User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1256 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    کصننه هرچی ایکس باکس فنه که انقدر ننه جندن امسال هیچی ندارن پلی بدن و مجبورن هاله نفتی دوسال پیشو پلی بدن
  2. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    Hermoso, vale la pena 100% no le hagan caso a los haters, este es el juego definitivo
  3. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    Toujours autant excellent, bravo aux équipe de naughty dog, je remercie les haters de faire de la pub pour ce chef d’œuvre , quand on passe du tlou 1 à ce REMAKE c’est clairement fou, les journalistes et les haters qui ont enlevé des points aufaite du prix dû jeux vous êtes juste des débiles de la société
  4. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    They really rebuilt it for the ps5 and it has very beautiful graphic on ps5 and also it is uses all ps5 controller features , really loved it❤❤
  5. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    The is my 1st ever play through and I am loving it. The attention to detail is amazing. Beautiful Story / Atmosphere. So glad I tried.
  6. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    Thank you. Great job Naughty Dog. Awesome graphic apdate and still amazing game.
  7. Sep 4, 2022
    8
    I played the original game when it first came out. I remember really enjoying it, but recall few of the details. I played Part 2 a couple years back and while the gameplay was exceptional, they completely ruined the story. This is not a review of the price of the game because that is stupid - if it’s more expensive than what you’re willing to pay, then don’t buy it.

    The game aged
    I played the original game when it first came out. I remember really enjoying it, but recall few of the details. I played Part 2 a couple years back and while the gameplay was exceptional, they completely ruined the story. This is not a review of the price of the game because that is stupid - if it’s more expensive than what you’re willing to pay, then don’t buy it.

    The game aged decently, but I wouldn’t say it aged well. Truthfully even in this remastered version, it still feels like you’re playing a PS3 game. Some of the mechanics, animations, fluidity, and AI feel a bit clunky. Not unplayable or hugely immersion breaking, but definitely noticeable when you can’t leave a room when your NPC companion is standing in the doorway. This would have been a far better release if they added the fluid gameplay and AI from the second game. Regardless, it doesn’t take away from the game. So essentially the only difference here are the graphics, which really do look excellent. Visually the game doesn’t stand out on top of the pack of next gen games, but it’s definitely on par where it should be. The game is all about the voice acting, the characters, and the narrative, which all hold up extremely well and still surpass most games since it’s release. With all things considered, it’s as good as I remember it. I never thought it was the best game ever, but I remember thinking it was a fantastic experience, and my sentiment remains the same.

