Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
Buy On
  1. Jan 21, 2021
    85
    Ride 4 on PlayStation 5 is the best version of an already gorgeous motorcycle sim. The DualSense’s haptic feedback brilliantly amplifies every sensation, and the game runs at a smooth 60 frames per second and beautiful 4K resolution. Milestone has employed effectively the next-gen capabilities offered by Sony’s flagship console, offering console owners the first, spectacular example of what the future has in store for asphalt racing.
  2. Feb 19, 2021
    80
    In Ride 4, you’ll get an uncommonly beautiful racing game with a brilliant driving model and superb utilization of the DualSense controller. But be warned - the difficulty is punishing and the AI is intent on crashing your bike.
  3. Jan 21, 2021
    80
    To put it simply, the PS5 version of RIDE 4 is the best around. It manages to provide a technically satisftying experience while not renouncing to performance, and on top of that it adds the uniqueness of the DualSense features.
  4. Jan 21, 2021
    80
    Ride 4 on PS5 is gorgeous. The textures are stunning, as are the bikes, and the improvements to how it runs are more than noticeable. That said, it still suffers from its tricky handling around corners and an irritating penalty system.
  5. Jan 21, 2021
    80
    It’s a challenging racer that may drive you up the wall at times, but it’s so rewarding when you finally tame the bikes in your garage and start being able to truly compete. It’s just a shame that, since its last-gen launch last October, nothing has been done to bolster its online offerings or make it a little bit easier for new players to get onboard. Still, the best bike-based racing game has assuredly just got better. If you love bikes, you need RIDE 4; it’s as simple as that.
  6. Jan 21, 2021
    78
    RIDE 4 is a very good racer, with a solid gameplay, a deep and renewed Career mode and many technical improvements on PS5.
  7. Jan 24, 2021
    75
    In short, a smooth transition, whether positive or negative.
  8. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Feb 5, 2021
    70
    Most of the issues have been addressed, making for a much more palatable bike sim. It’s still lacking spectacle and charm, but the quality’s much higher. [Issue#185, p.88]
  9. Feb 4, 2021
    70
    Not only does the game look gorgeous but the control system has been enhanced for the Dual Sense with haptic feedbacks and life-like rumble effects as you tear across the pavement. Newcomers to motorcycle racing (or people just wanting a new game for their new PS5) are going to face an uphill climb as they acclimate themselves to the unique complexities of Ride 4’s gameplay demands. There are systems in place to make the experience a bit easier but I would have liked to see a stronger emphasis on the fundamentals of controlling a high-speed bike - and the initial license exam would have been the perfect opportunity for that. As it stands, there might be some substantial hurdles for the player to overcome before they get to a point where they feel like they’ve got a proper handle on Ride 4’s deep approach to simulated racing.
  10. 70
    In many ways, Ride 4 gets its racing simulation so right. The intricate detail of the bikes themselves and the tinkering you can do with them is a testament to that. Unfortunately, the attempt to make its A.I. riders more realistic results in an unwanted level of unpredictability that makes an already challenging experience tougher than it should be.
  11. Feb 8, 2021
    65
    This racing simulator isn't for the faint at heart. Without any real introduction or soft landing, you're expected to drive like a pro and be able to drive near-perfect laps. Without that, you're locked out of the main course, the career mode, and have to resort to riding single tracks. AI is hit-or-miss and races very aggressively. Definitely not a game for beginners or those looking for an arcade racer.
  12. Jan 21, 2021
    50
    Ride 4 is not the must-own motorcycle racing game for your brand new PS5 due to its high barrier of entry and non-user friendly systems. The PS5 upgrades might be appreciated by returning fans of the last-gen version, but it doesn’t warrant the headache these races induce on the player. From my experience, I was locked out of any fun this game might have offered. As such, I really can’t recommend Ride 4 to anyone.
