults and hardcore gamers. As it is now it's perfect for a casual gamer or kids, but of you don't fit in to those categories then you will be bored pretty quickly like I was.
  25. Jun 29, 2021
    7
    New to the Ratchet & Clank series. Best elements: Visuals, animation & audio which are top notch. Gameplay and story? Great for kids, but quite basic/unsubstantial for gamers looking for something deep like from a God of War or Horizon. The world is undeniably gorgeous but the sheer linearity and swiftness of the story makes it feel often like the opposite of immersive. Go too hard onNew to the Ratchet & Clank series. Best elements: Visuals, animation & audio which are top notch. Gameplay and story? Great for kids, but quite basic/unsubstantial for gamers looking for something deep like from a God of War or Horizon. The world is undeniably gorgeous but the sheer linearity and swiftness of the story makes it feel often like the opposite of immersive. Go too hard on for-fun platforming everywhere, and the artifice of the game exposes itself. It can be hard to get lost in this universe. But overall it's a fun time and it's a full package of a game. Expand
  26. Aug 31, 2021
    7
    Its not Ratchet and Clank game,its Rivet and Clank.Whole game you are playing female hero,Not as Ratchet.Why?
  27. Oct 12, 2021
    5
    me di la oportunidad de jugarlo, y es extremadamente corto, muy rapido de pasarlo, a nivel gráfico no me quejo pero tiene algunos fallos de texturas interesantes, no se si se debe a un error de mi consola pero el juego calentaba bastante mi ps4, lejos de ello es entretenido pero cuando más interesante se pone se termina
  28. Jun 27, 2021
    7
    I am giving 7 out fo 10 for one reason only. The game is short for its price tag. I believe that a game that costs as much as Rift apart it should be at least 30hrs long
  29. Jun 26, 2021
    7
    It is a beautiful game, but I encountered a ton of glitches in my play through. I had multiple boss fights freeze, or I would clip through the map after traveling through rifts. The worst clip happened on the final boss fight and kind of killed the moment for me. Overall, I enjoyed the game, but I have like 15 minutes of 30 second clips of glitches saved on my console because of this game.
  30. Aug 27, 2021
    5
    Same thing as every other R and C game. Beautiful visuals, but otherwise pretty generic overall.
  31. Aug 30, 2021
    5
    Un título que no evoluciona de sus primeras entregas, si bien usa tecnología ssd para lograr una mecánica de teletransportación entre dimensiones cosa ya se había logrado con titán fall 2, que nadie recuerda por lo demás el personaje femenino no presenta nada de mejora narrativo ya que es un solo un skin.
  32. Aug 30, 2021
    6
    Es un juego que está bien, pero no tiene comparación con otros que tienen una nota similar.
  33. Sep 12, 2021
    6
    Pourtant fan de la série, cet épisode m'a clairement déçu. Soyons honnête, le jeu est une véritable démo technologique: le raytracing fait des merveilles, les effets de particule sont innombrables tout comme la somme des détails visuels. Du très gros boulot.
    Une fois qu'on a dit ça, on a fait le tour du jeu. Le titre est court, les 2 personnages jouables n'ont de différences que le visuel
    Pourtant fan de la série, cet épisode m'a clairement déçu. Soyons honnête, le jeu est une véritable démo technologique: le raytracing fait des merveilles, les effets de particule sont innombrables tout comme la somme des détails visuels. Du très gros boulot.
    Une fois qu'on a dit ça, on a fait le tour du jeu. Le titre est court, les 2 personnages jouables n'ont de différences que le visuel (quelle déception), les ennemis sont inintéressant et reviennent sans relâches, bref, on voit vite les limites de l'exercice.
    A cela il faut ajouter cette "escroquerie" des fameux portails mis en valeur pour le SSD. Rien de révolutionnaire, Portal le faisait bien avant lui et d'autres jeux depuis. Moi qui pensait qu'on pourrait créer nos propres portails et aller d'un monde à l'autre, c'est loupé.

