Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Sep 8, 2021
    100
    Indeed, Tales of Arise is a game designed for long-term Tales franchise fans and those who have never picked up a franchise entry before, where story, combat, and various features come together to deliver a high-quality, highly-detailed JRPG. All of that makes it not just one of the best JRPGs on the market today, but one of the best games hands-down.
  2. Sep 8, 2021
    100
    Tales of Arise is a games I would recommend for anyone looking for “the future” of the JRPG genre. This game could easily be Bandai Namco’s Final Fantasy 7. It feels tailor-made for the era and pushes the barriers for RPGs thanks to complex combat, weighty storytelling, and gorgeous visuals.
  3. Sep 8, 2021
    100
    Tales of Arise is a revitalizing step in the right direction for the Tales of series, offering new players a chance to play Tales at its very best, and old fans an incredible journey that feels familiar. It’s hard not to love what Tales of Arise has to offer and while there are some small issues, it doesn’t take away from my opinion that this is the Tales game that will breathe new life into the series.
  4. Sep 8, 2021
    100
    Tales of Arise offers a superb blend of JRPG favourites, tight combat, and modern-day design choices. It's easily the best Tales game in years.
  5. Sep 8, 2021
    100
    Tales of Arise is a phenomenal game: an engrossing story, the best combat the Tales series has seen to date, and art direction that's nigh unmatched in its sheer beauty. But, impressive as those things are, what really sets this game apart—what really marks this as a bold new vision for the series—is how cleverly it twists JRPG conventions to unpack that well-worn "evil empire" trope. Tales of Arise is more than just a brilliant game; it's a nuanced, insightful thesis on the mechanisms of oppression and liberation.
  6. 100
    Tales of Arise is magnificent. The writing is rich and evocative, and the developers took on a major creative challenge with the themes that they decided to tackle… and did a superb job. The combat system is sharp and offers plenty of complexity, while being accessible to Tales newcomers or people just looking to experience the story. The art and aesthetics are breathtaking, and about the only issue there is a lack of a photo mode so that I could make the most of it (what the hell, Bandai Namco?). I may not have been the world’s biggest fan of the Tales series previously, but this game has immediately become one of my favourite JRPGs of all time.
  7. Sep 8, 2021
    95
    Tales of Arise is a huge leap forward for the series. Combat is incredibly fun and fluid, the story is fantastic despite a lackluster finale, and the characters are as charming as ever. It’s not only one of the best Tales games, but one of the best the PS5 has to offer.
  8. Sep 12, 2021
    93
    Tales of Arise harmoniously balances beloved systems like visual novel-inspired skits and upgradable titles with new-and-improved gameplay tweaks. Intricate world-building in sub-quests and even mundane discussions help with pacing and narrative cohesion. Campy JRPG-centric themes like the power of friendship and slow-burn romantic tension are prevalent throughout. Nevertheless, I found myself completely invested in the tragedies and achievements the cast faced, even when awkward pauses and stiff cutscene animations threatened to break immersion. Tales of Arise is a fantastic reinvention of Bandai Namco’s tried and true formula. It might even be the best installment in the franchise to date.
  9. Sep 8, 2021
    93
    Tales of Arise is exactly what I want in a Tales of game, but also a JRPG in general. It fulfills the promise of a modern-day Tales of title in a way no other game in the series has managed in over a decade. While Tales of Arise is clearly influenced by previous games in the series, it also takes cues from other long-running series like Xenoblade Chronicles and Star Ocean. However, Tales of Arise is its own beast—a refreshing, smartly designed, and just plain fun monument to its genre. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
  10. Sep 8, 2021
    92
    Tales of Arise is a masterpiece with a deep story and endearing cast that will keep you hooked as you fight for freedom from tyrants. Meanwhile, the action-intense battles are great fun as you plan your moves to take down enemies as efficiently as possible. Exploring the dungeons and overworld is a joy, too, especially with new map abilities that make traversal engaging. It's the best Tales yet.
  11. Sep 22, 2021
    91
    Tales Of Arise is a treat for fans of the franchise, but also an excellent jumping-on point for franchise newcomers.
