User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2629 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 9, 2022
    10
    Este es el mejor juego de Sonic de los ultimos 15 años, toda una delicia para los fans!!
  2. Nov 14, 2022
    10
    Best 3D Sonic by far! I'm a huge fan of the story and dialogue as well, so shout outs to Ian Flynn.
  3. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    the best sonic game in a long time, a pleasure to have waited all this time for sega to deliver something like that, keep going that way !!!
  4. Nov 11, 2022
    10
    Excelente juego del erizó azul que la nota de la prensa no te haga dudar de la calidad del juego, si eres fan no te lo puedes perder.
  5. Nov 9, 2022
    10
    Sonic frontiers is One of the best sonic games since Unleashed and Sonic generation, I had an absolute enjoy from start to finish and i loved this game i hope the series continues in this direction but better.
  6. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Este juego no me gusta porque es un juegazo esta genial, por eso los usuarios le están poniendo buenas calificaciones y eso afecta a mi DLC exclusivo y a mi pleys, haciéndome más pobre, porque soy inversionista de Sony. Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2022
    10
    This game isn't perfect, far from it, but it's my new favourite Sonic game and one of my top 3 favourites games of all time. Because it made me feel something that no other game has made me feel. All technical issues or possible bugs that the game have are nothing compared to the hype that super sonic boss fights made me feel and the fact that I cried several times with the plot and theThis game isn't perfect, far from it, but it's my new favourite Sonic game and one of my top 3 favourites games of all time. Because it made me feel something that no other game has made me feel. All technical issues or possible bugs that the game have are nothing compared to the hype that super sonic boss fights made me feel and the fact that I cried several times with the plot and the development of the characters I've grown up with. That's why this game is 10 for me, it's a flawed game, but I don't care at all Expand
  8. Nov 10, 2022
    10
    It's a really fun game than you think. It's one of the funniest games I've played in November.
  9. Nov 10, 2022
    10
    This is an amazing 3D Platformer. I'd put it up there with the likes of Super Mario Odyssey, and Spider-Man 2018. Movement feels tight, and combat is addicting. The miniature platforming segments spread out through the air in the open world give me a constant dopamine rush.
    The Cyber-Space stages, and mini-games spread throughout the world are fun distractions in a world already full of
    This is an amazing 3D Platformer. I'd put it up there with the likes of Super Mario Odyssey, and Spider-Man 2018. Movement feels tight, and combat is addicting. The miniature platforming segments spread out through the air in the open world give me a constant dopamine rush.
    The Cyber-Space stages, and mini-games spread throughout the world are fun distractions in a world already full of fun distractions. That's probably the best way to describe this game. It's the Doritos or Arizona Iced Tea of video games. Not top quality food or anything, but you'll always take some if offered because it's delicious and part of you loves it
    Expand
  10. Nov 10, 2022
    10
    This game is **** hype. God, I feel the adrenaline in the super sonic boss fights, really gives the same energy as a SPRITE fight and if you know what a SPRITE fight is you know they go WILD. The track hits hard, harder than alot of the previous tracks. Its ultimately a very fun game, and I hope Sega sticks with this fighting formula and finds a way to give other character's their ownThis game is **** hype. God, I feel the adrenaline in the super sonic boss fights, really gives the same energy as a SPRITE fight and if you know what a SPRITE fight is you know they go WILD. The track hits hard, harder than alot of the previous tracks. Its ultimately a very fun game, and I hope Sega sticks with this fighting formula and finds a way to give other character's their own unique movesets and skill trees. Expand
  11. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    Best sonic game in years. Love the open world. This is the right direction for sonic.
  12. Nov 14, 2022
    10
    Un juego que habré muchas posibilidades lo mejor de lo mejor, Sonic es un videojuego que se aprecia se juega con diversión.
  13. Nov 10, 2022
    10
    크... 드디어... 오래 기다렸다... 존버는 승리한다! 소닉 프론티어 출시!!
    방금 해봤는데 확실히 소닉 프론티어 근접 타격감도 진짜 좋고 근접전투 진짜 최고임
  14. Nov 14, 2022
    10
    Sonic Frontiers es un paso en la dirección correcta que la franquicia debe tomar, nada en comparacion con la llamada "Meta Era"
    El Gameplay es Adictivo y lleno de Posibilidades, batallas de jefes epicas y necesarias con super Sonic, y la historia da un paso adelante a comparación de Sonic Forces.
    Mis problemas serian con el aspecto tecnicos como el popping, la cuarta isla COMPLETAMENTE
    Sonic Frontiers es un paso en la dirección correcta que la franquicia debe tomar, nada en comparacion con la llamada "Meta Era"
    El Gameplay es Adictivo y lleno de Posibilidades, batallas de jefes epicas y necesarias con super Sonic, y la historia da un paso adelante a comparación de Sonic Forces.
    Mis problemas serian con el aspecto tecnicos como el popping, la cuarta isla COMPLETAMENTE VACIA y una batalla final decepcionante, y espero que eso se mejore en juegos futuros
    Expand
  15. Nov 11, 2022
    10
    Excelente juego la jugabilidad qué es lo.que importa en un videojuego es impecable muy divertida y la historia esta a la altura
  16. Nov 10, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Divertido, frenético y bello...una mirada actual al clásico, te evoca recuerdos de mejores tiempos. Expand
  17. Nov 16, 2022
    10
    A Sonic game made me cry. Every character makes you feel they have evolved, everyone feels... Good. It's a **** oddysey, 10/10 Gameplay, 10/10 music, 12/10 story this is just my favourite game ever i am very glad this to exist as a Sonic fan and i... I never thought we'll had this again. It's ... Msgical. The Game just made my day. I never loves Sonic more. Thanks Sonic, you marked myA Sonic game made me cry. Every character makes you feel they have evolved, everyone feels... Good. It's a **** oddysey, 10/10 Gameplay, 10/10 music, 12/10 story this is just my favourite game ever i am very glad this to exist as a Sonic fan and i... I never thought we'll had this again. It's ... Msgical. The Game just made my day. I never loves Sonic more. Thanks Sonic, you marked my Life, once more Expand
  18. Nov 16, 2022
    10
    The game looks ugly but it is pretty fun. My first 7 hours playing it seems like just 1h. I didn't see any bug besides the pop in of items. As a fan of 2D Sonic, I'm glad that finally we have a enjoyable 3D Sonic. If you are a Sonic fan, you can buy it for sure. If you are in doubt, maybe you should wait for a lower price.
  19. Nov 16, 2022
    9
    Best Gameplay since Generations
    Best Story Since unleashed
    Sonic frontiers is a good game its not the greatest game but that doesn't mean it is bad sonic frontiers is a step in the right direction Characters are being fixed with actual development in them Story is tolerable to watch The combat and Gameplay can be a bit broken which needs a bit of fixing because some boss can either be
    Best Gameplay since Generations
    Best Story Since unleashed
    Sonic frontiers is a good game its not the greatest game but that doesn't mean it is bad sonic frontiers is a step in the right direction
    Characters are being fixed with actual development in them Story is tolerable to watch
    The combat and Gameplay can be a bit broken which needs a bit of fixing because some boss can either be easy or annoying. The Game after world 3 gets shorter and doesn't have much to offer. World 4 is just world 1 reused for a sort Of challenge which is pretty quick to accomplish and finish world 5 is just similar like world 1-3 but very shorter and not really much to explore and sage tokens are just reused Amy tokens designs
    As for big fishing mini games it feels to much rewarding to the point you can kinda skip a lot of the game trading fish tokens for important progressing items in the game
    Overall though behind its minor flaws sonic frontiers is still a good experience its definitely a game sonic fans and new comers can get enjoyment out of
    Expand
  20. Nov 20, 2022
    10
    By far the best Sonic game I’ve ever played. The gameplay loop is addicting. The “open-zone” is fun to traverse and explore due to the floating rails, springs, and platforms. It feels like a playground or a skate park. Enemies, especially mini-bosses, have really interesting gimmicks.
  21. Nov 16, 2022
    9
    Jogo extremamente divertido e esperado, pois há muito tempo que os jogos do Sonic haviam caído de qualidade, mas voltou a ser tão bom quanto os jogos clássicos, com uma experiência nostálgica.
  22. Nov 16, 2022
    8
    It's fun, not the greatest game of all time but not as bad as people are saying.
  23. Nov 16, 2022
    10
    A great step for the Sonic franchise, the music is phenomenal, the story is fun. I look forward to seeing more of Sonic in the future.
  24. Nov 9, 2022
    9
    Sonic Frontiers manages to do what the games from the past decade couldn’t—make Sonic and his friends feel alive again. Frontiers’ main storyline feels like the lovechild of Adventure & Unleashed. It is full of character, with the Sonic we all know and love. Gameplay is a bit janky, and graphics could be more optimized, but despite its flaws, I found myself enjoying the combat a lot moreSonic Frontiers manages to do what the games from the past decade couldn’t—make Sonic and his friends feel alive again. Frontiers’ main storyline feels like the lovechild of Adventure & Unleashed. It is full of character, with the Sonic we all know and love. Gameplay is a bit janky, and graphics could be more optimized, but despite its flaws, I found myself enjoying the combat a lot more than I was expecting to. Think of the gameplay as Sonic in a open world with needless collectibles to collect from various side missions. Some, of course, are more fun then others, but I found myself spending hours on these. It’s a lot of fun.

