User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2223 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 2, 2021
    4
    UPDATE REVIEW.... I am dropping my score from 9 to 4. This game completely wastes your time without a save or checkpoint feature. I have put hours into this game since launch and I am done until this feature is added. People don't have time to reply levels over and over again and that novelity wears off quickly. I am done and Returnaling and tradting in this game ASAP for Rachet andUPDATE REVIEW.... I am dropping my score from 9 to 4. This game completely wastes your time without a save or checkpoint feature. I have put hours into this game since launch and I am done until this feature is added. People don't have time to reply levels over and over again and that novelity wears off quickly. I am done and Returnaling and tradting in this game ASAP for Rachet and Clank, which will have saving and checkpoint features.

    Oringinal review....Yes and this is a Sony Exclusive that just shows off a little of what the PS5 can do. I think this game is incredible but the graphics will be better with games to come. Don't get me wrong and this games story, graphics, ray tracing, use of the PS5 controllers functions and everything is here. I don't mind dying all the time and jumping back in but with no check points or saving options this is really not what games are about these days. People's time is worth that function to be put into this game and then it's a 10. Great first PS5 exclusive and worth the buy because of what it brings to the table for gamers. You need to see it to beleive it!
    Expand
  2. May 2, 2021
    3
    Gameplay, graphics, sounds, vibrations are all perfect. So far, It is the game of the year for me, but devs are too arrogant to not putting a save feature in game. (Do you seriously think there will be no crashes!?)
    random crashes lost me 10 hours progress in a few runs.
    It should have been an easy 10/10 for me, except it ruined my day by crashing before the last boss fight. (250% max
    Gameplay, graphics, sounds, vibrations are all perfect. So far, It is the game of the year for me, but devs are too arrogant to not putting a save feature in game. (Do you seriously think there will be no crashes!?)
    random crashes lost me 10 hours progress in a few runs.
    It should have been an easy 10/10 for me, except it ruined my day by crashing before the last boss fight. (250% max health, a bunch of artifacts, lv25 proficiency, a bunch of status upgrades...).
    THANKS FOR RUINING MY DAY.
    Expand
  3. May 1, 2021
    4
    Скучная, крайне однообразная и унылка игра. Авторы пытались в рогалик, да не смогли. Локации однотипные и пресные, оружие не отличается по ощущениям вообще. Графика - просто всплеск эффектов в глаза, но я не вижу ничего, что делало бы игру некстгеном, кроме быстрых загрузок и этих самых эффектов ради эффектов. Откуда такие огромные оценки - мне не ясно. Жутко скучный проходняк, не более.Скучная, крайне однообразная и унылка игра. Авторы пытались в рогалик, да не смогли. Локации однотипные и пресные, оружие не отличается по ощущениям вообще. Графика - просто всплеск эффектов в глаза, но я не вижу ничего, что делало бы игру некстгеном, кроме быстрых загрузок и этих самых эффектов ради эффектов. Откуда такие огромные оценки - мне не ясно. Жутко скучный проходняк, не более.
  4. May 6, 2021
    0
    I am extremely angry. I was starting to enjoy the game and get used to the mechanics but since the patch, the game crashes at random. This is unacceptable! Especially for this type of game where there is no save feature and you cannot even turn the console off otherwise you must start from scratch again. And that’s a 80 dollars game for crying out loud!! I don’t want to start another runI am extremely angry. I was starting to enjoy the game and get used to the mechanics but since the patch, the game crashes at random. This is unacceptable! Especially for this type of game where there is no save feature and you cannot even turn the console off otherwise you must start from scratch again. And that’s a 80 dollars game for crying out loud!! I don’t want to start another run now, I am scared that the game will crash right during the second boss fight!! NEVER have I scored a game zero. It pains me to do it but it’s just unacceptable. Housemarque, get your **** together!!! Expand
  5. May 6, 2021
    2
    Nothing like losing 30+ hours of gameplay because of a bad patch by the developers. It was already bad enough having to deal with a few glitches killing a few of my runs but this is totally unacceptable. WASTE of $70.
  6. May 4, 2021
    2
    sold as a tps on the psn, this game is actually a rogue-lite adapted in tps and that makes a hell of a difference!
    The difficulty is just badly managed, it's frustrating, when after 20 hours of play you only saw the 1st boss twice, there is a wobbly balance!
    I can understand the vision of the developers, but when you charge a game 80 €, you make it a little more accessible to ordinary
    sold as a tps on the psn, this game is actually a rogue-lite adapted in tps and that makes a hell of a difference!
    The difficulty is just badly managed, it's frustrating, when after 20 hours of play you only saw the 1st boss twice, there is a wobbly balance!
    I can understand the vision of the developers, but when you charge a game 80 €, you make it a little more accessible to ordinary people!
    I am crossing 'housemarque' from my memory, I will never buy one of their game again!
    Expand
  7. May 6, 2021
    3
    A challenging game with a lot of fun mechanics. You gradually learn how to get better. I enjoyed my first hours in the game. But now I have experienced my fifth crash. Almost all crashes happened when I was getting close to finishing a quest / biome. Challenging gameplay is fun. But being challenged and have all progress wiped over and over due to crashes is painful. The game seems to getA challenging game with a lot of fun mechanics. You gradually learn how to get better. I enjoyed my first hours in the game. But now I have experienced my fifth crash. Almost all crashes happened when I was getting close to finishing a quest / biome. Challenging gameplay is fun. But being challenged and have all progress wiped over and over due to crashes is painful. The game seems to get progressively less stable for every patch. The initial release version was the most stable one. I have finally given up on this game. There are better games to play at this price range. Wait for this game to get fixed and its price to fall. This is not a AAA product worth its current price. I wish the devs the best of luck. Expand
  8. May 5, 2021
    0
    It's a buggy mess. Doors don't open so you have to restart the cycle. Enemies that shoot you after they've died. Enemies that shoot through doors.
    There's an audio bug since the recent patch where the game makes a loud booming glitch noise sound instead of the sound effect.
  9. May 4, 2021
    4
    Eight crashes, three game breaking bugs and everything starts from scratch. I'm afraid to start already a run. I'm very disappointed.
    It is not the difficulty of the game that is the problem, but the many crashes.
  10. May 3, 2021
    3
    I can't take it anymore, I lost almost 3/4 of my advance due to a bug. I'm not going to start it again.
  11. May 5, 2021
    0