  12. 90
    Tales of Arise offers fast and fluid combat and an epic story, paving the way for the first great JRPG of a new console generation.
  13. Oct 6, 2021
    90
    Tales of Arise could be the best title of the series, as it reinvigorates many of its great recipes that earned it a cult status. Great characters, amazing worlds and flashy combat are just a few of its greatest traits. But to experience them all, you have to play the game - which we strongly recommend you do.
  14. Oct 4, 2021
    90
    Tales of Arise is a successfully comeback story. It’s definitely one of the most refreshing Tales game and probably one of the best JRPGs launched in 2021. I’m not sure if Bandai Namco planned to make the Tales franchise mainstream, but that’s something that Tales of Arise manage to achieve, and that’s probably the best compliment I can give the game. My only concern is related to how Bandai Namco chose to advertise the paid DLC in-game, which consists of cosmetic items and spice up your adventures through Dahna. Resting in camps will always run an advert in the right corner, which totally breaks immersion. Other than that, I believe Tales of Arise is not just the best game in the Tales series, but also one of the best titles launched this year. More importantly, the Tales franchise has finally gone mainstream and I’m very happy that more players are joining its fan club.
  15. Sep 22, 2021
    90
    Tales of Arise is a fantastic RPG. With a big storyline that's much more complex than it looks, and touching characters, great design, combat playability, very nervous and close to a beat'em all, and very satisfying roleplaying aspects. And if the PS5 version doesn't have the most insane optimization, it's been a real pleasure to play this Tales of Arise. If J-RPG is your thing, you shouldn't miss it.
  16. Sep 10, 2021
    90
    The Tales series celebrates its 25 years with a fantastic title that deserves to be played by all fans of the genre, in yet another demonstration of the good path that Bandai Namco has traced over the last few years, at least with PIs that don't come from known Anime and Manga. The intricate narrative accompanied by a relatable cast bursting with personality and an artistic direction so rich that paints the game's combat and setting elevates the series and makes Tales of Arise one of the best JRPGs of 2021.
  17. Sep 10, 2021
    90
    With an excellent story and cast and a reinvigorated combat system, Tales of Arise is the shot in the arm the long-running Tales RPG series needed to recapture its best moments.
  18. Sep 9, 2021
    90
    Tales of Arise heralds a brilliant new dawn for the series and is one of the best RPGs of the last generation.
  19. Sep 9, 2021
    90
    Tales of Arise includes the trademarks of the franchise and shows that twenty-five years of experience help to strive for perfection. Just like a good wine, the franchise has managed to get better with age. The battle system, anime-inspired visuals, and a story full of lovely characters are the stars of the show, which ultimately make a game that shouldn’t be overlooked. Tales of Arise is an entry that will satisfy die-hard fans and convert newcomers to the series with its awesome experience.
  20. Sep 8, 2021
    90
    Tales of Arise is the peak of Tales of franchise, where the dev team managed to use years of experience to craft something really great.
  21. Sep 8, 2021
    90
    Tales of Arise has all the familiar features that we know and (mostly) love from the “Tales of” series (i.e. combat system, skits, great characters etc.), but at the same time it surpasses most of its predecessors by excelling visually, aesthetically and in its world building.
  22. Sep 8, 2021
    90
    Tales of Arise is a high-quality JRPG and the next technical leap in a series that continues to take steps in the right direction on the occasion of its 25th anniversary. The playable renewal that it proposes places it as one of the most powerful titles of the year and as an excellent entry for players looking to get started in the franchise.
  23. Sep 8, 2021
    90
    Tales of Arise is the best option for this year regarding the JRPG genre. It is a game that you will fall in love with through its storytelling and a set of characters for whom you can actually feel something. Tt also features an acceptable progression system as well as fun battles, some interesting main missions (not so much for the secondary stuff), optional events, impactful visuals... it has everything.
  24. Sep 8, 2021
    90
    Tales of Arise is an excellent introduction to the series for new players and a fantastic entry for old fans. If this is any indication, the franchise is in for a bright future. Hopefully, it won’t be another five years before the next one.
