Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Sep 22, 2022
    100
    Session is the skating game I've always dreamed someone would make, where performing even a 'simple' trick is significant and challenging. There are no mile-long grinds or 900-degree kickflips here: just real skating in its rawest form. It doesn't just simulate the sport, but the art of skating too. You need to get creative, looking at the everyday clutter of a city and dreaming up ways to make something rad out of it. That's what street skating is all about, and why Session is the best virtual expression of the artform yet.
  2. Sep 22, 2022
    90
    Crea-ture Studios have achieved a great feat by making the most authentic skateboarding game to date, seconded only by going out and practicing kickflips yourself. The physics-based controls are incredibly intuitive and satisfying to learn. There’s a steep learning curve that may put players off but if you stick with it, there’s no other game that does skateboarding as well as this. It’s not without its minor flaws, but look past them and you’ll find a game with endless replayability.
  3. Sep 26, 2022
    80
    With the presence of multiple pro skaters including Daewon Song and Samarria Brevard, as well as a semi-open world with legendary skate spots like Black Hubbus and FDR Park, Sessions: Skate Sim is a well-written love letter to the sport. While some may feel underwhelmed by the lack of customization and find the controls too difficult to adjust to, players that have a love of skating and are itching to dive into a new skateboarding title will eventually feel right at home.
  4. 80
    Session: Skate Sim is unique amongst its peers. Its control scheme, while taking time to master, is massively rewarding. Rolling around the streets and finding your own skating lines is addictively entertaining. It's a shame about the quest system, its overall presentation and some of the rough edges but do I feel Session is a few patches away from greatness.
  5. Oct 5, 2022
    75
    Despite the 1.0 release, Session: Skate Sim still has a few issues. However, this shouldn’t keep any skating fan away from this deeply rewarding simulator that can, at times, feel just as rewarding as the real sport.
  6. Sep 23, 2022
    75
    Although Session: Skate Sim is a difficult game to get used to, the joy of pulling off tricks far outweighs the frustration. It faithfully recreates skateboarding culture of the 90s, and offers tons of freedom to play however you want.
  7. Oct 3, 2022
    70
    Sim games approach their subjects with a mix of reverence and intense focus. Unlike more arcade-style skateboarding games, Session is a pure, unfiltered experience. If you want to recreate the slow, careful process of learning how to skate, this is your game. But be warned! The mix of intense difficulty and self-directed gameplay isn’t for everyone. Anything less than a pure, powerful love for skateboarding will leave you feeling dissatisfied with this game. But if you’re looking for a pure challenge, and don’t mind a few bugs, you’re in luck. Session: Skate Sim is exactly what you’ve been waiting for.
  8. Sep 29, 2022
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  9. Sep 28, 2022
    70
    Session: Skate Sim is the most authentic skateboarding experience you can get from a video game. Though you will fall down (a lot) and may get frustrated, you will undoubtedly leave this experience with a greater appreciation for skating and the culture that surrounds it.
  10. 70
    Session's ultra-realistic skating mechanics are spot-on and reward your practice and patience. However, it's set in a world that feels a little dead, empty and cold at times and the structure the game does give you isn't particularly interesting or user-friendly.
  11. Sep 28, 2022
    60
    It’d be nice if the game did more in the way of teaching you the ropes, offered different control schemes, and provided a wider array of accessibility options. In general as well, it’d be nice if the game offered more in the way of incentives, excitement, and action to keep you coming back for more, regardless of its punishing difficulty.
  12. Sep 28, 2022
    60
    An unapologetically tricky ode to street skating, Session is packed with a palpable love for the sport, but bugs and unsympathetic tutorial and mission design decisions undermine its approachability.
  13. Sep 26, 2022
    60
    With a steep learning curve and bland presentation, Session: Skate Sim ends up being a mixed package.
  14. Sep 22, 2022
    60
    The mission structure of the game devolves into going to a place, doing a trick or route, strung along by forgettable story dialogue. The missions have a habit of being poorly explained, furthered by being unable to re-read text boxes explaining what you need to do. And rarely do the inputs needed for specific moves get shown during these prompts. For better or worse, Session is a game for the hardcore skater. While its dedication to realism is impressive, the frustration in the early hours is likely to turn most off.
  15. Sep 26, 2022
    30
    Session: Skate Sim is a skate simulation that was very clearly designed with skaters in mind. From the extremely involved control scheme to the perfectly captured recreation of skate culture, the game seems like it was never intended to be a gateway for non-skaters to get into the sport. But the bugs, difficulty, general lack of fun, and incomplete state of the game make it difficult to recommend Session to its target audience as well. Some gamers may be able to break through the learning curve and appreciate the thoroughness put into creating such an involved skate sim, but at the end of the day, it's simply not fun.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Sep 30, 2022
    Imperfect, unkind, and rough round the edges, Session captures more of real skateboarding than almost any game that has come before.
User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. Sep 25, 2022
    1
    I played this game on pc when it was still in early access and I liked it, but as a complete version 1.0, I can't accept it. There is too muchI played this game on pc when it was still in early access and I liked it, but as a complete version 1.0, I can't accept it. There is too much wrong with it. They programmed the skater to be regular and if you try to make your skater goofy they just give you a regular skater who is skating switch. I chose my skater to be goofy and as soon as the game started I was like "why is his footing so weird?" Well, that's why.

