User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 46
  2. Negative: 8 out of 46
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 7, 2021
    10
    The only negative thing in this game is the story i hope they will have better writer’s in the future that can write a-good story but the game still great though
  2. Feb 12, 2021
    8
    Leave it to sony to sell you the game again instead of providing a ps5 version. I mean, it's Nioh, what isn't to love?
  3. Feb 16, 2021
    10
    The game a have played the most last year. Amazing combat system, amazing enemies and lots of hours of fun. Everything that was very good in the first game was improved.
  4. Feb 7, 2021
    6
    The game and extra content is great, but it still looks like I am playing the PS4 version at 60fps. With some of the remasters for the new consoles that I have seen, I feel this could have been done better. Even in 4k the anti aliasing is terrible. But gameplay wise, it is fantastic. Maybe not not worth the big price tag though as it doesn't't feel like a new game.
  5. Feb 11, 2021
    10
    this is not a lazy remaster like Capcom did with the Devil May Cry HD collection where they ported PS2 graphics to PS3 and than PS4 and than the only thing Capcom added with Devil may Cry HD collection was 1080p resolution and 60fps The Nioh Collection Remaster however team ninja actually put in some work and sweat improved graphics gemeotry shadows vegitation assets not just resolutionthis is not a lazy remaster like Capcom did with the Devil May Cry HD collection where they ported PS2 graphics to PS3 and than PS4 and than the only thing Capcom added with Devil may Cry HD collection was 1080p resolution and 60fps The Nioh Collection Remaster however team ninja actually put in some work and sweat improved graphics gemeotry shadows vegitation assets not just resolution and framerate the increase in graphic fidelity it's not night and day different than the ps4 pro version but you can definitely notice the difference and just an all over all more polished experience that looks and plays fantastic on the PS5 the 120fps mode in nioh 2 needs patching to improve performance and there is more bugs in nioh 2 than in nioh 1 in general but team ninja patch the game often fior Nioh 1 i suggest playing in the 120fps mode because it's pefect if your TV supports it if not both standard mode and native 4k are great if you want higher fidelity go with standard if you want native 4k resolution go with the 4k mode in Nioh 2 i suggest the standard mode it's just 200 pixels lower than the native 4k mode but it has the best visual impact and its still 60fps remember this is not a remake like demon's souls where everything has been reworked from the ground up this is a remaster so keep your expectations in check and you will not be disappointed they could have give us more framerate and resolution and just leave at that but they chose to improve the graphics as well from the ps4 pro version so i am very grateful to team ninja personally i prefer the second game more than the first the first game had repetitve enemies until you hit the DLC's than you get to fight newer Yokai enemies and a lot of the bosses are humanoid in the base game so in a demon slayer samurai game like nioh i do expect to fight more demons than samurais the music was not that great in the first game its not bad by any stretch but not something that will grab you like in devil may cry 5 bury the light or devil trigger soundtracks many people say the first game is harder but honestly that's not the case the second game is harder the first game had the living weapon in the first game made you absolutely broken if you know how to abuse living weapon you become a monster which thankfully they replaced with a different transformation mechanic with yokai shift and anima in the second game the story was like a dream in the second it caught my attention more than the first game the one area both games are lacking is the omnyo tree that could have with more fantasy and crazy magic other than just talismans and buffs there is a few cool looking spells but nothing that impressive the ninja tree actually has some naruto shippudden jutsu spells which is really cool they should have doubled down on that i just wished there was more yokai shifts in the second game because you only have brute phantom and feral and once you get used to them and how to play them than the variety starts to be limited there but thankfully the anima yokai skills make things fresh i have only played 1 mission of the first DLC in the first game so i haven't played the 3 DLC in both games so this is my review of the core of both games i'm sure the DLC makes the games even better and more complete from what i played the first mission in the first game of the first DLC some yokai enemies made a return from the Nioh 1 first DLC in nioh 2 overall the story and character progression actors was fantastic in the first game now that the game is polished on PS5 the graphics look good and not outdated the combat gameplay has always been the strong suit of nioh and it's phenomenal so much guardian spiirts to chose and different variety builds you can make the first game has so much replayability when you finish the game for the first time that's when it starts multiple difficulties higher tier rarirty weapons the abyss but the first time you play it's always a joy and after that the grinding doesn't feel repetitive in the second game team ninja took everything to another level increasing enemy variety more Yokai bosses than human bosses they made the story more interesting they brought back beloved characters they made the music a lot better they added more weapons and the yokai abilities are awesome which makes the game feel more fresh everyone that thought this is gonna be a nioh 1.5 was wrong it feels like a full sequal to nioh 1 they just played it safe both games are 10/10 if your looking for a bloodborne souls like experience this is even better this franchise has become more dear to me than the soul series with great characters fantastic story one of the best combat system in action games Japanese culture from which you can learn something two fantastic games which are more difficult than the soul series but are rewarding if you have the patience to learn and keep playing you can play thousands of hours solo or with friends or with randoms and have a blast Expand
  6. Feb 8, 2021
    0
    This game can easily be described with three simple words: God. Fu*kin. Awful.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Feb 23, 2021
    90
    First time you're hearing about The Nioh Collection? It's a great pick up for your PS5 and one of the best franchises of the last generation! But if you've been grinding away on the PS4 version? Maybe wait for a sale.
  2. Feb 22, 2021
    88
    While not a new game, The Nioh Collection provides excellent value for money and literally hundreds of hours of gameplay. If you like a challenging RPG in the same vein of Demon Souls, then The Nioh Collection is a must play experience that works a treat on the PlayStation 5, including its next-gen use of Dualsense.
  3. Feb 22, 2021
    90
    In the end, I enjoyed myself most when I stopped comparing Nioh to Souls games and appreciated it for what it is. Nioh has fast-paced, challenging combat with a deep loot and upgrade system. With well-designed levels and a ton of content, it's easy to sink a lot of time into this visit to Sengoku era Japan.