    Par contre, j’ai eu le droit à 2 gros bugs. Le 1er après un passage dans un portail, le monde avait totalement disparu et je marchais dans le vide intersidéral. Obligé de « trouver » un trou pour me suicider et faire réapparaitre le niveau…
    Le 2ème plus chiant où j’ai cru que j’allais devoir tout recommencer, c’est dans une arène où je suis tombé dans un trou. Dès lors le jeu m’a fait réapparaître dans l’arène mais je ne pouvais plus bouger. Le pire étant que même en mourant, ça me faisait revenir au même endroit sans pouvoir bouger. (idem en éteignant le jeu et en chargeant la dernière sauvegarde). Heureusement, j’ai pu loader une sauvegarde Check point un peu plus vieille, mais pas trop pour relancer le jeu… J’ai cru que j’allais devoir effacer la sauvegarde et tout recommencer au début…

    vous voilà prévenu. Une belle vitrine pour la PS5 mais un jeu trop générique et sans âme. Dommage...
    Expand
  34. Oct 14, 2021
    5
    Once again, 'A Crack in Time' still remains as the best game in the series. If you're a hardcore Ratchet & Clank Fan, Rift Apart will definitely disappoint you. Rift Apart has amazing graphics, but thats where the good begins and ends. The story is completely watered-down and doesn't acknowledge any of the previous entries in the series. Ratchet and Clank are sidelined to make way forOnce again, 'A Crack in Time' still remains as the best game in the series. If you're a hardcore Ratchet & Clank Fan, Rift Apart will definitely disappoint you. Rift Apart has amazing graphics, but thats where the good begins and ends. The story is completely watered-down and doesn't acknowledge any of the previous entries in the series. Ratchet and Clank are sidelined to make way for their female counterparts who are not fleshed out properly given that the game is at most, 12 hours-long.

    Gameplay is the exact same as it was in 2009, but with new, underwhelming weapons. No, you don't get to personally modify your weapons. Its the same boring system that R&C 2016 had where you slightly upgrade 'ammo-count' or 'slightly increase damage', which leads to every player having the same weapons by the endgame. No space exploration as well, which is disappointing. The writing is terrible, with cliche & cringey lines about friendship and "doing the right thing".

    The best thing about this game is how the controller feels when you shoot a gun. It feels exciting when you fire a shotgun with both barrels by fully pressing the trigger on the controller with resistance.

    No idea how people are giving this 9/10's or 10's. If you want a game to shut-up your kids, this is it. However, if you're an adult, you should really get help.
    Expand
  35. Mar 29, 2022
    7
    For all it's prettiness and technology, as a game it never quite goes beyond 'alright'. If you've never been able to get into the Ratchet & Clank series before then don't expect you ever will.
  36. Feb 16, 2022
    5
    This game was okay until around the half-way point. At that point you realize that it's suddenly become stale. By the second half of the game, you've already done everything there is to do. So instead of zooming around in your jet boots, you're riding a giant snail, but the activity is completely the same, it's just a different "vehicle".

    Then you come across the same boss you came
    This game was okay until around the half-way point. At that point you realize that it's suddenly become stale. By the second half of the game, you've already done everything there is to do. So instead of zooming around in your jet boots, you're riding a giant snail, but the activity is completely the same, it's just a different "vehicle".

    Then you come across the same boss you came across before. At first you can't even really tell that it IS a boss except it has a damage indicator above it's head.

    That's when you remember that they only took a year to make this game, and you start understanding why it's so repetitive, why there are so few enemy designs with concepts that are introduced, but not fleshed out. Why "Raritanium" is EVERYWHERE in this game to the point where it should have been called "Everywhereitanium". A tool they give you to zoom through force-fields never gets used much to go through force fields. Why did they even bother with the force-fields? If you can just go through them, then what's the point? Again, half-baked. The portals? They are glorified hook shots. They are eye-popping at first, but then you realize they’re just zip points and nothing else. Had they pulled you into the parallel universe to help you navigate between obstacles in each universe, it would have been more interesting. By the time I got a little past the half-way point, I was really uninterested. The story is full of technobabble and the story is incomprehensible. So I put it on easy to just get through the game. That is when I ran straight into a game-breaking bug that's over year old THAT HASN'T BEEN FIXED YET. One of the pocket dimensions will not re-open for you once you've stepped inside, trapping you in until you go to an earlier save. That's when went from bored to angry. This is not a “glitch”, this is a game breaking bug. I got this game for $30 on sale, but I can only imagine paying $70 for this game and coming across a bug that could set you back 30 minutes. It again, also demonstrates a game that was rushed out the door for the launch of the PS5.

    This game was okay up until a point. But it's not up to the standard of earlier Ratchet and Clank titles. You can feel how "empty" the game it by the time you get to the end. Even the boss fight at the end was so boring, with so many bullet-sponge bosses, I literally yelled "OH COME ON!" when another boss yet appeared. I just wanted to be done with this.