    You know a game is bad when the developers though its fine to rely on the console sleep option + a uninterruptible power supply for a save system while holding the console hostage (cant play other games or you lose the "save")
    Should be dumped and removed from store just like cyberpunk
  12. May 5, 2021
    3
    I have been playing this game for 11 hours and 20 minutes and can't even get by the first boss! The graphics are amazing as is the use of the dual sense controller, but the difficulty makes the game not enjoyable for me. I've gone through all the help videos on YouTube but still can't succeed. I really think they need some easier difficulty settings. I enjoy the story in video gaming asI have been playing this game for 11 hours and 20 minutes and can't even get by the first boss! The graphics are amazing as is the use of the dual sense controller, but the difficulty makes the game not enjoyable for me. I've gone through all the help videos on YouTube but still can't succeed. I really think they need some easier difficulty settings. I enjoy the story in video gaming as much as I do the gameplay, but I wouldn't recommend this game. The thing is that I'm not a complete newbie either! I've completed lots of great games like both last of us games, Horizon zero dawn, and GTA5. This is just too much and I'm sorry I paid so much for this game. Expand
  13. May 6, 2021
    3
    Don't believe the hype. This is a highly overrated product and Housemarque's worst game. I don't care about the save situation or the difficulty. Not an issue for me. The problem is... the gameplay loop simply is not fun. The weapons, upgrades, and room design is all very dull. I will say, it controls well, is a good looking game and the enemies have some cool designs. This is a $20 gameDon't believe the hype. This is a highly overrated product and Housemarque's worst game. I don't care about the save situation or the difficulty. Not an issue for me. The problem is... the gameplay loop simply is not fun. The weapons, upgrades, and room design is all very dull. I will say, it controls well, is a good looking game and the enemies have some cool designs. This is a $20 game at best and not worth a penny more. Do yourself a favor and pickup Hades or Dead Cells instead. They respect your time and have a good loop. Or, check out Housemarque's older games, like Nex Machina or Resogun. Both of which are excellent. Super disappointed to have to add them to the black list along with CDPR and Hello Games. Expand
  14. May 6, 2021
    3
    30+ plus hours in and a "patch" corrupted my save. Would have rated this game a solid 8 otherwise. Simply unacceptable for Sony to allow this kind of arrogance from a developer, especially on a AAA $70 game.
  15. May 6, 2021
    0
    So a **** game but really, you play for hours and you mustn't die in order not to be heard from the start, but then you make a mistake and you love the game all over again. Are you serious? !!!!!! 80 € ???? wowwwww
  16. May 6, 2021
    0
    Absolutely trash. Broken AF. 86 from the media? are they blind? wtf is going on. Graphics are trash, sound is trash and if we see that is broken AF, this games doesn't worth 80 Euros. Not recommended.
  17. May 5, 2021
    2
    Para nada bueno el juego demasiado obscuro y niebla sin sentido que no ayuda en la visualización de los enemigos ,queda debiendo
  18. May 4, 2021
    0
    Game keeps crashing.No save features, not a 70 dollar game, in my opinion.
  19. May 5, 2021
    4
    Average gamer, dropped 70 quid on something I can't get off the first biome. I don't have time to spend hours on a playthrough, at the very least give a save option. At best follow Insomniacs example with Spiderman and add another tier of difficulty to make it easier for us casuals! At the price tag EVERYONE who buys it needs to get their moneys worth from it.
  20. May 2, 2021
    0
    Es un juego oscuro con apenas detalles. No es next gen como lo prometió Sony. Usa trucos como neblina, oscuridad y luces para tapar que va a 1080p. En lo jugable el personaje es errático y la cámara no se posiciona bien. No lo recomiendo
  21. May 3, 2021
    4
    The game crach after 5h of play, that realy bad you need to restar at the beagening :(
  22. May 2, 2021
    0
    Returnal is fun and all, but it is so buggy. There are no save points, so when the game crashed, I lost everything. all my progress from 2 hours, GONE
  23. May 3, 2021
    4
    El juego es entretenido pero llega a un momento y se empieZa a tornar repetitivo.
    He tenido 2 chrasheos y me ha tocado empezar de nuevo, que mal esto, perdí todo ese tiempo, ojalá lo arreglen pronto.
    Sony y la desarrolladora nos han mentido con que eran 4K nativos, que falta de respeto. En una parte del juego no he podido avanzar porque las puertas y los teletransportes no funcionan, no me
    El juego es entretenido pero llega a un momento y se empieZa a tornar repetitivo.
    He tenido 2 chrasheos y me ha tocado empezar de nuevo, que mal esto, perdí todo ese tiempo, ojalá lo arreglen pronto.
    Sony y la desarrolladora nos han mentido con que eran 4K nativos, que falta de respeto. En una parte del juego no he podido avanzar porque las puertas y los teletransportes no funcionan, no me aparece ninguna opción.
    El tema de la dificultad es relativo, se sabe que estos juegos son un reto y está bien.
    Expand
  24. May 1, 2021
    0
    Забагованый кусок кода!после патча 1.33 удалил мои сохранения и обнулил прохождение
  25. May 2, 2021
    4
    The game has some Performance issues such as random freezing and frame drops. The main mechanic of the game I feel gets in the way of the overall design as you spend a good portion running back to certain boss rooms or what have you. The bosses attack in a sequence rather than mixing up their attacks and this ultimately kills a lot of excitement as far as how to take on said boss. ThisThe game has some Performance issues such as random freezing and frame drops. The main mechanic of the game I feel gets in the way of the overall design as you spend a good portion running back to certain boss rooms or what have you. The bosses attack in a sequence rather than mixing up their attacks and this ultimately kills a lot of excitement as far as how to take on said boss. This coupled with the lack of save (even if it's just to step away and come back later) leads to a very strange experience. If you want a bloated rogue-like this is it, but I feel it compromised an otherwise Expand
  26. May 2, 2021
    1
    Es una estafa de juego la verdad, la distancia de aparición de objetos parece una broma, a 5 metros te salta un objeto que no veías antes, puede ser por la niebla o puede ser porque la consola no puede cargarlo sino explotaría, y no hablo de objetos pesados, solo son piedras o pequeñas hierbas, eso si lo que no te cansarás de ver será a tu personaje correr entre la niebla con disparos queEs una estafa de juego la verdad, la distancia de aparición de objetos parece una broma, a 5 metros te salta un objeto que no veías antes, puede ser por la niebla o puede ser porque la consola no puede cargarlo sino explotaría, y no hablo de objetos pesados, solo son piedras o pequeñas hierbas, eso si lo que no te cansarás de ver será a tu personaje correr entre la niebla con disparos que son fuegos artificiales. Único punto positivo es por la integración de la mujer en juegos que cada vez es mayor