    The soundtrack is phenomenal. Ranging from lofi to heavy metal—there is something here for everyone. An amazing comeback for the blue blur! Here’s to sega using Frontiers as a base for future installments. I can’t wait to see what the blue blue does next!
    Expand
  25. Nov 16, 2022
    9
    Besides the cyberspace level controls and physics being slippery as hell this was everything I've been wanting In a sonic game. Story was taken seriously, music was good (as always) and just felt fun running as sonic. I did feel like after ares island the game started to shift a bit in the quality of the level design but this is a solid foundation sonic team can definitely build
  26. Nov 10, 2022
    10
    One of the best Sonic games of all time! I love the game, its good to see that Sonic is back
  27. Nov 10, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sonic Frontiers Is The Sonic Game That Every Sonic Fan has Been Waiting For, The Depth Of Sonic Finally is Shown, The Relationships With His Friends, the call backs to the idw comics and past shows, this is the best game since 2011 Expand
  28. Nov 11, 2022
    10
    Muy buen juego no le eh jugado pero parece Un saludo a nintendo nos demandó Derek es puto
  29. Nov 11, 2022
    9
    Sonic Frontiers has become my most favorite Sonic game of them all. The open zones are beautiful and fun to explore. The music for every level and open zone fits nicely and is nice to listen to. The controls can take a little getting used to but after a little while you will have them down pat which leads to the combat. The combat is extremely fun and boss battles feel incrediblySonic Frontiers has become my most favorite Sonic game of them all. The open zones are beautiful and fun to explore. The music for every level and open zone fits nicely and is nice to listen to. The controls can take a little getting used to but after a little while you will have them down pat which leads to the combat. The combat is extremely fun and boss battles feel incredibly rewarding. I highly recommend this game to current and new Sonic fans. I own it on PC and the performance has been very good so I can’t say much for consoles but it is definitely worth a try. I am looking forward to what future Sonic games will be if Sonic Team sticks to this formula. I am hoping they do because this game truly is a breath of fresh air for the franchise and I can’t stop picking it up and playing it. Expand
  30. Nov 11, 2022
    10
    Un juego que ha venido a romper con todo lo que Sega nos ha ofrecido en los últimos 10 años, por fin una historia increíble, una jugabilidad muy entretenida, diseño de niveles bastante buenos mi opinión 10/10.
  31. Nov 11, 2022
    10
    This is the first time since Sonic Adventure 2 Battle that I've had so much fun playing a 3D Sonic game. It's great to be able to run wherever I want again, without being stuck in the uncomfortable linear level gameplay that has been used in the last decade of Sonic games. Linear boost phases are also present in this game, with the controls uncomfortable as always, and in fact they are theThis is the first time since Sonic Adventure 2 Battle that I've had so much fun playing a 3D Sonic game. It's great to be able to run wherever I want again, without being stuck in the uncomfortable linear level gameplay that has been used in the last decade of Sonic games. Linear boost phases are also present in this game, with the controls uncomfortable as always, and in fact they are the weakest part of the game, but all this is forgivable as it is optional. Sonic Frontiers brings many fun battles with a variety of new enemies, each one requires a different strategy to be defeated and is simply amazing! The game is not very well polished and the animations don't have much life, which can spoil the immersion a bit. But that doesn't make the game any less fun. These are problems that I hope will be fixed in future games in the franchise. Sonic Frontiers is one of the best 3D games in the franchise and I had a fantastic time playing it. Expand
  32. Nov 11, 2022
    10
    Fácilmente estamos ante el mejor juego de sonic de la última década. El gameplay es divertido y el mundo no se siente vacío, el control podría asemejarse a lo que es la saga de adventure así que para los fanáticos de dicha saga puede gustar.
    En mi opinión los dos puntos fuertes del videojuego son su soundtrack y narrativa Soundtrack: para sorpresa de mucho de regreso a ese estilo rock/
    Fácilmente estamos ante el mejor juego de sonic de la última década. El gameplay es divertido y el mundo no se siente vacío, el control podría asemejarse a lo que es la saga de adventure así que para los fanáticos de dicha saga puede gustar.
    En mi opinión los dos puntos fuertes del videojuego son su soundtrack y narrativa Soundtrack: para sorpresa de mucho de regreso a ese estilo rock/ metal de los juegos de antaño del erizo para las batallas de jefe, combinando con temas más tranquilos para el mundo abierto y música eléctronica para los niveles de ciber espacio. En mi opinión el soundtrack está a la altura de lo visto hasta la fecha y algunos temas resaltan y creo que trascenderán para la franquicia, en especial los que son para batallas de jefe.