  25. 90
    Tales of Arise is gorgeous. The lands are lush and vibrant, even those trapped in extreme weather patterns. Calaglia’s arid landscape makes me thirsty and trudging through Cyslodia’s tundra reminds me of long Canadian winters. Sadly this all seems to be lost when it’s time to throw in some anime. The switch from game graphics to anime cutscenes is actually rather jarring and I’m not a fan. I like the anime separately as its own entity, just not within the game itself. If the coloring matched the game, sure. But it washes out all of the hard work the level design team put into the game. Pair this with just way too much going on with the artes system and you can see how, though a fantastic game, it falls just shy of hitting a perfect ten.
  26. Sep 8, 2021
    90
    Tales of Arise went above and beyond our expectations. With its picturesque landscapes instilling a real sense of adventure, it's easily one of the strongest, most cohesive Tales games to date. Dramatic cutscenes and memorable character moments help sell an intriguing story, while a satisfying combat system becomes more and more engaging as your party powers up. A fantastic, modernised journey with all the rewarding qualities of a classic JRPG.
  27. Sep 8, 2021
    90
    With Tales of Arise, I think the Tales series is finally ready to stand shoulder-to-shoulder with the heavy hitters of the JRPG genre – Final Fantasy and Dragon Quest. This is a masterfully crafted adventure, and the best JRPG I've played in a very long time. Combining stunning visuals with a gripping story and the most exciting combat system found in a JRPG yet, this is a must-have for fans of the genre. Its standalone story makes this a great entry point for those looking to get into the Tales series, too. Put simply, Tales of Arise is outstanding.
  28. Sep 8, 2021
    90
    Tales of Arise brings some needed fresh air to its beloved Action JRPG franchise while sticking faithfully to its classic formula. The renewed visuals and the more mature art-style should not alienate the fandom: at its core, this game is a very classic Tales of title, with new additions that make it an even more memorable experience.
  29. Sep 8, 2021
    90
    Tales of Arise is the grand adventure we've been waiting for, and more, for veteran players and new fans alike. Its addictive and satisfying combat design, breathtaking narrative, gorgeous presentation, and engaging cast make it the quintessential JRPG to play. The characters met in this entry add to the growing cast of memorable personalities this series has given us, solidifying it as a true Tales title.
  30. Sep 8, 2021
    90
    Tales of Arise accomplishes the rare feat of catering to its many fans while simultaneously making a compelling case for newcomers to give it a try, and it's a JRPG must-play that was more than worth the wait.
  31. Sep 8, 2021
    90
    Tales of Arise is an excellent JRPG that delivers just about everything you want from the genre: a rich story, intriguing characters, satisfying combat, and an endless amount of lore. The game isn’t able to skirt around the issues that often plague JRPGs, which I feel will make for a higher barrier of entry for newcomers. That said, Fans of the series and those that just love a good JRPG will fall in love with what’s there in Tales of Arise.
  32. Sep 8, 2021
    90
    If this is anything to go off, the series has years left in it yet. This title makes it clear that the folks at Bandai Namco have it in them to move with the times, without losing the essence of what a Tales game is.
  33. Sep 8, 2021
    90
    Tales of Arise reinvigorates the magic of the long-running series. A franchise that long rested on its established laurels has been refreshingly upgraded and reinvented, resulting in one of the most polished and jaw-dropping JRPGs I've played in a long time. It's an exciting new chapter for the Tales series that won't be soon forgotten.
  34. Sep 8, 2021
    90
    With its engaging story, dark atmosphere, charming characters, and excellent combat, Tales of Arise provides an experience that feels both new and familiar at the same time, making for a game that both long-time fans and newcomers will enjoy. While the excessive linearity and the removal of multiplayer will disappoint some, the pros far outweigh the cons, making Tales of Arise one of the best entries in the series to date.
  35. Sep 8, 2021
    90
    Combining the best ideas of the past three generations of 3D action JRPGs, stripped of excess and micromanagement, Tales of Arise is one of the most tactile and frenetic action-narrative experiences to come out of Japan in recent memory.