    It's a game scam the truth, the distance of appearance of objects looks like a joke, 5 meters you skip an object you didn't see before, it can be because the fog or it can be because the console can't carry it but it would explode, and I'm not talking about heavy objects, it's just stones or small herbs, that if what you won't get tired of seeing will be your character running in the fog with shots that are fireworks. The only positive point is because of the integration of women into ever-increasing games
    Expand
  27. May 2, 2021
    4
    Visually stunning and atmospheric. Gameplay is solid but the structure holds this back, along with some jaw dropping decisions when it comes to respecting a players time. With no ability to save or checkpoints, the probability that large chunks of progress will be lost because life or the dreaded crash (it's happened to me 3 times), is great.
    The game also has some bugs that stop progress
    Visually stunning and atmospheric. Gameplay is solid but the structure holds this back, along with some jaw dropping decisions when it comes to respecting a players time. With no ability to save or checkpoints, the probability that large chunks of progress will be lost because life or the dreaded crash (it's happened to me 3 times), is great.
    The game also has some bugs that stop progress and forces you to have to repeat a run, just like a crash. Ultimately, the story which has a great premise, falls short late game, and makes completing the game more of a slog than it should be. This could have been an 8 or 9 with some better decision making on the devs part, a more robust narrative in the second half of the game, and better marketing that didn't mislead many that pre-ordered the game. I was consuming every bit of news and followed the lead up to release intently and even I was surprised to find out the week before release how many of the games systems were implemented. A lot of people who didn't pay as close attention to the information just before release, will buy this expecting something closer to an action/adventure, 3rd person FPS, and be disappointed.
    Expand
  28. May 2, 2021
    0
    Bad optimization, Bugs, so much smog, 4k isn't real... This Ps5 Game need to be fixed
  29. May 3, 2021
    0
    Crashes, bugs, not being able to turn off your console or play other games without ruining your run.
    They have to fix this, otherwise I would have given the game an 8, because I love it.
    But you can't expect gamers to continue to play after so many hours lost due to the game crashing and everything resets. The dying part is fun though, I like a challenge, and it's not that hard. I wanted
    Crashes, bugs, not being able to turn off your console or play other games without ruining your run.
    They have to fix this, otherwise I would have given the game an 8, because I love it.
    But you can't expect gamers to continue to play after so many hours lost due to the game crashing and everything resets.
    The dying part is fun though, I like a challenge, and it's not that hard.

    I wanted to give the game atleast a 5 so I wouldn't just come of as a hater, I support Housemarque, I bought this expensive game, but don't want to waste my time anymore, losing entire days of progress due to bugs.

    I will not change my rating after they have fixed this, as they have to learn a lesson,. how could they not have implemented a system for eventual crashes so that we start up where we quit, is beyond me. Other Rogue-like games have it.
    People also have problem with power outages, like my 4-hour run just got deleted cause of a bug. Not related to pre-order bonus or controller mapping, nor because of a fault in the Ps5's database.

    Fix it!
    Expand
  30. May 2, 2021
    4
    Great game. Pushes you to keep moving and keeping your eyes peeled for the next thing. My only grievance is the stupid ass Door bug. I have had one too many runs ruined because the dammed door won't open. Or I can't interact with anything either.
  31. May 2, 2021
    0
    The game does have a very good graphic, however, the developer used the same 3D models. You always see same enemies with same AI and almost every scenes look exactly the same. The main story is also not compelling. The game also has no save option, so the developer forced you to play in his way. He does not care if you want to switch to another game or go rest. You cannot give this game 10The game does have a very good graphic, however, the developer used the same 3D models. You always see same enemies with same AI and almost every scenes look exactly the same. The main story is also not compelling. The game also has no save option, so the developer forced you to play in his way. He does not care if you want to switch to another game or go rest. You cannot give this game 10 score just because this is first triple A title with rogue like feature I do not understand why do you guys give this game a high score when the developer can just use the same 3D models for mobs and scenes. Expand
  32. May 2, 2021
    4
    Boring, repetitive SLOG of a game. I like roguelikes, but this game lacks variety and fun. And for SEVENTY DOLLARS?!! That's absurd. Too bad Sony is so dirty and greedy they won't allow a refund. Game is trash. Stay away.
  33. May 2, 2021
    0
    A potentially wonderful game that I had to get a refund for because it doesn't have an Easy mode, rendering it unplayable for me. Maybe Sony will force Housemarquee's hand on this one as both painted it as a AAA game for the masses, it's not and Sony knew it. It's a game for a very specific niche.
    Because of that I cannot score it anything else than 0. I'll update this review/score if
    A potentially wonderful game that I had to get a refund for because it doesn't have an Easy mode, rendering it unplayable for me. Maybe Sony will force Housemarquee's hand on this one as both painted it as a AAA game for the masses, it's not and Sony knew it. It's a game for a very specific niche.
    Because of that I cannot score it anything else than 0. I'll update this review/score if Sony updates the game with an Easy mode.
    Expand
  34. May 2, 2021
    0
    The fact that this game hard crashes is bad enough but the fact that there is no real auto save makes it a disaster. Losing around 8 hours of progress. I doubt they'll bother to make the call to fix the save issues people are having.
  35. May 2, 2021
    2
    Extremadamente repetitivo, lags, inconsistencias jugables, secciones muy largas para guardar, no lo recomiendo.
  36. May 3, 2021
    0
    This game is way too hard, way to punishing on stripping you of every single thing you have when you die & you can't even defeat the first boss without full health which you will never have by the time you faced him because health is so scarce
  37. May 2, 2021
    0
    Absolutely infuriating. This game was not made for casual gamers. It’s incredibly difficult with no difficulty settings. When you die, you get sent right back to the very beginning of the game, and you die A LOT. And you can’t save anywhere within the game at anytime. All progress is lost on death or if you close the game. I am highly disappointed that this game was advertised so heavilyAbsolutely infuriating. This game was not made for casual gamers. It’s incredibly difficult with no difficulty settings. When you die, you get sent right back to the very beginning of the game, and you die A LOT. And you can’t save anywhere within the game at anytime. All progress is lost on death or if you close the game. I am highly disappointed that this game was advertised so heavily when it is clearly a very niche market. At $70, I am very upset as this was an absolute waste of hard earned money. Expand
  38. May 2, 2021
    0
    I had a lot of expectations with this video game and it was a total disappointment full of popping darkness and more darkness without being able to save
  39. May 2, 2021
    1
    Repetitivo, no se puede grabar, en más de 2 hrs de juego no puedo grabar la partida!! Después de jugarlo un buen rato me aburrió.
  40. May 2, 2021
    1
    Bugs, glitches and poorly displayed graphics. It gets boring quickly and the story is nothing special. Also, Housemarque has done a poor job with Physics and AI.