    En cuantos a la narrativa creo que Ian flyn hizo un excelente trabajo llevando acabo las interacciones entre personajes, para personas que llevamos tiempo en la franquicia las interacciones entre estos se sienten muy naturales y la forma en la que estos se desarrollan durante la trama es más que excelente, se nota que Ian conoce a la perfección a los personajes y también creo que es la mejor representación de ellos en la franquicia (hablando del apartado de los videojuegos) también la historia cuenta con guiños a anteriores aventuras del erizo que a cualquier fan hará saltar de su asiento.

    Y la mejor parte del juego son las batallas de jefe, tanto como su música, gameplay y cinemáticas es lo de lo mejor que se a visto en la franquicia
    Expand
  33. Nov 11, 2022
    10
    Muy buen juego, gran historia y por fin sería, el mundo abierto es genial y las zonas son muy divertidas, el desarrollo de los personajes es genial, y sus controles realmente muy cómodos, de lo mejor de Sonic en los últimos años, definitivamente este es el camino
  34. Nov 11, 2022
    10
    El mejor juego de Sonic de la historia. Aún con falitas, se sabe llevar bien y sabe ser un buen juego
  35. Nov 11, 2022
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Es un buen juego, simple pero a la vez sólido, muy entretenido buenos jefes pero, peca en no ser bastante repetitivo en casi todos los mundos que visitamos y la creatividad de sus niveles al final del día se ve bastante limitada y pese a ser mundo abierto la verdad no es mucho lo que podamos hacer todo eso junto con varios problemas de Pops, glitches y Bugs y errores de renderisados hace a Sonic Frontiers un buen juego pero no tanto. Expand
  36. Nov 11, 2022
    10
    Es un juego increíble. El mejor juego de Sonic desde el Generations eso se los puedo asegurar. Me lo he comprado en Steam y la primera isla ya la complete enterita al 100% con todos los coleccionables y la verdad que me sorprendió que la Segunda Isla del Juego fuera tan inmensa en comparación a la primera que ya se me hizo de buen tamaño. No tengo nada más que decir, juegazo. Pronto me loEs un juego increíble. El mejor juego de Sonic desde el Generations eso se los puedo asegurar. Me lo he comprado en Steam y la primera isla ya la complete enterita al 100% con todos los coleccionables y la verdad que me sorprendió que la Segunda Isla del Juego fuera tan inmensa en comparación a la primera que ya se me hizo de buen tamaño. No tengo nada más que decir, juegazo. Pronto me lo pasaré y estoy contento de ello Expand
  37. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    This game is simply amazing. I never had this much fun with a sonic game since unleashed 14 years ago. This is the best 3d sonic game ever. The combat is fun, the world is beautiful and the exploration never felt boring. The bosses are the best in the series. The music is top notch. The story reminds me of the 2000's a lot (in a good way) and the dialogue and characterization are perfect.This game is simply amazing. I never had this much fun with a sonic game since unleashed 14 years ago. This is the best 3d sonic game ever. The combat is fun, the world is beautiful and the exploration never felt boring. The bosses are the best in the series. The music is top notch. The story reminds me of the 2000's a lot (in a good way) and the dialogue and characterization are perfect. I cannot thank sonic team enough for making me feel like a kid again. Thank you Expand
  38. Nov 12, 2022
    8
    Sin duda de los mejores juegos de sonic para los fans. Es una redencion de sonic team y especialmente de sega, es uno de esos juegos que tenes que probar porque realmente hay muchas criticas que no le hacen mucha justicia, el juego es divertido, y a pesar de sus fallas es algo que tenes que ver para creer o comprender, como juego en general es divertido y tiene cosas bastante entretenidasSin duda de los mejores juegos de sonic para los fans. Es una redencion de sonic team y especialmente de sega, es uno de esos juegos que tenes que probar porque realmente hay muchas criticas que no le hacen mucha justicia, el juego es divertido, y a pesar de sus fallas es algo que tenes que ver para creer o comprender, como juego en general es divertido y tiene cosas bastante entretenidas y divertidas que aunque haya cosas por corregir logra satifacer las espectativas de lo que un juego debe hacer que es divertir y entretener. no se merece muchas criticas tan malas y la presencia de trolls puntuando a proposito es notable pero a pesar de eso el boca a boca hizo mucho ruido porque la gente que lo pudo jugar le ha dejado buenas sensaciones y parece que eso a muchos les hace ruido pero en fin de cuentas sonic frontiers es uno de esos juegos que tienes que vivirlos para ver lo que realmente es por ti mismo y en mi experiencia me entretuvo bastante Expand
  39. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    Sonic Frontiers es una carta de amor hacia todos los fans y aunque la critica le haya puesto un 72 para nosotros los fans de sonic esto merece un merecido 9. Jamas nos hubieramos imaginado que Sonic team se esforzara tanto en hacer un buen juego y lo han conseguido.
  40. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    primero que nada este nuevo sonic me encanto y pienso que sega deberia de empezar a crear mas juegos asi de sonic, me encanto que desarrolaron a los personajes tanto nuevos, la historia se me hizo algo aburrida pero al final de todo te logra atrapar, pienso que esta escena que tuvo tails podria darnos mas de que hablar en un futuro me encanto su momento donde se enoja con sonic por serprimero que nada este nuevo sonic me encanto y pienso que sega deberia de empezar a crear mas juegos asi de sonic, me encanto que desarrolaron a los personajes tanto nuevos, la historia se me hizo algo aburrida pero al final de todo te logra atrapar, pienso que esta escena que tuvo tails podria darnos mas de que hablar en un futuro me encanto su momento donde se enoja con sonic por ser rescatqado una y otra vez viendose como una carga al final sonic lo alegra, vaya escena eso tomara como un desarrollo y nos podria abrir un nuevo camino al futuro de el universo de sonic ya que se da cuenta que puede hacer mas de un simpñle amigo a quien salvar, en pocas palabras este nuevo juego de sonic se puede llegar a disfrutar si fuiste un gran fan de la saga, me atrevo a decir que este sonic fue mejor que cualquier otro tanto em historia, personajes, paisajes, etc. en pocas palabras una OBRA DE ARTE que hizo sega. Expand
  41. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Solo porque es un juego de sonic, no le ponen un 9 mínimo, tanto ardor les ha causado el erizo ? Expand
  42. Nov 12, 2022
    8
    Sonic Frontiers is without a doubt the best sonic game in 3D, however we must admit that the bar was not very high, the game still has some bugs and weaknesses that need to be improved such as some level designs or how parts of the game are structured. scenario but it is the way to go.
    Let's hope that SEGA continues down this path because it is the evolution that 3D sonic needed for a long time.
  43. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    Sonic Is back!! This game Is amazing, the open zone Is really good, the story es nice and the Gameplay and Soundtrack too!
  44. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    It’s great it’s nothing like ever before in sonic. Sonic never done something open world and in my eyes they did a pretty good job
  45. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    The best boss battles and a cool plot.