    People review bombing because they don’t want to pay full price are stupid. Is this a fantastic release - absolutely. Was this a necessary release - probably not, but let the market speak for itself with sales.
    Expand
  8. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have always loved this game. Now with this remake I love it much more. ND did a great job with this remake Expand
  9. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    THIS GAME IS AWESOME. It's just perfect processing. Facial animations have become realistic, graphics, details, naughty dog well done!
  10. Sep 4, 2022
    9
    Well what to say... its is a great game, but terrible price in case you already played it.
    So if you never played the game, just go and get it. It is worth it.
    If you played it, then you know exactly what you are getting, so you dont need my review.
    For this reason Im giving higher score. It is scored as a "new game" for people who never played it. For other it is irelevant.
  11. Sep 3, 2022
    9
    I love this game. The second one was even better. Yeah $70 is a lot, but I think it’s worth it if you love the game. Also, why are people mad? People buy Madden every year for $70+, and that’s the same crappy game every time. At least they tried with last of us.
  12. Sep 5, 2022
    10
    I haven't played this game yet and I am a PC player, I just want this game to be released for PC.
    Because we know this game is the best survival game
  13. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    La misma obra maestra del 2013 pero con un lavado de cara increíble. La historia es la misma que el original del 2013 pero han añadido mejoras en diversos apartados, sobretodo en el técnico y gráfico. No hay multi jugador, pero en mi caso nunca lo jugué porque quien va a por este juego va por el single player que es brutal.Es caro de salida, pero el precio en mi opinión no deberíaLa misma obra maestra del 2013 pero con un lavado de cara increíble. La historia es la misma que el original del 2013 pero han añadido mejoras en diversos apartados, sobretodo en el técnico y gráfico. No hay multi jugador, pero en mi caso nunca lo jugué porque quien va a por este juego va por el single player que es brutal.Es caro de salida, pero el precio en mi opinión no debería influenciar en la nota de un juego de esta calidad, se eválua el juego no su precio. Ideal para quienes no lo hayan jugado y para fans. Expand
  14. Sep 4, 2022
    8
    From a fan of the series, I want to be fair with this review. Game was great, and now it's greater. Is it worth 80 euros, only for fans I think. So I gave it a good 8
  15. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    it feels good to play this masterpiece again after 6 years for me with a realistic graphic ... my favorite company naughty dog .. respect
  16. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    A masterpiece. The best game of all time, now full next gen. The best TPS combat system, the best story and the best soundtrack
  17. Sep 5, 2022
    10
    The original on steroids. It’s the ultimate experience, an emotional rollercoaster and terrifying yet beautiful piece of work. No other game comes close to this. Arguably the best looking game to date across any platform.
  18. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    Acabo de terminar de jugarlo. he de decir que no lo recordaba tan corto, es bastante más corto que el TLOU parte 2. En cualquier caso es increíble el juego, super inmersivo ha ido de lujo en la PS5, estable y perfecto. Juegazo. Sobre el precio no me voy a posicionar, los videojuegos son un lujo no una necesidad. Recomendadísimo
  19. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    Played the remastered version of the game about a year ago and was blown away by the gameplay and story so getting this version which now also has the graphics of part 2 is great!!, I’m a Xbox person generally but this is such a great game series ,
  20. Sep 4, 2022
    8
    La grafica, i colori, le accessibilità ( per chi è daltonico, parzialmente sordo, e casi del genere ) e le espressioni dei personaggi durante i filmati sono notevolmente migliorati, letteralmente se prima nell'originale erano un 8 ( paragonati naturalmente agli standard di oggi e non di 8/9 anni fa ) adesso sono un 9,5 forse addirittura 10. La pecca a parer mio e di altri è il gameplay; èLa grafica, i colori, le accessibilità ( per chi è daltonico, parzialmente sordo, e casi del genere ) e le espressioni dei personaggi durante i filmati sono notevolmente migliorati, letteralmente se prima nell'originale erano un 8 ( paragonati naturalmente agli standard di oggi e non di 8/9 anni fa ) adesso sono un 9,5 forse addirittura 10. La pecca a parer mio e di altri è il gameplay; è si più fluido/scorrevole rispetto all'originale, anche l'intelligenza artificiale, dei nemici e degli alleati è superiore, ma non come il secondo capitolo ( la migliore in circolazione insieme a red dead redemption 2 ), il fatto però è che non c'è nulla di nuovo, del tipo la schivata, che era un' aggiunta molto bella nel secondo capitolo, è proprio ciò che mancava, perché oltre a quello il gameplay per il suo stile non necessita di altro, neanche dello sdraiarsi, cosa che era ottima per il 2, ma inutile qua nel primo capitolo essendo perennemente accompagnati da Ellie, averla aggiunta avrebbe reso il gioco molto più pieno di bug.
    In sintesi il gioco è un 8, se il gameplay avesse avuto l'aggiunta della schivata, una IA più simile a quella del secondo e una quantità minore di bug ( perché purtroppo ne ha di più rispetto al gioco originale ), sarebbe stato un 10. Per il resto la storia è quella, esattamente uguale ( come doveva essere naturalmente ) all'originale, quindi se devo valutarlo come Gioco e non come remake è un 9/9,25.
    Expand
  21. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    Los gráficos han mejorado muchísimo, no se compara en nada a la remasterizacion del 2014, en cuento a gameplay, conserva mucho del original, pero se siente más fluido el combate. Me gusto muchísimo este remake
  22. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    It's a great game, one of the best I've ever played. True next generation graphics.
  23. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    A game generations ahead of the market. Have a remarkable experience. I recommend.
  24. Sep 5, 2022
    10
    Played this game almost 10 years ago on PS3. I was stunned. Now, with much improved graphics an gameplay. Even more stunned. Price is a hefty one, yes.
  25. Sep 3, 2022
    10
    One of the best masterpieces game coming from Playstation. Has one of the best story too. The Gameplay is really smooth and the Graphics is really good. 10/10 game for sure.
  26. Sep 5, 2022
    10
    I'm getting really tired of people "reviewing" games they've never played... This doesn't deserve to be review bombed like that. No, it's not a remaster, it's a remake and it shows. No, it doesn't have multiplayer, who cares? Yes, they charge you 70$ for it, and it's still worth it. No, gameplay mechanics from part 2 did not carry over to this remake, because the original wasn't designedI'm getting really tired of people "reviewing" games they've never played... This doesn't deserve to be review bombed like that. No, it's not a remaster, it's a remake and it shows. No, it doesn't have multiplayer, who cares? Yes, they charge you 70$ for it, and it's still worth it. No, gameplay mechanics from part 2 did not carry over to this remake, because the original wasn't designed for it. Get over it.