  36. 90
    For those who thirst for the epic JRPGS of old, Tales of Arise manages to live up to lofty expectations and then some.
  37. Sep 8, 2021
    87
    Surprising twists and turns, a more serious story and the picturesque graphics entice Tales of Arise with many hours of JRPG fun in a slightly lifeless and linear world.
  38. Sep 8, 2021
    87
    Tales of Arise was a fresh but familiar experience. The game iterated on the series formula enough to keep progressing the series while maintaining the Tales charm. The combat system is as fluid as ever, and I found it to be engaging and fun. The area that the game shines the most is in its characters, both during the course of the main story or the skits that break up the action. Overall, Tales of Arise is a great example of a classic series that keeps improving while maintaining its identity.
  39. 86
    Tales of Arise is a great game and a significant step forward from its predecessor, a wonderful mix of bright narrative and excellent gameplay.
  40. CD-Action
    Jan 19, 2022
    85
    The latest entry in the Tale series offers everything loyal fans could have expected, but also has a chance to enamor many newcomers. The story about two heroes from the opposite sides of a conflict joining forces is surprisingly multi-layered, the combat is flashy and satisfying, and the journey leads you across beautiful, varied regions. As for the flaws, I need to mention problems with map legibility and the necessity to grind, but fortunately both issues are occasional. [12/2021, p.68]
  41. Dec 2, 2021
    85
    Tales of Arise achieved steady progress under the traditional JRPG framework. With a solid plot and refreshing battle, a very good JRPG experience has been created for players. Although the overall quality is very high, the game still has some problems in character creation and story logic, which prevents it from reaching the peak of the JRPG category.
  42. Sep 15, 2021
    85
    Deluxe-RPG with a magnificent universe and a prime storyline, which however only unfolds late. Bland side quests tarnish the overall picture.
  43. Sep 14, 2021
    85
    It’s been a while, but Tales of Arise is finally here. And you know what? It was worth the wait. This is one hell of an RPG, with an epic story drenched in adventure and atmosphere. The combat is accessible, yet deep and challenging, and the journey takes you to some truly remarkable places. Shame the sidecontent isn’t always quite as interesting.
  44. Sep 8, 2021
    85
    Tales of Arise doesn't do anything new, but also almost nothing wrong. The story continues to captivate from start to finish, although some of the plot twists are quite predictable for the seasoned JRPG player. The combat is the showpiece of the game and offers wonderful depth, challenges your tactical ability and is a feast for the eyes. You take the small flaws for granted and quickly forget as you wander through the beautiful settings of Dahna and beyond.
  45. Sep 8, 2021
    85
    With a fun and intuitive combat system, some clever characterization and a gorgeous oil painting look, Tales of Arise is a must have JRPG which shows a confident step in the right direction for the series as a whole.
  46. Sep 8, 2021
    85
    When I think back on Tales of Arise, the combat will definitely come to mind. The big boss battles that blew me away, and the wonderful feeling of free-forming a combo into a Mystic Arte and then closing the battle off with a Boost Strike. The story was ultimately good, and the world was gorgeous. But really, it’s going to be the campfire moments. It’s going to be how Alphen, Shionne, Rinwell, Law, Kisara, and Dohalim came together as a party, grew closer, fought and struggled together, and saw it all through to the end, one hastily thrown-together outdoor meal at a time. Tales of Arise nails that, and so it feels like a strong step forward for a series with a bright future ahead of it.
  47. Sep 8, 2021
    85
    Tales of Arise brilliantly succeeds in breathing new life into the Tales Of saga. With its universe and its successful characters, the title delivers a striking adventure that takes advantage of superb environments thanks to a unique graphic rendering. The fights are not left out either since they show great intensity with always more spectacle, sometimes even if it means confusing the action. If we can blame it for his clipping, its talkative side, or its redundant bestiary, we still salute its many qualities which suggest good for the future of the series.