    Finally, this series has taken a major blow since the reboot. What used to be funny with some biting, clever satire has been watered down into a kiddie-friendly series. I feel like Insomniac has sold out. This will most likely be the last Ratchet and Clank game I’ll ever play as I feel it’s definitely not being made for me anymore. It’s not as edgy or fun as it used to be…

    I think the only thing this game really has going for it is it's graphics. For me, someone who has been gaming at 4k through a PC connected to an HDTV through a high-end graphics card, it really wasn't that eye-popping, but I can definitely say I was surprised to see this coming out of a console. Like someone else said, it was a nice tech demo, but it runs out of steam way too early.
    Expand
  37. Jun 19, 2021
    7
    I enjoyed my playthrough of Ratche & Clank: Rift Apart. Visually, the game is just stunning. The choice of a vibrant color palette coupled with next gen graphic processing really shows what the PS5 is capable of.

    In terms of gameplay, its not all half bad but does leave something to be desired for those of us seeking a more challenging experience. Even at higher difficulty levels, the
    I enjoyed my playthrough of Ratche & Clank: Rift Apart. Visually, the game is just stunning. The choice of a vibrant color palette coupled with next gen graphic processing really shows what the PS5 is capable of.

    In terms of gameplay, its not all half bad but does leave something to be desired for those of us seeking a more challenging experience. Even at higher difficulty levels, the game doesnt really present us with any real challenges. This could have been easily solved for example by making certain enemies more vulnerable to certain weapons, as was demonstrated masterfully in Doom eternal. Additionally, some of the controls are a bit cumbersome and there isnt much room for vastly customising them to help make switching between dash, etc more smoothly.

    The set pieces and level design are done quiet well, and when i consider the game as a whole I understand it s target audience may not necessarily be interested in razor edge death combat, and thats fine. While it might not wholly be to be liking, I am still happy that this game came out and has something to offer for everyone.
    Expand
  38. Jan 28, 2022
    7
    Don’t get me wrong this is a good game with excellent games mechanics and fantastic graphics. The attention to detail is amazing But after playing it I couldn’t help coming away feeling a bit disappointed. The game mechanics feel very similar to the ratchet and clank ps4 remaster with the exception of new weapons. I prefer the weapons in the previous title particularly around the humor.Don’t get me wrong this is a good game with excellent games mechanics and fantastic graphics. The attention to detail is amazing But after playing it I couldn’t help coming away feeling a bit disappointed. The game mechanics feel very similar to the ratchet and clank ps4 remaster with the exception of new weapons. I prefer the weapons in the previous title particularly around the humor. Nothing beats seeing enemies doing a disco dance. What disappointed me is the story and length of the game. It took me about 8 hours to complete which I would not have any issue with normally. But the first 5 hours are ok with the story really ramping up after 6 hours. And then it ends…….

    For some reason I didn’t really engage with the story. It feels like the story was chosen to fit in demonstrating the incredibly quick load times of the ps5 rather than an original idea. Still, it’s a game I would still highly recommend.
    Expand
  39. Sep 15, 2021
    7
    Graphics, as you may know, look great, and I think the story for a game like this was very good. The weakest part about this game is the gameplay. Even though the game had many creative ways to make the gameplay interesting, after some time, it became repetitive. There are two reasons for this, and one of them is that Rivet and Ratchet don't have different abilities, so they feel the same.Graphics, as you may know, look great, and I think the story for a game like this was very good. The weakest part about this game is the gameplay. Even though the game had many creative ways to make the gameplay interesting, after some time, it became repetitive. There are two reasons for this, and one of them is that Rivet and Ratchet don't have different abilities, so they feel the same. The second reason is that melee combat is too simple and that forces you to use the guns in most parts of the game. Overall, I highly recommend this game if 1. you like platformers 2. you are a fan of the series 3. want it for a kid (otherwise, wait for it to become cheaper). Expand
  40. Dec 17, 2021
    6
    O jogo tem gráficos incríveis e a jogabilidade ganhou melhorias em comparação ao jogo anterior. A história, no entanto, não cativa, o gameplay ainda não é tão fluido quanto poderia e as sessões de exploração do mapa são muito cansativas. Numa certa altura do jogo percebi que estava me forçando a jogar. Aí deixei de lado.
  41. Sep 20, 2021
    5
    Cast: 5/10
    Story: 4/10
    Fun: 6/10
    Gameplay: 7/10

    Recommended
    ----------------------
  42. Mar 3, 2022
    7
    Juego qué fácilmente lo puede mover una ps4,no se por que se empeñaron en déjalo en ps5 nada más
  43. Aax
    Jan 16, 2022
    7
    My score is a bit complicated. I guess you could say "It depends"
    If you are buying it for your kids or you really enjoy children cartoons, this game could be 8/10 for you. If you don't, then it's 6/10 at most. Let me now explain my views in detail.
    The Plot. 10/10 or 5/10 depending on who you are. First let's address this. This game's plot - is basically a Disney cartoon for
    My score is a bit complicated. I guess you could say "It depends"
    If you are buying it for your kids or you really enjoy children cartoons, this game could be 8/10 for you. If you don't, then it's 6/10 at most. Let me now explain my views in detail.