    After the first trailers, it was not clear what the game would be. The last big game in the Sonic the Hedgehog franchise was Forces, and I have very ambiguous memories about it, one of the most negative was that the game was played in an average of 4-4.5 hours... 6/10 Sonic: Frontiers is an open world, which has not been since Sonic: Unleashed.
    The best boss battles and a cool plot.

    After the first trailers, it was not clear what the game would be. The last big game in the Sonic the Hedgehog franchise was Forces, and I have very ambiguous memories about it, one of the most negative was that the game was played in an average of 4-4.5 hours... 6/10

    Sonic: Frontiers is an open world, which has not been since Sonic: Unleashed. Fronts often turn to an older brother and do it in their own way. Some moments are better, for example, the handling of sonic is much better than in Unleashed, but the plot of the game loses to him. However, this does not mean that the plot in this game is bad. He is moderately philosophical, moderately dynamic. Ian Flynn is exactly the person that Sonic Team lacked throughout 2008-2019 (the official start date of development). At first, the game gives almost nothing, for many it will seem dull, but the further progress goes, the more epic the plot. The story of the origin of the chaos emeralds, personal problems of the characters. Characters.... It is in this game that they reveal themselves to the maximum! Impressionable and kind Amy Rose, moderately brutal Knuckles, and finally Miles Prauer, who does not behave "unnaturally" as in Forces, but is really presented as a useful character who helps us, and we help him. The music in the game is gorgeous, 100% will get into the nominees of the Soundtrack of the year 2022. Tomoya Ohtani and the musicians who participated in creating the OST for the game did the best. The soundtrack is divine, the most suitable tracks will be played during bosses (Titans). The battle with them is just a dump of the head. The game does not limit you in any way - parry, attack, use everything you have without restrictions, and all this is accompanied by an excellent soundtrack (Undefeatable - the theme of the first titan). The game is referred to the past parts many times, linking the past parts with the plot of the game, the most unobvious reference that few will reach (requires full pumping of speed and rings), this is a reference to Silver (Sonic The Hedgehog 2006).

    Open world.
    The world is not empty. The map is full of activities and there is always something to do. The world itself is made so that the player does not want to get bored. But there are also disadvantages associated with the 3rd island. This island is filled with activities in 2D space, which draws in and does not allow you to explore the world comfortably. The rest of the islands are made soundly and for all the time spent there were no moments when I got tired of this open world.

    The game also has enough disadvantages. I managed to fall through the ground a couple of times. The third island is filled with "2d section Traps", so this island is unpleasant enough to pass through, but it's worth it. Problems with physics and aiming will accompany throughout the game.

    In general, the game turned out to be cool. I would compare this game not with what came out from 2010-2019, but with Unleashed, since the frontiersmen took a lot from this masterpiece game. The game is going in the right direction. Why wasn't Ian Flynn called earlier? Why are such boss fights only now appearing? I really liked the game, I'm waiting for the continuation.

    The final score is 9.5/10.
    Expand
  46. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    The game is good but it has its flaws such as the ludicrous amount of pop-in.
  47. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    La verdad no lo he jugado, pero e visto gameplays y se va muy bueno, lo que nececitaba la franquicia del erizo azul, una de las pocas cosas malas que le encontre es el poping, pero no influye en el gameplay, una joya.
  48. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    Best Sonic game in years. Normally I'd just put an 8 here but I really, really, REALLY want more of this. There is room to improve, but man this was a great start.
  49. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    Sonic Frontiers is much more packed than other recent Sonic games, with lots to do and comprehensive open zones. The boss fights far exceed most I’ve seen in platformers before. Definitely worth a buy if you’re remotely interested.
  50. Nov 13, 2022
    9
    Sorry if my English is not good.

    Sonic Frontiers is a good game that has its flaws, but let's hope that the Age of Freedom will increase Sonic's lore and polish the game's mistakes to offer an excellent next product. The good: — The story is amazing — Combat system — Free zones — Boss battles — OST — Puzzle Downsides: — popping (doesn't bother me that much, but some
    Sorry if my English is not good.

    Sonic Frontiers is a good game that has its flaws, but let's hope that the Age of Freedom will increase Sonic's lore and polish the game's mistakes to offer an excellent next product.

    The good:

    — The story is amazing
    — Combat system
    — Free zones
    — Boss battles
    — OST
    — Puzzle

    Downsides:

    — popping (doesn't bother me that much, but some maybe do).
    — Final boss
    — Not to fight again the bosses after passing them, forcing you to make another game.

    The meh
    — Cyberspace controls and level design
    — Graphics it's ok
    Expand
  51. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    This game isn't for everyone. There is a lot of people that are a fan of Sonic's games on the Genesis. There are those that are a fan of his games from Sonic Colors onwards. Me personally, I grew up on Sonic Adventure - Sonic '06. As much as some of these have problems, I love them. They have fun stories, characters, and gameplay. Lately I felt like the series had lost its identity.This game isn't for everyone. There is a lot of people that are a fan of Sonic's games on the Genesis. There are those that are a fan of his games from Sonic Colors onwards. Me personally, I grew up on Sonic Adventure - Sonic '06. As much as some of these have problems, I love them. They have fun stories, characters, and gameplay. Lately I felt like the series had lost its identity. Characters didn't have arcs anymore. Gameplay was being reused and wasn't experimenting anymore. The stories felt like parodies rather than moving the series forward. I started to rely on the comics to give me the story. It was the closest to what I wanted from Sonic. Ian Flynn wrote the comics and he wrote this. The story and characters feel so much more with what I grew up with and love. The gameplay is back to experimenting. It's back to the Sonic that I love. I'll rate it a 10/10 because it restored my love for Sonic after I was moments away from seemingly giving up on the series. Sonic Team, from the bottom of my heart, thank you for this game. Expand
  52. Nov 13, 2022
    9
    It was fun. Physics are a little wonky and the pinball sucks, but Dunkey can eat my entire ass for trying to send his dumb brainlet audience to review bomb a game they never even played.
  53. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    great game reminded me of Mario odyssey, a lot of technical issues however I really did enjoy the game
  54. Nov 13, 2022
    8
    Sonic Frontiers is a bold attempt to redefine what a Sonic game is, and honestly it works. The gameplay loop is super fun and this is honestly the best Sonic has ever controlled in a while. The story is a refresher compared to the past decade of light hearted and corny writing. The only real problem are the cyberspace levels, as they are all reused levels from past games, and the controlsSonic Frontiers is a bold attempt to redefine what a Sonic game is, and honestly it works. The gameplay loop is super fun and this is honestly the best Sonic has ever controlled in a while. The story is a refresher compared to the past decade of light hearted and corny writing. The only real problem are the cyberspace levels, as they are all reused levels from past games, and the controls are pretty wonky. They are still fun regardless once you get used to them. If you are a sonic fan, you will likely enjoy this title! Expand
  55. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    Muito bom, A qualidade pro switch está ótima, o combate no começo é confunso mas depois fica ótimo!, Recomendo.
  56. Nov 13, 2022
    9
    Really good game, only gripe I have is how Sonic controls in cyberspace. Would recommend
  57. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    I've always wondered what Sonic would look like without being linear, more open with a focus on the freedom to run around and do missions, with the return of a serious story that we haven't seen in a long time and they delivered. there's a lot of room for improvement, a lot of room for innovation and especially in exploring other characters' skills and even me from areas like cities andI've always wondered what Sonic would look like without being linear, more open with a focus on the freedom to run around and do missions, with the return of a serious story that we haven't seen in a long time and they delivered. there's a lot of room for improvement, a lot of room for innovation and especially in exploring other characters' skills and even me from areas like cities and etc. good job sonic team Expand
  58. Nov 13, 2022
    9
    The game lacks polish in several areas. Also, the 2d sections are very bad, quite terrible to control. However, the rest of the game is incredibly fun, and is by far my favorite 3D sonic game.
  59. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    Sonic frontiers is a great comeback for the series, but if they want to continue with this, then they'll have to try better.

