Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Apr 4, 2022
    85
    Throughout my Relayer playthrough, I thoroughly enjoyed every moment, even the overly long battles near the end. It’s a challenging, fun, and charming game with a lot of great systems and unit design. Relayer is a game that I’d recommend to anime, mecha, and SRPG fans alike. Though it’s a little on the long side, it feels completely worth the time investment. The game has a solid ending, and after the credits roll, an entire post-game opens up with 35 more episodes of content covering the aftermath of the game’s events. Relayer is a game that continually upended my expectations. It ended up being far more vast than I thought, and I eagerly look forward to a sequel.
  2. May 7, 2022
    80
    Relayer is a very solid and fun SRPG, with an interesting story, a rich and captivating cast of characters and great systems, which only suffers from its localization problems and the technical issues seen in the PS5 version. If you are a fan of the genre, this is yet another gem that should be on your radar.
  3. Apr 10, 2022
    80
    Despite quibbles, though, Relayer is a solid entry into the canon of mecha-based strategy titles. Kadokawa Games developed an original, endearing sci-fi RPG with a strong character focus. It may be held back by its rougher edges, but anyone with a love of sci-fi anime should give it a look.
  4. 80
    Relayer gets so much right. It’s gorgeous on the eyes, the narrative is twisty and fun in the way that the very best pulp sci-fi can be, and the traditional tactics JRPG action is well-executed and clean. It takes such joy in what it is doing that I can’t imagine there will be many people that walk away from it without a smile on their faces. While it might not do enough to stand out as one of the greats of the genre, it is more than worth your time, especially if you’ve ever looked to space and wondered just what tactical warfare up there might look like.
  5. Mar 18, 2022
    75
    Relayer is an exceptionally niche SRPG that may slide under your radar if you aren’t explicitly looking for it. I would say it’s a game made for fans of the genre, but the mechs and sci-fi narrative open it up to a broader fandom. The SRPG features are accessible, and the systems for customization are deep enough to enjoy, no matter how familiar you are with these games. However, the narrative and pacing are weak, which weighs heavily on the enjoyment as it requires a level of investment that you will likely never have.
  6. Apr 7, 2022
    74
    If you're looking for a hardcore SRPG then you'll likely be disappointed by Relayer but it's still a satisfying spacefaring adventure that features enjoyable cinematic combat, incredible audio, and a memorable cast of characters.
  7. Mar 24, 2022
    70
    Do you want a completely average, by-the-numbers strategy RPG that revolves around giant robots? Relayer will probably scratch that itch. If you're looking for anything more than that, it falls flat. Nothing the game offers excels beyond "average," and there are enough nagging flaws and problems that you have to put some effort into getting to the good bits. There's the makings of a better sequel here, but for now, Relayer barely makes the grade.
  8. Mar 22, 2022
    70
    Relayer has the building blocks of a promising new IP with a compelling ensemble of characters and an intriguing world to build off of. There are too many key flaws with its English localization, its design decisions, and its UI that holds it back from being truly great, but all of those can easily be improved upon in a sequel. I hope Relayer does well enough to encourage the development team to make more because I am so interested in where they take it next, especially with the way the main story ended.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jun 11, 2022
    10
    The game is amazing. The story is complex and long. It truly captures your attention right away. The game was very addicting to play and IThe game is amazing. The story is complex and long. It truly captures your attention right away. The game was very addicting to play and I definitely felt sad after passing it. It is definitely a 10. Full Review »
  2. Jun 6, 2022
    8
    Picked up Relayer on a whim as an SRPG nerd and was pleasantly surprised by how much it's characters and story intrigued me. The combat systemPicked up Relayer on a whim as an SRPG nerd and was pleasantly surprised by how much it's characters and story intrigued me. The combat system takes a long time to actually get interesting or challenging, and the English VA is rough. But overall I found the customization of the mechs and interesting characters well worth the time invested. If you are looking for a sci-fi take on the strategy RPG genre I can definitely recommend Relayer. The combat mechanics are relatively simplistic and it has a very "Anime" cast, but beyond that its charm outweighs its shortcomings in my opinion. Full Review »