    One of the first missions is to do a trick on a manual pad that has a curve in it. Turning while manualing is so incredibly frustrating. The triggers just don't feel right for turning no matter how you adjust the settings, and he seems to just give up and put all 4 wheels down arbitrarily, despite me still holding the stick in the manual position. So why did they choose a curved manual pad for the location of their 2nd mission? Did they want to showcase how broken the game is? I finally did a manual kickflip out on it in hardcore mode and I wanted to pull out my hair by the time I landed it. Like many things in this game, it would have been easier to learn the trick in real life. THE GAME DIDN"T EVEN RECOGNIZE THAT I DID THEIR CHALLENGE! Then I did it again but this time I put 4 wheels down by accident before kickflipping off the ledge and then it recognized it as a make. That happened a bunch of times on the previous challenge too. I did like 4 nosemanuals and then on the last one I hit my back wheels on the way out and it recognized that one.

    Character models look really bad. You meet Mark Appleyard and he looks like a bum, then they show you the photo of him (there is no voice acting, just static photos with text) and you wonder how they made such a hideous in game model of such a handsome guy.

    Controls are way too finicky and don't give you feedback about what you're doing wrong, nor does the tutorial go in depth about the subtleties of the (questionable) game mechanics. For instance, I can't seem to frontside crooked grind without heelflipping out. Eventually I figured out that you have to pop out at the opposite angle that you're locked in, but even knowing that, he still heelflips out most of the time because it's so finnicky about the angle. It just feels broken in so many ways. If you try to do a line with quick footing, the game just doesn't respond to what you want to do. If you don't stay crouched long enough before you pop, the skater will just shuffle his feet to the front of the board to set up for a nollie. This game needs WAY more playtesting, fine tuning, and quality control.

    I'm more than happy to revise my review down the line because there are things I like about this game, but I'm offended that it's being a released as a complete game, and it's broken-ness extremely apparent even seconds into playing, that's why I'm giving this abysmal score. The game is decent as an early access game, but don't tell me this game was ready for launch. As much as I want to try and show love to smaller studios, this is a prime example of why bigger studios dominate the market.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 26, 2022
    6
    Good-
    Great physics-driven systems; plenty of moves and tricks to master; great gameplay customization.
    Bad- Lackluster story mode; bland
    Good-
    Great physics-driven systems; plenty of moves and tricks to master; great gameplay customization.

    Bad-
    Lackluster story mode; bland visual presentation; steep learning curve.

    Thoughts-
    In conclusion, Session: Skate Sim is a hardcore simulation game which means it might not probably appeal to anyone not willing to spend dozens of hours in trying to understand the many nuances of this complex web of mechanics and physics. On the flip side, the bland visual presentation and the lackluster story campaign will put off even the most ardent fans of the genre.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 25, 2022
    3
    The character customization is humorously lacking and basically unacceptable in 2022. The controls do not feel intuitive at all. I had highThe character customization is humorously lacking and basically unacceptable in 2022. The controls do not feel intuitive at all. I had high hopes, which just makes the drop-off even more pronounced. I couldn't be more disappointed in this game. Full Review »