    But you can kick and punch the little koco in this game so automatic 10/10
  60. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    It was seriously one of the best gaming experiences ever!! Please just try it, you won't regret it!!
  61. Nov 13, 2022
    8
    Sonic frontiers has flaws, but it’s still a great game. Running around the open areas, especially with maxed out rings or speed is very fun and rolling down a hill gives you a TON of speed.
    The plot is just okay but it’s very refreshing from the pretty bad stories of colors, gens, lost world, and forces. Though there are some problems, there’s a ton of pop-in and the puzzles are WAY too
    Sonic frontiers has flaws, but it’s still a great game. Running around the open areas, especially with maxed out rings or speed is very fun and rolling down a hill gives you a TON of speed.
    The plot is just okay but it’s very refreshing from the pretty bad stories of colors, gens, lost world, and forces. Though there are some problems, there’s a ton of pop-in and the puzzles are WAY too easy. there also could have been more momentum. The combat is really fun, it aint no bayonetta or devil may cry but it is pretty fun.
    overall this is a great game and if you like sonic then go for it, but if you are new maybe wait until a sale.
    Expand
  62. Nov 13, 2022
    9
    This really is the best Sonic game since Rush, bar none. It's been a long, painful decade of SEGA learning the wrong lessons from unpleasable people, but this game established once and for all that the "Meta Era" is behind us.

    Sonic's a blast to control, the level design in both the open zones and cyberspace levels (for the most part) is immaculate, the boss fights are AMAZING, and the
    This really is the best Sonic game since Rush, bar none. It's been a long, painful decade of SEGA learning the wrong lessons from unpleasable people, but this game established once and for all that the "Meta Era" is behind us.

    Sonic's a blast to control, the level design in both the open zones and cyberspace levels (for the most part) is immaculate, the boss fights are AMAZING, and the story, while not the series' best, is certainly a step in the right direction for how unapologetic it is. Getting Ian Flynn to write the dialogue was a brilliant move, and I can only hope that future games expand his role even further.

    It's the most unrepentantly Sonic game we've had in nearly two decades, and if that doesn't sound like a compliment to you, then you're not who this series is for and no amount of appeasement for the likes of you will be satisfactory (as, clearly, 10 years of it have proven not to be enough), and what this game means to me is that SEGA is finally beginning to understand that. Sonic's future hasn't looked this bright since I was in elementary school.
    Expand
  63. Nov 14, 2022
    10
    Sonic Frontiers feels like the second-coming of Sonic Unleashed in a lot of ways. It might not be the most well-crafted game, but in the end, it’s a ton of fun, and that’s what matters most in a video game.
  64. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic sonic
  65. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    Sonic Frontiers is the most ambitious and creative Sonic game to date. The game thrives on Ian Flynn's writing direction that paints the most expressive characters we've seen in so long. The new combat system, while more flashy than practical, has definitely earned a place in future Sonic games and I hope they continue to use and build it. The story has a playful cheesiness to it thatSonic Frontiers is the most ambitious and creative Sonic game to date. The game thrives on Ian Flynn's writing direction that paints the most expressive characters we've seen in so long. The new combat system, while more flashy than practical, has definitely earned a place in future Sonic games and I hope they continue to use and build it. The story has a playful cheesiness to it that brings me back to when I was young playing Sonic Unleashed.

    More than anything, Frontiers has changed the playing field for Sonic the Hedgehog. The Sonic Team clearly put so much love and attention into creating a new experience for Sonic fans, and this game is nothing short of a love letter to the fanbase. Would reccomended for anyone who enjoys Sonic games or anyone wondering if they should buy it or not.
    Expand
  66. Nov 13, 2022
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am just gonna say it here: The game isn't perfect. Sometimes the gameplay is a bit janky, especially on some of the mini-bosses. Cyberspace is a bit weak but nonetheless fun. However, the "true" final boss is a bit underwhelming when you compare it to the other bosses.

    However, the gameplay is really fun, the combat is satisfying, the music is a banger, and the story is really good at tying in games of the past, from the beginnings of Sonic to the Dreamcast Era, through into the Dark Ages and the controversial Meta era. Ian Flynn knew what he was doing, and I appreciate that.

    I hope the game will be a good basis for future games and is not discarded like other games in the past. I do also hope for some DLC or a sequel in the future to improve some of the worse-off aspects of the game. Open-zone is a new Sonic style that I hope to see continue, and I also hope that Sage gets to return and continue to be an interesting new character.

    All Sonic needs now is a greater budget than before and more people to help work on future games. If Sega doesn't do that, they are missing out on what could be Sonic's greater potential.
    Expand
  67. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    without going into spoilers, the story is fantastic, uniting a lot of different parts of the lore and history of Sonic, and clears up some issues regarding character consistency. The gameplay is grand, Cyber Space is short and sweet, and the open zone is fun to just run around and beat the **** out of enemies.

    The physics are a bit different from normal Sonic games, and they're also, to
    without going into spoilers, the story is fantastic, uniting a lot of different parts of the lore and history of Sonic, and clears up some issues regarding character consistency. The gameplay is grand, Cyber Space is short and sweet, and the open zone is fun to just run around and beat the **** out of enemies.

    The physics are a bit different from normal Sonic games, and they're also, to an extent, customizable in the settings. I like them. Definitely have to get used them though.

    Voice Acting/Direction, I love it. The characters sound more mature and knowledgeable. There's the occasional odd delivery, but I'm willing to look past it, especially for Roger who was doing a whole new Sonic voice this game.

    The music is grand, anything from Lofi to Hard Rock, atmospheric pieces, and more. It's incredibly good.