    TLOU was a masterpiece back then, and it still is now. That will never change. Buy the game, play the game - make up your own mind.
    Expand
  27. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    Brilliant, third purchase of this masterpiece (ps3,ps4,ps5) and could not be happier to experience this game once again!
  28. Sep 5, 2022
    9
    Much improved game than original (graphisc, audio, A.I, gameplay). It is a REMAKE, pure an simple. Those who didn't watch Digital Foundry tech analysis, should do it. Can't wait for HBO series. To bad that Metacritic staff doesn't remove bad scores from Xbox fans. Vast majority of bad score are coming from Xbox fans. Idiots!
  29. Sep 3, 2022
    10
    Masterpiece. The best videogame of history. The best remake. Joel and Ellie are legends of playstation and the gaming industry.
  30. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    I’m half way through it and once again it is absolutely amazing!! Some people will call it a cash grab and some will call it a masterpiece. The $70 price tags is steep but it’s well worth it. It’s the definitive version on TLOU1.
  31. Sep 3, 2022
    0
    Milking since 2013
    Milking remaster of a remaster for a $70 even multiplayer not included as the ps4 version had. This so greedy.
  32. Sep 3, 2022
    10
    It's just a better version of an absolutely amazing game! One of the best looking games I have ever played! Well done Naughty dog!
  33. Sep 4, 2022
    9
    from one hand this game is awesome game. amazing story, great graphics, the best animations, insane attantion to detalis, chemisrty between characters is wonderful! dualsense's fitures are cool. gameplay is fine tho
    on the other hand, 70$ is too much for this remake.
    i'd recomend this to buy only if you are a big fan of the original game, or if you haven't played the original game. for
    from one hand this game is awesome game. amazing story, great graphics, the best animations, insane attantion to detalis, chemisrty between characters is wonderful! dualsense's fitures are cool. gameplay is fine tho
    on the other hand, 70$ is too much for this remake.
    i'd recomend this to buy only if you are a big fan of the original game, or if you haven't played the original game. for everyone else - wait for discounts!
    Expand
  34. Sep 3, 2022
    0
    It's pretty, but that's about it. It's overpriced. The multiplayer is completely taken away from it . I can actually imagine naughty dog selling the multiplayer back to us at full price. Which is ridiculous because you're already spending 70 so why would you want to turn around and pay more money for a feature that should have been in there in the first place. Definitely not worth theIt's pretty, but that's about it. It's overpriced. The multiplayer is completely taken away from it . I can actually imagine naughty dog selling the multiplayer back to us at full price. Which is ridiculous because you're already spending 70 so why would you want to turn around and pay more money for a feature that should have been in there in the first place. Definitely not worth the price. I will just continue to play the remastered, because I find this version extremely unnecessary. Expand
  35. Sep 3, 2022
    10
    Beautiful, the best version of one of the best games in history, it improves what needed to be improved and maintains what makes this game what it is, A MASTER PIECE.
  36. Sep 3, 2022
    10
    The last of us !!!!!

    The last of us (1 et 2) sont et resteront des éternels chef d’œuvres 9 ans après, et encore meilleur dans cette version Ultimate. Tout d’abord, l’écriture n’a pas vieilli, n’a pas subit de coup de vieux, le jeu est intemporelle et contrairement à beaucoup d’autres remastered, lui, arrive encore à briller par son scénario, sa mise en scene et la force de ses
    The last of us !!!!!

    The last of us (1 et 2) sont et resteront des éternels chef d’œuvres 9 ans après, et encore meilleur dans cette version Ultimate. Tout d’abord, l’écriture n’a pas vieilli, n’a pas subit de coup de vieux, le jeu est intemporelle et contrairement à beaucoup d’autres remastered, lui, arrive encore à briller par son scénario, sa mise en scene et la force de ses personnages tous riche de charisme, du très rarement vu à ce niveau. (Évident qu’ils en fasse une série sur HBO)
    Cote graphisme c’est impressionnant, j’achète énormément de jeux PS5 et aucun n’est de cette qualité. On est sur un vrai remake car graphiquement, tout est retravaillé, chaque décor, chaque détail, lumière, caméra etc
    (Accrochez vous pour trouver plus joli) Également, le gameplay est beaucoup plus fluide, il suffit de rejouer à l’ancienne version pour s’en rendre compte, certes ce n’est pas celui du 2 (évident car le jeu ne dispose pas de la même architecture verticale) mais on s’en rapproche sur l’usage de certaines armes, la prises en main en courses de Briques, Bouteilles… la facilité à enchaîner les morts comme dans le 2 (je joue en difficile) L’arsenal a été enrichi, les mises à mort également… aucune faiblesse à signaler, et ce pour les simples raisons que le jeu est meilleur que tout autre sur le plan graphique, le gameplay est fluide et facile d’accès, efficace et propose de l’action autant que de l’infiltration. Tout est question de choix. Les animations, le sound design, l’angoisse, tout est là, aucun bug, je dis bien AUCUN bug de tout le jeu. Certains parle du prix mais le prix est le prix d’un jeu. À vous d’être malin et de le trouver aux alentours de 60€ et oui il les vaut. Bilan : LES PLUS + graphismes + gameplay dynamisé
    + scénario + personnages + mise en scène + histoires culte (15h environ)
    + de nombreux bonus (plus de 8h de reportages, Skin, Mode de jeu…)