    It's a pass.
  41. May 3, 2021
    1
    Exclusion has a new name. Returnal. No savegame(s), no level of difficulty and it's crashing (without possibility to save...great combo).

    Great game for 5% of gamers. And this is an exclusive. Great job Sony, not.

    Don't buy it now for this price.
  42. May 2, 2021
    0
    Sony has done it yet again and paid a bunch of DESPERATE shills to buy this story this ABSOLUTE piece of garbage. I’m getting real sick of getting review baited into buying a trash game with no story or fun gameplay. 0/10 do not believe the media campaign to ship this **** onto at home consoles
  43. May 2, 2021
    0
    Es un juego malo en todos los sentidos. A eso le sumamos el precio y las notas infladas de la prensa para cogerle aun más asco.
    NO lo recomiendo.
  44. May 3, 2021
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After initially enjoying this game a lot, it became such a complete waste of time and chore past about 6-8 hours of playing. The graphics, animation, and sound effects are the best qualities of this game. I honestly don't know of any single artifact, parasite, or any "buff" that doesn't give an oddly disproportionate debuff to the point that every time I found myself stumbling upon a malignant item I thought "why would I want that huge debuff for such a worthless buff and also have to put in more effort to clear the malignant debuff, all while risking having this progress completely reset?" The gun "balance" in this game is absolutely ridiculous, as there are certain guns and mods that are leaps and bounds above the others in terms of power. What's that, you want to make a web of red lightning-like lasers that can almost span the entire area and do DoT dmg to anything inside it? HERE YOU GO! You want a crappy plague launcher that has a 3 volley clip and nowhere near as good as the rail driver? Sucks to be you, that's going to be all you're gonna get thanks to RNGesus! That goes doubly for alternative fire mods, with ones like tracing (homing projectiles that deal massive damage) being incredibly good while ones like vertical grenade lobby are an absolute joke.

    I find it just sad how many people are rating this a 10/10 simply to "counter all the negative scores."

    Now, let's get into just how much time you're going to waste on this game. I'd go so far as to say that at least 80% of the time you put into this game will be erased with every death, game crash, system or game update forcing you to close. Yeah, you read that right...roguelike tps where you lose all progress when the game closes due to multiple crashes at launch, making you lose your progress. Happened to me progressing from proficiency 0-10 on a multi-hour playthrough killing stage 1 and 2 bosses, so very early in the game progression. To be put simply, incredibly frustrating having hours you spend putting into a game be wiped out in a split second because the game isn't released as a polished product. The only things you keep are the suit mod items like the sword, grappling hook, etc.. and other than that only pieces of ether. Oh, I didn't even mention the "doors will not open" bug forcing you to restart your cycle. Have fun running into that one!

    To anyone on the fence about buying this game, I would strongly suggest on waiting until it's in the bargain bin or at least 50% off, as $70 for this game ($80 for deluxe) is an asbolute rip off.

    What's the point of this game then, you ask, other than dying and losing nearly all progress? Good freaking question. The story was intriguing at the beginning through part 2-3 of 6, but after becoming incredibly bored with this game I just googled how the game ends.

    SPOILER ALERT

    Holy **** that has to be the absolute laziest and most pathetic ending to simply have you "recycle" to the beginning of the game again.
    Expand
  45. May 3, 2021
    0
    Overrated game, a lot of bugs and crashes, fog and popping in PS5, the gameplay makes me feel dizzy, the enemies are repetitive. Death Stranding was killed by that but in The Returnal nobody says nothing. Also the game have a 10gb pre-patch. Days Gone was criticized a lot for the day-1 patch when only had 2gb. The marketing around this game are massive but the game is just a poor game. InOverrated game, a lot of bugs and crashes, fog and popping in PS5, the gameplay makes me feel dizzy, the enemies are repetitive. Death Stranding was killed by that but in The Returnal nobody says nothing. Also the game have a 10gb pre-patch. Days Gone was criticized a lot for the day-1 patch when only had 2gb. The marketing around this game are massive but the game is just a poor game. In 2-3 weeks all its gonna forget this game because the "marketing time" will be over. Then we can see the real thoughts. Now we can see it on some users. Meanwhile my score its gonna be 0, then i will change it to the real score like the media does with the 10 to the real scores, a 6 or lees. Expand
  46. May 2, 2021
    0
    I really wonder who had the idea to make a roguelike when there is so few exclusive game for PS5 at this time.
    No save point and no difficulty mode bring together are serious dealbreaker for me. I would have wanted to love this game but in this state It's impossible for me with family or work.
    Just a waste of money, it's really sad .
  47. May 2, 2021
    0
    Terrible game, a lot of bugs and glitches is almost impossible to enjoy this game not worth the 70 $ at most 19.99$ at that is a steal.
  48. May 3, 2021
    3
    The game is showing off many features of the PS5, but sadly, I expected more from it. 1080p and frame dips in 2021 was shocking, but that's not really my issue. The game is hard, and that's great, but at times it becomes overwhelmingly challenging and unwelcoming. The gameplay also feels a little repetitive after a few runs. And then there is the problem of the PS5 updating while you playThe game is showing off many features of the PS5, but sadly, I expected more from it. 1080p and frame dips in 2021 was shocking, but that's not really my issue. The game is hard, and that's great, but at times it becomes overwhelmingly challenging and unwelcoming. The gameplay also feels a little repetitive after a few runs. And then there is the problem of the PS5 updating while you play and all the progress is lost. It is a very cool game with cool ideas, but these quality of life things need improvement Expand
  49. May 2, 2021
    0
    este juego me ha desepcionado de muchas maneras, es aburrido, todos los mapas con casi que exactamente igual al msimo, si fuera un juego gratuito lo entenderia, pero no vale lo que cuesta, es mas similar a un juego indie desarrollado por una persona que a que nos tiene acostumbrado PLay station
  50. May 2, 2021
    1
    Es un juego de 6-7, sin embargo le doy un 1 por la cantidad de graves BUGS que tiene, crasheos en la consola, puertas que no se abren, horas de avance perdidas por bloqueos, etc... Lamentable sacar un juego con estos fallos y mas lamentable aun la prensa dándole notas infladas y no avisando de ello a los usuarios
  51. May 2, 2021
    1
    This is a great game that at times can be very rewarding and incredibly fun. I enjoy the grinding, the rouge-like gameplay...the whole atmosphere of the game and its story is perfect.