    The writing is fantastic, Ian Flynn did a great job here, and I hope he continues to write for the games.
    Expand
  68. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    Best Sonic since 15 years, by a longshot - do not miss this. Its more fun than sliced bread.
  69. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    genuinely some of the most fun I've had with a game in ages. strongly recommend. if you're a fan (especially the adventure era) this game will remind you why you liked this series in the first place. if you're new, it might be the perfect game to start with
  70. Nov 13, 2022
    9
    The history is exellent, but the gameplay could be better, but it is a good way for SEGA to recover from it's past.
  71. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    SPOILER FREE REVIEW

    When this game was announced at the Sonic Central presentation, I was very hyped for a new mainline sonic game, but also very sceptical because of how forces crushed my soul with pure deception. But with all the pre-release development we got, Sonic Frontiers is now available in all major platforms, and let me tell you people still questioning yourselves of you
    SPOILER FREE REVIEW

    When this game was announced at the Sonic Central presentation, I was very hyped for a new mainline sonic game, but also very sceptical because of how forces crushed my soul with pure deception. But with all the pre-release development we got, Sonic Frontiers is now available in all major platforms, and let me tell you people still questioning yourselves of you should give it a chance: ITS WORTH EVERY PENNY I SPENT.

    Sonic Frontiers is, in my opinion, THE BEST Sonic game ever (yep I said it, even better than SA2). Now that I have your attention, lets talk about this piece of art, shall we ?

    The gameplay is pure Sonic platforming and intense Hack n Slash action: Sonic feels so great to control in these wide open zones (HOLY GUACAMOLE THESE MAPS ARE HUGE) where he fits right in, its perfect. His movements are clean and very fluid, and the skill tree (which you can unlock fairly easily) is a fun and very welcomed novelty in the series. The moves you unlock opens you to a wide range of insane combos you can do, its just amazingly fun I cant get enough of it.

    Second of all are the enemies: WHAT A BREATH OF FRESH AIR THESE ARE! Finally, challenging npcs that actually want to kill you, all they want is you to suffer and they deliver it (well not Dark Souls level of suffering but you get it lol). Theres the small fries that show up alone or in groups, they die in 1 hit usually, the average enemies, again, alone or in groups, but they require some quick combos to get rid of, and the minibosses, which are comparable to actual bosses in previous sonic games (theyre even better in most cases). And then theres the actual Bosses, this is a spoiler free review so all I can say is you better have a few extra pairs of underwear ready, especially for the DMC and Bayonetta fans out there (wink lmao). So yea, enemies, badass designs, hella fun, ggwp.

    Third of all, the Music, I mean, do I really have to say it? Its Sonic Team Sound were talking about, NAME ONE SONIC GAME WITH NO BANGERS, EVEN FORCES HAD SLAPPING OSTS. Music enjoyers, your ears are in for the best treat.

    And last but not least, the story. Again, this is a Spoiler free review so ill give you a glimpse of whats going on here. As from all we got from the pre-release trailer, we understand that the plot involves sonic and his friends looking for the chaos emeralds in the starfall Islands, and there is Sage, who is trying to stop sonic from messing around the place, but it goes even beyond this, like the tip of an iceberg vs the actual size of it. It really feel like it came from the prime sonic era, with adventure, heroes, etc. They gave us back this shonen type of story and it truly is what Sonic is: a shonen hero. Also one more thing, for everyone, especially the veteran sonic fans, you guys are in for one heck of a ride (TRYING TO HOLD MY HYPE)!!!

    All in all, Sonic Frontiers is a SMASH HIT and Sonic Team should be really proud of what they just accomplished. Their hard work really paid off, and it shows how they have this special passion for the blue blur, even after some failed attempts over the past decade. I hope they keep working on this track, its a winning one. This game is literally the "Super Mario Odyssey" treatment given to Sonic: there are no low points here, its a new direction in the series full of easter eggs from all the series and Im glad that we live in a timeline where we can experience it.

    10/10, CHEF KISS
    Expand
  72. Nov 13, 2022
    8
    A really fun time for any platforming fan, albeit with some noticeable odd levels and design choices that still don't crack a winning formula. If Sega keeps fine tuning this experience, the future look bright for this series.
  73. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    While the game has some bugs, it's story, characters, music, bosses, and high octane speed still make it a great game to pick up.
  74. Nov 13, 2022
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is a good game in terms of gameplay, etc., but the story ends in a rather forced way, Sage's death is worth nothing, since in the second post-credit scene, he returns, making the story not risk changing or giving a real change to the franchise, but removing that bittersweet taste highly recommended. Expand
  75. Nov 13, 2022
    9
    When devs put care and feedback to good, they churn out really amazing and creative adventures, Frontiers being an amazing step into getting sonic back to his former self. The worst part of this game would probably be the cyberspace levels but they are still pretty solid so that says a lot about the package as a whole. Once they take all this feedback, I can trust the next entry will be aWhen devs put care and feedback to good, they churn out really amazing and creative adventures, Frontiers being an amazing step into getting sonic back to his former self. The worst part of this game would probably be the cyberspace levels but they are still pretty solid so that says a lot about the package as a whole. Once they take all this feedback, I can trust the next entry will be a solid one in the series Expand
  76. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sonic cleaves a giant robot in half with it's own giant sword to heavy metal music. Masterpiece Expand
  77. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    Fantastic sonic game. It has an amazing story with fantastic writing, plenty of awesome call backs, fun gameplay, and is the best sonic game to come out in a decade. SO happy to see sonic do great things again!
  78. Nov 13, 2022
    10
    As a long-time fan of the franchise, this game felt like a much needed breath of fresh air. Frontiers is a crucial step in the right direction for Sonic, with very solid writing, incredibly fun movement, pleasing visuals, and plenty of content. Never before have I had a game restore my faith in a franchise to the extent Frontiers has for Sonic, moving the series forward and demonstratingAs a long-time fan of the franchise, this game felt like a much needed breath of fresh air. Frontiers is a crucial step in the right direction for Sonic, with very solid writing, incredibly fun movement, pleasing visuals, and plenty of content. Never before have I had a game restore my faith in a franchise to the extent Frontiers has for Sonic, moving the series forward and demonstrating Sonic Team's ability to make Sonic work in the modern era. Expand
  79. Nov 14, 2022
    10
    This game is good at its own way so suck it Dunkey's Fans,you are all clowns
  80. Nov 14, 2022
    10
    (Critique en français)

    Contrairement à beaucoup d’avis critique qui n’ont clairement pas joué au jeu Je peux affirmer que ce soit avant le patch day one et après, le jeu est non seulement un succès commercial mais également un jeu excellent (sans compter sa fin bancale) L’open ZONE (et non l’open world) et très bien amené le Gameplay et excellent et le bestiaire est très bon on a eu une
    (Critique en français)

    Contrairement à beaucoup d’avis critique qui n’ont clairement pas joué au jeu

    Je peux affirmer que ce soit avant le patch day one et après, le jeu est non seulement un succès commercial mais également un jeu excellent (sans compter sa fin bancale)