    LES MOINS
    ~ RAS Il manque le multi joueur mais on en tient jamais rigueur un grand jeu comme God Of War ou Red dead Redemption. Le prix ne sera jamais un point faible, car le prix varie tandis que la qualité reste et surtout le prix est indépendant du développement et du résultat final du jeu. Un blu ray ne coûte pas moins chère qu’un DVD et ce même si on l’a déjà vu. Un jeu PS5 aujourd’hui c’est 79€ et c’est le bris de The last of us. Si le prix est jugé trop élevé ce n’est pas lié à The last of us mais au prix établi d’un jeu PS5. Malgré le Review Bombing (50000 mauvaises notes achetées pour détruire le jeu, des polémiques accusant d’être pro LGBT, l’interdiction du jeu dans de nombreux pays, les attaques racistes visant l’ecrivain et auteur du jeu Neil Druckman de religion juive) The last of us reste toujours Grand ! Jouez-y et vous comprendrez Autrement dit, régalez vous, si vous l’avez jamais fait vous allez vous prendre une claque, ensuite foncez sur le 2… et si vous l’avez déjà fait, comme moi (sur PS4 pro) alors foncez parce que la claque est vraiment forte. Je l’ai terminé une fois et j’entame le speed run et l’objectif 100% artefact. Bon jeu à tous.
    Expand
  37. Sep 7, 2022
    9
    As far as remakes go's, this is one of the best ones in years. Not gonne lie, the price is high and not on par with what it should have been ( 40-50 ish ). None the less, the game is stil amazing and deserving of this great remake.
  38. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    Tlou Part 1 is a real Masterpiece for Naughty Dogs, is really good work, beautiful graphics, gameplay and ia are better than ever, nice work !!!
  39. Sep 3, 2022
    1
    One of the best games ever, but still cash grab. We get the third one the same. The price is sick. Jimbo has to go.
  40. Sep 4, 2022
    9
    perfecto! el mejor juego de la decada elevado a su maximo expresion. unica critica: oportunidad perdida para agregar el diseño de nivel de parte 2 y hacerlo el cielo.
  41. Sep 5, 2022
    10
    A love letter to fans of this series of from magical wizards in the video game industry

    I want to tell everyone who is experiencing this game for the first time that this is just the beginning of a deep and touching adventure that shows their love to give value the art. This game is part of my life. And I can't express how I feel about it in just a few sentences. Thanks to the
    A love letter to fans of this series of from magical wizards in the video game industry

    I want to tell everyone who is experiencing this game for the first time that this is just the beginning of a deep and touching adventure that shows their love to give value the art.

    This game is part of my life. And I can't express how I feel about it in just a few sentences.

    Thanks to the hardworking and creative team at Naughty Dog for creating the best experiences, we appreciate what you do for us.
    Expand
  42. Sep 4, 2022
    9
    Juegazo, el unico detalle es el precio pero aun asi vale la pena, y los que no lo puedan comprar pueden esperar una ofertita
  43. Sep 4, 2022
    9
    TL;DR: Amazing remake, hard to justify price.

    The Last of Us Part 1 is an absolutely phenomenal remake with love, care and meticulous attention to detail for the original experience oozing out of every crevice, everything from the characters to the environments have been completely rebuilt to take full advantage of the PlayStation 5 and the result is an absolutely stunning game with
    TL;DR: Amazing remake, hard to justify price.

    The Last of Us Part 1 is an absolutely phenomenal remake with love, care and meticulous attention to detail for the original experience oozing out of every crevice, everything from the characters to the environments have been completely rebuilt to take full advantage of the PlayStation 5 and the result is an absolutely stunning game with jaw-dropping visuals, brutal yet satisfying audio, tense and emotional music and a wide array of gut-wrenching moments; Naughty Dog has honestly outdone themselves and brought the classic story of Joel and Ellie closer to life than ever before.

    This is a must-play for anyone who has yet to experience The Last of Us and should almost definitely be played back-to-back with The Last of Us Part 2, however… for the people who have already experienced the game there is one major elephant in the room I’d like to address, the price; $70 for a remake which doesn’t include the Factions Multiplayer and very minimal changes to gameplay is a very, VERY, tough pill to swallow. I’m not going to get into the whole discussion about the games industry raising prices while offering less as that’s a whole other can of worms but I will say this… I personally think the $70 was worth it but this is completely subjective and if you feel $70 is too steep then you have every right to think that.
    Expand
  44. Sep 3, 2022
    3
    We all know the game is AAA class, this upgrade looks fantastic and plays great. Very refined, but the asking price is way, WAY to steep £70 is an abuse of the fans of the game. Sony are being greedy and deserve to be bitten over it.
  45. Sep 3, 2022
    0
    i don’t mind any remake but you charge me with 70$ for this game???
  46. Sep 8, 2022
    10
    A gorgeous and well-honed remake of one of the biggest boppers in the PlayStation pantheon, The Last of Us Part I is the best way to play – or replay – Naughty Dog’s esteemed survival classic
  47. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Feels and looks so different and looks better than part 2 , I’m freeking amazing - props naughty Dog Expand
  48. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    I feel like this game has to be rated without the price tag and yea it is really hefty one but i dont think the price tag affects you when you are already playing the game so thats why im not including it and if you cant afford or just dont want to pay that much money that's fine it your money. There are also new small improvements like now we can sprint while throwing objects and nowI feel like this game has to be rated without the price tag and yea it is really hefty one but i dont think the price tag affects you when you are already playing the game so thats why im not including it and if you cant afford or just dont want to pay that much money that's fine it your money. There are also new small improvements like now we can sprint while throwing objects and now stomp on enemy's on the ground and the human Ai is smarter now which makes the replayablity way more enjoyable for combat sure it's not as good as part 2 but its more of a hybrid of the both of them which does make the game better. It does look Visually great some people like the look of the original one more and for me after playing this one I liked the new visuals just as much as I liked the original. Yes the game doesn't have the online mode which I wish was here and I'm not going to take it into consideration because it's not apart of the focus of this remake and feels unfair to change review because of that and it was only made to remake the story and I'm just going to say yes the story can standalone on its self and that's the only thing I'm reviewing with the gamplay and with visuals. The game itself is still a 10 and im not saying it the best game in the world but it does improve on the things it says it does and its still the enjoyable story alot of people love to play and its just that little bit better. Expand
  49. Sep 3, 2022
    10
    Jogo incrível, para quem não jogou recomendo muito se já jogou espere um pouco pegue o game quando sobrar um dinheiro ou entrar no servidor, não acho justo o preço cobrado, porém menos justo que isso seria avaliar a qualidade do jogo pelo preço então nota 10
  50. Sep 4, 2022
    8
    Niepotrzebne odświeżenie gry która wciąż dobrze wygląda na ps4. Ale skoro już jest to cena powinna być niższa, oprawa audiowizualnia robi wrażenie.
  51. Sep 5, 2022
    10
    It is the definitive way to play the First Last of Us game, nothing more. And that’s perfect.
  52. Sep 5, 2022
    10
    The game is re-built in a way that makes you feel the atmosphere in more details, feeling like you are there. Characters emotions are way better.
  53. Sep 5, 2022
    10
    Amazing job. The definitive edition of a masterpiece. Every detail completely care.
  54. Sep 4, 2022
    0
    It's literally the exact same 2013 game with pretty graphics. You can just watch it for free on YouTube.
  55. Sep 3, 2022
    10
    Hey its Game very good Woow very good Last of Us 1game and Joel face good...
  56. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    Best cg Best story