    I just can't forgive this great game for the lack of saving. For a $70 first party Sony game that really knocks it out of the park everywhere else, the fact that I have to put my console in "rest mode" and
    This is a great game that at times can be very rewarding and incredibly fun. I enjoy the grinding, the rouge-like gameplay...the whole atmosphere of the game and its story is perfect.

    I just can't forgive this great game for the lack of saving. For a $70 first party Sony game that really knocks it out of the park everywhere else, the fact that I have to put my console in "rest mode" and hope it doesn't get messed up when I have to walk away is absurd. The game does just fine saving my permanent equipment, and how much Ether I have in my inventory when I boot it up. Am I out there "save scumming" for my Ether? No, because that's stupid. Will this become just another third person shooter if I can actually save where I am after an hour and go to bed? No, because if it works anything like other indie games in this genre that cost a fraction of the price, it will let me pick up where I left it and that's it.
    Expand
  52. May 2, 2021
    0
    Know what? I think the game IS great. Great controls, great graphics, great atmosphere, great enemies. Everything's very good.
    That's bad is that unless you really are a hardcore player (to the bones!), your rage quit might not be too far away.
    The game's progression system is extremely unrewarding. The game is HARD - you thought Souls was hard? And it's hard in a way that it is
    Know what? I think the game IS great. Great controls, great graphics, great atmosphere, great enemies. Everything's very good.
    That's bad is that unless you really are a hardcore player (to the bones!), your rage quit might not be too far away.
    The game's progression system is extremely unrewarding. The game is HARD - you thought Souls was hard? And it's hard in a way that it is unforgiving, doesn't give you any leeway in terms of what's available to you (weapon choice? nope. keeping health? nope. any sort of guaranteed leveling? nope. any way to keep progress beyond a couple of traversal things and RANDOM perks you might or might not get? nope!).
    I would be great for the price of $40 - a standard game, for a niche player base. But at full extra next gen price of $70 (if you're in a lucky region, right?) - no, I don't think so.
    I spent the money. I loved 10 hours of the game. I am now at 15+ hrs, and I already am about to think twice if I want to spend time on the game, considering the gratification (or lack of thereof), I got coming this way.

    Hardcore folks will like this. Tight shooter, all that kind of stuff.
    But for general hardcore (Souls, Sekiro, Hades) - this one could be WAY WAY over the head (it is for me).

    I'd actually loved having my time and money back. Oh well.
    Expand
  53. May 2, 2021
    0
    Forget this game bro it crashed on me after I played for like 3 hours so lost everything. I know rougelikes don't save but really? Those are like 20 minute runs not hours
  54. May 2, 2021
    0
    Orrendo! Non ha obbiettivi e non ha una storia. Devi solo sparare a degli alieni! Mi aspettavo anche meglio dalla grafica, è pieno di titoli con grafica migliore e questo è esclusiva ps5 ( scandaloso ). Deluso in tutti i sensi non riesco a credere che sia in esclusiva ps studios. Veramente orrendo!
  55. May 2, 2021
    1
    J'adore les rogue-lite et j'ai prit vraiment du plaisir les premières heures. Mais malheureusement le fait que ce soit un tps gâche le plaisir. En fait tu vois pas ce qui vient de derrière. C'est complétement id**t. C'est un rogue like tu dois pouvoir savoir ce qui vient de derrière ou des cotés!!! Mais les développeurs disent qu'il faut mettre le casque pour savoir qu'en ça vient deJ'adore les rogue-lite et j'ai prit vraiment du plaisir les premières heures. Mais malheureusement le fait que ce soit un tps gâche le plaisir. En fait tu vois pas ce qui vient de derrière. C'est complétement id**t. C'est un rogue like tu dois pouvoir savoir ce qui vient de derrière ou des cotés!!! Mais les développeurs disent qu'il faut mettre le casque pour savoir qu'en ça vient de derrière où des cotés. Parce que la télé ne permet pas de faire se rendu. En gros faut jouer soit au casque soit avec un home cinéma. Sinon bah tant pis pour toi, t'as plus qu'à deviner et devenir devin pour anticiper.
    Et sinon le jeu devient très vite trop répétitif. Alors on s'en douté avec tout les previews et test qu'il y a eu avant mais là c'est beaucoup trop. Tu peux passer 1h sur la même map à la faire, refaire, rerefaire, rererefaire, rerererefaire, rerererererefaire et ainsi de suite. Ca devient n'importe quoi. Le jeu devient une vrai punition. Dans les Souls au moins au bout d'un moment tu comprends et enregistre les pattern des pnj etc... mais là non tu vas comprendre au départ de la map mais vu qu'il faut recommencer depuis des points déterminés tu dois quasi tout te retaper. Et ça fait beaucoup trop de chose à retenir et ça c'est à chaque map. C'est vite saoulant. Il y a des rogue-like bien meilleure et bien plus fun. Je crois que les développeurs on oubliait que c'était un jeu vidéo et on voulu montrer qu'ils pouvaient encore plus dur que les Souls comme pour ce démarquer et on oublié le plaisir de jouer. Un coté un peu démonstration et élitiste.
    Expand
  56. May 4, 2021
    0
    Edited score because of game crashing. = 0

    Original review....honestly, this is a game of two different sides to me. on one side is the gunplay, combat, and control. they are all stellar. i truly love how these battles play out. not to mention the beautiful colors and graphics. on the other side is the lack of a save system in such a big world. ill admit that i read that this game was
    Edited score because of game crashing. = 0