    L’open ZONE (et non l’open world) et très bien amené le Gameplay et excellent et le bestiaire est très bon on a eu une évolution titanesque pour la licence bien que ce jeu ne soit considéré comme un projet pour la suite des jeux

    Les niveaux cyberspace sont plutôt basique mais faut également se rappeler que ce n’est pas le but principal du jeu il est possible de le finir autrement toutes les alternatives sont là pour que vous puissiez finir le jeu peut importe sa difficulté

    Mise à part le clipping (qui sera corrigé dans pas longtemps) le jeu reste excellent sur tout les points et nous avons réellement la promesse du début respecté, qui était de contrôler Sonic à toute vitesse dans des zones ouvertes et une histoire intense
    Expand
  81. Nov 14, 2022
    10
    Best Sonic Game since Sonic Mania which was best Sonic Game since Generations.
  82. Nov 14, 2022
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game has A LOT of problems, however it's the most fun I've had with a sonic game since unleashed.

    The pop-in is bad sure, the ending was rushed yep, and IT IS buggy.

    But at the end of the day it's still such a fun game that I can ignore alll that, great game sega!
    Expand
  83. Nov 14, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game, glad to see SEGA get their sh*t together. The characters feel refreshed after a long period of stagnation, the gameplay is fun & experimental & the OST is filled with bangers. Definitely recommend Expand
  84. Nov 14, 2022
    9
    After 24ish hours to 100% the game, during which time I realized I didn't need to collect every collectible in order to do so, I can say I genuinely had fun playing a video game in a long time. There were some sections that I felt were rather problematic but in general the gameplay was fun and both the music and visuals made me want to keep running around the areas. However, my main issuesAfter 24ish hours to 100% the game, during which time I realized I didn't need to collect every collectible in order to do so, I can say I genuinely had fun playing a video game in a long time. There were some sections that I felt were rather problematic but in general the gameplay was fun and both the music and visuals made me want to keep running around the areas. However, my main issues with the game were that some of the story mini games made me feel an unbridled rage and some situations left me clueless as to what I needed to do with the hint system being nearly useless. Of these situations my least favorite events were, one, where sonic leapt off a raised bridge and you had to do a freefall in order to reach the ground, however, you were timed and the slightest mistake could leave you low on time or failing the quest meaning you had to actively choose to avoid the orange rings and springs and just speed dive to the ground. And my second instance that left me befuddled was the first time I encountered the enemy that just straight up drowns you. It may just be a skill issue but I didn't realize I had to stomp to escape the enemy until I got the clue in the game over sequence. I had simply assumed I needed to jump more and faster in order to break out of the thing. That said, even with these issues I had a truly wonderful time and after taking a quick break from the game I will be returning to it to play it more. Also if you own the game on PC I would greatly recommend installing Hedgemod manager in order to disable the camera locking onto the umbrella enemy. It's a major quality of life improvement. Expand
  85. Nov 14, 2022
    10
    Game looked horrible when it was first shown off BUT I'm happy to say this game has had a amazing turn around and is very fun to play. A step in the right direction. Would recommend! Go give it a try!
  86. Nov 14, 2022
    9
    Sonic Frontiers is by no means perfect. There's still bugs, and graphical pop-in is very noticeable as well which shouldn't be the case for platforms other than Switch. However, for what it is, it's a fantastic game. Might not be everyone's cup of tea, but if you like open world collect-a-thons, then you might like Frontiers. Running around the world is great, it properly feels likeSonic Frontiers is by no means perfect. There's still bugs, and graphical pop-in is very noticeable as well which shouldn't be the case for platforms other than Switch. However, for what it is, it's a fantastic game. Might not be everyone's cup of tea, but if you like open world collect-a-thons, then you might like Frontiers. Running around the world is great, it properly feels like they're taking advantage of Sonic's main aspect, his speed. Cyber Space is fun too, but the controls can be a little stiff, but still enjoyable to try to complete all of the goals. The story is also great, like nothing we've seen since Sonic Unleashed in terms of seriousness and not written like a Saturday morning cartoon. There are many people here review bombing the game because big YouTuber said so, but ignore their reviews. This review is here to give an actual opinion from someone who has actually played the game, and to try and counter-balance the score. Expand
  87. Nov 14, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game was amazing, the boss fights were giving me goosebumps as the amazing track started playing, and the open world even though it maybe be kind off empty in hindsight but I think that's what the developers were trying to do because sonic is so fast there is no need to put content in ever inch of the world. But I loved the come so much, can't wait for the next one!! Expand
  88. Nov 14, 2022
    10
    Rail jumping is very fun. So is boosting into ramps and other slopes.