    Best sound

    Best hit satisfaction

    Best accessibility option
  57. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    Sometimes i want to delete all my memories to experience this story over and over again. This game is a masterpiece. Insane graphics and details, the combat is brutal and fun and the story is just so damn good.
  58. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    (Disclaimer: this was my first tine playing the last of us)
    I cannot begin to describe what I have experienced in the last of us. This proves that video games are a form of storytelling, a form of art even. Beautiful moments can turn into tragedies in the span of 20 seconds. Many may say that the gameplay is outdated, but I enjoyed every second of it. It may not have a vast open world to
    (Disclaimer: this was my first tine playing the last of us)
    I cannot begin to describe what I have experienced in the last of us. This proves that video games are a form of storytelling, a form of art even. Beautiful moments can turn into tragedies in the span of 20 seconds. Many may say that the gameplay is outdated, but I enjoyed every second of it. It may not have a vast open world to explore or the gameplay of a modern game but it damn sure has the best writing and graphics I have ever seen. This deserves the title of best video game and sets new industry standards. In just 14 hours, this has become my favorite game of all time. I spent 70$ on this, and I would gladly do it again. If you haven't played it, I'm sorry for your loss. If you have played the game however, its hard to justify 70$.
    Expand
  59. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    A lovely journey but with even more outstanding visuals. If you love this game, you're in for a treat. Although the price might be too much for you, so waiting for an off is not a bad decision.
  60. Sep 4, 2022
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I’ll start by prefacing with what pretty much EVERYBODY has stated before. 70 dollars is too much, and it should be closer to 40-50 dollar range.
    New stuff:
    Joel can smash windows and glass objects and climb through, akin to Part 2.

    The camera has been reworked to be more dynamic during gameplay and combat.

    The duelsense feature has been integrated to even feel when raindrops hit your head, and is an impressive display of the ps5s tech prowess.

    The same dualsense plays a role in feeling the impact of combat. The redone graphics provide impressive facial features and some animation have actually been ported from part 2, notably during Ellie’s winter portion or whenever Joel smashes a window or door.

    Enemies will now do a 180 turn around during patrol (also from part 2).

    The weapons have all been redesigned to allow visible upgrades from the redesigned work bench. The game came with the standalone dlc “left behind” (an entertaining story in its own right). Also resigned with all the above. Some specific character models from part 2 have been inserted for eagle eyed players (supposedly Seth is in the game). The surgeon is also more overtly Abby’s father from part 2 flashbacks. Can’t forget about accessibility. Everything from part 2 pertaining to that is here as well, even included extras and renders with an improved photo mode. Not new: Most of the animations you’ll see are just the same ones from the original, just beefed up with good controls and camera work. Same with voice performances. The bad:
    Already mentioned at beginning.