    Original review....honestly, this is a game of two different sides to me. on one side is the gunplay, combat, and control. they are all stellar. i truly love how these battles play out. not to mention the beautiful colors and graphics. on the other side is the lack of a save system in such a big world. ill admit that i read that this game was "rogue-lite" before i bought it, and after looking up what that meant i realized there were very few things that saved if you died. however, i wasnt prepared for no saves in such a large world. it really makes no sense not to have save points in a world this big. if Returnal had the same action and combat, but in a regular action/adventure format instead of this rogue-lite garbage it would be infinitely better imo. then you would save your progress and also save your weapon powerups etc...as it is though, despite me loving the combat, i wish i would have never bought this game. ill never by another rogue-lite or rogue-like game again. and before anyone says i just want to make the game easier. thats not the case. i dont mind a difficult game. i played and beat Bloodborne after all. just in a world this big you need save points.
    Expand
  57. May 2, 2021
    0
    El juego es repetitivo a mas no poder y totalmente carente de diversidad de mecanicas. Personalmente no ha sido de mi agrado en lo absoluto
  58. May 3, 2021
    1
    the game has a native resolution of 1080p and not 4k as stated by the media as rogelike is a failure and as arcade is poor confusing story and very high price for an indie double A
  59. May 3, 2021
    4
    Es repetitivo, los gráficos no están a la altura de un next gen, se nos engaño con el 4K (no es 4K) . No es un triple A como lo han querido vender, más encima se cae a veces y el fallo del guardado por dios, ojala lo arreglen pronto con un parche pero definitivamente las reseñas o están arregladas o jugaron otra cosa.
  60. May 5, 2021
    4
    After greatly enjoying the Days Gone, Spiderman (puzzles turned off), and Ghost of Tsushima, I really wanted to like Returnal. Unfortunately, after some 4 hours of mindless running around uninteresting dark sceneries, that change after every death (and no way to save the progress), I gave up. Sorry Housemarque... Uninstall, and instant gratification. There is just too little reward for theAfter greatly enjoying the Days Gone, Spiderman (puzzles turned off), and Ghost of Tsushima, I really wanted to like Returnal. Unfortunately, after some 4 hours of mindless running around uninteresting dark sceneries, that change after every death (and no way to save the progress), I gave up. Sorry Housemarque... Uninstall, and instant gratification. There is just too little reward for the ongoing pain and lack of progress. Be careful before purchasing. Expand
  61. May 2, 2021
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bastante monótono el juego y aburrido. A las 4hrs ya tienes la sensación de haberlo visto todo, la inteligencia de los enemigos es pobrisima, para que decir de los boses. Expand
  62. May 2, 2021
    0
    Very bad game. it’s completely forgettable in this context — beyond recognizing that doing a lot of damage and being able to take a lot of damage makes the game easier. I now plan replicate this build on every run, and if the world doesn’t give me the necessary gear to do that, I’m going to feel like it’s wasting my time again.
  63. May 5, 2021
    3
    Don't buy this game now, wait until it will on sales or in ps+. I had preordered a deluxe version of this game and finished it within 15 hours. But i didn't get trophies because of the deluxe version outfit which is broken even in the current version of the game. Then I finished the game one more time and again faced with broken collectibles 009. The game is crashing in its currentDon't buy this game now, wait until it will on sales or in ps+. I had preordered a deluxe version of this game and finished it within 15 hours. But i didn't get trophies because of the deluxe version outfit which is broken even in the current version of the game. Then I finished the game one more time and again faced with broken collectibles 009. The game is crashing in its current version. Sometimes enemies in the room disappear and a player has to restart the full cycle. In the general, it is a pretty solid game, but the hardcore players hate this because of technical and trophies issues whereas the casual players may hate this game because of difficulty itself. This game isn't the sony quality level. Expand
  64. May 3, 2021
    1
    People don't have time to spend eight hours on the same level. People have more to do. Nobody pays me to play games.
  65. May 5, 2021
    0
    A generic game. The critic reviews are overrated. This game is a 6.5. I put a 0 to level things up
  66. May 3, 2021
    0
    The price of the game is too high but the gameplay is always poor. Better games I had played
  67. May 2, 2021
    1
    I am a noob player! I want to relax and enjoy the game! Give me a tiny little challenge or give back my money! There should be easy, medium, hard and invincible undefeated mode for people who pay for that!
  68. May 3, 2021
    0
    This game has major problems. Constant bugs and crashes that end runs. No autosave (or any save) so when u play, it has to be for 4+ hours if u want to beat it. I would not recommend it to anyone tbh. Reviewers clearly got fooled regarding the bugs/glitches cause it should be in the 70s.

    This game needs Quick Resume BADLY.
  69. May 3, 2021
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. No paran de salirme bugs, increíble que no tenga un autosave decente, ésto se supone es un juego de nueva generación?. Menuda estafa. Expand
  70. May 2, 2021
    0
    Muy mal juego, la terrible, una kgada de gameplay, una historia terrible digna de una historia de una película de Asylum, un juego pretencioso que no logra nada
  71. May 3, 2021
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Скучная, крайне однообразная и унылка игра. Авторы пытались в рогалик, да не смогли. Локации однотипные и пресные, оружие не отличается по ощущениям вообще. Графика - просто всплеск эффектов в глаза, но я не вижу ничего, что делало бы игру некстгеном, кроме быстрых загрузок и этих самых эффектов ради эффектов. Откуда такие огромные оценки - мне не ясно. Жутко скучный проходняк, не более. Expand
  72. May 4, 2021
    1
    Un juego con algunos bugs que perjudican en la experiencia ya que te hacen perder el progreso del juego. Es muy frustrante algunas veces.
  73. May 5, 2021
    2
    Dull biomes, unsatisfying gameplay, horrible save system, and game-breaking patches

    Expected better from a developer with the reputation Housemarque had.