  13. Feb 1, 2021
    40
    Outside of its great use of the DualSense, RIDE 4 is a frustrating and disappointing experience. The lack of a meaningful tutorial, an aggravatingly difficult and boring campaign mode, the absence of local multiplayer, and the greedy credit system all equate to a game that feels like it was rushed for people hungry to get a next-gen motorcycle experience. RIDE 4 feels like a tech demo of the DualSense and nothing more. For an immersive racing experience on PS5, it is better to switch gears and look forward to Gran Turismo 7.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jan 21, 2021
    A fairly well-rounded and solid entry in Milestone’s franchise, Ride 4 makes a similarly well-rounded and solid jump to the new generation. There’s no need to compromise on resolution or performance anymore, with the PS5 able to power the game to look its very best, but it’s really the smart take on how to use the DualSense haptics and adaptive triggers that will enhance how the experience feels.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Jan 30, 2021
    10
    Ride 3 came as a surprise to me when I first played it a year after release. I was hooked and instantly Became a fan if the franchise. ThenRide 3 came as a surprise to me when I first played it a year after release. I was hooked and instantly Became a fan if the franchise. Then Ride 4 was announced and I was excited as it promised to be bigger and better in every way.
    Is it? Yes, it is, but the problems remains the same as in Ride3. It most definitely is not a copy and paste, but a reworked and restructure of the old game, which is both a good and bad thing. If you liked Ride 3, you will love Ride 4, and that is basically it. They striped away some features like upgrade options to the bikes, but added more to the rider outfit customization. Which was a good thing in my opinion, but I liked some of those features, like being able to change your grips and mirrors. Non the less, in that sense it is not more, but I can live with that as the bikes do look stunning. Where the more comes in, I can not really say. But better, most definitely, the bikes control better, the environment looks better, the weather looks great and the tyre wear is more than welcome in my books. So I like the game, but then again, I am a racing fanatic. Does this mean everyone will enjoy the game, I am afraid not. It does not offer more than just racing, but then again most racing games are like that, but at least they are accessible for the most. Ride 4, same as Ride 3, have some races that just don’t feel possible at times, it can be hard as nails, and I do believe this is intensional. It gives a sense of reward when you finally achieve gold. Although I also honestly believe this is the games biggest down fall which makes it un accessible for the casual players. I however can not fault the game in this, if this is what the developers intended, then so be it. I hope it is not just a tool to promote optional credit multiplier to the casual market. I strongly believe that this difficulty is what the fan base wants, and I am referring to the more hardcore sim racing fans out there. Those who will still support the game long after it has been released. The biggest drawback for the game is the AI, which is used as a selling tool, but is even worse than Ride 3 in my opinion. They feel like mindless numbs noticing everything on track except you, the player. Hopefully this will be fixed with a future update. Other than that, I can recomend this game to fan of the series, it is the best in the franchise to date. But I can not recommend it to casual players, especially not with the time trials, time attack and penalties at the moment. Should the have been a difficulty setting for more than just AI, it would have been a yes. But due to the steep learning curve of bike control, it is not something you can just jump into and enjoy. It takes time and some commitment, that only the few hardcore racing fans might appreciate. It is even at times too difficult for my liking. Should you be wondering if you must try the game, check out ride 3 first. If like that game and can except the difficulty, you will enjoy Ride 4 as it is much better structured, and this was the biggest changes for me. Ride 3 should be marked down right now and can be picked up quite cheap. I bought it on special a year after release, and then paid full price when ride 4 released. You either love it, or you hate it.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 16, 2021
    8
    Milestone created with the new version "RIDE 4" a very good simulation for real fans and newcomers for the new console generation. Due to theMilestone created with the new version "RIDE 4" a very good simulation for real fans and newcomers for the new console generation. Due to the many licensed motorcycles and real tracks, there is a lot of realism and fun. The graphical presentation in "RIDE 4" is really great. Also the day and night change in the career has been great, if you can set it yourself. The possibilities with the tire consumption and emptying tank is great. Especially through the new controller of the PS5, driving with the different motorcycles feels even more real and intense than before. If you want to experience a great racing game with motorcycles, you should take a look at the new versions of "RIDE 4". If you still own the PlayStation 4 version, you will get a free upgrade until April 30, 2021.

    (https://www.playmoregames.de/post/ride-4-ps5-im-test)
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 5, 2021
    0
    I hate this game...........................................................