    I refuse to give this game a perfect score (as I don’t believe in them), but credit where it is due: the game is considered one of the best of all time for a reason and those reasons are all there, just prettier. It’s a fun game for anyone new to the series, but returning players should wait for a price drop or stream it on psplus premium if/when it’s available.
    Expand
  61. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    What an absolute masterpiece. This technical update is absolutly outstanding. This is the best way to discover this game. For the fans and the new ones, this game is worth to play, you can't say yourself as a gamer if you've don't touched it, so my advice is to try it and you'll love it, for several days after that you'll be shocked by this experience lived never before. And after that,What an absolute masterpiece. This technical update is absolutly outstanding. This is the best way to discover this game. For the fans and the new ones, this game is worth to play, you can't say yourself as a gamer if you've don't touched it, so my advice is to try it and you'll love it, for several days after that you'll be shocked by this experience lived never before. And after that, play Part 2, other games don't taste the same after that, something is missing, and you replay Part 1 and so on. Expand
  62. Sep 5, 2022
    9
    Great game, remastered and remade... Worth the 70$ especially with the new features, love and dedication poured into it. I read these bad reviews and it's like "tf were these people expecting?" Everyone's a game designer now? If you've played it multiple times remastered/og you should still give this a shot.
  63. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    Absolutely Phenomenal Game And it’s clearly A well done Remake, that’s what experts like Digital Foundry Said also , so no one should care about those Xbots they just don’t have games and out of jealousy review bombing all playstation exclusives LMAO
  64. Sep 4, 2022
    0
    $70 for a game that has already been released twice? Plays the same, looks a bit better than the remaster, but not worth the price. Sony continue to fleece loyal customers.
  65. Sep 3, 2022
    0
    It's an big 70$ scam , This game is not worth buying , Sony is scamming with the remake and remaster of this game. The story of the game is repetitive. The time spent on making this remake could have been spent on making a new version of the game.
  66. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    Cash crab?! More like meticulously rebuilt experience. No one is grabbing your cash, but I recommend you willingly part with it (cash) for such an excellent piece of work. It truly feels like other devs don’t even try.
  67. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    Лучшая версия одной из лучших игр всех времён и народов. Если никогда не играли ранее в The Last of Us Part, срочно покупайте! Игра стоит те 70 долларов, которые за неё просят.
  68. Sep 3, 2022
    10
    The Best game in the world!
    The Best game in the world
    The Best game in the world
  69. Sep 4, 2022
    10
    The best story ever told in video games deserves the best version possible. What a masterpiece
  70. Sep 4, 2022
    8
    Solid remake of the visuals and Joel’s movement but they should have expanded some of the levels to justify the price. The game is extremely generous in resource drops which kills some of the tension.
  71. Sep 3, 2022
    0
    Really disappointing to see Naughty Dog and Sony wasting resources on remake. Their talent deserves to work on brand new exciting projects.
    Graphics look better, yes but really no reason to revisit this if u replayed TLOU multiple times before.
    No exciting extra modes (except speed run) and no multiplayer....
    Please stop milking this IP.
  72. Sep 5, 2022
    0
    For a 70$/80€ remake, which is more than what the original game cost, we should really be able to expect more than just the bare minimum. This remake has no significant gameplay changes and released with less content than the original game (no multiplayer).

    Overall the graphical upgrades look great, even though I do think, that the characters look a bit strange in some cutscenes. I
    For a 70$/80€ remake, which is more than what the original game cost, we should really be able to expect more than just the bare minimum. This remake has no significant gameplay changes and released with less content than the original game (no multiplayer).

    Overall the graphical upgrades look great, even though I do think, that the characters look a bit strange in some cutscenes.

    I love the original The Last of Us, but this might be the most unnecessary remake ever. Not recommended.
    Expand
  73. Sep 3, 2022
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hey at least they didn't kill Joel right?

    This is The Last Of Us Part I Part 3. This is the third time this game has come out. This makes the $70 they are making us pay feel even worse. I really regret buying this one. I am starting to think that PlayStation is losing me. I don't know. It sucks. Gaming sucks these days.
    Expand
  74. Sep 3, 2022
    2
    This is the same game, only they are trying to sell it to us 3 times a remix of a remaster, and what next in a year will be the director's version. This cannot be supported otherwise the conversion of mediocrity and creative patents will not stop, and we will watch this picture endlessly.
  75. Sep 3, 2022
    0
    Its an ok game but holy **** its far from worth it, just buy the ps4 remaster and play it instead
  76. Sep 3, 2022
    0
    Remaster of the remaster of the remaster without multiplayer. Broken AF. It's not worth 80€. The PS4 version should have had a free upgrade to PS5. Avoid this game if you don't want to be ripped off.
  77. Sep 3, 2022
    0
    It's the same game, for the third time.
    And it costs MORE than the previous versions.
    Looks more like another remaster, even if it's a pathetic remake. They even removed the multiplayer, LMAO.
    An absolute embarassing for Naughty Dog.
  78. Sep 3, 2022
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 70$ for 2013 game? Is not in plus
    Why why????? Its not remake its remaster 70$$$$$$$ whyyyyyy??
    Im not have mony 70$
    Expand
  79. Sep 4, 2022
    4
    Classic cash grab. WHAT ELSE TO SAY. Please give us remaster when ps6 is out.
  80. Sep 4, 2022
    2
    aside from the slight visual enhancements there's really nothing impressive or new about this game, the gameplay feels outdated just like the 2014 remaster and I expected something like the sequel's gameplay and smooth animations and visuals but all I got was a new remastered of the 2014 remastered game, you can barely tell the difference between the two aside from some tweaks here andaside from the slight visual enhancements there's really nothing impressive or new about this game, the gameplay feels outdated just like the 2014 remaster and I expected something like the sequel's gameplay and smooth animations and visuals but all I got was a new remastered of the 2014 remastered game, you can barely tell the difference between the two aside from some tweaks here and there in terms of graphics. this was definetly not a $70 game, this should have been a free upgrade or added to PS+ or priced at $29.99 Expand
  81. Sep 4, 2022
    0
    As a Playstation fan, this is exactly a robbery not a real remake. Shame on you, Sony and Naughty Dog.
  82. Sep 3, 2022
    0
    This game is a blatant and shameless cash grab by Sony, they call it a remake that was built from the ground up and it's very clear that was a lie. If they want to call this game a remake then I will compare it to other remakes then.