    If you enjoy roguelikes, you're better off paying a fraction of the price for a substantially better experience with Hades.
  74. May 3, 2021
    3
    The lack of any meaningful progression and lack of saves just makes this game not fun. It had potential. But I am done. I do not have time to play this game, and it does not respect my time.
  75. May 4, 2021
    0
    Aburrido y gráficamente deficiencia. Cubrir el poco dibujado con efectos. Que es esto el año 1996
  76. May 7, 2021
    1
    thats game are not cost 70 $, no other game not cost 70$, but this "game" are **** thank you acess media for lying everywhere, 1 of 10, bruhh
  77. May 7, 2021
    1
    Эта игра попросту не стоит своих денег. За предлагаемую суму игроки получают заготовку игры, а не что-то полноценное
  78. May 3, 2021
    3
    Not necessarily a difficult game. But when the game throws an enemy at you that isn’t a boss that is able to one hit you just to “advance the story”? That’s a bad tactic to pad it out. Other than that it was halfway fun and a beautiful way to show what the ps5 is capable of.
  79. May 4, 2021
    1
    Game is beautiful but far too difficult, extremely stressful, repetitive and frustrating. The boss fights are almost impossible and there's no difficulty setting or game save. You die then you have to start all over again. It's a shame because many will abandon the game because of this.
  80. May 6, 2021
    0
    The game is extremely repetitive with a generic and forgettable sci-fi story.
    On top of that there's the 70 USD price tag for what looks like a low-quality indie game instead of a AAA title. I have played indie games with much much MUCH better gameplay and story.
  81. May 7, 2021
    0
    Самый отстойный рогалик за последнее время. Графика - топ, спору нет. Стрелять, в принципе, понравилось, но геймплей на уровне дна. Это не стоит 5500 рублей. Это стоит 200 рублей по скидке максимум
  82. May 2, 2021
    2
    El juego es repetitivo..se ve mal...no se puede guardar partidas y cansa rapido.espero lo mejoren por el precio que tiene
    Una mala compra en general
  83. May 2, 2021
    0
    ставлю ноль, потому что когда в очередной раз багает и не можешь выйти из комнаты, вынужден перезапускать мир и сам стоишь с нулём в начале.
  84. May 2, 2021
    1
    Story is boring and gameplay is fun but gets repetitive after a few hours. I completed the game even through multiple crashes and a bug with the pre order skin that hindered my progress somewhat.
  85. May 3, 2021
    1
    If it was multiplatform game, it would have hardly 200 reviews (at best) as of right now. But it's ps5 exclusive, so you already know that fanboys have got this over 1000 positive reviews (all 10 or 9 of course) with 2 days. I wouldn't even call them gamers, because they really aren't. They just care about brand and exclusivity. Those things have nothing to do with actual gaming. ReturnalIf it was multiplatform game, it would have hardly 200 reviews (at best) as of right now. But it's ps5 exclusive, so you already know that fanboys have got this over 1000 positive reviews (all 10 or 9 of course) with 2 days. I wouldn't even call them gamers, because they really aren't. They just care about brand and exclusivity. Those things have nothing to do with actual gaming. Returnal is extremely generic game. Save feature is one of the worst i have seen ever. Maybe half the price, if it really interests you. Can't wait for actually good games from May 2021 like Resident Evil Village. Expand
  86. May 1, 2021
    0
    Returnals developers have straight up stolen "Happo games" indie game "Risk of Rain 2," and slaped an expensive coat of paint , a woke story and ugly Mary Sue protagonist over the top. They have copied everthing from stage design, power ups, leveling system. A Indie formula that Happo games spent a decades working on and Sony just took it and theres nothing Happo games can do against thisReturnals developers have straight up stolen "Happo games" indie game "Risk of Rain 2," and slaped an expensive coat of paint , a woke story and ugly Mary Sue protagonist over the top. They have copied everthing from stage design, power ups, leveling system. A Indie formula that Happo games spent a decades working on and Sony just took it and theres nothing Happo games can do against this giant corperate bully. Everyone from reviewers to You tubers are to scared to go against them. Now Sony will get all the profit for the work done by a small indie studio..Even though the style dosent suit a expensive AAA game at all and many wont get much play time because of the repetition and difficulty. There is a reason Happo made the origional game budget.
    The only saving grace is Housemarque ruined the forula they stole with their own over used mechanics and bad game design. Still it will sell over " Risk of Rain 2" because Sony will make damn sure it will.
    Ive played all Housemarques games and they are all the same mechanics. They have the same control actions and a fun gameplay loop. Just different genres. The progression challenge , pacing everything besides the core gameplay loop is unballanced and trash. Making their games fun for an hour or so, but very easy to walk away from.. Returnal is by far their worst game. And if reviewers played more than an hour, they might have seen the massive flaws..
    Note. With excessive review boosting by fanboys these days I either score a 10 or 0. As review boosting forces the score to be measured in a binary thumbs up thumbs down fassion to end up with anything close to an fair acurate score.

    The one thing I cant stand in a game , that makes me angry and instantly hate it with a passion, is when a game wastes my time. Retural is one of them games that when you die or make a little mistake you can loose hours of progress. Ninja Blade should have been one of my favorite games of all time, but it did the same thing. If you didnt beat a level that could take over an hour on one siting , you would loose all progress. So instead of loving the game I hated it..
    I dont mind a challenge, ive beaten every Ninja Gaiden game and love the series, but when a game scrubs hours worth of progress as a punishment, im out.
    The game is also visually unappealing. Every level is small and looks the same. The story is another liberal goop fest, that is badly writen and the main character is a boring old white woman.. The main character is the visual representation of a modern games journalist, which might explain their high scores. Because this game is fundementally riddled with issues.
    Sure the moment to moment gameplay is fun. But that can be said about 95% of modern games, now that movement and aiming has been stream lined everything is fun and everthing feels the same to play.
    Last issue ill complain about, but not the last issue I have is the price.. Are they serious about the price.. This game is over$100 in my region. Its full of recycled assets and reused levels, like all cheap randomly generated games.. This is a buget game that has had the usual dry playstation story stuff shoved in and given the coveted PlayStation exclusive label, that gets games media to give automatic high score and its been shoveled out to consumers as a early console exclusive . This game could have worked on PS4, but they knew it would be more special and one of the first PS5 exclusives, same thing they did with Rezogun, a generic side shooter. It gets the fanboys review boosting just to protect their beloved corperate brand and it gets games media thinking there is no way the game could have issues, buy at your own risk.
    Expand
  87. May 3, 2021
    2
    The game has alot of troubles with bugs and glitches they have to fix. My main issue is how playstation is applying full censorship in the east while giving androgny female designs to their games. it almost looks they hate beautiful powerfull females or minorities who want their characters to feel authentic and creative. They look all the same. In fact they changed the chin of the actressThe game has alot of troubles with bugs and glitches they have to fix. My main issue is how playstation is applying full censorship in the east while giving androgny female designs to their games. it almost looks they hate beautiful powerfull females or minorities who want their characters to feel authentic and creative. They look all the same. In fact they changed the chin of the actress for the game. Playstation has fallen and nobody deserve to pay 80usd for this broken port. Expand
  88. May 3, 2021
    1
    No puede haber nada más irritante que estar en medio de una run y que el juego crashee, BASTA. Arreglen los bugs que es injugable a la fecha entre crash y puertas que no se abren.
  89. May 3, 2021
    0
    In a nutshell this is a typical indie roguelite with a triple A paint job, and does nothing to justify it's ridiculous £70 price tag. The gameplay is nothing you haven't already seen and played in, quite frankly, better games, such as Hades and Curse of the dead gods. The graphics are very good until your character starts dashing about. She goes from looking like a proper human characterIn a nutshell this is a typical indie roguelite with a triple A paint job, and does nothing to justify it's ridiculous £70 price tag. The gameplay is nothing you haven't already seen and played in, quite frankly, better games, such as Hades and Curse of the dead gods. The graphics are very good until your character starts dashing about. She goes from looking like a proper human character in an amazing alien world to looking like a bug zapping around in an indie game. It's tough to describe what i mean but it just looks like two very different types of games mashed together, and not very well. As for the environments, well they look impressive at first glance but you soon realise that the biomes, as they are called, just don't vary enough which makes the game, with it's rinse and repeat gameplay, even more tedious. Not to mention the ridiculous difficulty spikes. You'll do one area and perhaps get killed then have to do (basically) the same area with a huge rise in difficulty, this coupled with no save system, will see many players just shutting the game off and not returning.