  48. Sep 8, 2021
    85
    After previous attempts only achieved half-measures, Tales of Arise finally takes the series in a new direction. There are sure to be veterans who lament some of the changes in the name of expanding the audience, but the risks taken here pay off nicely. The visuals are a marked improvement from any previous entry, and the combat looks and feels better than ever, even if it comes at the cost of losing some depth. Arise’s narrative admirably tackles some ambitious themes, though not all beats hit their mark. However, despite a few flaws, Tales of Arise is a fantastic RPG that stands as one of the best the series has to offer.
  49. Sep 8, 2021
    85
    Tales of Arise delivers a fresh start with new heroes and a world that feels all too familiar. The story of an oppressed people living in a land divided into five parts, that need to be liberated isn't quite original, but Arise does offer a streamlined experience that can be highly tailored. Those that want to, can delve into the lore, while others can happily skip that entirely. The same applies to combat, which can be tailored to the player's desire, from (semi)automatic to manual and challenging.
  50. 85
    Bandai Namco created something special here. Fast-paced, accessible combat meets a well-constructed narrative told with beautiful visuals, wonderful voice work, and an impeccable soundtrack. Even with its odd issue here and there, nothing stands in the way of Tales of Arise succeeding on all levels.
  51. Sep 8, 2021
    85
    Tales of Arise presents the first step in the evolution of the series and a chance for newcomers to get familiar with the franchise.
  52. Sep 8, 2021
    84
    Tales of Arise is a fantastic entry in the long-running franchise, with a beautiful crafted world, unforgettable characters and a wonderful soundtrack. However, it also boasts a lot of technical problems that can't simply be ignored.
  53. Sep 8, 2021
    84
    This is a fantastic JRPG that builds upon its great art style and its spectacular battles.
  54. Sep 9, 2021
    83
    Overall Tales of Arise has a great premise and story, and is one of the better Tales games Bandai Namco has produced. If you are a JRPG fan, or a Tales fan give this game a good look.
  55. Sep 8, 2021
    83
    Tales of Arise is the best game in the series, with a brilliant combat system and a story with a lot of important themes tied to the atrocious consequences of post-colonialism.
  56. PLAY
    Oct 17, 2021
    80
    Some JRPG-typical dramatics and muddled combat aside, Arise is a feast for any JRPG fan – beautiful, intuitive and earnest. The best in the series to date. [Issue#7, p.86]
  57. Edge Magazine
    Oct 9, 2021
    80
    One of the most memorable JRPGs in recent years. [Issue#364, p.114]
  58. Oct 4, 2021
    80
    A very good action JRPG. Very traditional, very spectacular, well done, a feast for eyes and ears, fun and addictive. It’s not, however, innovative in any way.
  59. Sep 27, 2021
    80
    For an adventure game, the graphics and story are pretty interesting, but for an JRPG, the game is lacking in a lot of elements. While it has RPG trappings, it feels far more like an adventure/action game, which is a knock against those looking for some JRPG action. The graphics, story, characters and overall package are very well done. However it is hard to shake the feeling of the game being far more style over substance, which in general JRPG-ers are not looking for.
  60. Sep 27, 2021
    80
    Bandai Namco promised that “now is the time for change,” and Tales of Arise legitimately feels like a game that’s trying to bring change to Japanese RPGs. It’s strong characters, epic story, engrossing battle system, and lush visuals are only marred by a disappointing final act, and those areas of the game where the team refused to let go of outdated ideas and conventions. If the Tales team can find it in themselves to push things just a little further, then this might truly be the spark that sets off a revolution in a genre that’s needed a regime change for so long now.
  61. Sep 20, 2021
    80
    With a beautiful new style, a more adult narrative, wonderful characters, and a modernised tone and feel, Tales of Arise brings the franchise smashing into the current era. It’s still got the tried-and-true Tales flavour, both good and bad, yet innovates with fluid combat that feels fresh. The best and most essential Tales game in well over a decade.
  62. Sep 15, 2021
    80
    Tales of Arise has a chaotic, but manageable and strategic combat system, a vibrant and beautifully crafted world for you to explore and characters you can see yourself in. The main thread of the story - an underdog bringing an end to tyranny - is a great set-up.
  63. Sep 10, 2021
    80
    A great experience and brand new breath for the saga. Tales of Arise doesn't quite shake itself from bad old habits in the second part of the game, but it won't spoil its charm and the very interesting story.