    For starters there are no new levels or locations to explore, also there are no new gameplay mechanics or gameplay improvements. The soundtrack is the same
    This game is a blatant and shameless cash grab by Sony, they call it a remake that was built from the ground up and it's very clear that was a lie. If they want to call this game a remake then I will compare it to other remakes then.

    For starters there are no new levels or locations to explore, also there are no new gameplay mechanics or gameplay improvements. The soundtrack is the same with no new tracks or remakes, no new puzzles or items were added. The biggest insult being they said they improved the enemy AI well that was a lie to as it's the same brain dead AI from before. This is the first remake to remove content and in this case they removed the multiplayer. It's extremely likely they will bring it back with a price tag and NG will make zero changes to the multiplayer.

    I've never heard of a game getting 2 remakes within 10 years that's a first for the industry and both of them suck and are not worth your time or money. This game is nothing more then a $70 texture pack that doesn't look any better then the PS4 version and Sony still expects you to pay them $70 for less content.
    Expand
  83. Sep 3, 2022
    0
    Won't fool me into buying this a third time especially with missing content and clunky old mechanics. This is not a remake just another remaster with missing content and a hefty price tag. And I can't understand why and old PS3 game can't do 4k 60fps. Save your money for ragnarok.
  84. Sep 3, 2022
    0
    Not only is this the worst version of the game, it’s also the most expensive one. Character models have been changed too much, bugs, no multiplayer, special editions damaged. Naughty Dog should’ve been shut down after Part II.
  85. Sep 3, 2022
    0
    Just play the original, you can get it for 20$ or for free with the PS Plus Collection.
    Naughty Dog should focus on making new games and IPs instead of cash-grabbing Remakes that no one wanted.
  86. Sep 3, 2022
    0
    I don’t mind any remake but you charge me with 70$ for game that didn’t take the budget and development al lot from you
  87. X50
    Sep 3, 2022
    0
    Isso é um remake? Tá mais para um remaster 2.0, absurdo combrar preço cheio nisso.
  88. Sep 3, 2022
    0
    I don’t know what I was expecting, but it certainly wasn’t this. It might have been the 70 dollar price tag that had me thinking I was getting a triple-A next-gen experience but I was very wrong. The graphics are improved, but the gameplay stinks of a two generation old 3D game. Even if you’ve never played this game before, the gameplay is so old and outdated. I’m giving it a zero becauseI don’t know what I was expecting, but it certainly wasn’t this. It might have been the 70 dollar price tag that had me thinking I was getting a triple-A next-gen experience but I was very wrong. The graphics are improved, but the gameplay stinks of a two generation old 3D game. Even if you’ve never played this game before, the gameplay is so old and outdated. I’m giving it a zero because this game is everything that is wrong with the industry. Naughty Dog is driven by corporate greed and charging people 70 dollars for an old rehashed product in the middle of a recession is out of touch and gross. Expand
  89. Sep 3, 2022
    1
    Nice graphics, but only that, no gameplay improvements, same level design, just a cash grab 60$
  90. Sep 3, 2022
    0
    This game is and it will be one of the best game ever but, this new revision is stupidly expensive. You can get The Last of Us Remastered for 20 euros/bucks in all country's right now if you don't have it already. Why should i spend 60 more euros in Europe just for a face-lift ?!!! $ony, you deserve all the hate and you've done this yourself .
  91. Sep 3, 2022
    3
    my humble opinion, the existence of this project is just as tasteless
    It's your call but for now it's not recommended.
    3/10 this game at that stage.
  92. Sep 4, 2022
    0
    For someone like me who played this game in ps4 7 times, this remake seems like a slap to the fans, after what they did in part 2. this is a cash grab … people should wake up and see through Naught Dog talentless hacks …
  93. Sep 3, 2022
    5
    First off, this is not a remake, is a remaster, and a remaster of a remaster at that...and they had the nerve to charge $70 for it!
    Now, to make it simple:
    If you never played any of the previous versions: buy it. If you only played the PS3 version: maybe buy it on a sale. If you played the PS4 version: dont buy it. And the score is for this re-remaster, not for the game itself,
    First off, this is not a remake, is a remaster, and a remaster of a remaster at that...and they had the nerve to charge $70 for it!
    Now, to make it simple:

    If you never played any of the previous versions: buy it.
    If you only played the PS3 version: maybe buy it on a sale.
    If you played the PS4 version: dont buy it.