    The Plot.
    10/10 or 5/10 depending on who you are.
    First let's address this. This game's plot - is basically a Disney cartoon for elementary school aged children. As a cartoon, it strikes all the right notes, so if you like children's movies - this is pretty much as good as they go.
    For me personally - it's just not interesting. I enjoy more adult storytelling, and this type of story is pretty boring for me. It's not cringe or anything, but it's just not very deep, and is not stimulating enough for me. I genuinely couldn't wait until the game was over.
    So this part strongly depends on your personal tastes. There's nothing wrong with liking cartoons even if you're an adult, but I think this point alone makes this game not immediately recommendable to absolutely everyone.

    The Gameplay
    it's 6/10. It's basically a 1-button gameplay, where your entire fighting is about pressing the shoot button and dodging. The enemies generally have 1 melee attack and some of them have 1 shooting attack. You basically press dodge if they get close, and keep shooting, and that's about it for the gameplay.
    The weapons are many, and they are very creative and different, very unique. That's until you realize that they pretty much don't change your gameplay AT ALL, they just kill enemies with different animations.
    The game has a lot of gimmicks that feel good enough for the platformer, so the platforming is on-point, but I can't say that this alone saves the entire game.
    The problems of the game design are many.
    Frequently, you are just left clueless about some things, until you progress far enough. You will find puzzles that you technically can solve right away but you just don't know how. And there are other puzzles that look like they are solvable, when in reality you actually just don't have the right tool yet. These elements waste your time if you are a completionist and want to clear everything as you go.
    Another problem is that the levels are riddled with invisible walls to block you from solving puzzles. Frequently your tools are enough to get to some hidden loot, but an invisible wall blocks you, because the developers want you to get there through a different route. And sometimes it's not at all obvious what is expected from you. Another such mechanic is just insta-death triggers if you get where you aren't supposed to be. This adds unnecessary frustration to the game, especially for attentive players who notice the hidden items in the distance and don't wait to the end game to collect them.
    The last point is difficulty. Because it's basically a 1-button game targeted at kids, the difficulty here is weird. The gameplay is very basic, and you just can't crank the AI to be more challenging. So what they do is they just give you very low health and make attacks hurt a lot, while turning enemies into bullet sponges. I did not find this fun at all, and switched back to medium.

    The Bugs.
    Unfortunately, the game is pretty buggy, although none of that causes crashes or breaks the progress. There are missing textures where you aren't supposed to see, missing geometry so you fall through the ground, etc. The character will often get stuck in the falling animation if you jump on the edge of the platform, and dies if you don't get out of that state fast enough. Some enemies get glitched inside of geometry. For me, the final achievement didn't count initially. Thankfully, I could start with the last checkpoint and just skip the cinematic to get it in a minute, but that's still a bug.
    Generally speaking, the game is very unpolished.

    So is it Next Gen though?
    No.
    One of the marketed features was how well the game uses PS5 SSD to instantly load levels. And that was demonstrated through the use of portals and how they switch dimensions.
    I will disappoint someone here, but frankly - you can do exactly the same seamless transition on PC or an old-style SSD on PS4. There's nothing groundbreaking about that - you just keep both locations loaded when you expect to need them. And those locations are not complex enough to cause any sort of memory concern if you do that.
    The absence of loading times is nice, but that's not next gen.
    Graphically, the game doesn't look anything special. Due to the style, you don't really need high fidelity textures and models. It looks very good, a playable Pixar cartoon, if you will, but don't expect any "WOW!" effect.

    overall, I recommend waiting for a sale to play this one, or even skip it. Unless you have kids or really enjoy these stories, in which case - sure, go for it now!
    Expand
  44. Feb 16, 2022
    7
    This is solid GAME! and not those god of war/horizon and ghost of tsushima grind fest boring and repetitive games. This is a truely a next gen fun game. I believe insomniac games is 1 of the only few or the only 1 who heavily focuses on gameplay/other innovations and do unique things. In these day and age where RPGs and grinding has ruined video games and become the norm is the reason IThis is solid GAME! and not those god of war/horizon and ghost of tsushima grind fest boring and repetitive games. This is a truely a next gen fun game. I believe insomniac games is 1 of the only few or the only 1 who heavily focuses on gameplay/other innovations and do unique things. In these day and age where RPGs and grinding has ruined video games and become the norm is the reason I bought PS5 for only games Insomniac will be developing in the future. For me Spider-Man 2018 was the game of the generation. I can't believe I have 100hours in a game that takes 20 hours to complete.