  64. Sep 9, 2021
    80
    Tales of Arise is a triumph in almost every way, delivering a strong narrative, well-developed characters, and combat that feels snappier than ever. This is the next step in the evolution of the Tales series, and the future looks awfully bright.
  65. Sep 8, 2021
    80
    This feels like a safe yet enjoyable follow-up to Berseria. Longtime fans will be satisfied with this entry after the five-year wait since the last mainline game even though Tales of Arise doesn’t feel like it strays too far away from the standard series formula.
  66. Sep 8, 2021
    80
    Tales of Arise is a beautiful JRPG that is fun to play that fans of the genre will no doubt get a lot out of. Its gradual introduction of mechanics also makes it a wonderful experience for those looking to dip their toes into JRPGs for the first time or after a long time away from them.
  67. Sep 8, 2021
    80
    Tales of Arise is a well-made, consistently enjoyable JRPG, and though its storytelling tends to be inconsistent, its gorgeous world and consistently enjoyable combat are more than enough to keep you hooked until the end.
  68. Sep 8, 2021
    80
    Tales of Arise comes to prove that the series still has a lot to say. At a time when fans of the genre are in for a treat, Bandai Namco has decided to join the party and offer us one of the best instalments of the franchise. A perfect entry into the franchise, with an interesting story, charismatic characters, beautiful artwork and a combat system that's as accessible as it is deep. It takes a while to get going, but when it does, it's hard to put the controller down before starting the next dungeon.
  69. 80
    I came away from Tales of Arise with a new appreciation for the Tales series. I loved my time with the endearing cast of characters and the exciting, fast-paced story alongside the energetic and action-packed battles. Tales of Arise is an excellent action RPG, and a fantastic entry point into the series.
  70. Sep 8, 2021
    80
    Tales of Arise is a thrilling JRPG to play. While the story takes a bit of time to get going, a complex combat system and some neat time-saving options mean you'll always come back for more.
  71. Sep 8, 2021
    80
    Tales of Arise is able to please both longtime fans of the saga and newbies: accessible, aesthetically satisfying and always with a smooth pace, it has managed to refresh the combat system with an excellent compromise between action and strategy , without however setting aside the parametric component: an adventure that absolutely deserves to be lived.
  72. Sep 8, 2021
    80
    Tales of Arise is the best Tales game in over a decade. It’s the advancement the series has needed for quite some time now, such as the far more explorative dungeon designs (as small as they are) and the switch to the Unreal Engine. On top of that, the majority of the cast of characters are compelling enough to keep your attention locked on the story, and the combat reinvigorates the tried and true formula into something special.
  73. Sep 8, 2021
    80
    Arise is a good episode, which could have been excellent if it didn't get its feet wet in its last third. At the moment of concluding and confirming all the nice things put forward during the journey, the series falls back into its old ways with unbearable corridors, full of color swap enemies on 10 hours of gameplay that leave a bitter taste. It's a pity, especially since the combat system and the world building are the most solid we've seen on a Tales Of in quite some time.
  74. 80
    While Tales of Arise isn't perfect by any means, it is a meaty, colourful, and engaging game that I think should be on any self-respecting JRPG fans must-play list. Mastering the action combat is a thrilling and rewarding experience, as is the satisfaction of finding rare materials to craft with or taking down massive beasts for big rewards. The overarching plot is richly detailed, filled with twists and turns that will keep you interested, all while embarking on the journey with a party of well-realised characters. With some minor flaws found in the game's competing visual styles, graphical options, and side quest content, I think there are more than enough positives to be found that Tales of Arise could easily end up being one of the best RPGs released this year.
  75. Sep 8, 2021
    80
    Tales of Arise is a fun game, but one with a bit of tonal disparity to it. One moment, you'll be searching for owls wearing goofy accessories on behalf of the owl king, and then next you'll watch in horror as a town of people is literally liquified before your eyes. As long as you try not to think too much about the stifling and nearly overwhelming amount of horror the characters have been put through, you'll likely feel like you got your money's worth of this very long and winding game.