    And the score is for this re-remaster, not for the game itself, the game itself is an easy 9/10, and as I stated above, if you never played any of the previous versions, you SHOULD buy it.
    Expand
  94. Sep 11, 2022
    0
    I liked the original game, which is not surprising, many did, but while it had a good story and pacing, I was frustrated by the game's gameplay mechanics and flawed controls (this is the case with many console exclusives, but that doesn't make it any less of an issue). I was hoping they'd have fixed some of the flaws of the original game, but unfortunately they haven't touched gameplay atI liked the original game, which is not surprising, many did, but while it had a good story and pacing, I was frustrated by the game's gameplay mechanics and flawed controls (this is the case with many console exclusives, but that doesn't make it any less of an issue). I was hoping they'd have fixed some of the flaws of the original game, but unfortunately they haven't touched gameplay at all, nor have they improved the controls. This "Remake" deserves nothing more than a 0 (unless your expectations are embarrassingly low) for 3 key reasons;
    A) This is not a remake. It's borderline false advertising, and most likely intentional to justify the $70 price tag. The vast majority of the changes that were made are in no way "next-gen". They could have been included in the PS4, or even the PS3 version of the game in a free update.
    B) Even if they called it what it is, a remaster, why do we need another remaster of a game that has already been remastered? You can stick the PS4 disc of TLOU in a PS5 and you get the same experience with marginally inferior graphics.
    C) I know I mentioned this before, but $70??? Seriously ND and Sony? What's the point of adding "audio description" for blind people if the majority of them WON'T BE ABLE TO AFFORD THE GAME? Especially during these times, it's absolutely disgusting for a AAA studio to pull a scam like this. Anyone who was involved in the decision making surrounding this project should be ashamed.
    Besides, if you were gonna waste recourses to "remake a game from the ground up", why didn't you remake Uncharted or the Jak and Daxter franchise? Their mechanics are far more outdated and they would benefit much more from a modern remake with updated gameplay. Either they are lying about "remaking TLOU from the ground up", and it took them very little recourses to remake it, or these publishers/devs are completely tone deaf.
    Expand
  95. Sep 3, 2022
    10
    The last of us part 1 remake one of the best exprience in my life
    The game is perfect
  96. Sep 9, 2022
    6
    Greedy naughty dog calling it a remake it’s only graphics that were remade nothing else. Gameplay is same clunky mess it was on ps3.
  97. Sep 5, 2022
    6
    When it all comes down to it, what does this “remake” do to benefit the playability of this game? We look at remakes like final fantasy 7 and resident evil 2 which completely change the way their stories are composed, the actual gameplay and content and even the way characters are written. Yet this remake does nothing at all, it’s nothing but fresh coat of paint with slightly better AIWhen it all comes down to it, what does this “remake” do to benefit the playability of this game? We look at remakes like final fantasy 7 and resident evil 2 which completely change the way their stories are composed, the actual gameplay and content and even the way characters are written. Yet this remake does nothing at all, it’s nothing but fresh coat of paint with slightly better AI coding and visuals that are (mostly) on par with the sequel. Still doesn’t warrant a $70 price tag in any reality. Expand
  98. Sep 6, 2022
    7
    Still the same great game but released for the third time with no significant upgrades in terms of gameplay or content. Graphically impressive but ultimately not enough to warrant a $70 dollar price tag. Advice for first timers? Buy the Remaster for PS4, it’s the exact same game and much much cheaper. Graphical fidelity is not enough at this price point.
  99. Sep 8, 2022
    6
    +Fantastic visual upgrade
    +Great accessibility additions
    -Full price feels like a cash grab -Noticeable pop in at times -Poor 4k 40fps mode performance (this is a review near launch) -No 'instant' SSD load times (very fast under 10 seconds but still it's an official Sony title) -Strangely feels like this could easily have been on PS4? Not really feeling anything next gen here apart from
    +Fantastic visual upgrade
    +Great accessibility additions
    -Full price feels like a cash grab
    -Noticeable pop in at times
    -Poor 4k 40fps mode performance (this is a review near launch)
    -No 'instant' SSD load times (very fast under 10 seconds but still it's an official Sony title)
    -Strangely feels like this could easily have been on PS4? Not really feeling anything next gen here apart from resolution/FPS/VRR

    Overall I was happy to run through the game again with the visual update. The price value proposition here is the main reason for the low score and if this had been in the £10-£30 range this would easily be a 8/10. While I understand it is Sony setting the price here, alongside the recently announced PS5 price hike in UK it all leads to a very poor showing from Sony since the PS5 launch and they really seem to be burning all the goodwill from the previous generation. Massive missed opportunity to earn some goodwill from the fans!
    Expand
  100. Sep 29, 2022
    9
    Story: 10
    Graphics: 10
    Sound: 10
    Gameplay: 9
    Game Time: 30 Hours (Main Story + Extra)
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 111 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Negative: 0 out of 111
  1. Sep 27, 2022
    80
    The main changes to The Last of Us Part 1 are in the character’s facial expressions and accessibility options, while the rest can be summed up as “extra features”. Compared with the original game, some scenes have actually decreased in quality and I came across bugs as well, which makes it a remake that comes with both advantages and disadvantages. While a conservative remake indeed, in the end the appeal of the original shines through.
  2. Sep 21, 2022
    100
    While the price point might detract some gamers, The Last of Us Part 1 needs to be checked out. If you already played the original game a bunch of times, there's still a lot of value present. Players that haven't experienced one of the best games of all time should buy the definitive way to play this masterpiece.
  3. Sep 19, 2022
    70
    Nothing’s wrong with paying a high price to gild the lily — but nothing’s wrong with not wanting to do so, either. I think The Last of Us Part 1 will make a great addition to the casual TLOU fan’s library when it inevitably goes on sale and maybe the PC players when it launches on that platform as well.