    Negative
    - Enemy verity I think is lacking but still a fun game to play through

    - All the rivet is an great addiction for story telling I just think she should have been part of the story and Play as Ratchet and Clank. When I am playing rivet It just feels like playing as a reskinned Ratchet. If you were to have amazing unique rivet and Kit gameplay, and even then you play way too much time playing rivet(Almost more than half the game). In the and this is a RATCHET AND CLANK GAME! not Rivet and Kit(Just make a new ip with unique gameplay instead).

    - Story was ok with no emotions, no funny dialogue that made the original engaging in that department.

    This why worry about Insomniac Games becoming another generic Sony studio with agendas. Looks like they haven't put thought in like the other games or the older experienced developers have left with millennials in charge. I mean even in miles morels the Line "he's our Spider-Man" was a bit cringe and came out during Black Lives Matter says what's happening to insomniac. Spider-Man was always everyones hero no matter what the skin colour. The line was as if Peter Parker didn't help black people and now we have a superhero that helps black people. The line could've been That's Spider-Man.
    Expand
  45. Apr 20, 2022
    6
    extremely repetitive game and the story is just soooo stretched. just really linear
  46. Jun 17, 2021
    5
    Jogo mais lindo dessa geração!! Jogabilidade incrível! Uma continuação perfeita!!Surpreende!!!!
  47. Jun 18, 2021
    6
    After 100%ing the game I can say without a doubt that it is not worth the price, for 70 dollars you get a 20 hour experience that is extremely repetitive, I would wait for a sale.
  48. Jun 17, 2021
    5
    I have experienced four soft crashes, one hard crash, and have fallen through the map geometry on five separate occasions. The gameplay itself is good, though the gun variety is nothing revolutionary for the series. Given the short length of the game, the price, and the serious bugs that are present, I cannot recommend this game until it's on sale or receives major patches to improve stability.
  49. Jun 24, 2021
    7
    First game I played on PS5. was fun and the graphics were amazing however it did get a little repetitive. was funny with good dialogue.
  50. Dec 20, 2021
    7
    Buen juego de inicio de generación, con gráficos excelentes y una historia muy entretenida. En mi caso no había jugado a ninguna entrega anterior (salvo un par de horas al de PS4) y lo he disfrutado muchísimo. Me ha encantado Rivet y quiero más Rivet en juegos posteriores.
  51. Mar 1, 2022
    7
    Jogo com gráficos de animações incríveis, além de ser muito divertido para todas as idades. A história achei razoavelmente boa. Gameplay com as armas muito fluida e interessante.
    Sistema de dimensões é algo de maravilhar.
    Ponto negativo do jogo são BUGS, na primeira vez jogando não tive tanto problema, porem na segunda jogada tive diversos bugs nas fases, porem nenhum Crash. Além de
    Jogo com gráficos de animações incríveis, além de ser muito divertido para todas as idades. A história achei razoavelmente boa. Gameplay com as armas muito fluida e interessante.
    Sistema de dimensões é algo de maravilhar.
    Ponto negativo do jogo são BUGS, na primeira vez jogando não tive tanto problema, porem na segunda jogada tive diversos bugs nas fases, porem nenhum Crash.
    Além de seus defeitos, entrega o que promete.
    Expand
  52. Apr 29, 2022
    6
    fun game just wished the story was a bit better written. The characters get obnoxious by the end
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 127 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Negative: 1 out of 127
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 16, 2022
    100
    One of the first real reasons to buy PS5. This intergalactic adventure of famous series is full of great gameplay, inventive game design, gripping story, and great characters. It's a game for everyone who owns PS5. Actually, it’s a game for everyone.
  2. Sep 11, 2021
    95
    What’s so good about this installment of Ratchet and Clank is that it is a true labor of love. There is no other way a game can feel so good, play so well, and take you on an impressive adventure all without that special ingredient to keep it going. The definition of a next-gen title, Ratchet and Clank: Rift Apart is a must-play that will leave you super satisfied and hungry for another big game like this one.
  3. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Sep 3, 2021
    78
    The experience is so captivating, you’ll probably want to blast through the entire 10-15 hour story in one go. But the final is really disappointing: basically, the entire game is just a warm-up, while the important events will happen in the next one. [Issue#254, p.36]