  76. Sep 8, 2021
    70
    Taken as a whole, Tales of Arise is a very good RPG, boasting beautiful visuals, a wonderful cast of characters, and engaging combat mechanics--but its flaws (and that odious DLC) are also difficult to ignore. If you're looking for a lengthy, charming, and engaging JRPG to play on your shiny new console or PC gaming rig, Tales of Arise is certainly a fine choice. Just don't go into it expecting an all-time classic.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Sep 8, 2021
    There are missteps and a few bumps along the way, but this soft reboot of a long-running series emerges a triumph. [Eurogamer]
  2. Sep 15, 2021
    If you’re simply seeking a solid if slightly overlong action-RPG about flawed people looking to sand down their rough edges, Tales of Arise is exactly that. Just know that it comes with some rough edges of its own.
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 550 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 550
  1. Sep 11, 2021
    10
    I am the type who yearns for (1) medieval-like fantasy and (2) party adventure when it comes to RPG games. I remember when I was in middleI am the type who yearns for (1) medieval-like fantasy and (2) party adventure when it comes to RPG games. I remember when I was in middle school getting so attached to the world-building, story, music, and characters in the games like Final Fantasy 6 or Chrono Trigger. Later in high school, I got my PlayStation 2 with Final Fantasy 10. I was so absorbed with these fantasy games to a point that I can still reminisce very clearly the events and the journey that I experienced from these games. These games have impacted me so much that they shape me into what I am now.

    It has been so long since I felt like this until I play Tales of Arise. Although my playtime on the game while writing this review is just around 20 hours and probably around a third (or maybe half? I don't know) of the main story, I am enjoying my time so much with the game, combat, story, exploration, etc. Tales of Arise has a good medieval fantasy world-building and a group of friends with distinctive personalities. I am usually fond of mage classes in every fantasy game so I am mainly playing as Rinwell. The variety of magic is awesome and the ability to combine magic is fun as hell. Playing Tales of Arise gives me the feeling that I am inside that fantasy world and adventuring together with the party. Especially within the combat where they smash the enemy and help me on their own, it just feels like they are all real people fighting and adventuring together with me.

    Western RPGs in general give you a feeling like you are solo playing and the story plot and combat system are usually one-main-character focused. These qualities are not in itself a bad thing but they are just not my preference. On the other hand, while there are modern Japanese RPGs that are enjoyable like Final Fantasy 7 Remake, Scarlet Nexus, and Persona 5 that have the quality of party adventure that I love, they don't have a classic medieval fantasy setting that I am yearning for. You know, the classic medieval fantasy setting like the ones that you see in Chrono Trigger, Chrono Cross, Final Fantasy 6, 9, 10 (and hopefully 16 too!!) or in the typical Japanese isekai manga/anime like Mushoku Tensei, Slime Tensei, Cautious Hero, Re:Zero, Shield Hero, etc.

    If you like these two qualities (ie. classic medieval fantasy and party adventure) you will probably be going to like Tales of Arise too. I am happy that Arise introduces me to the Tales series. I will definitely try some of the previous Tales games later.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 18, 2021
    10
    Literally made an account to post this review. I grew up (old asf now) playing RPG’s like FF and the like because they were more alive thanLiterally made an account to post this review. I grew up (old asf now) playing RPG’s like FF and the like because they were more alive than books and i loved the strategy and story. Then for like 10 years everything sucked because writers got lazy and life got in The way. This game is a masterpiece. If you love or used to love RPG games with meaningful combat, tons of replay value, and all the feels, this game is a bargain at any price. Bravo Bandai, made me feel like a kid again. Full Review »
  3. Sep 15, 2021
    10
    If i compare this game to other games from this decade, i have to give it 10/10. Only few games got me engaged recently, but this is one ofIf i compare this game to other games from this decade, i have to give it 10/10. Only few games got me engaged recently, but this is one of them. This game has so many strong points: story, music, combat and graphics are all top notch. Also it seems to be a rare thing for games to be in working state at launch, but this definitely is. Only complain i have, is with the pop in, but it is so minor that i won't be taking point off because of that. Full Review »