    Make sure you beat the game before placing a review :)
  89. Nov 14, 2022
    8
    It’s time to face your fear
    Cause when your time has come and gone
    I’ll be the one to carry on
    And you can throw me to the wolves
    Cause I am UNDEFEATABLE!!!!!!!
  90. Nov 14, 2022
    8
    This game is pretty good. It has some issues, like the pop-in and the physics in cyberspace, but overall Sonic Frontiers is a solid 8.
  91. Nov 14, 2022
    10
    best sonic game ever i love the ost its so paaaawsome! the game is so kewl and so pretty
  92. Nov 14, 2022
    8
    If there was a game that deserved two very different scores, it's Sonic Frontiers.
    For an average joe, Frontiers might seem like it has nothing special to offer other than lots of solid and fun gameplay. Some people have also compared Frontiers to other open world games when it's not even that. The Starfall Islands seem more like Super Mario Odyssey levels rather than a full open world,
    If there was a game that deserved two very different scores, it's Sonic Frontiers.
    For an average joe, Frontiers might seem like it has nothing special to offer other than lots of solid and fun gameplay. Some people have also compared Frontiers to other open world games when it's not even that. The Starfall Islands seem more like Super Mario Odyssey levels rather than a full open world, with a lot of little objectives to do like gather Memory Medals for basic progression, finding Cyberspace levels, and fighting Guardians and other enemies. So, for the average Joe, this is a solid 7/10.
    However, as a Sonic fan, Frontiers is on a league of its own. Sonic Team may have found what they were looking for all along with Frontiers, their identity. Right now, Frontiers is one of the best Sonic games out there, surpassing the likes of Adventure 2, Mania, and Unleashed. Open Zone is a very interesting concept and Sonic Team can perfect it with more practice. The music is amazing as always. You feel in control of Sonic more than ever in Frontiers since you feel like everything that happened was your fault. Sadly, the Cyberspace levels are lacking in visual diversity but the real meat and potatoes of Frontiers is its Open Zone islands, huge open areas full of enemies to defeat and stuff to collect. Ian Flynn, from late Archie Comics and IDW Sonic, also wrote the story of Frontiers and now the characters seem more like their "before Colors" selves, and I hope SEGA keeps Flynn for the next installments as his Sonic writing is superb. The future of the Sonic franchise seems brighter than ever before thanks to Sonic Team's ambition and I can't wait to see what they have in store for the next Sonic game.
    As a Sonic fan, this game is a 9/10.
    Overall, Sonic Frontiers gets an 8/10.
    Expand
  93. Nov 14, 2022
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's a very enjoyable game to play. My biggest issue being the cyberspace levels feel weird to play often, while not being completely unplayable but definitely need working on. There is also what I've seen so far that the last two islands were actually part of Kronos but split into 2 new islands which is a bit disappointing. but fortunately the main game is a blast. It's fun to just run around and explore the islands and talk to the characters and delve into the lore and story of the game as well as the occasional mention to pass sonic games. The bosses are very fun to fight but the final boss I didn't mind it too much but it definitely wasn't the best. The game definitely should be tried out though, it's pretty addictive. I got a point where I was hunting down mini bosses just for sport. Definitely give it a try, especially ok PC since mods are being made to make the cyberspace levels more fun to play, and hopefully maybe change their aesthetics to have more than just 4 varying locations Expand
  94. Nov 14, 2022
    9
    The game easily surpasses the likes of Sonic Generation and SA1. Sonic controls beautifully, the characters show far more personality, emotions, and expressions compared to their previous incarnation (although less dramatic than the jaw snapping movements of SA1). The worldbuilding was a nice change of pace and the combat was enjoyable. The music, as usual, was phenomenal with this game,The game easily surpasses the likes of Sonic Generation and SA1. Sonic controls beautifully, the characters show far more personality, emotions, and expressions compared to their previous incarnation (although less dramatic than the jaw snapping movements of SA1). The worldbuilding was a nice change of pace and the combat was enjoyable. The music, as usual, was phenomenal with this game, especially the Titan battles. My only real issue is the 2D sections spam done on Chaos Island, which luckily can be counteracting via Big, and just Chaos Island in its entirety, outside of the Titan battle. The only real things keeping it a 10 for me. Overall, highly recommend this game for players. Expand
  95. Nov 14, 2022
    9
    this game is great. stop reviewbombing just bc ur fave youtuber said its not good
  96. Nov 14, 2022
    9
    Writing this with 12 hours of game time, just starting the 3rd open zone.
    As a Sonic fan I really like this game. The open world "levels/zones" are huge, with a lot to do from platforming to puzzles. I feel like the size of them really lets you go full speed and have fun while doing it. The random enemy spawns are fun, not too annoying or overwhelming. There is enough variety in the
    Writing this with 12 hours of game time, just starting the 3rd open zone.
    As a Sonic fan I really like this game. The open world "levels/zones" are huge, with a lot to do from platforming to puzzles. I feel like the size of them really lets you go full speed and have fun while doing it. The random enemy spawns are fun, not too annoying or overwhelming. There is enough variety in the open zones to keep me interested, especially going for 100% on each. I find myself just blasting away an hour or so just running around.
    The stages themselves are also pretty great. They're not too long and give enough of a challenge to be fun without being too frustrating. There are similar places like Green Hill and Chemical Plant, among others and they vary from 3rd person to side-scrolling. They are scattered through the open zones, and need special Gears to be unlocked, but those are easy enough to get.
    The boss battles, the big titans, are also quite fun. You get to be super sonic, which is fun and the music is honestly phenomenal. The battles give a little challenge, but nothing too crazy.
    Story? Well it's a Sonic title, so it's kinda wild with a bit of heartstring tugging. The voices are great too.
    The soundtrack is amazing. Every song rocks from chill melancholy, to heavy metal rock. It deserves an award.
    And, there is a fishing minigame. Different spots for each open zone - find the portal, go there, and fish with Big the Cat. It's super easy and not really challenging, but still fairly fun as you always get something. Everything caught leads to items and currency to upgrade Sonic.
    Upgrading Sonic is fairly simple, picking up seeds and little creatures to turn in with elder Koko. you can level up Sonic's attack, defense, speed, and ring capacity. You can also unlock new moves for Sonic's combos. Those get unlocked pretty quickly, which I don't hate because it means you get to use his full range of attacks for most of the game.
    OVERALL I think it's a great game that is reminiscent of the Adventure series, with bits of Generations and Forces mixed in. People that say the game is repetitive..I'm assuming have never played a Sonic game, let alone a video game in general. Every game feels repetitive after a while from COD to God of War.

    I would give it a 10 if you could play as other characters.
    Expand
  97. Nov 14, 2022
    8
    Even though Sonic Frontiers is far from perfect, everything Sonic Team wanted to achieve with this game was paid off wonderfully. It's a step in the right direction for the franchise.
  98. Nov 14, 2022
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Truly one of the best sonic games I’ve played in a while it has its problems pop in , trash cyberspace physics, and a rushed ending but beyond all that I still had a great time the open zone was great and controlled amazing the games story was one of the best in years and the boss fights and of course I can’t forget the soundtrack outstanding overall I enjoyed my time with sonic frontiers and am excited for the future Expand
  99. Nov 14, 2022
    10
    After completing Sonic Frontiers, I must say it is THE Sonic game ever made. One of the games of all time. Definitely a piece, no doubt about that.
  100. Nov 14, 2022
    10
    This game is awesome :)
    There are still some rough bits for SEGA to work out, but I’m giving this a max rating because it’s a huge step forward for them and what they have here is still very good.
    I’d love to see them improve aerial momentum, more versatile wall running, larger more free roam actual levels, and avoid floating boxes and rails in the sky. But still, 10/10 from me. Can’t
    This game is awesome :)
    There are still some rough bits for SEGA to work out, but I’m giving this a max rating because it’s a huge step forward for them and what they have here is still very good.

    I’d love to see them improve aerial momentum, more versatile wall running, larger more free roam actual levels, and avoid floating boxes and rails in the sky.

    But still, 10/10 from me. Can’t wait to see these improvements in the next game.
    Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 82 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 82
  2. Negative: 4 out of 82
  1. Nov 28, 2022
    50
    Sonic’s open world feels half dead, full of boring activities, tedious bosses and awful graphics. The undeniable potential has been squandered. Well, maybe next time. How often do we say this when talking about Sonic?
  2. Nov 23, 2022
    70
    Interesting repurposing with open-world design that makes fast movement fun, but stumbles over technical issues.
  3. 75
    Sonic Frontiers is a strange, yet fun time. The individual levels showcase Sonic at his fast-paced, ring-hoarding best, and some of the overworlds sport rewarding exploration mechanics. The insistence by Sonic Team to jam in minigames that block progress to the story is frustrating to say the least, and some of the larger maps’ designs feel a little haphazard. Overall, though, the weirdness of the story will keep some going just to see, well, where the hell it’s all going. It’s weird how much this doesn’t feel like a Sonic game outside of the individual levels, but this is an interesting direction that Sonic Team has taken their blue blur, and hopefully we will see a continued evolution that coalesces into something great.