    The most worrying thing is this huge price hike that has been implemented by Sony themselves. The developers have even stated that the price is decided by Sony and not by them. If we buy games at this price we are giving Sony the green light to make all games at this price point. which will make gaming out of reach for many people, who may have to save for some time just to be able to get a console.

    In short, if you like this kind of game (roguelike/roguelite) and you REALLY have to be into this kind of game! then you might enjoy it. but i would urge you to at least wait until the price has gone down significantly. Or better still wait and see what Resi Village is like. for £55 (a much more reasonable price) you get a game from a developer with a proven track record, which also includes the online multiplayer RE:verse and a mercenaries mode. Much better value for money.
    Expand
  90. May 2, 2021
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terrible game. Not worth the 70 price tag. I wouldn't pay more than 30 for this. Expand
  91. May 2, 2021
    0
    Графон говно, геймплей неинтерестный. Сюжет вроде сначала есть, а потом что то его нет. На triple ААА проект не похоже.
  92. May 3, 2021
    0
    Returnal could be a good game, if it didn't have countless problems. Apparently beautiful graphics, but when we stop to look they ARE SIMPLY TERRIBLE. The game keeps closing, it's a mess!
  93. May 2, 2021
    0
    The game is fatal, I do not recommend this game at all, just play it for a few minutes and it seems that I will get epilepsy. It also does not run at 4k
  94. May 2, 2021
    0
    This game is just simply too buggy to have been released. I have crashed multiple times, with crashing increasingly likely the longer a run goes on. This would be somewhat understandable in a game where you could reload a save, but in a rogue like where every crash means a complete restart this just isn't acceptable. My advice to anyway playing is to rush as fast as you can to yourThis game is just simply too buggy to have been released. I have crashed multiple times, with crashing increasingly likely the longer a run goes on. This would be somewhat understandable in a game where you could reload a save, but in a rogue like where every crash means a complete restart this just isn't acceptable. My advice to anyway playing is to rush as fast as you can to your objective and pray you can beat if and get to the next unlock before a crash because the longer you play the more likely a crash. How this got released in this state I have no idea. Expand
  95. May 1, 2021
    0
    Everybody hyped up this game. For a real next gen experience but it’s far from that. The graphics aren’t that good. Some Textures are low res. The game isn’t even 4K! And it dips frames!. Many bugs I encountered. Game crashed so I had to start all over because of the no save BS. The gunplay is fun m, the bosses are fun. Whoever said it’s a true next gen game is a liar! I spent 70 dollarsEverybody hyped up this game. For a real next gen experience but it’s far from that. The graphics aren’t that good. Some Textures are low res. The game isn’t even 4K! And it dips frames!. Many bugs I encountered. Game crashed so I had to start all over because of the no save BS. The gunplay is fun m, the bosses are fun. Whoever said it’s a true next gen game is a liar! I spent 70 dollars for this game!! Expand
  96. May 3, 2021
    1
    Possibly the worst character design in the history of video games. A technically very competent game, but in serious need of the ability to save your game so those of us with less spare time stand a chance. Environments also very samey and often feel quite empty. Massively over-priced too.
  97. May 3, 2021
    0
    Returnal is only getting attention because there's a lack of games on the PS5 and the PS5 owners are getting desperate so they'll play anything. The game was developed by Housemarque and I had to look that up because that's how unknown they are. Has this developer created anything in the past that's memorable? Not a single game. The main character in this game is also butt ugly.
  98. May 2, 2021
    0
    Too much of the success rate revolves around RNG. Get a lucky RNG run, hours in, and the game freezes.

    You get a zero from me.
  99. May 3, 2021
    2
    Un juego con tantos fallos de diseño y errores que te echan de la partida, y con un precio de lanzamiento de 79€, no merece una buena nota.
  100. May 3, 2021
    0
    No accessibility mode for people who are a dexterity problems or Handicap .
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 97 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 97
  2. Negative: 0 out of 97
  1. May 7, 2021
    90
    The more you learn about Selene across the game’s gripping campaign, the easier it is to relate to or agree with her observation that “I deserve to be here.”
  2. May 7, 2021
    80
    Returnal is a tightly designed roguelike with some of the best gameplay the genre can provide, and it's the first game since Demon's Souls to provide a reason to own a PS5. If you’re looking for an experience that really takes advantage of the latest console hardware, Returnal offers it and a lot more.
  3. May 5, 2021
    83
    Returnal is a brutally tough but satisfying roguelike journey that is buoyed by its addictive combat and myriad of weapons, items and upgrades that ensure the journey doesn't get stale. Its narrative is gripping and unsettling, its visual aesthetic is arresting and despite a high level of difficulty, it's a damn joy to play.